Altantuya Murder – Najib should go on leave from his DPM duties until cleared of allegations in Balasubramaniam SD

Deputy Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Razak should go on leave from his duties as Deputy Prime Minister until all questions implicating his credibility, especially arising from the statutory declaration by private investigator P. Balasubramaniam, are investigated and cleared.

Balasubramaniam’s statutory declaration dated 1st July and made public today in effect challenged the truth and veracity of various statements and denials by Najib in connection with the murder of Mongolian national Altantuya Shaariibuu in October 2006 – that Najib had not known or ever met Altantunya.

Najib, as well as the Prime Minister, Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi, cannot allow Balasubramaniam’s shocking statutory declaration to go unchallenged as it raises grave fundamental issues as to their fitness to hold high political offices in the land.

Balasubramaniam’s shocking statutory declaration has brought back to Malaysians the emotional scene at the Kuala Lumpur magistrate’s court on 16th November 2006 when Razak was charged for abetting the murder of Altantuya, when his wife Mazlinda Makhzan lost her cool and shouted at journalists: “My husband is innocent. My husband is a good man. He supported me and protected me. Why are you writing all these stories about him. He is not out to become the Prime Minister. Why are they doing this to him?”

Mazlinda’s emotional outburst in November 2006 have now been resurrected to the very fore of public consciousness by Balasubramaniam’s statutory declaration, crying out for full clarification.

Balasubramaniam said the purpose of his statutory declaration, among other things, was to

1) State his disappointment at the standard of investigations conducted by the authorities into the circumstances surrounding the murder of Altantuya Shaaribuu.

2) Bring to the notice of the relevant authorities the strong possibility that there are individuals other than the three accused who must have played a role in the murder of Altantuya Shaaribuu.

3) Persuade the relevant authorities to reopen their investigations into this case immediately so that any fresh evidence may be presented to the court prior to submissions at the end of the prosecutions case.

4) Emphasise the fact that having been a member of the Royal Malaysian Police Force for 17 years, he is absolutely certain no police officer would shoot someone in the head and blow up their body without receiving specific instructions from their superiors first.

5) Express his concern that should the defence not be called in the Altantuya murder trial, the accused, Azilah and Sirul will not have to swear on oath and testify as to the instructions they received and from whom they were given.

These are issues of urgent definite public importance for which Parliament should take instant cognisance by having an immediate debate, unless and until the Prime Minister can act promptly to assure the Malaysian public that the government is prepared and capable of responding swiftly, credibly and responsibly to the crisis of confidence in the government precipitated by the Balasubramaniam statutory declaration.

Print Friendly

1. #1 by boh-liao on Friday, 4 July 2008 - 10:58 am

Can someone upload the genuine, un-Photoshoped photograph of the romantic candle-light dinner of Altantuya Shaariibuu, NR, and ARB in Paris awhile ago?

2. #2 by rainbowseahorse on Friday, 4 July 2008 - 11:03 am

The fact remains that if somebody accuses us of something we are innocence of, we would make a police report and then sue the shit out of that somebody.
    But:
    1) Tun M didn’t do that (said he has no money to pay for lawyers)
    2) PM did not do that (said he leave that to police investigation)
    3) Najib did not do that (leave to police & court of law)
    4) Najib’s wife didn’t do that (travial matter & she is too busy)

Daily news statements given by all the above are so ridiculous and a complete insult to Malaysian’s intelligence.

3. #3 by undergrad2 on Friday, 4 July 2008 - 11:04 am

“I believe that the act of suppressing information and evidence in a criminal trial by itself is not a crime.” Taiking

Caveat! I’m only a loyar burok, at most a loyar wannabe. So don’t take my word for it.

For the prosecution to suppress exculpatory evidence and not make it available to the defense be it in a criminal or civil proceedings suggest (to put it mildly) abuse of prosecutorial powers and is enough to found a motion for a re-trial or mistrial – and for the prosecutor, prosecutorial misconduct is a serious allegation which would result in disciplinary action and a loss of his license to practice law.

If by “suppressing information” is meant “obstruction of justice” in some legal jurisdiction it is by itself a crime.

4. #4 by undergrad2 on Friday, 4 July 2008 - 11:09 am

ooops leave out civil proceedigns, different kind of fish

5. #5 by robert ng on Friday, 4 July 2008 - 11:11 am

dear pkr, by now it should be clear to all that no one in bn will want to quit or give up what they are enjoying. just give them the killer blow. put them into the opposition’s shoes asap. lets see how slugs squeel when immersed in salt. as long as the hard proof or evidence linking the dpm with altantunya is not produced, none will budge or should i say, dare not budge.

6. #6 by madmix on Friday, 4 July 2008 - 11:18 am

I am a young man, an ordinary Malaysian, not a tycoon,s son or son of a VVIP or senior politician, no connections or strings really. I would like to see the Deputy PM in his house for tea and cakes so I can get his advise on something in my mind. I hope he can grant me this request as he seem very friendly and approachable and can mix with ordinary mortals like Saiful and had meeting in his house.

7. #7 by undergrad2 on Friday, 4 July 2008 - 11:21 am

Saiful does not like competition.

8. #8 by cheng on soo on Friday, 4 July 2008 - 11:25 am

Well said, Madmix, Can an ordinary 22 years (at that time) old man also see him for scholarship (bypass all officers in PSD?) and for something in the young man’s mind??

9. #9 by rainbowseahorse on Friday, 4 July 2008 - 11:29 am

The real irony is that at least 70% of all Malaysians know the government, especially from UMNO’s camp, are guilty as hell in all crimes that have been committed..i.e. gross corruptions, secrete bailouts of cronies’ troubled companies with public funds, huge inflated government budgets for unjustifiable government departments ( e.g. tourism), wanton wastages in government sponsored first class overseas missions, arrogance in thinking & believing they are above the law (i.e. the ongoing Altantuya murder case), untrustworthy personnel appointed to the police force & judiciary, and the list goes on.
    We Malaysians know all that have, has, and is still going on in our government but yet we are so powerless and unable to make the necessary change.
    In order to voice our dissatisfactions, we would want to stage public protest, but then we need a permit from the police which we are not going to get. Without our open protest, that stupid imbecile that we have holding the highest office in Malaysia claims he has our support and we even understands why he has to do all these idiotic things that he did. And he made that declaration with that stupid look on his face and totally believing himself to be the truth and nothing but the truth!

10. #10 by saiful on Friday, 4 July 2008 - 11:35 am

when u all have free times, do come to Parliment to see yorself how yor DAP reps talking……………….

u’ll amused and ask yorself back…..what I’ve done………..

STOP THE NONSENSE…..give ideas not just know how to talk………….especially that MP (the stupid one who cant speak B. Malaysia) than can be a MP…………what a stupid thing…

He should be MP in Australia perhaps

11. #11 by yhsiew on Friday, 4 July 2008 - 11:38 am

What is going on??!! Balasubramaniam said he was under threats to produce the statutory declaration yesterday and this morning he retracted the declaration.

By whom was he threatened?

12. #12 by pulau_sibu on Friday, 4 July 2008 - 11:41 am

Thinking about Lingam, and now Bala, I try to relate them to the cobra

13. #13 by dawsheng on Friday, 4 July 2008 - 11:43 am

It doesn’t make any different even if Bala retracted the SD.

14. #14 by kenyalan08 on Friday, 4 July 2008 - 11:43 am

To All those who failed to get JPA Scholarship ,

Window Of Opportunity is avail now, lines up to DPM house , I am very sure he has a very sympathetic ear and will do everything possible to hear your grouses .

To Baginda Razak ,

Come out to tell the truth , only the truth . Can you trust your boss who flip flop every now and then .

To Mr Sharribuu ,

Upload any photograph that your daughter happen to be with DTK Najib Razak .

To All Elected MPs ,

You , elected by people , for the people , work for the people and Listen to peoples’ voices . Do something with your conscious minds and not just be a YES man . Rakyat are watching you and by next election we will decide whether to retain you .

15. #15 by pulau_sibu on Friday, 4 July 2008 - 11:44 am

What Bala wants is MONEY

16. #16 by peterchiang on Friday, 4 July 2008 - 11:44 am

According to Malaysiakini, Bala retracts SD.

17. #17 by dawsheng on Friday, 4 July 2008 - 11:45 am

Bala must proved himself insane for the retraction to be valid.

18. #18 by rainbowseahorse on Friday, 4 July 2008 - 11:46 am

saiful, one day, as Allah is my witness, you WILL face the very same despairing and dissolute situation that some of our Malaysians are facing now fighting for a fair and just Malaysia. What comes around will come around and when that day comes for you, just remember what I am saying to you now. If you truly believe this present government is just & fair, then gloat and dance with glee for all you want, for your day will come and your sufferings will be a hundred forth worse!

19. #19 by yhsiew on Friday, 4 July 2008 - 11:46 am

Balasubramaniam is expected to suffer irrecoverable damage to his integrity and credibility by playing around with statutory declaration.

Do you still trust what Balasubramaniam says from now on??!!

20. #20 by Godson on Friday, 4 July 2008 - 11:47 am

Saiful says…..He should be MP in Australia ……the stupid one who cant speak B. Malaysia…..

I fully agree with you Saiful. I’m an umNO-BN supporter. I will live, suffer and die for umNO-BN. But now i’m no more sleepy head….luckily i woke up.

As for me i’m proud to be MP for AUSTRALIA if im given a chance, not with some BN morons who talk world class but speaketh no world class language. Yes, engerlishe.

Understand Mr. …..fool.
    Luckily you do.
    Thank You.
    You are a fast learner and very humble learner.
    You are a good person.

21. #21 by dawsheng on Friday, 4 July 2008 - 11:54 am

I think they are going in to get Anwar.

22. #22 by Godfather on Friday, 4 July 2008 - 11:58 am

What a circus. Now Bala retracts, and soon the 23 year old Saifool will also retract. “You withdraw, and I withdraw.” Sounds like a threesome to me, but someone is getting it from the front and the back….

23. #23 by sj on Friday, 4 July 2008 - 11:58 am

I suspect Mr Bala has been threathened with his life or the life of his family to retract his SD. If they can do that to Anwar and make him hide in the Turkish Embassy, they can definitely do it on Bala.

As for Saiful,

Jangan kurang ajar dan jangan jadi pembohong siber UMNO. We seen with our own eyes how BN MP debate in the Parliament vs PR MP. SO dont try to bullshit us telling us otherwise. For a BN dude you should be fired for doing such a lousy job. GET OUT OF HERE AND TAKE YOUR THRASH ALONG WITH YOU.

24. #24 by Godfather on Friday, 4 July 2008 - 11:58 am

….and it’s us, the suffering rakyat…getting shafted front and back all the time.

25. #25 by rainbowseahorse on Friday, 4 July 2008 - 11:59 am

I know most Malaysians are feeling despair, dissolute, and helpless with our unjust and corrupt government.
    The PM was, or maybe he still is, a religious man. I pray to the great almighty one and only Allah to make the Pm realize his wrongs and those around him, and to give the PM wisdom and strength to right the wrongs.

26. #26 by baoqingtian on Friday, 4 July 2008 - 12:00 pm

Bala retracted his SD!

27. #27 by Richardqed on Friday, 4 July 2008 - 12:03 pm

It is more likely that Bala was threatened and forced to retract the statement now, and was asked to say he was “forced” to make the statement in the first place.

Think about it. If anyone has the power to force him to make the statement in the first place, they would have the power to make sure he sticks to the statement. But that’s not the case.

For someone to make an about-turn in 24 hours, I wouldn’t be surprised he was forced to retract the statement.

28. #28 by Godfather on Friday, 4 July 2008 - 12:06 pm

Can someone in PDRM just lock up this ex-policeman and throw away the keys ?

29. #29 by dawsheng on Friday, 4 July 2008 - 12:06 pm

Bala’s SD retraction can be a valid reason to arrest Anwar.

30. #30 by Godfather on Friday, 4 July 2008 - 12:07 pm

This isn’t going to look good on the government. Now Badawi has to personally guarantee the safety of Bala and his family…..

31. #31 by yog7948 on Friday, 4 July 2008 - 12:09 pm

Bala just retracted a part of the SD only..

32. #32 by devilmaster on Friday, 4 July 2008 - 12:10 pm

From what i understand, Bala only retracts parts of the SD. Now the whole. The SD is still there. And Najib is still answerable to the Mongolian beauty’s father. Malaysiakini is putting a misleading headline.

33. #33 by rainbowseahorse on Friday, 4 July 2008 - 12:12 pm

Godfather, I think you & I are in the wrong business lah! We should start a “Professional Statutory Declaration Agency”. Very lucrative for submission, and then, withdrawal of SD…for the highest interested parties, of course!

34. #34 by Godfather on Friday, 4 July 2008 - 12:13 pm

I thought the SD started with the words ” I make this declaration out of my own free will….” or to that effect. Did Anwar put a gun to Bala’s head and assured him that either his brains or his signature would be on the SD ? Only Sicilians do that lah….

35. #35 by dawsheng on Friday, 4 July 2008 - 12:14 pm

Anwar must be arrested before he exposes more evidence on the Altantuya case, and Anwar must be arrested because his sodomy case is the next big case after the case of Altantuya is closed.

36. #36 by Godfather on Friday, 4 July 2008 - 12:17 pm

If they haven’t moved against RPK, why should they move against Anwar ? I would think that both have the same sources and both have the same evidence.

37. #37 by k1980 on Friday, 4 July 2008 - 12:18 pm

38. #38 by Godfather on Friday, 4 July 2008 - 12:20 pm

No, it is only true in relation to Semi Value.

39. #39 by dawsheng on Friday, 4 July 2008 - 12:20 pm

RPK isn’t after the top job but Anwar is, and RPK is no ordinary Malay. [deleted]

40. #40 by Tickler on Friday, 4 July 2008 - 12:22 pm

undergrad2 Says:
    Today at 10: 42.15 (1 hour ago)
    What is there in his testimony that calls for his impeachment?

41. #41 by Tickler on Friday, 4 July 2008 - 12:23 pm

undergrad2 Says:
    Today at 10: 42.15 (1 hour ago)
    What is there in his testimony that calls for his impeachment?

42. #42 by Godson on Friday, 4 July 2008 - 12:24 pm

FEAR IS A GOOD MOTIVATOR.

43. #43 by helpless on Friday, 4 July 2008 - 12:28 pm

Share news from Malaysia Today.

“One of the names that cropped up in the final report of the Independent Inquiry Committee into The United Nations Oil-For-Food Programme was the Malaysian Prime Minister Abdullah Ahmad Badawi. Malaysia was the fourth highest purchaser of oil – RM1.8 billion. ”

I could not stop ask a simple question as who are not corrupted and not a Billionaire when bacame BN’s Minister ?

SO no surprise for someone is willing to pay Million to became minister.

And for those BN’s member who could not realise all the benefit of NEP go to PM, DPM and their crony. Must put it stop.

The corrupted bunch will never dig their own grave.

Only if only those at the ACA department have guilty mind for not carrying out their duty without fear and favour….. or any own benefit.

Malaysia are small country. Someone in the Police, ACA , Judges and government servant might be close friend or relative. This is the culture of ” abang – adik ” .

Malaysia could be saved only when the bumi realised that having NEP that bring more harm than benefit.

44. #44 by justice_fighter on Friday, 4 July 2008 - 12:34 pm

A lot of our regular readers cannot accessed Malaysia Today through the old address. The new address is:

http://www.malaysia-today.net/
    http://202.73.10.175/

Please spread the news that the site can still be accessed by searching for Malaysia Today using goggle and access from there.

God Bless!

45. #45 by baoqingtian on Friday, 4 July 2008 - 12:36 pm

46. #46 by yog7948 on Friday, 4 July 2008 - 12:37 pm

Bala can sacrifice his Freedom by doing the SD in the first palce but when it comes to sacrifice of families life.. what can he do? We all know what BN can do..

47. #47 by NG on Friday, 4 July 2008 - 12:40 pm

what is happening in this country. every day got supprise!!!!
    we r really very sick of this.want to tell mr bala. you cant just tell the things you like.if you got nothing to tell, keep your f##king mouth close!!

48. #48 by citizenwatch on Friday, 4 July 2008 - 12:42 pm

Latest on Bala’s SD

The latest on Bala SD is that he is retracting some paragraphs. Something happened to change his mind? Whatever it is to save some people, the damage has been done and the people suspect something amiss and the world see Malaysia as a police state.

He was at a press conference with a new lawyer. Can you believe this happening? Malaysia Boleh.

49. #49 by Richardqed on Friday, 4 July 2008 - 12:50 pm

According to the MalaysianInsider.com:

Bala “told friends yesterday that he had come under severe pressure after releasing the statutory declaration.”

No prizes for guessing who would come after him with “severe pressure”.

The question now is which paragraphs was he forced to retract?

50. #50 by sheriff singh on Friday, 4 July 2008 - 12:50 pm

The tide has changed once again. The Empire Strikes Back!!! Watch out !!!

Comments are closed.