Altantuya Murder – Najib should go on leave from his DPM duties until cleared of allegations in Balasubramaniam SD

Deputy Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Razak should go on leave from his duties as Deputy Prime Minister until all questions implicating his credibility, especially arising from the statutory declaration by private investigator P. Balasubramaniam, are investigated and cleared.

Balasubramaniam’s statutory declaration dated 1st July and made public today in effect challenged the truth and veracity of various statements and denials by Najib in connection with the murder of Mongolian national Altantuya Shaariibuu in October 2006 – that Najib had not known or ever met Altantunya.

Najib, as well as the Prime Minister, Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi, cannot allow Balasubramaniam’s shocking statutory declaration to go unchallenged as it raises grave fundamental issues as to their fitness to hold high political offices in the land.

Balasubramaniam’s shocking statutory declaration has brought back to Malaysians the emotional scene at the Kuala Lumpur magistrate’s court on 16th November 2006 when Razak was charged for abetting the murder of Altantuya, when his wife Mazlinda Makhzan lost her cool and shouted at journalists: “My husband is innocent. My husband is a good man. He supported me and protected me. Why are you writing all these stories about him. He is not out to become the Prime Minister. Why are they doing this to him?”

Mazlinda’s emotional outburst in November 2006 have now been resurrected to the very fore of public consciousness by Balasubramaniam’s statutory declaration, crying out for full clarification.

Balasubramaniam said the purpose of his statutory declaration, among other things, was to

1) State his disappointment at the standard of investigations conducted by the authorities into the circumstances surrounding the murder of Altantuya Shaaribuu.

2) Bring to the notice of the relevant authorities the strong possibility that there are individuals other than the three accused who must have played a role in the murder of Altantuya Shaaribuu.

3) Persuade the relevant authorities to reopen their investigations into this case immediately so that any fresh evidence may be presented to the court prior to submissions at the end of the prosecutions case.

4) Emphasise the fact that having been a member of the Royal Malaysian Police Force for 17 years, he is absolutely certain no police officer would shoot someone in the head and blow up their body without receiving specific instructions from their superiors first.

5) Express his concern that should the defence not be called in the Altantuya murder trial, the accused, Azilah and Sirul will not have to swear on oath and testify as to the instructions they received and from whom they were given.

These are issues of urgent definite public importance for which Parliament should take instant cognisance by having an immediate debate, unless and until the Prime Minister can act promptly to assure the Malaysian public that the government is prepared and capable of responding swiftly, credibly and responsibly to the crisis of confidence in the government precipitated by the Balasubramaniam statutory declaration.

Print Friendly

1. #1 by digard on Thursday, 3 July 2008 - 4:12 pm

Thanks Kit Siang! We should really make you the elder statesman in the upcoming new government.
    I wonder how you can keep your temper after 40 years of having to deal with that kind of people.

Thank you again!

2. #2 by Lee Wang Yen on Thursday, 3 July 2008 - 4:17 pm

I hope Kit Siang can be appointed as the deputy prime minister, or at least the home minister or finance minister or foreign minister in the new government.

3. #3 by seage on Thursday, 3 July 2008 - 4:20 pm

Just something to ponder upon (Not taking sides). How come the SD came in so late and not when it is due? Is RPK spearheading the SD movement to prove to Subramaniam that everything is fine before the latter issues an SD?

4. #4 by dawsheng on Thursday, 3 July 2008 - 4:21 pm

Uncle Kit should be DPM1 and de facto law minister.

5. #5 by PureMalaysian on Thursday, 3 July 2008 - 4:31 pm

So everything is the reverse in this Boleh Land.

Like what Patrick said in his blog
    (http://niamah.blogspot.com/2008/06/be-afraid-be-very-afraid.html)

No. I am not getting married. Boom! He gets married.
    No. I will not dissolve Parliament. Boom! He dissolves Parliament the very next day.
    No. There will be no fuel price increase (the first time last week). Boom! RM2.70 per litre the next day.

So before this DPM kept emphasizing “I don’t know her”, “I am not involved”…

What do you think the real answer is? ;)

6. #6 by sega on Thursday, 3 July 2008 - 4:39 pm

This murder case must be investigated thoroughly and leaving no stone unturned. If not, who knows, maybe the next time could be you or me get blown up by C4!

7. #7 by Godfather on Thursday, 3 July 2008 - 4:40 pm

Not only Najis should go on leave, but the AG and the IGP should also be suspended. If Badawi doesn’t agree to a RCI on this matter, then surely he must have something to hide.

8. #8 by madmix on Thursday, 3 July 2008 - 4:42 pm

Why SD so late? Bala probably feared for his life until now. He feels P.R. with its enormous popularity and influence makes it safe for him to do so now.
    The ball is now on Najib’s and Abdullah’s court; what they will do next is crucial. They can keep elegance silence (best option) or stir up a hornet’s nest by arresting Bala, PKR and Anwar.

9. #9 by Godfather on Thursday, 3 July 2008 - 4:42 pm

And Kasim Amat should be made to clean Badawi’s Airbus 319 before it is sold in the secondary market.

10. #10 by baoqingtian on Thursday, 3 July 2008 - 4:46 pm

Altantuya’s private investigator Mr Ang will issue his version of statutory declaration soon. Stay tuned!

Hei! Where are you, Mr Ang! What are you waiting for? Come out and join the campaign to send the murderer to hell.

11. #11 by Emily Pratt on Thursday, 3 July 2008 - 4:46 pm

YB Kit is definitely a good candidate for Minister in the Prime Minister Department in-charge of Home Affairs.

Saya sokong

12. #12 by budak on Thursday, 3 July 2008 - 4:47 pm

haaaa… finally someone really spill the beans… Abd Razak should thank Bala for his HEROISM… he should know what to do, else he’ll not see his wife and daughter forever and ever… similar to Azilah and geng…

Hidup Bala..!

13. #13 by yog7948 on Thursday, 3 July 2008 - 4:48 pm

truth never dies.. BeeEnd thought they have all the power; forgot the actual divine above them.. Swearing by the Holy scripts, moroons!
    nowdays god payback in cash term, no more credit, waiting for you to meet him.. DPM and family are going for some family holiday.. will they come back? These sure will be the end of Tun Razak’s legacy.. .
    See in KMU.net… see the hatred they have on Non-Bumi.. see what the BN regime has sown into the mind of the people….
    If police knew all along about the involvement, then as KDN minister, the Pee-Emm, IGP, AG and those involved just used it for their advantage rather than up hold the justice.. denying and lying as they wish.. Is that Hadhari.. ?
    These peoples are real shame to islam.. setting a very bad example to the non. Sincerely hope the Raakyat will cast away these inept people out of malaysia rather than talking about sending non-malays.
    If possible.. sent the whole BN gomen out of malaysia.. all of them carry the same virus..

14. #14 by greenacre on Thursday, 3 July 2008 - 4:48 pm

I am still looking for the few good men….

15. #15 by Loh on Thursday, 3 July 2008 - 4:49 pm

Balasubramanian’s SD only tells what he heard from Razak and Atlantuya. Razak can very well tell them to the court. What Atlantuya told Balasubramanian cannot be verified. What use is the SD?

16. #16 by pgsilai on Thursday, 3 July 2008 - 4:55 pm

We are like watching a movie, is getting very interesting now!
    Najib should go on leave and be investigated, both AG & IGP should also be suspended. Pak Lah, the whole nation is watching your next move, don’t drag this case anymore.

17. #17 by ihavesomethingtosay on Thursday, 3 July 2008 - 4:57 pm

His wife doesn’t want to sue RPK,

perharps Najib also doesn’t want to sue P. Balasubramaniam.

[b]Checkmate ![/b]

:D

Cheers Najis.

18. #18 by Godfather on Thursday, 3 July 2008 - 4:58 pm

This is not just hearsay. Balasubramaniam has mentioned dates, times and third parties (like Ang, certain policemen not questioned, Baginda’s lawyer, etc) which can be easily verified. The real question is this: does the Badawi administration have the will to verify the allegations of Balasubramaniam or will it simply sweep matters under the carpet ? If it is willing to go to the bottom (no pun intended) of this case, then it has to set up a royal commission of inquiry with the members of the commission to be agreed with the Opposition. Anything less, and the rakyat will overwhelmingly believe in a cover-up.

19. #19 by Saint on Thursday, 3 July 2008 - 5:01 pm

Balasubramanian’s SD was also called as a witness to the court hearing -and if I am not mistaken, he was also arrested regarding the case.

20. #20 by hongsichuan on Thursday, 3 July 2008 - 5:01 pm

Someone said: “I hope Kit Siang can be appointed as the deputy prime minister, or at least the home minister or finance minister or foreign minister in the new government.”

I cannot see why Balasubramaniam’s statutory declaration should be plus point for Mr Lim Kit Siang’s appointment as the deputy prime minister in the new government. As far the “new government”, in politics between now and 916 is eternity during which a lot can happen one way or another.

21. #21 by bzbody on Thursday, 3 July 2008 - 5:02 pm

We are witnessing the dawn of a consequential revolution. This country is in a total mess. If we, the RAKYAT, don’t something about it, may hell burns us all in the life here after.

22. #22 by Godfather on Thursday, 3 July 2008 - 5:02 pm

What does Subramaniam stand to gain from his affidavit ? He stands the risk of criminal investigation for false reporting, and he stands to be sued to the high heavens by the people implicated in his affidavit. I don’t think that PKR has offered him a minister’s post in the new administration !

23. #23 by 9to5 on Thursday, 3 July 2008 - 5:03 pm

Balasubramaniam quoted:-

[Datuk Seri N**** informed Abdul Razak Baginda that he had a sexual relationship with Aminah and that she was susceptible to anal intercourse.]

I’m wondering how bala got to know this intimate information. Did Baginda tell Bala this? This is a bit fishy – telling a PI that a VVIP mentioned this? This would be suicide!

24. #24 by TheWrathOfGrapes on Thursday, 3 July 2008 - 5:06 pm

/// seage Says:
    Today at 16: 20.44 (42 minutes ago)

Just something to ponder upon (Not taking sides). How come the SD came in so late and not when it is due? ///

seage, if you read Bala’s SD, he gave those details to the police earlier, but when the statement was presented to him for him to sign, those details were omitted.

25. #25 by boh-liao on Thursday, 3 July 2008 - 5:09 pm

Looks like the players are through the opening gambit stages. Are they in the fiercely contested ‘I die or you die’ mid-game stage and approaching the end game before one party is check-mated?

Who is taking us to Holland?

Sexciting! Even Bursa Malaysia had suspended trading for one day owing to a multi-hardware failure in its core trading system!

Ha, ha, ha – anyone else’s hardware also failed?

26. #26 by old dad on Thursday, 3 July 2008 - 5:10 pm

Not only Najis should go on leave, but the AG and the IGP should also be suspended.

I second that godfather, that’s fair and logical

27. #27 by citizenwatch on Thursday, 3 July 2008 - 5:10 pm

THE SCORE SO FAR: BN – 2, PR – 3

Hey guys let’s keep score.

BN 2 – 1) Sodomy allegation against Anwar and 2)Allegation against Selangor govt regarding collection of funds for 100 day celebratn

PR 3 – 1)RPK’s SD, 2) Anwar’s police report against AG and IGP, 3) Balasubramaniam’s SD

For Balasubramaniam’s SD please login to http://www.malaysiakini.com

28. #28 by old dad on Thursday, 3 July 2008 - 5:15 pm

““My husband is innocent. My husband is a good man. He supported me and protected me. Why are you writing all these stories about him. He is not out to become the Prime Minister. Why are they doing this to him?” :Mazlinda Makhzan

Dear Mazlinda Makhzan , Please come foreward to tell the truth to the nation. Do some justice to your husband.

29. #29 by Godfather on Thursday, 3 July 2008 - 5:16 pm

During the Anwar Ibrahim trial, we looked on helplessly as the investigating officer (now the IGP) and the prosecutor (now the AG) and the junior High Court judge (now promoted) all made a mockery of justice. Any sane person would have thrown the case out, but Mahathir got his way and Anwar went to jail.

Now at the Altantuya trial, we looked on incredulously as the judge got changed (don’t know by who), the prosecutor got changed at the last minute by the AG, the AG declared at the outset that only 3 people were involved, the investigators all seemed to be incompetent beyond belief, and we wondered if the murdered woman would ever see justice.

In the meantime, Badawi said in Parliament that he needs more time to come up with the draft judicial commission bill for Parliament’s consideration. WTF. Justice can’t wait.

30. #30 by bystander on Thursday, 3 July 2008 - 5:16 pm

najis is not only sitting but now a dead duck. justice will always prevail over lies.

31. #31 by grace on Thursday, 3 July 2008 - 5:20 pm

It is very hard to find a really clean person to be our leader. Almost every one is tainted. But the funny part is that they refuse to claim they are wrong. For example there is one clearly corrupted to the core with loads of cash caught overseas still have the cheek to preach against corruptions.
    I don’t know what will become of our beloved nation if nothing is done. No one in the government can be trusted any more. The judiciary ????? Police? aiya very teruk! ACA? sama-sama.
    I can only pray for the best.

32. #32 by old dad on Thursday, 3 July 2008 - 5:20 pm

Any one has anymore SD please come foreward, but be forewarned terrific consquences if you lie

33. #33 by cheng on soo on Thursday, 3 July 2008 - 5:20 pm

So, what now?, Sue RPK, Sue this Balasu… to their last ringgit lah, if no sue, what the rakyat would think??

34. #34 by citizenwatch on Thursday, 3 July 2008 - 5:21 pm

THE ACCIDENTAL HERO?

Apparently, those involved forgot to ‘talk’ to Balasubraniam to be aligned with whatever script conceived, that’s why we have this unexpected unfolding of event.

35. #35 by grace on Thursday, 3 July 2008 - 5:22 pm

Oh Yes, Mr Lim ,
    I think you would do this Balasubramaniam a favor if you could voice out his safety. Ask Pak Lah to provide him with 24 hours police protection.
    His allegation involves super high profile people you know. Anwar Ibrahim was also frightened what more Subra.

36. #36 by seage on Thursday, 3 July 2008 - 5:27 pm

[Oh Yes, Mr Lim ,
    I think you would do this Balasubramaniam a favor if you could voice out his safety. Ask Pak Lah to provide him with 24 hours police protection.] – Grace

Hahaha Grace, that’s a funny suggestion. Firstly, the Pigi Lah will never bother about the protection of this certain Balasubramaniam. Secondly, having police protection is worse than anything else. Think! The police could just put a bullet into the poor guy’s skull or allow someone to put the bullet and claimed that they have did their best to protect the victim but the assasin outwitted them or perhaps categorised it as an X-File. If someone wanted to kill him, seriously, it wouldn’t be difficult given the quality of our country’s security and law enforcer.

37. #37 by mata_kucing on Thursday, 3 July 2008 - 5:28 pm

Most of us are really shocked but are we surprised? We all heard these stories in the grapevine earlier. The beautiful thing about rumour mongering in Malaysia is that the rumours are always proven true. That’s why nobody believes the MSMs anymore because they only print government propaganda. Is this the end of Najib? Is he going to drag Abdullah with him? The end of BN? After making our life miserable, we can all sit back and enjoy the show.

38. #38 by Mr Smith on Thursday, 3 July 2008 - 5:29 pm

I don’t think this will stop here. I reckon there will be more people standing in queue to come out with their SDs.
    Each denial will be countered with a SD.
    An unpopular government without even a modicum of credibility cannot come out of this mess unscathed.
    This the proof that the entire system of governance has collapsed. Has Abdullah the means and statue to handle this crisis? I think not.
    We can only grief for the country.

39. #39 by citizenwatch on Thursday, 3 July 2008 - 5:29 pm

HOW DID BALA GET INTIMATE INFO?

He could have got it from Baginda himself because a distressed person tends to create a bond with another especially in this case Baginda with a private investigator and the inclination is to share and tell all.

40. #40 by clearwater on Thursday, 3 July 2008 - 5:36 pm

So far, the only sure loser in this game of Statutory Declaration is Malaysia’s reputation. We will become the butt of international jokes. This certainly raises our profile in the international arena, long an ambition of a certain ex-Prime Minister. He must really be proud of his former proteges, they have applied his tactics well to meet his ambition. The winner? No one knows yet. Maybe none. It would be wishful thinking that the long suffering Malaysian citizen will benefit from all this mud raking.

41. #41 by citizenwatch on Thursday, 3 July 2008 - 5:37 pm

(sega Says:

Today at 16: 39.28 (50 minutes ago)
    This murder case must be investigated thoroughly and leaving no stone unturned.)

In this country it’ll range from leaving no pebble or boulder unturned. Move a boulder? There’s always C4!

42. #42 by Godfather on Thursday, 3 July 2008 - 5:37 pm

If Ang and Baginda’s lawyer come out to collaborate the relevant portions of Bala’s affidavit, then Najis is finished. If RPK comes out with a copy of the military intelligence report, then UMNO is finished.

It is good that we accelerate the demise of this corrupt regime, and “sentence” people like Kasim Amat to clean public toilets.

43. #43 by devilmaster on Thursday, 3 July 2008 - 5:38 pm

Najib…mana mau lari… :twisted:

44. #44 by budak on Thursday, 3 July 2008 - 5:40 pm

Yesterday Najis still can smell PM seat…
    Today he smell “Guan Choi Muk” fragrant liao…

Congrat BALA..!
    You’re true HERO..!
    Shall he get Pak Lah nods for his security..?

45. #45 by citizenwatch on Thursday, 3 July 2008 - 5:47 pm

(Godfather Says:

Today at 17: 37.51 (3 minutes ago)
    “If Ang and Baginda’s lawyer come out to collaborate the relevant portions of Bala’s affidavit, then Najis is finished…”)

Well said Godfather, good observation. By the way, did you mean to say ‘corroborate’ instead of ‘collaborate’?

46. #46 by limkamput on Thursday, 3 July 2008 - 5:47 pm

Let’s retire all politicians, all of them now, and call in the United Nations to temporary govern this country until we have set up a proper system of governace. We can’t go on like this. We are finished.

47. #47 by k1980 on Thursday, 3 July 2008 - 5:48 pm

If these allegations are true, Najib is gone… And the government could crumble.
    Doesn’t this make you wonder why Najib and Rosmah didn’t sue Raja Petra?

http://anilnetto.com/malaysian-politics/anwars-explosive-statement-on-altantuya-case/

48. #48 by Godfather on Thursday, 3 July 2008 - 5:48 pm

Yes, corroborate and collaborate.

49. #49 by limkamput on Thursday, 3 July 2008 - 5:50 pm

i don’t know who to believe anymore. Politicians are scumbags, most of them anyway.

50. #50 by alancheah on Thursday, 3 July 2008 - 5:53 pm

God Bless Malaysia!

1 2 3 8

Comments are closed.