Where are the evidence that the Barisan Nasional government has learnt the lessons of the March 8 political tsunami and has begun to be more an unifier than divider of Malaysians, more Malaysian-centric and less communalistic, more democratic, fair and just to be a government of all Malaysians than just half the population in the country?
In other words, a government that inspires unity rather than foments disunity among Malaysians of diverse races, languages, cultures and religions.
The Ninth Malaysia Plan Mid-Term Review is a good illustration. The 120-page 9MP MTR is the slimmest of all Five-Year Plan mid-term review documents, with some previous Mid-Term Reviews like that of the Eighth Malaysia Plan review running into four times the length of the 9MP MTR of over 500 pages. Is it because there is very little to say and inspire Malaysians in the 9MP MTR?
When the Ninth Malaysia Plan was launched in Parliament in March 2006, it was hailed as a historic document finally delivering the Prime Minister’s reform pledge and programme which at the time had been stalled for 30 months – or to quote the words of an MP in the present Parliament, “a blueprint not merely for the next five years, but for the next few decades”, and that the Prime Minister “has set in motion reforms that will reverberate for generations to come”.
In the event, the Ninth Malaysia Plan had not “reverberated” for a single day! This person had even written in the article “From short-term lucre to long-term wealth” that the Ninth Malaysia Plan would not see “the return of the gravy train” but I do not think there would be much disagreement if he is described as the “driver” of the RM220 billion (now increased to RM250 billion under the MTR) “gravy train” as to become the world’s richest unemployed – creating a new class of the bumiputra wealthy at the expense of both the bumiputra and non-bumiputra poor.
I am on record as saying during the debate on the Ninth Malaysia Plan on 3rd April 2006 that this was not the case, as apart from a lot of hype, most Malaysians could not see how the Ninth Malaysia Plan could make any difference in their lives from previous five-year plans as to become a national agenda or national mission for all Malaysians!
The March 2008 general election has not only proved me right, but it went further – as it was a decisive vote by Malaysians against the Ninth Malaysia Plan as failing to come to grips with the dreams and aspirations of Malaysians to have an united, just, democratic, prosperous and progressive Malaysia.
In these circumstances, one would have thought that the 9MP MTR would be the most important document of the second Abdullah administration to demonstrate that it has heard loud and clear the message of the voters in the March general election as well as its political will and commitment to carry out comprehensive reforms to usher in good and effective governance.
Unfortunately, this is not the case. Instead, Parliament and the country was treated to an afterthought by the Cabinet requiring the Deputy Prime Minister yesterday to take the extraordinary step to supplement the speech of the Prime Minister when tabling the 9MP MTR in Parliament last Thursday – publicly demonstrating that the Prime Minister’s speech was not as adequate and comprehensive as it should have been.
What evidence are there in the past four months, the message of the March 8 “political tsunami” has been fully heard and understood by the Barisan Nasional government?
What we have are rhetoric but precious little action and results.
First, nation-building. What proactive actions have the government taken to forge greater unity among Malaysians from diverse races, languages, cultures, religions and territories?
It is most shocking that after half-a-century of nationhood and the great government’s expenditures at nation-building, including the billions of ringgit recently spent on National Service, a Barisan Nasional state legislator in Perak could utter the highly racist, insensitive and offensive statement that when you meet an Indian and a snake, you hit the Indian first!
If the Umno elected representatives could be so racist and insensitive, what is the future for Malaysian nation-building?
What have the MIC Ministers and leaders been doing in the past 50 years in the Barisan Nasional and previously Alliance? No wonder there is the phenomenon of Makkal Sakti from last year, the expression of sheer outrage and despair by the Malaysian Indian community at their long-standing discrimination and marginalisation in the Malaysian political, economic, educational, social and cultural scheme of things – resulting in Parliament not having a single MIC backbencher!
The second illustration that the past four months were lost months in national healing were some of the speeches in Parliament yesterday, attacking the Bar Council for its forum on social contract.
What has happened to Malaysia where advocacy of Article 11 of the Constitution on freedom of religion is regarded as an attack on Islam as the official religion while a forum on social contract is regarded as an attack on ketuanan Malayu and therefore anti-national?
Even more shocking is the agreement by the Prime Minister, Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi that there is no need for any debate on the “social contract” as it will create animosity!
Has Malaysia become a more open society or heading in the opposite direction when more and more issues are being regarded as “sensitive issue4s” which should not be discussed and swept under the carpet?
On the one hand, there are strident calls for ketuanan Melayu, even kedaulatan Melayu, when this is clearly against the Merdeka social contract, a quid pro quo bargain reached by the major communities that Malaysia is a democratic, secular, plural society with Islam as the official religion where racial differences are recognised and diversity encouraged, with affirmative policies to help the socio-economically backward groups; on the other hand, there are increasing demands for the issue of the “social contract” to be removed from the domain of public discussion.
Hasn’t the proper lesson been drawn over the wielding of the Malay keris by the Umno Youth leader, Hishammuddin at previous Umno Youth general assemblies, which even Umno national leaders have attributed as an major factor for Barisan Nasional’s electoral debacle in the March general election?
Are the leaders of MCA, Gerakan, MIC and other BN component parties prepared to take a strong stand that the Merdeka social contract is the basis for the Vision 2020 for a Bangsa Malaysia leading to “ketuanan rakyat” for all Malaysians – which is the very antithesis of ketuanan Melayu or kedaulatan Melayu?
Or have the MCA, Gerakan, MIC and other BN component parties to acquiesce with such communalistic utterances and approaches, both inside and outside Parliament, proving the truth of the confession by former Gerakan President and Minister, Dr. Lim Keng Yaik that Umno does not accord equal status to the other BN component parties reducing MCA, Gerakan, MIC and others to what he described as “beggar politics” with Umno in Barisan Nasional?
Is this the reason why the MCA President, Datuk Seri Ong Ka Ting, has stayed out of the Cabinet after the March general election and announced that he would not seek re-election as MCA President – because he sees no hope in changing the “beggar politics” position of MCA in Barisan Nasional – which is also the opinion of MCA leaders as expressed in the media?
(Speech 2 on Ninth Malaysia Plan Mid-Term Review debate in Parliament)

#1 by ahkok1982 on Wednesday, 2 July 2008 - 9:10 am
if it is between Semi Value and a snake, then I will agree with her statement.
#2 by NG on Wednesday, 2 July 2008 - 9:57 am
got one susgestion for student who want to apply scholarship, pls go to DPM office and meet him.(i wonder since when he is incharged of the scholarship) what a joke!!!!
#3 by k1980 on Wednesday, 2 July 2008 - 9:58 am
Anwar needs to be very careful now. He has already been bitten twice and there is always a third time. Remember how Pope John Paul II was nearly assassinated by the poisoned tip of an umbrella and how the Russian dissident was dispatched to the Big Steppes In The Sky by taking food laced with radioactive polonium?
#4 by boh-liao on Wednesday, 2 July 2008 - 10:02 am
Someone wrote: “It is very sad to see and hear a MP that actually talks without thinking.”
Hey, do you really think Hamidah Osman spoke without thinking? I bet you she must be so used to talking and thinking like this with her friends and colleagues that knowing what to choose between Indians and snakes has become part of her relex actions. That’s why she did what she did during the assembly.
After having asked Speaker V. Sivakumar during the assembly sitting whether he agreed to disagree with the saying of whether a snake or an Indian man should be killed first, Hamidah was forced to openly apologise for her remark. Still not appreciating the true color of this Wanita Umno, Gopeng MIC division chief M. Krishnan urged all Indian organisations to accept Hamidah’s apology and not play up the issue. M. Krishnan should read Darwin’s Theory of Evolution to appreciate his chance of survival under Umno’s rule.
#5 by Bigjoe on Wednesday, 2 July 2008 - 10:59 am
The 9MP was above everything else about politics. Take a poll and you will find that is what people think. Its a sham to say its about shifting to ‘people centric project’.
1) What is the point of raising food production when our production is so miniscule as to make no effect on global prices which most of our food is subject to?
2) What is the point of building roads in Sabah and Sarawak when the people cannot afford the petrol in the first place?
What the people of Sabah & Sarawak need is to be in control of their destinies the first thing is getting rid of illegal immigrants and the second getting UMNO out of Sabah.
I am not a fan of PORR or Penang Monorail but a better policy would have been the arrangement would have been go ahead with the projects and have Sabahan and Sarawakian migrate to Penang than what is proposed under 9MP.
#6 by nazryan on Wednesday, 2 July 2008 - 11:02 am
To stand up and uttering such racist words and repeatedly asking the Honorable Speaker to answer her racist remarks is utterly disgusted. It is only after the Opposition whip leader ask her to retract that she did.
Shame on you, Yang Berhormat Kurang Ajar & Belajar, Puan Hamidah.
Which is why I repeatedly against Ketuanan Melayu…It shall be Ketuanan rakyat. I could not forsee myselves being a slave to another Malays….. That’s the reason behind all these scam..It is not about ketuanan melayu at all..it is Ketuanan Melayu – Umno over all of us.
#7 by k1980 on Wednesday, 2 July 2008 - 11:16 am
Step 1: Set the trap — (accomplished)
Step 2: Get the witnesses — (starting)
Oh, when the witnesses go marching in,
Oh, when the witnesses go marching in
Lord how I want to be in that number
When the saints go marching in
And when the sun begins to shine
Lord, how I want to be in that number
When the sun begins to shine
Step 3: Dump him into the dungeon and throw away the keys
http://www.nst.com.my/Current_News/NST/Wednesday/Frontpage/2282951/Article/index_html
#8 by Godfather on Wednesday, 2 July 2008 - 11:30 am
You folks want to know why Semi Value is very quiet ?
He’s taking this insult personally. He knows that Hamidah is referring to him and him alone.
#9 by yhsiew on Wednesday, 2 July 2008 - 11:48 am
myint3 Wrote:
Today at 00: 33.20 (9 hours ago)
“Growing up in Sabah in the 70s and 80s, my school friends and buddies consisted of chinese, indians, bisayahs, Kadazans, lundayuhs. Non muslim and muslim alike. We studied together, played together, ate together, went after girls together. Yes, we went after pretty girls REGARDLESS OF RACE AND RELIGION.”
——————————————————————
myint3 does have his point. Sabah is the state least influenced by UMNO which is a “race sensitive” party. Prior to 1969 before the NEP, the Malays, Chinese and Indians lived happily together. They played together, laughed together and helped each other. Sadly this scenario is rarely seen today. What we are seeing is racial polarization – each race flocks to its own particular ethnic group.
Basically Malaysia does not have racial problems. The problems arise only when UMNO advocates Malay supremacy. After five decades of UMNO rule, the negative elements of racial supremacy and racial discrimination are deeply entrenched in the hearts and minds of the individual races. The results are racial polarization and that the non-Malays silently harbor ill-feelings towards their Malay counterparts. Such developments are unhealthy. The government should take the necessary steps to tune down such racial overtones in its policies (be it educational, investment or employment related).
It will be sad to see a racially divided Malaysia when we achieve the status of developed nation status by 2020.
#10 by madmix on Wednesday, 2 July 2008 - 11:50 am
Why is the speaker so mild towards this racist woman? If Gobind can be suspended 2 days for a small matter, this woman should be suspended 2 years.
#11 by sotong on Wednesday, 2 July 2008 - 12:25 pm
After 50 years, in particular the last 20 years, our leaders had failed to achieve a basic unity and trust among the races necessary for the success of a multi racial and religious country.
We have gone backward and there is no quick fix!
#12 by gundam on Wednesday, 2 July 2008 - 12:35 pm
umno hackers might hack tis website soon…..
#13 by concerned_citizen on Wednesday, 2 July 2008 - 12:37 pm
Damn it.
He who never learns stays in the hole forever!
If you kill an indian, then the snake will bite you to dead, if you don’t he will help you to kill the snake! Stupid!!
PS- Updates. Malaysia Today is hacked by Gasak.Net. Wonder who is behind this.
#14 by Dr. W on Wednesday, 2 July 2008 - 12:38 pm
I agree with acis7.
Bad people are everywhere in Malaysia regardless of race, religion and gender. Dun tell me robbers in Malaysia are of single colour.
We have scary malay figures like mahathir, Najib…but Anwar is regarded by many as the hope for Malaysia at this critical time. I believe I dun have to say more about OKT and his MCA thugs but we have Kit Siang who has fought for Malaysias for decades. Ok, Sami Vellu……as a heaven-hell contrast to Mr. Karpal Singh.
So, it is really about everything else but the colour of our skin.
You BN monkeys, be more creative laaaa, racism is soo outdated as if ‘frying over-night rice’ laaaa.
#15 by justice_fighter on Wednesday, 2 July 2008 - 12:42 pm
Malaysia Today is under attack again! No need to guess, must be the work of the coward UMNO racist party.
#16 by k1980 on Wednesday, 2 July 2008 - 1:05 pm
The CEO and the snake?
The TNB CEO earns in one month what 24 per cent of households in Malaysia earn in five years – which includes those households with both parents working.
http://anilnetto.com/energy-resources/tnb-ceos-monthly-pay-low-income-earners-5-yrs-wages/
#17 by shadow on Wednesday, 2 July 2008 - 1:39 pm
Now BN should know why they lost most of their important states to PR. This racist woman Hamidah should be suspended and fired from UMNO and BN. Public apology is not enough. She should be punished to avoid future such stupid remarks from others. I think TDM must be giggling right now!
#18 by Sagaladoola on Wednesday, 2 July 2008 - 1:52 pm
My writing on this issue….
Title : Indian-Snake in Perak, Vandalism at Pasar Seni Station
Link :
http://sagaladoola.blogspot.com/2008/07/indian-snake-in-perak-vandalism-at.html
#19 by Toyol on Wednesday, 2 July 2008 - 1:55 pm
The longer BN is on power, the further backwards we will progress. What action is to be taken against her for racial slur? Charge her under ISA for sedition? What about murder? No action taken despite a statutory declaration. But hey, someone is being investigated for sex crimes. Since when did someone’s perceived sexual preference takes precedence over murder? Only in Malaysia…why? Because the government will only prosecute those against them. As far as they are concerned, there is only one rule of law..that is BN/UMNO. Everybody else are criminals. Is this the state you want to be in?
#20 by k1980 on Wednesday, 2 July 2008 - 2:15 pm
Why during his 6 years in prison from 1998, he didn’t gomorrahed any of his fellow inmates?
#21 by Kathy on Wednesday, 2 July 2008 - 3:00 pm
madmix Says:
Today at 11: 50.12 (3 hours ago)
Why is the speaker so mild towards this racist woman? If Gobind can be suspended 2 days for a small matter, this woman should be suspended 2 years
Why not just suspend her from contesting in the next GE?
#22 by bukanbumi on Wednesday, 2 July 2008 - 3:45 pm
Are we surprised such words came out of the mouth of an UMNO woman? I grew up in a Kampung in the fifties and naturally most of my childhood friends were Malays, I came across only one instance of being insulted by a Malay girl while walking past a neighboring Kampung with a group of Malay friends. She shouted at me “Cina Babi Haram”. I kept quiet but my Malay friends came to my defence by asking her for a fight! Yes, the state of mind of a child is a reflection of their parents, we can only blamed their parents for their child’s behaviour. In this Hamidah, we can rightly blamed both UMNO and her parents for being kurang ajar.
If UMNO keep on preaching racial segregation, how can we as a nation achieve anything under UMNO Gorvernment? If UMNO is sincere, then this Hamidah should be sacked from UMNO, if she is still with UMNO then all of us will know that this is the standard practice by UMNO.
#23 by joshua81 on Wednesday, 2 July 2008 - 4:38 pm
Nineth Malaysia Plan??? What the heck is that? Is it some sort of document that enables the goons to come up with no-brainer projects so that they can pocket our hard earned money? I have been listening to this plan, that plan for ages but when is it going to be implimented? What are the projects under the plan? For uneducated people like us, can you simplify it? Make it more in Layman’s Term? Or are you deliberate trying to confuse us? I think by the time my son grow up, it is still underway. Or maybe they are going to come up with Tenth or Eleventh Malaysia Plan next. By the time i retired, i guess they will be on the Twentieth Malaysia Plan. Thanks Abdullah! You are one great premier…
#24 by greenacre on Wednesday, 2 July 2008 - 4:42 pm
The only apology the Indians should accept is this ‘kick Hamidah Out of the BN’ Why ?she is the clear and present danger.Nothing less nothing more.
#25 by joshua81 on Wednesday, 2 July 2008 - 4:47 pm
Oh yeah! How come BN Hamidah never get suspended for her racist slur while DAP Gobind gets 2 days for asking a question? Does that mean BN is above the law and can do whatever they want? Take Bung Mokhtar Rahim, never got warned for his theaterical acts and comments. DAP Chong of Bandar Kuching got thrown out of the House for asking too many questions relating to the Chief Minister of Sarawak. No wonder Abdullah was so proud to announce ‘majority’ after the General Election. Well done once again, Abdullah…
#26 by boh-liao on Wednesday, 2 July 2008 - 5:50 pm
With Hamidah Osman and like-minded Umnoputra and Umnoputeri around, why do we need to waste money having NS? NS will not achieve racial understanding among our youths. NS will only ensure opportunities for Umnoputra and their cronies to grab easy money as contractors.
In addition, do we now know why MM morphed into what he is today away from his ancestry?
#27 by ktteokt on Wednesday, 2 July 2008 - 8:17 pm
How to achieve National Unity when UMNO (United Malays National Organization) can’t even unite the Malays after more than 60 years! And what have MCA and MIC done towards uniting the Chinese and Indians in Malaysia? Such disgraceful Racial politics we have in Malaysia.
#28 by undergrad2 on Wednesday, 2 July 2008 - 8:26 pm
“Why not just suspend her from contesting in the next GE?” nincompoop
Now if this statement is not the mark of a nincompoop, I don’t know what is??
Since when has a Speaker of the House of the national or state legislature anywhere in the world, has the power to ban a qualified citizen from standing for the general elections? To appear on a political blog and make atrocious statements such as this clearly shows your acute lack of understanding of what democracy is all about. It is about the constitutional right to free speech, stupid!
You cannot stop a candidate from standing for the general elections just because and only just because he or she has a track record, for example, of spewing racial hatred in the halls of the legislature. As Speaker, you can censure the people’s representative (which is what she is – a representative of the people) for whatever reasons allowed the Speaker, but you cannot stop him or her from exercising her constitutional right to free speech and that includes the right to stand for the general elections – barring any conviction for a crime.
This is the sort of statement one would expect someone from Kg. Attap, a typical product of the NEP with a Kg. Attap mentality and an UMNO mindset to make – especially the one who has served more than thirty years in the corrupt BN government, especially one with a PPN (given by the Agong) after his name reserved for the mediocre, now retired and seeks to be a spokesman for the poor and the downtrodden when he in fact spent his entire working life being an instrument of the corrupt BN government.
This is really a lot of poop.
#29 by pjboy on Wednesday, 2 July 2008 - 10:29 pm
At least we know who is that one Indian. As for the snake (or snakes), they are all hiding in the “cabinet”. Some are poisonous, some are friendly. But mostly all poisonous…
#30 by daryl on Wednesday, 2 July 2008 - 11:56 pm
In the more civilized Malaysian when a DUN make a racist comment all we get is a apology. Not to say it is not good because I bet this is the first time that happen . My hat off for the Tajol guy and we can use him in the PR.
If this is in the ‘uncivilized’ country like the USA he/she will be begging for his/her job because the media probably cricified him/her even though he/she championed race relationship before. That is how they treat racist people. How cruel are they ;) If you get what I mean.
#31 by azree on Thursday, 3 July 2008 - 1:12 am
We should pity ourselves…we have leaders with stone-age mentality like Hamidah running our country.
#32 by wtf2 on Thursday, 3 July 2008 - 2:06 am
The PEOPLE should protest and demand her resignation. That will drive the seriousness of the situation through the collective BN numbskulls
#33 by raven77 on Thursday, 3 July 2008 - 2:28 am
Helloo Tajol….if you had any balls…you should sack this bitch and call for a by election immediately to restore dignity to your party……but knowing you ….you will probably go to the corner and cry it out……
#34 by sotong on Thursday, 3 July 2008 - 7:19 am
Decades of bad leadership and role models are doing enormous damage to our multi racial and religious country with permanent, long term and far reaching consequences.
You can’t change the adults…..but, if we want to see a better future for all races, we got to start with our childrens.
#35 by Kathy on Thursday, 3 July 2008 - 8:29 am
The following statement by Undergrad2:-
“To appear on a political blog and make atrocious statements such as this clearly shows your acute lack of understanding of what democracy is all about. It is about the constitutional right to free speech, stupid!”
It is not that we do not understand what is democracy is all about. It may be the constitutional right to free speech but it is important for us to remember that what we say (freely or not) would affect others. That means that it may be your constituional right to call someone ninconpoop and stupid but does not mean that you are right nor it is nice.
#36 by saiful on Thursday, 3 July 2008 - 8:42 am
so….LIM are saying comparing Indian with snakes…….stupid old man ;)
#37 by limkamput on Thursday, 3 July 2008 - 9:24 am
undergrad2 aka enjoying the best of both world,
You better have your stupid head examined. When did i say those things that you attributed to me. You are a mega hypocrite who must scoop so low just to humuliate others. You have no standard, you are a sob. Your intention is to discredit my blog but i have visitors everyday. You only help to make it more popular, thanks.
#38 by saiful on Thursday, 3 July 2008 - 9:55 am
la…….Uncle Lim, dont be angry as u grow older faster
#39 by tangwengheng on Thursday, 3 July 2008 - 10:26 am
51 years later: Have we understood each other better?
http://tangwengheng.blogspot.com/2008/07/51-years-later-have-we-understood-each.html
Apparently not. Otherwise, we would not have witnessed a prominent legislator for the Malay-majority Barisan Nasional coalition, Hamidah Osman, implying that Indians are worse than snakes in front of a State Assembly Speaker, the first Indian to hold such a post in Malaysia in her 51-year post-independence history.
Apparently not. Otherwise, we would have understood that cows are sacred to ~10% of Malaysian population and eating beef is haram for them. We would have avoided serving beef during multi-racial functions, or at the very least put up label saying that this particular food item contains beef.
Therefore, an unbiased review of syllabus and contents of History textbooks as well as that of Ethnic Relations module is timely and long overdue.
#40 by undergrad2 on Thursday, 3 July 2008 - 10:57 am
The mark of total nincompoop and a ninny and a softhead is his failure to address the issues and instead attack the messenger instead of the message. The mark of a narcissistic paranoid schizophrenic is when he responds in a representative capacity (using ‘We” instead of “I”) following voices he hears in his head, when the statement is directed at him personally and calls for a personal response.
You can tell the nincompoop in him, from the poop he leaves behind.
#41 by undergrad2 on Thursday, 3 July 2008 - 11:04 am
Only a nincompoop would suggest that a Speaker of the State Legislative Assembly should and could suspend an ADUN from contesting the next GE. Why not address this issue and not let your poop get in your way?
#42 by Godfather on Thursday, 3 July 2008 - 11:37 am
Saiful:
Ask Uncle Kit for some soothing balm for the sore butt of yours.
#43 by k1980 on Thursday, 3 July 2008 - 12:06 pm
Altantuya and the Snake(s)
P. Balasubramaniam, the private investigator hired by Razak Baginda to keep Altantuya away from him, has signed a statutory declaration which basically shows Deputy Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Razak’s involvement in the case. He swears to seeing an SMS from Najib to Razak on the day he was arrested which said: “I am seeing IGP at 11am today… matter will be solved… be cool.”
Statutory declaration in full to come.
Anwar to disclose new revelations on the Altantuya case. Press conference by de facto PKR leader now on at party headquarters in PJ.
#44 by k1980 on Thursday, 3 July 2008 - 1:06 pm
Haiyah, so many kena C4ed one arrh
http://harismibrahim.wordpress.com/2008/07/03/najib-c4-ed/
#45 by k1980 on Thursday, 3 July 2008 - 1:10 pm
Latest press statement from Anwar
http://anwaribrahimblog.com/
#46 by Godfather on Thursday, 3 July 2008 - 2:40 pm
Saiful:
After the latest revelations from Razak Baginda’s PI, your butt won’t be the only one that is sore. Your boss Najis is going to have one hell of a sore butt too.
#47 by myint3 on Thursday, 3 July 2008 - 3:12 pm
To quote from my favourite web slinger :) , “With great power, comes great responsibility”..
Hamidah, an MP, should and ought to know that great powers have been given to her by the people. A lot is expected of her. She is a public figure and a leader of the community. In a multi-racial country like Malaysia, one in her position ought to be sensitive to the feelings of all parties concern and it is basic common sense that you do not go around calling people degrading names.
Her remark is very juvenile and perhaps a manifestation of her view of the Indian community.
She has done the right thing by offering an apology. However, regardless of the apology, she still has to make restitution for the wrong. Just an apology won’t cut it. Not when the wrong is by an MP who should have the better sense of observing the dos and don’ts when making comments about other races.
The operative word here is RESTITUTION! Your apology has been noted and appreciated. WHAT ARE YOU GOING TO DO NEXT? We Malaysians(the new and true Malaysians) are waiting….
#48 by sega on Thursday, 3 July 2008 - 3:59 pm
Hi undergrad2,
Why are you so worked up when you point out other people’s mistakes by using big words like nincompoop, stupid, narcissistic, paranoid, schizophrenic which you don’t understand.
Everyone can make mistakes, nobody is perfect. There are good ways and there are bad ways to point out other people mistakes. The good way will convince them they are wrong. The bad ways not only shut down communication but also revealed the inner insecurities of the person pointing out the mistake.
Maybe you should seriously considered whether theses big words you’ve used can also be applied to yourself.
#49 by Dr.Prem on Thursday, 3 July 2008 - 4:05 pm
PS-Letter to PM on Indian’s condition on BC and Tamil School
HINDU RIGHTS ACTION FORCE
Y.A.B.. DATO’ SERI ABDULLAH AHMAD BADAWI
Prime Minister of MalaysiaBlock Utama,
Bangunan Perdana Putra,
Pusat Pentadbiran Kerajaan Persekutuan,
62502Putrajaya Email: reduceredtape@pmo.gov.my
Email: abdullah@kdn.gov.my
Tel: 03 8888 8000
Fax: 03 8888 3444 14/06/2008
Y.A.B,
Re: (1) 40,000 Indian children denied birth certificate in the state of Selangor alone
(2) Education Minister gives circular last year to stop all pupils without birth certificates from attending Tamil schools.
(3) Hindu Temple demolished at Jalan Sentul by DBKL Mayor (Tamil Nesan 10/6/08 front page)
(4) Tamil schools not fully aided even after 50 years of independence
We refer to the above matter and to the news report in Tamil Nesan dated 13/6/08 front page which coincidentally falls exactly six months today since the four Hindraf lawyers had been detained and punished without trial under the draconian ISA for raising the critical Indian issues like the above.
Be that as it may we would not be deterred from bringing to your kind attention the aforesaid critical Indian issues and as was outlined in our 18 point demands dated 12/8/07 and personally handed over to your goodselves Senior Private Secretary on the same day.
It is a national disgrace that despite 50 years of independence, 40,000 Indian children have been denied even their birth certificates by the UMNO controlled Malaysian government. (Estimated 150,000 nationwide) These poor and innocent children somehow on many occasions have managed to enter, enroll and study at Tamil schools. This way they at least get to complete their primary school education as the Malay secondary schools would not admit them. How ever to add insult to injury the Education Minister had with effect from late last year sent out a circular not to admit Indian pupils without birth certificates into Tamil schools which we view as a further oppression and suppression of the Indians in Malaysia.
We applaude the National Registration Department (NRD) going to orang asli villages in the remotest jungles that does not even have roads. But to the contrary 40,000 Indian children in Selangor alone are not treated the same way (Contrary to Article 8 of the Federal Constitution which provides for equality before the law) even in Malaysia’s most developed state i.e. the state of Selangor.
We also regretfully note that the first Hindu Temple has been indiscriminately demolished by the K.L. City Hall since the 25th November 2007 Hindraf peaceful assembly. We hereby appeal that the Prime Minister’s office issues an urgent circular to all the relevant state authorities to:-
1) Ensure that all Indian children from Malaysia are issued with birth certificates with the supporting letter of two Malaysian citizens who can vouch for the same. And that the NRD takes a pro active stand and go to the ground and solve this long out standing problem by six months.
2) The Education Minister authorizes all Tamil schools to compulsorily admit any Indian pupil even without birth certificates and that the circular dated late last year barring entry without birth certificates is thereby revoked and of no effect.
3) All 523 Tamil schools are made fully aided Tamil Schools and given equal status, funds, facilities, staff and teachers like any other Malay Muslim school.
4) Forthwith stop the indiscriminate demolishment of all Hindu Temples as in the state of Kedah, Penang, Perak, Selangor and Kelantan.
Your kind indulgence in this matter would be greatly appreciated
Thank you,
Yours faithfully.
…………………………….
P. Waytha Moorthy
(Chairman)
#50 by saiful on Thursday, 3 July 2008 - 4:19 pm
Godfather:
can u rub the balm on my ………………………,its hurt ;)