Indian and the snake…

Where are the evidence that the Barisan Nasional government has learnt the lessons of the March 8 political tsunami and has begun to be more an unifier than divider of Malaysians, more Malaysian-centric and less communalistic, more democratic, fair and just to be a government of all Malaysians than just half the population in the country?

In other words, a government that inspires unity rather than foments disunity among Malaysians of diverse races, languages, cultures and religions.

The Ninth Malaysia Plan Mid-Term Review is a good illustration. The 120-page 9MP MTR is the slimmest of all Five-Year Plan mid-term review documents, with some previous Mid-Term Reviews like that of the Eighth Malaysia Plan review running into four times the length of the 9MP MTR of over 500 pages. Is it because there is very little to say and inspire Malaysians in the 9MP MTR?

When the Ninth Malaysia Plan was launched in Parliament in March 2006, it was hailed as a historic document finally delivering the Prime Minister’s reform pledge and programme which at the time had been stalled for 30 months – or to quote the words of an MP in the present Parliament, “a blueprint not merely for the next five years, but for the next few decades”, and that the Prime Minister “has set in motion reforms that will reverberate for generations to come”.

In the event, the Ninth Malaysia Plan had not “reverberated” for a single day! This person had even written in the article “From short-term lucre to long-term wealth” that the Ninth Malaysia Plan would not see “the return of the gravy train” but I do not think there would be much disagreement if he is described as the “driver” of the RM220 billion (now increased to RM250 billion under the MTR) “gravy train” as to become the world’s richest unemployed – creating a new class of the bumiputra wealthy at the expense of both the bumiputra and non-bumiputra poor.

I am on record as saying during the debate on the Ninth Malaysia Plan on 3rd April 2006 that this was not the case, as apart from a lot of hype, most Malaysians could not see how the Ninth Malaysia Plan could make any difference in their lives from previous five-year plans as to become a national agenda or national mission for all Malaysians!

The March 2008 general election has not only proved me right, but it went further – as it was a decisive vote by Malaysians against the Ninth Malaysia Plan as failing to come to grips with the dreams and aspirations of Malaysians to have an united, just, democratic, prosperous and progressive Malaysia.

In these circumstances, one would have thought that the 9MP MTR would be the most important document of the second Abdullah administration to demonstrate that it has heard loud and clear the message of the voters in the March general election as well as its political will and commitment to carry out comprehensive reforms to usher in good and effective governance.

Unfortunately, this is not the case. Instead, Parliament and the country was treated to an afterthought by the Cabinet requiring the Deputy Prime Minister yesterday to take the extraordinary step to supplement the speech of the Prime Minister when tabling the 9MP MTR in Parliament last Thursday – publicly demonstrating that the Prime Minister’s speech was not as adequate and comprehensive as it should have been.

What evidence are there in the past four months, the message of the March 8 “political tsunami” has been fully heard and understood by the Barisan Nasional government?
What we have are rhetoric but precious little action and results.

First, nation-building. What proactive actions have the government taken to forge greater unity among Malaysians from diverse races, languages, cultures, religions and territories?
It is most shocking that after half-a-century of nationhood and the great government’s expenditures at nation-building, including the billions of ringgit recently spent on National Service, a Barisan Nasional state legislator in Perak could utter the highly racist, insensitive and offensive statement that when you meet an Indian and a snake, you hit the Indian first!
If the Umno elected representatives could be so racist and insensitive, what is the future for Malaysian nation-building?

What have the MIC Ministers and leaders been doing in the past 50 years in the Barisan Nasional and previously Alliance? No wonder there is the phenomenon of Makkal Sakti from last year, the expression of sheer outrage and despair by the Malaysian Indian community at their long-standing discrimination and marginalisation in the Malaysian political, economic, educational, social and cultural scheme of things – resulting in Parliament not having a single MIC backbencher!

The second illustration that the past four months were lost months in national healing were some of the speeches in Parliament yesterday, attacking the Bar Council for its forum on social contract.

What has happened to Malaysia where advocacy of Article 11 of the Constitution on freedom of religion is regarded as an attack on Islam as the official religion while a forum on social contract is regarded as an attack on ketuanan Malayu and therefore anti-national?
Even more shocking is the agreement by the Prime Minister, Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi that there is no need for any debate on the “social contract” as it will create animosity!
Has Malaysia become a more open society or heading in the opposite direction when more and more issues are being regarded as “sensitive issue4s” which should not be discussed and swept under the carpet?

On the one hand, there are strident calls for ketuanan Melayu, even kedaulatan Melayu, when this is clearly against the Merdeka social contract, a quid pro quo bargain reached by the major communities that Malaysia is a democratic, secular, plural society with Islam as the official religion where racial differences are recognised and diversity encouraged, with affirmative policies to help the socio-economically backward groups; on the other hand, there are increasing demands for the issue of the “social contract” to be removed from the domain of public discussion.

Hasn’t the proper lesson been drawn over the wielding of the Malay keris by the Umno Youth leader, Hishammuddin at previous Umno Youth general assemblies, which even Umno national leaders have attributed as an major factor for Barisan Nasional’s electoral debacle in the March general election?

Are the leaders of MCA, Gerakan, MIC and other BN component parties prepared to take a strong stand that the Merdeka social contract is the basis for the Vision 2020 for a Bangsa Malaysia leading to “ketuanan rakyat” for all Malaysians – which is the very antithesis of ketuanan Melayu or kedaulatan Melayu?

Or have the MCA, Gerakan, MIC and other BN component parties to acquiesce with such communalistic utterances and approaches, both inside and outside Parliament, proving the truth of the confession by former Gerakan President and Minister, Dr. Lim Keng Yaik that Umno does not accord equal status to the other BN component parties reducing MCA, Gerakan, MIC and others to what he described as “beggar politics” with Umno in Barisan Nasional?

Is this the reason why the MCA President, Datuk Seri Ong Ka Ting, has stayed out of the Cabinet after the March general election and announced that he would not seek re-election as MCA President – because he sees no hope in changing the “beggar politics” position of MCA in Barisan Nasional – which is also the opinion of MCA leaders as expressed in the media?

(Speech 2 on Ninth Malaysia Plan Mid-Term Review debate in Parliament)

1. #1 by kee on Tuesday, 1 July 2008 - 4:31 pm

The truths sure hurt real bad.

2. #2 by grace on Tuesday, 1 July 2008 - 4:32 pm

No need to teach those BN people how to behave. I think we are wasting time. Better to teach monkeys how to behave. Anyway it is good for PR. The rakyat knows their stupidity and next election they would be voted out.

3. #3 by oknyua on Tuesday, 1 July 2008 - 4:39 pm

YB Lim, the only Indian she knew is 70 plus old Sam.

I worked for a few months in Inland Finance many yrs ago. From there I learnt of the name Tan Sri Manikavasagam. Manikavagam’s contribution to the country wasn’t limited to the Indians. In fact with the withdrawal of the Whites, the plantation section could have collapsed without the efforts of Manikavasagam. He called for support for the plantations to survive, raised funds and set up the Inland Finance. Plantation is the backbone of Malaysian economy since 1960’s. Maybe Puan Hamidah need to re-look into history.

Secondly she might need to know that KL and Ipoh started through the miners, who were, Hamidah, 99% Chinese. You live in nice neighbourhood, aircond house and thought that Malaysia’s prosperity is through the Ketuanan Race. Almost all major towns in this country are started by the Chinese.

Thirdly, Hamidah might need to know that without the natives of Sarawak and Sabah, Malaysia would have been destroyed by the 1969 racial violence. It was the Rangers of Sarawak and Sabah that rescued KL from violence, restoring orders and looking for criminals.

That is the problem, YB Lim. If you look at the history books studied in secondary schools, you only see Islamic Civilisation. Malaysia is not built through Islamic Civilisation – it’s the sweats and blood of all races.

4. #4 by boleh-an on Tuesday, 1 July 2008 - 5:17 pm

Ong Ka Ting used to be quite vocal, after the political Tsunami, he has been quite quiet and his action of not seeking re-election speaks louder than words. I salute him for this. No hope lah.

5. #5 by Godfather on Tuesday, 1 July 2008 - 5:29 pm

It is absolutely correct, correct, correct that the driver of the gravy train is the world’s richest unemployed. He pulls the strings, evaluates the proposals and distributes the cookies based on political affiliation. His mother runs a pool of analysts out of an office in Ampang.

How can these people think that they can operate unseen in today’s age ? They leave a trail everywhere they go ! Or maybe wreckage everywhere they go.

6. #6 by ahkok1982 on Tuesday, 1 July 2008 - 5:37 pm

7. #7 by gundam on Tuesday, 1 July 2008 - 5:51 pm

i concur tat the history books in secondary school only emphasize on islamic civilization more than anything else.

8. #8 by lovemalaysiaforever on Tuesday, 1 July 2008 - 6:11 pm

ALL MALAYSIAN MUST BE BRAVE ENOUGH TO STAND UP TOGETHER AND SAY NO TO RACIST!!!!

Those BN Goons doesn’t understand the meaning of Enough is Enough and I think they should read as “STOP ENOUGH ALREADY! WE WANT CHANGE NOW!!!”

9. #9 by sithakrish on Tuesday, 1 July 2008 - 6:18 pm

really badly hurts…I agree..history taught in school does not teach the real thing..perhaps that is why it is called “His story”-history- well wonder whose verson?
    Everyone ones that this is Malaysia but do they know what does the word Malaysia means???? What does the word Malay means???????From where we actually got these words…
    Well i think that (if you know the answer) tells the history of our beloved country and I am proud to be in it knowing that there many fighters like YB and others trying to bring the essense of Malaysia. Thank you.

10. #10 by badak on Tuesday, 1 July 2008 - 6:32 pm

History ..What history our history had been mutilated by our UMNO led BN Goverment.None Malay students are treated like beggers in schools.
    As long as MIC,MCA,PPP,GERAKAN just raise their hands and shouts “” KAMI SOKONG “” For the table scraps that UMNO throws at them nothing will change.
    UMNO is brave to ask all of us to shut up..and NOT talk about KETUANAN MELAYU. Because they have the support of MIC,MCA,PPP,GERAKAN.This thing about the SNAKE..WHERE IS MIC.

11. #11 by Dr. W on Tuesday, 1 July 2008 - 6:57 pm

For my past 4 years+ studying and eventually working in Singapore, I have seen several versions of advertisements to promote Tourism In Malaysia by the government.

With the proud slogoan of “Malaysia, Truely Asia”, I would say that the videos were well-made. In general, we could see lots of colours from the various cultural activities exhibited by the Malay, Chinese, Indian, Kadazan and Iban. Obviosuly, the selling point is the racial harmony among races.

Indeed, we live among each other peacefully. Taking me as an example, I lived in an area with a neighbouring Malay Kampung. My brother and I used to buy pisang-ubi goreng and other tidbits in the kampung, and we are so used to live around the lemah-lembut speaking pakcik and makcik and played with other Malay kids in the neighbourhood.

When I did my tertiary studies in UTM, I have made lots of Malay and Indian friends as we spent time on academic projects and other leisure activities like watching soccer matches at mamak stalls, drank tea tarik and had roti canai almost in a regular basis.

SO, what sort of racial tension are we talking about from time to time?

IT IS the racist card manipulated by the scumbags in UMBO-BN which created racial tension among Malaysians when things do not favour them politically. IT IS the ultimate UMBO-BN machinery that induces hatred and fear among us so that they would always stay in power in order to cut our throats and suck our blood. Najis used to warn us that his keris wanted to drink CHINESE blood. Hisamkeris took his keris in the face of malaysians when chinese and indians demanded for education resources. Now, this dunno-who from UMBO talked about indians and snakes.

Mind you, Malaysians are not as stupid as they think we are. We witnessed how Guan Eng was jailed because he defended a Malay girl fearlessly. We witnessed how Hindraf was victimised because they wanted a better future for their kids. Now we are witnessing how Anwar was framed because he is trying to forge a brighter path for Malaysians.

They may called us fool when their previous evil plots went through. But call it no more because this time around, it is our turn to call them FOOL by pulling such obvious, idiotic trick.

Let us stay united, concentrated and harmony. Together with Kit Siang and friends from Pakatan Rakyat, we shall combat these scums from UMBO-BN till Putra Jaya is conquered!

12. #12 by doggone on Tuesday, 1 July 2008 - 7:08 pm

Do you know why those people always play the racial card? Because they think if you don’t, you are not in the elite group of umno. After all, these honey-suckers will never ever have the ability to contribute to nation building, and the only way to leech onto the gravy is to bandy the racial card as often as possible to justify the rewards of membership.

Look at Hamidah who dons the veils and apparels of Islam to profess her faith. Beneath the facade lies a serpent with medusan streak.

13. #13 by taiking on Tuesday, 1 July 2008 - 7:09 pm

The value and worth of the review is accurately reflected by the number of pages taken to expound it.

Tens of billions justified by mere sentences.

A child who needs RM50 for the school air-cond fees, are often put to elaborate the teacher’s reasonings in a more critical and vigourous fashion by the parent.

14. #14 by yog7948 on Tuesday, 1 July 2008 - 7:32 pm

we still be able to live in harmony after we demolish all the BNs ” divide and rule” mind set people together with their running dogs. BNs main policy are to make sure all races never unite .. they know if we get united than they can kiss their luxury life good bye.

15. #15 by boh-liao on Tuesday, 1 July 2008 - 7:44 pm

Now we know how magnanimous Umno is towards MIC and SV, for the mere fact that SV and his kaki-kaki are still alive.

Indians who voted for Hamidah must have their heads examined.

Of course Hamidah knows Malaysian history and the contributions of nonMalays to Malaysia. But of course Hamidah will also say: Why are you nonMalays here ah? We prefer snakes.

16. #16 by yhsiew on Tuesday, 1 July 2008 - 7:52 pm

Chua Sok Lek said in Malaysiakini (Chinese Edition) that Ong Ka Ting decided to withdraw from the October MCA party-election because he was unable to effectively solve problems within his party and was perceived as a “lame duck” inside the party since he was not a minister any more. Another reason which caused him to withdraw was that Pak Lah has deserted him; on several occasions Ong was unable to meet Pak Lah to discuss issues that affect the Chinese community. The above problems probably have caused Ong to relinquish his leadership post early, Chua said.

17. #17 by clear conscience on Tuesday, 1 July 2008 - 8:08 pm

Dear Mr LKS,

All Malaysians would have read what Tricia Teoh has written in the Star of 1 July 2008. It reflects identical calls by your goodself pertaining to the MTR which the Deputy PM has to supplement the PM’s speech.

It goes to show to all Malaysians that there is no substance in the current administration of Malaysia.

What more do all Malaysians expect for the present UMNO-led government to take care of all races in the distribution of the economic pie. Today it has been reported that the UMNO-led government, according to the Deputy PM, that the Chinese will not be neglected. Was this meant to hood-wink Malaysian Chines. Just because the Sabahans& Sarawakians make a lot of noise, funds were channeled there. What happened to Penang & four other PR-led states in terms of fundings by the UMNO-led government. It is meant to punsih all who did not vote for them. The reasons substantive funds were directed to sabah & Sarawak is because of the vulnerability in the political scene, now especially with DSAI working hard to march to Putrajaya.

On the issue of the Ketuanan Melayu matter, (to quote & unquote Tricia Yeoh’s article, “Finally, it is unfortunate that policies addressing social economic imbalances are continually awash with the same racially-skewed language. Much attention is presently given to improving the status of the bumiputras. The focus should be instead on those social-economic classes that ARE IN NEED, bumiputra or not”), this brings to the question of why the UMNO-led government is so “Ketuanan Melayu” centric without regards to the social contract of the Constitution. As such it is not surprising that Makal Saathi exists.

Mr LKS, you are right, absoultely correct, correct, correct in stating that the other BN component parties are, in the words of Lim Keng Yaik, in reality practising beggar’s politics. (Mind you, Lim Keng Yaik only dared to say this at about that time he was to retire). Where was MCA, Gerakan & MIC official stance on this issue of Ketuanan Melayu. It’s a shame and a national debacle to, after 50 years (well i am short of a year at 49), Malaysian are still divided and are always asked to state their race when filling up forms. It goes to show that the UMNO-led government does not bother to even integrate the racial line effective. What a national disgrace in the eyes of the global community. I would feel shameful that the government has the guts to project an image that Malaysians are living harmoniously under the great sun of South East Asia (that was it was reported foreigners asked how on earth in Malaysia could different ethnic groups could living side by side).

Now that the AAB bunch of UMNO stalwarts are so busy fending off PR, DSAI and all of you out there in the Opposition that there is no time for national interest; leading to the slip-shod MTR report. Tricia Yeah is absolutely right about the MTR report. She had pointed out the report lacks substance, without any substantive tables, figures and information to back it. All Opposition MPs should question more about this in Parliament.

On the issue of NS program, spending millions to benefit certain quarters without achieving any national integration reflects the failure on the part of the UMNO-led government. The question here is, “Is it necessary?”. Particularly at this stage where our youths has attained 18 years of age. Wawasan schools were intended for this purpose. Did it achieve its objective? The underlying failure factor, may I diagnose correctly, boils down to the government’s constant balring of Ketuanan Melayu. It’s analogy is as follows:-

“Asking the children to be respectful…blah, blah, blah with all
    races when the adult Malaysians do not even carry it out”.

Sorry, not all Malaysians are. I had the priviledge to have some Malay friens whom we have good relationships…no quarrel, we even joked over Ketuanan Melayu. My Malay friends even insisted that it is the top UMNO stalwarts who are out there to “divide & rule”.

I have another matter which I would like all Malaysian to know that our PM’s assurance must be taken with a pinch of salt. Here I am not talking about PM’s assurance to DSAI yesterday. It’s about his WarkahUntukPM website. Remember when it was launched? It was PM’s words that he would reply to comments there. I can vouch that this is not true. My request for assistance (not monetary or otherwise) but towards a complaint that the Kementerian Keselamatan Dalam Negeri (previously known as) did not even bother to take actions against non-license security firm in my area despite I was the whistle blower to inform them that this is against the law. What great enforcement our government agencies have.

In summary, there is no hope to depend on the UMNO-led government. Change, continue your march and make the change to Putrajaya.

18. #18 by dr suresh kumar on Tuesday, 1 July 2008 - 8:38 pm

Since independence except for the last GE I would bravely say here that 90% of the Indian community in Malaysia had never failed to deliver their votes for BN.For all those loyalty shown to the govt,what the Indians received in return,was marginalization from all aspects including temple demolitions.

And now the Indians are being labelled as `snake’.When Indians achieve something commendable in the international arena,then they are automatically known as Malaysians otherwise they are either Indians,tamil racists or snakes.

Now let me share with you readers an incident that happened to one of my patients in Malaysia about one and a half years ago.This uncle who was a retired bank manager in his 70s walked into my clinic once looking visibly upset.When I asked him whats wrong he told me that he was just coming from a specialist centre.He said to me as he walked to the waiting hall of the specialist centre,a 6 or 7 yr old malay boy ran up to him and shouted that`guru agama saya kata orang2 macam ini mesti di bunuh’.Obviously that poor old man was stuck speechless,and when he regained his composure he saw that the parents of the child instead of reprimanding the child were smiling.Apparently he told those parents if you going to raise a child like this,the future of Malaysia is going to be doomed.He was soon whisked away by his doctor,who was also very upset.

Now can any one blame that innocent child for his behaviour?The very person who in this case his teacher who suppose to instil sense in that tender mind chose to sow the seed of hatred.Hamidah is no different from that `guru agama’either.Being a `tudung’ clad person,she not only disgraced herself and her party but also her faith which supposedly preached love,respect and fairness.And we rakyat have her in the state assembly to represent us.I really dont understand what is the relevance of that fable she mentioned in the assembly.Either she has got no enough intelligence to raise issues of importance to the nation or she is a racist to the core as her mentor the maharacist mahathir.

They never seem to have learned any lesson from the 12th GE or simply too arrogant to fathom the reality.A very sad chapter in the history of Bangsa Malaysia indeed.And these sinful souls have the audacity to call the HINDRAF warriors who sacrificed their careers,love,freedom and family who merely questioned the govt on the legitimate rights of the poor,desperate and marginalized as racists.Where is the justice?

19. #19 by monsterball on Tuesday, 1 July 2008 - 8:45 pm

All I can say..is that Penang would have been for DAP… under Mahathir’s last election…had DAP stood alone….and not team up with PAS.
    So Lim should openly say…he made the biggest mistake of his life.
    But thank God…DAP ..at last..have a strong home base.
    Please take care of Penang folks. They are special and brave.

20. #20 by gundam on Tuesday, 1 July 2008 - 8:59 pm

malaysia should not be known as a multi racial country.
    singapore deserves the title.
    wherever u go in spore, u c signboards in 3 different languages of their main ethnics including english for everyone. tis is oso true on their currency notes.
    look at MALAYsia….
    no wonder we do not attract much foreign talents…

21. #21 by MGR1940 on Tuesday, 1 July 2008 - 10:35 pm

You cannot blame Hamidah because under her tudung she has the same most expensive brain out of three different Malaysian brains that was put up for sale.
    I wonder how she feels whenever she sees an Indian walking towards her while alone after her remarks and the outcome.

22. #22 by choonchoy on Tuesday, 1 July 2008 - 11:05 pm

Simple send Hamidah and her family for National Service!!!

23. #23 by budak on Tuesday, 1 July 2008 - 11:06 pm

Racist UMNO not happen yesterday, today or tomorrow…
    It will continue as long as UMNO in power…
    MCA, MIC, DLL kept endorsing their sinful jobs….

Thank you to donkey brain voters who had chosen the right DONKEY MP from BN… :-)

24. #24 by tuanku british on Tuesday, 1 July 2008 - 11:09 pm

Gandhi quoted about a Snake and an Indian beggar said:- “When you see a snake, you should never run away from the snake but advised bow to the snake for good fortune. Then your family received good karmas. When you see an Indian beggar, you should lend him your sincere heart to support him because the GOD returns his both hands to you forever.”

This proverb indicates that Hamidah was less educated and kurang ajar. She has no rights to teach the Speaker a lesson since her kurang bijak otak statement was back fired by her own morons party in Perak assembly as well as all Malaysians. Don’t they felt “malu” for walking out of Perak Assembly without full respect to thank the Perak Ruler’s ucapan on the opening of assembly?

Malay saying : ” Hentak air ke dulang terkena muka sendiri. ” – best refer to Hamidah who voiced her racist statement to discredit the Indian communities was indeed shameful. She failed to realise that the real snakes or cobras came from her own party who sucked the people blood money by way of raising prices of goods and burden the people of Malaysia.

WHAT A BIG SHAME ? WE TOTAL AGREED WITH LKS.

25. #25 by monsterball on Tuesday, 1 July 2008 - 11:16 pm

I think UMNO snakes are more dangerous than toothless MIC snake.

26. #26 by wtf2 on Tuesday, 1 July 2008 - 11:38 pm

is the statement seditious???

27. #27 by tuanku british on Tuesday, 1 July 2008 - 11:39 pm

Many Malay friends & colleagues insisted told non-bumiputra buddies that it is the top UMNO stalwarts who acted like cobras and snakes are out there are doing more problems in Malaysia. Among the vital details claimed by many medium and poor Malays said many BN dirty politicians always :-

(a) create a “divide & rule” laws in many biased government policies against all races in Malaysia;

(b) enriched their cronies by discrimating and marginalising many poor Malays by deceiving their 30% Bumi allocation in the IPOs and GLC companies;

(c) caused social imbalance contact between the rich societies and poor societies among all races;

(d) affected disharmony scenarios and discontent among all races when they continue playing racist sandiwaras and Ketuanan Melayu subject; and

(e) continued to practice corrupt, misused power and mismanagement the wealth and rich resources in Malaysia

Lastly, who is the BIGGEST SNAKE when kurang ajar Hamidah is referring to her own Master today?

28. #28 by raven77 on Wednesday, 2 July 2008 - 12:09 am

You cannot let this go…….like Tajol said…..Hamidah must be hounded at every turn…….this is a multiracial country….NOT an Islamic one…….if it takes Hamidah to be made an example of……so be it……non Malays must rise to this occasion if they want to be considered a part of this country……

29. #29 by NG on Wednesday, 2 July 2008 - 12:21 am

base on my recent observation, our PM will team up with DSAI to stop TPM from challenging him.PM need the supporter of DSAI.
    we will see the truth in few months time. believe me.

30. #30 by tuanku british on Wednesday, 2 July 2008 - 12:26 am

We read a big poster glued at a public bus stop in Kg Sg Rapat near Gopeng, Perak. Minutes later some morons from Barang Naik party destroyed the poster.

31. #31 by abc280 on Wednesday, 2 July 2008 - 12:31 am

Kudos to our Malaysian Indian brothers & sisters for exercising total tolerance & patience in this another show of STUPID ARROGANCE by bn/umno….I hate to imagine what would have happened had this type of remark been made against you-know-who!!!

32. #32 by myint3 on Wednesday, 2 July 2008 - 12:33 am

Growing up in Sabah in the 70s and 80s, my school friends and buddies consisted of chinese, indians, bisayahs, Kadazans, lundayuhs. Non muslim and muslim alike. We studied together, played together, ate together, went after girls together. Yes, we went after pretty girls regardless of race and religion. If you haven’t already noticed, we Sabahans (and Sarawakians) are moderate and non-confrontational albeit that history would tell you that we produced some of the fiercest warriors around during the British colonial time.

In the 80s, I was sent to Kedah for a student leadership course. While I was there, I had a bit of culture shock. I noticed that all the other students from other schools in West Malaysia, they only hung out with their friends of the same race. It was weird, it wasn’t the Malaysia that I grew up in. My impression of multiracial harmony Malaysia was formed by my growing up in Sabah.So that was an eye opener for me.

It used to upset us very much when BN played the racial and religion card when they were trying to topple Pairin during the PBS days. It obviously did not work until they play other forms of politics, give you a hint – S 11. When they did that, only then the MPs started leap frogging.

My point is, we Sabahans don’t vote people in just based on their skin colour or which place of worship they go to. By and large, we are tolerant towards each other. When UMNO creeped into Sabah’s political landscape, I personally was worried that they would import their brand of politics in and they were signs of discord amongst us already. However, with the recent GE in March 08, I am also glad to know that brothers and sisters in the West are no longer buying BN’s racial politics.

I think and I anticipate a great era for Malaysians’ Malaysia. I pray that GOD will protect and bless all the leaders in PR. Save us from this cancer we call BARISAN NASIONAL.

33. #33 by sheriff singh on Wednesday, 2 July 2008 - 12:35 am

““Indian and the snake…”

Hmmmm. Isn’t he / she called a “fakir”?

34. #34 by i_love_malaysia on Wednesday, 2 July 2008 - 12:39 am

“Is this the reason why the MCA President, Datuk Seri Ong Ka Ting, has stayed out of the Cabinet after the March general election and announced that he would seek re-election as MCA President ” – YB Lim
    —————–

I think the NOT was missing out from this sentence “….that he would seek re-election as MCA President “

35. #35 by tuanku british on Wednesday, 2 July 2008 - 12:45 am

Hahahahaahahaah! ——————–EEEE haaaaaa

WHO ARE THE BIGGEST ANACONDAS IN MALAYSIA ? –

UMNO##AB putras and NJ puteris !!

WHO ARE THE WEAKEST SNAKES IN MALAYSIA ?

MIC ###OH OH Samy and Mellu !!

WHO ARE THE KIASI COBRAS IN MALAYSIA?

MCA ### sound like Ling LSIK, looks like OK Ting !!

WHO ARE THE KIASU PYTHONS IN MALAYSIA ?

GERAKAN ## Aiyah KING YIK and Aiyo Dr dr Khor

WHO IS THE NEXT WAITING PM IN MALAYSIA ?

YES….

KING ANWAR IS THE BEST FOR FUEL DOWNFALLS

HIDUP MALAYSIA !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!BRAVO ?

36. #36 by trublumsian on Wednesday, 2 July 2008 - 12:48 am

From the lecture hall of a well-known college campus in Boston. The class is one of Asian Studies. The date was 6/29. Attendance was 42, Caucasians making half the crowd and a good mixture of foreign students making the rest. There was a discussion on Malaysia, and what was exchanged was sad. Very sad. Does AAB and his cohorts know how foreign countries view Malaysia? Do they know on the respect scale the AAB and Najib rank 2nd to Myanmar’s Junta, from the BOTTOM?

37. #37 by darren sky on Wednesday, 2 July 2008 - 12:55 am

38. #38 by undergrad2 on Wednesday, 2 July 2008 - 1:39 am

39. #39 by acis7 on Wednesday, 2 July 2008 - 2:23 am

Come on la people. who picked the BN people as your MPs? If everyone hates them, we won’t have them in the first place. Regardless of what people label you as, you don’t have to degrade yourself to the brainless people’s level. You counter, your info kurang, you kena. Nampak bodoh, kan? Dia bodoh, biarkan. You go and make some changes, rather than leashing out in blogs.

Malaysia being an Islamic country doesn’t mean the people would be Islamic. Tell me one religion that say you can have premarital-sex. Tell me one religion that tells you or allows you to do bad stuff. Malaysia doesn’t have to be an Islamic, or Christian/Buddhist/Hindu nor whatever religion country. If you’re a bad person, you do bad stuff. REGARDLESS OF YOUR RELIGION. So, shut up and stop putting Islam in the same page as the evil people. You don’t have to mention tudung. You put yourself in a position stupider than her.

Are you pious to your religion? Get your facts right then do your human rights thing by unleashing your anger with the right facts.

I can be racist if I want, but I choose not to. However, most people in this blog, pardon me if I’m wrong, appear to be prejudiced towards Islam and Muslims. You don’t have to wear tudung, we do. You respect your teachings, and we respect yours. It’s a win-win situation.

PEACE =)

40. #40 by devilmaster on Wednesday, 2 July 2008 - 2:47 am

41. #41 by doggone on Wednesday, 2 July 2008 - 5:31 am

None of the MCA MP’s stood up to reprimand Hamidah. They kept quiet about the sodomy allegation against DSAI. They supported the hike in fuel prices. They wet their pants after learning about RPK’s Stat Dec and not a whimper escaped their mouth. And to think they could even remain relevant at all. What have they been doing after the 12th GE except clinging to their master’s coattail. I have even lost the mood to call them the scurrying canines they are lest I degrade our 4 legged friends.

Did someone say MC4? Yes, their only true path to redemption I guess.

42. #42 by Kathy on Wednesday, 2 July 2008 - 6:50 am

It is very sad to see and hear a MP that actually talks without thinking. Whoever that had voted for her, better kick themselves hard for making such a bad mistake. Hamidah does not represent the multi-cultural Malaysians – she only represents herself.

By the way, to add on the History books in schools toy indeed erase off the contribution of the Indians and Chinese Community as well as others. I still can vividly remember my secondary history text books from long time ago that included history of India and its struggles, China, USA and what I like best was how the rich history of Sabah and Sarawak was portrayed. Nowadays, it is all about Islam – what happen to other religions of the world?

There is now talk about having the Federal Constitution as a complusory subject for chinese schools (tamil schools????). Which version would this be? I think it would be better for those in the Education Ministry to take the examinations that we the Rakyat set for them first before implementing excessive, unproductive subjects in schools.

43. #43 by lew1328 on Wednesday, 2 July 2008 - 7:00 am

Greetings! YB Kit

The word of “Unity” for Malaysian is only a dream if our education system does not change. We have Chinese keeps learns more Mandarin, Malay learns more Bahasa Malaysia and India continues with their Tamil language. Hah… This surely will not form a chemical reaction to each others. This has to start from primary school and not only secondary or higher education level.

As long as those stupid brain peoples from BN hold the position, thing will not change much and bravely to say that it will only become worst. It seems that they’ve communication barrier in order to talk to others races such case like this.

Regards.

44. #44 by k1980 on Wednesday, 2 July 2008 - 8:29 am

45. #45 by Bigjoe on Wednesday, 2 July 2008 - 8:36 am

UMNO is cobbling of a group of Malays that actually have very diverse social, political and religion. Its why it was losing ground from independence until 1969 as Malays became more polarized over issues. After 1969, its fortune was reversed by the NEP and its accompaniment of ketuanan Melayu and later added with Islamization. There is no uniform ideology in fact, its anchor is the NEP with satellite strengths in Islamisation.

The problem is since 1969 universal principles are getting more acceptable that is anti-thesis to these cobbling together of diverse people anchored on material gains by political means.

That is why UMNO is lost and you get state assemblywomen like these because it really stands for nothing ideologically. All of its ideology is pretense for material gain by politics Not universal principles that is acceptable by more and more people.

46. #46 by clear conscience on Wednesday, 2 July 2008 - 8:40 am

The mere apology by the state BN and UMNO on the Snake & Indian case in Perak should not just accepted as that. It’s a racist remark which breached the laws here in Malaysia. It goes, by the apology, that the BN/UMNO conceded that it’s racial discrimination.

A police report should be made, Mr LKS. It’s seditious serious matter. Pursue it under PR, blow the entire matter up when it’s still hot. That will restore some respect for other races in Malaysia; being Malaysians in every context under the Constitution. Otherwise, UMNO will not respect the Constitution. Moreover, it would also throw a spat unto all the other BN component parties; particularly MIC, MCA & Gerakan.

Let them come out to defend Malaysians if they want the Malaysian votes.

Btw, where is Semi Value’s stand on this. He remained quiet, chose to be invisible and forgot he is representing the Malaysian Indians. What value this Semi guy has when he cannot even defend his race. Maybe he is not so smart to take on this real opportunity to fight for Indians. Perhaps he lost his balls to do so after the GE12 scalp.

47. #47 by taiking on Wednesday, 2 July 2008 - 8:41 am

Gundam said

“… malaysia should not be known as a multi racial country …”

How true.

In the mind of UMNO, malaysia is malay plus aliens like chinese, indians, natives, indons, filipinas, etc etc.

I was in china two years ago. It was qingtao. There were some roadworks. I was told, in preparation for the Olympics. There were of course signboards carrying public warning on danger, route changes and all the rest of it. The warnings were made in 4 languages – Mandarin, English, Korean and Japanese.

In malaysia, whether or not our airport should carry some basic signs in mandarin was a decision that ultimately only the cabinet can decide.

What nonsense.

48. #48 by seage on Wednesday, 2 July 2008 - 8:45 am

Off topic!

I still remember during my secondary school days that the subject “Sejarah” was one of the things that I loathed the most. It is 10% on human history i.e. stone age to modern age technology, 40% Islam/middle eastern history, 20% history of Malaya, 10% of world history and the rest makes up the difference. The text book is so pathetic, so brief, so selective. I still remember l only scored 29marks in one of my exam because the topic is all about Islam. I wouldn’t mind learning about other religion, but to sit for the exam is akin to making a muslim student to take an exam on buddhism or a buddhist student to take exam on biblical knowledge. Speaking of Sejarah, it should be what it is, sejarah, otherwise we will be like Japan (If we are not one already) on its selective insertion of its history by conveniently leaving out the heinous WW2 incidents.

49. #49 by yhsiew on Wednesday, 2 July 2008 - 8:50 am

Of the people interviewed, only 10% said Sodomy Part II was true, 60% believed there were political motives behind the accusation.

Analysts Ibrahim Suffian, Ong Kian Ming and Oon Yeoh said Anwar would be the biggest winner in the latest accusation against him as he was able to win sympathy support from the Malays, and PM and DPM would be the losers.

Ibrahim Suffian said if BN did not handle the accusation properly, it would be like government backdoor on fire and pose a new test and challenge to a beleaguered Pak Lah.

50. #50 by PHUAKL on Wednesday, 2 July 2008 - 8:52 am

I’m sure the Indian voters (and that includes Indian Muslims!!)
    in her constituency know what to do next with this racist.

51. #51 by ahkok1982 on Wednesday, 2 July 2008 - 9:10 am

if it is between Semi Value and a snake, then I will agree with her statement.

52. #52 by NG on Wednesday, 2 July 2008 - 9:57 am

got one susgestion for student who want to apply scholarship, pls go to DPM office and meet him.(i wonder since when he is incharged of the scholarship) what a joke!!!!

53. #53 by k1980 on Wednesday, 2 July 2008 - 9:58 am

Anwar needs to be very careful now. He has already been bitten twice and there is always a third time. Remember how Pope John Paul II was nearly assassinated by the poisoned tip of an umbrella and how the Russian dissident was dispatched to the Big Steppes In The Sky by taking food laced with radioactive polonium?

54. #54 by boh-liao on Wednesday, 2 July 2008 - 10:02 am

Someone wrote: “It is very sad to see and hear a MP that actually talks without thinking.”

Hey, do you really think Hamidah Osman spoke without thinking? I bet you she must be so used to talking and thinking like this with her friends and colleagues that knowing what to choose between Indians and snakes has become part of her relex actions. That’s why she did what she did during the assembly.

After having asked Speaker V. Sivakumar during the assembly sitting whether he agreed to disagree with the saying of whether a snake or an Indian man should be killed first, Hamidah was forced to openly apologise for her remark. Still not appreciating the true color of this Wanita Umno, Gopeng MIC division chief M. Krishnan urged all Indian organisations to accept Hamidah’s apology and not play up the issue. M. Krishnan should read Darwin’s Theory of Evolution to appreciate his chance of survival under Umno’s rule.

55. #55 by Bigjoe on Wednesday, 2 July 2008 - 10:59 am

The 9MP was above everything else about politics. Take a poll and you will find that is what people think. Its a sham to say its about shifting to ‘people centric project’.

1) What is the point of raising food production when our production is so miniscule as to make no effect on global prices which most of our food is subject to?

2) What is the point of building roads in Sabah and Sarawak when the people cannot afford the petrol in the first place?

What the people of Sabah & Sarawak need is to be in control of their destinies the first thing is getting rid of illegal immigrants and the second getting UMNO out of Sabah.

I am not a fan of PORR or Penang Monorail but a better policy would have been the arrangement would have been go ahead with the projects and have Sabahan and Sarawakian migrate to Penang than what is proposed under 9MP.

56. #56 by nazryan on Wednesday, 2 July 2008 - 11:02 am

To stand up and uttering such racist words and repeatedly asking the Honorable Speaker to answer her racist remarks is utterly disgusted. It is only after the Opposition whip leader ask her to retract that she did.

Shame on you, Yang Berhormat Kurang Ajar & Belajar, Puan Hamidah.

Which is why I repeatedly against Ketuanan Melayu…It shall be Ketuanan rakyat. I could not forsee myselves being a slave to another Malays….. That’s the reason behind all these scam..It is not about ketuanan melayu at all..it is Ketuanan Melayu – Umno over all of us.

57. #57 by k1980 on Wednesday, 2 July 2008 - 11:16 am

Step 1: Set the trap — (accomplished)

Step 2: Get the witnesses — (starting)
    Oh, when the witnesses go marching in,
    Oh, when the witnesses go marching in
    Lord how I want to be in that number
    When the saints go marching in

And when the sun begins to shine
    Lord, how I want to be in that number
    When the sun begins to shine

Step 3: Dump him into the dungeon and throw away the keys

http://www.nst.com.my/Current_News/NST/Wednesday/Frontpage/2282951/Article/index_html

58. #58 by Godfather on Wednesday, 2 July 2008 - 11:30 am

You folks want to know why Semi Value is very quiet ?

He’s taking this insult personally. He knows that Hamidah is referring to him and him alone.

59. #59 by yhsiew on Wednesday, 2 July 2008 - 11:48 am

myint3 Wrote:
    Today at 00: 33.20 (9 hours ago)

“Growing up in Sabah in the 70s and 80s, my school friends and buddies consisted of chinese, indians, bisayahs, Kadazans, lundayuhs. Non muslim and muslim alike. We studied together, played together, ate together, went after girls together. Yes, we went after pretty girls REGARDLESS OF RACE AND RELIGION.”
    ——————————————————————

myint3 does have his point. Sabah is the state least influenced by UMNO which is a “race sensitive” party. Prior to 1969 before the NEP, the Malays, Chinese and Indians lived happily together. They played together, laughed together and helped each other. Sadly this scenario is rarely seen today. What we are seeing is racial polarization – each race flocks to its own particular ethnic group.

Basically Malaysia does not have racial problems. The problems arise only when UMNO advocates Malay supremacy. After five decades of UMNO rule, the negative elements of racial supremacy and racial discrimination are deeply entrenched in the hearts and minds of the individual races. The results are racial polarization and that the non-Malays silently harbor ill-feelings towards their Malay counterparts. Such developments are unhealthy. The government should take the necessary steps to tune down such racial overtones in its policies (be it educational, investment or employment related).

It will be sad to see a racially divided Malaysia when we achieve the status of developed nation status by 2020.

60. #60 by madmix on Wednesday, 2 July 2008 - 11:50 am

Why is the speaker so mild towards this racist woman? If Gobind can be suspended 2 days for a small matter, this woman should be suspended 2 years.

61. #61 by sotong on Wednesday, 2 July 2008 - 12:25 pm

After 50 years, in particular the last 20 years, our leaders had failed to achieve a basic unity and trust among the races necessary for the success of a multi racial and religious country.

We have gone backward and there is no quick fix!

62. #62 by gundam on Wednesday, 2 July 2008 - 12:35 pm

umno hackers might hack tis website soon…..

63. #63 by concerned_citizen on Wednesday, 2 July 2008 - 12:37 pm

Damn it.

He who never learns stays in the hole forever!

If you kill an indian, then the snake will bite you to dead, if you don’t he will help you to kill the snake! Stupid!!

PS- Updates. Malaysia Today is hacked by Gasak.Net. Wonder who is behind this.

64. #64 by Dr. W on Wednesday, 2 July 2008 - 12:38 pm

I agree with acis7.

Bad people are everywhere in Malaysia regardless of race, religion and gender. Dun tell me robbers in Malaysia are of single colour.

We have scary malay figures like mahathir, Najib…but Anwar is regarded by many as the hope for Malaysia at this critical time. I believe I dun have to say more about OKT and his MCA thugs but we have Kit Siang who has fought for Malaysias for decades. Ok, Sami Vellu……as a heaven-hell contrast to Mr. Karpal Singh.

So, it is really about everything else but the colour of our skin.

You BN monkeys, be more creative laaaa, racism is soo outdated as if ‘frying over-night rice’ laaaa.

65. #65 by justice_fighter on Wednesday, 2 July 2008 - 12:42 pm

Malaysia Today is under attack again! No need to guess, must be the work of the coward UMNO racist party.

66. #66 by k1980 on Wednesday, 2 July 2008 - 1:05 pm

The CEO and the snake?
    The TNB CEO earns in one month what 24 per cent of households in Malaysia earn in five years – which includes those households with both parents working.
    http://anilnetto.com/energy-resources/tnb-ceos-monthly-pay-low-income-earners-5-yrs-wages/

67. #67 by shadow on Wednesday, 2 July 2008 - 1:39 pm

Now BN should know why they lost most of their important states to PR. This racist woman Hamidah should be suspended and fired from UMNO and BN. Public apology is not enough. She should be punished to avoid future such stupid remarks from others. I think TDM must be giggling right now!

68. #68 by Sagaladoola on Wednesday, 2 July 2008 - 1:52 pm

My writing on this issue….

Title : Indian-Snake in Perak, Vandalism at Pasar Seni Station
    Link :
    http://sagaladoola.blogspot.com/2008/07/indian-snake-in-perak-vandalism-at.html

69. #69 by Toyol on Wednesday, 2 July 2008 - 1:55 pm

The longer BN is on power, the further backwards we will progress. What action is to be taken against her for racial slur? Charge her under ISA for sedition? What about murder? No action taken despite a statutory declaration. But hey, someone is being investigated for sex crimes. Since when did someone’s perceived sexual preference takes precedence over murder? Only in Malaysia…why? Because the government will only prosecute those against them. As far as they are concerned, there is only one rule of law..that is BN/UMNO. Everybody else are criminals. Is this the state you want to be in?

70. #70 by k1980 on Wednesday, 2 July 2008 - 2:15 pm

Why during his 6 years in prison from 1998, he didn’t gomorrahed any of his fellow inmates?

71. #71 by Kathy on Wednesday, 2 July 2008 - 3:00 pm

madmix Says:

Today at 11: 50.12 (3 hours ago)
    Why is the speaker so mild towards this racist woman? If Gobind can be suspended 2 days for a small matter, this woman should be suspended 2 years

Why not just suspend her from contesting in the next GE?

72. #72 by bukanbumi on Wednesday, 2 July 2008 - 3:45 pm

Are we surprised such words came out of the mouth of an UMNO woman? I grew up in a Kampung in the fifties and naturally most of my childhood friends were Malays, I came across only one instance of being insulted by a Malay girl while walking past a neighboring Kampung with a group of Malay friends. She shouted at me “Cina Babi Haram”. I kept quiet but my Malay friends came to my defence by asking her for a fight! Yes, the state of mind of a child is a reflection of their parents, we can only blamed their parents for their child’s behaviour. In this Hamidah, we can rightly blamed both UMNO and her parents for being kurang ajar.

If UMNO keep on preaching racial segregation, how can we as a nation achieve anything under UMNO Gorvernment? If UMNO is sincere, then this Hamidah should be sacked from UMNO, if she is still with UMNO then all of us will know that this is the standard practice by UMNO.

73. #73 by joshua81 on Wednesday, 2 July 2008 - 4:38 pm

Nineth Malaysia Plan??? What the heck is that? Is it some sort of document that enables the goons to come up with no-brainer projects so that they can pocket our hard earned money? I have been listening to this plan, that plan for ages but when is it going to be implimented? What are the projects under the plan? For uneducated people like us, can you simplify it? Make it more in Layman’s Term? Or are you deliberate trying to confuse us? I think by the time my son grow up, it is still underway. Or maybe they are going to come up with Tenth or Eleventh Malaysia Plan next. By the time i retired, i guess they will be on the Twentieth Malaysia Plan. Thanks Abdullah! You are one great premier…

74. #74 by greenacre on Wednesday, 2 July 2008 - 4:42 pm

The only apology the Indians should accept is this ‘kick Hamidah Out of the BN’ Why ?she is the clear and present danger.Nothing less nothing more.

75. #75 by joshua81 on Wednesday, 2 July 2008 - 4:47 pm

Oh yeah! How come BN Hamidah never get suspended for her racist slur while DAP Gobind gets 2 days for asking a question? Does that mean BN is above the law and can do whatever they want? Take Bung Mokhtar Rahim, never got warned for his theaterical acts and comments. DAP Chong of Bandar Kuching got thrown out of the House for asking too many questions relating to the Chief Minister of Sarawak. No wonder Abdullah was so proud to announce ‘majority’ after the General Election. Well done once again, Abdullah…

76. #76 by boh-liao on Wednesday, 2 July 2008 - 5:50 pm

With Hamidah Osman and like-minded Umnoputra and Umnoputeri around, why do we need to waste money having NS? NS will not achieve racial understanding among our youths. NS will only ensure opportunities for Umnoputra and their cronies to grab easy money as contractors.

In addition, do we now know why MM morphed into what he is today away from his ancestry?

77. #77 by ktteokt on Wednesday, 2 July 2008 - 8:17 pm

How to achieve National Unity when UMNO (United Malays National Organization) can’t even unite the Malays after more than 60 years! And what have MCA and MIC done towards uniting the Chinese and Indians in Malaysia? Such disgraceful Racial politics we have in Malaysia.

78. #78 by undergrad2 on Wednesday, 2 July 2008 - 8:26 pm

“Why not just suspend her from contesting in the next GE?” nincompoop

Now if this statement is not the mark of a nincompoop, I don’t know what is??

Since when has a Speaker of the House of the national or state legislature anywhere in the world, has the power to ban a qualified citizen from standing for the general elections? To appear on a political blog and make atrocious statements such as this clearly shows your acute lack of understanding of what democracy is all about. It is about the constitutional right to free speech, stupid!

You cannot stop a candidate from standing for the general elections just because and only just because he or she has a track record, for example, of spewing racial hatred in the halls of the legislature. As Speaker, you can censure the people’s representative (which is what she is – a representative of the people) for whatever reasons allowed the Speaker, but you cannot stop him or her from exercising her constitutional right to free speech and that includes the right to stand for the general elections – barring any conviction for a crime.

This is the sort of statement one would expect someone from Kg. Attap, a typical product of the NEP with a Kg. Attap mentality and an UMNO mindset to make – especially the one who has served more than thirty years in the corrupt BN government, especially one with a PPN (given by the Agong) after his name reserved for the mediocre, now retired and seeks to be a spokesman for the poor and the downtrodden when he in fact spent his entire working life being an instrument of the corrupt BN government.

This is really a lot of poop.

79. #79 by pjboy on Wednesday, 2 July 2008 - 10:29 pm

At least we know who is that one Indian. As for the snake (or snakes), they are all hiding in the “cabinet”. Some are poisonous, some are friendly. But mostly all poisonous…

80. #80 by daryl on Wednesday, 2 July 2008 - 11:56 pm

In the more civilized Malaysian when a DUN make a racist comment all we get is a apology. Not to say it is not good because I bet this is the first time that happen . My hat off for the Tajol guy and we can use him in the PR.

If this is in the ‘uncivilized’ country like the USA he/she will be begging for his/her job because the media probably cricified him/her even though he/she championed race relationship before. That is how they treat racist people. How cruel are they ;) If you get what I mean.

81. #81 by azree on Thursday, 3 July 2008 - 1:12 am

We should pity ourselves…we have leaders with stone-age mentality like Hamidah running our country.

82. #82 by wtf2 on Thursday, 3 July 2008 - 2:06 am

The PEOPLE should protest and demand her resignation. That will drive the seriousness of the situation through the collective BN numbskulls

83. #83 by raven77 on Thursday, 3 July 2008 - 2:28 am

Helloo Tajol….if you had any balls…you should sack this bitch and call for a by election immediately to restore dignity to your party……but knowing you ….you will probably go to the corner and cry it out……

84. #84 by sotong on Thursday, 3 July 2008 - 7:19 am

Decades of bad leadership and role models are doing enormous damage to our multi racial and religious country with permanent, long term and far reaching consequences.

You can’t change the adults…..but, if we want to see a better future for all races, we got to start with our childrens.

85. #85 by Kathy on Thursday, 3 July 2008 - 8:29 am

The following statement by Undergrad2:-
    “To appear on a political blog and make atrocious statements such as this clearly shows your acute lack of understanding of what democracy is all about. It is about the constitutional right to free speech, stupid!”

It is not that we do not understand what is democracy is all about. It may be the constitutional right to free speech but it is important for us to remember that what we say (freely or not) would affect others. That means that it may be your constituional right to call someone ninconpoop and stupid but does not mean that you are right nor it is nice.

86. #86 by saiful on Thursday, 3 July 2008 - 8:42 am

so….LIM are saying comparing Indian with snakes…….stupid old man ;)

87. #87 by limkamput on Thursday, 3 July 2008 - 9:24 am

undergrad2 aka enjoying the best of both world,

You better have your stupid head examined. When did i say those things that you attributed to me. You are a mega hypocrite who must scoop so low just to humuliate others. You have no standard, you are a sob. Your intention is to discredit my blog but i have visitors everyday. You only help to make it more popular, thanks.

88. #88 by saiful on Thursday, 3 July 2008 - 9:55 am

la…….Uncle Lim, dont be angry as u grow older faster

89. #89 by tangwengheng on Thursday, 3 July 2008 - 10:26 am

51 years later: Have we understood each other better?

http://tangwengheng.blogspot.com/2008/07/51-years-later-have-we-understood-each.html

Apparently not. Otherwise, we would not have witnessed a prominent legislator for the Malay-majority Barisan Nasional coalition, Hamidah Osman, implying that Indians are worse than snakes in front of a State Assembly Speaker, the first Indian to hold such a post in Malaysia in her 51-year post-independence history.

Apparently not. Otherwise, we would have understood that cows are sacred to ~10% of Malaysian population and eating beef is haram for them. We would have avoided serving beef during multi-racial functions, or at the very least put up label saying that this particular food item contains beef.

Therefore, an unbiased review of syllabus and contents of History textbooks as well as that of Ethnic Relations module is timely and long overdue.

90. #90 by undergrad2 on Thursday, 3 July 2008 - 10:57 am

The mark of total nincompoop and a ninny and a softhead is his failure to address the issues and instead attack the messenger instead of the message. The mark of a narcissistic paranoid schizophrenic is when he responds in a representative capacity (using ‘We” instead of “I”) following voices he hears in his head, when the statement is directed at him personally and calls for a personal response.

You can tell the nincompoop in him, from the poop he leaves behind.

91. #91 by undergrad2 on Thursday, 3 July 2008 - 11:04 am

Only a nincompoop would suggest that a Speaker of the State Legislative Assembly should and could suspend an ADUN from contesting the next GE. Why not address this issue and not let your poop get in your way?

92. #92 by Godfather on Thursday, 3 July 2008 - 11:37 am

Saiful:

Ask Uncle Kit for some soothing balm for the sore butt of yours.

93. #93 by k1980 on Thursday, 3 July 2008 - 12:06 pm

Altantuya and the Snake(s)
    P. Balasubramaniam, the private investigator hired by Razak Baginda to keep Altantuya away from him, has signed a statutory declaration which basically shows Deputy Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Razak’s involvement in the case. He swears to seeing an SMS from Najib to Razak on the day he was arrested which said: “I am seeing IGP at 11am today… matter will be solved… be cool.”
    Statutory declaration in full to come.

Anwar to disclose new revelations on the Altantuya case. Press conference by de facto PKR leader now on at party headquarters in PJ.

94. #94 by k1980 on Thursday, 3 July 2008 - 1:06 pm

95. #95 by k1980 on Thursday, 3 July 2008 - 1:10 pm

Latest press statement from Anwar
    http://anwaribrahimblog.com/

96. #96 by Godfather on Thursday, 3 July 2008 - 2:40 pm

Saiful:

After the latest revelations from Razak Baginda’s PI, your butt won’t be the only one that is sore. Your boss Najis is going to have one hell of a sore butt too.

97. #97 by myint3 on Thursday, 3 July 2008 - 3:12 pm

To quote from my favourite web slinger :) , “With great power, comes great responsibility”..

Hamidah, an MP, should and ought to know that great powers have been given to her by the people. A lot is expected of her. She is a public figure and a leader of the community. In a multi-racial country like Malaysia, one in her position ought to be sensitive to the feelings of all parties concern and it is basic common sense that you do not go around calling people degrading names.

Her remark is very juvenile and perhaps a manifestation of her view of the Indian community.

She has done the right thing by offering an apology. However, regardless of the apology, she still has to make restitution for the wrong. Just an apology won’t cut it. Not when the wrong is by an MP who should have the better sense of observing the dos and don’ts when making comments about other races.

The operative word here is RESTITUTION! Your apology has been noted and appreciated. WHAT ARE YOU GOING TO DO NEXT? We Malaysians(the new and true Malaysians) are waiting….

98. #98 by sega on Thursday, 3 July 2008 - 3:59 pm

Hi undergrad2,

Why are you so worked up when you point out other people’s mistakes by using big words like nincompoop, stupid, narcissistic, paranoid, schizophrenic which you don’t understand.

Everyone can make mistakes, nobody is perfect. There are good ways and there are bad ways to point out other people mistakes. The good way will convince them they are wrong. The bad ways not only shut down communication but also revealed the inner insecurities of the person pointing out the mistake.

Maybe you should seriously considered whether theses big words you’ve used can also be applied to yourself.

99. #99 by Dr.Prem on Thursday, 3 July 2008 - 4:05 pm

PS-Letter to PM on Indian’s condition on BC and Tamil School
    HINDU RIGHTS ACTION FORCE

Y.A.B.. DATO’ SERI ABDULLAH AHMAD BADAWI
    Prime Minister of MalaysiaBlock Utama,
    Bangunan Perdana Putra,
    Pusat Pentadbiran Kerajaan Persekutuan,
    62502Putrajaya Email: [email protected]
    Email: [email protected]

Tel: 03 8888 8000
    Fax: 03 8888 3444 14/06/2008

Y.A.B,

Re: (1) 40,000 Indian children denied birth certificate in the state of Selangor alone

(2) Education Minister gives circular last year to stop all pupils without birth certificates from attending Tamil schools.

(3) Hindu Temple demolished at Jalan Sentul by DBKL Mayor (Tamil Nesan 10/6/08 front page)

(4) Tamil schools not fully aided even after 50 years of independence

We refer to the above matter and to the news report in Tamil Nesan dated 13/6/08 front page which coincidentally falls exactly six months today since the four Hindraf lawyers had been detained and punished without trial under the draconian ISA for raising the critical Indian issues like the above.

Be that as it may we would not be deterred from bringing to your kind attention the aforesaid critical Indian issues and as was outlined in our 18 point demands dated 12/8/07 and personally handed over to your goodselves Senior Private Secretary on the same day.

It is a national disgrace that despite 50 years of independence, 40,000 Indian children have been denied even their birth certificates by the UMNO controlled Malaysian government. (Estimated 150,000 nationwide) These poor and innocent children somehow on many occasions have managed to enter, enroll and study at Tamil schools. This way they at least get to complete their primary school education as the Malay secondary schools would not admit them. How ever to add insult to injury the Education Minister had with effect from late last year sent out a circular not to admit Indian pupils without birth certificates into Tamil schools which we view as a further oppression and suppression of the Indians in Malaysia.

We applaude the National Registration Department (NRD) going to orang asli villages in the remotest jungles that does not even have roads. But to the contrary 40,000 Indian children in Selangor alone are not treated the same way (Contrary to Article 8 of the Federal Constitution which provides for equality before the law) even in Malaysia’s most developed state i.e. the state of Selangor.

We also regretfully note that the first Hindu Temple has been indiscriminately demolished by the K.L. City Hall since the 25th November 2007 Hindraf peaceful assembly. We hereby appeal that the Prime Minister’s office issues an urgent circular to all the relevant state authorities to:-

1) Ensure that all Indian children from Malaysia are issued with birth certificates with the supporting letter of two Malaysian citizens who can vouch for the same. And that the NRD takes a pro active stand and go to the ground and solve this long out standing problem by six months.

2) The Education Minister authorizes all Tamil schools to compulsorily admit any Indian pupil even without birth certificates and that the circular dated late last year barring entry without birth certificates is thereby revoked and of no effect.

3) All 523 Tamil schools are made fully aided Tamil Schools and given equal status, funds, facilities, staff and teachers like any other Malay Muslim school.

4) Forthwith stop the indiscriminate demolishment of all Hindu Temples as in the state of Kedah, Penang, Perak, Selangor and Kelantan.

Your kind indulgence in this matter would be greatly appreciated

Thank you,

Yours faithfully.

…………………………….
    P. Waytha Moorthy
    (Chairman)

100. #100 by saiful on Thursday, 3 July 2008 - 4:19 pm

Godfather:

can u rub the balm on my ………………………,its hurt ;)

101. #101 by isahbiazhar on Thursday, 3 July 2008 - 4:32 pm

Indians in this country knew that they were disguised slaves to the Malays.Many still had contact with their mother country.The Malays always addressed the Indians as Kling.Only after the May 13 incident they started to use India.They still thought the Indians as cheap dirt.The Chinese due to their economic dominance could live wealthily.Thus the Malays could not touch them but still ill treated the component parties.All the mix open houses did not bring that spirit.It is only when the Malays jointly voted out Umno and BN there saw a new hope.These new Malays have accepted that all Malaysians should enjoy all rights of the nation to be united.No one race should feel superior to others.Besides the Malays who are Muslims realised that due to politics they have been brainwashed with the idea of Tuanism.A friend once told me that in one of his courses he attended he was brainwashed to hate the other races and the non Muslims.Now he regrets because he felt that it was not Islam but government indoctrination.What he had come to understand now is Islam Tulen and Islam Biasa.According to him a person who follows Islam Tulen always thinks of Allah(GOD) and never does any harm while a Muslim Biasa thinks of Allah/God only when he prays five times.These are the people who do more harm to the non Muslims.In this context the lady who uttered in the Perak Assembly can be classified as Muslim Biasa.When she was in the speech she was a plain human with the invective.The time has come for all races to unite and never bring racial slur.All political parties need all Malaysians to lead and anything less will bring about chaos as we can see what is happening to our country now.

102. #102 by Godfather on Thursday, 3 July 2008 - 5:06 pm

Saiful:

Suruh tunang buat lah….kalau tidak nanti kita kena masuk lokap.

103. #103 by limkamput on Thursday, 3 July 2008 - 6:11 pm

undergrad2 aka enjoying the best of both worlds, the reality is you can’t write like the way i did in my blog. You have to face reality, so much for your better english and liberal english education.

i challenge you to set up a blog and write me 20 pieces over the next two months. If you can do that, i shall leave you alone. You can attack me everyday, and i shall not retaliate, how about it, hypocrite. No standard sob.

104. #104 by limkamput on Thursday, 3 July 2008 - 6:15 pm

undergrad2, your stupid moronic wish to call in the army will become reality soon. So much for your moronic contribution. Didn’t i warn you don’t say stupid things if you have nothing to say. Mega moron and hypocrite. Go find the next highest building in NY and jump down if i were you.

105. #105 by pjboy on Thursday, 3 July 2008 - 11:55 pm

Such a comment cannot be acceptable & tolerated coming from an MP, an immature one I would say. It shows that we are still 3rd or 4th world mentality. This is the probable result of UMNO-brainwashing sessions revealing it’s true colours, exposed by one of its members in the open. In Japan, she would have to resign with apology. If we are in the 5th world, the tongue cut-off. In some countries, she would have to publish her apology in the papers – in all the language in that country – the entire week at her cost as an act of humility. Fact is, she did not apologize immediately. She was “forced” to apologize so that she retain her position.

And is it not ironic, that in a function, when there is a Muslim present, no pork is served. This is basic civil courtesy. So, by right, when we have a Hindu present in any function, beef should not be served as an act of courtesy. It is high time the Indian community is given some due recognition & equal citizens that form one of the backbone of Malaysia as a nation. Unfortunately, this is not taught. Some Chinese, who follow Kuan-Yin staunchly, also don’t eat beef. But no-fuss is made if beef is served in functions right in front of their eyes…the word here is open tolerance.

In Indonesia, there are restaurants that serve pork are also patronised by Muslims…nothing wrong as long as they don’t eat the meat. The people who serve it also have the courtesy not to use the same utensils as for the pork. Of course, they don’t encourage this but neither do they go & cruxify any Muslims patronising the restaurant. So, who is more civilised & cultured? Malaysia or Indonesia?

Another food for thought: our money (notes, coins) are circulated from one person to another. How does anyone know if that RM1 or 50cent was not handled by a pork seller or butcher? So it seems, where money is concern, it can be tolerated. So why not in person. Money is truly the root of all evil…it makes us forget that we are all humans in this lonely planet…as predicted by someone over 2000 years ago.

106. #106 by ktteokt on Friday, 4 July 2008 - 9:10 am

Just take a look at our JALAN YAP AH LOY in Kuala Lumpur and you know how much they appreciate of the contribution by other races. Being the founder of Kuala Lumpur, Yap Ah Loy is only commemorated with a road to his honour consisting of less than ten shoplots, one of the shortest streets in the city centre!!!!

107. #107 by Ramesh Laxman on Friday, 4 July 2008 - 9:32 am

This is too much. But does anyone including Hamidah Osman know why you have to kill the Indian first.

108. #108 by boh-liao on Friday, 4 July 2008 - 9:34 am

The remorseful Hamidah Osman, who wished to turn over a new leaf, should offer to protect P. Balasubramaniam from NR.

109. #109 by KS R on Saturday, 5 July 2008 - 5:01 am

Hi YB Lim

What she said is true, you know why because some ungrateful Indian vote for HaMIDAH osMAN. After Hindraf incident some of the Indians still fail to wake up or carry balls for BN. BN umno will never improve. I request HAIMDAH OSMAN TO LETAK JAWATAN and police should arrest her creating racial issue. She is next Hishmudin and najib .

110. #110 by dr suresh kumar on Saturday, 5 July 2008 - 7:25 pm

isahbhiazar,

I feel very sad to see that there are people like you in Malaysia who are so ignorant about the real history of our country yet wish to comment with distorted facts.

Give me the liberty to educate you a little a bit about the history of the Indians in Malaysia.The Indians were first brought to the then Malaya by the British under the `Kangani’system to toil in the rubber plantations.Later on many were brought to work in the railways and to work in the road construction sector.Some even came to work for the british civil administration like my forefathers ,yet some came to work for the japanese during the japanese administration in malaya,though these numbers were very small.

The Indians were never at any material time were working as slaves under the malays.The malays in the then malaya neither had the capacity economically nor academically to treat any one as slave.The Indians were quite well taken care of under the british administration.Many worked their way up quite well.Then came independence which was fought by all the 3 major races in the then malaya.After that the Indians were slowly driven to the periphery,compounded by the fact that they were very small in number and not clanish unlike our chinese brethrens.

With the advent of the severely flawed NEP IN 1971,the Indians were even marginalized further.Till to date Indians in Malaysia never asked for alms from the govt as we are a proud race and we can work hard for our every single penny.All the Indians asked is for their legitimate rights with regards to university intakes and economical opportunities.

If after 38 years with all the abundant benefits given to our malay brethrens through the flawed NEP,the govt still claims that the bumis are backward and also there are so many cheap dirts like the mat rempits and the penagih dadahs,what do you expect from a small and poor community like the Indians who were deprived of their rights to education and jobs by the racist govt of umno?

Give us those benefits not for 38 years but a mere 5 years is enough and we will show you how we can turn around our beloved Malaysia.And for the word`keling’may I refer you to check out the website on the history of pre-islamic hindu and Indians in south east asia,and how the word keling came to the malaysian shore from indonesia and the actaul meaning of the word?I am not going to waste my time here explaining about it.

And finally,your rhetoric about islam tulen and islam biasa as you came to understand through your friend is nothing but just total absurdity.There is no such thing as tulen or biasa,its either one subscribes to the teaching of a faith or not,any thing else is just an excuse to defend scums like Hamidah.

Having said all the above I wish to appreciate you for your sanity ,for calling all Malaysians irregardless of race to unite as one and to take our beloved Malaysia to greater heights.And when that happens I shall be the first person to come back to Malaysia.

REGARDS.

111. #111 by NewDAP on Monday, 7 July 2008 - 1:04 pm

Tamil schools produced most of the low income indians or unemployable indians. most of the successful indians are from sk schools. Same like chinese schools, where most of the unemployable chineses are from chinese schools.
    80% of those from tamil or chinese schools can’t speak and write proper english and failed to get a proper employments in established organisations, banks, law firms, engineering firms and accounting firms.

112. #112 by mongolian on Tuesday, 8 July 2008 - 2:36 am

Advice to out-going BN government.
    …never under estimate your opponent…

113. #113 by blablowbla on Tuesday, 8 July 2008 - 1:25 pm

indian and the snake………

malays and the tongkat……….pn hamidah,are u the victim of real tongkat???

114. #114 by blablowbla on Tuesday, 8 July 2008 - 1:27 pm

mayb saiful cucuk his ass himself by using tongkat too!and anwar is getting the blame!

115. #115 by blablowbla on Tuesday, 8 July 2008 - 1:29 pm

or…..mayb najis did tat?left hand is C4,right hand is tongkat,i supposed saiful got not much choice!

116. #116 by philip vyti on Tuesday, 8 July 2008 - 10:03 pm

I salute you Dr. Suresh Kumar on writing a well informed article about the Indians. Samy Vellu needs to learn alot from people like you who stand up and be counted. As for Hamidah the racist, Tajol if you had any matter in you brain box you would ask her to resign as her statement has hurt us Indians greatly. Not short of expulsion from the party is in order

117. #117 by shamshul anuar on Tuesday, 8 July 2008 - 11:29 pm

Dear Phillip,

Yes Sir. It is wrong for Hamidah to utter such a question. It is insulting to Indians. Mistakes had been made. And she apologized. So did Tajol Rosli in his capacity as Perak UMNO chief.

A swallow does not make a summer. Surely, common sense requires her to apologize. And surely magnaminity means accepting apology. Also rationality means not painting every UMNO state assemblymen( as indicated by some in this forum) to be blamed.

As PJboy, dont get paranoid. Surely you cant put the blame on UMNo leaders. What Hamidah said surely not endorsed by UMNO. Criticize her but spare UMNO( meaning their leaders who happen to Malays).

As much as you want Indians to be accorded with respects, you also must accord other races with respects.

As for Mr Ng, perhaps you should ask Anwar’s ally , that is PAS about “liwat case”. It was Mohamad Sabu who in Harakah magazines condemned Anwar as “homosexual”. He challenged Dr Mahathir to sack Anwar. So did Karpal Singh. But of course, in politics, sworn enemy can became good friend.

As For Anwar, this is the opprtunity to clear his name. Use the time tested by Muslims around the world. That you swear in the name of Allah that the allegation is not the truth. To the Muslims this is the act of ultimate truth.

What are you waiting for, Anwar. The ball is in your court.