Anwar seeks sanctuary in Turkish Embassy

Anwar Ibrahim is at the Turkish Embassy in Malaysia for his personal safety. He told me over the phone from the embassy that he had been advised by his friends to seek a safe haven in the country from those who want to do him physical harm.

Whether Anwar’s seeking sanctuary at the Turkish embassy in Kuala Lumpur will lead to a diplomatic row between Malaysia and Turkey is secondary to the primary question as to how to assure and ensure the former Deputy Prime Minister’s personal safety and security in Malaysia.

This is a responsibility the Prime Minister and the Home Minister cannot shirk.

Over to Abdullah Ahmad Badawi and Syed Hamid Albar.

Print Friendly

1. #1 by i_love_malaysia on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 5:42 pm

THE DEVIL WILL RETALIATE THE STRONGEST WHEN IT IS CORNERED AND ITS END TIME IS UP!!!

2. #2 by Godfather on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 6:11 pm

Anwar should never have asked for assurance of safety from Badawi. Everyone knows he is not in control, and any assurance from him is worthless. As worthless as the many letters of “sokong” that he has written on projects – sometimes four or five letters of “sokong” for the same project !

Until we find out who is really in charge, and that could take a long long time, Anwar should simply go off to the US, and stay there. He will be tried in absentsia, and then we can all laugh at the antics of the culprits involved. If it is very likely to be a kangaroo court, then why bother facing the court ?

3. #3 by boh-liao on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 6:12 pm

Najib said a picture of Anwar’s former aide with his (Najib’s) official Khairil Annas Jusoh at the deputy prime minister’s office, which was featured in numerous blogs, was taken three months ago when the aide went to his office to seek a government scholarship.

Very interesting. A drop-out from Uniten (with CGPA of 1.69) went to DPM’s office to ask for a scholarship. To become a pilot or a space tourist?

Was there any deal to get the scholarship?

Is it true that towards the end of World War II, young kamikaze pilots of shinp? tokubetsu k?geki tai were feasted and photographed with VIPs before they embarked on their marauding banzai suicide missions?

4. #4 by Lee Wang Yen on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 7:09 pm

There are conflicting reports on Malaysiakini (BM).

Rais Yatim claims that the Turkish ambassador has clarified that he hasn’t invited Anwar to take refuge at the embassy, and that Anwar was merely a guest there. He also says that the ambassador wants Anwar to leave the embassy.

On the other hand, Anwar claimed that he was invited by the Turkish ambassador and has just announced that he is leaving the embassy shortly, after the deputy prime minister and home minister guaranteed his personal safety.

Who’s telling the truth?

5. #5 by old dad on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 7:12 pm

Opposition leader Anwar Ibrahim walked out from the Turkish embassy in Kuala Lumpur at 6.50pm today

6. #6 by old dad on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 7:14 pm

hmm looks like a day of walk out

7. #7 by kingkenny on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 7:28 pm

“”It is this. The government will not make mistake twice to bring another sodomy case when the earlier one was botched & discredited.”" – Jeffrey

====================================================

1) Was it really botched/discredited or do you believe in the system of justice?

2) Likewise, will DSAI make mistake twice and possibly put himself back in the drain and drag the whole PR together?

3) For someone who promotes the wiser methods and according to the book, you have already said here on this blog that Saiful s indeed saying the truth, thus you have already put the guilty verdict on DSAI even before any court proceedings opened!

Please don’t be biased, nothing have been proven as yet.

The Rakyat of Malaysia have the right to condemn and be angry about the government because of past experiences. If indeed DSAI is a sodomiser, why is it that Tun Mamak’s court were not able to convict him in the first place? DNA test were caried out, mattresses was produced as evidence, eyewitness and victims accounts, but still the judges dropped the case.

What is it that make any difference this time about?!

8. #8 by lkt-56 on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 7:41 pm

This is an extract of an article entitled: “Saiful in hiding, Uncle has faith” from Malaysiakini:

“But I believe in Saiful,” said the 20-something-year-old at the double-storey house. “He is a good kid and all that he has done, he has done with honesty.

“I just got back from Perak and we’ve not been in touch but I know why he lodged the report,” he added.

Teary-eyed, the uncle said that his nephew reported the matter as he wanted to expose the PKR leader for what he was.

From the uncle’s statement seems like the boys is a good kid and he just wants us Malaysian citizens to know that AI is a sodomiser and not fit to be PM. Whether True or Not True (that Ai is that way inclined) it is obvious that Saiful has made the report in order to de-rail Anwar’s relentless march towards his objective of securing enough support to form the next government. His teary eyed uncle thinks we are all stupid morons to believe that this young lad has noble objectives… ;)

Truly I am amazed at how far the human would go in order to achieve their objectives…

I hope we do not have to go through another trial like the last one. Malaysia is on the brink of economic disaster and we could do without such resource wasting dramas being played out again.

I think the 5 pakatan states should get down to the business of good governance and show how results could be achieved if we use our intelligence in the right direction.

I hope AI will let things cool down and even leave the country for a while and leave UMNO to settle their quarrel among themselves. For sure they will hurt one another we can tell from events.

9. #9 by Lee Wang Yen on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 7:54 pm

http://www.malaysiakini.com/letters/85323
    BN gov’t cannot afford a repeat of 1998 Anwar trial
    An Observer | Jun 30, 08 4:18pm

‘…We must remember that in 1998, Anwar Ibrahim was convicted of sodomy on the most filmiest of evidence.

He was basically convicted on the testimony of one man who proved to be an unreliable witness by changing his story many times in court. The accuser in question had not even been medically examined to certify that he had been sodomised.

The attorney-general then changed the date of the alleged act twice. In the first date tendered, the condominium where the crime was alleged to have taken place was not even built yet!

Two of Anwar’s male associates who were convicted of having a sexual relationship with him declared publicly that their confessions were extracted under extreme duress and sought legal redress.

Anwar’s tennis partner was arrested for illegal possession of a bullet although he had a gun license and allegedly threatened with the death penalty if he did not cooperate in implicating Anwar. When the plot was exposed in court, the judge sentenced the lawyer to jail for bringing it up.

In the absence of any substantial evidence, a stained mattress was carried in and out of court to the bemusement of the public.

The judge had been specially promoted to hear the case. Suffice to say that the conduct of the judge did not give the impression of impartiality…’

10. #10 by Lee Wang Yen on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 7:56 pm

4 BN MPs to join opposition by this week?

http://www.malaysiakini.com/bm/
    kemaskini 7:29pm Ketua umum PKR itu juga berkata beliau akan mengumumkan penyertaan empat ahli parlimen komponen BN, termasuk dua dari Umno, bersama pembangkang minggu ini.

11. #11 by citizenwatch on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 7:57 pm

About a week ago I wrote that BN will go about conceiving a script of sinister nature in response to the damning revelation of RPK’s SD.

Being in the culture of incompetence, they will fumble and stumble in the conception and execution of the script. But I did not expect them to recycle an old script and to attack Anwar.

BN is so bankrupt of ideas that they had to recycle that old script. Let’s look at this following analogy.

A musical theatre producer will reproduce an old musical so he can cut cost and time. But in this case for BN, time is of the essence. The script can be adjusted to the current situation. All the players (actors, dancers, musicians, stage hands, etc) already know their lines and responsibilities and they can help coach new players to settle in comfortably.

Let’s all sit down and watch a comedy of errors unfold.

12. #12 by undergrad2 on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 8:10 pm

lextcs Says:

Today at 09: 06.39 (4 hours ago)
    “I really feel sorry for you guys and myself too….that once again we let our hopes ride up too high only to be hoodwinked by a backyard player! Personally i felt sodomised by this new revelation!”

Somebody experienced an epiphany – epiphany as a result of sodomy??

13. #13 by Godfather on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 8:13 pm

What the clown lextcs was trying to say is that we have all been sodomised by this BN government, so what’s the big deal ? lextcs, I can only imagine it must have been very painful for you.

14. #14 by Godfather on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 8:17 pm

Reading about the team of forensic experts and chemists going through the apartment with a fine tooth comb is really amusing. Why didn’t they pursue violent cases with the same intensity ? Nurin’s killers are still at large, and so are Noritta Samsuddin’s killers.

Did they pursue the Altantuya case with the same fervour ? I mean, Yong Teck Lee comes up with his spanner and they immediately investigate him for corruption, Anwar is about to go for a by-election, and they immediately come up with a sodomy allegation. “We have never targetted anyone” say Badawi. Did I just see his nose grow longer ?

15. #15 by undergrad2 on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 8:22 pm

“The judge selected to hear the case must be well-known for his impartiality when deciding cases involving the government. I would suggest that justice Sri Gopal Ram or Ian Chin will be a good choice.” An Observer – Malaysiakini

“The lack of impartiality or its sheer absence” if it were a commodity could be purchased for a price. Today’s free market forces are still very much tilted towards finding one or two of such commodities.

I believe Ram is an Appeals judge.

16. #16 by Lee Wang Yen on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 8:22 pm

PDRM is the de facto PDBN

17. #17 by Apostle on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 8:38 pm

Numbers never lie …. have a look at this:

“Saiful had lodged a report on Saturday stating that Anwar had allegedly sodomised him at Unit 1151 of Kondominium Desa Damansara in Kuala Lumpur on June 26.” – Quoted from Mkini

Unit 1151 (Total 8)
    June 26 (Total 8)

And who else likes the number 8 any more than AAB? The election date was chosen as 26th March. (Total 8)

Dude, this guy is so predictable…. besides looking a little to obvious that he’s run out of ideas. Haha.

18. #18 by ipohites on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 8:57 pm

This calls for the end of BN… May god bless DSAI!

19. #19 by TurboDiesel on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 9:03 pm

Someone said the Assassination Plot is just a make up to spice up DSAI supporters.

For your information, the threat is real. And it been there back in early 2008 before March 8 General Election. Thats why DSAI dont travel using Malaysia Airlines, and dont use anything Malaysian-GLC (except for TNB and Syabas ofcoz).

Btw, anyone remember the incident 2 days before March 8 where DSAI photographer was killed in a hit and run incident? Tell me its just an accident.

20. #20 by Jong on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 9:14 pm

None of those ministers who had their pix taken with the 23 year old Saiful dare claim they know him, not even Azalina who was said to be in charge of umno cyber-troopers to ‘attack’ opposition websites during the last GE-12.

I thought that was so funny, why didn’t any of them say – “the pix looked like me, dressed like me but definitely not me”?. :D But Najib remembered Saiful(hahaha!). Said Saiful was there to see him for some assistance.

Here, Anil Netto’s website, take a closer look..

http://anilnetto.com/malaysian-politics/anwar-said-to-be-in-turkish-embassy

21. #21 by undergrad2 on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 9:17 pm

Many Malaysians were introduced to the word “sodomy” for the first time by Mahathir when he framed Anwar. Is it a coincidence that Mahathir is old school and is painfully homophobic?

22. #22 by Jong on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 9:31 pm

…and he drove a pink car? :D

23. #23 by undergrad2 on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 9:37 pm

Jong,

How could someone be homophobic and drive a pink car at the same time??

24. #24 by undergrad2 on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 9:46 pm

Jong,

How could someone be homophobic and drive a pink car at the same time?? That’s like saying Naughty is acutely homophobic and is happily married to Rose.

25. #25 by Jong on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 9:53 pm

Go figure it out yourself.

26. #26 by undergrad2 on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 10:22 pm

I did! Rosemary has to be gay herself!

27. #27 by kanthanboy on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 11:39 pm

“The judge selected to hear the case must be well-known for his impartiality when deciding cases involving the government. I would suggest that justice Sri Gopal Ram or Ian Chin will be a good choice.” An Observer – Malaysiakini
    —————————————-
    When he handed down the 18 months prison sentence on Lim Guan Eng, Justice Gopal Sri Ram was quoted as stating, “It is time the court send a clear message that it cannot tolerate any attach on the judiciary”

Do you see that as evidence of impartiality when deciding cases involving the government?

28. #28 by kanthanboy on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 11:42 pm

typo error. should read as:

“It is time the court send a clear message that it cannot tolerate any attack on the judiciary”

29. #29 by undergrad2 on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 11:51 pm

That was before he was elevated to an Appeals Court judge. Apparently, impartiality comes in varying degrees and each comes with a price tag.

30. #30 by Jeffrey on Tuesday, 1 July 2008 - 12:37 am

The expression “bias” has been bandied often enough. Bias is a tendency towards a particular perspective. It could lead one to accept or deny the truth of a claim, not on the basis of the strength of the arguments or evidence in support of the claim themselves, but because it is in accord with one’s own preconceived ideas.

For example we know about people in power. We think many of them are deceitful and hypocritical. This is not preconceived ideas. They have been proven often enough through the years.

What is preconceived (arising) is that whosoever who oppose or speak against corrupt people in power is himself necessarily clean; and whosoever who is feared and hated by a bunch of morally bankrupt group in power is necessarily morally upright himself.

We do not need to examine the facts and arguments too closely anymore – we conclude it has to be the case because universally Good is pitched against Evil, so if one side is Evil, then other side against will necessarily be good and virtuous. And anyone who is skeptical or questions the facts and arguments about the one supposedly “good and virtuous” by virtue of his standing in opposing the Evil will, so the inference proceeds, have to be bias…..

Such a process of thinking, I submit, is not only a logical fallacy but a manifestation of bias of the most insidious kind since it is often overlooked and not realised by those who are bias but who are not aware of it as the cause when they accuse others baselessly of bias.

31. #31 by Jeffrey on Tuesday, 1 July 2008 - 12:50 am

Malaysiakini correspondent (Jimadie Shah Osman) reported this piece on Jun 30th –

(Quote) “ PKR de facto leader Anwar Ibrahim had been forewarned and was asked to be careful when taking in 23-year-old Saiful Bukhari Azlan as a staff, according to a party source. However, Anwar ignored the warning …He (Anwar) was told to be careful of the individual due to his suspicious background when he joined the office administration,” said the source. The same ‘warnings’ had been given to other party leaders after Saiful had became close to Anwar and the staff at his office following the March 8 general elections.

“I have also given addresses of several blogs discussing the boy (Saiful). I’m not sure if he (Anwar) read them or not,” said the source.

According to the source, Anwar did not reply to the particular email detailing the blogs.

Malaysiakini has been made to understand that two-weeks ago, Anwar had asked another aide to persuade the source concerned to retract a posting cynical of Saiful on his blog”.

(Unquote)

32. #32 by Lee Wang Yen on Tuesday, 1 July 2008 - 1:25 am

While I’m not sure whether Anwar is a completely honest or sincere person in all aspects, it seems reasonable (on ordinary criteria of plausibility) for us to believe that he is not guilty of the corruption and sodomy charges in 1998 and the sodomy allegation in 2008, given the flimsy evidence furnished in support of these accusations and the dubious circumstances under which these accusations are made.

33. #33 by Jeffrey on Tuesday, 1 July 2008 - 3:13 am

That is correct. By standards of legal criteria, if the then Judiciary had been independent, Anwar ought to have been found, in law, not guilty of sodomy (instead of otherwise).

As undergrad2 said in the other thread, the question of whether he was really someone inclined “that way” or not is irrelevant – and I certaintly won’t want to prejudge or comment on that – but as a matter of law, he should have been and was entitled to be acquitted . There is also no doubt whatsoever that it was a clear case of political persecution by TDM under a judicial system that was not independent (Lingam Enquiry refers). (And Anwar was the only one against whom such a crime of unatural sex under Penal code was, in recent memory invoked).

Yes a person (1) completely heterosexual can be falsely convicted as guilty by a Kangaroo court when there is political persecution in way no different than (2) one who could be also actually (say) a homosexual or bisexual as alleged by prosecution.

When due process of law is not followed, when judges are obviously partial, when evidence is slipshod and contaminated, confessions extracted from coercion, dates of alleged offence are mixed up, prosecution witnesess gave unreliable testimonies either because they’re lying or plain confused by accused’s ‘dream team of clever lawyers, then who ever charged by the state for the offence of sodomy – whether he belongs to category (1) or (2) above – is entitled to a complete acquittal because the standard of beyond reasonable doubt necessary for “legal guilt” has not been established. To do otherwise is travesty of justice.

Necessarily the fact that no “legal guilt” should be found in above set of circumstances cannot prejudge the separate issue whether a person is actually heterosexual, homosexual or just in between ie bi-sexual at all times or siometimes etc. Only close associates will know better.

Don’t forget if prosecution were conducted in a manner botched as stated above and there is aparent travesty of justice, even if a person had really committed sodomy, no reasonable man looking from the outside at the bias way the judicial system works, will believe it!

Don’t get me wrong : I am not commenting one way or another on Anwar’s predilection on matters of private sex.

It is not my business and frankly I don’t have any personal knowledge and I don’t care to speculate, though I think to be fair to him he is entitled to be presumed to be like the rest of majority of us ie. a person of heterosexual inclination.

But just so that it is clear – even if he were (hypothetically) otherwise [ie (say) a closet “bi” and hypocritical about it, I (speaking for myself only with no expectation that others follow suit) can find no great fault about that – given, a society where the majority always think negatively of and marginalise persons of different or (to them) deviant sexual behaviour.

I know many gay friends of both sexes, and other than their different sexual preferences, are otherwise very normal people, and we should not draw a connection to link their sexual predilection with their other morals as a person much less capability as a leader.

The caveat is that I am not particularly religious because if I were otherwise, then I may not take such a view.

34. #34 by Jeffrey on Tuesday, 1 July 2008 - 3:29 am

I am by the way heterosexual just in case you thought otherwise. :)

35. #35 by undergrad2 on Tuesday, 1 July 2008 - 6:27 am

Jeffrey,

For a moment I thought you were setting yourself up for a call by a certain nincompoop! Glad you to know you are heterosexual and not bi or anything like that.

36. #36 by undergrad2 on Tuesday, 1 July 2008 - 7:12 am

Anwar would be better off revealing whatever evidence he says he has on the alleged conspiracy between IGP and the AG or else people may believe that there couldn’t be smoke without fire!

37. #37 by Jeffrey on Tuesday, 1 July 2008 - 7:36 am

Undergrad2,

Well sometimes it is an ‘acquired taste’. I have not had the opportunity in formative years to attend and savour boarding life in a certain eminent educational institution with pseudo Greco-Roman architecture in front of a rugby field that has supposedly produced many political and corporate earth shakers, where, according to “reliable” anecdotal evidence (some of it hearsay but some recounting of personal experience) after a rugby match, some of these naughty boys thought it was ‘British tradition’ (I wonder wherever they got this idea?) for the winning side to demand from the opposite losing side a ‘trophy’ and the losing side ‘sacrificed’ the one who then happened to look a trifle effeminate, albeit gawky with thin lanky legs for the sacrifice! What started as experimentation in such innocuous ways by some curious young boys was discarded by most in their later maturer years, whilst a very few others never quite got rid of what they learned. :)

38. #38 by sotong on Tuesday, 1 July 2008 - 7:39 am

Saiful, a nobody wants to be famous……..the previous PM was able to convict Anwar on the same issue.

Saiful is being used and explioted at all costs by Anwar’s enemies.

39. #39 by Jeffrey on Tuesday, 1 July 2008 - 7:50 am

On 30th June Peace Hill police forensic team of 15 visited Unit 1151 of Kondominium Desa Damansara in Kuala Lumpur (a luxury condominium in Damansara said to be worth RM2.2 million) at about 12.15pm, spent more than five hours sweeping through the unit.
    A separate team of investigators were also at the condominium guard house, inspecting the log books, interviewing security guards and going through hours of CCTV footages.

40. #40 by Jeffrey on Tuesday, 1 July 2008 - 8:23 am

“PAS vice president Datuk Husam Musa called on the government to apply the Islamic approach. To gurantee justice and fairness toi both acuser and the suspect, Husam said the Islamic Syariah law compels the calling of four witneses to ascertain if sexual misconduct occurred between the two. He said the emphasis towards finding the truth and the verdict of guilt beyond reasonable doubt in Islam would also ensure that anybody who made a false allegation would also be punished. The four witnesses would also be compelled to be impartial and sincere as they stand the risk of huge suffering in the afterlife if they too commit a sin by making false statements…” – NST 1st July Page N3.

How helpful and ingenious. Hello, we’re talking of “secular” Penal Code here. False allegation (read false report) also punishable. No need 4 witnesses, nowadays it is forensic – ala CSI.

41. #41 by k1980 on Tuesday, 1 July 2008 - 8:26 am

WTF– owner of a luxury condominium in Damansara said to be worth RM2.2 million and yet given a govt scholarship, while thousands from poor families have to make do on their own. And worse, dropped out after a couple of semesters due to failing grades and thus wasted the entire scholarship. So this is what hadharism is all about— poking the asehole!

42. #42 by taiking on Tuesday, 1 July 2008 - 8:39 am

k1980 dear pls do not despair.
    I knew someone in London years ago.
    I was a student then.
    And I had to rent room somewhere far away in N. London.
    Its cheaper.
    He lives in a family owned house with tennis court.
    He drives a merc to class.
    Oh that was his second car. I forgot to mention.
    And he was on scholarship.
    Ah yes three of them.
    His father sits on the board of a glc.
    Ini Malaysia.
    Ini cara kita.

43. #43 by taiking on Tuesday, 1 July 2008 - 8:44 am

Jeffrey, you mentioned

“… a certain eminent educational institution with pseudo Greco-Roman architecture in front of a rugby field …”

Are you referring to Sekolah Menengah Kebangsaan Melayu Tersebut aka The Malay College?

44. #44 by Godfather on Tuesday, 1 July 2008 - 8:53 am

I think Jeffrey is too polite to mention the words “MC Gay Gay”.

45. #45 by Godfather on Tuesday, 1 July 2008 - 8:54 am

How can a dropout without a job afford an apartment in Damansara Heights that is worth RM 2.2 million ? I mean, even if it belongs to his fiance, how could a Bernama newscaster afford such an apartment ? Who’s paying for the mortgage ? I gotta go ask Azeez Rahman.

46. #46 by limkamput on Tuesday, 1 July 2008 - 10:00 am

if anybody can be the staff of DSAI, i think we should recall this half baked american to replace saiful. He is afterall quite similar in character as saiful except that he is much older and probably after many attempts managed to secure a pass degree unlike saiful who is much younger but a dropout. What do you think undergrad2, you think you should come back to serve DSAI, instead of rotting in NY.

47. #47 by Jeffrey on Tuesday, 1 July 2008 - 10:46 am

No one alleges nor was it ever reported that the luxurious Condominium Unit 1151 of Kondominium Desa Damansara worth RM2.2 million and its rental rates range between RM7, 500 to RM15, 000 belonged to complainant Mohd Saiful. It could be used without belonging to him.
    The forensic team swooped in there because the alleged incidence of sodomy was supposed to have taken place there. Of course they would also check who the owner is and whether he/it is related to any principal parties involved in the on-going investigations to avail use of the apartment.

48. #48 by Jeffrey on Tuesday, 1 July 2008 - 11:09 am

However this is not just a simple issue of sodomy/anal sex of consensual kind that some may think is private and no business of others whilst others think it is not moral or right under any circumstances.

The ominous part is the report – “Saya Mohd Saiful Bukhari b Azlan ingin melaporkan bahawa saya telah diliwat oleh majikan saya. Perkara ini berlaku tanpa kerelaan saya.”

“Tanpa kerelaan saya” means without my free will, willingness and consent.

This means that if allegations were true, it goes to the root of character. Under whatever system of law, Islamic or secular and under whatever system of morality, it would be universally considered wrong both morally and legally!

49. #49 by Jeffrey on Tuesday, 1 July 2008 - 11:35 am

The United States said today it would oppose any politically motivated investigation or prosecution of Malaysian opposition leader Anwar Ibrahim facing fresh sex misconduct charges – Malaysiakini’s report Jul 1, 08.

Tom Casey, spokesman for the US State Department said, “certainly, we would be concerned that anything that is done be done in a way that is appropriate, that is a legitimate investigation of charges that might exist under Malaysian law, and would not be anything that was a politically-motivated investigation or prosecution.”

The country’s international image is down the pits in the wake of international news (CNN & the like) of the Altantuya Shaaribuu murder case – and now this “potentially” another repeat sodomy case all having some association with Malaysian politics.

What do you think the world would think of us? From Third to Fourth World!

To ensure impartiality of investigations, the government should solicit assistance of the FBI and/or Scotland Yard to assist in forensics.

It is good for all parties. Any other way will not be convincing before the Court of Public Opinion, a large segment of which has already lost confidence in administration of criminal justice (whether or not such an opinion holds in all cases).

50. #50 by lupus on Tuesday, 1 July 2008 - 11:37 am

If you get ass raped wouldn’t you

1) Get a medical examination for court submission ?

2) Forensics evidence required such as seamen, etc ?

3) How about support of the “victim” ? If he has been raped by another man, well, it would be very difficult for a man to admit that he has been raped – more so than a woman. For a Muslim man to be raped to top it off.

Let us look at the fact behind a rape case, when UNMO man raped an underage girl – the amount of evidence required AND having so many people from our pollies to her a parent to support her when she made a report.

This guy just made a report ? To top it off, nobody seem to be wanting to protect this guy incase the main accuser gets tampered with ? Should be in police protection – suggestion is to arrest him for his own protection.

The way I look at this and from what my friends who worked with raped victim, this guy is not a victim. If anything, this guy would have been happy to have sex with other man, in other words – gay.

As I understand, Malaysia laws – having gay sex is illegal and we should look into his background to determine if he is really gay where he has a love crush on AI and upset because AI did not return the love to him.

Being married could just be another cover to please his parents and prove that he is not gay.

Comments are closed.