Anwar seeks sanctuary in Turkish Embassy

Anwar Ibrahim is at the Turkish Embassy in Malaysia for his personal safety. He told me over the phone from the embassy that he had been advised by his friends to seek a safe haven in the country from those who want to do him physical harm.

Whether Anwar’s seeking sanctuary at the Turkish embassy in Kuala Lumpur will lead to a diplomatic row between Malaysia and Turkey is secondary to the primary question as to how to assure and ensure the former Deputy Prime Minister’s personal safety and security in Malaysia.

This is a responsibility the Prime Minister and the Home Minister cannot shirk.

Over to Abdullah Ahmad Badawi and Syed Hamid Albar.

1. #1 by kent on Sunday, 29 June 2008 - 10:50 pm

this is a plot. a plot to BN continue control the nation. we lost confidence to BN and we know what BN is doing now. we are not stupid anyway.

2. #2 by pinkdolphin on Sunday, 29 June 2008 - 10:53 pm

GOOD LUCK DSAI – the nation is behind you!!!

3. #3 by aiD_kamikuP on Sunday, 29 June 2008 - 10:56 pm

We must be close to Zimbabwe. Morgan Tsangarai had to ‘hide’ in Dutch Embassy. Now our Anwar has to ‘hide’ in Turkish Embassy.

4. #4 by megaman on Sunday, 29 June 2008 - 11:09 pm

I dunnoe wat to say anymore …

Really flabbergasted and dumbfounded by the thick ignorant totally unprecedented fools in our government, police force and judiciary …

My God !!! Why have we allowed clowns to take over our government and everything that matters …

It was ridiculous when it happened years ago …

And now it is worse …. If we allow DSAI to be convicted, we might as well feed the country to the dogs …

ENOUGH IS ENOUGH !!!

5. #5 by KS R on Sunday, 29 June 2008 - 11:14 pm

GOD will take care DSAI. Time is comming to an end for BN UMNO.

6. #6 by vchi on Sunday, 29 June 2008 - 11:25 pm

How disgraceful that our beloved country has descended to the likes of Zimbabwe… An opposition leader has to seek refuge from other countries instead of going to their police! Shameful!

7. #7 by TurboDiesel on Sunday, 29 June 2008 - 11:30 pm

IF DATUK SERI ANWAR IBRAHIM GET ASSASSINATED, ALL MALAYSIANS SHOULD JOIN THE BATTLE AGAINST UMNO-BARISAN NASIONAL!

ENOUGH IS ENOUGH, ITS TIME FOR UMNO-BN TO GO TO HELL!

8. #8 by yog7948 on Sunday, 29 June 2008 - 11:43 pm

“And now it is worse …. If we allow DSAI to be convicted, we might as well feed the country to the dogs …” sorry mate, we have fed our country to hydrophobia DOGs long ago and still too scared to leash them.

Two brave Rakyat has come with the cure from this zoonosis, RPK and DSAI.. The Rakyat with at least some conscious are with this two and that brings great terror for the rabies infected DOG’s. That is why all these desperate measures are being taken.

For that, we the Rakyat should never let down our two heroes.. never let them fall. When you go in pair, or in small group.. these …still be able to eliminate the cause but if all of us stand together.. we can run them out to Kamunting for caging.

“Moral excellence comes about as a result of habit. We become just by doing just acts, temperate by doing temperate acts, brave by doing brave acts.”

9. #9 by badak on Sunday, 29 June 2008 - 11:44 pm

Heard the 8 pm news on TV3.From what the CID Director said ..All i can say the events leading to the police report does not add up at all.

10. #10 by cemerlang on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 12:16 am

Malaysia is suffering from the cancer of evil politics. She is very, very, very sick and needs to be treated in the intensive care unit, hooked up to every available life saving machines there are.

Agree to what the comment said about if anything happens to Datuk Anwar. Malaysia is walking on a tight rope. If anything does happen to Datuk Anwar, Barisan Nasional supporters will have to get ready to see their party disintegrate.

Two top leaders have said goodbye to MCA. Now the new ones have to slowly pick up the bits and pieces of broken confidence among the Chineses.

It looks like some people are members of the moral policing force and their task is to find out who did not wash their hands after eating a hearty meal; especially those whom they want to topple.

A very sad Sunday.

11. #11 by justice6 on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 12:23 am

can we all go on strike as long as bn is in power?

12. #12 by tuanku british on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 12:27 am

The accusation on sodomy report on DSAI requires witnesses in Islam. It could be true or false or it could be a conspiracy by his enemy to deny him from contesting in the by-election for MP and barricade him to become future PM in waiting.

“What is true is true and what is false is false” …..May ALLAH tells the TRUTH soon.
    Let Allah protects DSAI from such death threats on his life. May DSAI is safe and sound under the protection of Muslim Brother in the embassy of the Republic of Turkey in Kuala Lumpur for a short period of time before the RAKYAT will rescue DSAI.

UMNO is very worried about the intelligence and smart Malay leadership like DSAI taking over the premiership of Malaysia. DSAI has been sacrificed in Mahathir regime after he was used as puppet to offend other races to hate him. Now DSAI has realised and insaf that other races like Chinese and Indians in DAP and PKR are suppporting DSAI to achieve his dream with the assistance of Muslim Brothers in PAS. UMNO felt threatened by DSAI to wipe out the greedy and arrogant leaders since UMNO has lost the credibilities and credential among the Malays and its component parties like MCA, MIC , Gerakan, SAPP, SNAP, SUPP, PBB, PBS and others.

Those greed and corrupt politicians are very afraid and shivering when DSAI gained full power as a next new PM. DSAI will sure to take revenge on those culprits for causing him to suffer 7 years in jail and wasted 10 years of his youthful political life. Rakyat Malaysians regardless of races understand how difficulties and suffering DSAI and his family have to face the D days for past 10 years.

Last but not least, rakyat jelata pray hard for DSAI safety in the embassy and continue to fight hard against the conspirators and to win the next by-election in becoming a next new PM in waiting.

All Foreign Grads of Malaysia in UK pray for DSAI health and safety this weekend. We forgive DSAI for his past sin in destroying the Malaysian education policies advocated during his position as a Education Minister. DSAI was played out and deceived in UMNO and Dr M to put him in jail for good.

Never mind, ALLAH had punished his past sin and forgive DSAI now to lead the country soon.

INSYALLAH , ALLAH WAHAB, ALLAH WAHAB !!

13. #13 by pulau_sibu on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 12:45 am

Who can trust this country now with the worst records such as a PM can fake up with sodomy accusation with the police and court to send a person to jail, and another foreigner can be blown up by explosive?

I think Uncle Lim and LGE’s safety is as well in question

14. #14 by mybangsamalaysia on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 12:46 am

Now… the fact is that only DSAI and the 23yrs old Mohd Saiful know the truth… Saiful better provides concrete evidences or he shall cause Malaysian to lose a leader. An unforgive sin.

15. #15 by goldenscreen on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 1:06 am

Everybody please read these 3 articles written by someone who is very much in the know on the true face of Saiful (watch out for the comments too where Saiful went on the defensive even though the author did not mention who was the trojan horse). These articles weer written before Saiful made the allegation (i.e. March 2008 and June 2008):

http://riwayathayat.blogspot.com/2008/03/awas-ada-musang-berbulu-ayam.html
    http://riwayathayat.blogspot.com/2008/03/awas-ada-musang-berbulu-ayam-2.html
    http://209.85.175.104/search?q=cache:nq8ESoE-msAJ:riwayathayat.blogspot.com/2008/06/awas-ada-musang-berbulu-ayam-3.html+site:http://riwayathayat.blogspot.com+musang+berbulu+ayam&hl=en&ct=clnk&cd=2&gl=my

16. #16 by nkeng11 on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 1:08 am

DSAI had to run to the Turkish Embassy
    If he don’t he will surely “see”
    Why, can’t the police provide him protection?

In Malaysia, many snatch thieves victims ended up many hours in police station while the thieves gets away. May victims die and still many ended up in hospitals.

The snatch thieves if caught are set free very quickly.

17. #17 by VoteDAP on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 1:14 am

Excerpt of a letter from Dr. Munawar to a relative of Dato’ Anwar:

This is a re-enactment of the 1998 comedy. Is it not an insult to the intelligence of Malaysian people? Are these guys still living in a world of fantasy? But i am genuinely concerned about Dato’ Anwar’s personal safety, may Allah protect him.

I hope Dato’ Anwar has taken the news in good stride, I pray for his health; kindly convey my respects and salam to him.

Wassalam,
    Munawar Anees

Is it not an insult to the intelligence of Malaysian people?
    WAKE UP FELLOW MALAYSIANS!!!! FIGHT FOR WHAT BEST FOR ALL OF US AND OUR FUTURE GENERATION!!!!! WHY LET OUR BELOVED COUNTRY LIES ON THOSE UGLIEST, SINFUL, GREEDY HANDS!!!!!

ENOUGH IS ENOUGH!!!!! FIGHT FOR IT

18. #18 by chingjw on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 1:14 am

This move by najis or bn will surely backfire. Hiding at turki embassy is part of political move. This will creat fears and will rally the support from all the malaysian especially the malay.

19. #19 by Johnny Cheah on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 1:21 am

Looks like they are going to give DSAI more trouble and heartache. Can you imagine the worries his wife and children will be going through. My god! what’s happening to this country of ours’ When can we have a new government that really takes good care of the rakyat. I sincerely hope the MPs’ from Sabah and Sarawak will finally wake up and join Pakatan Rakyat. Don’t be silly and be contented when AAB promised the 2 states 1 billion or more for devlopement. Remember that AAB cannot be trusted. He is a flip flop PM. Only recently he talk about no increase in petrol price. WHAT HAPPEN? End result! Drastic increase for petrol and diesel. The price increase is less than 1 month but as you can see prices of goods and services have increase by leaps and bound. You can rest assured that there will be more price increases for other things come August 2008. The rakyat are suffering and the VVIPs’ from BN are enjoying. With the amount of corrupted politicians in their midst the increase prices of goods and services are nothing to them. It is the rakyat who is feeling the heat from the price increase. Malaysians, it’s about time you guys are united. Malays, Chinese, Indians and others, the price increase affect all of us.

20. #20 by chingjw on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 1:23 am

It will be a disaster for malaysian if BN is able to break up the opposition by framing Anwar Ibrahim. We need AI for our future generation. We want a strong opposition for future check and balance. We will continue to support AI and LKS

21. #21 by Loyal Malaysian on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 1:50 am

Ah! Zimbabwe again?
    But this is Malaysia!!
    Anwar is, of course, no ordinary citizen to whom the Turkey Ambassador will give safe refuge at a moment’s notice.
    But it cannot be refuted that such an action will be taken only if the Ambassador is satisfied Anwar’s safety is at risk in his own country,
    This is another test of the PM’s leadership – I hope he’ll not just keep quiet and hope the problem will go away!!

22. #22 by voice on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 1:50 am

They are just trying to close our eyes on the Atlantuya’s case, let’s open our eyes BIG and not focus away from the real issue.
    This time they won’t be sucessful.

23. #23 by chongs on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 1:50 am

I was doubtful of Anwar back in 1998 as to his guilt but today it proved to me that he is innocent. He cannot be so stupid as to force himself onto another man. Why should he ? For argument sake, if he really wanted a man, there would be many, many who are willing, he does not need to use force. Moreover, even if he is a gay, he can still be a dynamic leader !! Sexual perferences and leadership are two separate issues.
    The BN govt. is really, really desperate !!!! The only hope for UMNO to survive is to change its leaders ASAP. But I think its too late, the tide is coming up fast, they will be drowned into oblivion

24. #24 by yhsiew on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 1:54 am

Anwar told the BBC Newshour program that he sought sanctuary in Turkish Embassy because he didn’t want to repeat the assault and near death under custody of the Malaysian police if he was arrested.

Pak Lah should explain what the phrase “near death under custody of the Malaysian police” means.

25. #25 by shakarul on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 1:59 am

DSAI is at his most vulnerable situation now. He needs the supports of all Rakyat Malaysia!

Don’t just see and read only but act immediately.

If there’s any demonstration/protest, join in even if you are not member of PR.

If you know any bad-doings on the part of BN’s government, circulate the news to as many friends/contacts as possible (via verbal, sms, email and etc) because most rakyat are still unaware of such incidences due to our biased public media.

To DSAI: The uncorrupted Malaysians will be always behind you, so be tough and stay firmed.

26. #26 by Richardqed on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 2:19 am

Recent developments such as RPK’s SD, and Anwar’s constant announcements regarding Sept 16 look to have shaken the BN so much that they have to resort to this.

I believe plenty of people have seen the following video. But then again, plenty more may have not. So to those who have not, listen for yourself what TDM admitted about the DSAI case 10 years ago, and judge for yourself.

Search google for the following (no quotes needed)

mahathir admits abuse youtube

or just click the following to see a list of searches:

http://www.google.com/search?hl=en&q=mahathir+admits+abuse+youtube&meta=

27. #27 by yhsiew on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 2:34 am

James Chin, a political analyst from Malaysia’s Monash campus, said, “As we head towards September 16, Anwar’s own deadline on when he will topple the government, more and more political things will be coming out of the closet from both sides; more mud-slinging would emerge as the date approaches.”

It is important that DSAI and PKR keep secret of what they are going to do and how they are going to take over federal government. They should not leak out any information to the enemy lest the latter carries out counterattacks such as the latest sodomy accusation.

28. #28 by cucu adam on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 2:53 am

In the Bolehland anything is possible. It is a disgrace and shameful that an ex Deputy Prime Minister had to seek protection for his own safety at the Turkish Embassy, So where does that put us, something that we often read in newspapers, leaders in uncivilised countries seeking refuge in foreign embassies. So we are no difference with Zimbabwe where the opposition leader Morgan Tsangarai had to seek refuge at the Dutch Embassy in that country.

BN/UMNO would do whatever it takes to remain in power, because of the obvious reasons that should the BN/UMNO government being toppled, and for the many crimes that they had committed, it will be their turns to be prosecuted and be imprisonment.

The people of Malaysia could judge for themselves the unfairness and injustice that prevail in this country. And all these were due to the fact the police, the office of Attorney General, the Election Commission, the so called BPR are merely tools of the BN/UMNO government and can be directed what they should do and what they should not do.

The people of Malaysia should be organised to participate in mass demonstrations all over the country to protest and make known enough is enough. Otherwise it will be a matter of time more arrests will be made on Opposition Leaders. The BN/UMNO is finding excuses to declare an emergency in this country to remain in power and take back the 5 states under the Pakatan Rakyat.

I think the time has come for MPs and State Assemblymen to leave BN/UMNO and crossover to join the Pakatan Rakyat, and save the nation from going to the dogs.

May Allah SWT protect DSAI and the nation.

29. #29 by kenghuei on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 3:28 am

YB Lim,

Kudos to Datin Seri Wan Azizah for releasing the photos for Saiful with goverment top aides, these news are spreading worldwide and let the world judge by their own logic what this evil government is doing. Like you said, even the Turkish embassy has risked it’s diplomatic relations with M’sia by offering refuge to DSAI.

In politics, anything can happen. So pls strategise within PR to counter BN’s dirty tactics..and take over the government asap, there is really no more question on moral grounds like DSAI has mentioned. In politics, it is about who is faster and smarter. As seen from the 100 days record of all 5 Pakatan states, it is evident that PR can be given a chance to govern at federal level.

I pray that justice will prevail and all the evildoers repent asap. Hope that DSAI will be safe in the embassy.

30. #30 by KennyGan on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 3:37 am

I think DSAI fears he will be arrested soon. Once in custody who knows what will happen to him with the police fully under the control of the ruling party who will stop at nothing to cling on to power?

He may be incarcerated for years just to put him out of action. He may be beaten or tortured. In the worse case, he may never see the light of day again.

DSAI has cleverly foiled their plans by taking refuge in the Turkish embassy. He should stay there until a transition of power takes place.

Malaysians should stand up and say, “Enough is Enough! We will not take this outrage”. This includes MPs from BN who still have a conscience. Do you want your country to end up like Zimbabwe economically and politically? Whatever temporary positions you have now are nothing compared to what the country can descend into.

31. #31 by kanthanboy on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 3:41 am

This is a defining moment for the future of Malaysia. All the component parties of BN can no longer be fence sitters and spectators of what is going on. The have to make a stand on whether they agree with what UMNO is doing. They are either with UMNO or with PR. MCA, Gerakan, MIC and SUPP who have been beggars of UMNO in the past cannot maintain silent anymore. The time has come for them to choose whether they want to continue as beggars of UMNO or they want join PR as equal partners in a new government.

32. #32 by merong on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 3:46 am

STOP!
    STOP!
    STOP!
    STOP!

I JUST HAVE A CHILLING THOUGHT.

COULD DSAI BE THE START OF A MAJOR SWOOP OF THE OPPOSITION?

LOOK AT YOURSELVES, DO YOU HAVE ANY TROJAN HORSE “LAYING” SOMEWHERE?

WATCH YOUR BACKS.

33. #33 by controlnation1 on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 4:34 am

Another prove that Umno’s getting
    more desperate than ever.What a preposterous allegation.They want to feed us with this halfbaked joke.Very disturbing indeed.This Umno’s final desperate move after the ketuanan’s theatr c doesn’t work anymore.By the way,why did Anwar choose theTurkish embassy?

34. #34 by undergrad2 on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 4:50 am

“BN/UMNO would do whatever it takes to remain in power, because of the obvious reasons that should the BN/UMNO government being toppled, and for the many crimes that they had committed, it will be their turns to be prosecuted and be imprisonment.”

Perhaps it would not be untimely to hint at a royal ‘pardon’ to those who have committed all manners of transgressions because they were civil servants acting under orders from their political masters??

Hello? Mr. IGP and Mr. AG?? Or maybe you should start to ‘bungkus’?

35. #35 by isahbiazhar on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 5:06 am

I think the UMNO/BN government will not do anything to run down Annuar.They have created a blot on his character so that people will not accept him as a PM.UMNO/BN fear the most when he comes to the helm which looks like a reality.The recent election had given Annuar a clean slate to start and now the whole procedure to assassinate him this way is a clever ploy by somebody.A situation has come now to show that we cannot trust anybody.We cannot even trust the government because the way the body is run.If the government wants to rule by iron fist now they can be well assured that it will not work.We have seen in history both modern and ancient how governments are destroyed by having neurotic leaders.Abdullah should not be influenced by people who have their own agenda.Abdullah had denied vehementally but at the same time wants the police to investigate. What is his motive?Is he afraid to face ANNUAR as a PM?I think the government should resign and a fresh election be conducted to solve this recurrent abuse of power.

36. #36 by ChinNA on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 5:15 am

This looks frighteningly suspicious again. On the video that Richardqed pointed out about DrM, it is odd that he said that. From the tone of what he said, it looks like sarcasm to me.

Is there another video which is longer, so that whole context of what was said is better understood.

I just can’t believe DrM is that naive.

37. #37 by Jong on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 5:17 am

“bungkus”? Do you really think it will affect them? For all we know they have already been very well taken care of all these years and acquired enough to last them a lifetime of comfortable living.

After 44 years, congratulations to Spain for coming up champion of Euro2008, beating Germany 1-0. It was indeed a world class football on display!

38. #38 by clearwater on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 5:35 am

This is shameful. Malaysia to the outside world looks more and more like a banana republic run by goons than a democracy. Third class mentality is so evident in its current crop of politicians, its police and its judiciary. The end result of some 3 decades of misrule. Where can the ordinary citizen run to hide if he is in trouble and fears the police?
    What embassy will grant us refuge from brutality?

39. #39 by flyer168 on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 5:43 am

Dear YB LKS,

What can we expect from the BN & UNMOputras in this Bolehland !

I am saddened by what is happening. Haven’t they done enough damage to our nation, our nation’s assets, our peaceloving but downtrodden citizens & insulted their own race & Islam ?????

We have to remind them that everytime they point their finger at anyone, three fingers are pointing at themselves.

These Bigots still in self-denial are the desperados at the tail end of “Ketuanan Melayu” in the 21 century context being propelled by the powers-that-be, FEAR their imminent DEMISE by the Peoples’ voices, will resort to the SUBLIME !

They are their own worst enemies set on a “Self-destruct” mode, & now portraying Islam/Muslims/Malays as zealots – HOW INSULTING !!!

Let us all work hand-in-hand to UNITE as MALAYSIANS to save our nation, its multi ethnic cultures/religion & its assets for every downtrodden MALAYSIAN citizen forthwith !

Let us all give them enough rope to hang themselves at every turn towards their DEMISE soon….we now sit back & watch the action.

May God show them the truth !

40. #40 by undergrad2 on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 5:57 am

Jong Says:

Today at 05: 17.41 (34 minutes ago)
    “bungkus”? Do you really think it will affect them? ”

Jong,

“Bungkus” is slang which can also mean a 7 ft by 4 ft cold hard steel or is it cement??

41. #41 by Kathy on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 6:09 am

YHSiew says: “Pak Lah should explain what the phrase “near death under custody of the Malaysian police” means.”

YHSiew – I think it would be better for Dr M to do explaination since it was him who first put DSAI in that situation.

42. #42 by undergrad2 on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 6:28 am

pgsillai,

You got your wish!

43. #43 by monsterball on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 6:39 am

I pray and hope he is well and safe.
    Malaysian politics have reached the lowest stage…so similar …like Philippines…during Marcos regime.
    This shows…dictatorship and corruptions are exposed…and Anwar is getting stronger and stronger.
    May Allah protect him and millions of innocent bystanders..from harm’s way.
    Amen.

44. #44 by lew1328 on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 6:57 am

It sounds likes they have run out of ideas how to get DSAI out from “Justice” for Malaysian. Someone is croaking from the near but yet far.

I do hope that DSAI is safe. The “Rakyat” will back you and others good leaders all the way. Please bear in mind: Yours are not alone.

Best regards.

45. #45 by caishen on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 7:39 am

Why can’t the UMNO works and behave like NIk Aziz??
    Why can’t the UMNO fight like a gentleman???
    Why can’t the UMNO be like other Malays???
    Why must the UMNO resort to such a cowardly act against DSAI???
    DSAI is talking about unity,fairness towards other fellow Malaysians.
    Is that wrong???
    Is UMNO, a green-eyed species, jealous of DSAI abilities and capabilities???
    Since UMNO packed him to Turkey,UMNO must as well packed themselves back to kampong!!!Duduk Diam-Diam Dapat Duit!!! ( I am not offending the other worthiness Malays who are hard-working, friendly and polite )
    If they give others a chance,others will give a chance to them too!.

46. #46 by caishen on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 7:58 am

The whole machineries of UMNO against 1 man,DSAI.
    That must be the most unholiest strategy ever carried out against DSAI. They MUST be very proud!!! But their proudness and arrogant may bring them down…..one day.

Look…the MCA, SAPP, GERAKAN and MIC is suffering and in the verse of breaking up.Yet,the UMNO don’t bother to console their partners.

To the MCA, SAPP, GERAKAN and MIC, join the PAKATAN!!!

47. #47 by yhsiew on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 8:08 am

Turkey Embassy’s warm hospitality to Anwar shows that they have more faith in the Opposition than in the ruling party. Pak Lah’s leadership has failed miserably!

I wonder if that is also the stance of other governments worldwide on BN – that is more faith and trust in the Opposition than in BN.

48. #48 by old dad on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 8:17 am

KUALA LUMPUR: Turkish Ambassador Barlas Ozener will be summoned to Wisma Putra today to explain why PKR de facto leader Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim was allowed to seek refuge in the embassy.

Foreign Minister Datuk Seri Dr Rais Yatim, who disclosed this to The Star, explained that Anwar did not qualify for any sort of international or diplomatic protection as he was being sought for a criminal investigation. (star30.06.08)

Uncle PM hands off one, where he wnats to take responsibilities,,

49. #49 by hongsichuan on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 8:18 am

I wouldn’t be too quick to jump to any conclusion here. IF the allegation of sodomy is a fabrication this time, question is by whom and for what purpose? Don’t forget that threats can also be fabricated!

50. #50 by PHUAKL on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 8:19 am

Dear Progressive Malaysians

1. When the ideological state apparatus (i.e. state-controlled mass media) fails to work, the next step is to turn to the repressive state apparatus (i.e. police)

2. Niccolo Machiavelli says that the Prince does not need to be good but just needs to appear to be good.

Phua Kai Lit

51. #51 by old dad on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 8:22 am

KUALA LUMPUR, June 30 — Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim will only leave the safety of the Turkish Embassy in Malaysia if he receives a guarantee of personal safety from Prime Minister Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi.

“I am here because I fear for my safety, and I will leave only if (Prime Minister) Abdullah and the government can give me assurances and guarantees over my safety,” he told the Straits Times in an interview. (MT )

Hello Datuk Anwar, Can you trust a liar?

52. #52 by k1980 on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 8:33 am

Sai Fool has been eating too much of this instant noodle
    http://www.tvsmith.net.my/duasen/290608_sodomee.html

53. #53 by lextcs on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 8:39 am

it is so clear that this is a 10yr old itch….how could one resist the lust of the flesh?…Im sure the west wouldnt mind his sort of lifestyle especially so when they legislated same sex marriage recently in california……How about forming a Parti Keadilan Homo Malaysia?

54. #54 by blablowbla on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 8:46 am

Lim G E was threatened,
    Kappal S was ” ,
    RPK was ” ,
    and now,DSAI is being threatened,if there are so many terrorists in BN,why should we remain them as gomen?
    Kick them out,we do not want mafia fellos to be in-charged!

55. #55 by undergrad2 on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 8:52 am

Is Anwar a criminal on the lam?? It sure looks like it since a police report has been lodged against him for an alleged crime. However, the question as to whether he is qualified to seek asylum would depend on the foreign government he is talking to. He is after all on Turkish soil.

Looks like a full blown diplomatic crisis between two Muslim countries in the making.

56. #56 by k1980 on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 8:53 am

The rakyat must act until all the BN scum are forced to seek refuge in foreign embassies

57. #57 by Bigjoe on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 8:56 am

Its really important for the opposition to remain calm over the issue.

However, once things remain calm, may I suggest DAP issue a statement that warn that should violence erupt, the blame should fall squarely on UMNO and its failed policies of the last nearly 40 years.

58. #58 by wtf2 on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 8:58 am

the umno monkeys really have no imagination…

59. #59 by blablowbla on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 9:01 am

yes,the 2 MPs frm SAPP too,were threatened,i think we are worse than Columbia or Italy!

lextcs,you must be one of those ‘itik-itik’ right?looking at your name,like ppl said,eight and nine are very near to ten!’gigaloo’ or lesbian?

60. #60 by devilmaster on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 9:02 am

I really have to salute Turkish Ambassador to Bolehland Barlas Ozener. Why? Bcoz he is a true Muslim who helps others. Do Kasim Amat, who previously lived in Sabah for years, attended a Tamil school, always seeing Teresa Kok flying to and fro from Penang to Sepang agree that Bolehland’s Islam Hadhari is not as good as Turkey’s brand of Islam?

61. #61 by lextcs on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 9:06 am

i really feel sorry for you guys and myself too….that once again we let our hopes ride up too high only to be hoodwinked by a backyard player! Personally i felt sodomised by this new revelation!

62. #62 by lawrence chin nyen chiong on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 9:07 am

In any political reforms, there are bound to be sacrifices & someone is gonna hurt. Anymore in delays will affect the county in the worst state. The global stability has reached to the worst of all, Malaysia is just a part of it. Further down the road, any more political shocks & global changes will send everything tumble, inclusive of you & me.

Anything clinks to power for too long will give a negative effect, thats for sure !

63. #63 by kingkenny on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 9:08 am

“I urge the Malaysian people to stand against the repressive forces that will be unleashed by the government in the coming days and weeks,” he said.

Since the March polls, Anwar has said he is poised to form a new government with the help of defectors from the ruling coalition, undermining Abdullah who has faced repeated demands to step down over the election debacle.

Anwar’s wife Wan Azizah Wan Ismail accused the government of orchestrating the allegations which she condemned as “a political murder against my husband”.

She produced a photograph of the aide with a staff member of a senior politician and said it proved a link with the government, which was trying to divert attention away from problems such as fuel price hikes.

About 100 supporters gathered at a hotel where Anwar’s Keadilan party leaders were meeting, shouting “Reformasi” or “Reform,” the opposition movement’s battlecry.

“We will take to the streets if they arrest him,” said social activist Marvin Madahvan.

James Chin, a political analyst from Malaysia’s Monash campus, said more mud-slinging would emerge as the date approaches by which Anwar said he would seize power.

“As we head towards September 16, Anwar’s own deadline on when he will topple the government, more and more political things will be coming out of the closet from both sides,” he told AFP.

“In all probability, these sorts of events are designed to distract the population from real issues such as the slowdown in the economy and the rising fuel prices.” – AFP

==================================================

Above was taken from an online news portal, also said that the Turkish ambassador ‘personally invited’ DSAI to take refuge within his embassy.

I hope people can see for themselves, that something is just wrong about the current government.

Stand up now, the time to stand up is now. The government is “trying” to flex its muscle for us to see. We must stand united against them, and now is the time, have no fear for they are only rats.

Makkal Sakthi.

The Rakyat will not forget, and I will never forget. All their crimes must be studied, researched, documented and profiled to show the world and Malaysians the crippling disease that is called “ketuanan melayu”!

64. #64 by raihana on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 9:13 am

adalah tidak wajar kita membuat tuduhan terhadap umno/bn sehingga ada bukti yang sahih. kita harus bertenang, tidak memburukkan lagi keadaan dalm suasana politik malaysia yang tidak menentu ini. kita sama2 berdoa agar allah selamatkan negara kita yang tercinta ini. semoga yang benar dan salah dapat dibuktikan.

65. #65 by year of snake on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 9:19 am

This must be the ultimate insult to our Police force for a citizen of Malaysia to seek refuge in a foreign embassy for his safety. If not for the happening in Zimbabwe, this news will be the headlines in newspaper of most countries.

66. #66 by Jeffrey on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 9:20 am

DSAI said AI said that he was in possession of dossier about IGP or AG’s fabrication of evidence in the cases against him in 1998-1999. There were threats on his life – that’s why he seeks sanctuary in Turkish Embassy. We don’t know how long ago he had all these. Maybe recent, maybe not. Yet until last Fri/Sat, it seemed normal until Saiful Bahari lodged report, that’s when everything was disclosed with DSAI, in YB Kit’s words, “fearing for the worst”. It is an important question here : why does he fear for the worse taking all these pre-emptive steps?

As Undergrad2 observed in preceding thread, “Nobody has been charged yet and already you guys are speculating about evidence and miscarriage of justice”. This is very true and may be applied to DSAI.

The probable explanation is that he is now fully aware that Saiful Bahari was sent by “interested parties” within BN (out to get him) to PKR as a mole and the entrapment laid out was likely successful. Saiful was mere volunteer who joined 3 months ago, little was known of him and that no background check was done on him as Wan Azizah said, and yet he became special assistant/aide to Anwar.

In that position, if he were an agent provocateur sent on a mission, he would by all counts in today’s world of electronic gadgets hidden cameras and whatever be iavailed of opportunities aplenty to achieve his mission to compromise……

Arising from the above, DSAI’s would recognize that he would have to take the contest against BN to another level beyond ballot box or defections/crossovers. After all he is still the icon of hope for all Malaysians yearning to be free from the yoke of BN’s policies and he knows only too well that whatever the government throws at him from the ill gotten fruits of entrapment he can still draw on the reservoir of goodwill, hope and beliefs of the majority of Malaysians – and even the international audience that he appeals to – not to give an iota of credence to the claims and evidence (no matter how convincing) from a side that has lost moral legitimacy.

This poses an immediate dilemma to Pakatan Rakyat when the defacto head does not continue the contest in a normal way – by due process of law – but from the safe sanctuary of Turkish embassy making incendiary speeches from within to rally the faithful (ie anyone faithless about the BN) to the streets rerformasi style.

What other way? Those within BN with whom he has stitched deals for crossovers (even SAPP) will shirk and recoil in the light of recent developments with him holed up in Turkish embassy, and a report being lodged by someone of known links with UMNO and yet could access to privilege position of special assistant.

Back to PR’s position – if there is no other credible Malay leader who can hold all factions together, it will means that the Opposition parties still have to back DSAI who is likely to wage the struggle by way of a stand off against the government of day in the streets with all its consequences.

His good friend Turkish leader Erdogan of pro-Islamic stances once rallied supporters when imprisoned for Subversion in 1997 – “The mosques are our barracks, the domes are our helmets, the minarets are our swords, and the faithful are our army.”

67. #67 by Mr Smith on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 9:23 am

Someone asked above: “Why, can’t the police provide him protection?”

Do you honestly believe the police can protect an Opposition leader, more so Anwar? They nearly killed him the last time.

68. #68 by taiking on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 9:29 am

I have no crystal ball to stare at. So I cant tell you what the development could be about. But I can always guess.

916. Could it be related to 916 and the threatened change of government. Have they got intelligence on the matter and found that the threat is actually real. In fact a very real possibility.

And that the only way for them to stop it is to throw another round of criminal charges against Anwar. Never mind if the charges are apparently bad or unbelievable; or even revolting to the public. Their idea could be to to cause max disruption to his plan – to derail it.

The time between lodging a police report and then investigation and then charge and finally conviction (a near certainly – I am not optimistic – given that the judiciary reform is not yet in place) could well stretch on for months.

Before conviction, Anwar could still get himself elected into Parliament (even if he is under detention for investigation by the police) and push the change through. The window of time has got smaller now. He must be on the double. Of course assuming that the EC does not give a ridiculously long by-election date for the recently court-nullified election result of a Parliamentary constituency.

If the present round of events mounted by UMNO (or could it be Dr M?) is anything like the last (which I believe it is), then in view of the very serious public unrest that it could kick up this time, the police could well have been directed to just arrest and detain Anwar and carry out a prolonged investigation. Yes, lock him up and keep him away until the steam fizzles out.

In any case, it is certainly a desperate, foolish and dangerous political move. They must realise that this time around Anwar is not the real enemy they are facing and eradicating. Its the people – the rakyat. This event will surely test and trigger the true strength of the people.

So sit tight everyone. It will not be another tsunami. It maybe a 10 richter scale quake.

69. #69 by wizzerd on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 9:38 am

UMNO is likened to a drowning man who clutches at a straw. Surprisingly enough, the tactic they used had been used 10 years ago by TDM. Why sodomy? Why the exact modus operandi used? Last time was his speech writer and driver to make a police report. And now, his special aide. The similarities are too obvious.

IMHO
    It could be a clever ploy to put the blame on AAB and portraying him like someone bereft of new ideas to contain Anwar. Then, AAB’s enemies within UMNO will make move against him, citing that he is unable to control Anwar’s resurgence and his mismanagement of the whole saga and finally demanding for his immediate resignation.

Najib is hesitant to make his move because of his Altantuya affair but his camp is egging him on to oust AAB. So, this could be a golden opportunity for him to get the PMship but at the same time pretending to stay loyal to AAB.

AAB’s response : I don’t know or I don’t remember seeing/receiving anything.

70. #70 by lupus on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 9:46 am

Look, face the fact, after 50 years of BN sodomizing every Malaysian, it should not be surprising that anal sex be the charge. Infact, every Malaysian should be charge for letting BN sodomizing you. Let face it, they have bend you over and rape your ass over fast raising cost of living while the spend more and more of your hard earn tax money on “SATU LAGI BN PROJEKT” which only benefit the BN buddies. We all now that’s a thank you from BN to let them rape your ass again without any fight.

Remember the
    1) Toll cost
    2) Fuel cost and Petronas
    3) C4 explosive
    4) National Service death
    5) AP and expensive fuel inefficient cars
    6) Corruption
    7) PR and citizenship
    8) The entire Justice system
    9) Police force
    10) Rape of minors (under 18) by UNMO members
    11) University places and scholarship
    12) Taxes – who pays the greats amount of taxes as stated by the tax office
    13) UNMO youth threating the unity of Malaysian peace and society

and the list goes on.

After 50 years of sodomy, it time to stop anal rape, say NO TO BN

71. #71 by limkamput on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 9:53 am

pgsillai, thank you for standing up for me. I have been busy earning a living given that prices have all gone up, unlike a “free rider” sitting in the comfort of NY, properly an international civil servant spending fat allowance out of the contributions of poor countries. For some of you who may not know, most staff in the IMF, World Bank, Inter-America Bank and ADB spend the money of poor countries lavishly and without any guilt.

72. #72 by lextcs on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 9:53 am

Zugzwang !!! it simply describes every move one takes would make his position weaker or worse. Its time PAS and DAP to rule!

73. #73 by undergrad2 on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 10:01 am

limkamput,

That is the most decent thing I’ve heard you say! But who is this “Free Rider”. I’m only an “Easy Rider”.

74. #74 by lextcs on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 10:03 am

next bombshell coming….PAS getting out of PAKATAN…..to pakat means to colaborate or to scheme…..being a righteous body…who would want to be associated with someone whose lifestyle is not permitted in its teachings. Most logical move is GETOUT before we get smeared with ‘backyard’ dirt.

75. #75 by k1980 on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 10:08 am

Was the assassin Saiful sent by The (Sleepy) Old Man Of The Mountain?
    http://www.skewsme.com/assassin.html

76. #76 by lextcs on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 10:12 am

77. #77 by yhsiew on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 10:16 am

No where is safe in this country now. In order to preserve their comfortable lifestyles and protect their wealth acquired through dishonest means, UMNO have “bought over” everything including the police, judiciary and all other government machinery.

It is unthinkable that such “sin” is committed by people who claim to be followers of Islam Hadhari – where is their conscience?

78. #78 by oknyua on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 10:20 am

I am just too stunned to comment. Anwar is definitely a threat to many people.
    1. Anwar’s claim that he would form the new government before 16th Sept is a reality. With weak and leaderless UMNO, MCA, MIC and Gerakan, the premiership is for Anwar to take over.
    2. There are many questionable cases outstanding in our country. Judiciary is one – but there are myriad others that once Anwar is in power, these cases would be uncovered, layer by layer.
    3. I can believe this is not AAB’s work but there are people that protect AAB at all cost because he can be manipulated for their own interests. Anwar mentioned two groups that conspired against him, and I believe these two groups have been using AAB for their own interests.
    4. I am more inclined to believe the conspiracy theory. It is a diversion but it also hurt the PR where it matters most.

He is in the Turkish Embassy – where else could be go? Was it in the PROTECTION of the police that he got his black EYE?

79. #79 by ShiokGuy on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 10:22 am

I told Mahathir is the worst that we have had…
    but copy cat thingy is worst!

I hope I am wrong, looking forward to hear PM come out to say and correct thing.

I don’t think it is the PM who direct this… sound like someone who has a lot to lose (like going to jail) who initiate this…

Shiok Guy

80. #80 by ShiokGuy on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 10:23 am

Correction***
    I tot mahathir….
    Not I told….. I wish if I can tell him personally face to face :P

Shiok Guy

81. #81 by boh-liao on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 10:30 am

AI wants to ensure his personal safety. No more black eye. Why not?

Don’t play-play with the threat to have AI assassinated.

Remember what Abdul Razak Baginda filed in his affidavit: “Azilah boasted he had caused the death of six to 10 people and that he could settle Abdul Razak’s problem.” How many Azilah clones are around in Malaysia?

This is boleh land. Anything and everything is boleh!

Another thing after this experience, aiyah, PKR, PAS and DAP don’t simply take anybody as helper and personal assistant without checking their background.

Also, if PR want to take over the federal government by getting MPs to crossover or want to expose people by submitting documents and evidence, JUST DO IT lah. No need to cakap here, wayang there, and finally kena checkmated before you have a chance to move.

You are not dealing with opponents who are gentlemen and who follow rules and normal human decency and civility. The stakes are so huge that it’s a matter of life and death. The opponents are not going to hand over on a golden platter docilely. Rules will be ignored and changed. Huru hara will be created and we may enter into a state of emergency to ensure the continuance of power of the opponent.

When one is at the weakest, one is the most dangerous.

The wind is already blowing and bending the lalang. An operation may be mounted at the speed of lightning, under the wonderful name of national security.

Remember Charles Dickens’ “It was the best of times, it was the worst of times, it was the age of wisdom, it was the age of foolishness, it was the epoch of belief, it was the epoch of incredulity, it was the season of Light, it was the season of Darkness, it was the spring of hope, it was the winter of despair, we had everything before us, we had nothing before us, we were all going direct to Heaven, we were all going direct the other way.” (A Tale of Two Cities)

82. #82 by kingkenny on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 10:30 am

BN has for far too long “main kotor” & “main belakang” in this country.

Time to stop the rot.

STAND UP AND MAKE A CHANGE!

If the country’s advancement was getting no better, we might as well CHANGE the government and give other people chances to prove that they can really bring Malaysia to a new level!

Just try and Just Do it!

83. #83 by k1980 on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 10:32 am

Malaysia police report on Anwar
    02:47 a.m. Nov 06, 1998 Eastern

KUALA LUMPUR, Nov 6 (Reuters) – Following is the text of a report by police Special Branch Director Mohamed Said Awang into allegations of sexual misconduct by sacked Malaysian finance minister Anwar Ibrahim.

The report, dated August 20, 1997, was given to Prime Minister Mahathir Mohamad.

The text was translated from Bahasa Malaysia by Reuters. It reads:

ALLEGATIONS AGAINST DATO’ SERI ANWAR IBRAHIM

Allow me with the utmost respect and greetings to enclose together with this the written confessions of Ummi Hafilda Ali and Azizan Abu Bakar dated August 18 1997, which they have made voluntarily to be submitted to Dato’ Seri (Mahathir).

2. The written confessions were obtained following investigations into the poison-pen letter entitled “Talqin Terbuka Anwar Ibrahim” (The Open Eulogy of Anwar Ibrahim). Based on the poison-pen letter, a police report was made by ASP (Assistant Superintendent of Police) Zull Aznam Haji Harun, the police aide-de-camp of Dato’ Seri Anwar Ibrahim, on August 15, 1997. Prior to this, police have also received a copy of a 19-page report entitled “The Wrongdoings of the Deputy Prime Minister” dated August 5, 1997, addressed to Dato Seri’ (Mahathir). That report was signed by Ummi Hafilda Ali.

3. Based on the report of ASP Zull Aznam, the police had arrested Ummi Hafilda Ali and Azizan Abu Bakar on August 17, 1997, under Section 4(1)(b) of the Sedition Act 1948. After their testimony was obtained, they were released on August 18, 1997, on police bail. Their testimony shows that the allegations made are baseless and are more dependent on imagination and assumption. The main factor that drove Ummi Hafilda Ali to produce the report entitled “The Wrongdoings of the Deputy Prime Minister” was based on suspicion that her sister-in-law, Shamsidar Taharin, was having an affair with Dato’ Seri Anwar Ibrahim. Shamsidar Taharin is the wife of Mohamed Azmin Ali, the private secretary of the deputy prime minister. Azizan Abu Bakar made the allegations because he was influenced by the convictions of Ummi Hafilda Ali, and as driver for Mohamed Azmin Ali’s family, he disliked the arrogant attitude of Shamsidar Taharin.

Through our sources, the allegations do not have, (or) contain, any proof, and the sequence of events appears to be deliberately created.

Apart from that, there are indications that there exists a certain group that may have their own agenda and played a role behind the scenes to urge Ummi Hafilda Ali and Azizan Abu Bakar to smear Dato’ Seri Anwar Ibrahim.

One of them is Muhamad Taib, who is said to claim to be a Special Branch officer to the prime minister. Muhamad Taib has been identified as Mohd Taib Salamon, an ex-police inspector who has been sacked.

Based on the inquiry at this juncture, my office does not propose to scrutinise this case in the fullest of detail.

Signed
    Dato’ Mohamed Said Bin Awang
    Director of the Special Branch
    (under the orders of the Inspector General of Police)
    The Royal Malaysian Police”

84. #84 by oknyua on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 10:35 am

Admin:

I know you are fair, but why allow nonsensical comments from “lextcs” appear. What contribution is his comments giving to this blog?

85. #85 by madmix on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 10:39 am

I wonder what this sodomy accuser have as evidence? Videos? photographs? semen samples? witnesses? Torn anus?

86. #86 by year of snake on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 10:40 am

Something is not right and it has a strong fishy smell. In the final episode the people will be made the suckers. No wonder the famous saying ” Polictics are dirty “

87. #87 by kenghuei on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 10:47 am

Lupus, that is darn funny..haha, but quite true too.
    News saying that Anwar has been offered refuge by many Middle East embassies but he chose Turkey because of the close ties as he was also their economic adviser.
    Rais Yatim has summoned Turkish ambassador to question why he offered refuge to Anwar as this is not a political persecution but one of criminal investigation. This could get interesting :)
    If the fabrication story is true, I must say it is so badly done this time around..looking at this mole (Saiful) which already have so many -ve signs downgrading his credible – the photos with top aides (I don’t believe these photos are ‘photoshoped’ or what), the fact that he is a university drop-out and the claims that this is not the 1st sodomy incident (if this is true, it would just mean it is consensual and why only now making the report?).
    I do not really believe Umno/BN needs to do this but anything is possible in politics.
    Now this Khairy is claiming that Anwar makes this whole thing up to gain sympathy and popularity to aid crossoevers… what nonsense!

88. #88 by Elwin Heng on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 10:48 am

Let’s ask ourselves, if you’re experienced and built a kingdom since 308 election, will you destroy or ‘burn’ it easily? Do you believe En. Anwar will do it? Personally, this accuse was only politic darkness (as mentioned)! It looks like year of 1998 scenario, only the difference is lead by different head of current admin(producer).

What’s their purpose or is there any politic motive? There are so many coincidences, as shown below:

1) No confidence motion, the bombshell by Sabah Progressive Party (SAPP) president, Mr. Yong Teck Lee. However, the day after, he was suspected and/or investigated by anti-corruption dept.

2) Emergency debate in Parliament on Raja Petra’s allegations on Altantuya murder, by MP for Ipoh Timor YB Lim Kit Siang. On next day, the House was pulled back the authority,why? Nevertheless, do you notice there is a new restriction was effective on the particular day? The new restriction barring media representatives access to the lobby with an obscene barricade of the area, and do you agree the ruling as tantamount to a clampdown on press freedom?

3) According to press info, En. Anwar was on-hand such evidences against 2ppls, head of enforcement & one current admin minister? Again, before any action against them, there was a police report has been lodged against En. Anwar for allegedly sodomosing one of his aides.

During the heat of politic tsunami or no confidence against current admin, such of so called ‘coincidences happened’. Again, what is their motive, what they want? Taking time (about 916 motion), pulling leg of En. Anwar, to disqualify him on any re-election motion?

What is your opinion? Clean or dirty strategy?
    Do you think I/we are fool that can easily ‘cheat by’ our current admin? Telling you, I/we experienced your lie since your administration period, and the social-reality burden on us which created by you!

‘No matter what tricks you have, such as new setup of parking system on PR territories to 2x burden us. Enough is enough, I/we will never-ever ‘kowtow’ on you.’

PR MPs & YBs, the nation is alongside you! Cheers up…

TQ.
    Warmest regards.

89. #89 by kingkenny on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 10:53 am

“”You are not dealing with opponents who are gentlemen and who follow rules and normal human decency and civility. The stakes are so huge that it’s a matter of life and death. The opponents are not going to hand over on a golden platter docilely. Rules will be ignored and changed. Huru hara will be created and we may enter into a state of emergency to ensure the continuance of power of the opponent.””

– excerpt from boh-liao’s comments

====================================================

Very true friend……

we are NOT dealing with gentlemen here, but crooks and corrupted persons.

This is a fact, laws can’t do them any harm, it is up to the Rakyat to take out the garbage!

I hope some easy riders in this blog could wake up to this fact in Malaysia.

Only the Rakyat can do it, and I hope they are not blind.

And I have some words to shamsul anuar, who in previous thread has accused YB Kit of being a racist, with a stylish ending:

“”yes sir, racism is well alive in this world and in your heart””

Well shamsul anuar, how many non-malay friends do you have?

I suggest that before you accuse any person and a non-malay for that matter, and someone like YB Kit, please do a ground research and ask for information and answers!

Ask the no-malay people:

1. Why do you think the gov. policies are racist?

2. What have the gov. done to make you think they are racist?

If you are really what you are, talking about loving the nation and patriotism and rejecting racism, then go to the ground and understand the citizens concerns!

Because if you do not, you are just another stupid indoctrinated hypocrite who I believe spend all your precious time listening to ceramahs of ketuanan melayu of which I believe are racists judging from the words coming out from your mouth!

I believe non-malays in Malaysia will be more open to integration if some obstacles and extreme mentality are cast aside. Just look at your leaders, AAB, Deputi Botak and many officials have Chinese bloodlines and relations!

90. #90 by r-ptr on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 11:00 am

Malaysia to face 3 crisis this year.

I have been going through my email and found this interesting article.
    In my opinion, the first crisis stated 4Feb-5March 08 is the result of the election. We might possible be looking at the 2nd crisis 5June-8July with all this current happenings.

KUALA LUMPUR: The Year of the Rat will usher in 12 years of prosperity and good luck for the country.

An internationally-recognised feng shui master from Hong Kong said that according to the nation’s birth date of Aug 31, 1957: “Malaysia belongs to the wood element and needs wood and water elements to flourish. Since 2008 is the Year of the Rat, a water element creature, this augurs well for the country.”

Master Edward Li Kui Ming singled out the real estate market as a top performer.

He suggested liberalising the investment climate with investment-friendly incentives.

He predicted the Middle East would be the major investors, but care must be taken that they don’t take their money to neighbouring countries. Particular attention should be paid to China and Japan as potential investors.
    He said Malaysia should concentrate on promoting its tourism industry.

“The best feng-shui feature are the Petronas Twin Towers. When the twin towers are lit up at night, they are the best in the world,” said Li.

“Malaysia must promote and package its unique features such as her distinctive food and tourist attractions. I had the best fried beef noodles and paper-wrapped chicken last night. I think Malaysia should promote these dishes internationally.”

He added that the country’s best performing bank should build its headquarters to the northwest of the towers, supported by a water feature.

But he warned that the country would face three “crisis periods”. They are from Feb 4 to March 5; June 5-July 8 and Oct 8-Nov 11.

“Generally, the first half of the year is not so good, but the second half, especially after Aug 8, should see fortunes soaring.”

For those born under the Chinese zodiac signs of snake, monkey and goat, the year is particularly auspicious.

“They would do well in business ventures as luck is on their side.

“But they must be careful when investing in the stock market during the crisis periods as they could be burnt.

“The fortunes of those born in the year of the horse and tiger will not be so good.

“The horse clashes with the rat, and this clash with the Tai Shui god of the year is a fierce one.

“The tigers have to take care of their health as old wounds may be dug up to haunt them and old enmities revived.”

91. #91 by shiock on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 11:02 am

I’m just wondering how fast PKR got hold of the photos of this Saiful gay with some of the UMNO ministers. Why not expose the gay as a mole but instead let him stay with DSAI until he lodged the police report??

I’m thinking that maybe this plot is hatched by PKR to bring the gomen to shame in the eyes of international community and to lose further support from malaysians. This is too much a risk and effects to the gomen of the day.

92. #92 by langkah baru on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 11:08 am

Whether is a freedom land or boleh land or everyody land… Still the BN are above the law they know no one can challenge these people (maybe the UMNO followers must get the warning from these people, that is why they force to blindly support it even though they hate it). As I say above the law anything they can created it. So with so much protest there ad here and complaining everywhere still nothing solve. Everybody has already open their eyes, so…?…..And now Anwar has to hide…! I really don’t know what will happen now.

93. #93 by badak on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 11:14 am

Always two sides to a coin…. Let the truth be told…But only one side has the hidden ACE OF SPADE…Truth will only be known if the case go to court.As the case proceed only then will the world know if it is done in a COURT OF LAW or in a KANGAROO COURT.As the whole world knows that the last sodomy case of Anwar was held in a KANGAROO COURT.

94. #94 by boh-liao on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 11:22 am

Suddenly sodomy is the flavour of the day.

(The Star, 30.6.08) Two police lance corporals have lodged reports alleging that their chief, an OCPD of a rural district in Terengganu, attempted to sodomise them, on two separate occasions.

One of them alleged that the OCPD embraced and kissed him at about 3am. He also alleged that the senior officer dragged his “boxer” shorts down and attempted to sodomise him.

Woooooooooooh!

95. #95 by undergrad2 on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 11:30 am

The question now is whether the Malaysian government would be able to force the Turkish Ambassador to hand Anwar over since Anwar is a fugitive from the law and the Turkish government is apparently interfering in the internal affairs of the host government.

96. #96 by badak on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 11:31 am

Why the double standered of the POLICE.As most of you have forgotten.When RPK ACCUSED ROSMAH and her aids in the murder of ALTANTUYAH.The police and the PM kept quite for 5 whole days .Only when YB LIM KS tble mtion in Parliament did the PM made a statement.
    When all the blogs and most world news was a buzzed with RPK SD .Nothing was in our main stream papers or local TV.

97. #97 by undergrad2 on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 11:31 am

‘government’ should read ‘country’. Thanks.

98. #98 by hongsichuan on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 11:44 am

As far as the allegation is concerned, there are only three possibilities here:

(1) The allegation is true.
    (2) It is fabricated by someone in BN. (The former special aide to AI is willing to be use by someone in BN.)
    (3) It is fabricated by AI for political purposes. (The former aide is willing to be used by AI.)

If (1) or (3) is true, the country is in danger should AI becomes PM one day. If (2) is true, it is not good for the country as BN is ruling the country.

99. #99 by negarawan on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 11:46 am

The whole of Malaysia is with you DSAI!

UMNO is extremely worried that if you come to power, all their crimes and wrongdoings will be exposed. It is no wonder that the UMNO and BN culprits will use unethical means to stop you. Down with UMNO and BN!!

100. #100 by old dad on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 11:56 am

Again the alternative media scores well over the major newspapers in m’sia in this latest sodomy. It’s true that a picture is worth more than a thousand words.I,m real glad to see ground events posted in You Tube. I’ve not seen RTM for ages, and i don’t have much hope to see them change.

101. #101 by k1980 on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 12:06 pm

In the first place, why was a first year UNITEN student on govt scholarship (hence no monetary problems) who was sacked for failing his semester exams (hence no gray matter and a born sucker) a special personal assistant (hence unhindered access to important party policies) to the PKR leader? Meaning to say there are no other suitable candidates, i.e. all the others are worse university-sacked failures than the above ex-undergrad?

102. #102 by boh-liao on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 12:14 pm

All Malaysians support NEP in principle: that Malays, particularly those who are economically disadvantaged, be given special affirmative assistance to improve their social-economic status, especially through education.

However, Malaysians cannot accept indiscriminate offer of affirmative assistance to Malays, without considering their interests and intellectual capacity. Such action leads to wastage of financial, human, and national resources.

An outstanding example is the man in the current raging vortex of the poke-the-@sshole controversy.

(The Star, 30.6.08) Mohd Saiful Bukhari Azlan, the man who is accusing Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim of sodomy, was a student leader at Universiti Tenaga Nasional (Uniten) for the 2006/2007 term.

The 23-year-old Saiful wrote in a reply in a blog a few months ago that he opted out of the university due to poor results and it would take another two-and-a-half years to complete his electrical course, something he did not want. He wrote that although active in student politics, he harboured ambitions to become a pilot. He took up the electrical course as he was offered a scholarship.

Saiful described himself as someone who liked to make friends, “regardless if they were ministers, opposition leaders, gangsters or even road sweepers.”

Based on what is printed in The Star today, then all right-thinking Malaysians must be asking loudly WTF Mohd Saiful Bukhari Azlan was offered a scholarship to do a course that he did not want to do in the first place. Why? Wasting public money and a university seat in the name of NEP!! (There must be many similar examples where Malay students were offered scholarships and pushed to do courses not of their choice!)

Mohd Saiful Bukhari Azlan wrote that his results were: “Sem 1 06/07 GPA 1.0, Sem 2 GPA 0.8 dan CGPA saya sekarang 1.69”. And he was a student leader at Universiti Tenaga Nasional (Uniten).

He opted out of Uniten and happily went around rubbing shoulders with Umno big shots and taking photos with them, blissfully smiling away. Obvioulsy, education is not important but being associated with Umno is. The passport to a great future is to be an Umnoputra and assured by ketuanan/kedaulatan Melayu.

Is Mohd Saiful Bukhari Azlan a typical product of NEP?

103. #103 by langkah baru on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 12:21 pm

Can anybody out there tell us what to do? Protest tak boleh…Demo..kena pukul….Complain…deaf ear…..Talk….ISA…..SMS….kena tangkap…So how? Anymore idea?

104. #104 by grace on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 12:23 pm

Poor Anwar.
    I think this type the charges are fabricated. Who is a fool to repeat the same ‘mistake’.
    Pak Lah, stop taking us as fools. Even though you can put Anwar behind bars, his spirit still ives on. More sympathy would pour in for Anwar and hence more support. You never learn from Hineraf’s detainees. Because of them, you loose almost all the support of Indians. Now with Anwar unfaurly chsrged, do expect another trouncing. Maybe the whole of Malaysia will be lost to PR!!!

105. #105 by Jeffrey on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 12:33 pm

Events in 1998-1999, even if true, are past. One needs to rake them up only if they are helpful to defend against accusations and charges. DSAI is however already a free man having obtained acquittal in 2004. The Lingam clip enquiry also established the judiciary bias against him at that point of time. So instead of seeking closure as far as that episode concerned and moving forward, why does he now rake past events up against the two highest law enforcement officers (IGP or AG) based allegedly on dossier in his possession?

One theory is to pre-emtively tarnish the legitimacy of entire administration of justice and law enforcement so that whatever arrest for charges that may be brought against him, even if supported by convincing evidence, will be rejected as illegitimate in the Court of Public Opinion.

Indirectly he is drawing a line in the sand – and asking supporters to follow as well – that law and the requirements of law need not be followed as their enforcement emanates from an illegitimate source.

To resist the law he seeks sanctuary in Turkish Embassy which is near enough to issue his orders for his struggle against the BN and yet far enough not to be arrested.

There is then a need to justify then why he seeks refuge ‘indefinitely’ in the Turkish Embassy, and the best reason is death threats and assassination and the convenience of explaining it on basis that PDRM could not protect him based on the line already drawn above. Frankly Raja Petra has more cause to hide in the Turkish Embassy but does not!

For Pakatan Rakyat and all who support PR, this poses a dilemma.

He may be encouraging all to take to the streets reformasi style on grounds that the law and its process are illegitimate.

This is a very dangerous course arguably not good for the nation.

It is different from the earlier course charted for Opposition after spectacular gains of 8th March – ie run the state governments properly and if possible canvass defections from BN’s side all within parameters of the law……

You may want to reflect why he raises the stakes and up the ante in another manner.

After all the Lingam Video clip enquiry has made many not believe in the charges brought against him in Dr Mahathir’s years. The political tsunami of 3rd March itself evinced that huge sections of people don’t believe in BN anymore.

In this milieu of widespread distrust by large sections of public in respect to whatever the BN claims, why should everything about the Opposition struggle instantly change (by police report lodged against IGP & AG, disclosure of death threats and seeking sanctuary in Turkish Embassy ie drawing a line in the sand against legitimacy of law) raising the spectre of political stand off and street confrontation with law enforcement authorities just because of some BN’s ‘mole’ lodging last Sat a police report, especially if were true, as DSAI would tell us and have us think, that the accusation is entirely baseless and fabricated? Where is the proof?

Where does Pakatan Ralyat go from here – the DAP & PAS in particular? We more or less know Parti KeAdilan Rakyat’s stand.

106. #106 by Lee Wang Yen on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 12:38 pm

In reply to Jeffrey’s question, it is reported that Anwar had obtained the evidence against AG and IGP two weeks ago.

PKR was to have lodged a police report against AG and IGP yesterday. But according to Malaysiakini, they had deferred lodging the report because they were still receiving new evidence.

107. #107 by kingkenny on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 12:41 pm

Remember that the last sodomy case implicating DSAI in a KANGAROO COURT was thrown out by the KANGAROO COURT JUDGES themselves!

So if this time the gov. “manage” to haul DSAI back to court, will they reopen the last case against him so as to give him a longer jail sentence??…thus eliminating the real or ethereal threats against the gov.??

I hope it will take a Malay to save the Malays….either DSAI or RPK.

For the rest of us, we should sell our stocks to the righteous for the time being if we hope for changes that Malaysia badly needed right now.

108. #108 by Jeffrey on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 12:43 pm

Hongsichuan, out of the 3 hypothetical scenarios, you have omitted the fourth (in-between) – ie that allegation is true but caused by someone in Opposite side deliberately aforehand planting a mole to achieve a specific mission, which when achieved, is directed to lodge a report to discredit the person who holds Pakatan Rakyat together.

109. #109 by General Maximus Decimus Meridius on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 12:47 pm

If the Turkish ambassador is called to Wisma Putra and the govt arent satisfied, well, the worse they can do is to cut off the diploatic ties and ask the turks to leave, redering them as persona non grata. But then, i dont think the govt would dare to cut the ties to all nations should they all offered protection to DSAI. The govt sure is in tight corners now…

Sodomy Wars Episode 2: Attack of the Clowns

110. #110 by merong on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 12:51 pm

ChinNA Says

I just can’t believe DrM is that naive.

DITTO!

that is one cunning old goat. you will never know wether it is sarcasm or not.

remember the I don’t remember syndrom during lingam inquiry? and how he suddenly remembers everything, when it could give him advantage?

he said it with the same SMIRK on his face

111. #111 by Jeffrey on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 12:55 pm

Malaysiakini has just reported that

(1) “PKR’s de facto leader Anwar Ibrahim this morning filed a defamation suit against his aide over claims of sodomy…In the suit which was filed at the Kuala Lumpur High Court registry in Jalan Duta, Anwar also claimed that the police report lodged by Mohd Saiful Bukhari Azlan was an abuse of the process of law”.
    (2) “Meanwhile the party also said that it had postponed its plans to lodge a police report against police chief Musa Hassan and attorney-general Abdul Gani Patail over their alleged misconduct during Anwar Ibrahim’s trials in 1998-1999.”

I am happy that wiser counsel prevails, I am in total agreement that the above (1) and (2) is the correct thing to do which re-directs PKR and its supporters away from the other course of direct confrontation against law enforcement.

112. #112 by Elwin Heng on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 1:04 pm

Investigation was on going!
    Bare in mind, investigation means subjective, yes or no against HIM for allegedly sodomosing one of his aides? Again and again, personally I rejected or disagreed to this allegation.

Furthermore, is no talking about this matter only, accordingly it was about ‘possibility of safety’! I believe, once against us, sure I/we finding a safe place to assure ourselves. What wrong (is him) are we? Will (he) I/we interfering the laws too?

If it happened against you & me, or HE is just only a ‘normal’ citizen, will it be so complicated? Or else, if happen against anyone from current admin, will it be able fairness and transparency to press freedom?

Power authority is important, but I/we strongly commit and agree to CAT conditions and ppl benefits is the most important! If continuous, redundant and everlasting mis-use power authority which given by us, hereby to welcome you ~walk down from the stage. I/we will appreciate upon power authority turnover to PR, thank you.

Never-ever ‘kowtow’ to unfairness and ‘dirty tactics’. Rights always alongside us, angel brights will shine allover soon… PR MPs & YBs, save us, find your way out and counter attack current admin.

TQ.
    Warmest regards.

113. #113 by k1980 on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 1:07 pm

Blockbusters coming this way in July:
    Sodomee Wars Episode 1: Poke-da-@sshole
    Sodomee Wars Episode 2: The Sleepy Mullah Awakes
    Sodomee Wars Episode 3: Revenge of the Black-Eye

114. #114 by kingkenny on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 1:16 pm

“”I am happy that wiser counsel prevails, I am in total agreement that the above (1) and (2) is the correct thing to do which re-directs PKR and its supporters away from the other course of direct confrontation against law enforcement.”” – Jeffrey

We should remember who is talking and filing the defamation suits. Without the people’s support and “strong voice” which is more apparent today, I seriously doubt there are any individuals or parties dare to initiate a “confrontation” against law enforcement, and hope to come out victorious by virtue of justice based on evidence.

115. #115 by VoteDAP on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 1:18 pm

SPREAD THIS PLS
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wq0cQuBwAyg

Then you know who is really the one CUCUK BELAKANG – MAIN BUSUK!!!

SPREAD FOR JUSTICE!

116. #116 by myint3 on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 1:25 pm

An excerpt from the Daily Express today, report headline “PM orders probe on Anwar”

“He(PM) said investigations must be carried out and not merely rely on Anwar’s denial as was the usual case in any criminal case the accused person would surely deny committing the offence.

It is the police who should take appropriate action. Since a report has been lodged, the police should investigate to establish whether the allegation was true or otherwise.

What Anwar has said is not for us to decide. He will surely deny. Normally, it’s like that.The accused will normally deny the allegation”.

From the way he put it, Pak Lah already insinuated that he thinks Anwar is guilty. So Mr Clean Pak Lah finally show his evil side. Alim alim kucing lah. Very disappointed with you Pak Lah, even if you were a lousy PM, at least I had respect for your gentleman way in politics. But now, no more lah!

Worse come to worst, if they jailed DSAI again, we’ll vote in Wan Azizah as PM.

BN has opened a can of worm, pandora box for change in Malaysia. Here’s a piece of advice to you BN, stop fighting the inevitable, at least you will bow out from the scene with some semblance of honour. At the rate you’re going, you’ll be a blemish in the history of Malaysia.

117. #117 by stjames on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 1:28 pm

If this was indeed planned by BN, its very very silly.

– it would appear to validate TDMs actions on on DSAI in 1998
    – it would remove PM’s defence against TDM’s continuous calls for his stepping down
    – infuriates the people’s feelings.

Whether 1998/present sodomy claims are true or not are another matter, ppl probably just had enough of these below the belt plots to fool the general public.

Zimbabwe indeed, say no more!

118. #118 by zack on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 1:30 pm

If we believes what DSAI is saying then it shows that we have been watching to much James Bond …. come on DSAI you must be paranoid just when you accused the govt. then that they are going to “arsenic” you. But the moment you are out, there no mentioned what soever about your called threat in jail. Its just disappeared and nobody is talking about it. Be a man and face your accuser like the fighter taht you claimed to be! Don’t hide behind your wife’s skirt and worst still in a foreign embassy ….

119. #119 by premierax on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 1:34 pm

All UMNO-BN people must be jailed. They are destroying the country image. They are making Malaysia a barbaric place to live. We all need to revolt and probably hang them all till death. Their mind is so wicked and crooked. The rakyat has lost their patience. I have lost my patience.

120. #120 by stjames on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 1:36 pm

Uncle Kit,

I think the general public wishes to rid this BN government. There seems to be little an individual rakyat can do, they still need to go to work, make a living, feed their families etc.

What can the people do, individually or collectively?

121. #121 by cto on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 1:36 pm

lextcs Says:

Today at 09: 06.39 (4 hours ago)
    i really feel sorry for you guys and myself too….that once again we let our hopes ride up too high only to be hoodwinked by a backyard player! Personally i felt sodomised by this new revelation!

————————–

Yes, please go and get a medical check up. The swelling of your herrmoriods may be the culprit.

122. #122 by hongsichuan on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 1:37 pm

“Jeffrey Says:
    Today at 12: 43.37 (43 minutes ago)

Hongsichuan, out of the 3 hypothetical scenarios, you have omitted the fourth (in-between) – ie that allegation is true but caused by someone in Opposite side deliberately aforehand planting a mole to achieve a specific mission, which when achieved, is directed to lodge a report to discredit the person who holds Pakatan Rakyat together.”

I agree with you, Jeffry. The truth is often a mixed picture, not as clear cut as we would like it to be. The point I was trying to make was that no matter what the truth is here it shows that the country is not in good shape and it may change for the worse if its citizens are not careful. There is a French saying, “The more it changes the more it remains the same.” It may change for the worse unless we can be certain that the PM to be is a person of honourable character, no matter which political party he or she is from.

123. #123 by kentutoyol on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 1:41 pm

I just asked myself – “If I’m the prime-minister-in-waiting, will I do something silly to kill my own card?”

?????

124. #124 by cto on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 1:45 pm

hongsichuan Says:

Today at 08: 18.27 (5 hours ago)
    I wouldn’t be too quick to jump to any conclusion here. IF the allegation of sodomy is a fabrication this time, question is by whom and for what purpose? Don’t forget that threats can also be fabricated

——————–

Ya lah. Ya lah. Everything can be fabricated so don’t draw any conclusion and don’t use any of what ever little God given mental faculty that you have.

125. #125 by Sagaladoola on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 1:52 pm

My writing on this issue:
    Drama Minggu Ini : Sodomy (Again ?)

126. #126 by sotong on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 1:59 pm

With many Malays frustrated and tired of gross injustice and current political environment in the country….you will see real, great and courageous Malay leaders coming forward.

127. #127 by pulau_sibu on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 2:02 pm

<When questioned on the existence of a photo of his special officer with Saiful, Najib said it was taken when the 23-year-old came to his office to seek a government scholarship

is it so easy for a nobody to go to Najib’s office?
    this deputy pm is surrounded by so many scandals. he would better step down before abdullah

128. #128 by stjames on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 2:04 pm

“kentutoyol wrote:

I just asked myself – “If I’m the prime-minister-in-waiting, will I do something silly to kill my own card?”

?????”

I guess one would do so if it creates the intended reaction from the people to put him in power. Think about it, such a self inflicted ploy works but then again having Mr. Saiful’s taken pics with the BN leaders previously probably invalidates any such possibility. See harakahdaily for the pics.

129. #129 by Jeffrey on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 2:04 pm

Malaysiakini further reported Anwar said “I need categorical assurance on my safety. Sure, if they give me an assurance for my safety today I will leave the embassy today…!”

This is the best & wisest and correct thing Anwar ever said in these few days.

There is no business on part of PDRM not to give such an assurance, and for sake of the country, it should straightaway give the assurance to pave the way for Anwar to retract and leave the embassy. Esp so when Party KeAdilan Rakyat had also said that it had postponed its plans to lodge a police report against IGP & AG over their alleged misconduct during Anwar Ibrahim’s trials in 1998-1999.

This will bring matters back to normalcy, the situation before Mohd Saiful Bukhari Azlan lodged report.

Since the contents of report are according to Anwar fabricated and untrue why over react?

Anwar is absolutely right to back track on and reverse on 2 steps taken earlier in the immediate wake of Saiful’s report:-

1. to lodge report against IGP/AG on events way past in 1998/99 of which closure already obtained by his 2004 acquittal;

2. seeking refuge in Turkish Embassy ostensibly on grounds of threats to his life.

This is because 1. & 2. draw a line in the sand against legitimacy of law enforcement which will bring PR supporters eventually to point of standoff and confrontation with forces of law enforcement reformasi style, breaking the peace.

Secondly if Saiful’s allegations were a fabrication without basis, as Anwar says they are, then a simple defamation/libel suit in accordance with law will suffice to discredit it, there being no need for Anwar to raise the stakes for a standoff and up-the-ante by 1. and 2.

Otherwise the unnecessary pursuing of 1. and 2. in response to Saiful’s allegations will constitute an over reaction on Anwar’s part disproportionate to the gravity of the situation that the lodgment of a ‘fabricated’ report poses which will most definitely achieve opposite effect of lending credence to Saiful’s allegations and the negative inference drawn against Anwar himself of probable guilt.

Thus Anwar’s reversal of his initial over-reaction in 1. and 2. will bring matters back to normalcy and not affect Pakatan Rakyat’s continued struggle (within parameters of the law of running the state govt and canvassing for lawful crossovers), which otherwise will most severely be compromised, if it leads to street fighting and giving justification of ban of the Opposition parties.

130. #130 by myint3 on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 2:07 pm

Yong Teck Lee (SAPP), the David from Sabah that dared to push for a no confidence vote against Goliath(Pak Lah) being investigated by ACA for corruption. Now DSAI, being accused of sodomy again.

Hmm. One couldn’t help but question the timing.

I’m tempted to ask that DSAI and all his brave politicians make their move now. BN already show hand, now PR should show its trump card lah. Man! I can’t wait till Sept 08 for changes. It’s like getting your christmas gift early and told to wait a few weeks before you can open it.

Come on PR/DSAI/Uncle Lim, give the rakyat our Raya and Christmas gift.

131. #131 by Neobanchuan on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 2:12 pm

The mongolian murderer is out to kill anyone who gets in his way.

132. #132 by riversandlakes on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 2:15 pm

We don’t want Anwar to be massacred like Bhutto was.

133. #133 by hongsichuan on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 2:21 pm

Someone said; “Ya lah. Ya lah. Everything can be fabricated so don’t draw any conclusion and don’t use any of what ever little God given mental faculty that you have.”

The problem here is not that we don’t use our mental faculty, but whether we use it in a proper way. Yes, you are free to use whatever little “mental faculty” to support blindly someone that you may not even know. But don’t ask me to do this!

134. #134 by Jeffrey on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 2:23 pm

I forgot to explain in preceding posting why the pursuit of 1. and 2. (if not otherwise reversed) would achieve opposite effect of lending credence to Saiful’s allegations and the negative inference drawn against Anwar himself.

It is this. The government will not make mistake twice to bring another sodomy case when the earlier one was botched & discredited. This means it will only bring a charge like that if it has iron clad forensic evidence (eg DNA) or even video clip from hidden camera of Lingam Saga. It is in the second situation of the existence of credible evidence obtainable due to deliberate entrapment and the impending arrest that has to be resisted. And there’s no better way to resist it than to seek protection from Turkish embassy and to legitimize the resistance against law enforcement by upping the ante to preemptively discredit law enforcement in general by raking up past things in 1998/1988 to discredit the twin pillar of it – AG & IGP! In that sense the course 1 & 2 as an overreaction is consistent with the allegations of Saiful being true!

This is a most dangerous course. It is no good for Anwar; no good for Pakatan Rakyat; no good for peace in the country; no good for the momentum that the Opposition has achieved so far – gains from ballot box and future gains from cross overs if any. It is substituting the law of the streets – with all untold consequences – for the law of the land that the Opposition parties have operated and secured their gains thus far.

I am glad he takes steps to rescind and reverse what have been embarked so far in respect of course 1 & 2. He is doing the right thing now.

135. #135 by Jeffrey on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 2:38 pm

People should have some decency even in dirty politics. Bring up Criminal Breach of Trust (CBT) as in cheating public monies or cheating on electoral rules or even murder as a benchmark as to whether to disqualify a person as fit and proper to hold public office. Don’t resort to innuendoes and allegations, true or not true, about political opponent’s personal and private sexual lives, whether active or passive, regular or deviant, what has that got to do with his vision and capability as a political leader??? It is only a sex obessesed and also likely repressed society that pays disproportionate interest on such issues like sex, a natural biological imperative, and make it a big thing.

136. #136 by pamelaoda on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 2:54 pm

After being through all this, I am curious to ask all fellow bloggers here, if DSAI is assassinated or convicted again, WHAT CAN YOU DO? REally?

What can we do? We are through this era whereby Judge could be bought, Murderer can be PM, body could be snatched by so-called Islam authority, Minister could be charged, etc etc….Is this what we called the history of malaysia in the future?!?!

137. #137 by hongsichuan on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 2:55 pm

I agree with the observation of Jeffry. There is a proper and honourable way of doing things. The fact that one side does not adhere to it does not excuse the other side from it. (I am not a fan of BN nor am I a fan of AI.)

138. #138 by i_love_malaysia on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 3:04 pm

Another sad sad day for all Malaysian except those corrupted, incompetent, power cracy, murderers, liers.

Before Malaysian are barred from migrating to other countries, it is still not too late to think which country best to migrate to and save us all the energy or agony to see all these rots happening in Malaysia!!! Is it the best time to jump ship???

139. #139 by malaysiantruly on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 3:14 pm

We Malaysians would like to believe in evidence, not political thoughts and arguments. Let the police do their work, the truth shall surface somehow. He is innocent until he is proven….. applies to both side!.

140. #140 by allout on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 3:15 pm

DSAI will not be assassinated that are all make up to fire up his supporers, if the allegation is found to be true then he will be convicted.
    Cheers

141. #141 by cto on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 3:23 pm

hongsichuan Says:

Today at 14: 21.49 (48 minutes ago)
    Someone said; “Ya lah. Ya lah. Everything can be fabricated so don’t draw any conclusion and don’t use any of what ever little God given mental faculty that you have.”

The problem here is not that we don’t use our mental faculty, but whether we use it in a proper way. Yes, you are free to use whatever little “mental faculty” to support blindly someone that you may not even know. But don’t ask me to do this

———————

I won’t dare ask. It might be too much of a stretch.

Please don’t jump to the conclusion that I am supporting Anwar, let alone blindly supporting him. Whether I know him or not and whether I support him or not is quite irrelevant.

Yes, logic tells me that it is highly probable that a 60 plus year old man can forcibly sodomized a healthy 23 year old man single handedly. I would like to provide my hypothesis on why that is highly probable but the moderator did not like my original response and deleted it. I respect his/her wishes so I shall leave it at that.

142. #142 by i_love_malaysia on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 3:47 pm

I really respect all those who still have great faith and believe in the system, even though with all the dirts thrown to our faces!!! Bravo!!! Keep continue to trust all the thiefs, robbers, murderers, corrupters that are still sitting at the highest office of the land!!! No wonder we are at such a sorry state, it is our fault, we trust the wrong people for the past 50 years and continue to do so!!! It is only those who are in th inner circle of power will know what actually happening, but many of us are still in the state of denial that such rots happening in Malaysia and continue to sit back and relax until it is too late!!!

143. #143 by kanthanboy on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 4:23 pm

//..Let the police do their work, the truth shall surface somehow. He is innocent until he is proven….. applies to both side!.// malsysiantruly
    —————————————–
    You must have absolute great faith in the Malaysian Police to make such a statement. What happen to the investigation on the RCI report on Lingam Tape? What happen to the police report lodged by Kapal Singh against Mahathir for threatening judges? Is the police going to do their work to investigate those implicated in the SD made by RPK in the C4 murder?

144. #144 by dbrutal on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 4:31 pm

It’s a Deja Vu isn’t it, but where were you guys when the first accusation took place in 1998/99 SAGA. Should you guys came out and supported DSAI during that time, things should have changed and different by now. There were just a small number of odd Indians and Chineses that joined the reformasi, to us our voices for changed started 10 years ago whereby you guys just started in less than few months and yet you are calling yourselves as The Champion in reformed issues and some of you guys are underminding and provoking our tolerance in stating your stances. Last time, thousands or even millions of us took the streets to show our protest and yet you guys just was just clapping hand and blame us as extremists. So now you guys sounded more like extremist in voicing your grievances. The difference is, now you will not see thousands or millions of people beat the streets to fight for a wrong course since you guys have distorted the definition of reformasi

145. #145 by yhsiew on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 5:06 pm

Though Sodomy Part II enacted by AAB’s gang might fool Malaysians, yet it will not fool intelligent leaders of the international community.

Remember how President Bill Clinton condemned such dirty tactics in Sodomy Part I, and how Vice President Al Gore gave the comment “congratulations to the people of Malaysia for their bold courage to reform” when he came to Malaysia. American leaders’ eyes are sharp and they have the acumen to judge what is true and what is fabricated. If they did not believe Sodomy Part I, there were even better reasons for them to reject Sodomy Part II.

Malaysiankini (Chinese Edition) reported that several Middle East countries INVITED Anwar to stay in their embassy, but he chose Turkish Embassy because of his good relationship with the leaders of Turkey. One can see from here that these Middle East embassies have more faith in the Opposition leader than in the ruling party. Apparently they already knew Sodomy Part II is a political ploy to stop Anwar’s political ascension.

If UMNO were to continue with such unethical and unbecoming tactics to cause downfall to a leader who crosses their path, it will only expose the party’s rotten integrity and morals.

146. #146 by peterchiang on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 5:17 pm

This Old Man

This old man
    he played one
    he played nick nack on my thumb.
    With a nick nack paddy whack,
    give a dog a bone,
    this old man came rolling home….

0-man, Dr. Mahaboleh, not again.

http://1426.blogspot.com/2008/06/re-branding-of-malaysialiwat-gate-to.html

147. #147 by old dad on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 5:19 pm

Rais told reporters that Anwar was never invited to his house and that the opposition leader had gone there on his own accord.

wow a sparner now throw into the gearbox

148. #148 by pminwaiting on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 5:23 pm

Dunno what to say anymore.. I think UMNO/Pak lah and whoever in BN are really crazy… People dont buy this kind of thing anymore… I wonder is Khairy really an Oxford graduate… if u really r please lah be more creative… dont recycle Tun Mahathir idea’s… no originality… it really shows that Khairy/Paklah/Najib/Umno are really DESPARATE……. please… ENOUGH IS ENOUGH!!!!!

149. #149 by A Malaysian on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 5:31 pm

i guess mr c4 is the main mastermind behind this.

150. #150 by i_love_malaysia on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 5:41 pm

When the situation has reached such a state that it is whether you die or I die, for sure they will use whatever c4 available to kill you instead of themselves!!! who will commit suicides if there’s still a fighting chance!!! That’s exactly what is happening now!!!

151. #151 by i_love_malaysia on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 5:42 pm

THE DEVIL WILL RETALIATE THE STRONGEST WHEN IT IS CORNERED AND ITS END TIME IS UP!!!

152. #152 by Godfather on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 6:11 pm

Anwar should never have asked for assurance of safety from Badawi. Everyone knows he is not in control, and any assurance from him is worthless. As worthless as the many letters of “sokong” that he has written on projects – sometimes four or five letters of “sokong” for the same project !

Until we find out who is really in charge, and that could take a long long time, Anwar should simply go off to the US, and stay there. He will be tried in absentsia, and then we can all laugh at the antics of the culprits involved. If it is very likely to be a kangaroo court, then why bother facing the court ?

153. #153 by boh-liao on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 6:12 pm

Najib said a picture of Anwar’s former aide with his (Najib’s) official Khairil Annas Jusoh at the deputy prime minister’s office, which was featured in numerous blogs, was taken three months ago when the aide went to his office to seek a government scholarship.

Very interesting. A drop-out from Uniten (with CGPA of 1.69) went to DPM’s office to ask for a scholarship. To become a pilot or a space tourist?

Was there any deal to get the scholarship?

Is it true that towards the end of World War II, young kamikaze pilots of shinp? tokubetsu k?geki tai were feasted and photographed with VIPs before they embarked on their marauding banzai suicide missions?

154. #154 by Lee Wang Yen on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 7:09 pm

There are conflicting reports on Malaysiakini (BM).

Rais Yatim claims that the Turkish ambassador has clarified that he hasn’t invited Anwar to take refuge at the embassy, and that Anwar was merely a guest there. He also says that the ambassador wants Anwar to leave the embassy.

On the other hand, Anwar claimed that he was invited by the Turkish ambassador and has just announced that he is leaving the embassy shortly, after the deputy prime minister and home minister guaranteed his personal safety.

Who’s telling the truth?

155. #155 by old dad on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 7:12 pm

Opposition leader Anwar Ibrahim walked out from the Turkish embassy in Kuala Lumpur at 6.50pm today

156. #156 by old dad on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 7:14 pm

hmm looks like a day of walk out

157. #157 by kingkenny on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 7:28 pm

“”It is this. The government will not make mistake twice to bring another sodomy case when the earlier one was botched & discredited.”” – Jeffrey

1) Was it really botched/discredited or do you believe in the system of justice?

2) Likewise, will DSAI make mistake twice and possibly put himself back in the drain and drag the whole PR together?

3) For someone who promotes the wiser methods and according to the book, you have already said here on this blog that Saiful s indeed saying the truth, thus you have already put the guilty verdict on DSAI even before any court proceedings opened!

Please don’t be biased, nothing have been proven as yet.

The Rakyat of Malaysia have the right to condemn and be angry about the government because of past experiences. If indeed DSAI is a sodomiser, why is it that Tun Mamak’s court were not able to convict him in the first place? DNA test were caried out, mattresses was produced as evidence, eyewitness and victims accounts, but still the judges dropped the case.

What is it that make any difference this time about?!

158. #158 by lkt-56 on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 7:41 pm

This is an extract of an article entitled: “Saiful in hiding, Uncle has faith” from Malaysiakini:

“But I believe in Saiful,” said the 20-something-year-old at the double-storey house. “He is a good kid and all that he has done, he has done with honesty.

“I just got back from Perak and we’ve not been in touch but I know why he lodged the report,” he added.

Teary-eyed, the uncle said that his nephew reported the matter as he wanted to expose the PKR leader for what he was.

From the uncle’s statement seems like the boys is a good kid and he just wants us Malaysian citizens to know that AI is a sodomiser and not fit to be PM. Whether True or Not True (that Ai is that way inclined) it is obvious that Saiful has made the report in order to de-rail Anwar’s relentless march towards his objective of securing enough support to form the next government. His teary eyed uncle thinks we are all stupid morons to believe that this young lad has noble objectives… ;)

Truly I am amazed at how far the human would go in order to achieve their objectives…

I hope we do not have to go through another trial like the last one. Malaysia is on the brink of economic disaster and we could do without such resource wasting dramas being played out again.

I think the 5 pakatan states should get down to the business of good governance and show how results could be achieved if we use our intelligence in the right direction.

I hope AI will let things cool down and even leave the country for a while and leave UMNO to settle their quarrel among themselves. For sure they will hurt one another we can tell from events.

159. #159 by Lee Wang Yen on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 7:54 pm

http://www.malaysiakini.com/letters/85323
    BN gov’t cannot afford a repeat of 1998 Anwar trial
    An Observer | Jun 30, 08 4:18pm

‘…We must remember that in 1998, Anwar Ibrahim was convicted of sodomy on the most filmiest of evidence.

He was basically convicted on the testimony of one man who proved to be an unreliable witness by changing his story many times in court. The accuser in question had not even been medically examined to certify that he had been sodomised.

The attorney-general then changed the date of the alleged act twice. In the first date tendered, the condominium where the crime was alleged to have taken place was not even built yet!

Two of Anwar’s male associates who were convicted of having a sexual relationship with him declared publicly that their confessions were extracted under extreme duress and sought legal redress.

Anwar’s tennis partner was arrested for illegal possession of a bullet although he had a gun license and allegedly threatened with the death penalty if he did not cooperate in implicating Anwar. When the plot was exposed in court, the judge sentenced the lawyer to jail for bringing it up.

In the absence of any substantial evidence, a stained mattress was carried in and out of court to the bemusement of the public.

The judge had been specially promoted to hear the case. Suffice to say that the conduct of the judge did not give the impression of impartiality…’

160. #160 by Lee Wang Yen on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 7:56 pm

4 BN MPs to join opposition by this week?

http://www.malaysiakini.com/bm/
    kemaskini 7:29pm Ketua umum PKR itu juga berkata beliau akan mengumumkan penyertaan empat ahli parlimen komponen BN, termasuk dua dari Umno, bersama pembangkang minggu ini.

161. #161 by citizenwatch on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 7:57 pm

About a week ago I wrote that BN will go about conceiving a script of sinister nature in response to the damning revelation of RPK’s SD.

Being in the culture of incompetence, they will fumble and stumble in the conception and execution of the script. But I did not expect them to recycle an old script and to attack Anwar.

BN is so bankrupt of ideas that they had to recycle that old script. Let’s look at this following analogy.

A musical theatre producer will reproduce an old musical so he can cut cost and time. But in this case for BN, time is of the essence. The script can be adjusted to the current situation. All the players (actors, dancers, musicians, stage hands, etc) already know their lines and responsibilities and they can help coach new players to settle in comfortably.

Let’s all sit down and watch a comedy of errors unfold.

162. #162 by undergrad2 on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 8:10 pm

lextcs Says:

Today at 09: 06.39 (4 hours ago)
    “I really feel sorry for you guys and myself too….that once again we let our hopes ride up too high only to be hoodwinked by a backyard player! Personally i felt sodomised by this new revelation!”

Somebody experienced an epiphany – epiphany as a result of sodomy??

163. #163 by Godfather on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 8:13 pm

What the clown lextcs was trying to say is that we have all been sodomised by this BN government, so what’s the big deal ? lextcs, I can only imagine it must have been very painful for you.

164. #164 by Godfather on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 8:17 pm

Reading about the team of forensic experts and chemists going through the apartment with a fine tooth comb is really amusing. Why didn’t they pursue violent cases with the same intensity ? Nurin’s killers are still at large, and so are Noritta Samsuddin’s killers.

Did they pursue the Altantuya case with the same fervour ? I mean, Yong Teck Lee comes up with his spanner and they immediately investigate him for corruption, Anwar is about to go for a by-election, and they immediately come up with a sodomy allegation. “We have never targetted anyone” say Badawi. Did I just see his nose grow longer ?

165. #165 by undergrad2 on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 8:22 pm

“The judge selected to hear the case must be well-known for his impartiality when deciding cases involving the government. I would suggest that justice Sri Gopal Ram or Ian Chin will be a good choice.” An Observer – Malaysiakini

“The lack of impartiality or its sheer absence” if it were a commodity could be purchased for a price. Today’s free market forces are still very much tilted towards finding one or two of such commodities.

I believe Ram is an Appeals judge.

166. #166 by Lee Wang Yen on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 8:22 pm

PDRM is the de facto PDBN

167. #167 by Apostle on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 8:38 pm

Numbers never lie …. have a look at this:

“Saiful had lodged a report on Saturday stating that Anwar had allegedly sodomised him at Unit 1151 of Kondominium Desa Damansara in Kuala Lumpur on June 26.” – Quoted from Mkini

Unit 1151 (Total 8)
    June 26 (Total 8)

And who else likes the number 8 any more than AAB? The election date was chosen as 26th March. (Total 8)

Dude, this guy is so predictable…. besides looking a little to obvious that he’s run out of ideas. Haha.

168. #168 by ipohites on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 8:57 pm

This calls for the end of BN… May god bless DSAI!

169. #169 by TurboDiesel on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 9:03 pm

Someone said the Assassination Plot is just a make up to spice up DSAI supporters.

For your information, the threat is real. And it been there back in early 2008 before March 8 General Election. Thats why DSAI dont travel using Malaysia Airlines, and dont use anything Malaysian-GLC (except for TNB and Syabas ofcoz).

Btw, anyone remember the incident 2 days before March 8 where DSAI photographer was killed in a hit and run incident? Tell me its just an accident.

170. #170 by Jong on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 9:14 pm

None of those ministers who had their pix taken with the 23 year old Saiful dare claim they know him, not even Azalina who was said to be in charge of umno cyber-troopers to ‘attack’ opposition websites during the last GE-12.

I thought that was so funny, why didn’t any of them say – “the pix looked like me, dressed like me but definitely not me”?. :D But Najib remembered Saiful(hahaha!). Said Saiful was there to see him for some assistance.

Here, Anil Netto’s website, take a closer look..

http://anilnetto.com/malaysian-politics/anwar-said-to-be-in-turkish-embassy

171. #171 by undergrad2 on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 9:17 pm

Many Malaysians were introduced to the word “sodomy” for the first time by Mahathir when he framed Anwar. Is it a coincidence that Mahathir is old school and is painfully homophobic?

172. #172 by Jong on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 9:31 pm

…and he drove a pink car? :D

173. #173 by undergrad2 on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 9:37 pm

Jong,

How could someone be homophobic and drive a pink car at the same time??

174. #174 by undergrad2 on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 9:46 pm

Jong,

How could someone be homophobic and drive a pink car at the same time?? That’s like saying Naughty is acutely homophobic and is happily married to Rose.

175. #175 by Jong on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 9:53 pm

Go figure it out yourself.

176. #176 by undergrad2 on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 10:22 pm

I did! Rosemary has to be gay herself!

177. #177 by kanthanboy on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 11:39 pm

“The judge selected to hear the case must be well-known for his impartiality when deciding cases involving the government. I would suggest that justice Sri Gopal Ram or Ian Chin will be a good choice.” An Observer – Malaysiakini
    —————————————-
    When he handed down the 18 months prison sentence on Lim Guan Eng, Justice Gopal Sri Ram was quoted as stating, “It is time the court send a clear message that it cannot tolerate any attach on the judiciary”

Do you see that as evidence of impartiality when deciding cases involving the government?

178. #178 by kanthanboy on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 11:42 pm

typo error. should read as:

“It is time the court send a clear message that it cannot tolerate any attack on the judiciary”

179. #179 by undergrad2 on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 11:51 pm

That was before he was elevated to an Appeals Court judge. Apparently, impartiality comes in varying degrees and each comes with a price tag.

180. #180 by Jeffrey on Tuesday, 1 July 2008 - 12:37 am

The expression “bias” has been bandied often enough. Bias is a tendency towards a particular perspective. It could lead one to accept or deny the truth of a claim, not on the basis of the strength of the arguments or evidence in support of the claim themselves, but because it is in accord with one’s own preconceived ideas.

For example we know about people in power. We think many of them are deceitful and hypocritical. This is not preconceived ideas. They have been proven often enough through the years.

What is preconceived (arising) is that whosoever who oppose or speak against corrupt people in power is himself necessarily clean; and whosoever who is feared and hated by a bunch of morally bankrupt group in power is necessarily morally upright himself.

We do not need to examine the facts and arguments too closely anymore – we conclude it has to be the case because universally Good is pitched against Evil, so if one side is Evil, then other side against will necessarily be good and virtuous. And anyone who is skeptical or questions the facts and arguments about the one supposedly “good and virtuous” by virtue of his standing in opposing the Evil will, so the inference proceeds, have to be bias…..

Such a process of thinking, I submit, is not only a logical fallacy but a manifestation of bias of the most insidious kind since it is often overlooked and not realised by those who are bias but who are not aware of it as the cause when they accuse others baselessly of bias.

181. #181 by Jeffrey on Tuesday, 1 July 2008 - 12:50 am

Malaysiakini correspondent (Jimadie Shah Osman) reported this piece on Jun 30th –

(Quote) “ PKR de facto leader Anwar Ibrahim had been forewarned and was asked to be careful when taking in 23-year-old Saiful Bukhari Azlan as a staff, according to a party source. However, Anwar ignored the warning …He (Anwar) was told to be careful of the individual due to his suspicious background when he joined the office administration,” said the source. The same ‘warnings’ had been given to other party leaders after Saiful had became close to Anwar and the staff at his office following the March 8 general elections.

“I have also given addresses of several blogs discussing the boy (Saiful). I’m not sure if he (Anwar) read them or not,” said the source.

According to the source, Anwar did not reply to the particular email detailing the blogs.

Malaysiakini has been made to understand that two-weeks ago, Anwar had asked another aide to persuade the source concerned to retract a posting cynical of Saiful on his blog”.

(Unquote)

182. #182 by Lee Wang Yen on Tuesday, 1 July 2008 - 1:25 am

While I’m not sure whether Anwar is a completely honest or sincere person in all aspects, it seems reasonable (on ordinary criteria of plausibility) for us to believe that he is not guilty of the corruption and sodomy charges in 1998 and the sodomy allegation in 2008, given the flimsy evidence furnished in support of these accusations and the dubious circumstances under which these accusations are made.

183. #183 by Jeffrey on Tuesday, 1 July 2008 - 3:13 am

That is correct. By standards of legal criteria, if the then Judiciary had been independent, Anwar ought to have been found, in law, not guilty of sodomy (instead of otherwise).

As undergrad2 said in the other thread, the question of whether he was really someone inclined “that way” or not is irrelevant – and I certaintly won’t want to prejudge or comment on that – but as a matter of law, he should have been and was entitled to be acquitted . There is also no doubt whatsoever that it was a clear case of political persecution by TDM under a judicial system that was not independent (Lingam Enquiry refers). (And Anwar was the only one against whom such a crime of unatural sex under Penal code was, in recent memory invoked).

Yes a person (1) completely heterosexual can be falsely convicted as guilty by a Kangaroo court when there is political persecution in way no different than (2) one who could be also actually (say) a homosexual or bisexual as alleged by prosecution.

When due process of law is not followed, when judges are obviously partial, when evidence is slipshod and contaminated, confessions extracted from coercion, dates of alleged offence are mixed up, prosecution witnesess gave unreliable testimonies either because they’re lying or plain confused by accused’s ‘dream team of clever lawyers, then who ever charged by the state for the offence of sodomy – whether he belongs to category (1) or (2) above – is entitled to a complete acquittal because the standard of beyond reasonable doubt necessary for “legal guilt” has not been established. To do otherwise is travesty of justice.

Necessarily the fact that no “legal guilt” should be found in above set of circumstances cannot prejudge the separate issue whether a person is actually heterosexual, homosexual or just in between ie bi-sexual at all times or siometimes etc. Only close associates will know better.

Don’t forget if prosecution were conducted in a manner botched as stated above and there is aparent travesty of justice, even if a person had really committed sodomy, no reasonable man looking from the outside at the bias way the judicial system works, will believe it!

Don’t get me wrong : I am not commenting one way or another on Anwar’s predilection on matters of private sex.

It is not my business and frankly I don’t have any personal knowledge and I don’t care to speculate, though I think to be fair to him he is entitled to be presumed to be like the rest of majority of us ie. a person of heterosexual inclination.

But just so that it is clear – even if he were (hypothetically) otherwise [ie (say) a closet “bi” and hypocritical about it, I (speaking for myself only with no expectation that others follow suit) can find no great fault about that – given, a society where the majority always think negatively of and marginalise persons of different or (to them) deviant sexual behaviour.

I know many gay friends of both sexes, and other than their different sexual preferences, are otherwise very normal people, and we should not draw a connection to link their sexual predilection with their other morals as a person much less capability as a leader.

The caveat is that I am not particularly religious because if I were otherwise, then I may not take such a view.

184. #184 by Jeffrey on Tuesday, 1 July 2008 - 3:29 am

I am by the way heterosexual just in case you thought otherwise. :)

185. #185 by undergrad2 on Tuesday, 1 July 2008 - 6:27 am

Jeffrey,

For a moment I thought you were setting yourself up for a call by a certain nincompoop! Glad you to know you are heterosexual and not bi or anything like that.

186. #186 by undergrad2 on Tuesday, 1 July 2008 - 7:12 am

Anwar would be better off revealing whatever evidence he says he has on the alleged conspiracy between IGP and the AG or else people may believe that there couldn’t be smoke without fire!

187. #187 by Jeffrey on Tuesday, 1 July 2008 - 7:36 am

Undergrad2,

Well sometimes it is an ‘acquired taste’. I have not had the opportunity in formative years to attend and savour boarding life in a certain eminent educational institution with pseudo Greco-Roman architecture in front of a rugby field that has supposedly produced many political and corporate earth shakers, where, according to “reliable” anecdotal evidence (some of it hearsay but some recounting of personal experience) after a rugby match, some of these naughty boys thought it was ‘British tradition’ (I wonder wherever they got this idea?) for the winning side to demand from the opposite losing side a ‘trophy’ and the losing side ‘sacrificed’ the one who then happened to look a trifle effeminate, albeit gawky with thin lanky legs for the sacrifice! What started as experimentation in such innocuous ways by some curious young boys was discarded by most in their later maturer years, whilst a very few others never quite got rid of what they learned. :)

188. #188 by sotong on Tuesday, 1 July 2008 - 7:39 am

Saiful, a nobody wants to be famous……..the previous PM was able to convict Anwar on the same issue.

Saiful is being used and explioted at all costs by Anwar’s enemies.

189. #189 by Jeffrey on Tuesday, 1 July 2008 - 7:50 am

On 30th June Peace Hill police forensic team of 15 visited Unit 1151 of Kondominium Desa Damansara in Kuala Lumpur (a luxury condominium in Damansara said to be worth RM2.2 million) at about 12.15pm, spent more than five hours sweeping through the unit.
    A separate team of investigators were also at the condominium guard house, inspecting the log books, interviewing security guards and going through hours of CCTV footages.

190. #190 by Jeffrey on Tuesday, 1 July 2008 - 8:23 am

“PAS vice president Datuk Husam Musa called on the government to apply the Islamic approach. To gurantee justice and fairness toi both acuser and the suspect, Husam said the Islamic Syariah law compels the calling of four witneses to ascertain if sexual misconduct occurred between the two. He said the emphasis towards finding the truth and the verdict of guilt beyond reasonable doubt in Islam would also ensure that anybody who made a false allegation would also be punished. The four witnesses would also be compelled to be impartial and sincere as they stand the risk of huge suffering in the afterlife if they too commit a sin by making false statements…” – NST 1st July Page N3.

How helpful and ingenious. Hello, we’re talking of “secular” Penal Code here. False allegation (read false report) also punishable. No need 4 witnesses, nowadays it is forensic – ala CSI.

191. #191 by k1980 on Tuesday, 1 July 2008 - 8:26 am

WTF– owner of a luxury condominium in Damansara said to be worth RM2.2 million and yet given a govt scholarship, while thousands from poor families have to make do on their own. And worse, dropped out after a couple of semesters due to failing grades and thus wasted the entire scholarship. So this is what hadharism is all about— poking the asehole!

192. #192 by taiking on Tuesday, 1 July 2008 - 8:39 am

k1980 dear pls do not despair.
    I knew someone in London years ago.
    I was a student then.
    And I had to rent room somewhere far away in N. London.
    Its cheaper.
    He lives in a family owned house with tennis court.
    He drives a merc to class.
    Oh that was his second car. I forgot to mention.
    And he was on scholarship.
    Ah yes three of them.
    His father sits on the board of a glc.
    Ini Malaysia.
    Ini cara kita.

193. #193 by taiking on Tuesday, 1 July 2008 - 8:44 am

Jeffrey, you mentioned

“… a certain eminent educational institution with pseudo Greco-Roman architecture in front of a rugby field …”

Are you referring to Sekolah Menengah Kebangsaan Melayu Tersebut aka The Malay College?

194. #194 by Godfather on Tuesday, 1 July 2008 - 8:53 am

I think Jeffrey is too polite to mention the words “MC Gay Gay”.

195. #195 by Godfather on Tuesday, 1 July 2008 - 8:54 am

How can a dropout without a job afford an apartment in Damansara Heights that is worth RM 2.2 million ? I mean, even if it belongs to his fiance, how could a Bernama newscaster afford such an apartment ? Who’s paying for the mortgage ? I gotta go ask Azeez Rahman.

196. #196 by limkamput on Tuesday, 1 July 2008 - 10:00 am

if anybody can be the staff of DSAI, i think we should recall this half baked american to replace saiful. He is afterall quite similar in character as saiful except that he is much older and probably after many attempts managed to secure a pass degree unlike saiful who is much younger but a dropout. What do you think undergrad2, you think you should come back to serve DSAI, instead of rotting in NY.

197. #197 by Jeffrey on Tuesday, 1 July 2008 - 10:46 am

No one alleges nor was it ever reported that the luxurious Condominium Unit 1151 of Kondominium Desa Damansara worth RM2.2 million and its rental rates range between RM7, 500 to RM15, 000 belonged to complainant Mohd Saiful. It could be used without belonging to him.
    The forensic team swooped in there because the alleged incidence of sodomy was supposed to have taken place there. Of course they would also check who the owner is and whether he/it is related to any principal parties involved in the on-going investigations to avail use of the apartment.

198. #198 by Jeffrey on Tuesday, 1 July 2008 - 11:09 am

However this is not just a simple issue of sodomy/anal sex of consensual kind that some may think is private and no business of others whilst others think it is not moral or right under any circumstances.

The ominous part is the report – “Saya Mohd Saiful Bukhari b Azlan ingin melaporkan bahawa saya telah diliwat oleh majikan saya. Perkara ini berlaku tanpa kerelaan saya.”

“Tanpa kerelaan saya” means without my free will, willingness and consent.

This means that if allegations were true, it goes to the root of character. Under whatever system of law, Islamic or secular and under whatever system of morality, it would be universally considered wrong both morally and legally!

199. #199 by Jeffrey on Tuesday, 1 July 2008 - 11:35 am

The United States said today it would oppose any politically motivated investigation or prosecution of Malaysian opposition leader Anwar Ibrahim facing fresh sex misconduct charges – Malaysiakini’s report Jul 1, 08.

Tom Casey, spokesman for the US State Department said, “certainly, we would be concerned that anything that is done be done in a way that is appropriate, that is a legitimate investigation of charges that might exist under Malaysian law, and would not be anything that was a politically-motivated investigation or prosecution.”

The country’s international image is down the pits in the wake of international news (CNN & the like) of the Altantuya Shaaribuu murder case – and now this “potentially” another repeat sodomy case all having some association with Malaysian politics.

What do you think the world would think of us? From Third to Fourth World!

To ensure impartiality of investigations, the government should solicit assistance of the FBI and/or Scotland Yard to assist in forensics.

It is good for all parties. Any other way will not be convincing before the Court of Public Opinion, a large segment of which has already lost confidence in administration of criminal justice (whether or not such an opinion holds in all cases).

200. #200 by lupus on Tuesday, 1 July 2008 - 11:37 am

If you get ass raped wouldn’t you

1) Get a medical examination for court submission ?

2) Forensics evidence required such as seamen, etc ?

3) How about support of the “victim” ? If he has been raped by another man, well, it would be very difficult for a man to admit that he has been raped – more so than a woman. For a Muslim man to be raped to top it off.

Let us look at the fact behind a rape case, when UNMO man raped an underage girl – the amount of evidence required AND having so many people from our pollies to her a parent to support her when she made a report.

This guy just made a report ? To top it off, nobody seem to be wanting to protect this guy incase the main accuser gets tampered with ? Should be in police protection – suggestion is to arrest him for his own protection.

The way I look at this and from what my friends who worked with raped victim, this guy is not a victim. If anything, this guy would have been happy to have sex with other man, in other words – gay.

As I understand, Malaysia laws – having gay sex is illegal and we should look into his background to determine if he is really gay where he has a love crush on AI and upset because AI did not return the love to him.

Being married could just be another cover to please his parents and prove that he is not gay.

201. #201 by Jeffrey on Tuesday, 1 July 2008 - 12:08 pm

We have a big problem here with Sections 377A and 377B of the Penal Code (a relic of colonial rulers) that criminalize any person having “sexual relations with another involving the introduction of the penis into the anus or mouth” can be jailed up to 20 years and is also liable for whipping.

In a recent International Herald Tribune interview, Minister Mentor Lee Kuan Yew said: “China has already allowed and recognised gays, so have Hong Kong and Taiwan. It’s a matter of time. But in Singapore they have so far de-criminalized oral sex (and possibly anal one between heterosexual but not between same sex).

Even here the Bar Council has advocated decriminalizing oral sex between consensual adults but held back on anal sex.

Large segments of our society are conservative and religious, so decriminalization is, I expect, eons away.

Meanwhile this imposes a tremendous and onerous problem on the sizeable minority gay population here. They are marginalized and oppressed by the heterosexual majority. They better emigrate to more tolerant cultures but they cannot since they have neither money nor skills required by host countries.

There is no problem to closet gays where it is consensual but the moment, as what lupus said, any partner is unrequited as to his affections and become vengeful, the other becomes immediately open to black mail especially the latter is a person of reputation and public importance. (Gays are like hetrosexuals prone to same feelings of jealousy, disappointment and betrayal but the difference in gays’ case is the potential intensity of black mail by the other partner. It is derived not just from allegation of “force” but from the mere public disclosure of the relationship considered illicit by larger society).

The larger society does not accept at all gays – or that they have right to exist and if they do, they rightly belong behind bars under Sections 377A and 377B of the Penal Code.

What a terrible & inhumane thing such attitudes of the majority!

202. #202 by boh-liao on Tuesday, 1 July 2008 - 12:14 pm

Maybe, maybe Saiful Bukhari Azlan is a great fan of the 2005 romantic drama film “Brokeback Mountain” and fantasised himself as Ennis Del Mar. Of course he then has to fantasise his rodeo cowboy Jack Twist as well. While working at PKR HQ, he must have gradually imprinted in his mind the cowboy character onto a real individual he worked with.

In this digital age, we have come across virtual sex. How about virtual sodomy?

In Malaysia, is there any law governing consensual anal sex between a couple (couple here means male-female)? What about consensual anal sex between two adult males who live together as a couple?

203. #203 by Godfather on Tuesday, 1 July 2008 - 12:20 pm

The woman who is supposedly engaged to this Saiful guy is now eliciting support through her blog and through her friends. Problem is that she started her blog only in June – another coincidence, or another pattern emerging ?

204. #204 by yhsiew on Tuesday, 1 July 2008 - 2:07 pm

yhsiew Wrote:
    Yesterday at 17: 06.20

“Though Sodomy Part II enacted by AAB’s gang might fool Malaysians, yet it cannot fool intelligent leaders of the international community.”
    —————————————————————-

The United States said Monday it would oppose any politically motivated investigation or prosecution of Anwar and that it hoped there was no “pattern” in the new accusations against him.

“The main point for us is that the rule of law needs to stand above politics,” said US State Department spokesman Tom Casey.

205. #205 by boh-liao on Tuesday, 1 July 2008 - 2:10 pm

Who owns the condom, oops, sorry, condominium where Saiful’s arsehole was butted?

Is the owner a politician or a supporter of a political party, such as Umno, MCA, MIC, Gerakan, DAP, PAS, PKR, SAPP, etc?

Any video recording made?

206. #206 by Jeffrey on Tuesday, 1 July 2008 - 2:20 pm

Latest report says Anwar Ibrahim will be lodging after all the report today against IGP and AG over their alleged misconduct during his trials 10 years ago and to stage a public rally tonight to fight back over allegations of sodomy that he says were orchestrated by the government to keep its grip on power.

This, notwithstanding investigations have not yet completed and no charge has been preferred against him. He is however preempting these as if they have already occurred.

207. #207 by Toyol on Tuesday, 1 July 2008 - 2:25 pm

If the Foreign Minister asks for justice to take its course, why isn’t the justice taking its course in the Altantuya murder. Why isn’t police hauling up people mentioned in the SD? Instead they go after someone with a purportedly different sexual preference. If that’s the case then go after the Tourism Minister!

All this shows the ulterior motive of BN. Desperation calls for desperate measures. If I was DSAI, I would also take refuge fearing for my life. If they can blow up a Mongolian girl, what else can’t they do?

208. #208 by Jeffrey on Tuesday, 1 July 2008 - 2:31 pm

“Undoubtedly the person who has gained most from this allegation (latest Sodomy) is Anwar himself….Most importantly for Anwar, he has gained a powerful lever to wrench back some of the Malay support that he may have been lost as a result of the scare tactics employed by Umno, and even Dr Mahathir Mohamad, that the Malays would lose out as a result of the opposition gaining strength and even more so if Anwar takes over as PM. So, in an ironic sense, this fresh allegation of sodomy was just the fillip Anwar needed to get Malay sympathy back to his side.Fortuitously for Anwar, the sodomy allegation came at a time when he was just about to file a police report on the attorney-general and the inspector-general of police alleging that both of them were complicit in fabricating evidence against him. This impeccable timing only bolsters Anwar’s claim that the previous sodomy charges were politically motivated as is the current charge.

Did he frame himself?

Last but not least, this latest development actually buys Anwar more time to achieve his aim of toppling the government through crossovers. September 16 is coming up fast and so far there is no indication that there will be a mass crossover happening any time soon. His credibility was at stake.

Now, with what has happened, if September 16 comes and goes without any change of government, no one is going to blame him. After all, he’s now busy fighting off a smear campaign and even fearing for his life!…” – by Malaysiakini’s analysts Ong Kian Ming & Oon Yeoh | Jul 1, 08.

Respectfully I do not share this optimistic view. I think Pakatan Rakyat is in for very difficult times ahead. The person who has most to gain is most likely – PAS or Pak Lah depending on which side of the fence one is on. :)

209. #209 by Jeffrey on Tuesday, 1 July 2008 - 2:35 pm

“Did he frame himself?” is not what Ong Kian Ming & Oon Yeoh asked. It was just a sub title to their article, inserted via cut & paste.

210. #210 by Jeffrey on Tuesday, 1 July 2008 - 3:02 pm

How does he justify staging a public rally tonight (likely without police permit) and hence an illegal reformasi style rally “to fight back over allegations of sodomy that he says were orchestrated by the government to keep its grip on power” when (1) police investigations have not yet been completed (2) when whether or not the Govt/AG will prefer a charge of sodomy or something else against him is yet unknown and (3) linking Mohd Saiful Bukhari’s lodgment of police report to the Malaysian govt on an assumption which may be untrue if either there is no actual link or if there were, its linked to certain “interested parties” within or linked to the government rather than the government itself???

211. #211 by Jeffrey on Tuesday, 1 July 2008 - 3:04 pm

Like he is going (preemptively) for broke, trying to instigate his own arrest.

212. #212 by Godfather on Tuesday, 1 July 2008 - 3:20 pm

Let’s not speculate too much on what’s happening. When RPK’s SD came out, everyone was speculating on why the 3 persons named in the SD remained quiet for a relatively long time, and why the government also had no reaction. Now Anwar is giving his reaction, and we also questioning him on why he is reacting the way he has.

Politics is sandiwara, and there are few persons better at playing the sandiwara than DSAI.

213. #213 by Richardqed on Tuesday, 1 July 2008 - 4:25 pm

Excerpt from malaysianinsider.com:

“Whose conspiracy is it? The government has been accused of being so inefficient and totally disconnected and suddenly we are very efficient at organising conspiracies! Sounds very unlikely,” Shahrir said.

Well, if it was a conspiracy, then it was a really dumb and amateurish attempt at conspiracy, so one can’t blame people if they believe if it’s the BN who is behind it. They don’t have the brains to come up with a smarter one.

One thing to note: The quick action taken by the police force in investigating the case suggests that they are taking orders from their masters, and everyone knows who their masters are.

214. #214 by citizenwatch on Tuesday, 1 July 2008 - 4:28 pm

MORE POINTS AND AMMO FOR PR

– Anwar’s police report today on the tag team of IGP and AG for
    fabrication
    – Revisiting of oil-for-food scandal – BBC reported on June 30, Iraqi govt will sue firms involved – AAB implicated.

The above are just among the revelations and revisits haunting PM and BN other than the explosive RPK’s SD. More to come.

215. #215 by hongsichuan on Tuesday, 1 July 2008 - 5:08 pm

This is how I see it. Here is a man who thinks that he should be a PM of the nation one day. His only one ambition is to be PM. Talk about reformation is only a tool or a mean for his ambition which must be achieved at all cost. To hasten the collapse of the current government, he talked about MPs crossing over to PKR. He hoped that this would set off an avalanche with the PBS as the first small snowball that rolled down. When that did not seem to happen (with all BN MPs except two standing solidly behind the current government), he made use of the sodomy allegation (which may be true or fabricated by whichever party) to make it look like “my plan has been derailed” (today’s headlines in some newspapers) and save his “credibility”. We can probably safely bet that there is no “916” or “915” or whatever in the first place. It is good for Malaysia to have a two-major-party system just as in many democratic countries. But whether it is good to have that man as a future PM is a good question which must be carefully examined.

216. #216 by kee on Tuesday, 1 July 2008 - 5:15 pm

hey guys RPK enjoying his Havana cigar,real good. just hop over to hear his explosive tale, hmm anyone can guess his SD source? I think he just dropped the hint.

217. #217 by hongsichuan on Tuesday, 1 July 2008 - 5:44 pm

To add to what I said…. A plan that can be easily derailed by a yet unproven allegation is not a good one, one which lacks a strong foundation. If there was really a “915” or was it “916” in the first place and the MPs that were supposed to cross over chickened out (hence causing the derailment of the plan), then this tells us something about the reliability of the MPs that were supposed to cross over to form the next government. If the enlisted MPs were really of good characters, there is no reason why THE PLAN should be derailed by an allegation, especially if the allegation is a false one.

218. #218 by hongsichuan on Tuesday, 1 July 2008 - 6:02 pm

Oh! How silly I had been! The plan that was derailed did not refer to “change in government for the betterment of the country” bur rather it was “the plan to become the next PM”.

219. #219 by monsterball on Tuesday, 1 July 2008 - 6:03 pm

Blogger Doc Hsu said…..Saiful is so tall and big….Anwar needs few assistant to pin him down…raping him.
    Doc Hsu is sharp and smart.
    Think about that.
    I hope the smart police can ask Saiful to describe the details and throw the question….how on earth can Anwar sodomized him…with no resistances from him?
    Lets hear his answer.

220. #220 by undergrad2 on Tuesday, 1 July 2008 - 7:05 pm

He was enjoying it just like this blog’s nimcompoop??

And Jeffrey, you’re right about the ‘acquired taste’. Nincompoops would have problems because once they have blown it, they wouldn’t know what to do with their newly found addiction.This one would wallow in his own filth – just like kerbaus in padi fields are seen to do!

221. #221 by negarawan on Tuesday, 1 July 2008 - 7:10 pm

It is very possible that the police might re-use some of the “evidence” from the previous sodomy case to fabricate a case aganist Anwar. For instance, semen sample which was involuntarily extracted from Anwar while he was unconscious could still be stored frozen somewhere and used now again in this new case. The police force and judiciary in Malaysia has zero credibility and they are mere puppets and eunuchs of the corrupt UMNO “leaders”. DSAI has to take every precaution now to prevent the police from framing him. It is going to be very difficult because a cold-blooded murder case like Altantuya can be covered up and distorted by the judiciary. People Power must arise in Malaysia now to put a stop to all this nonsense! Makkal Sakti!

222. #222 by undergrad2 on Tuesday, 1 July 2008 - 7:10 pm

Well filth aside, this Anwar and the second allegation against him for the same sex crime has set up the stage for a new round of mud slinging. Interestingly enough it distracts media attention away from the most important issue – which is RPK’s allegation against the duo.

223. #223 by undergrad2 on Tuesday, 1 July 2008 - 7:30 pm

Jeffrey QC says,

“In a recent International Herald Tribune interview, Minister Mentor Lee Kuan Yew said: “China has already allowed and recognised gays, so have Hong Kong and Taiwan. It’s a matter of time. But in Singapore they have so far de-criminalized oral sex…”

But Jeffrey you forgot that Malaysia is a Muslim country or state according to some!

You cannot be introducing all sorts of objects into all sorts of openings – hope that is not too graphic a description. That is a no-no according to Kg. Attap religious beliefs.

I suppose it is OK to decriminalize oral sex between consensual adults of the opposite sex so long as it is an activity confined to their private chambers. I suppose we need to omit “opposite sex” since what a man does in his castle is his business. The authority of the AG’s Chambers shouldn’t be allowed into private chambers of ordinary citizens. My only worry is homos among nincompoops (especially those with PPNs after their names given by the Agong) because of their sub-normal IQs perhaps would harass strangers walking the streets for favors.

224. #224 by yhsiew on Tuesday, 1 July 2008 - 10:55 pm

DSAI change federal government before they get you. At least you know you have a fair trial under a new government.

225. #225 by kanthanboy on Wednesday, 2 July 2008 - 3:46 am

//so… how does one thread a moving needle ?
    or did saiful not resist at all ?// Susan Loone’s blog – Kerinchi Guy

The police must come up with a convincing answer if AI is charged in court for the allegation made by Saiful.

226. #226 by k1980 on Wednesday, 2 July 2008 - 9:51 am

How many millions do Achichan Aboo Baker and Oomi Hafildah have today after being made company directors for their help in 1998?

227. #227 by malaysiantruly on Wednesday, 2 July 2008 - 2:29 pm

Just a piece of advice, DAP shall stay out or disassociate with this hot issue immediately. There are so many possibilities, what if the whole drama was engineered by him? What if it really happened?

228. #228 by malaysiantruly on Wednesday, 2 July 2008 - 3:10 pm

Just wonder how many malaysians are actually believing that the whole drama was fabricated by BN? If it’s true, then sorry la fellow Malaysians voters, we were so dumb for supported a real “brainless” party to rule us in the last 50 years. Looking at it, likely possibilities:
    1. Some brainless BN junior officers/politicians fabricated it to score credit if it succeeds.
    2. Fabricated by the accused, a political stunt reshape the whole political playground.
    3. Fabricated by the victim, for selfish reason he knows best.

Let us replay what transpired last few days…
    1. From ‘invitation’ to ‘you think without permission i could entered the embassy premise’. Embassy issued statement officially denied such invitation…www.thestaronline.com.my
    2. So called evidence to prove evidents fabrication by IGP & AG….too mild to feel the implosion, anti climax.
    3. Derailed his plan for 4 BN MPs to cross over….alamak only 4, a zero missing or just face saving?
    4. LIfe being threatened….. tak berani to lodge police report?

So slippery….. our future PM? God bless all of us!

229. #229 by ReformMalaysia on Wednesday, 2 July 2008 - 9:47 pm

……………………………………………………………………………
    “Lupus Says:
    Yesterday at 11: 37.44

If you get ass raped wouldn’t you

1) Get a medical examination for court submission ?

2) Forensics evidence required such as seamen, etc ?

3) How about support of the “victim” ? If he has been raped by another man, well, it would be very difficult for a man to admit that he has been raped – more so than a woman. For a Muslim man to be raped to top it off.

Let us look at the fact behind a rape case, when UNMO man raped an underage girl – the amount of evidence required AND having so many people from our pollies to her a parent to support her when she made a report.

This guy just made a report ? To top it off, nobody seem to be wanting to protect this guy in case the main accuser gets tampered with ? Should be in police protection – suggestion is to arrest him for his own protection. ”

………………………………………………………………………….
    Well, how Malaysian Police, ACA & Judiciary system do their work?
    Probably the Chinese proverb befit it :

“Before you beat a dog, find out who its master is”

When Karpal Singh question the power of Perak Sultan interfering the MB decision to transfer a religious officer, Pak Lah ordered the Police to carry out the investigation on Karpal Singh speedily.
    -But the act of Pak Lah questioning the rights of Trengganu’s Sultan cum Agong on Menteri Besar appointment, was treated differentlt -The investigation on Pak Lah has never statred.

*When Pakatan Rakyat/Bersih organised a peaceful protest, the leaders were arrested.
    *When UMNO organised an illegal demonstration in Penang/KOmtar, nobody arrested. When Idris Jusoh’s supporters(UMNO) staged a nasty protest against the Sultan’s choice of MB (even called the Royal Highness ‘Natang’, no action taken, everyone walked away as a free man. When LKS mildly protested on Perak MB appointment, he was condemned…

and many more cases….Linggam’s case, …

230. #230 by ReformMalaysia on Wednesday, 2 July 2008 - 9:52 pm

I wonder….

How on earth ….

a strong young 23 years old man can be ‘raped’ by a 60-year-old man? That 60 year old man must be much stronger that the young man (1/3 of his age!)

If a 23 year old girl raped by a 60-year-old man, that is possible…

231. #231 by boh-liao on Thursday, 3 July 2008 - 10:39 am

Well, well, well, it is getting more sexciting. The whole problem with Malaysia is the hole problem, and it must be solved. Who is AC/DC?

Did AI do it (sodomy, forced or consensual) or not? This is a multibillion question that might burst the nation and kill the hopes of lots of Malaysians!

Reported in The Straits Times: “Sodomy, even when consensual, is punishable by up to 20 years in jail in mainly Muslim Malaysia.”

As more details surfaced, we should reassess the evidence and situation. We should first determine if the details are correct, correct, correct.

232. #232 by boh-liao on Thursday, 3 July 2008 - 10:40 am

According to Kwong Wah (2.7.08), the medical examination conducted on Mohd Saiful Bukhari Azlan revealed indications that Saiful had engaged in anal sex. Saiful told police that he was penetrated 8 times by AI. The hospital had collected his sai ($hit in Hokkien) for further tests. The lab must be full of sai of Saiful. However, in The Star (3.7.08), the Kuala Lumpur Hospital has denied that it issued a statement on the results of the medical examination conducted on Saiful. Fascinating news reporting! Now you see it, now you don’t.

More news in The Star for us to digest: AI had visited the Desa Damansara condominium, which belongs to one of his friends, to discuss business and political matters. [So, if Saiful were there, why was he, a nobody in PKR, there?] AI refused to entertain a question on whether Saiful had ever accompanied him overseas. [Again, if Saiful were with AI overseas, why was he, a nobody in PKR, there?]

Looking at the chain of events, we should ask ourselves: Was the latest sodomy news released to divert our attentions from the C4 case and fuel hike? Was AI’s report on abuse of power by IGP and AG filed to divert our attentions from the sodomy case?

Do we really know AI? Does AI have a hidden closet with all sorts of skeletons that we are unaware of?

In politics, there are no eternal enemies. Neither are there eternal friends.

So, who sodomized who? Was the rakyat sodomized by the BN federal government or by AI? Who is telling lies? Who is telling the truth?

People should not let their emotions cloud their ability to see and think clearly.

So, does this look like and sound like a politically conspired false sodomy accusation?

Even LKS shudders to dissect away the layers of wool pulled over our eyes to seek the truth!

233. #233 by Jeffrey on Thursday, 3 July 2008 - 11:37 am

After recent anti govt rally of 10,000 people in Stadium Malawati in Shah Alam, Anwar also revealed that he will be going on a nationwide roadshow to explain himself to the people and before departing, he reminded the crowd of the “One Million” protest at Padang Timur, Petaling Jaya on this coming Sunday.

Now investigations have not yet been completed and he has not been charged for any offence yet.

It is obvious that he is by way of pre-emption stirring Reformasi style public gathering demonstrations of which he calculates there are 2 possible outcomes, either which he is going to triumph given the circumstances.

First scenario : government clamps down to restore order in the streets. This would be reminiscent of what happened in Dr Mahathir’s administration and the rakyat will be able to draw the same conclusion of what happened then is happening now – in his favour;

Second scenario: the government does not react. In such a case the demonstrations would grow and could topple the government ala Manila (Marcos), Bangkok (Thaksin) and Jakarta (Suharto) fashion before any sodomy charge could run its course – also in his favour.

Either way he calculates heads he wins, tails the government loses.

234. #234 by boh-liao on Tuesday, 8 July 2008 - 10:45 am

Mohd Saiful Bukhari Azlan had accused Anwar Ibrahim of sodomy on eight separate occasions in a police report on June 28.

Questions: If MS was sodomised by AI against his will, why did he not report the act after he was poked the first time? Did he consult DPM NR after his virgin penetration? Why no video recording of penetrations number 2, 3, to 8, ala CSL’s sexual video recording?

A question to all normal guys: After you were sodomised once by a chap against your will, will you report the penetration immediately or will you lift your butt up again at another occasion to that same chap for a 2nd poke? 3rd poke? 8th poke?

Did MS behave like a normal guy? Or was MS held down helplessly against his will by bodyguards to be enjoyed by AI from behind, 8 times?

Fascinating fact or fantasy in the Bolehland!