SMS and phone calls have been flying around of imminent police action against Anwar Ibrahim.
I have spoken to Anwar over the phone and he is expecting the worst.
Malaysiakini had filed the following report two hours ago:
Aide alleges sodomy: Report lodged
Jun 28, 08 11:03pm
Updated June 29, 08 01.30 amA police report has been lodged against PKR de facto leader Anwar Ibrahim for allegedly sodomosing one of his aides – the second time that such an accusation had been made in over 10 years.
The report was lodged by the 23-year-old victim at the Jalan Travers police station at 6pm.
KL police chief DCP Muhammad Sabtu Osman has confirmed that the report had been made.
It is learnt that Anwar met with a number of party leaders at an emergency meeting late tonight.
At 11.15pm, PKR sent out an SMS message stating that the police had detained Anwar’s special aide Saiful Bahari this afternoon and forced him to lodge a police report about being sodomised by his boss.
It added that the police are expected to arrest Anwar soon.
Meanwhile, Anwar is expected to comment on this latest crisis at a pre-arranged press conference tomorrow.
The press conference is scheduled to be held after a meeting between Anwar and all PKR members of parliament and state assemblypersons.
Accused of sodomy in 1997
Anwar, a former deputy prime minister and finance minister of Malaysia, was sacked from the government in 1997 for allegedly being involved in sodomy and abuse of power.
In 1999, he was sentenced in a highly controversial trial to six years in prison for corruption, and in 2000, to another nine years for alleged homosexual acts.
However in 2004, the Federal Court – the country’s highest court – reversed the second conviction and he was released.
Anwar has always maintained that the charges were a government hatched political conspiracy against him, a move denied by the government.
‘A very serious situation’
Party sources said that Anwar was chairing a party supreme council meeting at a hotel in Shah Alam when he received an SMS at about 9pm on Saturday night about the police report lodged against him.
He apparently then told the party leaders that his aide Saiful had been missing for two days.
“He then received another SMS at about 9.30pm and his faced changed dramatically after reading that SMS,” said a party insider.
“He did not reveal the details of the SMS but merely said that the situation was very serious,” added the insider.
Anwar is said to have left the supreme council meeting to meet his lawyers until about 11pm.
The council however continued their meeting without Anwar.
Party leaders are saying that they have to be prepared for any eventuality.
Meanwhile at about 1am about 400 people hade gathered outside the hotel in Shah Alam to ensure that nothing happens to Anwar.

#1 by badak on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 11:38 am
Let the trial begin.. Then and only then the truth will be told.Only then the whole world will know if the trial is held in a court of law or a kangaroo court.As the whole world know that the last sodomy trial of ANWAR was held in a kangaroo court.
#2 by boh-liao on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 12:31 pm
Yeah, the trial may begin and the kangaroos are in the kagaroo court. But where is the defendant?
Remember the poem: Who killed Cock Robin?
#3 by pgsilai on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 12:58 pm
Haiya, it doesn’t matter he is Chinese or Malay la. We are all Malaysians. Our issue here is how long Anwar is going to seek sanctuary in Turkish Embassy and when this is going to end?
Today a lot people here is very busy selling of their stocks n funds.
Food price hike and stocks going down. Very depressing!
#4 by VoteDAP on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 1:26 pm
SPREAD THIS http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wq0cQuBwAyg
To know the truth behind the allegation in 1998 and you know what DSAI meant as a replay from the culprit (brainless one indeed, cant they think of other ways if want to play dirty?)
#5 by Sagaladoola on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 1:54 pm
My writing on this issue:
Drama Minggu Ini : Sodomy (Again ?)
#6 by cto on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 2:01 pm
hongsichuan Says:
Today at 08: 44.52 (5 hours ago)
Some people seem overkeen to raise AI to the status of a hero or even a martyr.
[snip]
If I were the wife of a man who has received death threat and is in so deep a trouble that he has to take refuge in an embassy, I wouldn’t be smiling so sweetly. If I did not know what the photo in the link was all about, I would have thought it was a mobile phone advertisement.
————–
Why are you jumping to conclusion that quickly? I thought you were telling others not to jump to conclusion.
#7 by hongsichuan on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 2:43 pm
Someone who seems to have English comprehension problem wrote: “Why are you jumping to conclusion that quickly? I thought you were telling others not to jump to conclusion.”
The passage where the English comprehension problem arose is: “If I were the wife of a man who has received death threat and is in so deep a trouble that he has to take refuge in an embassy, I wouldn’t be smiling so sweetly. If I did not know what the photo in the link was all about, I would have thought it was a mobile phone advertisement.”
If you read the statement I made carefully, it’s a question-no conclusion was made. Anyway, I did not tell others not to jump to conclusion, but only said (somewhere else before) that “I (myself) wouldn’t be too quick to jump to any conclusion here…” Others can jump to whatever conclusion they like in this matter, but I would not.
#8 by cto on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 3:06 pm
hongsichuan Says:
Today at 14: 43.11 (15 minutes ago)
Someone who seems to have English comprehension problem wrote: “Why are you jumping to conclusion that quickly? I thought you were telling others not to jump to conclusion.”
The passage where the English comprehension problem arose is: “If I were the wife of a man who has received death threat and is in so deep a trouble that he has to take refuge in an embassy, I wouldn’t be smiling so sweetly. If I did not know what the photo in the link was all about, I would have thought it was a mobile phone advertisement.”
If you read the statement I made carefully, it’s a question-no conclusion was made.
—————–
Er … I thought there is such a thing call a “?” i.e. a question mark. And we use them whenever we pose a question.
Pardon my poor command of the English language but I do not see any question being asked.
#9 by bennylohstocks on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 3:16 pm
The mole..
EAsY DOES IT!
#10 by hongsichuan on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 3:17 pm
“Pardon my poor command of the English language but I do not see any question being asked.”
Yes, I did expect that someone would not be able to see the question or even questions raised. Perhaps the fact that questions can be put into the mind of people without “?” is new to someone. I wouldn’t say more on this. Any further question?
#11 by max2811 on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 3:20 pm
I’m 48. Dunno whether I can take the streets against BN. But I’m watching. If Msia needs me, I’m marching.
#12 by hongsichuan on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 3:25 pm
Yes, Max2811, march for your country if and when she needs you. But march not for any one man or woman (whoever he or she may be) for you would be dissapointed.
#13 by cto on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 3:31 pm
hongsichuan Says:
Today at 15: 17.40 (7 minutes ago)
[snip]
I wouldn’t say more on this. Any further question?
———————-
Yes, sir. One more question – do you want to say some more or not?
If you do not want to say more, then you should end there and not ask if I have further questions. Make up your mind and do not be such a fence sitter.
#14 by hongsichuan on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 3:35 pm
Some people just don’t get it. Some questions are not meant to be answered even though it ends with a “?”.
#15 by cto on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 3:49 pm
hongsichuan Says:
Today at 15: 35.54 (2 minutes ago)
Some people just don’t get it. Some questions are not meant to be answered even though it ends with a “?”.
————————–
Sorry, I did not know that you were asking me a rhetorical question. It just wasn’t obvious.
#16 by kenghuei on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 4:15 pm
I kind of agree with Jeffrey on the “Double Jeopardy” argument..that DSAI cannot possibly and should not be charged a 2nd time for the same offence..
More so, by the same judiciary system which has already been proven unreliable and contradictary – conviction in 1998 and aquital in 2004, whether or not we believe that a reliable system can fall at times or that an unreliable system can turn reliable at times.
I suggest PR / DAP to work towards bringing this up for international hearing (may not be easy since this is effectively still M’sia internal affairs).
The public in general today, has lost confidence in our government, police force and judiciary. So no matter what the verdict turns out to be, whether DSAI is proven guilty by DNA, mattress, semen etc.. I do not think it is easy to get the public to accept the judgement. Lee Kuan Yew has recently pointed out that it is important for a good government to be accepted with confidence by the people, to the extent they will support the goverment even in times of unpopular policies.
So if the public will not believe in the system anyway, why the need to fabricate these charges?
Is UMNO/BN just being bloody stupid or is it more likely that DSAI has made this whole thing up to gain political mileage, or in fact, to have a backup excuse to explain in case PR taking over federal govn does not materialise?
I am just exploring all possibilities. But one thing for sure, to believe that he actually did the act at this point in time is totally crazy and illogical.
#17 by limkamput on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 4:39 pm
Like I said “Why should anybody want to visit the blog of a nincompoop”?
Well, don’t be too sure. The last time i checked you had, and was probably impressed. I am sorry, i have been very busy these few days – you know have to work harder earning a living unlike someone who is just leveraging on some international organisations. NO time to talk comment much here.
#18 by undergrad2 on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 7:48 pm
Now, only a nincompoop would say that without giving the visitors’ IP addresses. Only a nincompoop would allege, without more, without revealing the same IP address that they ‘share’.
You are true to the nick you gave yourself, buddy!
#19 by undergrad2 on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 7:53 pm
pgsilai Says:
Today at 12: 58.40 (6 hours ago)
Haiya, it doesn’t matter he is Chinese or Malay la.”
Like I said earlier, and like you, I feel it does not matter. But it does matter when he masquerades using one handle to bash one race and then another to bash the other race. We call that fanning the flames of racial hatred.
Don’t you agree with me, friend?
#20 by limkamput on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 10:38 pm
no body agrees with you anything. you are talking to yourself and accusing for nothing. Now, only a hypocrite will do that – a hypocrite who wants to enjoy the best of both worlds.
#21 by law1999 on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 11:00 pm
The UMNO/BN do it because they want to divert the PEOPLE attention from the ATTANTUYA case.
DSAI I believe need to be careful in appointing aides.
#22 by wtf2 on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 11:19 pm
how come nobody can come up with the dirt page on the lesbo
#23 by undergrad2 on Tuesday, 1 July 2008 - 12:06 am
C’mon nincompoop! You can do better than that! You sound like an old broken record. Give me something new to read!
I’m waiting for you to provide me with your ‘bunch of IP addresses” that you claim to have or else wallow forever the way kerbaus do in the shi*t you created that has got you bogged down.
LOL
#24 by ReformMalaysia on Tuesday, 1 July 2008 - 2:08 am
there are many ways to get a Rm1 mil,
Some need to get a gold medal in 2008 Olympic games.
Others need to work very hard and be successful in business
A few get it by winning lottery
but, perhaps someone can also get Rm1 million by agreeing to ‘kow tim’ certain person by admitting being sodomised by him…..
#25 by k1980 on Tuesday, 1 July 2008 - 7:31 am
So cheap one, Rm1 million? It’s more, mebbe USD 1 million. Hope he gets full-blown HIV virus and lay dying of AIDS for the next 10 years before summoned to meet his maker in the underworld
#26 by limkamput on Tuesday, 1 July 2008 - 10:07 am
if there is any broken record here, it is you. Why are you so interested in me. I am not gay by the way. Frankly i dont know where your accusation is coming from. Yes i am a nincompoop. If only you can also set up a blog and start writing, I promise i will visit and give you constructive comments. BUt my guess is you are not capable of doing so. My blog: “limkamput-nincompoop” is good enough for many, may be quietly including you.
#27 by boh-liao on Tuesday, 1 July 2008 - 12:07 pm
Maybe, maybe Saiful Bukhari Azlan is a great fan of the 2005 romantic drama film “Brokeback Mountain” and fantasised himself as Ennis Del Mar. Of course he then has to fantasise his rodeo cowboy Jack Twist as well. While working at PKR HQ, he must have gradually imprinted in his mind the cowboy character onto a real individual he worked with.
In this digital age, we have come across virtual sex. How about virtual sodomy?
#28 by saiful on Tuesday, 1 July 2008 - 12:15 pm
wah…………… heheheh what a storyline to tell….again?? I dun know la bout this thing……….coz I seen few well known people n briliant also like to sodomy…..gile n insane but in this case……………..no comment at all….
I like seeing Anwar capturing the limelight and later who knows he might be the Prime Minister and because at that time….surely he kicks KIt SIang over the edge…..heheheheh u’re nyanyok like Tun aaa….i like Guan Eng much more…….his drama is more real than yors
#29 by 9to5 on Tuesday, 1 July 2008 - 1:58 pm
I have a sneaking feeling, Saiful has managed to get more evidence than what we thought was available so far.
There have been a deafening silence and an air of confidence among the UMNO leaders. So far, they appear to be happy to let Anwar roll on uncontested. On the contrary, Anwar looks subdued, uneasy and has to pull up every serious effort to counter the allegation.
Saiful was no doubt a planted agent to entrap Anwar. He has infiltrated the system for a long 3 months since March 2008. I don’t think Saiful political masters would be satisfied with just a cursory police report made by a young 23 year old freshie implicating Anwar.
They got the PDRM and police intelligence under their wraps. They have got the latest, state-of-the-art technology surveillance equipment. They have got the money and resources. The stakes are high – their very survival and billions of $ in gravy train.
And they came up with nothing but a freshie’s words against Anwar?
I think Saiful and the manipulators managed to get more evidences; maybe voice or tape recordings or other more damaging evidences.
So far there have been an errie calm before the storm. Time will unfold the drama in full!
I sure hope Anwar will come out on top of this one.
#30 by hongsichuan on Tuesday, 1 July 2008 - 5:31 pm
9to5 Says: “I sure hope Anwar will come out on top of this one.”
I would also hope for the same but only if I could be first convinced that he would be good for the country. March or fight or even give your life for the good of your country but not for one man.
#31 by undergrad2 on Tuesday, 1 July 2008 - 8:41 pm
Nincompoop!
I have a confession to make. Out of curiosity and against my better judgment I peeked into your blog just now. There are hardly any visitors who made comments to your blog! There’s just one or two! The rest is you talking to your alter egos – how pathetic.
I’m still waiting for you to provide me with your “bunch of IP adresses” that you claim to belong to the same poster. Otherwise, like I said earlier, feel free to wallow in your own filth.
#32 by cto on Wednesday, 2 July 2008 - 2:01 am
hongsichuan Says:
Yesterday at 17: 31.35
9to5 Says: “I sure hope Anwar will come out on top of this one.”
I would also hope for the same but only if I could be first convinced that he would be good for the country. March or fight or even give your life for the good of your country but not for one man.
———————–
I beg to differ. This is change. This is about changing a system that this not working. This is about fighting a system that is inefficient, corrupted and unjust. This is about fighting a system that is trying to undermind the demoncratic process.
To summise or to suggest this all to just one man is too simplistic. It is also not giving due credit to the other leaders that have fought for the ideals above.
#33 by hongsichuan on Wednesday, 2 July 2008 - 8:40 am
Sure. But listen and watch carefully: who is talking that he would be the PM in the new government (if there is one) even though he is not yet elected by the people. Beware, lest you are used to advance the ambition of one man. Change a system that is not working, if you can, but if you are not careful you may end up with the same or worst still an even worse one.
#34 by cto on Wednesday, 2 July 2008 - 9:15 am
hongsichuan Says:
Today at 08: 40.32 (28 minutes ago)
Sure. But listen and watch carefully: who is talking that he would be the PM in the new government (if there is one) even though he is not yet elected by the people. Beware, lest you are used to advance the ambition of one man. Change a system that is not working, if you can, but if you are not careful you may end up with the same or worst still an even worse one.
—————————
This is precisely what the BN govt wants – prey on the fear for change and maintain the status quo.
My opinion is that things are so bad that people will take their chances. And if there is a change in govt, unless there is a challenge to the leadership of the current opposition, Anwar as the de facto leader of the opposition will be the next PM.
Najib or Anwar, is this such a tough choice?
#35 by hongsichuan on Wednesday, 2 July 2008 - 3:07 pm
I did not say that you have to be afraid of change. But only that if you have to sacrifice yourself for change, make sure that your sacrifice is worthwhile. Who says it has to be Najib or Anwar? That’s what he would like you to believe!
#36 by hongsichuan on Wednesday, 2 July 2008 - 3:13 pm
CTO says: “Najib or Anwar, is this such a tough choice?”
Yes this is what the man would like you to believe. Is Malaysia so short of capable men and women that this is the only choice you have?
#37 by cto on Wednesday, 2 July 2008 - 11:47 pm
hongsichuan Says:
Today at 15: 13.46 (8 hours ago)
CTO says: “Najib or Anwar, is this such a tough choice?”
Yes this is what the man would like you to believe. Is Malaysia so short of capable men and women that this is the only choice you have?
—————————-
OK. So can you please list down some of the other candidates with a realistic chance of becoming the next PM in the immediate future?
Should not be a difficult task if there are as many candidates as you are suggesting or asserting.
#38 by hongsichuan on Thursday, 3 July 2008 - 12:14 pm
CTO: “OK. So can you please list down some of the other candidates with a realistic chance of becoming the next PM in the immediate future?”
It is such thinking that enable people like Adolf Hitler to come into power. If the choice is between two despots, I don’t need to support any one of them. However, if the people want one of them, let them. At least, I wash my hand off the matter if any one is elected. Yes, in answering your question “Najib or Anwar, is this such a tough choice?”, the answer is, “No. Neither of them.” There is a third choice, even a fourth, a fifth choice, which is even better.
As for Malaysians who are more qualified to become PM, I can think of many. Can’t you?
#39 by cto on Thursday, 3 July 2008 - 10:03 pm
hongsichuan Says:
Today at 12: 14.11 (9 hours ago)
CTO: “OK. So can you please list down some of the other candidates with a realistic chance of becoming the next PM in the immediate future?”
[snip, drivel referencing Aldolf Hitler]
As for Malaysians who are more qualified to become PM, I can think of many. Can’t you?
—————————
Er …. Sorry, I can’t. Not with a realistic chance in the immediate future.
Why don’t you enlighten me?
#40 by cta on Thursday, 3 July 2008 - 11:03 pm
hear this saiful went to a hospital 4 checkup then only in KLH.the 1st hospital found nothing,is it true?????
#41 by hongsichuan on Thursday, 3 July 2008 - 11:06 pm
Well, looks like we have the case of poor comprehension of English again.
I said there are “many Malaysians who are MORE QUALIFIED to become PM” and our friend cannot even think of one! Being qualified to be a PM has nothing to do with having a realistic chance. A person who is bad for the country can boost his or her chance to become a PM through smooth talk and deceit, but that does not mean he or she is more qualified than one of my good neighbours (Naim, for example) to be PM of Malaysia. If another example is needed, don’t you think that Mr Lim Kit Siang is qualified to be PM. The odd may be against him because of conventions, traditions or what nots, but his character and ability to do good for the nation should be a better determinant of his qualification to be PM rather than whether or not he had a “realistic chance”.
Well, Adolf Hitler had a realistic chance of being elected to be the Chancellor of Germany. This did not mean he was qualified to be a good leader of Germany. In fact, history showed that he was a bad leader. Should Germans vote for him just because he had a realistic chance at that time and had no better choice presented to them? As I said before in a different way, if, in an election, you were presented with Hitler and Stalin as the only two competing candidates, you don’t have to vote for any of them. The third, fourth, fifth and so on better choice is your conscience, that is, to vote for neither of them if you know that either one is not good for your country.
#42 by hongsichuan on Thursday, 3 July 2008 - 11:12 pm
Enlightened?
#43 by cto on Friday, 4 July 2008 - 3:53 am
My apologies for my poor command of the English language and also for being so painfully pedantic. :)
Your statement that there are so many so many qualified Malaysia for PM is of no value if there isn’t a realistic chance of them being elected. Likewise your statement asking others to be careful about sacrificing is merely stating the obvious and is of no value if you cannot provide an alternative. Unless of course, by providing no viable alternatives, you are taking the default position and supporting the incumbent.
Hilter and Stalin? Surely, you jest. I would not go so far to suggest that Najib is like Stalin or Hitler. There is really no need to be that dramatic. If indeed that these are the only two viable alternatives and you do not support either of them, then you are by definition supporting the incumbent. If that is your position, then please simply state it and let’s not hypothesize something that is not realistic.
Enlightened? Yes, very much so. I understand your position. You will do better if you do not try and masquerade as an intellectual fence sitter.
Oh btw, thanks for your kind comments on Uncle Kit. I am quite sure the other readers appreciate it as well.
#44 by hongsichuan on Saturday, 5 July 2008 - 7:04 pm
“…if you do not try and masquerade as an intellectual fence sitter.”
Well, I don’t need to masquerade as one. But if I were indeed an a masquerader, you had wasted much of your valuable time engaging me.
I am also not even remotely suggesting that A and N were like Stalin and Hitler. (Once again, poor comprehension of English.) There was also no attempt on my part to be dramatic. There are already too many dramas going on in Malaysia during the last few weeks. My view, which you may choose to accept or reject, is that when one is confronted with two bad apples one doesn’t need to choose any one of them to eat. The bin is the suitable place for them.
Every Malaysian who is eligible for voting has only one vote to take care of. As far as I am concerned, when I don’t vote for either one, I am not for anyone, incumbent or otherwise. How others use the votes is beyond my control.
#45 by hongsichuan on Saturday, 5 July 2008 - 7:27 pm
And don’t you worry about my vote! If and when there is a leader whom I believe would be good for the country, I will cast my vote wisely… Maybe I shouldn’t write too much here lest it leads to further miscomprehension.
#46 by boh-liao on Tuesday, 8 July 2008 - 10:21 am
Mohd Saiful Bukhari Azlan had accused Anwar Ibrahim of sodomy on eight separate occasions in a police report on June 28.
Questions: If MS was sodomised by AI against his will, why did he not report the act after he was poked the first time? Did he consult NR after his vigin penetration?
#47 by shamshul anuar on Wednesday, 9 July 2008 - 10:55 pm
Dear Boh liao,
Some people say that politics is an art of perception. Perhaps Anwar should take the advice from Dr Asri, the Mufti of Perlis. Dr Asri suggested the using of time tested method of u;timate truth recognised by Muslim community: swear in the name of Allah.
Way back in 1998, Anwar , despite suggestion by many, refused to perform such an act. Why Anwar hesitates is beyond my comprehension. If I were to be accused of sexual act that I had not committed and resulting in my sacking ( not a minor post but that of a powerful office of Deputy Prime Minister), I would rush to perform such an act in full view of press.
So, Anwar, what are you waiting for? By the way, Dr Mahathir is not the first person to tell Malaysian he believes Anwar is homosexual. The honour belongs to Vice President of PAS, Mohd Sabu.
Before Anwar was sacked, he had field days in condemning Anwar on alleged homosexuality. Dr Mahathir was not spared either. He was challenged by Mohd Sabu to sack Anwar.
#48 by itmanager on Thursday, 7 August 2008 - 2:16 am
How can we help Anwar …..?
Stupid BN Government!!
#49 by itmanager on Thursday, 7 August 2008 - 2:18 am
If only Pakatan Rakyat have a few more seats in Parlimen. All those idiot can’t say anything anymore.