SMS and phone calls have been flying around of imminent police action against Anwar Ibrahim.
I have spoken to Anwar over the phone and he is expecting the worst.
Malaysiakini had filed the following report two hours ago:
Aide alleges sodomy: Report lodged
Jun 28, 08 11:03pm
Updated June 29, 08 01.30 amA police report has been lodged against PKR de facto leader Anwar Ibrahim for allegedly sodomosing one of his aides – the second time that such an accusation had been made in over 10 years.
The report was lodged by the 23-year-old victim at the Jalan Travers police station at 6pm.
KL police chief DCP Muhammad Sabtu Osman has confirmed that the report had been made.
It is learnt that Anwar met with a number of party leaders at an emergency meeting late tonight.
At 11.15pm, PKR sent out an SMS message stating that the police had detained Anwar’s special aide Saiful Bahari this afternoon and forced him to lodge a police report about being sodomised by his boss.
It added that the police are expected to arrest Anwar soon.
Meanwhile, Anwar is expected to comment on this latest crisis at a pre-arranged press conference tomorrow.
The press conference is scheduled to be held after a meeting between Anwar and all PKR members of parliament and state assemblypersons.
Accused of sodomy in 1997
Anwar, a former deputy prime minister and finance minister of Malaysia, was sacked from the government in 1997 for allegedly being involved in sodomy and abuse of power.
In 1999, he was sentenced in a highly controversial trial to six years in prison for corruption, and in 2000, to another nine years for alleged homosexual acts.
However in 2004, the Federal Court – the country’s highest court – reversed the second conviction and he was released.
Anwar has always maintained that the charges were a government hatched political conspiracy against him, a move denied by the government.
‘A very serious situation’
Party sources said that Anwar was chairing a party supreme council meeting at a hotel in Shah Alam when he received an SMS at about 9pm on Saturday night about the police report lodged against him.
He apparently then told the party leaders that his aide Saiful had been missing for two days.
“He then received another SMS at about 9.30pm and his faced changed dramatically after reading that SMS,” said a party insider.
“He did not reveal the details of the SMS but merely said that the situation was very serious,” added the insider.
Anwar is said to have left the supreme council meeting to meet his lawyers until about 11pm.
The council however continued their meeting without Anwar.
Party leaders are saying that they have to be prepared for any eventuality.
Meanwhile at about 1am about 400 people hade gathered outside the hotel in Shah Alam to ensure that nothing happens to Anwar.

#1 by ktteokt on Sunday, 29 June 2008 - 8:27 pm
I thought Dr. M admitted doing Anwar wrong by charging him with sodomy? So, is Anwar so desperate as to commit sodomy again? It is very clear that all these are “frame ups” and before long, we can see policemen carrying mattresses to court again and perhaps they may even put Augustine Paul on the bench again to hear Anwar’s charges!
BN and AAB are so desperate to get rid of Anwar that they have to resort to such “dirty tricks”! Everything is so clear!!!!!
#2 by James on Sunday, 29 June 2008 - 8:31 pm
#3 by undergrad2 on Sunday, 29 June 2008 - 8:33 pm
“For the record, he was acquitted on technical grounds that it was unsafe to convict him mainly on the uncorroborated evidence of the Azizan of the alleged crime done to HIM only. The Federal Court did not exonerate him entirely in other respects” Jeffrey QC
There is this popular misconception that when an accused charged and tried and acquitted, he or she is innocent. An accused does not have to prove himself or herself innocent, just not guilty.
Lee may want to give his input on this issue.
#4 by yog7948 on Sunday, 29 June 2008 - 8:39 pm
The moral of the story- “Don’t hold BN Dog’s leash too tight, i will start to bite the leash holder”. These BN DOG’s are with rabies.. acute hydropho.
RPK and DSAI made the BN Morrons straining at the leash too much. the inept IGP and AG tried their luck to hold RPK and end up having their “Bad Ass” reputation jeopardized by DSAI’s report. So it better to go for DSAI first before handling the petite whistle blower RPK.
Do there Morrons really think the Rakyat is STUPID. They will learn soon not to play around with Rakyat.. they will pay the heavy price… and those in so called GOVERMENT.. count your days.
#5 by dapforever on Sunday, 29 June 2008 - 8:58 pm
what we Rakyat can do now to help DSAI or Pakatan Rakyat?
#6 by pinkdolphin on Sunday, 29 June 2008 - 9:01 pm
Now it seems like the gov is above the law can do what they want. It is really sad to even imagine the situation and mentality of Malaysia being just like Zimbabwe. Is there a way where the Rakyat can seek for help from the United Nation for justice?
#7 by harrisonbinhansome on Sunday, 29 June 2008 - 9:05 pm
# Lee Wang Yen Says:
Today at 18: 02.33 (2 hours ago)
But will he be allowed to leave the country?
for the international communities to exert substantial amount of pressure on the BN Government.
That might be his chance and of course with the upheaval of many Malaysians.
#8 by undergrad2 on Sunday, 29 June 2008 - 9:20 pm
If he is on foreign embassy grounds, then he is on foreign soil. Malaysian government has no jurisdiction.
#9 by Barisan Rakyat on Sunday, 29 June 2008 - 9:23 pm
It looks like Patail will be busy again to prepare the case againts DSAI. Come to think of it he does not win any high profile case except DSAI. The ‘Hacks’ judge will be called up for duty again since he has got the experience. So all the actors and actress will be called for casting and I hope they won’t forget about the matress.
#10 by cazz on Sunday, 29 June 2008 - 9:24 pm
This means “Goodbye, so long, UMNO!”
#11 by damianyeow on Sunday, 29 June 2008 - 9:39 pm
Before M’sia end-up like Zimbabwe, to the point of no-return, where the country is permanently ruin (with inflation at 10,000%!!)
the People must rise & demand 3 changes without compromise,
1) UMNO be disbanded & all its top leaders be sent to Kamunting
coz they are a threat to the security of the common people
2) The Judiciary(from Mahathir-era) be thrown in jail for manipulating the law for their own purpose
3) PDRM is the worst of all should be disolved & all it’s top-ranking be sacked because peoeple who follow orders without thinking & rule-of-law are worst than the criminals who they are supposed to catch…………….. & one more who more qualified than Anwar as PM
#12 by AhPek on Sunday, 29 June 2008 - 9:50 pm
What is unfolding here in Malaysia is frightening and it is indicating the country is picking up speed towards becoming like Mugabe’s Zimbabwe ..a failed state!
There are more important and urgent cases that needed sorting out and in order to divert attention they put up this new trumped up sodomy charge against Anwar and if he is arrested I should think Malaysians should take to the streets to force a regime change.Waiting for September (according to Anwar claim of MP’s desertion for opposition party) or the next election might be too long.
#13 by Dr. W on Sunday, 29 June 2008 - 9:54 pm
Yes, what can we do for Anwar?
#14 by Malaysian For Equality on Sunday, 29 June 2008 - 9:57 pm
It is high time Malaysians clamour for sodomy to be decriminalised. People should be allowed to pleasure their orifices and organs in whatever way they so please as long as it is consenting. The state has no role to play in our bedrooms.
To date, this law has served no purpose other than to frame political opponents. Clearly it does not appear to be a deterent, as even after fall from high office, a black-eye, 6 years of prison life and public humiliation Anwar is alleged to be at it again.
If Saiful is alleging that Anwar raped him, then obviously the anal intercourse was not consensual. But what is mind boggling is that he claims he was sodomised a number of times. Why did he allow himself to be raped so many times? It just does not add up. If it was consensual then why did he make a police report?
I think the clue lies in the numerous photo-opportunites this Uniten drop out had with UMNO bigwigs including Azlina, Shahrir, and Najib’s aide taken at the deputy PM’s office.
#15 by hongsichuan on Sunday, 29 June 2008 - 9:59 pm
I wouldn’t stake my life to proclaim that the man is innocent. Nor would I judge him guilty. But let’s just not forget his chamelon-like character and his inclination for high drama. Whether the allegation is true or not, one cannot rule out the possibility that he may be making use of the situation as a way out to save his own face just in case the “prediction” that he made concerning the collapse of the govrenment does not materialise. If his prediction fails, he can now say, “They played dirty. They threatened my life. If not …”
#16 by davidlim5 on Sunday, 29 June 2008 - 10:00 pm
LIKE FATHER LIKE SON? SAME PLAY OF 1969?
AAB WILL BE A ‘CEREMONIAL HEAD’ FOR NEXT 2 YEARS AND NR WILL BE THE CHAIRMAN. AAB WILL BE POWERLESS AND NOT LIKELY BE CONTESTING IN DECEMBER AS THE ‘NEW HEAD’ ENSURE
ALL SUCH ‘POWER TRANSFER ASAP.
MAYBE, MM SHOULD BE ABLE TO PROVIDE SAME ADVICE TO NR.
DESPERATE PEOPLE WILL DO ANYTHING TO STAYS IN POWER.
LET THE PEOPLE STANDS FIRM AND BEHIND ANWAR IBRAHIM AS WE DO NOT HAVE ANY FAITH AND TRUST ON THE UMNO-BN PARTNERSHIP ANYMORE.
LONG LIVE MALAYSIANS AND LONG LIVE ANWAR IBRAHIM.
DL
#17 by highhand on Sunday, 29 June 2008 - 10:01 pm
that saiful bahari wears lipstick n high heel ah?
#18 by chiakchua on Sunday, 29 June 2008 - 10:03 pm
Truth shall prevail. Let’s pray for the country. It is in such a mess. Just back from Singapore, sad to read a book on forthcoming Asian economy crisis. Predict Malaysia ‘a boleh land would be a bodoh land’! What a sad comment.
#19 by yhsiew on Sunday, 29 June 2008 - 10:10 pm
Mr Anwar told the BBC’s Newshour programme he was “seeking personal protection because of my fear of my personal safety in case they arrest [me], and I don’t want to repeat the assault and near death under custody of the… Malaysian police”.
#20 by cheng on soo on Sunday, 29 June 2008 - 10:15 pm
Can a small size 60 yo man sodomize a big size 23 yo man, must use pistol or what? No logic lah?I no believe ?
#21 by how on Sunday, 29 June 2008 - 10:24 pm
I think the BN would not do this kind of thing in the current situation. I think Anwar has more to gain than BN in this current situation. Maybe this is one of the steps Anwar masterminded it to overthrow the gov on the 16th sept. I would prefer if he waits for the next GE if he wants to form a new gov.
#22 by robert wong on Sunday, 29 June 2008 - 10:26 pm
The umno goons will do whatever it takes to stay in power . There are just too much as stake for them to loose grip of power. I guess all Malaysians are being ‘sodomised’ by UMNO once again !!! There is just no hope stay in BN. BN is no longer relevant after the 8th March. We love Malaysia but we hate the BN government !!!
#23 by daryl on Sunday, 29 June 2008 - 10:36 pm
I wonder what type of physical inspection and evidence they have in this case. First, they have to get an independent physician to inspect his behind and that evidence that DSAI actually visit that place. Or is this more his-his words. It will be interesting. Maybe, DSAI need to get a foreign expert to ceck that soo to be rich boy behind and see if he was ever sodomised. If he was it might confirm he is probably gay because you and I know DSAI didn’t do that. … The saga begins but let us not forget the foreigner that was killed by C4…. because this is an attempt to bring te eat of that one.
#24 by hongsichuan on Sunday, 29 June 2008 - 10:41 pm
Miss Logic of Cambridge who usually spoke in strange tongue wrote: “But everything seems to clearly indicate that all these are fabrications.” While there is no “R implies S” or “~S” or whatever here this time, only plain English this time, I wonder what “everything” points logically to “clearly indicate” the “fabrications”. Just for the record, I am neither fan nor foe of Anwar, but one who is in general just wary of smooth speaking politician.
#25 by Jong on Sunday, 29 June 2008 - 10:44 pm
What are thos froggies waiting for? Haven’t they seen enough and what those umno despots are capable of? The should all do the quick jump NOW and Pakatan Rakyat can just take over the federal government and arrest those “trouble-makers”.
#26 by aiD_kamikuP on Sunday, 29 June 2008 - 10:44 pm
Comments in this and other blogs have been almost unanimous in condeming this second alleged ‘sodomy’ case as a deperate attempt to thwart Anwar’s end-game moves. It is easy even for fence-sitters to see this as such and what more for staunch Anwar supporters and Malaysians who are eagerly anticipating the much touted changes to the political scene.
If this is indeed a fabrication, it may not necessarily be a daft move, for whoever planned and set it off would know very well how preposterous it would seem seem and calculated on the magnitude of pubic protest leading on to unrest. And this can be very worrying indeed. This could be a bait for opportunities to bring in the clamp and sledge-hammer…..
#27 by aiD_kamikuP on Sunday, 29 June 2008 - 10:48 pm
…public protest…that’s what I meant….you know that!!
#28 by year of snake on Sunday, 29 June 2008 - 10:48 pm
What in Hell is going on! A leader in our community whose wife and daughter are MPs in our Parliament have to hide in a foreign embassy fearing for his life. What then, ordinary people like us. This is Malaysia and not Zimbabwe but from DSAI actions it would seems like nobody is safe anymore and law of the jungle is about to begin.
#29 by Godson on Sunday, 29 June 2008 - 10:53 pm
I AM umNO-BN SUPPORTER. I BELIEVE THAT umNO-BN OR Kurang aJar DIDNT DO IT. OUR MALAYSIAN POLICE ARE VERY HONEST AND VERY PROFESSIONAL. I HOPE umNO-BN CAN RULE MALAYSIA FOREVER. I WILL LIVE, SUFFER AND DIE FOR umNO-BN.
WTF…..umNO-BN.
I DONT TRUST YOU ANYMORE……..WTF.
#30 by ahpiow on Sunday, 29 June 2008 - 10:56 pm
For once, I have seen a very sane and objective discussion on the subject matter. I personally believe this is a fabricated police report.
On the question of DNA proof, wouldn’t it be very easy to get a sample of AI’s tissue – from dry skin flakes on a hotel pillow? hair sample from his haircut? etc? DNA can be extracted from these samples and then be falsely medically reported as having been obtained from his aide’s annnus?
Will appreciate comments on the likelihood of this possibility. Thanks.
#31 by Jong on Sunday, 29 June 2008 - 10:56 pm
Yeah, this is Malaysia to the world today – Malaysians have nothing better to do but sodomise each other and when they don’t like each other, they just use C4 since it’s so ‘easily available’.
And if you don’t want your spouse to know you have been and out of the country, just go to the immigration and have your records erased. Simple, this is bolehland? Our neighbours are all choking in laughter, seeing how silly Malaysians have become!
#32 by StevePCH on Sunday, 29 June 2008 - 11:00 pm
REFORMASI !!! reformasi again … of course this time. from BN to PR. Let’s start the war drum … haha
#33 by KS R on Sunday, 29 June 2008 - 11:09 pm
What is happening and why BN UMNO so cheap. Mongolia case not arrested and come to PR Police and AG ready to arrest.I think the nation should support DSAI
Hamidah Osman “Pukul India Dulu” Indian still never learn their lesson of supporting the BN UMNO. Hamidah Osman should charged for creating racial issue
#34 by Edchin on Sunday, 29 June 2008 - 11:21 pm
Jong,
If you think ‘sodomy’, ‘C4′ and delete records are bad enough, there are ‘Lupa-lah ex-PM, suap ala correct-correct, ‘bocor’ MP, beruk and goblog and ‘go-starn’ vips and press-free parliament farce to be added to the laughing stock for our neighbours.
#35 by pgsilai on Sunday, 29 June 2008 - 11:22 pm
It’s sad and frustrated to see what is going in Malaysia. BN has no other Menu to cook except the same old “Sotong Mee”. Do you think a 60 year old man would want to commit such a sin knowing that he is so charge up to get PR to take over? He will be insane to commit it, after all those years spending in prison, is that not enough for him?
BTW, undergrad I think you must be missing limkamput! I guess he is must be busy and out and not fair to attack him when he is not around. If you have been reading his blog, I don’t think he is a Malay.
#36 by badak on Sunday, 29 June 2008 - 11:58 pm
After hearing what the CID DIRECTOR said on the 8PM news on 8TV.The events leading to the police report does not add up..It clearly shows ANWAR is being frame…
#37 by undergrad2 on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 12:34 am
pgsillai,
It matters not if anybody is – or is not. But it matters to some readers if somebody thinks he could hoodwink them into believing what he is not, acting as an agent provocateur bashing the Chinese using an obscene handle like ‘konek’ and then bash the Malays. Fanning racial hatred among readers is not acceptable – at least to me.
Be that as it may, there are more important issues to discuss today than the lack of respect for civil behavior in a political blog. We have a popular and charismatic opposition leader forced to take refuge in the security of a foreign embassy – something unprecedented.. Don’t you think?
#38 by Richardqed on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 1:25 am
I believe plenty of people have seen the following video. But then again, plenty more may have not. So to those who have not, listen for yourself what TDM admitted about the DSAI case 10 years ago, and judge for yourself.
Search google for the following (no quotes needed)
mahathir admits abuse youtube
or just paste this search
http://www.google.com/search?hl=en&q=mahathir+admits+abuse+youtube&meta=
#39 by KennyGan on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 3:46 am
Every right thinking person knows that the sordid allegation against DSAI cannot be true. On the cusp of obtaining political power, no sane person would risk everything by committing such an act.
The police appears to be building a flimsy case against DSAI as a prelude to arresting him.
Once in custody, all hopes for a transition of power to a better government are gone.
DSAI has foiled their evil plans by taking refuge in the Turkish embassy. Malaysians must stand up and condemn this despicable government for trying to sodomize the rakyat a second time.
#40 by lupus on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 6:46 am
forget about sex in the city, we have a best seller here!!! Sex in PutraJaya !!!!
#41 by sotong on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 7:51 am
It is obvious that Anwar will be PM…..many people in position of power, trust and influence, present and past, are very worried and insecured!
#42 by hongsichuan on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 8:44 am
Some people seem overkeen to raise AI to the status of a hero or even a martyr.
Take a look at the article by the STAR at the link below:
http://thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/2008/6/30/nation/21695182&sec=nation
There are some questions raised and not answered. How did AI so quickly worked out the “connection” between the aide and DPM, whereas he previously did not? Where did the pictures come from so quickly? In some reports, the aide was described as “special aide” to AI. Could a volunteer be a “special aide” without being screened? If the death threat was received 4 weeks ago, why nothing was done about it then?
If I were the wife of a man who has received death threat and is in so deep a trouble that he has to take refuge in an embassy, I wouldn’t be smiling so sweetly. If I did not know what the photo in the link was all about, I would have thought it was a mobile phone advertisement.
#43 by chiakehleong on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 9:28 am
fool me once shame on you, fool me twice shame on me.
#44 by limkamput on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 9:35 am
half baked american say: “Our Armed Forces have been subservient to civilian authority for far too long and should see their role more as keepers of that moral authority which BN has recently lost – the legitimacy and the moral authority to rule in a democracy dedicated to freedom, justice and the rule of law. The Malay Rulers must be involved in the process. Otherwise it is déjà vu all over again!”
This half-baked American who is enjoying the best of both worlds must be using his toe as his head to call for army or even the royalty to intervene in the present impasse in the civilian government. Those are not democratic institutions, and to call for their involvement is most short-sighted. They can not be expected to exercise moral authority or to restore democracy no matter how protracted and helpless the country is now facing. Let the people make their stand clear and let the international community exert pressure. But no army, police and royalty please.
For a wannabe lawyer to write in this manner really disappoints me to the core. It shows no clarity in thought and immaturity in outlook – a typical fellow who has no qualm of trading short term expediency for long term misery. Just look around you in countries where the army play a prominent and dominant role. Yes, they have always come in with moral authority and restoring peace as their primary reasons. But we all know this would be the beginning of endless coup, abuse and dictatorship.
#45 by limkamput on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 9:39 am
Hello American Ah beng, i am telling you for the last time i dont know what you are talking about. This Konek is NOT me. In fact i have even deleted his posting in my blog intending to cause trouble for me. I suspected it was you. You are well-known for playing double personality. I know and you know, so don’t be a hypocrite.
#46 by ShiokGuy on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 10:18 am
Here we go….
As long as the truth is out, we are willing to pay for any price.
Freedom of expression is a cornerstone of democratic rights & freedoms
Shiok Guy
#47 by kenghuei on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 10:55 am
By the way guys..notice what Dr M said “Let the GOVERNMENT decides on the allegations”.
Doesn’t this sound funny? :) Is it the GOVERNMENT to decide or the Police and the Judiciary?
Doesn’t Mahathir just implied that the GOVERNMENT controls the Police and the Judiciary?
Or is he trying to tell us that this is the GOVERNMENT’s act?
#48 by undergrad2 on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 10:56 am
“In fact i have even deleted his posting in my blog intending to cause trouble for me. I suspected it was you” limkamput
Like I said “Why should anybody want to visit the blog of a nincompoop”? It is your narcissistic personality getting the better of you like always!
Then to insist you’re being shadowed by someone is a sign of paranoia. When combined it adds to “paranoid schizophrenia”. Have we not gone through this before??
But then what can anybody expect from an old retired government servant with a cheap title to his name given for long service, the type of title given to drivers who have driven enough miles through the years – and one who has serious with issues about his ethnicity??
#49 by undergrad2 on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 11:00 am
“Hello American Ah beng, i am telling you..” limkamput
You don’t seem to have enough of the racial slurs. What has happened to “Hey tambi”?
#50 by undergrad2 on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 11:19 am
pgsillai,
Whoever wrote “There is no need to discuss long and wide” is thinking in Malay and writing in English. You see nincompoop is one of the many Malays who think in Malay and write in English.
Don’t you think so??
There is no such expression in English like “no need to discuss long and wide”. It is direct and literal translation of Malay of ‘tak payah cakap panjang dan lebar”.
He is caught flat footed here as always!