9MP Mid-Term Review – BN Ministers/MPs struggling to keep awake

Barisan Nasional Ministers and MPs had never found it more difficult than today to keep awake to go through a major government policy speech in Parliament – the tabling of the Ninth Malaysia Plan Mid-Term Review by the Prime Minister, Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi.

Even BN MPs who wanted to thump the table to create an atmosphere of support for the Prime Minister found little cause to do so, except for two or three occasions when Sabah and Sarawak were mentioned.

The only time the Barisan Nasional Ministers and MPs perked up were at the end of Abdullah’s speech, when he deviated from the prepared text distributed by the Treasury to make a political attack on those who wanted to “grab power” despite the general election result of March 8, 2008.

If the Ninth Malaysia Plan Mid-Term Review Report is intended to give new hope and inspiration to Malaysians that the Abdullah administration has heard the message of the March 8 political tsunami, and is prepared to strike out in new directions to enable the country to face the challenges of globalization, the result is a negative one.

Neither Abdullah nor the Ninth Malaysia Plan Mid-Term Review was frank – making no reference of the shelving of the RM2 billion Penang Monorail and RM1.5 billion Penang Outer Ring Road projects, although they were reported by the media yesterday and confirmed by Economic Planning Unit (EPU) officials.

Is this because Abdullah finds it difficult to rebut charges that such cancellations do not have vengeful and vindictive motives – especially when Abdullah could recently announce billion-ringgit angpows to Sabah and Sarawak to placate Sabah and Sarawak feelings of alienation and marginalisation?

1. #1 by ahkok1982 on Thursday, 26 June 2008 - 2:57 pm

I do support the cancellation of the Penang Monorail and Penang Outer Ring Road projects. However, I also think that the RM 3.5 billion saved from not building the monorail and outer ring road should be placed under the Penang local council for management.
    With the price tag of RM2 billion, Penang could have twice as many Monorail stations and at RM1.5 billion, Penang could have maybe 2 Ring Roads.
    Put Scomi out of the project equation and what you get is 50% off the price.
    Why keep on pushing for this project? Yes, I agree that it will benefit the people in Penang but it will also fatten the pockets of cronies. If you say that such projects should be pushed through just because it benefits the people of Penang, then indirectly, you are saying that as long as the projects bring benefit to the people, it should not be cancelled no matter how much money the cronies are putting into their own pockets.
    I will definitely not agree to that. If that is the case, then I would rather enforce Syariah Laws first before the contract is signed so that those who put ill gotten money into their pockets will have their hands chopped off and then some.

2. #2 by yog7948 on Thursday, 26 June 2008 - 3:02 pm

When others speak, he dozed; when sleepy head speaks how to keep awake.. His speech must have sounded like lullaby for the BN MPs. At least he showed some talent in boring others. Good Work Mr. Pee- em.

3. #3 by alancheah on Thursday, 26 June 2008 - 3:26 pm

Good Luck to Malaysia!

4. #4 by child of wind on Thursday, 26 June 2008 - 4:05 pm

AAB takes his entire carbinet on this Airforce One to have a birdeye view of the GREAT WORK they have done to our country. While flying over the country, they see some poor farmers working very hard under the hot sun. AAB throws a bundle of RM50 notes out of the window and says, “These people will be very happy today.” DMP fllows AAB, throwing a few bundles of RM100 notes and says, “They will be even happier tonight.”

The two pilots saw and heard all these. They put on their parachutes, ejects from the plane and say, “The country is going to celebrate tomorrow and it’s going to be the happiest day for all the malaysians in 50 years.”

5. #5 by darcwil on Thursday, 26 June 2008 - 4:10 pm

I agree that the scrapping can be taken positively. I am quoting another point of view from anil netto’s blog:

These two projects would have had severe financial and environmental implications for Penang. All those who cherish sustainable and cost-efficient public transport for Penang will be celebrating. Perhaps now we can take a closer look at… yes, trams!!! And at expanding the ferry service, improving the bus network, opening up cycle lanes and pedestrian malls along shady tree-lined streets – while at all times being highly sensitive to the needs of people with disabilities and senior citizens. Can you imagine a city with far fewer cars and a fantastic public transport system at street level… Penang would be paradise! :)

*quoted from anilnetto.com

6. #6 by Captain on Thursday, 26 June 2008 - 4:36 pm

Oh OK many will celebrate with this cancellation. Anil Netto maybe, just maybe right too. But you have to see the bigger picture. The main issue is not what will benefit Penang more, but why were malaysian hoodwinked by the ‘Ketuanan’.

Firstly, Penangites and all Pakatan States are being punish for not supporting BN. Najib says its not a punishment, so it is confirm, it is a punishment.

Secondly, BN and BN stoooges will not get the kick backs. So, no point going ahead of the project.

Thirdly, All these projects were false promises to win election, but malaysians did not buy the promises and voted for Pakatan.

Finally, the truth, Malaysia never had money to built most of the projects especially the corridors. All sandiwaralah.

Still Penang has progress lah. Always talking about taking Penang back 40 years to tram and cycle, please come real, grow up.

7. #7 by nkeng11 on Thursday, 26 June 2008 - 4:58 pm

Uncle,
    You mean nothing is happening?
    So should we keep on living?
    The future looks so demeaning
    Is it all because Pak Lah is always dreaming?

Park Lah!

8. #8 by yhsiew on Thursday, 26 June 2008 - 5:06 pm

The cancellation of some 9MP grand projects makes one suspect that they were promised by BN to win votes in the 12th GE despite BN knew in advance that the projects were beyond their reach financially!

9. #9 by old dad on Thursday, 26 June 2008 - 5:13 pm

Uncle,

Sorry for the digression:

IPOH, June 26 (Bernama) — A two-seater Eagle 150B light aircraft crashed into the compound of a house in Taman Cempaka here today, badly injuring a trainee pilot and his flight instructor.

Trainee pilot Ahmad Tarmezee Ahmad Lotpi, 23, and flight instructor Mohamad Faizal Kamaruddin, 37, have been admitted to the Ipoh Hospital following the accident at about 1.30 pm.

The aircraft crashed onto a spot between a wall of the house and the concrete perimeter wall.

House owner Indran Sagaran, 37, said the plane narrowly missed crashing onto his house where his two children and their aunt were at that time.

Can you please try to raise the banning this irrating flying school from flying everyday over our heads in Ipoh? It’s noisy and darn right a risk to all those living in Ipoh. Just think if one will to land on the Ipoh fountain at the peak hour, or the Dewan.

10. #10 by Godfather on Thursday, 26 June 2008 - 5:28 pm

An extra RM30 billion under the 9MP, and still no competitive tender ? Still using moronic terms like “negotiated” tender ? How are we going to get bang for our buck, particularly at a time like this ?

Do the Opposition MPs know what they are doing ?

11. #11 by k1980 on Thursday, 26 June 2008 - 5:38 pm

Quote: “Those who have played the role in keeping Abdullah in power should be brought to justice and prosecuted for treason at the highest level against those Malaysians who were forced to face this economic calamity due to the incompetence in economic management by Abdullah Administration.”

http://kickdefella.wordpress.com/2008/06/26/shahrir-to-fire-thousands-of-petrol-kiosk-workers/

How about those who brought that buggah to power?

12. #12 by badak on Thursday, 26 June 2008 - 5:59 pm

Penang don,t need more cars.The second bridge will cause more traffic jams.Can Penang take more cars.Surely a big NO.What penang need is a good public transport system.
    With a new bridge more roads will have to be build to cater for the influx of more cars.

13. #13 by citizenwatch on Thursday, 26 June 2008 - 6:04 pm

9MP Mid-Term Review – just PM and BN’s subterfuge of buying time.

14. #14 by badak on Thursday, 26 June 2008 - 6:07 pm

Come August there will be a few thousand foreign workers in Malaysia with no work.Can Shahrir tell us what will happen to this poor workers.

15. #15 by lopez on Thursday, 26 June 2008 - 7:10 pm

ask him how it feels to knee down, it is his turn now.

But sorry it is 50 years too late.

16. #16 by undergrad2 on Thursday, 26 June 2008 - 7:24 pm

“Neither Abdullah nor the Ninth Malaysia Plan Mid-Term Review was frank – making no reference of the shelving of the RM2 billion Penang Monorail and RM1.5 billion Penang Outer Ring Road projects…” Kit

It is all about partisan politics. For many years Penangites played ‘smart’ with politics choosing to vote in a BN state government and sends the opposition to defend and protect their constitutional rights to Kuala Lumpur. Some say it is hypocrisy. This time it is different and therefore they should not expect more of the same!

Expect more projects to be cancelled.

17. #17 by undergrad2 on Thursday, 26 June 2008 - 7:26 pm

The only way is for Pakatan to take over the federal government. Why is it hesitating??

18. #18 by Damocles on Thursday, 26 June 2008 - 8:58 pm

“The only way is for Pakatan to take over the federal government. Why is it hesitating??” – undergrad2

Agreed!
    I’ve always thought that Malaysians are far too simple minded compared to the utter deviousness of the BN government.
    The attitude has always been – “it’s like that!”. Meaning that nothing will ever change.
    The change must come from the people, a thinking and not a mindless people, who swallowed everything the BN government said.
    Although change is coming now but I think that it’s far, far too late.
    We are at the end of the rope!

19. #19 by rainbowseahorse on Thursday, 26 June 2008 - 9:57 pm

Throughout the speech, I was hoping only for one thing and one thing only. That’s for Pak Lah to announce that since he sincerely believe that he still has us Rakyat’s support and understanding in the removal of some subsidies, he henceforth desolved parliament making way for fresh election.
    Hmmmm, but no such news lah!
    Maybe we ought to convince that old goat that he indeed “has our support” so that he would become smack with confidence and hold a fresh election. Then we Malaysians can really show him just how much we really “support” him and his government.

20. #20 by yog7948 on Thursday, 26 June 2008 - 10:15 pm

The person that could initiate the uprooting this Corrupted BN Tree is none other than Sir RPK. Since he has gathered all the denial needed from them, he is just waiting for the prosecution Day.

Once the truth is exposed, all we have to do is convey it to every corner of our nation. Then only we can talk about “support”. Don’t let Sir RPK fall, he stands for us, the people and we should save guard him by any cost..

The majority is never right. Never, I tell you! That’s one of these lies in society that no free and intelligent man can help rebelling against. Who are the people that make up the biggest proportion of the population — the intelligent ones or the fools? –
    HENRIK IBSEN, An Enemy of the People

21. #21 by justice6 on Thursday, 26 June 2008 - 10:19 pm

why is the pm still in office?

22. #22 by Godfather on Thursday, 26 June 2008 - 10:21 pm

Killer is back ??

23. #23 by blablowbla on Thursday, 26 June 2008 - 10:25 pm

dun b so excited,he dunno wat he was reading!

he merely yelling for his gangs to gv him many-2 round of applause!

wasting our time, after GE,your sweets tasted sour!

24. #24 by undergrad2 on Thursday, 26 June 2008 - 10:39 pm

Yes, Killer is back!

He is ready to engage with you in a town hall debate without a moderator and the media spin that comes with it! At a time of your choosing. But right now the cops are keeping him busy.

25. #25 by lkc57 on Thursday, 26 June 2008 - 10:49 pm

Everything is by the billions. These idiots are making our currency looks like banana papers!

26. #26 by a-malaysian on Thursday, 26 June 2008 - 11:00 pm

If they want to shelve any projects they should have shelve the 2nd Penang bridge, but their cronies will be crying foul.

They can shelve the monorail and the PORR projects but the fund of RM3.5billion must still be channeled back to the State for improvement of the public transportation and infrastructures if Abdullah still have the rakyat at heart.

Blood-Suckers

GE 13 – No matter what, we must ensure that racist umno bn do not regain the power like they had for the past fifty years.

27. #27 by yog7948 on Thursday, 26 June 2008 - 11:19 pm

Not just the Umno BN people.. even their half brothers in Pakatan.(PKR). These people started to expose their true self now. ” want to be rewarded for your loyalty”.. sure mate.. we the Rakyat will reward you in the next GE – Politic Retirement.. Sounds good?

Politics is not an end, but a means. It is not a product, but a process. It is the art of government. Like other values it has its counterfeits. So much emphasis has been placed upon the false that the significance of the true has been obscured and politics has come to convey the meaning of crafty and cunning selfishness, instead of candid and sincere service.- CALVIN COOLIDGE

28. #28 by Anak Malaysia on Thursday, 26 June 2008 - 11:26 pm

YES, the Penangites are damn very happy with the the cancellation of the Penang Monorail and Penang Outer Ring Road projects with the blessing of the mecy of Almighty KUAN YIN in Penag.

This is because of 5 simple reasons:-

(a) Professional engineers and mega-builders have estimated that both the semi-mega projects are valued less than RM3.5 billion over inflated costs from the closed doors negotiated and non tender project;

(b) Scomi was kicked out of this project now since it was a highly political connected parties muscled in securing both the projects but the capabilities and credibilies are questionable by many foreign fund managers here;

(c) Penangites do not need to suffer more destruction of heritage buildings, seabeds and green environment from both lousy projects;

(d) Penangites will have better living environmental with more green lung trees, clear seabeds and less pollution as well as no more toll gates in Penang; and

(e) Reduce corruptions, mismanagement of public transport, misused public funds and favour cronies in both mini-mega projects in Penang.

Lastly, Penangites remained strong in supporting YB Lim GE in his uphill task battle to bring a better transportation system and improved the infrastructures in the entire Pearl of Orient island.
    He will use his intelligent braind and mind together with his comrades in Pakatan Rakyat to develop and enhance a better living environment for all Malaysians.

Penangites and all Malaysians trusted his abilities and credibilities to continue support the CM, YAB Lim GE for many terms to come. BRAVO ! HIDUP LGE.

May GODDESS of Mercy Bless LGE and all Malaysians.

GO to “HELL” BN & Co members for destroying Penang and Malaysia Today !!

ALLAH will punish all cronies in HELL soon.

Sumpah from,

ALL PENANGITES & ANAK BANGSA MALAYSIA

29. #29 by Jong on Friday, 27 June 2008 - 12:56 am

Why is Pakatan hesitating? MPs of conscience should first take the initiative to froggy jump. PR can’t do much if they refuse to move.

30. #30 by Jong on Friday, 27 June 2008 - 1:03 am

Looks like we will be “badawied” if those froggy jumps does not take off!

31. #31 by mybangsamalaysia on Friday, 27 June 2008 - 1:05 am

Penang Monorail and Penang Outer Ring Road projects for RM3.5billion. Sound a bit too expensive and i sumpah i am not a rocket scientist like all our ministers.

32. #32 by doggone on Friday, 27 June 2008 - 1:52 am

DO NOT DOZE ONTO OTHERS IF YOU DO NOT WANT OTHERS TO DOZE ONTO YOU.

doggone !

33. #33 by monsterball on Friday, 27 June 2008 - 5:09 am

Previously….only 10 or slightly more oppositions.
    So you can shout as much as you like..they go to sleep…ignoring all oppositions.
    Now ..there are 82 and few more hiding somewhere. Where…they are guessing…confused and have sleepless nights.
    sS how to sleep like before?
    Sure the are struggling…to change the lazy life..to work harder.
    One or two..may die of heart attacks…not used to real working lifestyle…very soon.

34. #34 by Kathy on Friday, 27 June 2008 - 7:02 am

If the cancelled projects’ money is being channeled back to Penang for its own management of its transportation and infrastructure progress, it would be great but do we think that it would really happen?

Most of the time, what is reported is merely a glossy cover up. Is there someone that actually can conduct a proper study of the bus services required as well as other basic transport services that are not costly for the people of every town, city and state?

35. #35 by undergrad2 on Friday, 27 June 2008 - 7:08 am

So now limkamput is in hiding!

36. #36 by winsoontan on Friday, 27 June 2008 - 7:12 am

AAB never have a properly plan. He does not commit to what he promis. After Penang loss monorail and porr, will see Perak and Selangor loss west costal road….. Malaysia development and economy will slow down. A country never improve its infra-structure will always left behind others.

37. #37 by undergrad2 on Friday, 27 June 2008 - 7:13 am

He has changed his sex and is now officially in a witness protection program because of the threat to his reputation and the expected loss in credibility.

38. #38 by Godfather on Friday, 27 June 2008 - 7:41 am

Penang Monorail and PORR would have been difficult for the den of thieves to justify since PR will be constantly looking over their shoulder. Their main aim was to win the deals, and then go for variation orders so that the costs could escalate on the flimsiest of excuses.

The Penang 2nd bridge would be difficult to cancel as the “goodies” were promised even way before the elections. UEM can talk all they want, but we must press them for the list of subcontractors. You will find that the list is a who’s who of rentseekers from UMNO.

We will be watching, we will be asking the right questions – and there’s going to be fewer and fewer places that the thieves can hide.

39. #39 by k1980 on Friday, 27 June 2008 - 9:05 am

Regrets? He has a hell of a lot
    It happened in his first term just after he won the general elections in 2004. With a strong mandate, he announced a slew of reforms, talked about tackling corruption and promised seismic changes to the police force and judiciary.And then sometime in 2005, he realised that many in the party were not on the same page with him on reforms. The result: he retreated and opted for the status quo, favoured by Umno.
    http://themalaysianinsider.com/index.php/home/42-lead-stories/1095-apparent-abdullah-bias-for-party-over-public

40. #40 by yhsiew on Friday, 27 June 2008 - 9:05 am

Should marks be deducted from Pak Lah’s report card for bad planning of 9MP projects including the shelving of the RM2 billion Penang Monorail and RM1.5 billion Penang Outer Ring Road projects?

I don’t think Pak Lah should put the blame squarely on rising oil and food prices for affecting the 9MP progress.

41. #41 by Godfather on Friday, 27 June 2008 - 9:22 am

It’s a matter of transferring allocations. Overall, the 9MP saw an increase of RM 30 billion in allocations, of which 33 pct went to the development of the corridors. RM10 billion to the corridors ? What for ? In an uncertain economic environment where stagflation in biting hard, and property prices are likely to drop substantially, these idiots still want to develop the corridors ? Open up more land ? So that we can have miles and miles of roads, drains, power lines – with empty land as far as the eyes can see ?

Whose bright idea is this ? Why aren’t the PR representatives in Parliament asking such questions ?

42. #42 by Bigjoe on Friday, 27 June 2008 - 9:27 am

The bottom line is this PM is not much good when under pressure. He basically is not emotionally intelligent enough to make the tough calls.

The excuse to shelve the Monorail and PORR for rural development, food production is lame. What is the point of building more roads when rural folks can’t afford the petrol? What is the point of producing more food when our production is small and cost is high to make no difference in the price?

Whatever the rational, his excuse that its not about placating Sabah and Sarawak politician is bullshit AND because it does little for the problems and issues, its compounding a wrong with another wrong.

43. #43 by undergrad2 on Friday, 27 June 2008 - 9:52 am

Strange that no one is asking where the money is coming from?? Heavy domestic borrowing from financial institutions would obviously be inflationary considering the magnitude of funding that is required. The size of the domestic capital market is too small to be relied upon for the borrowing. Tapping foreign capital markets? What sort of rates does Malaysia attract today? Soft long term loans from OECD?

Printing money is definitely not an option!

Imagine generations of Malaysians being saddled with debts incurred by the BN government. Your children and your children’s children and their children would be paying for the excesses of this government.

44. #44 by limkamput on Friday, 27 June 2008 - 9:52 am

Undergrad2 says “So now limkamput is in hiding!”

No, I don’t have to. I have nothing to hide because unlike others, I did not use different handles to masquerade myself into different personalities to suit the issues being discussed. The accusation is uncalled for and coming from someone who obviously suffers from split personality. He is smart but sick. I can trace back all the different handles this he used.

Undergrad2 says “It is all about partisan politics. For many years Penangites played ’smart’ with politics choosing to vote in a BN state government and sends the opposition to defend and protect their constitutional rights to Kuala Lumpur. Some say it is hypocrisy. This time it is different and therefore they should not expect more of the same!”

Who does not know this moronic strategy; but look at what it has done to Penang for 50 years? Yes, it turned Penang from the Pearl to the Garbage of the Orient. It is not just a hypocritical position to take, it is also stupid. Only spineless people will think this is the “best of both worlds” strategy. Oh I forget, coming from someone who precisely practises this strategy is not surprising.

Penangites should never waver again no matter how the federal govt tries to punish you now. Stay firm. Look at what you can do. Ask the federal govt to break the revenue collected by by state and “take some actions” (if you know what I mean). Think and act. Don’t just moan, whine and grumble like this Undergrad2 here. Why he bothers. He is enjoying the best of both worlds, living in NY and giving his uncommitted half past six comments as his favourite past time. May be he is too free with little social interaction, having only to socialise with Hongkie and Koreans.

Undergrad2 says, “The only way is for Pakatan to take over the federal government. Why is it hesitating??”

You are wrong again. PK is not hesitating. PK does not have the mean now to take over fed govt. So PK, don’t just talk and talk. Use your brain to think first, before talking. If you can’t honour what you say, soon no body listen, but only undergrad2, you know, someone never graduated or have to be undergraduate more than twice to get a general degree (hence undergrad2 is his handle here). You half bake American may want to use the word “freeloader”. But it is perfectly fine for us here to use the word “free rider”. I am talking to a Malaysian who pretends to be an American. That is the sad part. Hello, Ah beng, I was there earlier than you lah.

45. #45 by limkamput on Friday, 27 June 2008 - 9:56 am

See, undergrad2, what you have just mentioned about borrowing and debts are just too general to be useful. If you want details, you have to do some research and ask around. Be humble, i am sure you will know more and can write better. When others are not writing about it, it does NOT mean they don’t know, understand?

46. #46 by Godfather on Friday, 27 June 2008 - 10:01 am

Who says printing money is not an option for a corrupt regime ? Why do you think that the contract for printing banknotes now resides with a company in Malaysia, and not in the UK ? And a major shareholder of this company in Malaysia is implicated in the Lingamgate RCI.

47. #47 by Godfather on Friday, 27 June 2008 - 10:04 am

C’mon guys, train your considerable energy against the den of thieves, not on each other !

48. #48 by limkamput on Friday, 27 June 2008 - 10:08 am

No la, I just jest him back only, I am not angry at all. It is just that he likes to wallop me all the time, but not all bad though. I have no issue, seriously. I have grown past that.

49. #49 by Godfather on Friday, 27 June 2008 - 10:09 am

Good for you. We are all on the same side.

50. #50 by limkamput on Friday, 27 June 2008 - 10:17 am

Ok, to give some credit to Undergrad2. Yes, the sources of financing is very important. It is not just borrowing, it is where the source is coming from. Is it inflationary source or non inflationary source? Don’t talk about borrowing from the Central Bank, that will be unthinkable and highly inflationary. Even ecessive borrowing from commercial banks is bad. Has percentage from commercial banks gone up recently, may be undergrad2 should do this as his honours year project paper.

51. #51 by Godfather on Friday, 27 June 2008 - 10:25 am

I think we will be looking at least at another 0.25 pct increase in BLR. The RM30 billion increase won’t be spent all at once, although the thieves would like that to happen as it will surely ensure Badawi’s survival in December.

Again, the spending will be via negotiated tenders (an oxymoronic term) and you can see lots of people making a beeline to Badawi’s office right now. That’s what the 4th floor boys want – allegiance at the expense of taxpayers’ money.

RealWorld/Killer/Kasim Amat – shame on you guys. Supporting a den of thieves that continues to steal even when the spotlight is on them.

52. #52 by kun9999 on Friday, 27 June 2008 - 10:27 am

If our mother country were to fail us, please prepare a 2nd way out. Dont fall with her.

53. #53 by cheng on soo on Friday, 27 June 2008 - 10:33 am

Have RM30 bil, for additional funding, but no RM3.5 bil for PORR, & Pen. monorail??
    With all these huge ‘corridors’ sucking hundreds of billions, where do they get the money? Borrow? Print more banknotes or what?
    Is excessive printing of banknotes an indirect way to tax or rob the rakyat?

54. #54 by Jong on Friday, 27 June 2008 - 10:41 am

“I have no issue, seriously. I have grown past that.”

clap clap clap! I like that, words of wisdom, good for you limkamput! :D

55. #55 by Jong on Friday, 27 June 2008 - 10:46 am

We can talk till the cows come home. They will continue to rob, however whichever way they can.
    Seriously, I think the federal govt needs a change and those MPs most move fast, brave enough to hop over to Pakatan Rakyat. Think of long term and not the goodies that they(BN) is beginning to offer.

56. #56 by HJ Angus on Friday, 27 June 2008 - 10:46 am

I agree with cheng on soo on
    “RM30bil extra funding but no M3.5bil” for Penang.

The federal leaders are just being vindictive.
    http://malaysiawatch3.blogspot.com/2008/06/why-pick-on-penang-folks-or-rm2billion.html

57. #57 by Damocles on Friday, 27 June 2008 - 10:52 am

I think that this is the last hurrah for the BN before they are booted out by the PR.
    So, they’ll blow the finances to smithereens before they leave.

58. #58 by Jong on Friday, 27 June 2008 - 10:56 am

…and the BN shredder continues working overtime late into the night? Hahaha, I am told that’s exactly what they are doing! For once in history of this nation, they are on their ‘toes’! :D

59. #59 by HJ Angus on Friday, 27 June 2008 - 11:06 am

if the BN shredder is really working overtime, PR leaders should announce rewards to those who make copies of such documents to help bring misdeeds to justice.

A scaled system for reward against corruption would be suitable like:

D-G convicted: 2% of the corruption value
    Deputy-Minister convicted : 5%
    Minister convicted: 6%

Non-taxable and no need to appear at the trial but documents must be verifiable.
    Example: for a RM1m case, the minimum reward on conviction would be RM20000

60. #60 by rainbowseahorse on Friday, 27 June 2008 - 11:08 am

In any debate, there is one for pro & con. Right now we have loads of pro and hardly any con.
    Hmmmm, we need to bash someone’s head lah!
    Where is that RealWorld/Killer/Kasim Amat & suspected KJ ?

61. #61 by rainbowseahorse on Friday, 27 June 2008 - 11:11 am

Hj Angus, I would love to see your proposal adopted by the government. But realistically, I don’t think they have any intention of doing that just yet as it would amount to installing spy cameras to record their crimes for us ignorant Rakyat to see.

62. #62 by Godfather on Friday, 27 June 2008 - 11:13 am

Rainbowseahorse:

In any successful Ali-Baba business, Ali must know where Baba is and vice versa. You mean you have lost track of Ali ?

63. #63 by rainbowseahorse on Friday, 27 June 2008 - 11:19 am

I see he has been in and out of this blog, but got bashed by so many bloggers that I sort of feel sorry for him. I don’t relly know if he really have his conviction or he is just pulling our legs on purpose.

64. #64 by i_love_malaysia on Friday, 27 June 2008 - 12:24 pm

PM was very smart, he made every one nodding their heads after heavy lunch!!! so no one was complaining and the MTR gone through without any hurdle!!!
    The BN govt will never admit that they are vinditive!!! Even a kindergarten child wont admit that!!! How can they admit it!!! Who will say “Yes, we are vinditive or we are in cheating business or we are corrupted or we are murderers or we are incompetent or we are racist or I am the one in the sex video!!!”, as it is not appropriate or crazy for politicians to say that, especially in Malaysia context!!!
    But it is so obvious to the people that the govt is practically doing that!!! In all the statements given by PM, DPM & Sham etc, they said that they will spend the money that will “benefit the people and drive economic growth”, arent Penang people are people and the projects are driving the economic growth, too and have a higher priority than other places???
    Looks like Yong TL is playing a smart game!!! Sabah is benefited from MTR and he might get some subcontracting works worth few hundreds millions ringgits!!!

65. #65 by i_love_malaysia on Friday, 27 June 2008 - 12:32 pm

AAB is very smart, he will use up all the money in the coffers before calling it a day, he is incompetent in many areas, especially managing the country, but when comes to spending all the money of the country, he has all the advisors to help him on this!!!
    He might soon change his jet to a bigger one as it will benefit the “people and drive economic growth” – read my lips

66. #66 by i_love_malaysia on Friday, 27 June 2008 - 12:37 pm

In any successful Ali-Baba business, Ali must know where Baba is and vice versa. You mean you have lost track of Ali ? – Godfather

——————————

Baba should never let Ali knows where he is i.e. how he manage the account and Ali couldnt care less where Baba is as long as he can fly around the world and continue to be paid the Chairman’s fees!!!…:)

67. #67 by i_love_malaysia on Friday, 27 June 2008 - 12:40 pm

rainbowseahorse Says:

Today at 11: 08.02 (1 hour ago)
    In any debate, there is one for pro & con. Right now we have loads of pro and hardly any con.
    Hmmmm, we need to bash someone’s head lah!
    Where is that RealWorld/Killer/Kasim Amat & suspected KJ ?

—————————————-

They are queing up to meet PM to get billions ringgits contracts signed!!! where got time to blog!!!

68. #68 by yhsiew on Friday, 27 June 2008 - 2:33 pm

Pak Lah’s intimidation tactic of depriving Opposition led states of federal assistance in the hope that the people there will support BN in the next GE will not work. In fact the reverse could be true; federal intimidation will only seed resentment in the hearts of the electorate, which eventually drives them to rebel against BN through the ballot papers.

Kelantan is a good example where BN’s intimidation tactic failed to work. While still in office, Tun M. publicly admitted that his government would not give much support to Opposition led states including Kelantan as the people there did not support BN in
    the first place. Should his government offer generous assistance to Opposition led states, the people there would take it for granted that the assistance came from the Opposition not the government.

Having been denied of generous federal assistance, one would have thought Kelantan voters would be deterred from voting for the Opposition but turned to BN en masse. However we did not see that happening in the last two elections.

There is a danger that Pak Lah and UMNO might lose Penang for good (it appears so for Kelantan) if they continue with their heavy-hand tactic.

69. #69 by darcwil on Friday, 27 June 2008 - 3:28 pm

I dont think BN stupid enough to “punish” the Penang people just because the people voted for the PR. Did BN punish Terengganu last time when they gained victory over PAS? Or it could be another way, PR punishing Rakyat for not voting PR before this? So baseless lah these allegations. If we have such govt who want to “punish” Rakyat just because they lost… what sort of govt is this? SO i dont feel BN is “punishing” because surely, they would want to get back the 5 states in the next elections I suppose.

I stand by again that, no highways (via the PORR) is not the most excellent way to alleviate the traffic congestion problem in Penang. High fuel price, and govt wants to build highway? Contradictory what? Let’s look for more environmental friendly and economically viable projects that would also solve the problem. I’m sure it’s a blessing in disguise. Or probably YB Kit Siang (or YB Guan Eng, or whoever at all) can think of some good suggentions for Penang too.

Right now I’m with anil netto’s TRAMS for Penang campaign!

70. #70 by ShiokGuy on Friday, 27 June 2008 - 5:59 pm

Uncle KS,

Please provide more video of Parliament seating since we cannot or afford to watch it live.

Thank a milliom

Shiok Guy

71. #71 by rainbowseahorse on Friday, 27 June 2008 - 6:42 pm

Hmmm, so that’s where RealWorld/Killer/Kasim Amat & suspected KJ has gone yah! Queing up to meet PM to get billions ringgits contracts signed!
    Hope he got those APs and ‘halah fuel oil’ monopoly for our joint venture company, “RealWorld”!

72. #72 by bennylohstocks on Friday, 27 June 2008 - 6:44 pm

…sorry not for anyone

IS ROBERT KOUK STILL A PITA?

73. #73 by undergrad2 on Friday, 27 June 2008 - 7:19 pm

Sorry guys!!

A re-posting on an earlier thread which would explain the outburst from he who once slogged for the BN government throughout his entire working life but pretends he has not, and says he got decorated with the PPN by the Agong (medal for long service) and says he is Chinese when he is not. What sort of people call his own people names pretending to be somebody he is not, and then appear under another handle to bash the Chinese?? This is not in keeping with the ideals of the DAP. In fact it has nothing to do with DAP ideals of freedom and equality for all. He must think we are all stupid.

“Limkamput,

Don’t try to change the topic.

Are you going to deny that you’ve been in government service all your working life and therefore part of the establishment. You criticized the government so much, hiding your ethnic identity as you criticized your own people and then appearing under different handles to bash the Chinese. You have some really serious issues, don’t you??

Are you going to deny that in return for your ‘dedicated’ service to the BN government, you have been awarded the PPN medal for long service which are also given to drivers?”

74. #74 by undergrad2 on Friday, 27 June 2008 - 7:39 pm

It is OK to be critical of the BN government and critical of your own race for failing to measure up. After all it is not the ordinary folks, the Malays who are only the beneficiaries of the racist policy of this government. It is their leaders who use such policies to enrich themselves and their families.

But it is not OK to pretend, mislead and bash posters for writing their 2-cents on the issues.

We are all here to put our thoughts on the issues – right or wrong. By all means criticize the opinion and not the opinion maker.

75. #75 by undergrad2 on Friday, 27 June 2008 - 10:06 pm

“Hello, Ah beng, I was there earlier than you lah.” limkamput

A racial slur! Now who would say that?

76. #76 by undergrad2 on Friday, 27 June 2008 - 10:59 pm

limkamput Says:
    June 18th, 2008 (2 weeks ago) at 13: 55.50
    There is no need to discuss long and wide. ”

Translated it reads in Malay “panjang dan lebar” – a direct literal translation from Malay to English! Now who would say that??

77. #77 by undergrad2 on Friday, 27 June 2008 - 11:11 pm

Enough of distraction!!

Here is something worth commenting:

“Ex-Selangor MB Khir Toyo also accuses present Selangor administration of coercing students into registering as PKR party members as a pre-condition for state study allowances. ” MALAYSIAKINI

I don’t know about coercion but in some countries it is called lobbying.

78. #78 by limkamput on Saturday, 28 June 2008 - 2:01 am

Hello, Ah beng chai, how come you are the only one who think I am not who I am? I think the rest are perfectly fine with me. Ah beng ah beng, how are the Koreans and Hongkies today?

79. #79 by undergrad2 on Saturday, 28 June 2008 - 2:27 am

You should be comfortable in your own skin. I’m only trying to help you.

80. #80 by undergrad2 on Saturday, 28 June 2008 - 3:53 am

Interesting!

BlackEye Says:

June 26th, 2008 (2 days ago) at 23: 54.33
    “Are you still talking to yourself in your blog under different nicks, limkaput??

81. #81 by limkamput on Saturday, 28 June 2008 - 9:36 am

We are all here to put our thoughts on the issues – right or wrong. By all means criticize the opinion and not the opinion maker. undergrad2

Most perfectly said. Let’s begin with this half-baked American Ah beng @ blackeye @ bernadette @ etc etc

82. #82 by Toyol on Tuesday, 1 July 2008 - 2:31 pm

Even his own Ministers can’t be bothered to listen. Either the 9MP is a lie or his people knows it cannot be carried out! As usual, just an announcement to garner votes, Real cheap…!