Reporters “wild and dangerous beasts” who must be caged in Parliament?

Are reporters “wild and dangerous beasts” who must be caged in Parliament so that they do not run wild to “ambush” Ministers and MPs?

This is my protest in Parliament at the end of question time over the new restriction barring media representatives access to the lobby with an obscene barricade of the area.

At the beginning of the Parliament meeting today, Penang Chief Minister and DAP MP for Bagan Lim Guan Eng had protested against the ruling as tantamount to a clampdown on press freedom.

In calling for the withdrawal of the clampdown on parliamentary reporters, he said: “There is no justification whatsoever for restricting reporters to a small corner as if they pose a grave danger to security and a threat to the safety of parliamentarians. No MP has ever suffered personal injury or threats from reporters accredited to cover the Parliament.

“By imposing such restrictions merely for the personal comfort and conveniences of certain individuals would contravene the basic spirit of democracy and respect the sanctity of Parliament where reporters can carry out their duties to communicate debate on policy in an accurate and professional manner.”

Regrettably, Guan Eng was booed by Barisan Nasional MPs for taking up the cudgel on behalf of parliamentary reporters, who have also protested and launched a boycott of all press conferences or events outside the parliamentary chamber.

Deputy speaker Datuk Wan Junaidi Tuanku Jaafar, who was presiding over the sitting, was non-committal, saying that he would have to first discuss the matter with speaker Tan Sri Pandikar Amin Mulia and the other deputy speaker, Datuk Ronald Kiandee.

At about 11.05 am, I left the chamber together with Guan Eng and other DAP MPs to the Speaker’s Chamber to discuss the new press restrictions with Pandikar Amin, but was told that the Speaker would only come in for the afternoon session.

When I returned to the Chamber as I have a motion to adjourn the House to discuss Raja Petra Kamaruddin’s statutory declaration which had named three persons who were also at the scene of the murder of Mongolian national Altantuya Shaariibuuu in October 2006, which is slated after question time at 11.30 a.m, I saw on my table a letter from the Speaker rejecting in chamber my Standing Order 18 application on the ground of the on-going murder trial of Altantuya.

1. #1 by k1980 on Tuesday, 24 June 2008 - 3:23 pm

to the sore losers of BN, reporters “wild and dangerous beasts” who must be C4-ed

2. #2 by PHUAKL on Tuesday, 24 June 2008 - 3:27 pm

The pen is mightier than the sword (oops, I mean the restrictive order).

Anyway, technology will overcome these petty-minded restrictions. YBs, please take your hi tech equipment into Parliament and continuously send your messages and press releases to the reporters outside.

3. #3 by seage on Tuesday, 24 June 2008 - 3:34 pm

I would say the pen is mightier than the keris.

4. #4 by penang308 on Tuesday, 24 June 2008 - 3:35 pm

This is the time “TO CHANGE” the government!

It looks like the “PEN” is getting “MIGHTIER” than the “KRIS & C-4(BOMB)”!

5. #5 by yog7948 on Tuesday, 24 June 2008 - 3:44 pm

I think it should be the other way around.. The reporters should avoid the BN MPs pretense statements. All just the same humbug MPs as before. Claptrap…

6. #6 by smeagroo on Tuesday, 24 June 2008 - 3:46 pm

maybe bn wanna gv those 5 slots to those reporters whom they can control only…..the rest can look for crumbs

7. #7 by cheng on soo on Tuesday, 24 June 2008 - 3:46 pm

Most of the reporters are working for bn controlled newspaper? Isn’t it? then why still got problems??

8. #8 by support the truth on Tuesday, 24 June 2008 - 3:48 pm

Uncle Lim,

Why all people making noise in the parliament yesterday just to support the government technic to pacify the anger of the people. By participating in the debate, DAP, PKR and PAS are endorsing the “show” put up by the BN to show that they are doing something for the rakyat.

Looking at the episode, I will give BN 2- Palkatan Rakayat 0.
    Today the BN show off their prizes in all front pages. Rakyat continue to suffer and BN mitigate the anger with the supporting roles of Pakatan Rakyat MP.

9. #9 by Mr Smith on Tuesday, 24 June 2008 - 3:55 pm

The journalist have themselves to blame for the pathetic state they are in today. For far too long they have allowed themselves to be used, pushed around and even intimidated.

How many times at press conferences, have they been warned not to ask questions on ‘this and that’?

How many times have they been sneered at and admonished for asking ’embarrassing questions’?

How often reporters deliberately ask ‘friendly’ questions to elicit a relished response (against the Opposition) from these VIPs?

How many times reporters have been reprimanded for misquoting them?

I have seen their subservience when questioning Government VIPs.

Come on friends, redeem your pride?
    You act like poodles, they treat you like one.

Tell me, how many journalist will walk up to the PM or DPM today to get their reactions to RPK’s SD?

10. #10 by yog7948 on Tuesday, 24 June 2008 - 4:05 pm

“For a coward, everything look like ghost”. They are getting scared of their own shadows now.. If PM can pull the noise of DPM just with some “defamatory” reports, just wonder what the report can do to these inept BN goons.

11. #11 by 7even Sins on Tuesday, 24 June 2008 - 4:10 pm

The BN Ministers & MP’s are basically intimidated with the presence of journalists reason being they can’t even “Hujah” properly but to resort to hooligans tactics in the Parliament. They fear their Baboon act being reported in the press and shown in the media. By getting the journalists out of the way, the can resurface their animal instinct. Once a Baboon, always a Baboon…!!! Huhuhhhhuuu!!! Aaarrrkkkk…aaarrkkk!!!!

12. #12 by dawsheng on Tuesday, 24 June 2008 - 4:12 pm

I have grave reservations about the Attorney-General’s Chambers having lodged the police report. It is more usually the person aggrieved, especially where defamation is concerned, that lodges the report.

In this case, it should have been the persons identified in the Statutory Declaration, if at all. Furthermore, the Attorney-General is the legal adviser to the government and serves its interests and not those of individuals, notwithstanding their having a connectionwith government.

It is also mystifying how the Attorney-General could have formed the viewthat the Declaration was defamatory before apparently even looking into the allegations,more so in light of the Inspector General of Police declaring that the police would be calling up the three individuals named in theDeclaration.

One would have thought that the Attorney-General would have considered the matter as whole first before directing the lodging of the police report. This and the fact of theAttorney-General’s Chambers not having lodged a parallel report as to the fact of the allegations are suggestive of a presupposition that the declaration is false.

Read on here:

http://www.mmail.com.my/Current_News/mm/Tuesday/Opinions/20080624110129/Article/index_html

13. #13 by sammychong on Tuesday, 24 June 2008 - 4:20 pm

I think we need must open our minds by looking on both ways. If say that we allow the reporters to “ambush” the MP’s and Ministers or allowing press freedom, there is a “possibility” that the parliamentarians will be posed in grave danger and security threats. For the time being they may not be any incident regarding to that matter. But if we allow them, who knows what will happen?Maybe more worse than what that we could imagine?But 5 slots to the reporters is quite inappropriate suggestions or solutions given. It really looks like u are so desperate in controlling the press freedom. Come on, give the reporters some spaces. They are doing their work anyway. As what of the most comment says, pen is mightier than swords@guns, whatsoever. This shows that people are getting more educated towards what is happening, aren’t they?

14. #14 by philip vyti on Tuesday, 24 June 2008 - 5:02 pm

This serves them ( reporters) right. They have been licking the boots of the BN MPs. They have padded questions for them so that they will look good to the public.Hello, the public has grown wise to all this. They have no praise for anything good that the PR does.Its nothing but criticize even if they are trying to put right things that have been put wrong by BN for the past 50 years.
    TV3 is the biggest culprit. Just yesterday showing that the orang asli in Kampar having problems but these problem were brought about by the previous administration. Dont expect miracles in 100 days. Give them time and they will show the results.
    KJ today in parliament points the Selangor govts mistakes and takes of corruption. Hello look at yourself and your bandits in the mirror first. You cant take us for a ride all the time. We are able to see the light please

15. #15 by sheriff singh on Tuesday, 24 June 2008 - 6:34 pm

“Nazri directed Speaker Tan Sri Pandikar Amin Mulia to give the orders and the speaker conceded,” the backbencher told The Malaysian Insider over lunch in Parliament on condition of anonymity.”

Yes, of course. He and they must have something to hide. So now its a crime scene at the lobby.

But from the above, the Speaker reports to Nazri Aziz, the minister (small m) in charge of Parliament House, leaks and all. The Legislature reports to the Executive.

16. #16 by Richardqed on Tuesday, 24 June 2008 - 6:58 pm

Any right-minded reporter should take this an extra motivation to gather more information and evidence on the Barang Naik gang’s wrongdoings, and hand over such information to PR to expose them.

17. #17 by undergrad2 on Tuesday, 24 June 2008 - 7:26 pm

It is difficult to watch Malaysian reporters ask questions. Those are not real questions but are in fact statements. They do not understand what real journalism is or don’t want to. But can you blame them for being media whores??

18. #18 by undergrad2 on Tuesday, 24 June 2008 - 8:16 pm

“As a journalist brought up under Britain’s strict sub judice rules, I was initially surprised, even shocked, while covering the run-up to the OJ Simpson trial by the free flow of news and speculation about the case. But I do not believe it affected the jury’s verdict and I came to see it as preferable to the wall of silence that descends on British cases, even when the issues involved are of pressing public interest. In any case, the wall of silence is increasingly hard to maintain in the age of the internet, which politicians or even judges cannot control in a democracy.
    Concern has been expressed that aspects of the interrogation of suspected Oval bomber Hussein Osman, held in Italy while Britain seeks his extradition, were leaked to Italian newspapers then reprinted in ours. But is it seriously suggested that newspapers should not report this news when it was being discussed on every blog and chatroom devoted to such matters?

I do not argue that we need to go as far as the US and dispense with sub judice.”

Malaysia does not have trial by jury but only trial by judge – even in the case of capital crimes – no jury that could be contaminated by press reports. It is also time the country’s archaic contempt laws following those of Britain are reformed and made to keep abreast with developments in other jurisdictions and advances in technology.

19. #19 by dap-for-pj on Tuesday, 24 June 2008 - 9:13 pm

The restricted zone is to prevent the journalist from asking anything about RPK’s declaration!

20. #20 by milduser on Tuesday, 24 June 2008 - 9:24 pm

If the Parliament House is too small for some reasons, maybe we need a bigger one, something in the order of mega putrajaya type and get all the journalists of the world to witness our parliamentary proceedings! what say you Mr PM? World class?

21. #21 by ktteokt on Tuesday, 24 June 2008 - 9:29 pm

That goes to show how “democratic” our parliament and our government is! So much for freedom of the press, my deepest sympathies!

22. #22 by cemerlang on Tuesday, 24 June 2008 - 10:03 pm

On one hand, journalists in BENAR are fighting for freedom of expression but one another hand, restriction is put on them in Parliament. Assumably, it has something to do with the threats on SAPP because of their motion of no confidence in P.M. May be what is heard at the corridors of the Parliament is spread and fell into the wrong ears and this trigger those threats. It is just a matter of a few days between the time the motion of no confidence is announced to the time the threats are given. Journalists are the first people to receive news. Being humans, some will take side undoubtedly and pass messages that upset certain people whom they know will take action. That is why journalists are always advised to report news fairly, objectively and truthfully. The people need to know the truth because from the truth, they will be able to help make a better country. If the people are kept away from the truth, they will forever think that the country is a paradise and does not need any improvement.

Malaysia has a lot of red tape and bureaucracy. So she does not need another bottle necked powerful person to so called advises because these advises only serve as obstuction of expression.

May be in exchange for the barricade, the Parliament’s sitting should be televised at longer hours. Or why not just televise the whole sitting everyday ?

23. #23 by limkamput on Tuesday, 24 June 2008 - 10:03 pm

Sometimes journalists are spoil brats too. That was my experience in dealing with them. They think they are special people, but the reality is most of them can’t even ask relevant and pertinent questions. In Malaysia, they are good in sucking up too.

24. #24 by yog7948 on Tuesday, 24 June 2008 - 10:22 pm

“Who are the six ‘option holders’ of Petronas?”

http://www.malaysiakini.com/letters/84969

Anyone aware of this C4? 80% sold to this people below market value so that they could slaughter us for good. WTF.. Hope this news is “defamatory” also.

25. #25 by dawsheng on Tuesday, 24 June 2008 - 10:41 pm

Reporters and journalists in Malaysia always felt that they are more educated than ordinary people, maybe it is because they know how to write a few fine lines, but they are essentially poor in telling the truth. What is missing as far as our journalism is concern is guts, most of them were born without it. Conclusion, they became “wild and dangerous beasts” who must be caged in parliament. Pathetic!

26. #26 by StevePCH on Tuesday, 24 June 2008 - 10:54 pm

haha …. don’t worry. all this ‘clampdown” on press will definately backfire. BN now can’t dissipate information as efficient as PR. Even the MSM is being barred. well done , BN !!! PR should really show that you are really competant to govern the not only state but at Federal level. Be united with all issues and iron out those at loggerheads. Restriction of press is definately an act of shear desperation. Malaysian public, especially with so many current issues , be it Altantuya case,BMC,Fuel,MAS,Toll,Corruption,Crime or other trivials are Fed-up.

27. #27 by DAPPKR on Tuesday, 24 June 2008 - 10:55 pm

Haha

this is so predictable to be happening

28. #28 by Anak Malaysia on Tuesday, 24 June 2008 - 11:01 pm

Sad “D” Day for press freedom in the history of Malaysia. BN MPs from the Backbenchers Club are too shameful to face the truth music from their Sabahan MPs after knowing that their comrades are planning for a motion of NON CONFIDNECE against PM, Pak Lah but failed to materialise on Monday, 23 June 2008.

The best methods to avoid the PAPARAZI reporters and press workers from hammering more questions on weak BN leaders for voting for the prices hike motion and to avoid the “MALU” syndrome in their BN camp is to create a barrier of entry/ barricades in the House of Parliament.

Now all local reporters and photographers have become a serious “Security Threat” in their uncensored media reports and invading the privacy of BN at the public gallery. Overnight the friendly press workers ate too dangerous for BN camp now.

Many editors from local media expressed their sadness (exclude Utusan Group always obeyed their Master orders to publish racist issues, untrue stories and censored agendas ) quoted that their reporters and photographers are badly demoralised and hurted by such BN uncilivized actions to treat them like second/third-class citizens.

We applauded to all reporters and photographers for boycotting the cruel government and stand firm on their decisions for the sake of unity and press freedom. It is indeed a BLACK MONDAY for the Press The federal government and BN MPs have been critizing other Western press workers for biazed reporting about Malaysia but they have failed to look at themselves on their uncalled and uncivilized acts against the local press workers.

BIG Foot of the Backbenchers Club deputy chairman Datuk Bung Mokhtar Radin tried to become a HERO by removing the barricades to save the BN faces and bad publicity on BN ochestrated actions against the friendly PAPARAZI press workers. Luckily, BIG MONKEY is unable to stand tall in destroying the barricades. Otherwise, we will see more actions between both BIG FOOT versus BIG MONKEY in the House.

Lastly, we look forward from some Malaysian MPs to throw shoes,under garments, laptops, chairs, handphones and etc at each others like Tawainese or Korean MPs in forthcoming Parliament sittings if the two Sabahan MP heros will appear to table their motions against their Master to step down . So it is better for BN MPs to do a “Trial Test” run on putting barricades to stop all PAPARAZI press workers for covering more SHAMEFUL EVENTs inside and outside the Parliament.

What a BIG Shame to members of BN Backbenchers Club ?

What a good test from BN government? BRAVO .>>MALAYSIA BOLEH !!

Nothing to comments by a simple remark:

A BLACK MONDAY FOR PRESS FREEDOM IN MALAYSIA.

29. #29 by simply on Tuesday, 24 June 2008 - 11:12 pm

http://limkamput-nincompoop.blogspot.com/2008/06/business-of-governing-country.html

Let’s read what limkamput writes here, We have to many current issues to tackle now. We want our politicians get into the business of governing the country!

30. #30 by yhsiew on Tuesday, 24 June 2008 - 11:37 pm

I was taken aback by such imposition of restriction on parliamentary reporters. How can the Parliament seclude itself from the public and operate in shrouded secrecy? Are we not retrogressing after decades of democratization and liberalization? Hope Malaysia will not be another Myanmar!

31. #31 by lucia on Tuesday, 24 June 2008 - 11:46 pm

don’t blame the journalists. to me, i feel if they can, they would like to report the truth or report everything but it is the ‘higher up hands’ that restricted them from doing so. they do not have the freedom. that’s why we must push for media freedom. that’s why we need your support to petition the government for media freedom, so please sign the memo!
    lucia, benar committee

32. #32 by Dr. W on Tuesday, 24 June 2008 - 11:59 pm

I think this rotten govt. has gone crazy. Other than the cases StevePCH has mentioned. What I really could not stand is the ever-arrogance displayed by these thick-skinned crocodiles!

What makes them so proud about themselves, being the most hated govt. in Malaysian history!? Not even during Mahathir’s time; although everyone is well-awared of how corrupted and cruel this old man was, at least he lived in reality.

For whatever reason it may be, please flush these stubborn dirts down the pipe for good. Even if PR could not do it this time, it is fine, we know how hard it is dealing with these arrogant …

WE’LL DO IT TOGETHER IN THE NEXT GE!!!!!! STAY UNITED AND CLEAN THOUGH. FULFILL WHATEVER YOU HAVE PROMISED US!

33. #33 by yog7948 on Wednesday, 25 June 2008 - 12:01 am

incriminating the reporters are unjust. End of the day, they are just people gathering news from others to read.. unless they own their own press and license, they don’t have the word on what to publish/print. it’s all on the editor and owner who decide.

It’s the freedom of speech that really matters. if you have that than you can see all the “hot” new coming out. Government approves permit for Sex motivated books and papers but not for a truth publishing paper..

If these reporters are sacked or intimidated for writing the truth, who gonna feed their family.. It’s really unfair just to leash out at them. The real culprits are the government who decide what to print.. Reformasi..FREEDOM OF SPEECH .. My foot..

34. #34 by limkamput on Wednesday, 25 June 2008 - 12:42 am

yog7948,
    I think it is too easy just to blame everything on the government. But who is the government. Didn’t the government is made up of us the people? So the journalists are not at fault because they are just earning a living. Then by extension, the editors are also earning a living and therefore should not be blamed. The media owners are not at fault because it is their capital and investment that is on the line. They have to earn profits for themselves and their shareholders.

Now, if we look beyond this, the civil servants also can’t do much because they too are earning a living. So also are AG Chamber, ACA, and even the Judiciary. Everybody is earning a living. I think there is a lot of difference between earning a living and sucking up. It call into question the ethos of Malaysians. Who are we as people of this land? Are we forever spineless and behaving like a ostrich hiding our heads in the sand? At some point, I guess we have to change. There is saying that says we deserve the government we get. Every one of us has a role to play. It is just too over simplistic to blame everything on the “government”.

35. #35 by khch01 on Wednesday, 25 June 2008 - 1:12 am

Didn’t PM say the restriction of journalist is for security reason in Parliament. No place is secured and safe now in Malaysia. Parliament is the last line of defence.

36. #36 by monsterball on Wednesday, 25 June 2008 - 4:55 am

UMNO experts must have found out reporters are more daring and keep reporting truths…..not like before….afraid of them.
    Furthermore..oppositions are plentiful now.
    So…UMNO create and excuse…and get rid or those …before getting the chance to interview oppositions…and anyone..who does not agree with UMNO… Parliament House is out of boundary for them.
    Here is a classic example…UMNO thinks…everything belongs to them…and they can do as they like.
    The Parliament House is for Malaysians..and democracy to flourish..and reporters must be respected for a comfortable place to rest and even take short naps..to wait for someone..for long long hours…to interview.
    I guess..most reporters want to interview oppositions….and UMNO cannot stand being somewhat insulted.

37. #37 by monsterball on Wednesday, 25 June 2008 - 5:20 am

Maybe all the reporters rushed out ..seeing Nazri and Lim Kit Siang coming out.
    Nazri smiled…but all reporters ignored him and walk passed by him…to meet Lim. Very malu la..for Nazri.
    Or maybe nowadays …reporters are more interested to interview oppositions….than UMNO guys.
    Just imagine…they treat Parliament House also belong to UMNO… to do as they like.

38. #38 by budak on Wednesday, 25 June 2008 - 7:02 am

Malaysian “macam monyet” MP had shown their tails to the world… furthermore “macam monyet” party Speaker’s endorsing their “macam monyet” MP acts…

no wonder most people in the world still think Malaysian live on treetop…!

to make the facts right, we’re actually 1st World facilities, 2nd Class Citizen, 3rd World mentality in the “Warlord” era… :-)

as long as Malaysia governed by morons no other way to change the World perception…

39. #39 by k1980 on Wednesday, 25 June 2008 - 7:38 am

80% of the oil produced by Petronas is not sold directly to the world market but is channelled through six ‘option holders’ who obtain the supply from Petronas at below market prices.

These option holder agents are the ones reaping the benefits in the oil price hikes. Who are these people? Why are there in the first place? Why has such a system been created for Petronas? Are these people, in fact, representing certain private interests?

It is also understood that this supply through the option holders is sold by contracts with a binding agreement for 20 or 30 years, causing huge losses for Petronas when oil price increases, as Petronas would then have to continue selling at the old agreed price.
    http://www.malaysiakini.com/letters/84969

40. #40 by taiking on Wednesday, 25 June 2008 - 8:47 am

Something clearly have gone wrong. I thought the main stream media are all owned by political parties. It would be easier for those idiots to direct their chief editors to take things easy and superficially and never to probe. After all malaysians are people who take things easy, very superficial in nature and unquestioning in attitude.

So why the big fuss? Why the big show? The press will do you guys no harm. In fact they can do you no harm. You are the boss. Remember. You have Printing Presses Act. Remember. And oh judges. Yes and judges. And ISA, and OSA, and and C4. And also bomb experts who are trained to handle explosives. And to ensure complete elimination, you have important people whom you could call upon as witnesses.

Why?

Why?

41. #41 by Jameswong on Wednesday, 25 June 2008 - 9:18 am

Ini adalah projek Barisan Nasional, Malaysia Boleh !!!

42. #42 by Tulip Crescent on Wednesday, 25 June 2008 - 10:13 am

Why is it that wherever Nazri goes, there are always such problems? Is he cursed?

Look at his short record. When de facto Law Minister, he made so very many gaffes.

Maybe we must get him to look after sampah. Even then, that is risky because if the sampah is not collected, health problems will emerge – to our collective detriment.

The right thing to do is to put him to pasture.

43. #43 by Tulip Crescent on Wednesday, 25 June 2008 - 10:19 am

But then again, putting him to pasture may result in him contaminating the ground instead of fertilising it.

What shall we do with a amuck minister?

44. #44 by lakilompat on Wednesday, 25 June 2008 - 11:02 am

That Oxford kid is pretty smart to advise PL to do so. This will make BN goons comfortable without confronting to press.

Now the BPR is with Barang Naik goons what u gonna do?

45. #45 by yog7948 on Wednesday, 25 June 2008 - 12:56 pm

LimKamput Sir.. Thanks for pointing out. All thou I agree with the people being spineless. Things I wrote was entirely based on my personal experience. I’m saying this cos government are the policy makers, they are the actual rulers now and they should lead by example. In our country, there is no more peoples government.. Only selected people can join that group and u really need to be corrupted to do so. Can you just name one BN minister who is truly a people’s leader. As I see, there is none.

I was in government service, there are still a lot of honest and sincere people working but always left out in matters of promotion or other opportunity . If a minister is sincere, the subordinates at least will try to be sincere too. we was stalled our promotion just because we pointed out certain malpractice in our organization. Even asked to “keep quiet” on those things as high level people has made the decision. There were so much mismanagement been done and there was nothing we could do just because just being a subordinates.

Our name was blacklisted for voting oppositions in GE. I opted for early retirement and now living as the way a wanted. The others stayed back. That’s why I keep on saying it’s the governments fault. How to kick out or reform a department or just say the government when the chief himself is corrupted. I know it’s hard to find a sincere person now in politics.. but I’m sure there are still a plenty of them..

Even that plenty can’t initiate much if their chief is not sincere.. IF there is a true leader , I ‘m very sure the whole government can be reformed. For now.. just hope and do my part in every GE.

46. #46 by limkamput on Wednesday, 25 June 2008 - 3:03 pm

yog7948,
    What you said is interesting. I have to get back to you later due to work.

47. #47 by undergrad2 on Wednesday, 25 June 2008 - 5:59 pm

“In our country, there is no more peoples government.. Only selected people can join that group and u really need to be corrupted to do so. I was in government service …” yog7948

Don’t you know limkamput was a government employee having worked in government service all his life, and recently retired to become a ‘consultant’ and even has been awarded by the Agong for long service?

48. #48 by limkamput on Wednesday, 25 June 2008 - 11:49 pm

Leadership by example, good governance, and sincerity do not come naturally. If so, we would not have so much trouble around the world. That is why from the enlightenment to the present day, we never fail to talk about separation of power, checks and balance and freedom of the press etc. These are prerequisites to good governance. Occasionally history may produce men and women of character to lead the nation. But these are few and far in between. We the people must continue to agitate for change and demand for compliance of good governance. It is never easy, but the people must change first. We must learn to be more open, self assured, liberal, well-informed, and cosmopolitan. We must continue to share and educate others like many of us here do. We can never have an enlightened government when most of people are ill informed, poorly educated, and poverty stricken. If we read through the blog here and elsewhere, I must say there is still a long way to go for us as nation. We have not even considered those who have not come to the blog at all.

Now, as you said, if the government only consists of corrupted group of “privileged” people, there must be reasons why this is so. It must also because the people are not vigilant, not clever and not discerning enough to choose honest and sincere leaders. It must also because the people can continue be manipulated by racism, religious bigotry and parochialism.

I agree with you that perhaps you know more because of your civil service background. That is no cause for despair. You must continue to contribute and educate the less informed, like for example the undergrad2 here, who seems to know only law, court procedure and jurisprudence.

49. #49 by undergrad2 on Thursday, 26 June 2008 - 1:09 am

“You must continue to contribute and educate the less informed, like for example the undergrad2 here, who seems to know only law, court procedure and jurisprudence.” limkamput

Why?? Are the following not FACTS?? Shouldn’t you be proud of it?

Don’t you know limkamput was a government employee having worked in government service all his life, and recently retired to become a ‘consultant’ and for his long and loyal service to King and country has been suitably awarded “the medal for long service”??

Tell me it is not true and I’ll go away to some island and enjoy my place in the sun.

50. #50 by undergrad2 on Thursday, 26 June 2008 - 1:35 am

An interesting observation by someone on this blog!

“I think Limkamput is another joker like Kasim Amat who love to write rubbish, non facts and non figures supporting statements but criticising other writers and bloggers here. What a shame to both Limkamput and Kasim Amat? Your nickname “Limkamput” well means you are “Kamput/Koyak” type of person is indeed suitable to replace your surname. In the name of ALLAH, such person is useless grabbage scum or “sampah masyarakat”.

51. #51 by saiful on Thursday, 26 June 2008 - 7:58 am

hey there,

Hmmmm….it seems Mr Lim Kit Siang is manipulating something here……for those that really knew bout this thing….

MR LIM KIT SIANG HIMSELF THAT described reporters as beast and dangerous animal……..not others MPs in the Parliment…..

what a silly jokes by this old man……for others like Lim Guan Eng….he is more relevant in saying thing………he is much better than his father…….

i hope its not like father like son………….

52. #52 by undergrad2 on Thursday, 26 June 2008 - 9:02 am

An interesting observation by someone on this blog!

“I think Limkamput is another joker like Kasim Amat who love to write rubbish, non facts and non figures supporting statements but criticising other writers and bloggers here. What a shame to both Limkamput and Kasim Amat? Your nickname “Limkamput” well means you are “Kamput/Koyak” type of person is indeed suitable to replace your surname. In the name of ALLAH, such person is useless grabbage scum or “sampah masyarakat”.

53. #53 by limkamput on Thursday, 26 June 2008 - 10:41 am

That sh!t from so-called UAE. If some of you are taken in by him, you fellows must be naive and stupid. I expect the bloggers here to be smarter than that. But then are we? I have implicitly stated that even bloggers, despite many would like to think otherwise, need education and awareness programme.

For you undergrad2, i have long noted you have nothing good to say on others especially those others are smarter and knowleageable than you. You are a smarter fellow. But you must learn to accept that there are many out there smarter than you. Please learn to accept that.

54. #54 by undergrad2 on Thursday, 26 June 2008 - 10:59 am

Limkamput,

Don’t try to change the topic.

Are you going to deny that you’ve been in government service all your working life and therefore part of the establishment. You criticized the government so much, hiding your ethnic identity as you criticized your own people and then appearing under different handles to bash the Chinese. You have some really serious issues, don’t you??

Are you going to deny that in return for your ‘dedicated’ service to the BN government, you have been awarded the PPN medal for long service which are also given to drivers?

55. #55 by i_love_malaysia on Thursday, 26 June 2008 - 11:33 am

Why the reporters were barred from lobby???
    there are many answers to this, one of them is that the reporters were telling the truth now and being penalised. There’s no more good news other than bad news from BN govt, so how do you ask the reporters to write good things about the BN govt when they could not find any. In order to keep their jobs and people buying their newspapars, they have to write something, but they cant lie because people can find out from blogs that tell the truth!!!
    Expect some major shakeups in the lineup of newspapers’ editors soon!!!

56. #56 by limkamput on Thursday, 26 June 2008 - 4:34 pm

Please don’t insult the awards like AMN or PPN. These awards are given by the King. Don’t insult the awards althuogh you may insult some who don’t deserve to receive those awards. I don’t know whether this is subversion. You care to advise yourself? I really got no time to argue with you these few days. Need to earn a living, unlike some who enjoys the best of both world. In the US, one can actually be a free rider to live comfortably.

57. #57 by undergrad2 on Thursday, 26 June 2008 - 7:02 pm

The word apparently you couldn’t find is “freeloader” and it is not “free rider”! But unlike you, I’m not going to insult you for not knowing like you insult others here.

Please do not try to change the topic.

Nobody insults any thing or anybody. If you have to cower under some handle and masquerades as a Chinese to convince others to read what you write, then it is your choice but at least don’t go around bashing your own race and the BN government that you spent your entire life working for like as if you never benefited from it! Like I said earlier you have some serious issues with yourself and need to see a psychiatrist. People with narcissistic personalities suffering from paranoid schizophrenia always do!

DAP welcomes all who believe in its ideals – Malays included, even those with long service awards like PPN.

58. #58 by BlackEye on Thursday, 26 June 2008 - 11:54 pm

Are you still talking to yourself in your blog under different nicks, limkaput??

59. #59 by KS R on Friday, 27 June 2008 - 2:18 am

All BN MP confuse state they do not know what they are doing. Because everyday new issue surfacing time BN close shop and preapre the to go to jail and relax or hang for the past offence they did

60. #60 by taiking on Friday, 27 June 2008 - 12:41 pm

Claimed misunderstanding. Pure denial. Absolute refusal to comment. Finger pointing.

Are we expected to take all these as proper and satisfactory answers to the simple question why journalists and photographers are not allowed to approach MPs and Ministers along the corridor of Parliament House?

Are they, MPs and Ministers, not comfortable with the press and the media?

They are public figures. Dont forget that. And all public figures must maintain a public presence and appearance. Anyone who cant take that really ought to keep away from politics and remain a private person and lead a private life.

The decision to block the media actually amounts to more than a mere stupidity. It is in fact a magnificent display of poorly planned and thought out stupidity.

61. #61 by i_love_malaysia on Friday, 27 June 2008 - 12:53 pm

limkamput Says:

Yesterday at 16: 34.59
    Please don’t insult the awards like AMN or PPN. These awards are given by the King. Don’t insult the awards althuogh you may insult some who don’t deserve to receive those awards. I don’t know whether this is subversion. You care to advise yourself? I really got no time to argue with you these few days. Need to earn a living, unlike some who enjoys the best of both world. In the US, one can actually be a free rider to live comfortably.
    —————————

limkamput,

If the awards were given to those dont deserve it, it showed that there’s a problem with the awarding process i.e. how can an underserving people got the award!!! if too many underserving people are awarded, it wont be deserving to get one!!! no wonder few people want to get a Datukship anymore as too many undeserving people are getting it!!!

62. #62 by limkamput on Saturday, 28 June 2008 - 9:52 am

Cars cause accidents, sometimes fatal ones. Should we not drive then, I_love-Malaysia. So if there are non deserving ones, we should therefore not respecting the deserving ones. The thinking process must be clear. What do you mean by too many? Have you compared the number of deserving ones and those that are not. If Sdr Lim get is Tansriship or Tunship, do you think he is deserving even i know there are many Tuns who are not. I think right in the heart of each recipient, he/she knows whether the award is befiting and deserving or not.

Of course there are weaknesses in the awarding process. But then, in life which is perfect. We criticise and condemn, but right in our heart, we must also realise that we are at times no angel also. I don’t about you all, i think about this all the time whenever i comment here or write somewhere else.

Freeloader or free rider, what difference do they make? We in Malaysia are perfectly fine with free rider. Only the half baked American, the Ah beng type, who want to enjoy the best of both worlds would point out everything that is “american”. To this ah beng, even the sh!t of americans smells good. Hello, ah beng chai, i was there much earlier than you. So don’t come and give me all the baloney which i am sure only the americans use this word. But have you heard of this?