Emergency debate in Parliament on Raja Petra’s allegations on Altantuya murder

I have given notice for an emergency debate tomorrow on Raja Petra Kamaruddin’s allegations on the Altantuya Shaariibuu murder case.

My notice for an adjournment of Parliament tomorrow reads:

“That the House gives leave to MP for Ipoh Timor YB Lim Kit Siang to adjourn the House under S.O. 18 (1) to discuss a definite matter of urgent public importance – the statutory declaration dated June 18, 2008 by blogger Raja Petra Kamaruddin implicating the Prime Minister, the Deputy Prime Minister and the Deputy Prime Minister’s wife over the case of murder of Mongolian beauty Altantuya Shaariibuu.

“Raja Petra alleged that he had been reliably informed that between about 10pm on October 19, 2006 and early hours of the following day, the night Altantuya was murdered, three other people were also present at the scene of crime, viz:

(a) Datin Seri Rosmah Mansor, wife of the DPM;

(b) Acting Colonel Aziz Buyong (then Lt. Col) a C4 expert;

(c) Aziz’s wife, Norhayati, described as ‘one of Rosmah’s ADC’.

“Raja Petra alleged that Aziz was the person who placed the C4 on various parts of Altantuya’s body witnessed by Rosmah and Norhayati.

“He said these three people have thus far not been implicated in the murder nor called as witnesses by the prosecution in the ongoing trial at the Shah Alam High Court. He was aware that it is a crime not to reveal evidence that may help the police in its investigation of the crime.

“Raja Petra said he had been “reliably informed” that the Prime Minister has received a written report from military intelligence on the matter and which was handed over to his son-in-law Khairy Jamaluddin for safekeeping. One of the Rulers had also been briefed about the allegations.

“The credibility and legitimacy of the Abdullah premiership and government will suffer a mortal blow if the Prime Minister, Deputy Prime Minister and Rosmah continue to remain silent on Raja Petra’s bombshell allegations in his statutory declaration.”

The Star today carried a report the police will be investigating into Raja Petra’s allegations. This does not in any way absolve the responsibility of the Prime Minister, Deputy Prime Minister and Rosmah from making an immediate clarification on Raja Petra’s allegations, which is the basis for my notice for an emergency debate in Parliament.

The Star report today is as follows:

Cops to probe RPK’s claims

By LOURDES CHARLES

KUALA LUMPUR: Police will be calling up Malaysia Today editor Raja Petra Kamaruddin to investigate allegations in his recent statutory declaration on purported facts related to the murder of Altantuya Shaariibuu.

Inspector-General of Police Tan Sri Musa Hassan said the three individuals named in the document filed on June 18 would also be called up.

In the declaration, Raja Petra claimed that the trio – one of them a prominent woman – were present at the scene during the murder of the Mongolian translator in October 2006.

Copies of the two-paged declaration together with the identity of the trio have been posted on various blog sites.

In the document, Raja Petra said he was “reliably informed” of these allegations.

Musa said the matter could be sub judice as the Altantuya murder case was still being heard.
He also said Raja Petra must be “brave enough to face the consequences if he is bold enough” to make the allegations.

Meanwhile, the Attorney-General’s Chambers has lodged a police report against Raja Petra over the statutory declaration.

Attorney-General Tan Sri Abdul Gani Patail said the allegations were “highly defamatory” and if found untrue, those making the allegations would have to face the consequences.
“We want to investigate because we want the truth. As far as I am concerned, we have to look at it seriously.”

“If it’s true, we will act accordingly. If not, the writer will be investigated,” he said, adding that the report was lodged in Putrajaya on Saturday.

Raja Petra said he expected to be called up.

He said he was bold enough to face the consequences.

Print Friendly

1. #1 by lakilompat on Monday, 23 June 2008 - 2:41 pm

All these C4 i supposed are imported from France, and you must be well trained to install a C4, not ordinary theives can do. So far in Malaysia the most dangerous criminals are the Mamak Gang with M16 guns. Hence who is the mastermind behind C4?

After the case, Najis seems to go out less to purchase jet, and submarine.

2. #2 by nkeng11 on Monday, 23 June 2008 - 2:47 pm

What does it take for the Police, AG and the PM to get it right?

Do they want God to come down and talk to them? Police reports seldom see the issue/s investigated and resolved to the satisfaction of the person aggrieved.

Now, RPK has a SD and yet they are dragging their legs. On small write up about “Sending Altantuya’s murderers to Hell”, the whole police contingent spend time and haul up RPK.

What is this? What is the meaning of this?

Do we need to protect people just because they are some politicians?

Are politicians above the law?

Do we have to wait at the traffice lights for 3 minutes just to wait for a mosquito to cross the road?

Do we have to build a Wesport for only few people to use?

Do we need to spend millions and never to recover it on some students whose interest is to play and go on playing without any serious attentionn to obtaining a useful university degree?

Do we need to continue accept stupid fuel price increase of 40 % and 63 % on petrol and diesel to get back 600+ ringgit a year.

Why can they increase less and forget about the rebate?

Who are they enriching?

Why can the politicians have the Raayats’ interest at heart rather than their own?

3. #3 by boh-liao on Monday, 23 June 2008 - 2:50 pm

These are the most serious allegations against the highest office bearers of the nation! Will there be any cover up?

On another note, heartiest congratualtions to Mohd Zakry Abdul Latif and Mohd Fairuzizuan Mohd Tazari for their superb consistent performances against the best players of the world in front of badminton fans, without any 5 or 10% discount or advantage. Syabas!

If only all Malaysians, irrespective of race, can follow their positive, hard-working, and never-say-die attitude (without hiding behind the affirmative NEP shield and without demanding handicaps or discounts), we will be a truly great nation!

4. #4 by isahbiazhar on Monday, 23 June 2008 - 2:54 pm

We have to leave it to the police to investigate and come out with the truth.Though the trial is on any other supporting evidence might be useful.To have all these high flown dignatories insidethe scene reminds me of how the powerful can go to any extent to get rid of anybody who might bring out the truth.The police have no right to brush aside any incriminating evidence even though it involves those in the government.

5. #5 by Jong on Monday, 23 June 2008 - 3:31 pm

The Cyclone Twister has arrived with even more twists!

Prime Minister Abdullah Ahmad Badawi and Deputy PM Mohd Najib Abdul Razak cannot remain silent any longer now that Raja Petra’s Statutory Declaration has somewhat implicate them.

Whether Raja Petra’s SD holds water or not does not matter, but as the nation’s leaders – the PM and Deputy PM, they must have a reputation that’s whiter than white and come out clean, and be seen to be clean in the interest of Malaysia.

RPK’s Statutory Declaration obviously does not go down well for the world to see and definitely not for investors confidence when we have the nation’s No.1 & No.2 and wife of the No.2 implicated in a bizzare murder of a foreigner – Mongolian woman Altantuya Shaariibuu.

6. #6 by Bigjoe on Monday, 23 June 2008 - 4:00 pm

The thing that is very glaring is this. With the facts of the case, why is Najib, Rosmah, her staff, people in the defense department have even YET been questioned and statements taken by the police? Its clear avoidance. So

Why avoid? The best way to clear their name is to investigate and make it public in the trial. The more things are not done, the more the Malaysian public sees it as clearer guilt.

Frankly I have already made up my mind they are guilty by the effort to avoid..

7. #7 by i_love_malaysia on Monday, 23 June 2008 - 4:04 pm

In Boleh land, even the former DPM DSAI and many judges, including Lord President were subjected to injustice, not to mention the non-supreme races & the poors and helpless of the supreme race!!! so it is not surprising that RPK might be silenced by all means in order to protect themselves from prosecuted. But RPK was not the withness in this instance, it was someone else, who is this someone else that provided all the damaging information if it is true??? is there any similarity to former health minister sex tape case??? i.e. to prevent him from moving up??? May God bless our country and prevent it from falling into the hands of the evil ones!!!

8. #8 by badak on Monday, 23 June 2008 - 4:07 pm

AG Chambers to investigate RPK because its highly defamatory.My question is, since when AG CHAMBERS investigate a third party.The 3 persons named by RPK got nothing to do with the goverment.Defamatory cases are civil cases.
    The 3 person name by RPK must first make a police report.Then file a civil suit.
    Yes one of them is a goverment servant ,but so far RPK has not make a report againts the goverment.All he said was that the court had not call this 3 persons as witnesess or were they implicated in the case.

9. #9 by badak on Monday, 23 June 2008 - 4:26 pm

Just heard that Post Malaysia SDN BHD is paid RM15 for each RM625 rebate given out.WAHHHH this kind of profit my company also want.To bad im not an UMNO crony.

10. #10 by Mr Smith on Monday, 23 June 2008 - 4:39 pm

It is very unlikely the motion will be allowed. The Speaker will always come out with gobbledygook to squash the any attempt to embarrass the PM and DPM.
    The IGP and AG seem to be interested in questioning RPK to get to the truth . I think when the “truth of the matter” is they to probably know the truth.
    Then why should he threaten RPK? His statement is confrontational.

11. #11 by lextcs on Monday, 23 June 2008 - 5:05 pm

only a hudud law will clean up the whole mess in our country….

12. #12 by lextcs on Monday, 23 June 2008 - 5:05 pm

PAS its time to act and act fast!

13. #13 by limkamput on Monday, 23 June 2008 - 5:06 pm

Ya, only hudud will shut your …lextcs

14. #14 by monsterball on Monday, 23 June 2008 - 5:11 pm

100% Your request for a debate will be denied’
    Almost sure… police will say…after talking to RPK..he did not reveal anything{as expected }…..no reason to investigated on his report….no case against Rosmah.
    They will say….if police should act based on sworn statement of anyone…and that person do not reveal concrete informations to them…upon questioning him…there cannot act……no evidences!
    RPK is simply…. a very brave special Malaysian….that needs all Malaysians to support him.

15. #15 by lextcs on Monday, 23 June 2008 - 5:14 pm

only a criminal would be afraid of hudud laws……r u a kamput criminal?

16. #16 by helpless on Monday, 23 June 2008 - 5:15 pm

DPM,PM and SIL shall be charged for conspiration if the RP’s SD do not get their clarification.

Wish Malaysia’s corruption index will improve to No. 1 with the truth of the charge.

17. #17 by ShiokGuy on Monday, 23 June 2008 - 5:20 pm

This is going to be interesting in the next few days.,,
    Will it be just silent off?
    I most country those implicated whether true or not, shall step down so the investigation can be done without interfere..

Here in boleh land… well.. boleh la

Shiok Guy

18. #18 by i_love_malaysia on Monday, 23 June 2008 - 5:28 pm

lextcs Says:

Today at 17: 05.16 (13 minutes ago)
    only a hudud law will clean up the whole mess in our country….

———————————–

It got nothing to do with the laws!!! You can have the best laws in town, but if it is never carried out with justice, it is just a law in the text book!!!

19. #19 by lextcs on Monday, 23 June 2008 - 5:31 pm

suppose we put raja P as our judge….but he is only a man…..fear God laws……

20. #20 by lextcs on Monday, 23 June 2008 - 5:40 pm

let PAS govern and those laws will be practice to the full effect……see how low crimes are in those hudud laws countries

21. #21 by limkamput on Monday, 23 June 2008 - 5:43 pm

What rubbish is this – “suppose we put raja P as our judge….but he is only a man…..fear God laws……”. ???? You can’t even write one proper sentence so just shut your a**.

China executes those who take bribes, is corruption there any better? We execute drug traffickers, is drug trafficking here any better? [deleted]

22. #22 by lextcs on Monday, 23 June 2008 - 5:50 pm

well….go see for yourselves whether you can be a criminal in china or spore….at least u know that if u steal u dont die but your hands are chopped off….fine if u want to take the chance …but dont get caught….that way….less criminals…less fear….get it nimkamput

23. #23 by riversandlakes on Monday, 23 June 2008 - 6:03 pm

Go Uncle Lim for the truth!

24. #24 by raven77 on Monday, 23 June 2008 - 6:10 pm

What Mahathir has sown over 20 years, we today reap….

25. #25 by digard on Monday, 23 June 2008 - 6:13 pm

It is actually getting amazing now:
    The AG drops his face mask another time, and declares the bad chap outright: “highly defamatory” and files a police report. Had RPK said, the C4-expert had been me, the AG would not even have bothered to notice. Keep the AG under surveillance, he will have to answer to few embarrassing questions in future!

lextcs, what a mindless statement! Do you think the means of punishment would have done any difference? Do you really believe Hudud Law could guarantee miscarriages of justice when the influential few stick together to protect a prominent figure? How? See!
    And the punishment is not the deterrent neither; the culprits know all too well what to expect in the hereafter.

26. #26 by m.hwang on Monday, 23 June 2008 - 6:27 pm

“Attorney-General Tan Sri Abdul Gani Patail said the allegations were “highly defamatory” and if found untrue, those making the allegations would have to face the consequences.”

Looks like the AG has already decided? What a farce!

27. #27 by kun9999 on Monday, 23 June 2008 - 6:50 pm

All law are written by human therefore sure contain loop holes or injustice.

Just like the Malaysia constitution (which is the Malaysia supreme law) written that all citizen of Malaysia having the right profess and practice his own religion but what i can see many citizen of Malaysia are being punish for being apostate, so where is the law in that?

28. #28 by undergrad2 on Monday, 23 June 2008 - 6:52 pm

“Whether Raja Petra’s SD holds water or not does not matter, but as the nation’s leaders – the PM and Deputy PM, they must have a reputation that’s whiter than white and come out clean, and be seen to be clean in the interest of Malaysia.” Jong

That’s right.

Certain faces are now whiter than white!

29. #29 by Godfather on Monday, 23 June 2008 - 7:23 pm

lextcs:

UMNO’s version of laws is very simple: It does not apply to them. Be careful of what you wish for – you may lose your arms and legs for minor offences, and they will still be able to get away with murder.

30. #30 by undergrad2 on Monday, 23 June 2008 - 7:25 pm

“AG Chambers to investigate RPK because its highly defamatory.My question is, since when AG CHAMBERS investigate a third party.The 3 persons named by RPK got nothing to do with the goverment.Defamatory cases are civil cases.” badak

Sec. 499 Penal Code. Criminal defamation.

31. #31 by dawsheng on Monday, 23 June 2008 - 7:43 pm

If the first lady in waiting is innocent, RPK could have been arrested already.

32. #32 by undergrad2 on Monday, 23 June 2008 - 7:45 pm

“Frankly I have already made up my mind they are guilty by the effort to avoid..” Bigjoe

In the face of allegations, you may choose to deny what is alleged or remain silent.

In a court of law, silence is not evidence of guilt. An accused in court may exercise his right to remain silent which is his constitutional right to free speech. You cannot take that away from the accused who is presumed innocent until proven guilty. In a jury trial, the trial judge has to address the issue and give his direction to the jury that it is the right of the accused to remain silent and not take the witness in his own defense, and that they are not to interpret this as guilt.

It makes sense under certain circumstances for the accused to remain silent in order to avoid damaging cross examination by the prosecutor.

But there are no such rules in the court of public opinion.

The targets of RPK’s allegations must have been advised by their Dream Team to remain silent and maintain their silence. Anything they say will be evidence should they be charged later. We members of the public have tried them in the court of public opinion and have found them guilty.

33. #33 by dawsheng on Monday, 23 June 2008 - 7:45 pm

I think it is time the AG resign.

34. #34 by miketan142 on Monday, 23 June 2008 - 7:54 pm

Lextcs,
    Hudud law was constitute during prophet’s period.
    1500 years later, you still want to be govern by such draconian laws ?
    Move on man my fren ..

35. #35 by undergrad2 on Monday, 23 June 2008 - 8:14 pm

dawsheng Says:

Today at 19: 45.55 (18 minutes ago)
    I think it is time the AG resign.”

If he has any integrity and self-respect and any moral decency, he would have resigned a long time ago and make his living as defense lawyer. It must be a torture to wake up each morning and look at himself in the mirror. Once you taste power it is not easy to let go. He is likely to try to stay on when Pakatan takes over! This man has no shame!

36. #36 by limkamput on Monday, 23 June 2008 - 8:15 pm

lextcs, your english is not good enough to even understand what i am trying to tell you. so just shut your big mouth.

37. #37 by bennylohstocks on Monday, 23 June 2008 - 8:22 pm

Bombshells days apart…

GREAT TIMING!

38. #38 by limkamput on Monday, 23 June 2008 - 8:30 pm

Not just AG, it is almost every one. All BN members who are against the present government must belong to one of these categories:
    1. former PM or ministers;
    2. politicians who are already out of favour;
    3. politicians not given any positions.

Therefore those who hold positions and are in power now can’t really do the right things. Their pre-occupation is to sustain their positions, power and privileges.

I am losing hope of BN to manage. I am also fast losing hope of PK to effect change. We the people are scr*wed, just like everywhere else.

39. #39 by grace on Monday, 23 June 2008 - 8:41 pm

I have mu doubt that the police can do a good job. Simple case also buang case already. Withthis high profile case I believelagi no case

40. #40 by yhsiew on Monday, 23 June 2008 - 9:37 pm

I am afraid the police will act in the trio’s favor coz they are known to be pro-government.

41. #41 by Puppy-Power on Monday, 23 June 2008 - 10:09 pm

I can’t understand why PR isn’t making a fuss about it? It has been 3 days since RPK’s stat declaration. The MSM is more silent that a morbid funeral!

42. #42 by tourman53 on Monday, 23 June 2008 - 10:09 pm

Uncle Lim,
    I know you can do it.
    Save Malaysia!!
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_IIBhGGJFs4

43. #43 by humanly on Monday, 23 June 2008 - 10:53 pm

In what way is Raja Petra’s SD subjudice to the ongoing trial?

44. #44 by choonchoy on Monday, 23 June 2008 - 11:16 pm

If the DPM is innocent/and a gentleman, he should step down for the time being until the trial is over. Install and Acting DPM. But I guess that will happen when freezes over!!!

45. #45 by Jong on Monday, 23 June 2008 - 11:37 pm

“step down”? You think he dares?

46. #46 by chaiong on Monday, 23 June 2008 - 11:50 pm

Please go to “www.gutteruncensored.com” for more news on this Atantuya scandal ! You can also see her beautiful pictures!

47. #47 by mendela on Tuesday, 24 June 2008 - 12:09 am

48. #48 by tunglang on Tuesday, 24 June 2008 - 12:10 am

RPK, UR one Hell of a B52!

It is so loud and clear:
    who are those highly suspected accessaries to this heinous MURDER!

It is so scary:
    people in high position & entrusted for our security
    capable of committing such crimes without a blink.

It is insecured:
    C4 will ‘kautim’ anyone who is a threat with
    “highly defamatory” evidence.

It is burning:
    our desire to see the wrongs brought to global justice
    (Malaysian rule of law is a mockery of Kedaulatan Undang-Undang)
    regardless of who.

RPK, we the Rakyat are watching, listening & talking.
    So is the whole-wide world!

May God be with U every step of the way to justice for all.

49. #49 by andymalaysia on Tuesday, 24 June 2008 - 12:12 am

Malaysia’s good name has been repeatedly dragged into the mud, thanks to the powers-to-be hiding in the shadow and uncompetence of the Badawi administration. Erection when it’s supposed to be an election, C4-ing affairs, horrendous disclosures on the infamous 4th floor, etc.

I long to see real people, as demonstrated by the Lim family, coming to power and taking hold of the steering mast, and leading us to a better future. The way that Badawi, Najib and Khairy has been bringing the country down to the dogs, the only way we can go pursuant to a change of leadership, is up!

50. #50 by mendela on Tuesday, 24 June 2008 - 12:24 am

Once it is in The Gutterpost, it means the whole world is watching it!

1 2 3

Comments are closed.