I have given notice for an emergency debate tomorrow on Raja Petra Kamaruddin’s allegations on the Altantuya Shaariibuu murder case.
My notice for an adjournment of Parliament tomorrow reads:
“That the House gives leave to MP for Ipoh Timor YB Lim Kit Siang to adjourn the House under S.O. 18 (1) to discuss a definite matter of urgent public importance – the statutory declaration dated June 18, 2008 by blogger Raja Petra Kamaruddin implicating the Prime Minister, the Deputy Prime Minister and the Deputy Prime Minister’s wife over the case of murder of Mongolian beauty Altantuya Shaariibuu.
“Raja Petra alleged that he had been reliably informed that between about 10pm on October 19, 2006 and early hours of the following day, the night Altantuya was murdered, three other people were also present at the scene of crime, viz:
(a) Datin Seri Rosmah Mansor, wife of the DPM;
(b) Acting Colonel Aziz Buyong (then Lt. Col) a C4 expert;
(c) Aziz’s wife, Norhayati, described as ‘one of Rosmah’s ADC’.
“Raja Petra alleged that Aziz was the person who placed the C4 on various parts of Altantuya’s body witnessed by Rosmah and Norhayati.
“He said these three people have thus far not been implicated in the murder nor called as witnesses by the prosecution in the ongoing trial at the Shah Alam High Court. He was aware that it is a crime not to reveal evidence that may help the police in its investigation of the crime.
“Raja Petra said he had been “reliably informed” that the Prime Minister has received a written report from military intelligence on the matter and which was handed over to his son-in-law Khairy Jamaluddin for safekeeping. One of the Rulers had also been briefed about the allegations.
“The credibility and legitimacy of the Abdullah premiership and government will suffer a mortal blow if the Prime Minister, Deputy Prime Minister and Rosmah continue to remain silent on Raja Petra’s bombshell allegations in his statutory declaration.”
The Star today carried a report the police will be investigating into Raja Petra’s allegations. This does not in any way absolve the responsibility of the Prime Minister, Deputy Prime Minister and Rosmah from making an immediate clarification on Raja Petra’s allegations, which is the basis for my notice for an emergency debate in Parliament.
The Star report today is as follows:
Cops to probe RPK’s claims
By LOURDES CHARLES
KUALA LUMPUR: Police will be calling up Malaysia Today editor Raja Petra Kamaruddin to investigate allegations in his recent statutory declaration on purported facts related to the murder of Altantuya Shaariibuu.
Inspector-General of Police Tan Sri Musa Hassan said the three individuals named in the document filed on June 18 would also be called up.
In the declaration, Raja Petra claimed that the trio – one of them a prominent woman – were present at the scene during the murder of the Mongolian translator in October 2006.
Copies of the two-paged declaration together with the identity of the trio have been posted on various blog sites.
In the document, Raja Petra said he was “reliably informed” of these allegations.
Musa said the matter could be sub judice as the Altantuya murder case was still being heard.
He also said Raja Petra must be “brave enough to face the consequences if he is bold enough” to make the allegations.Meanwhile, the Attorney-General’s Chambers has lodged a police report against Raja Petra over the statutory declaration.
Attorney-General Tan Sri Abdul Gani Patail said the allegations were “highly defamatory” and if found untrue, those making the allegations would have to face the consequences.
“We want to investigate because we want the truth. As far as I am concerned, we have to look at it seriously.”“If it’s true, we will act accordingly. If not, the writer will be investigated,” he said, adding that the report was lodged in Putrajaya on Saturday.
Raja Petra said he expected to be called up.
He said he was bold enough to face the consequences.

#1 by gofortruth on Tuesday, 24 June 2008 - 1:49 pm
As expected motion shot down:-
http://themalaysianinsider.com/index.php/home/42-lead-stories/992-house-rejects-emergency-motion-on-altantuya
#2 by dawsheng on Tuesday, 24 June 2008 - 1:53 pm
We have another case of heinous crime without criminals near the ending. I think those in the judiciary know it, and I think those in the Bar Council also can see it, because if they don’t then ordinary Malaysians must be blind and stupid. But among them how many good judges and good lawyers will stand up against mockery of justice?
#3 by limkamput on Tuesday, 24 June 2008 - 1:57 pm
The “subjudice” thing sounds like a baloney to me. Are judges all so weak? Are they not able to make up their mind? Why are we assuming that they will be influenced. If a trial goes on infinitum, then there is nothing much all can talk about. There is nothing much new evidence can be presented. I think it is not wrong for many to see court procedures and principles with contempt.
#4 by dawsheng on Tuesday, 24 June 2008 - 2:10 pm
The timing of the prosecution choose to closed its case on the murder trial Altantuya without first investigate the SD made by RPK is the evidence that fake judiciary still rules and perpetuates under the UMNO regime, and is further blossoming under the leadership of Abdullah and his law minister, Zaid Ibrahim.
#5 by babique on Tuesday, 24 June 2008 - 2:41 pm
For these murderers, it looks like their religious belief do not play a part in their life’s actions even though they are seen to be “religious”. Such cruel actions deserve nothing or forgiveness but double HELL!
#6 by yog7948 on Tuesday, 24 June 2008 - 2:59 pm
“Religion” has become just a tool for these BN retards to manipulate people for their own fancy. They even dares to swear on the Holy Books to get the trust of people, but when come to SD, they keep numb. These faggots.. They even pimp their own kin to fulfill their power lust.
“They that deny a God, destroy man’s nobility; for certainly man is of kin to the beasts, by his body; and, if he be not of kin to God, by his spirit, he is a base and ignoble creature.”
#7 by Richardqed on Tuesday, 24 June 2008 - 3:14 pm
May Altantuya’s ghost haunt her murderers and all their accomplices till they get what they deserve.
#8 by melurian on Tuesday, 24 June 2008 - 4:32 pm
#9 by PSM on Tuesday, 24 June 2008 - 4:51 pm
Looks like they are in a hurry to get this trial over with now before more “dirt” is unearthed!
Either Baginda will will be acquitted (lack of evidence muhhh). The other two (bodyguards) will probably be found guilty (to appease the Mongolians) & then “disappear” away quietly.
Case closed…not necessary to discuss anymore.
RPK will be charged for ” highly defamatory” allegations & will probably be thrown into prison for a VERY LONG time. All those involved in the killing of Altantunya will get away scott free. Rosmah will become PM when Pak Lah steps down. Justice done BN style!
#10 by gofortruth on Tuesday, 24 June 2008 - 5:10 pm
Karpal to AG: Probe fresh Altantuya claims
Syed Jaymal Zahiid | Jun 24, 08 4:04pm -
http://malaysiakini.com/news/84956
———————–
But we all know that the ACA, the judiciary,the AG are all giving the public impression that they don’t have a “mind”of their own but will only act upon specific instruction coming from UMNO, how AG dares to take an independent step to start serving the nation genuinely???
Under the circumstances it is only wise for our Agong to step in to call for external independent invstigation (like Scotlandyard, FBI etc) before things get really ugly.
#11 by k1980 on Tuesday, 24 June 2008 - 5:43 pm
Had RPK made his SD before the March 8 elections, BN might had been left with just Sabah and Sarawak to govern, while PR would have 12 states plus Federal Government!
#12 by citizenwatch on Tuesday, 24 June 2008 - 6:02 pm
Let all the perpetrators be forewarned with Shaariibu’s (Altantuya’s father) statement, “There is a saying in Mongolia, ‘no matter what you hide, it will surface and people will know’. God is looking upon us and the truth will come out,” .
#13 by Godfather on Tuesday, 24 June 2008 - 6:03 pm
Has it ever occurred to anyone that RPK could be set up for a “permanent” fall ? I mean, if the “informer” was planted by UMNO to provide misleading information through doctored documents, and RPK takes the bait – the consequences will be horrendous. Aside from being sued for defamation, he will also be sued for the criminal act of making a false declaration, and they could send him to jail for a few years.
Let’s see if the civil actions will be coming in the next few days….
#14 by citizenwatch on Tuesday, 24 June 2008 - 6:08 pm
From Malay Mail 24 June, 2008
Disquiet > A game of high-stakes poker?
Malik Imtiaz Sarwar
WHETHER the unprecedented SAPP motion of no confidence is going to be tabled for debate appears to have been edged out as the question of the hour by whether there is any substance in Raja Petra’s incendiary Statutory Declaration on the killing of Altantunya that hit the Internet late last
week.
The Statutory Declaration, a sworn statement under law which makes a false statement a criminal offence, alleges amongst other things that Raja Petra was reliably informed that a very prominent VVIP, together with two other persons, was at the scene of the crime, the formerwitnessing the placing of explosives by one of the two others.Hefurtheralleges that the PrimeMinister received a written report of the matter fromMilitary Intelligence.
Needless to say, there is some measure of incredulity on the part of some who suggest that Raja Petra of Malaysia Today fame has a tendency towards sensationalism.
They question the manner in which the information was made public and the fact that Raja Petra did not lodge a police report.
Others have been less quick to brush aside the matter, more confident of Raja Petra having a foundation for the Declaration. A very public figure whose advocacy in the run up to the last General Election is credited by many as one of the swing factors, he is already facing a sedition charge for an Internet publication on the Altantunya trial. And all things said and done, a statutory declaration is a very different thing from commentary on Malaysia Today.
Is Raja Petra playing a game of high-stakes poker? That is the million-dollar question and there is no apparent answer.
In the Declaration, Raja Petra states that its purpose is to allow the police to conduct a proper and thorough investigation to allow the truth to emerge. The persons he has identified have not been implicated nor called as witnesses in the on-going murder trial.
They have as yet to issue any public denials, seemingly choosing to remain silent.
Surprisingly, the Prime Minister has chosen to do so as well; one would think circumstances compel him at the very least to take a public stand on whether Military Intelligence did give him a report.
If founded, the apparent lack of investigation into the matter raises doubts as to not only the culpability of the accused but of whether they have been accorded their full “due-process” rights in law.
They also equally point to the possibility of those actually or equally responsible having been let off free.
These bring into question the effectiveness and integrity of the criminal justice system and further erode the already seriously undermined administration of justice. The Declaration is as such a matter of great public importance.
Whatever the case, it is imperative that the government must take appropriate steps to not only look into thematter fairly and thoroughly, but also be seen to be doing so in a transparentmanner.
The machinery for an investigation seems to have been fired up. However, in light of a media report that the Attorney-General’s Chambers has lodged a police report againstRaja Petra, apparently for criminal defamation, I am concerned that the focus of the exercise will be Raja Petra rather than the substance ofhis allegations in a manner reminiscent of the Irene Fernandez affair.
In Fernandez’s case, a defamation report was lodged against her after she made public shocking revelations about goings-ons at the Semenyih detention facility, then under the control of the Royal Malaysia Police. This resulted in Fernandez being prosecuted and ultimately convicted. Significantly, investigations into the events at Semenyih were incidental to theonly formal investigations that took place, the investigation for criminal defamation.
I have grave reservations about the Attorney-General’s Chambers having lodged the police report. It is more usually the person aggrieved, especially where defamation is concerned, that lodges the report.
In this case, it should have been the persons identified in the Statutory Declaration, if at all. Furthermore, the Attorney-General is the legal adviser to the government and serves its interests and not those of individuals, notwithstanding their having a connectionwith government.
It is also mystifying how the Attorney-General could have formed the viewthat the Declaration was defamatory before apparently even looking into the allegations,more so in light of the Inspector General of Police declaring that the police would be calling up the three individuals named in theDeclaration.
One would have thought that the Attorney-General would have considered the matter as whole first before directing the lodging of the police report. This and the fact of theAttorney-General’s Chambers not having lodged a parallel report as to the fact of the allegations are suggestive of a presupposition that the declaration is false.
If so, this may impede the objective enquiry called for by the situation. This would bewrong.
AfterMarch 8 this year, the Prime Minister in effect said that the government had to listen to the rakyatmore.
The rakyat has demanded accountability and transparency.
The murkiness surrounding the killing of Altantunya has long been and continues to be the subject of public discussion in part due to her father’s tireless campaign for nothing more than the bringing to book of the killers of his daughter.
The fact of his having to do so is an indictment against this nation.
Let the truth emerge. One way or the other, let it out.
#15 by bystander on Tuesday, 24 June 2008 - 6:14 pm
What to expect. HP6 Speaker , HP6 AG, HP Pm and cabinet ministers. This case stinks. i strongly suspect just like many that the trial is just a show. in the end the true culprits will get away.
#16 by bystander on Tuesday, 24 June 2008 - 6:25 pm
Godfather raised an important question. but would RPK be stupid enough to take the bait without checking all the facts and integrity. Questions – why should Rosmah be present at the scene of the crime? what is her motive for killing the mongolian if she did killed her?
#17 by citizenwatch on Tuesday, 24 June 2008 - 6:27 pm
Godfather Says:
“Has it ever occurred to anyone that RPK could be set up for a “permanent” fall ?”
There has been talk about this possibility. It could be to set up the fall for RPK or to create a red herring or distraction from the current boiling temperature of the political scene for BN.
If info is ‘planted’ there must be a script to be followed by the ‘planters’. We see what has happened so far and we shall see what will happen these coming few days.
#18 by Godfather on Tuesday, 24 June 2008 - 6:47 pm
My biggest fear is that RPK could be taken in by some “hard” evidence such as a videoclip or a copy of the supposedly military intelligence report, both of which could be excellent fakes. Bolehland is known for its quality fakes, from DVDs to watches to politicians. RPK has put his personal freedom to the test, so let’s see what happens next.
#19 by undergrad2 on Tuesday, 24 June 2008 - 8:22 pm
Sub judice rules hold juries in contempt
Andrew Neil
THE GUARDIAN Aug. 8, 2005
“As a journalist brought up under Britain’s strict sub judice rules, I was initially surprised, even shocked, while covering the run-up to the OJ Simpson trial by the free flow of news and speculation about the case. But I do not believe it affected the jury’s verdict and I came to see it as preferable to the wall of silence that descends on British cases, even when the issues involved are of pressing public interest. In any case, the wall of silence is increasingly hard to maintain in the age of the internet, which politicians or even judges cannot control in a democracy.
Concern has been expressed that aspects of the interrogation of suspected Oval bomber Hussein Osman, held in Italy while Britain seeks his extradition, were leaked to Italian newspapers then reprinted in ours. But is it seriously suggested that newspapers should not report this news when it was being discussed on every blog and chatroom devoted to such matters?
I do not argue that we need to go as far as the US and dispense with sub judice.”
Malaysia does not have trial by jury but only trial by judge – even in the case of capital crimes – no jury that could be contaminated by press reports. It is also time the country’s archaic contempt laws following those of Britain are reformed and made to keep abreast with developments in other jurisdictions and advances in technology.
#20 by Godfather on Tuesday, 24 June 2008 - 8:47 pm
Undergrad2:
We already have the “ideal” situation where the judge can be “selected” by the prosecution or the defence, depending on which side UMNO is on. Now you want UMNO to change the law to allow 12 jurists ? It’s gonna be very expensive to have to “select” that many number of jurists.
#21 by Godfather on Tuesday, 24 June 2008 - 9:04 pm
In any case, Badawi has earlier this evening said that he doesn’t believe that Najis and Rosemary were involved in Altantuya’s killing and that therefore RPK must suffer the consequences as decided by the AG. In Bolehland, there is no need to investigate – any accuser against UMNO will be deemed guilty until proven innocent.
#22 by Godfather on Tuesday, 24 June 2008 - 9:14 pm
Badawi doesn’t believe the allegations. Neither does the AG. Hence they will be serving a warrant of arrest on RPK soon. I suspect that this is what RPK wants to make his next move.
#23 by aiD_kamikuP on Tuesday, 24 June 2008 - 9:56 pm
//In any case, Badawi has earlier this evening said that he doesn’t believe that Najis and Rosemary were involved in Altantuya’s killing and that therefore RPK must suffer the consequences as decided by the AG. In Bolehland, there is no need to investigate – any accuser against UMNO will be deemed guilty until proven innocent.//
Hah………Malaysia and Malaysians have been ‘badawied’. UMNO is judge, jury and executioneer…and thieves too (almost forgot that). The rest are just obsequious rakyat!
#24 by undergrad2 on Tuesday, 24 June 2008 - 10:07 pm
“Now you want UMNO to change the law to allow 12 jurists ? It’s gonna be very expensive to have to “select” that many number of jurists.” Godfather
Godfather,
Not jurists but jurors – you and me!
#25 by Godfather on Tuesday, 24 June 2008 - 10:09 pm
My apologies for the use of the wrong word.
#26 by undergrad2 on Tuesday, 24 June 2008 - 10:15 pm
Godfather,
Who is Rosemary? The one of “Rose, Rose, I love you fame”??
Miss Yao Lee – Méi gui méi gui zuì jiao mei (1940)
#27 by undergrad2 on Tuesday, 24 June 2008 - 10:17 pm
Méigui méigui w? ài ni??
#28 by gofortruth on Tuesday, 24 June 2008 - 10:20 pm
“”I am concerned. What he (Raja Petra) did is unacceptable. What he said is not right. He said in his statutory declaration I have been given a report about the murder by the military intelligence. That is not correct,” Abdullah said after a meeting in Parliament.
Asked specifically if he ever received any report, Abdullah replied, “No… I do not remember receiving anything and am confident that I did not receive anything. Nothing was sent to me.” -
http://themalaysianinsider.com/index.php/home/42-lead-stories/1007-pak-lah-najib-rosmah-not-involved-in-altantuya-murder
——————————–
Now at least we know PM has come into the open that he did not receive any report by military intelligence.
RPK better knows what he is up against with. Has he now got the “photo” or genuine hotel “CCTV footage” etc etc?
No offence, the whole world just want to know the truth!!!
#29 by milduser on Tuesday, 24 June 2008 - 10:23 pm
It’s not easy for those implicated in the SD to conspire and deny. But in boleh land its’ not impossible:
1) the military can category deny such report exist
2) the PM can deny receiving such report
3) Khairy can deny having the report
4) the Sultan can deny knowledge
5) Col Buyung and his wife can have a alibi
6) Rosmah’s alibi will be DPM
most importantly, the reliable informer will be …..
RPK may be in jail ???? …
Time will tell or will it????
I dont know. God knows.
#30 by undergrad2 on Tuesday, 24 June 2008 - 10:24 pm
Godfather Says:
Today at 21: 04.42 (1 hour ago)
In any case, Badawi has earlier this evening said that he doesn’t believe that Najis and Rosemary were involved in Altantuya’s killing…”
Since when has anybody’s belief (read: opinion) been relevant in a murder??
#31 by Godfather on Tuesday, 24 June 2008 - 10:31 pm
You have been away far too long. In Bolehland, the “right” person’s beliefs dictate the dance of the relevant parties like the AG, the Police, the ACA.
Rosemary has many friends who believe in her.
#32 by undergrad2 on Tuesday, 24 June 2008 - 10:34 pm
More about jurors.
Jurors are ordinary folks and do not include people working in law enforcement like the police or lawyers. Their names are selected at random from the electoral list and these potential jurors are made to go through a process in court participated by lawyers on both sides until both agree on who the twelve jurors are.
Don’t you think we should be tried by a jury of our own peers (since crimes are committed against the community) instead of a judge (a legally trained expert) sitting alone and imposing his views on us?
#33 by undergrad2 on Tuesday, 24 June 2008 - 10:37 pm
Where is the blog’s rock star this morning?
#34 by Godfather on Tuesday, 24 June 2008 - 10:39 pm
“I don’t believe…” were the exact words Badawi used. Regarding the existence of a military intelligence report, Badawi was reported to have said “I don’t remember receiving anything”, “Nothing was sent to me”, “I am confident I did not receive anything”.
Over to you, RPK….
#35 by Godfather on Tuesday, 24 June 2008 - 10:42 pm
It should be much easier to influence a judge than to influence 12 jurors. A lot cheaper too.
#36 by Jong on Tuesday, 24 June 2008 - 10:51 pm
Nice game of poker so far!
#37 by dawsheng on Tuesday, 24 June 2008 - 11:39 pm
“Raja Petra’s actions are unacceptable. It is not right,” Prime Minister Abdullah Ahmad Badawi told reporters Tuesday. “I don’t believe that Najib and Rosmah are involved.”
Of course, I also don’t believe it. Where else in the history of Malaysia the wife of deputy prime minister are involved in murder and then blowing up the corpses to destroy evident?
#38 by undergrad2 on Wednesday, 25 June 2008 - 12:01 am
Godfather,
Once the jury is empanelled, and the jurors sworn in they are not allowed to have contact with the public and the media. They are sequestered. Not allowed to read papers or see TV. Nor are they allowed to discuss the case with anybody else except among themselves. If a juror were to break the rules and have some form of contact with the media, then he or she is dismissed from the jury. There are alternate jurors ready to take his or her place.
It would be easier to bribe a judge.
#39 by One4All4One on Wednesday, 25 June 2008 - 1:02 am
Altantuya’s back ahaunting!
So, beware!
Be very afraid!
#40 by One4All4One on Wednesday, 25 June 2008 - 1:10 am
She didn’t rest in peace, did she?
Something must be done to apease her soul.
Some prayers, perhaps?
#41 by passerby on Wednesday, 25 June 2008 - 3:39 am
Whatever it is, my sympathy goes to Dr Shaariibuu. You will never going to get the truth and the answer to your daughter’s death from these bunch of crooks unless something very strong like capturing all these happenings in video with some very important people as witness. Otherwise these crooks will twist and turn and eventually turn the whole investigation into a joke. The only way you can get any justice if you can demand for an outside law enforcement to investigate. Good luck and our heartfelt sympathy to you.
#42 by bystander on Wednesday, 25 June 2008 - 9:20 am
AG & Pm already jumping to conclusion before investigation. he also denied receiving report. is he covering up for Najis to save his own skin? is covering up for Najis more important than justice for Altantula?
#43 by milduser on Wednesday, 25 June 2008 - 10:05 am
So the no. 1 man in the government has denied, in The Star (25June08)
“Of course I am concerned (over the allegation by Malaysia Today blogger Raja Petra Kamarudin). What Raja Petra did is unacceptable … because what he stated is incorrect.
“It is stated (in Raja Petra’s statutory declaration) that I received a report from the military intelligence. That is not correct,”
Five more to go. Hope justice, integrity (honesty) and pure conscience prevail. These are the virtues taught to us. God bless us all. God bless this country. Hope it is not run by corroupt, debase, selfserving, dishonest, wicked, greedy people.
#44 by boh-liao on Wednesday, 25 June 2008 - 10:44 am
Malaysia’s brand of justice: the Attorney-General goes after the messenger rather than investigates the truth of the matter.
#45 by oknyua on Wednesday, 25 June 2008 - 10:57 am
I still maintain the one who provided RPK with the info on his SD is someone close to one of the accused. RPK is no fool. He explained legal intricacies better than many law graduates (no offence to lawyers here).
Look at the response of PM Abdullah. Do we have to be hair-splitting lawyers to know that it created more questions than answers? Forget the fact that Abdullah is a serial liar – an established fact – his answer added more suspicion to the already suspicious case. Don’t tell me he never receive report on how the C4 got out of the military? Don’t tell me he never receive report on how the immigraion record could be deleted? Come on, we are not in standard one.
Of course any matter raised by opposition would not pass through the speaker. This is an established fact.
#46 by milduser on Wednesday, 25 June 2008 - 6:53 pm
The report is likely marked “Top Secret”. There u are: protected by law. Abuse by the Leaders to cover up their excesses. U can’t fight them. They have their mechanism in place. Maybe, it takes someone like RPK to stand up to them. Support needed, Please apply.
#47 by citizenwatch on Wednesday, 25 June 2008 - 6:57 pm
With a rating of 0 to 10, 10 is the highest in credibility, what is PM’s credibility?
Answer: pinocchi-’0?
#48 by undergrad2 on Thursday, 26 June 2008 - 5:58 am
“If it’s true, we will act accordingly. If not, the writer will be investigated,” AG said.
One would have thought comments like these would be left to the IGP to make rather than by the AG.
RPK expects to be “investigated” if by that it means he would be asked to reveal his sources. I suppose he’ll do that during his trial if and when charged with criminal defamation. Forget civil defamation because no one is going to sue him for that – and guess why not?