Govt motion on price increases on Monday can be turned into “no confidence motion” if there are the numbers

After a marathon meeting, Sabah Progressive Party (SAPP) President Datuk Yong Teck Lee has received endorsement by SAPP supreme council for his call for a vote of no confidence against Prime Minister Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi.

Up to now, Parliament has not received any notice from any Member of Parliament for a no-confidence motion.

However, it is not necessary to have a proper motion of no confidence to create a “no confidence” vote in Parliament on the Prime Minister and the government-of-the-day.

I have been informed that the first item of parliamentary business after the 90-minute question time on Monday will be a motion by the Minister for Domestic Trade and Consumer Affairs Datuk Shahrir Abdul Samad seeking support for the measures taken by the government over price increases of food, oil and commodities, including reduction of oil subsidies.

This government motion on price increases in Parliament on Monday can be turned into a no-confidence motion if there are enough numbers in Parliament to defeat it.

The motion on price increases to be moved by Shahrir reads:

Bahawa Dewan ini,

Prihatin akan kenaikan mendadak harga minyak, makanan dan komoditi lain di pasaran dunia, yang merupakan fenomena global di luar kawalan Kerajaan.

Menyedari bahawa fenomena kenaikan harga ini membawa impak negatif yang besar kepada kesejahteraan rakyat serta kemajuan ekonomi negara.

Memahami dan menyokong langkah Kerajaan untuk menstruktur sistem subsidi minyak dan gas yang menjejas kewangan Kerajaan dan tidak dapat ditanggung tatkala harga minyak di pasaran global terus meningkat tinggi, agar beban ke atas ekonomi negara dapat dikurangkan dan subsidi dapat diagihkan dengan lebih saksama kepada mereka yang benar-benar memerlukannya yakni golongan miskin dan berpendapatan rendah dan sederhana.

Menyokong langkah-langkah yang dilaksanakan oleh Kerajaan untuk mengurangkan beban ke atas rakyat yang disebabkan oleh kenaikan harga minyak, makanan dan komoditi, agar kesejahteraan hidup rakyat terus terjaga.

Menyedari keazaman dan usaha Kerajaan untuk terus mempertingkatkan pertumbuhan ekonomi dan memperjuangkan agenda pembangunan nasional, walaupun persekitaran di peringkat global semakin mencabar.

Bahawa Dewan yang mulia ini menyeru kesemua lapisan rakyat Malaysia, para peniaga dan pengilang serta parti-parti politik agar tabah dan bersatu padu dalam menghadapi cabaran global ini serta memelihara keamanan, kestabilan dan kesejahteraan kita bersama”.

1. #1 by hiro on Friday, 20 June 2008 - 6:22 pm

Though I’d prefer the kind of no-confidence motion that topples BN, it may be difficult, or not the right time yet… so at this juncture, Sapp’s no confidence motion may well be once in a lifetime opportunity for BN component parties to demand a pound of flesh from UMNO by agreeing on a compromise PM instead of leaving it up to UMNO alone. The incumbency will affect UMNO December elections.

For more, see: http://hiroblog2007.blogspot.com/ titled “Sapp sup sui… or not”

2. #2 by kentutoyol on Friday, 20 June 2008 - 6:31 pm

We will patiently wait for that MONDAY and see whose pant will drop!

3. #3 by limkamput on Friday, 20 June 2008 - 6:34 pm

Sdr Lim, for the first time, I need to ask you to consider a few questions below:

1. Is there a plan by PK to handle this motion on Monday?
    2. If there is a plan, why the need to reveal here how the motion can be converted into a motion of no confidence?
    3. If the motion of no confidence succeeds, what is the plan of PK?
    4. Have you all thought how to govern the Federal Government which is larger and far more complex than the state governments combined?

I think the people are suffering and facing great uncertainties right now. I urge all politicians to please be more focused and try to resolve the stalemate as quickly as possible.

4. #4 by drmaharajahrk on Friday, 20 June 2008 - 7:02 pm

motion will be shot down by the speaker

it is ” not of public imporatance ” remember ?

5. #5 by k1980 on Friday, 20 June 2008 - 7:06 pm

The only thing “of public importance” is the survival of umno’s warlords and feudal chiefs. All the rest, including the people’s welfare, can go jahanam

6. #6 by digard on Friday, 20 June 2008 - 7:42 pm

Limkamput, though the question was directed to LKS in a very proper manner, we can fathom rather easily what the underlying currents are.

Now and finally for a change, we can see a clear direction of the government trying to (re-)take the initiative.
    Instead of rumours and assumptions and statements, the government steps ahead and asks the elected MPs to confirm their agreement with the policies of the last, let’s say, 10 days. This is possibly what the advisers have brought back from their studies or what Tunku did in the late 50ies: Force the cards onto the table. It is hoped that a good show of hands for the policies of the government will quell speculations for a good number of weeks to come. When a reasonable majority of our representatives decide to support the government forcibly tightening our belts, what were we to complain!
    And to ‘help’ with the decision-making, the ACA was instructed to show that there a plenty of files about everyone, even Yong Teck Lee, to sway the sentiments into the desired direction.

Badawi must be very sure of himself, because if the voting goes the wrong way, the net result will be what SAPP had intended. But if our MPs, or at least a good majority, stay put, BN will have a nice upwind.
    I do hope that all who voted on March 8th will be glued to the TVs and watch closely if their elected MPs represent their constituencies well. ;)

7. #7 by Hai-LaT on Friday, 20 June 2008 - 8:04 pm

well, i think that limkamput has a point.

Yeah – i’m a simpleton, digard. Perhaps, I can’t fathom current affairs as well as you do.

I know there is a general resentment against BN, myself included…..but sometimes i can’t help but feel that the development of our fledging democracy is so pathetically slow.

For those of you who want BN to be wiped out – and I say this with respect – please be careful for what you wish for. What’s the point of replacing tyranny and oppression with yet another potential monopolistic power?

Sure, PR is the bastion of the people at the moment. But a healthy democracy always thrived with a 2 party system.

Yeah – the Americans are a bunch of clowns sometimes…..never thought i’d see the day where a black democratic nominee was elected though.

8. #8 by Anak Malaysia on Friday, 20 June 2008 - 8:27 pm

Oopss…..Apologise…for minor typo error..Sabah MPs can become “HERO FROGs” or “Si-Katak Lompat” from BN to Pakatan Rakyat to from a new Federal Government of Malaysia soon.~!

INTERESTING….MALAY PROVERB ABOUT FROG POLITIC IS AVAILABLE IN MALAYSIA !!

WE MUST TELL OUR MUSLIM COMMUNITIES IN ARABIAN SEA ABOUT THE EXIST OF ” FROG POLITIC ” HERE….
    THEY WILL LOVE TO PAY A VISIT TO MEET UP WITH SABAH MPS SOON ..SABAH IS CALLED A LAND OF $$$$ WINDFALL OF KINABALU TALLEST MOUTAIN IN ASIA. BELIEVE IT OR NOT ?

WHAT A PRAISE ?

Hidup Malaysia.
    INSYALLAH

” IN ALLAH WE TRUST ”

Regards,

Al-Sheikh Ahmeed Al-Malmudi Fuad

9. #9 by Jeffrey on Friday, 20 June 2008 - 8:48 pm

If government motion seeking support for the measures taken by the government over price increases of food, oil and commodities, including reduction of oil subsidies were defeated, does it become turned into a no-confidence motion?

Logically no because it only means majority made up of Opposition – and some from govt – don’t agree with those measures and no confidence in these particular measures are not the same as no confidence in the government.

However, practically, yes, a defeat of the motion on these particular measures tantamount indirectly to a no confidence in the government if it were made clear the context:-

1. That both sides apply strictly the Party Whip to vote against the other side for the side of being against;

2. That no one is interested in evaluating or debating the merits or demerits of those measures by themselves;

3. That the reason for unusual stance in 2. is to test a show of force of who really commands the majority when Party Whip in 1.

4. And the additional reason for 2. is to circumvent the time restrictions of standing orders that are now too late in the day to abide for Vote of No Confidence;

5. and that the opposition against the government’s motion is not from now on going the ordinary course of being based on the merits or demerits of motion initiated by government but treated as the merits or demerits of the government itself that is sought to be proven to have lost the majority with every available motion whether initiated by government or the opposition;

6. And that 5. will go on and on until the necessary result is achieved.

10. #10 by allout on Friday, 20 June 2008 - 8:57 pm

Dear Kit,

The people is suffering from the high energy and food cost and declining stock market. The general election is over and I think the law makers should focus more effort on how to relief the people suffering. What we need now is a stable Government to attract more investor. With more job’s choice and better pay, the people will be in better position to cope with the unwarranted situation… We do not need more uncertainties.

Since I am from from Penang, of course I prefer the Federal Government from PK so that Penang Government can get the necessary fund to develop Penang’s infrastructure but on the other hand the no confidence vote if successful may spell chaos for the country. I am afraid that PK is not ready yet to take over the Federal Government. Dsai have to tame PAS before talking about taking over the government. Administration of the country is not about playing Cowboy and Red Indians.

I think the best current situation is to let AAB ran his show and finish his job. Most people think that ABB is weak, but I would like to think otherwise. If he is weak, how would he face more than three front, Mahathir, within UMMO itself and PR and at the same time govern the country. A lot people would have crack by now.

I strongly believe PR should wait for it turn in the next election.

11. #11 by cemerlang on Friday, 20 June 2008 - 8:58 pm

Yong Teck Lee has waited patiently and in vain for the Federal government to do something to the problems that SAPP posed. But to this day, nothing was done. Even all the goodies that BN gave to Sabah, it did not stop them from casting the vote of no confidence. Patience ran out. Against all odds, he and 30 odd members chose to give the P.M. a vote of no confidence. They are ready to face the consequences. If they are so fearful like the rest of the Barisan Nasional’s politicians, they would not choose this way which is a dead end. Either they will be sacked or be neglected probably forever if they still choose to stay in BN.

But I am more interested in the punishment that the Barisan Nasional is meting out to the SAPP. The Anti Corruption Agency is reactivated again to investigate the corruption charges against Yong and Kasitah. This tells us that the ACA is just another tool to be used when it is necessary. There is no transparency and no integrity at all in a government dependent anti corruption agency. There should be another vote. A vote to make ACA independent. If the SAPP has never declared the motion of no confidence, the ACA would be sleeping peacefully and gives a report that there is no corruption.

Cry, my beloved Malaysia.

12. #12 by badak on Friday, 20 June 2008 - 9:05 pm

As long as Pak lah is still the PM.No way will BN allow a VOTE OF NO CONFIDENCE to be table.Just see what happen to Tun Dr M.When he was the PM no body in BN stood up againts him.Tun M could do no WRONG Now he is no more the PM and not even in UMNO.Now everyone is taking pot short at him.Even the great Samy Vellu said that Tun M had not done anything for the Indians when Tun Dr M was the PM.

13. #13 by sheriff singh on Friday, 20 June 2008 - 9:18 pm

Go for it !!!

14. #14 by sheriff singh on Friday, 20 June 2008 - 9:20 pm

But I think before that the Speaker might wish to suspend you for 6 months if he’s still not happy with what you wrote.

15. #15 by justice_fighter on Friday, 20 June 2008 - 9:25 pm

The Speaker is a useless hypocrite that works for the racist UMNO party. Don’t expect him to do anything good for the country. He can only be sacked by the voters!!

16. #16 by kentutoyol on Friday, 20 June 2008 - 9:37 pm

ACA probes Yong over RM5mil payment.

The man that argues with the king will long remain on bending knees.

Malaysia smell a rat.

17. #17 by edwin013 on Friday, 20 June 2008 - 9:39 pm

When YLT champion the issue of illegals in Sabah, please be reminded and recalls this, THE ILLEGALS IN sABAH SHALL HAVE BEEN SOLVED AND DONE WITH WHEN HE WAS THE CM OF SABAH.

18. #18 by Jeffrey on Friday, 20 June 2008 - 9:45 pm

YB,
    There’s force in what allout said in above re posting Today at 20: 57.30 (6 minutes ago)
    There’s no point playing Cowboy and Red Indians when Anwar could not rally a clear and convincing majority defections. People are wondering what you guys are doing – opposing for the sake of opposing a government motion seeking support for the measures over price increases of food, oil and commodities not based on their merits by merely psychological warfare.

As I said before Pakatan Rakyat cannot just rule with 50% parliamentarians and a simple 10 additional ones who having just crossed over could also cross back when the price is right! I am sure he knows that. But if Anwar could get 50% parliamentarians vote plus a significant 30 or 40 more by way of majority to buffer reverse cross overs, then I can understand why he would go for it. Then the issue of raising a motion of no confidence will be academic: the government itself will acknowledge & resign – because otherwise they cannot govern based on the situation in Parliament (supply/finance bills raising money will also be defeated) – and there will be fresh elections to determine the situation.

We have to wait and see what happens on Monday. Personally I doubt he has that kind of necessary majority. I don’t mind being wrong.

Meanwhile (sorry being out topic) BN’s position bearing on the equation is more immediately affected by the latest explosive allegation by Raja Petra by Statutory Declaration on Altantuya Shaariibuu murder implicating the very top! You should read it. It promises to be the biggest issue with national & international political implications.

RPK made the allegation by statutory declaration because he thought that such a declaration would be more convincing of the truth, accuracy and inherent reliability of facts declared in it. This is because of the not unreasonable assumption that no person making a Statutory Declaration would knowingly make statements that he knew false for fear of being implicated in a criminal offence of making false oath via the statutory declaration.

19. #19 by Jeffrey on Friday, 20 June 2008 - 9:50 pm

You don’t need the motion of Vote of No Confidence now. Some “Deep Throat” within power circle could have spilled the beans forming basis of RPK’s SD and the effect will generate a tsunami as powerful as your vote of no confidence!

20. #20 by BlackEye on Friday, 20 June 2008 - 10:02 pm

To ask a veteran politician of more than 40 years experience as an MP with the stature of LKS whether he has thought of “how to govern the Federal Government which is larger and far more complex than the state governments combined” is an insult.

And then to follow that up by pointing to the fact that “the people are suffering” is adding insult to injury.

How to govern the federal government?? The party that wins the general elections gets to govern the country. “Govern the federal government” does not make any sense.

21. #21 by undergrad2 on Friday, 20 June 2008 - 10:14 pm

“This government motion on price increases in Parliament on Monday can be turned into a no-confidence motion if there are enough numbers in Parliament to defeat it.” Kit

Yes, what you cannot bring in by the front door, you sneak it in by the back door! Smart move!

22. #22 by undergrad2 on Friday, 20 June 2008 - 10:40 pm

“…the vast majority of the new opposition MPs have never been in government and would need help to know how the machinery works in order to be able to use it to govern, plan and implement development efficiently and effectively. Previously, they were “throwing stones”, but now they have to deliver and make good on their promises to satisfy the aspirations of the people and to uplift the country.” Lin

Well, this depends on the learning curve, ‘steep learning’ curve, ‘short learning’ curve or ‘fast learning’ curve. Or do they all mean the same thing?

Sometimes, the fastest way to help someone learn to swim is to throw the beginner into the deep end of the pool. Sometimes that is the only way.

23. #23 by Anak_Penang on Friday, 20 June 2008 - 10:44 pm

Who should be the next PM ?

Express your feeling at votingmalaysia.blogspot.com

24. #24 by Jong on Friday, 20 June 2008 - 10:46 pm

We thought there was first sign of an emerging cyclone twister coming from Sabah’s SAPP, but now looks like this RPK’s SD in Kuala Lumpur is going to cause a Tornado Hurricane that will shred this Umno-led BN Government into bits! The end is finally here for them?

25. #25 by Jong on Friday, 20 June 2008 - 10:48 pm

26. #26 by limkamput on Friday, 20 June 2008 - 10:52 pm

Deep end of the pool? NO, not at the expense of us in Malaysia. Those staying elsewhere can of course suggest kinds of things without actually facing to face the situation here.

27. #27 by pathfinder on Friday, 20 June 2008 - 10:58 pm

Bodohwi says, “If Datuk Yong Teck Lee was not greedy, he could have played a significant role in bringing positive development to Sabah, said Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi.” I tell you la, our PM has no brains at all. No substance la. He is telling everybody that all Sabahan Ministers, MPs, State Assemblymen reps…etc are greedy like Yong Teck Lee. Thats why until today non has played a significant role in bringing positive development to Sabah. What ever that means…. Sorry Bodohwi is that what you really mean?? Nope….OK lets replace Datuk Yong Teck Lee with Sabahans. “If Sabahans were not greedy, they could have played a significant role in bringing positive developemnt to Sabah.” Meaning you are telling the Sabahans to SHUT UP don’t be greedy, if you are greedy you are not getting positive development from me. The more I read and understand it the more angry I am … we are going to kick your ass out of the parliment.

28. #28 by passerby on Friday, 20 June 2008 - 11:06 pm

Can PR bring a motion against the price increase and worded in such a way to include a no confidence vote against the government and AAB’s abilities to reduce the suffering of the poor in particular the bumiputras?

I am sure any decision to dismiss the motion by him will reflect very badly in the eyes of the bumiputras and that will give a lot of ammunition to PR when talking to the bumi. PR must be seen as the champion of the poor and especially the bumi to gain them over in the next election.

29. #29 by Godfather on Friday, 20 June 2008 - 11:08 pm

“Sometimes, the fastest way to help someone learn to swim is to throw the beginner into the deep end of the pool. Sometimes that is the only way.”

Absolutely. Another way is to conscript those who have helped BN get to where they are in the past 20 – 30 years but who have since retired.

30. #30 by justice6 on Friday, 20 June 2008 - 11:08 pm

allout said..I think the best current situation is to let AAB ran his show and finish his job. …I strongly believe PR should wait for it turn in the next election.

hello Allout.. by the time the next GE… there will no longer be any money for you to run the country as the corruption is so damn high now… finish his job? …which job you talking about?? our pm know he have a job?? obviously it seem you are like our pm..still sleeping …geesh…

31. #31 by limkamput on Friday, 20 June 2008 - 11:13 pm

repost, too many mistakes.
    Deep end of the pool? NO, not at the expense of us in Malaysia. Those staying elsewhere can of course suggest all kinds of things without actually having to face the situation here.

32. #32 by yog7948 on Friday, 20 June 2008 - 11:32 pm

Talking about Mondays.. People will be more interested in this Topic rather then the Motion.. Should see this.

http://malaysiakini.com/doc/rpk_against_rosmah.php

Some HIGH government personals will coming coming with MASK on..

33. #33 by yog7948 on Friday, 20 June 2008 - 11:33 pm

Sorry.. typo.. will be coming with MASK..

34. #34 by yog7948 on Friday, 20 June 2008 - 11:37 pm

Someone would be flying out of Malaysia.. Someone who look like this BEBE..

http://www.gofish.com/player.gfp?gfid=30-1001873

35. #35 by AhPek on Saturday, 21 June 2008 - 12:37 am

Here’s something that is a diversion from the topic of the thread but I should think you’ll like what you read.

The joke making its rounds is that ‘badawi’ may soon be accepted as a neologism (meaning creation of new words) by Oxford dictionary to mean ‘to start something full of promise but end in disappointment, failure and/or disaster’ So an example of its usage would be “France badawied their Euro 2008 campaign.”

36. #36 by Richardqed on Saturday, 21 June 2008 - 12:55 am

YB Kit,

Frankly, by floating in this blog the idea of turning the motion on price increases into a “no confidence” motion , you have given the Barang Naik thieves ample notice of it.

Gone will be the element of surprise, which is the best weapon against them. They will have time to think up all sorts of excuses to foil any good intentions that you have. If you have strategies to win each battle, it’s best to reveal them only after you have won the war.

You might as well just focus on the motion at hand, and defeat it soundly first, before building upon the momentum from it.

As to the Govt motion on price increases, it is not surprising to note that: When they want to raise the petrol price to RM2.70, they don’t bother to go through Parliament, but instead now, they are wording the motion in such a way as to seek agreement and justify what they have been doing. This is forever and always the BN way of doing things.

37. #37 by bennylohstocks on Saturday, 21 June 2008 - 1:20 am

This bribery thingy didn’t work…

FIRES ALL OVER SOON!

38. #38 by dawsheng on Saturday, 21 June 2008 - 1:48 am

If there’s a warrant of arrest, who do you think it is for?

39. #39 by dawsheng on Saturday, 21 June 2008 - 1:54 am

Will the MSM publish the SD made by RPK? What is Abdullah going to say about it? Will there be another vote of no confidence for the D_PM too? This is so interesting.

40. #40 by AhPek on Saturday, 21 June 2008 - 2:08 am

I have just laid my hands on this STATUTORY DECLARATION by RPK and what a POW-WOW for this is going to be the C4 that is going to trigger a tsunami just as earth shattering as ‘ a motion of no confidence on the PM’ if carried out and passed.

41. #41 by trublumsian on Saturday, 21 June 2008 - 2:09 am

I don’t think anyone is banking on the ground shaking and the earth shattering with this no-conf motion. It will however set precedence nevertheless as the rakyat will be emboldened. AAB better be scared. Very scared.

42. #42 by doggone on Saturday, 21 June 2008 - 5:19 am

PM and DPM’s wife are both implicated by RPK’s SD. In days to come, something concrete will come out of this, like a whistle-blower maybe. When evidence begin to surface and their news splash all over the medias, Datuk Yong’s motion of no-confidence would pale in comparison. These pathetic leaders are dead ducks waiting for more buckshots up their asses.

43. #43 by undergrad2 on Saturday, 21 June 2008 - 6:04 am

There are millions of Malaysians either studying abroad, working abroad or permanent legal residents of foreign countries who left Malaysia for foreign shores only because they found the UMNO dominated government policies unacceptable, but are otherwise as patriotic as those they left behind – family members and friends and former co-workers and fellow Malaysians. Only a nincompoop would suggest that they had forfeited their constitutional right to free speech when they left Malaysia’s shores, or argue that these off-shore Malaysians have no rightful claim to make, no stakes in the elections and no place they could call their own under the Malaysian sun.

Then to hint that the former parliamentary leader of the opposition and others like him lack the education and the skills to govern just because he and the others spent almost their entire career keeping the BN government on a path of the straight and narrow, checking their excesses and abuse of power, safeguarding the national interest, is not only to belittle the contributions made by them but is to add insult to injury.

44. #44 by undergrad2 on Saturday, 21 June 2008 - 6:05 am

Lim Mui Kiang is one of those off-shore Malaysians and writes in a letter to a Pakatan blogger:

“I have worked in the Ministry of Agriculture for ten years and the Economic Planning Unit for fifteen years. I enjoyed my work tremendously in the early years when there was so much enthusiasm in improving the lot of the country. Then I saw the plundering begin and the use of racist policies to split the Malaysian family.

The country is broken and needs to be fixed. The new Pakatan will need help from experienced and dedicated people. I am prepared to return and help in any capacity that can make use of my experience. I would like to provide backroom support to the development machinery which is needed urgently for Malaysia to heal, recover and find our spot in the sun again.”

Lin is one of many Malaysians working abroad who are willing to abandon their comfortable lifestyles to return and help re-build the country they love. Patriotism transcends borders and knows no bounds.

Lin Mui Kiang
    c/o Inter-American Development Bank
    1300 New York Avenue N.W.
    Washington D.C. 20577
    United States of America
    Tel: 1-202-623-2880

45. #45 by undergrad2 on Saturday, 21 June 2008 - 6:05 am

Lim Mui Kiang is one of those off-shore Malaysians and writes in a letter to a Pakatan blogger:

“I have worked in the Ministry of Agriculture for ten years and the Economic Planning Unit for fifteen years. I enjoyed my work tremendously in the early years when there was so much enthusiasm in improving the lot of the country. Then I saw the plundering begin and the use of racist policies to split the Malaysian family.

The country is broken and needs to be fixed. The new Pakatan will need help from experienced and dedicated people. I am prepared to return and help in any capacity that can make use of my experience. I would like to provide backroom support to the development machinery which is needed urgently for Malaysia to heal, recover and find our spot in the sun again.”

46. #46 by undergrad2 on Saturday, 21 June 2008 - 6:06 am

Lin is one of many Malaysians working abroad who are willing to abandon their comfortable lifestyles to return and help re-build the country they love. Patriotism transcends borders and knows no bounds.

47. #47 by doggone on Saturday, 21 June 2008 - 6:40 am

I second that undergrad2. We don’t just lose sight of our roots because we have moved out of this country. Many are just dying to come back here to contribute their expertise if only they could see a glimmer of hope. Not otherwise.

48. #48 by miketan142 on Saturday, 21 June 2008 - 7:21 am

Many Malaysians prefer to work in a foreign land could be due to economic than politic factors. No doubt they can contribute their valuable expertise and experience to the country but first we need to raise the standard of living as per capita income before it is viable to attract Malaysians from abroad.

49. #49 by Jeffrey on Saturday, 21 June 2008 - 7:33 am

YB Kit

Forget about Shahrir’s Motion. Why does Pakatan Rakyat need to challenge his (govt) motion “seeking support for the measures taken by the government over price increases of food, oil and commodities, including reduction of oil subsidies” – just to circumvent standing orders restrictions on time & ‘test’ the waters on number of BN defectors and extent of their support? That is not an ideal motion to pick on because rakyat will question what have you got against these ‘measures’!

The biggest oportunity has just fallen on your lap presented by the one with brass balls!

Opposition/you should move a an emergency motion under Standing Order rule 18(1) requiring only 1 day notice to raise in Parliament a matter that definitely satisfies the three criteria of “a definite matter, urgent and of public interest” – ie the explosive contents of Raja Petra’s Statutory Declaration made in KL (for convenience, “RPK’s SD”).

Although RPK’s SD is based on unproven “hearsay” – and I am sure that is what the Speaker is going to say – the fact is – and I repeat here what I earlier posted: “RPK made the allegation by statutory declaration because he thought that such a declaration would be more convincing of the truth, accuracy and inherent reliability of facts declared in it. This is because of the not unreasonable assumption that no person making a Statutory Declaration would knowingly make statements that he knew false for fear of being implicated in a criminal offence of making false oath via the statutory declaration”. The Speaker’s ruling itself should be challenged if he dismisses the importance and implications of such allegations made via the RPK’s SD!

The other thing is this : RPK will not have the access to such information unless leaks are from BN’s Deep Throats out to deliver a surgical incision at the very jugular of the BN’s top leadership and make it fall!

In simple English it means an Opposition Motion to discuss in Parliament RPK’s SD on grounds that they are a “definite matter of urgent and of public interest” is something that detractors within BN’s rank – especially those who have evinced a desire to defect – could and might support.

For the Govt this is the intractable problem – to support such a motion, that may be the end, to deny it means the cover up, also leading to the end.

The reason is plain : they have to impose Party Whip to opose such a motion but here is the rub : How to crack the BN Party Whip when the Master holding the Whip is implicated and faces a conflict of rest allegation on his decison??????

50. #50 by Jeffrey on Saturday, 21 June 2008 - 7:37 am

Sory Typo error in last para – “…conflict of INTEREST allegation…”

51. #51 by Jeffrey on Saturday, 21 June 2008 - 7:39 am

Raise the issue of conflict of interest of the Whip – and request for someone else to take the whip and decide whether to crack it on this issue to be raised in Parliament!

52. #52 by Jeffrey on Saturday, 21 June 2008 - 7:39 am

Tengku Li : Now it is your chance!

53. #53 by Jeffrey on Saturday, 21 June 2008 - 7:45 am

Only you, amongst all, have the stature, guts, experience to raise such a motion!

54. #54 by Godfather on Saturday, 21 June 2008 - 7:53 am

To those of you dreamers who think that the country’s top 2 leaders, plus the extremely ambitious Kera Jantan, could be toppled by RPK’s allegations – think again. Investigations will go into a black hole. RPK will be laughed at as being of unsound mind.

Remember in 1983 when Mak Foon Than appeared in a Hong Kong court charged with the murder of a Malaysian banker, and he “confessed” that he was sent there by the then Malaysian Finance Minister to commit the crime – as the Malaysian banker was going to unravel the link between Carrian and UMNO ? The press laughed at the “preposterous” allegation and no investigation commenced.

55. #55 by passerby on Saturday, 21 June 2008 - 8:07 am

In view of RPK’s SD, AAB is now caught between a rock and a hard place and we must force the AAB to taken action so that the integrity of the gov. ( as if there is one ) may be restored, failing which all honourable MPs should walk out and declare that they can not sit in the same house with thieves and criminal suspects.

56. #56 by Godfather on Saturday, 21 June 2008 - 8:09 am

The Malaysian Da Vinci Code will forever remain buried.

57. #57 by taxpayer on Saturday, 21 June 2008 - 8:15 am

Mr. Clean is now Mr. Dirty, using ACA to punish his opponent. Thank you, Dato Sri Yong, you have lighted the fuse to the bomb that will blow BN to pieces.

58. #58 by oknyua on Saturday, 21 June 2008 - 8:23 am

“To those of you dreamers who think that the country’s top 2 leaders, plus the extremely ambitious Kera Jantan, could be toppled by RPK’s allegations – think again.” Godfather.

Why not?

The SD is not on specifically on the matter of crime and criminals, but a direct challenge on one Royalty, the Prime Minister and KJ.

What is the PM going to do? Quiet and 10 yrs down the line the truth revealed, what would he say?

Forget about PM, what about your Kera Jantan? He is in his low thirties and be in politics for the coming 20-30 yrs. Would he risk his political career for a guilty man who he knows cannot help him now?

What about the Royalty? Would he tranish himself, and sacrifice his office (so to speak) for a criminal?

Political situation is presently very unstable. UMNO MPs are starting to distance themselves from PM. Look at Nazri’s comment on SAPP dissent.

I can agree with Jeffrey’s comment.

59. #59 by oknyua on Saturday, 21 June 2008 - 8:28 am

Raise a motion? Jeffrery

I suppose PR wait for both Najiba’s and Rosa’s response to the SD. RPK’s SD must have taken into account that there will be not one with the stature and gut to raise this motion. Just we wait.

“Their crimes will find them out.” The Good Book says.

60. #60 by Godfather on Saturday, 21 June 2008 - 8:41 am

Failure to report a crime or suppression of information relating to a crime is a criminal offence. RPK’s declaration clearly implicated Badawi and the Kera Jantan in suppressing information relating to the purported criminal act. His objective is to take everyone down – no prisoners. This won’t happen in LaLaLand.

61. #61 by Godfather on Saturday, 21 June 2008 - 8:44 am

Aside from the obvious blogs, no one else has carried the story so far. The mainstream press won’t even bother to mention it. What importance ?

62. #62 by limkamput on Saturday, 21 June 2008 - 8:47 am

I think someone here ought to have his head examined. When did I ever doubt the sincerity and capability of Sdr Lim? My concern is the endless politicking with no end in sight who really have the better mandate to govern this country now. I wonder is there any “real” effective government since March 8. There are already so much uncertainties and challenges the country is now facing. We already have an inept government and coupled with all these “ding-dong”, don’t you think it is making the situation here very precarious?

I think most of us want the opposition held states to be left alone to govern the states with minimum “politicking” by the Federal govt. The same goes for federal govt – it should be left to govern with minimum harassment (which by the way is different from opposition providing checks and balances to the government).

With regard to Malaysians now settling abroad and from time to time making their two cents worth comments, my view is that they usually just want to have the best of both worlds. Of course they are entitled to make comments. I am also entitled to comment on their comments. When we have yet got opportunity to venture abroad, we would usually say how things were different and better in the old. The reality is this country was never different and better in the past. We are scr*wed right from the beginning and we have all contributed knowingly or unknowingly to its demise. Lee Kuan Yew saw it in 1964 and Sdr Lim started fighting against it before 1969, but we are still debating it today. That to me is nincompoop. I know who is Lin.

63. #63 by Bigjoe on Saturday, 21 June 2008 - 8:52 am

This is an intelligent attempt at moving the motion. However, the problem is attention is focussed not on the issue but the power play. This is all about what Yong and Badawi wants and not real issue because people know the issue will not be solved until this is worked out.

As the Malays says, the elephant plays, its the grass that gets killed.

64. #64 by PSM on Saturday, 21 June 2008 - 8:56 am

These are indeed testing times for Malaysia & Malaysians.
    After RPK’s SD, the BN (Read: UMNO) WILL HAVE to do something! They are not going to be allowing this to go further! They WILL DO something!
    God help us because if what RPK is saying is true (& I’m sure it is)the whole lot of them are involved & once again proven to be not only corrupted but also downright EVIL to the core!

65. #65 by Bigjoe on Saturday, 21 June 2008 - 9:33 am

I have a question. Badawi said that he could not give Yong a seat (not sure its stake or Parliament) because they were taken by PBS. Why can’t UMNO or MCA seat? Either the man mind is limited which we have suspected OR its OK for him to give away someone else’s house but not his own?

And don’t even start that he can’t win in UMNO seat. They could have put a songkok in some seats and it would still win..

66. #66 by AhPek on Saturday, 21 June 2008 - 9:34 am

Yeah, I think Godfather has a point there.First he has cited a parallel case pertaining to the ‘confession’ of Mak Foon Than who said that he was sent by the then Minister of Finance to murder a Malaysian banker who was going to spew out the link between Carrian and UMNO.Second both the PM and Kera Jantan have committed a criminal offence for not reporting the offence which RPK said they know.And RPK wants no prisoners….all must come down.
    What’s more we are in Lalaland!! So what do you think?

67. #67 by harmanamri on Saturday, 21 June 2008 - 9:34 am

Jeffrey,

Moving a motion under Standing Order 18 (1) is pointless. The Speaker will simply reject the motion, either in Chambers or by saying that the matter is “not urgent.” Even if the Speaker allows the matter to be debated, there is no voting at the end of it. The time allowed is just for speeches concerning the topic. It is not in the form of a motion where you vote “yea” or “nay”.

YB Kit Siang’s idea is correct. The Shahrir motion can be turned into a no-confidence motion if the majority of the House votes against it. Better still if the Opposition were to move an amendment to the motion, worded in such a way as to express no confidence in the present government’s ability to implement the measures it is proposing

68. #68 by Jeffrey on Saturday, 21 June 2008 - 9:42 am

Again here the issue is missed and discussion here derailed: no one is debating the issue of whether country’s top 2 leaders, plus the extremely ambitious Kera Jantan, could be toppled by RPK’s allegations.

The relevant issue here under discussion is raising a relevant motion in parliament based on objective to test waters on the question of majority and what is the best motion to raise that is a “definite matter of urgent and of public interest” as an alternative to opposing Sharir’s motion “seeking support for the measures taken by the government over price increases of food, oil and commodities.

69. #69 by Godfather on Saturday, 21 June 2008 - 9:50 am

The issue here is not missed. You are asking Kit to p!ss into the wind, and I am suggesting that isn’t the smart move.

70. #70 by Godfather on Saturday, 21 June 2008 - 9:51 am

“…definite matter of urgent and of public interest” is a subjective term but in the eyes of the majority in Parliament, it is what they say it is. Not you and not Kit.

71. #71 by rainbowseahorse on Saturday, 21 June 2008 - 9:54 am

1) Everybody, including SAPP, knows the chances for tabling that motion in parliament, under normal circumstances, is next to nil.
    2) Everybody, including SAPP, knows that the two insignificant SAPP’s MPs will not topple the BN government.
    These are undisputed facts which raises the question as to what SAPP really hope to accomplish by that apparently pre-empt announcement of the motion of no confidence against Pak Lah?
    In pre-empting the motion, SAPP gave Pak Lah ample time and opportunities for a counter attack.
    1) It allows Pak Lah time to call for an emergency BN meeting to discuss the issue, decide on course of actions against SAPP, and to consolidate unity in the BN coalition.
    2) It allows plenty of time, before Monday parliament sitting, for the BN, especially UMNO, to react and to neutralize the intended motion of no confidence.
    However, apparently with very bad judgment and timing, Pak Lah (through MDTCA Shahrir) intend to motion for another price hikes on food, oil, & further reduction of government’s subsidies. Talk about suicidal! On the heels of so many very unpopular price hikes & policies, Pak Lah must have a death wish high on his list of priorities. He must really be ignorantly stupid to think that this is the way to win back the Raykat’s support. Even his own mother would have turned against him with such badly timed policies!

So who, what, & why are the game plans of all these duly elected people’s representatives??
    SAPP:
    1) With such noble reasons geared towards the heart of Sabah’s problems, SAPP knows they have the support from all Sabahans, and Sabah BN MPs will find it impossible not to agree with SAPP. These other BN MPs have the option not to support the no confidence motion, but not the reasons for SAPP’s motion.

2) In the event UMNO decides to kick out SAPP from the BN, this issue will be a potent political tool in re-election strategy. SAPP, especially Yong whose political fortune has been waning, will be portrayed as a martyr for Sabah’s cause and the BN an evil oppressor. This is certainly not lost to the BN and UMNO in particular.

3) By pre-empting their intention for that no confidence motion against the PM, SAPP is testing the water to see who would come calling. It’s like slapping water to attract sharks and other big fish. SAPP gave four days for those within the BN to mull over SAPP’s actions before Monday’s parliament sitting.

Looks like it will be a long and busy week end for all concerned!

72. #72 by Jeffrey on Saturday, 21 June 2008 - 9:57 am

In what way is this pissing at the wind than opposing Sharir’s motion “seeking support for the measures taken by the government over price increases of food, oil and commodities”???

RPK’s allegations have domestic and international repercussions on image of the country regarding what needs to be done and addressed next in light of the disclosure by Statutory Declaration.

It has nothing with prejudging – or the separate issue – of the allegations and whether they could lead to the toppling of those implicated.

We are talking at cross purposes here.

73. #73 by Jeffrey on Saturday, 21 June 2008 - 9:58 am

“….It has nothing TO DO with prejudging…the VERACITY of the allegations and further whether they could lead eventually to the toppling of those implicated”.

74. #74 by Jeffrey on Saturday, 21 June 2008 - 10:10 am

“…in the eyes of the majority in Parliament…”?

In relation to “majority” in respect to the subjective question of whether RPK’s SD is a “…definite matter of urgent and of public interest”, that has already been prior addressed : You are not following the points raised earlier about (1) RPK sources leaked from BN quarters with a motive that could be manifested when such a potion is raised (2) on issue of it being defeatable by BN’s majority due ordinarily to the party discipline of “Whip”, the exception in this case based on conflicts of interest.

75. #75 by Jeffrey on Saturday, 21 June 2008 - 10:10 am

“..such a Motion..”

76. #76 by kingkenny on Saturday, 21 June 2008 - 11:01 am

“”To those of you dreamers who think that the country’s top 2 leaders, plus the extremely ambitious Kera Jantan, could be toppled by RPK’s allegations – think again. Investigations will go into a black hole. RPK will be laughed at as being of unsound mind.

Remember in 1983 when Mak Foon Than appeared in a Hong Kong court charged with the murder of a Malaysian banker, and he “confessed” that he was sent there by the then Malaysian Finance Minister to commit the crime – as the Malaysian banker was going to unravel the link between Carrian and UMNO ? The press laughed at the “preposterous” allegation and no investigation commenced.””

GodFather

=================================================

Very good point Godfather. And that is the whole point of Malaysian politics.

As I always believe, there is no ethics in politics when the Rakyat is suffering. We can be dead sure, the current government officials are NOT playing by the rules.

Politics is politics, the opposition can’t forever be thinking of ways/methods that is in line with the law to counter everything the government do “unlawfully”. We know who always win.

77. #77 by kingkenny on Saturday, 21 June 2008 - 11:38 am

What will “instill” discipline and make changes to this country is the Rakyat’s power, and it alone.

That is why the government is reluctant to abolish ISA, it did not protect the Rakyat, it protect them (government) from the Rakyat. Hundreds of Rakyat they can happily detain and put in jail, but not the whole nation!

They do afraid of us, but with ISA, they have a shield that they can use conveniently against us, against righteousness. Malaysians are peace loving people, we don’t need ISA. We have still our security forces. What we need is less corruption, justice and a good standard of livelihood, if “possible”, then who will protest on the streets??!

Change first and then reform, let DSAI have his ‘meal’.

We must remember, our PR pals consist of PAS and PKR (a Malay dominated party) + DAP. PAS & PKR has done this country a favor by building a strong Malay based party to challenge UMNO.

Now with the fuel price hike and RPK’s unconfirmed SD, the time is now DSAI. We have significant support of the people and must build on this.

Yesterday somebody commented about DSAI being a dictator and denying it later when rebuffed, today it is: “Tengku Li, this is your chance”, reviving semangat 46?

UMNO/BN must go indefinitely, this will show the Rakyat’s power and that the people have a say in this country. I get the notion that some people here in this blog assume that by changing the leadership of the party will help Malaysia, if there is such righteous person, he should stand up now, for the country, expose and challenge. Don’t just make a few statements in the press to “test water” and see whether got people support or not – and dissappear altogether. Give us your case and let us, the people decide.

For me, I say we just grab its head and pull it out together with its roots!

SEPT16 OR PRU13!

ONCE AND FOR ALL!

78. #78 by harmanamri on Saturday, 21 June 2008 - 11:42 am

Jeffrey,

I said it above and I say it again: Trying to move a motion under SO 18 (1) is pointless. An exercise in futility. The Speaker will simply reject it on the ground that it is not “urgent” or “sub-judice”!! Furthermore, even if allowed to be debated (probability 0.0000000001%) there is no voting at the end of it. I repeat: NO VOTING. If the Opposition wants to introduce any motion, then it has to give 14 days’ notice and the Speaker will put it at the bottom of the list of motions and bills to be dealt with, giving priority to government business. As always the case, the motion will lapsed because there will be no time for it. So the only way to show that the present government does not have the support of the House and the people is to defeat any motion that comes to be voted in the House. Such as the Shahrir motion. On Raja Petra’s SD, wait until Pakatan Rakyat comes to power before any action will be taken on it to pursue the real criminals!!

79. #79 by kingkenny on Saturday, 21 June 2008 - 11:49 am

Aiyo Admin,

what’s wrong with my comment…very ‘normal’ what?! :)

80. #80 by dawsheng on Saturday, 21 June 2008 - 11:54 am

Everyone wants to know whether the first lady in waiting was there enjoying the fireworks. On Monday, there has to be at least two motions of no confidence vote for the PM and D_PM.

81. #81 by Jeffrey on Saturday, 21 June 2008 - 11:54 am

harmanamri, I must say that you are right about the first major barrier that needs to be crossed (before any motion may be accepted for debate) that is not expected to be easy to cross – the all important Speaker, upon the assumption that he favours the government, and has not changed his stance in light of the recent developments in Sabah from SAPP/Yong Teck Lee.

82. #82 by dawsheng on Saturday, 21 June 2008 - 11:55 am

Is parliament going live this Monday?

83. #83 by yhsiew on Saturday, 21 June 2008 - 12:00 pm

To turn the “motion of price increases” into “motion of no confidence”, SOMEBODY must be daring to come forward to unite every individual opposition MP and “would be” defectors to speak with one voice on Monday.

There is no point in sitting back and expect the “motion of no confidence” to take place automatically Monday! SOMEBODY must do something now to plan and get the MPs agree to participate in the no confidence motion – it is action that counts.

84. #84 by oceanruby on Saturday, 21 June 2008 - 12:05 pm

majority rule with minority rights and we can predict what’s the result on this Monday

85. #85 by Jeffrey on Saturday, 21 June 2008 - 12:14 pm

Having said that, it must however, be pointed out that the other assumption made (yet to be tested) is that the Speaker’s ruling – that RPK’s SD should not be entertained for reasons of sub judice or not urgent & of public interest – cannot be immediately challenged by Opposition in the precence of media/observers there or that there is no political gain at all from challenging it and even losing in the process.

Is this true???

Challenging the Speaker’s rulings on points of order and occasionally dissenting from a ruling is itself the arsenal in the political battle – regardless of his decision.

Here we’re making an important asumption – that dissenting from his ruling cannot be put to a vote : is that true?

Because if Opposition could put that ruling to a vote, then the question of majority power could be tested with equal facility as opposing Sharir’s govt motion!

Except with added bonus that it deals with a relevant and sensational issue of confidence in govt than an extraneous issue of “measures for food, oil and commodities etc”.

If the above premises were correct then what Dawsheng said Today at 11: 54.22 will be relevant – there has to be at least two motions of no confidence vote….on Monday.

86. #86 by sotong on Saturday, 21 June 2008 - 12:25 pm

The poor and ordinary people should not be made to pay for the decades of bad leadership and governance of the country!

87. #87 by riversandlakes on Saturday, 21 June 2008 - 12:51 pm

Go, Uncle Lim, go!

88. #88 by lew1328 on Saturday, 21 June 2008 - 12:53 pm

Greetings! YB Kit

You and DSAI absolutely look handsome & yours talk yesterday in Shah Alam Stadium. (The 100 days Selangor new government celebration)

Best regards.

89. #89 by NG on Saturday, 21 June 2008 - 12:54 pm

DEAR ALL READERS.THERE IS HOPELESS TO USE THE MOTION OF NO CONFIDENCE AGAINSTTHE PM.I GOT AN IDEA.Y NOT ASK ALL THE MEMBERS OF THE MCA,GERAKAN,MIC,AND OTHER BN COMPONENT WHO R NOT SATISFIED WITH THE PM N BN TO RESIGN N FORM A PAKATAN.

90. #90 by k1980 on Saturday, 21 June 2008 - 1:04 pm

Will this serious allegation be answered by Rosemary and co?
    http://bigdogdotcom.wordpress.com/2008/06/20/is-this-statutory-declaration-true/

91. #91 by Godfather on Saturday, 21 June 2008 - 1:40 pm

“RPK’s allegations have domestic and international repercussions on image of the country regarding what needs to be done and addressed next in light of the disclosure by Statutory Declaration.”

What a naive statement ! Show me an instance in the past 30 years where Parliament have allowed a bipartisan motion relating to “what needs to be done and addressed”. Show me an instance where the majority in Parliament have taken into account “domestic and international repercussions”.

Pure hogwash.

92. #92 by mybangsamalaysia on Saturday, 21 June 2008 - 1:45 pm

A change in government is long waited for. As chinese said, whether a black cat or a white cat, the cat the can catch a rat is a good cat.

YB, go for it, the old cat can sense no rat anymore.

93. #93 by Godfather on Saturday, 21 June 2008 - 1:48 pm

It is easy for others to propose exercises in futility as these people are not facing the wind when the p!ss starts to flow.

94. #94 by bolehlandor on Saturday, 21 June 2008 - 2:19 pm

YB Kit Sir

This vote of no confidence against the retarded sleepy idiot is long overdue. Please try your best to table it as well as get it passed in collaboration with all the other sane, non-corrupt & wise MP’s. My reckoning is that this vote will still not wake the delusional bodohwi up. Only the Almighty perhaps can perform this miracle. However at least then si-bodohwi may stop his day dreaming and commit less downright stupid deeds against our beloved country.

95. #95 by dawsheng on Saturday, 21 June 2008 - 2:19 pm

Looks like someone got experience standing in the way of wind and p!ss.

96. #96 by rainbowseahorse on Saturday, 21 June 2008 - 2:20 pm

Well, all BN MPs have the weekend to mull over what they want to say & do on Monday.
    Who knows? Perhaps we Rakyat might suddenly discover that some of our elected…no, no. no I did not vote for any of them.. these elected MPs might suddenly discover they have balls…with some even gluing on their balls!
    If anything else, we Rakyat at least have a glimmer of hope!

97. #97 by Godfather on Saturday, 21 June 2008 - 2:45 pm

For over 30 years, the DAP has been standing downwind, and getting their own p!ss, and now some hardcore supporters believe that the DAP should continue to do that as Opposition barking dogs. Trouble is that these so-called DAP supporters are not facing downwind, and they prefer to shout at some distance away. Get closer to the action, then talk.

98. #98 by rainbowseahorse on Saturday, 21 June 2008 - 3:17 pm

Godfather, as we aged, we have to learn to let slide some foolish & idiotic views. No point in argueing with people who are convinced they are right.
    Like the olding saying goes, “If you argue with a fool, people might not know the difference”.

I am writing this because..hehehe.. I can actuall feel the “heat” coming from your posting.

99. #99 by Rakyat Teraniaya on Saturday, 21 June 2008 - 3:20 pm

YB Lim, I would like to stress,that the new Political Tsunami has taken strength, after the first March 8th Tsunami, now SAPP has added fuel to a new and more important Tsunami, to topple our worthless and corrupt BN government! Badawi’s days are numbered as they should be,and the Pakatan Rakyat must do it’s all to end BN’s 50 years corrupt as soon as possible!
    Pakatan Rakyat must rally the BN reps who are going to jump ship so that the PR can govern Malaysia as soon as possible!
    Long Live DAP! Long Live PKR! Long Live PAS!
    LONG LIVE PAKATAN RAKYAT!

100. #100 by Jeffrey on Saturday, 21 June 2008 - 3:44 pm

The validity of the statement “RPK’s allegations have domestic and international repercussions on image of the country” is separate and has nothing to do with the second statement made by Godfather that the majority in Parliament have never been shown to have taken into account “domestic and international repercussions”. The question of “what needs to be done and addressed” is, as a matter of strategy of testing majority in Parliament what we put into motion to challenge them which again is seprate and has nothing to do with whether we expect them to do anything. You always confuse the issues.

101. #101 by Lee Wang Yen on Saturday, 21 June 2008 - 4:55 pm

In short, we should distinguish between
    A: ‘Issue X has great significance on ordinary criteria’
    and
    B: ‘BN politicians acknowldge the great significance of Issue X’

102. #102 by Godfather on Saturday, 21 June 2008 - 6:28 pm

The indomitable duo at it again ! What a tag team !

Lawyer: Anwar is either a dictator or a fool.

Lawyer: But I never called Anwar a dictator.

Cambridge Kid: Yeah, the lawyer is right, he used “either or” so he could not have called Anwar a dictator.

Luckily for this indomitable duo, my anger is generally directed at BN and their cronies.

103. #103 by Jeffrey on Saturday, 21 June 2008 - 6:56 pm

Godfather,

You appear to lack discipline in grappling an immediate point of contention argued to finality before jumping all over the place and scouring past threads for other past matters argued for revival to prove some point without concern whether it is a point of any interest or relevance to readers of the current thread. Necessarily, for people to understand what you are talking about, they have go back and revisit the flow of thoughts and lines of arguments of past threads to appreciate nuance and context, which is an onerous thing you are expecting of people, when the discussion and topic have moved on whilst you are still nostalgic ….

104. #104 by k1980 on Saturday, 21 June 2008 - 7:01 pm

In the event BN is ousted by a no confidence vote on Monday, 23rd June, the Hari Merdeka holiday on 31st August needs to be replaced by Hari Pembebasan on 23rd June every year.

105. #105 by gofortruth on Saturday, 21 June 2008 - 7:21 pm

So the rippling effect duly starts with the bankers dishing out a 17% pay rise –

http://themalaysianinsider.com/index.php/malaysian-news/34-malaysian-news/879-bank-workers-to-get-17pc-pay-rise

But what about employees of every other industry in the country? I still question what kind of economic logic is there to put up such a hefty hike in petrol price all of a sudden???? Except for perhaps certain “people” really in urgent need to diverting public attention, such as C4, no?

106. #106 by gofortruth on Saturday, 21 June 2008 - 7:28 pm

If 17% is the prevaling guideline to up employees’ pay packets, this exercise would effectively bankrupt many many firms & companies in the country – What a STUPID situation the BN gomen has got the nation into!! This is “ASKING FOR TROUBLES”!

107. #107 by undergrad2 on Saturday, 21 June 2008 - 9:05 pm

Dear ‘konek’,

The word “nincompoop” means ” a silly, foolish or stupid person” and I was referring to the poster using the vulgar handle ‘konek’.

Only a nincompoop would feel the need to masquerade as a Chinese, who masquerades as a Malay. I believe this blog is committed to free speech so long as posters observe the rules of civil behavior. It is OK if you’re a Malay who has worked in government service throughout his career (even given a title on retirement by the Agong) and now calls himself a consultant! You may want to keep your ethnic identity a secret but to masquerade as a Chinese and bash your own people, and then masquerade as a Malay who then bash the Chinese could be the work of an ageing agent provocateur or a nincompoop.

At least poster ‘Kasim Amat’ does not deny his ethnic identity and his political affiliations. He takes heavy flak from readers because he expects nothing less. He of course understands as this is an opposition blog and not an UMNO blog.

If you share the aspirations of the DAP, it does not matter if you’re a Malay. DAP is a multiracial party committed to the ideals of democracy – free speech, association and equality among them.

108. #108 by rainbowseahorse on Sunday, 22 June 2008 - 9:49 am

gofortruth Says: “So the rippling effect duly starts with the bankers dishing out a 17% pay rise -But what about employees of every other industry in the country?”.

…hehehe..haven’t you heard?..our PM, who “wants to lessen the people’s burden”, is driving around in his limousine collecting poor people to bring to his big house. He said there should be enough grass to go round as they are at least 1 meter tall.

109. #109 by Jong on Sunday, 22 June 2008 - 10:09 am

Yesterday at 19: 01.16
    In the event BN is ousted by a no confidence vote on Monday, 23rd June, the Hari Merdeka holiday on 31st August needs to be replaced by Hari Pembebasan on 23rd June every year. – k1980

– hahaha that’s a good one! But you are putting the cart before the horse, let’s think about that when we get to it. It’s a very good suggestion no doubt!

110. #110 by ShiokGuy on Sunday, 22 June 2008 - 3:16 pm

More Milk Please

This is my latest post on Sabah and Sarawak. Since independent East Malaysia has been milked dry.

A politician has a similar picture of Milking back in 80’s, I was too young to understand.. see my version of the picture here

http://shiokguy.blogspot.com/2008/06/more-milk-please.html

Shiok Guy

111. #111 by cheng on soo on Tuesday, 24 June 2008 - 10:57 am

Put the horse before the cart, prices already increased, then ask for support, what a JOKE ! and A WASTE OF TIME 1

112. #112 by Penangguy on Tuesday, 24 June 2008 - 8:50 pm

Either count “No-confidence vote” or save own rice bowl?
    Who Dare?

113. #113 by newchief on Thursday, 26 June 2008 - 3:46 pm

No point now that we know the results. Bodowi’s back advisors are very clever. before the monday parliment, all BN were summoned into a private to vote for Bodowi’s fuel hike motion. Of not, get the WHIP & no more gaji lumayan!!! tat’s y the 2 SAPP MP were not invited for fear they will leak out that Bodowi is threatening all BN fellowmen.

The only way to topple this BN is ALL BE UNITED to stage MALAYSIA BIGGEST STREET PROTEST which can never happen all are so cowards to be detained!!!

even in the next election, bodowi will made postal voters to guarantee a 100% victory so all oppostions, pls wake up now to find a solution FAST that this will not happen !!!

tat’s doomsday for us malaysia already bcs Mathatir has elected a DEVIL with many Satans as his advisors to lead which i am very sure he express regret openly.

May Allah deal with them!!!