Govt motion on price increases on Monday can be turned into “no confidence motion” if there are the numbers

After a marathon meeting, Sabah Progressive Party (SAPP) President Datuk Yong Teck Lee has received endorsement by SAPP supreme council for his call for a vote of no confidence against Prime Minister Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi.

Up to now, Parliament has not received any notice from any Member of Parliament for a no-confidence motion.

However, it is not necessary to have a proper motion of no confidence to create a “no confidence” vote in Parliament on the Prime Minister and the government-of-the-day.

I have been informed that the first item of parliamentary business after the 90-minute question time on Monday will be a motion by the Minister for Domestic Trade and Consumer Affairs Datuk Shahrir Abdul Samad seeking support for the measures taken by the government over price increases of food, oil and commodities, including reduction of oil subsidies.

This government motion on price increases in Parliament on Monday can be turned into a no-confidence motion if there are enough numbers in Parliament to defeat it.

The motion on price increases to be moved by Shahrir reads:

Bahawa Dewan ini,

Prihatin akan kenaikan mendadak harga minyak, makanan dan komoditi lain di pasaran dunia, yang merupakan fenomena global di luar kawalan Kerajaan.

Menyedari bahawa fenomena kenaikan harga ini membawa impak negatif yang besar kepada kesejahteraan rakyat serta kemajuan ekonomi negara.

Memahami dan menyokong langkah Kerajaan untuk menstruktur sistem subsidi minyak dan gas yang menjejas kewangan Kerajaan dan tidak dapat ditanggung tatkala harga minyak di pasaran global terus meningkat tinggi, agar beban ke atas ekonomi negara dapat dikurangkan dan subsidi dapat diagihkan dengan lebih saksama kepada mereka yang benar-benar memerlukannya yakni golongan miskin dan berpendapatan rendah dan sederhana.

Menyokong langkah-langkah yang dilaksanakan oleh Kerajaan untuk mengurangkan beban ke atas rakyat yang disebabkan oleh kenaikan harga minyak, makanan dan komoditi, agar kesejahteraan hidup rakyat terus terjaga.

Menyedari keazaman dan usaha Kerajaan untuk terus mempertingkatkan pertumbuhan ekonomi dan memperjuangkan agenda pembangunan nasional, walaupun persekitaran di peringkat global semakin mencabar.

Bahawa Dewan yang mulia ini menyeru kesemua lapisan rakyat Malaysia, para peniaga dan pengilang serta parti-parti politik agar tabah dan bersatu padu dalam menghadapi cabaran global ini serta memelihara keamanan, kestabilan dan kesejahteraan kita bersama”.

Print Friendly

1. #1 by hiro on Friday, 20 June 2008 - 6:22 pm

Though I’d prefer the kind of no-confidence motion that topples BN, it may be difficult, or not the right time yet… so at this juncture, Sapp’s no confidence motion may well be once in a lifetime opportunity for BN component parties to demand a pound of flesh from UMNO by agreeing on a compromise PM instead of leaving it up to UMNO alone. The incumbency will affect UMNO December elections.

For more, see: http://hiroblog2007.blogspot.com/ titled “Sapp sup sui… or not”

2. #2 by kentutoyol on Friday, 20 June 2008 - 6:31 pm

We will patiently wait for that MONDAY and see whose pant will drop!

3. #3 by limkamput on Friday, 20 June 2008 - 6:34 pm

Sdr Lim, for the first time, I need to ask you to consider a few questions below:

1. Is there a plan by PK to handle this motion on Monday?
    2. If there is a plan, why the need to reveal here how the motion can be converted into a motion of no confidence?
    3. If the motion of no confidence succeeds, what is the plan of PK?
    4. Have you all thought how to govern the Federal Government which is larger and far more complex than the state governments combined?

I think the people are suffering and facing great uncertainties right now. I urge all politicians to please be more focused and try to resolve the stalemate as quickly as possible.

4. #4 by drmaharajahrk on Friday, 20 June 2008 - 7:02 pm

motion will be shot down by the speaker

it is ” not of public imporatance ” remember ?

5. #5 by k1980 on Friday, 20 June 2008 - 7:06 pm

The only thing “of public importance” is the survival of umno’s warlords and feudal chiefs. All the rest, including the people’s welfare, can go jahanam

6. #6 by digard on Friday, 20 June 2008 - 7:42 pm

Limkamput, though the question was directed to LKS in a very proper manner, we can fathom rather easily what the underlying currents are.

Now and finally for a change, we can see a clear direction of the government trying to (re-)take the initiative.
    Instead of rumours and assumptions and statements, the government steps ahead and asks the elected MPs to confirm their agreement with the policies of the last, let’s say, 10 days. This is possibly what the advisers have brought back from their studies or what Tunku did in the late 50ies: Force the cards onto the table. It is hoped that a good show of hands for the policies of the government will quell speculations for a good number of weeks to come. When a reasonable majority of our representatives decide to support the government forcibly tightening our belts, what were we to complain!
    And to ‘help’ with the decision-making, the ACA was instructed to show that there a plenty of files about everyone, even Yong Teck Lee, to sway the sentiments into the desired direction.

Badawi must be very sure of himself, because if the voting goes the wrong way, the net result will be what SAPP had intended. But if our MPs, or at least a good majority, stay put, BN will have a nice upwind.
    I do hope that all who voted on March 8th will be glued to the TVs and watch closely if their elected MPs represent their constituencies well. ;)

7. #7 by Hai-LaT on Friday, 20 June 2008 - 8:04 pm

well, i think that limkamput has a point.

Yeah – i’m a simpleton, digard. Perhaps, I can’t fathom current affairs as well as you do.

I know there is a general resentment against BN, myself included…..but sometimes i can’t help but feel that the development of our fledging democracy is so pathetically slow.

For those of you who want BN to be wiped out – and I say this with respect – please be careful for what you wish for. What’s the point of replacing tyranny and oppression with yet another potential monopolistic power?

Sure, PR is the bastion of the people at the moment. But a healthy democracy always thrived with a 2 party system.

Yeah – the Americans are a bunch of clowns sometimes…..never thought i’d see the day where a black democratic nominee was elected though.

8. #8 by Anak Malaysia on Friday, 20 June 2008 - 8:27 pm

Oopss…..Apologise…for minor typo error..Sabah MPs can become “HERO FROGs” or “Si-Katak Lompat” from BN to Pakatan Rakyat to from a new Federal Government of Malaysia soon.~!

INTERESTING….MALAY PROVERB ABOUT FROG POLITIC IS AVAILABLE IN MALAYSIA !!

WE MUST TELL OUR MUSLIM COMMUNITIES IN ARABIAN SEA ABOUT THE EXIST OF ” FROG POLITIC ” HERE….
    THEY WILL LOVE TO PAY A VISIT TO MEET UP WITH SABAH MPS SOON ..SABAH IS CALLED A LAND OF $$$$ WINDFALL OF KINABALU TALLEST MOUTAIN IN ASIA. BELIEVE IT OR NOT ?

WHAT A PRAISE ?

Hidup Malaysia.
    INSYALLAH

” IN ALLAH WE TRUST ”

Regards,

Al-Sheikh Ahmeed Al-Malmudi Fuad

9. #9 by Jeffrey on Friday, 20 June 2008 - 8:48 pm

If government motion seeking support for the measures taken by the government over price increases of food, oil and commodities, including reduction of oil subsidies were defeated, does it become turned into a no-confidence motion?

Logically no because it only means majority made up of Opposition – and some from govt – don’t agree with those measures and no confidence in these particular measures are not the same as no confidence in the government.

However, practically, yes, a defeat of the motion on these particular measures tantamount indirectly to a no confidence in the government if it were made clear the context:-

1. That both sides apply strictly the Party Whip to vote against the other side for the side of being against;

2. That no one is interested in evaluating or debating the merits or demerits of those measures by themselves;

3. That the reason for unusual stance in 2. is to test a show of force of who really commands the majority when Party Whip in 1.

4. And the additional reason for 2. is to circumvent the time restrictions of standing orders that are now too late in the day to abide for Vote of No Confidence;

5. and that the opposition against the government’s motion is not from now on going the ordinary course of being based on the merits or demerits of motion initiated by government but treated as the merits or demerits of the government itself that is sought to be proven to have lost the majority with every available motion whether initiated by government or the opposition;

6. And that 5. will go on and on until the necessary result is achieved.

10. #10 by allout on Friday, 20 June 2008 - 8:57 pm

Dear Kit,

The people is suffering from the high energy and food cost and declining stock market. The general election is over and I think the law makers should focus more effort on how to relief the people suffering. What we need now is a stable Government to attract more investor. With more job’s choice and better pay, the people will be in better position to cope with the unwarranted situation… We do not need more uncertainties.

Since I am from from Penang, of course I prefer the Federal Government from PK so that Penang Government can get the necessary fund to develop Penang’s infrastructure but on the other hand the no confidence vote if successful may spell chaos for the country. I am afraid that PK is not ready yet to take over the Federal Government. Dsai have to tame PAS before talking about taking over the government. Administration of the country is not about playing Cowboy and Red Indians.

I think the best current situation is to let AAB ran his show and finish his job. Most people think that ABB is weak, but I would like to think otherwise. If he is weak, how would he face more than three front, Mahathir, within UMMO itself and PR and at the same time govern the country. A lot people would have crack by now.

I strongly believe PR should wait for it turn in the next election.

11. #11 by cemerlang on Friday, 20 June 2008 - 8:58 pm

Yong Teck Lee has waited patiently and in vain for the Federal government to do something to the problems that SAPP posed. But to this day, nothing was done. Even all the goodies that BN gave to Sabah, it did not stop them from casting the vote of no confidence. Patience ran out. Against all odds, he and 30 odd members chose to give the P.M. a vote of no confidence. They are ready to face the consequences. If they are so fearful like the rest of the Barisan Nasional’s politicians, they would not choose this way which is a dead end. Either they will be sacked or be neglected probably forever if they still choose to stay in BN.

But I am more interested in the punishment that the Barisan Nasional is meting out to the SAPP. The Anti Corruption Agency is reactivated again to investigate the corruption charges against Yong and Kasitah. This tells us that the ACA is just another tool to be used when it is necessary. There is no transparency and no integrity at all in a government dependent anti corruption agency. There should be another vote. A vote to make ACA independent. If the SAPP has never declared the motion of no confidence, the ACA would be sleeping peacefully and gives a report that there is no corruption.

Cry, my beloved Malaysia.

12. #12 by badak on Friday, 20 June 2008 - 9:05 pm

As long as Pak lah is still the PM.No way will BN allow a VOTE OF NO CONFIDENCE to be table.Just see what happen to Tun Dr M.When he was the PM no body in BN stood up againts him.Tun M could do no WRONG Now he is no more the PM and not even in UMNO.Now everyone is taking pot short at him.Even the great Samy Vellu said that Tun M had not done anything for the Indians when Tun Dr M was the PM.

13. #13 by sheriff singh on Friday, 20 June 2008 - 9:18 pm

Go for it !!!

14. #14 by sheriff singh on Friday, 20 June 2008 - 9:20 pm

But I think before that the Speaker might wish to suspend you for 6 months if he’s still not happy with what you wrote.

15. #15 by justice_fighter on Friday, 20 June 2008 - 9:25 pm

The Speaker is a useless hypocrite that works for the racist UMNO party. Don’t expect him to do anything good for the country. He can only be sacked by the voters!!

16. #16 by kentutoyol on Friday, 20 June 2008 - 9:37 pm

ACA probes Yong over RM5mil payment.

The man that argues with the king will long remain on bending knees.

Malaysia smell a rat.

17. #17 by edwin013 on Friday, 20 June 2008 - 9:39 pm

When YLT champion the issue of illegals in Sabah, please be reminded and recalls this, THE ILLEGALS IN sABAH SHALL HAVE BEEN SOLVED AND DONE WITH WHEN HE WAS THE CM OF SABAH.

18. #18 by Jeffrey on Friday, 20 June 2008 - 9:45 pm

YB,
    There’s force in what allout said in above re posting Today at 20: 57.30 (6 minutes ago)
    There’s no point playing Cowboy and Red Indians when Anwar could not rally a clear and convincing majority defections. People are wondering what you guys are doing – opposing for the sake of opposing a government motion seeking support for the measures over price increases of food, oil and commodities not based on their merits by merely psychological warfare.

As I said before Pakatan Rakyat cannot just rule with 50% parliamentarians and a simple 10 additional ones who having just crossed over could also cross back when the price is right! I am sure he knows that. But if Anwar could get 50% parliamentarians vote plus a significant 30 or 40 more by way of majority to buffer reverse cross overs, then I can understand why he would go for it. Then the issue of raising a motion of no confidence will be academic: the government itself will acknowledge & resign – because otherwise they cannot govern based on the situation in Parliament (supply/finance bills raising money will also be defeated) – and there will be fresh elections to determine the situation.

We have to wait and see what happens on Monday. Personally I doubt he has that kind of necessary majority. I don’t mind being wrong.

Meanwhile (sorry being out topic) BN’s position bearing on the equation is more immediately affected by the latest explosive allegation by Raja Petra by Statutory Declaration on Altantuya Shaariibuu murder implicating the very top! You should read it. It promises to be the biggest issue with national & international political implications.

RPK made the allegation by statutory declaration because he thought that such a declaration would be more convincing of the truth, accuracy and inherent reliability of facts declared in it. This is because of the not unreasonable assumption that no person making a Statutory Declaration would knowingly make statements that he knew false for fear of being implicated in a criminal offence of making false oath via the statutory declaration.

19. #19 by Jeffrey on Friday, 20 June 2008 - 9:50 pm

You don’t need the motion of Vote of No Confidence now. Some “Deep Throat” within power circle could have spilled the beans forming basis of RPK’s SD and the effect will generate a tsunami as powerful as your vote of no confidence!

20. #20 by BlackEye on Friday, 20 June 2008 - 10:02 pm

To ask a veteran politician of more than 40 years experience as an MP with the stature of LKS whether he has thought of “how to govern the Federal Government which is larger and far more complex than the state governments combined” is an insult.

And then to follow that up by pointing to the fact that “the people are suffering” is adding insult to injury.

How to govern the federal government?? The party that wins the general elections gets to govern the country. “Govern the federal government” does not make any sense.

21. #21 by undergrad2 on Friday, 20 June 2008 - 10:14 pm

“This government motion on price increases in Parliament on Monday can be turned into a no-confidence motion if there are enough numbers in Parliament to defeat it.” Kit

Yes, what you cannot bring in by the front door, you sneak it in by the back door! Smart move!

22. #22 by undergrad2 on Friday, 20 June 2008 - 10:40 pm

“…the vast majority of the new opposition MPs have never been in government and would need help to know how the machinery works in order to be able to use it to govern, plan and implement development efficiently and effectively. Previously, they were “throwing stones”, but now they have to deliver and make good on their promises to satisfy the aspirations of the people and to uplift the country.” Lin

Well, this depends on the learning curve, ‘steep learning’ curve, ‘short learning’ curve or ‘fast learning’ curve. Or do they all mean the same thing?

Sometimes, the fastest way to help someone learn to swim is to throw the beginner into the deep end of the pool. Sometimes that is the only way.

23. #23 by Anak_Penang on Friday, 20 June 2008 - 10:44 pm

Who should be the next PM ?

Express your feeling at votingmalaysia.blogspot.com

24. #24 by Jong on Friday, 20 June 2008 - 10:46 pm

We thought there was first sign of an emerging cyclone twister coming from Sabah’s SAPP, but now looks like this RPK’s SD in Kuala Lumpur is going to cause a Tornado Hurricane that will shred this Umno-led BN Government into bits! The end is finally here for them?

25. #25 by Jong on Friday, 20 June 2008 - 10:48 pm

26. #26 by limkamput on Friday, 20 June 2008 - 10:52 pm

Deep end of the pool? NO, not at the expense of us in Malaysia. Those staying elsewhere can of course suggest kinds of things without actually facing to face the situation here.

27. #27 by pathfinder on Friday, 20 June 2008 - 10:58 pm

Bodohwi says, “If Datuk Yong Teck Lee was not greedy, he could have played a significant role in bringing positive development to Sabah, said Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi.” I tell you la, our PM has no brains at all. No substance la. He is telling everybody that all Sabahan Ministers, MPs, State Assemblymen reps…etc are greedy like Yong Teck Lee. Thats why until today non has played a significant role in bringing positive development to Sabah. What ever that means…. Sorry Bodohwi is that what you really mean?? Nope….OK lets replace Datuk Yong Teck Lee with Sabahans. “If Sabahans were not greedy, they could have played a significant role in bringing positive developemnt to Sabah.” Meaning you are telling the Sabahans to SHUT UP don’t be greedy, if you are greedy you are not getting positive development from me. The more I read and understand it the more angry I am … we are going to kick your ass out of the parliment.

28. #28 by passerby on Friday, 20 June 2008 - 11:06 pm

Can PR bring a motion against the price increase and worded in such a way to include a no confidence vote against the government and AAB’s abilities to reduce the suffering of the poor in particular the bumiputras?

I am sure any decision to dismiss the motion by him will reflect very badly in the eyes of the bumiputras and that will give a lot of ammunition to PR when talking to the bumi. PR must be seen as the champion of the poor and especially the bumi to gain them over in the next election.

29. #29 by Godfather on Friday, 20 June 2008 - 11:08 pm

“Sometimes, the fastest way to help someone learn to swim is to throw the beginner into the deep end of the pool. Sometimes that is the only way.”

Absolutely. Another way is to conscript those who have helped BN get to where they are in the past 20 – 30 years but who have since retired.

30. #30 by justice6 on Friday, 20 June 2008 - 11:08 pm

allout said..I think the best current situation is to let AAB ran his show and finish his job. …I strongly believe PR should wait for it turn in the next election.

hello Allout.. by the time the next GE… there will no longer be any money for you to run the country as the corruption is so damn high now… finish his job? …which job you talking about?? our pm know he have a job?? obviously it seem you are like our pm..still sleeping …geesh…

31. #31 by limkamput on Friday, 20 June 2008 - 11:13 pm

repost, too many mistakes.
    Deep end of the pool? NO, not at the expense of us in Malaysia. Those staying elsewhere can of course suggest all kinds of things without actually having to face the situation here.

32. #32 by yog7948 on Friday, 20 June 2008 - 11:32 pm

Talking about Mondays.. People will be more interested in this Topic rather then the Motion.. Should see this.

http://malaysiakini.com/doc/rpk_against_rosmah.php

Some HIGH government personals will coming coming with MASK on..

33. #33 by yog7948 on Friday, 20 June 2008 - 11:33 pm

Sorry.. typo.. will be coming with MASK..

34. #34 by yog7948 on Friday, 20 June 2008 - 11:37 pm

Someone would be flying out of Malaysia.. Someone who look like this BEBE..

http://www.gofish.com/player.gfp?gfid=30-1001873

35. #35 by AhPek on Saturday, 21 June 2008 - 12:37 am

Here’s something that is a diversion from the topic of the thread but I should think you’ll like what you read.

The joke making its rounds is that ‘badawi’ may soon be accepted as a neologism (meaning creation of new words) by Oxford dictionary to mean ‘to start something full of promise but end in disappointment, failure and/or disaster’ So an example of its usage would be “France badawied their Euro 2008 campaign.”

36. #36 by Richardqed on Saturday, 21 June 2008 - 12:55 am

YB Kit,

Frankly, by floating in this blog the idea of turning the motion on price increases into a “no confidence” motion , you have given the Barang Naik thieves ample notice of it.

Gone will be the element of surprise, which is the best weapon against them. They will have time to think up all sorts of excuses to foil any good intentions that you have. If you have strategies to win each battle, it’s best to reveal them only after you have won the war.

You might as well just focus on the motion at hand, and defeat it soundly first, before building upon the momentum from it.

As to the Govt motion on price increases, it is not surprising to note that: When they want to raise the petrol price to RM2.70, they don’t bother to go through Parliament, but instead now, they are wording the motion in such a way as to seek agreement and justify what they have been doing. This is forever and always the BN way of doing things.

37. #37 by bennylohstocks on Saturday, 21 June 2008 - 1:20 am

This bribery thingy didn’t work…

FIRES ALL OVER SOON!

38. #38 by dawsheng on Saturday, 21 June 2008 - 1:48 am

If there’s a warrant of arrest, who do you think it is for?

39. #39 by dawsheng on Saturday, 21 June 2008 - 1:54 am

Will the MSM publish the SD made by RPK? What is Abdullah going to say about it? Will there be another vote of no confidence for the D_PM too? This is so interesting.

40. #40 by AhPek on Saturday, 21 June 2008 - 2:08 am

I have just laid my hands on this STATUTORY DECLARATION by RPK and what a POW-WOW for this is going to be the C4 that is going to trigger a tsunami just as earth shattering as ‘ a motion of no confidence on the PM’ if carried out and passed.

41. #41 by trublumsian on Saturday, 21 June 2008 - 2:09 am

I don’t think anyone is banking on the ground shaking and the earth shattering with this no-conf motion. It will however set precedence nevertheless as the rakyat will be emboldened. AAB better be scared. Very scared.

42. #42 by doggone on Saturday, 21 June 2008 - 5:19 am

PM and DPM’s wife are both implicated by RPK’s SD. In days to come, something concrete will come out of this, like a whistle-blower maybe. When evidence begin to surface and their news splash all over the medias, Datuk Yong’s motion of no-confidence would pale in comparison. These pathetic leaders are dead ducks waiting for more buckshots up their asses.

43. #43 by undergrad2 on Saturday, 21 June 2008 - 6:04 am

There are millions of Malaysians either studying abroad, working abroad or permanent legal residents of foreign countries who left Malaysia for foreign shores only because they found the UMNO dominated government policies unacceptable, but are otherwise as patriotic as those they left behind – family members and friends and former co-workers and fellow Malaysians. Only a nincompoop would suggest that they had forfeited their constitutional right to free speech when they left Malaysia’s shores, or argue that these off-shore Malaysians have no rightful claim to make, no stakes in the elections and no place they could call their own under the Malaysian sun.

Then to hint that the former parliamentary leader of the opposition and others like him lack the education and the skills to govern just because he and the others spent almost their entire career keeping the BN government on a path of the straight and narrow, checking their excesses and abuse of power, safeguarding the national interest, is not only to belittle the contributions made by them but is to add insult to injury.

44. #44 by undergrad2 on Saturday, 21 June 2008 - 6:05 am

Lim Mui Kiang is one of those off-shore Malaysians and writes in a letter to a Pakatan blogger:

“I have worked in the Ministry of Agriculture for ten years and the Economic Planning Unit for fifteen years. I enjoyed my work tremendously in the early years when there was so much enthusiasm in improving the lot of the country. Then I saw the plundering begin and the use of racist policies to split the Malaysian family.

The country is broken and needs to be fixed. The new Pakatan will need help from experienced and dedicated people. I am prepared to return and help in any capacity that can make use of my experience. I would like to provide backroom support to the development machinery which is needed urgently for Malaysia to heal, recover and find our spot in the sun again.”

Lin is one of many Malaysians working abroad who are willing to abandon their comfortable lifestyles to return and help re-build the country they love. Patriotism transcends borders and knows no bounds.

Lin Mui Kiang
    c/o Inter-American Development Bank
    1300 New York Avenue N.W.
    Washington D.C. 20577
    United States of America
    Tel: 1-202-623-2880

45. #45 by undergrad2 on Saturday, 21 June 2008 - 6:05 am

Lim Mui Kiang is one of those off-shore Malaysians and writes in a letter to a Pakatan blogger:

“I have worked in the Ministry of Agriculture for ten years and the Economic Planning Unit for fifteen years. I enjoyed my work tremendously in the early years when there was so much enthusiasm in improving the lot of the country. Then I saw the plundering begin and the use of racist policies to split the Malaysian family.

The country is broken and needs to be fixed. The new Pakatan will need help from experienced and dedicated people. I am prepared to return and help in any capacity that can make use of my experience. I would like to provide backroom support to the development machinery which is needed urgently for Malaysia to heal, recover and find our spot in the sun again.”

46. #46 by undergrad2 on Saturday, 21 June 2008 - 6:06 am

Lin is one of many Malaysians working abroad who are willing to abandon their comfortable lifestyles to return and help re-build the country they love. Patriotism transcends borders and knows no bounds.

47. #47 by doggone on Saturday, 21 June 2008 - 6:40 am

I second that undergrad2. We don’t just lose sight of our roots because we have moved out of this country. Many are just dying to come back here to contribute their expertise if only they could see a glimmer of hope. Not otherwise.

48. #48 by miketan142 on Saturday, 21 June 2008 - 7:21 am

Many Malaysians prefer to work in a foreign land could be due to economic than politic factors. No doubt they can contribute their valuable expertise and experience to the country but first we need to raise the standard of living as per capita income before it is viable to attract Malaysians from abroad.

49. #49 by Jeffrey on Saturday, 21 June 2008 - 7:33 am

YB Kit

Forget about Shahrir’s Motion. Why does Pakatan Rakyat need to challenge his (govt) motion “seeking support for the measures taken by the government over price increases of food, oil and commodities, including reduction of oil subsidies” – just to circumvent standing orders restrictions on time & ‘test’ the waters on number of BN defectors and extent of their support? That is not an ideal motion to pick on because rakyat will question what have you got against these ‘measures’!

The biggest oportunity has just fallen on your lap presented by the one with brass balls!

Opposition/you should move a an emergency motion under Standing Order rule 18(1) requiring only 1 day notice to raise in Parliament a matter that definitely satisfies the three criteria of “a definite matter, urgent and of public interest” – ie the explosive contents of Raja Petra’s Statutory Declaration made in KL (for convenience, “RPK’s SD”).

Although RPK’s SD is based on unproven “hearsay” – and I am sure that is what the Speaker is going to say – the fact is – and I repeat here what I earlier posted: “RPK made the allegation by statutory declaration because he thought that such a declaration would be more convincing of the truth, accuracy and inherent reliability of facts declared in it. This is because of the not unreasonable assumption that no person making a Statutory Declaration would knowingly make statements that he knew false for fear of being implicated in a criminal offence of making false oath via the statutory declaration”. The Speaker’s ruling itself should be challenged if he dismisses the importance and implications of such allegations made via the RPK’s SD!

The other thing is this : RPK will not have the access to such information unless leaks are from BN’s Deep Throats out to deliver a surgical incision at the very jugular of the BN’s top leadership and make it fall!

In simple English it means an Opposition Motion to discuss in Parliament RPK’s SD on grounds that they are a “definite matter of urgent and of public interest” is something that detractors within BN’s rank – especially those who have evinced a desire to defect – could and might support.

For the Govt this is the intractable problem – to support such a motion, that may be the end, to deny it means the cover up, also leading to the end.

The reason is plain : they have to impose Party Whip to opose such a motion but here is the rub : How to crack the BN Party Whip when the Master holding the Whip is implicated and faces a conflict of rest allegation on his decison??????

50. #50 by Jeffrey on Saturday, 21 June 2008 - 7:37 am

Sory Typo error in last para – “…conflict of INTEREST allegation…”

1 2 3

Comments are closed.