Sabah Progressive Party (SAPP) has dropped a bombshell when its president Yong Teck Lee announced that its two MPs, Dr. Chua Soon Bui (Tawau) and Eric Majimbun (Sepanggar) would move a no-confidence motion against Prime Minister Abdullah Ahmad Badawi when Parliament resumes on Monday.
But will the bombshell land in Parliament on Monday?
With the ruling coalition commanding unbroken two-thirds parliamentary majority in the 11 general elections since Merdeka in 1957 until the recent political tsunami of the March 2008 general election, there had never been any no confidence motion against the Prime Minister in Malaysian parliamentary history.
The Parliamentary Standing Orders do not have special provision for a no confidence motion.
In the circumstances, a no confidence motion may be regarded as an ordinary motion under Standing Order 27 which requires notice of 14 days to be given – making it impossible for such a no confidence motion to be tabled on Monday, June 23, 2008 as the earliest would be July 2 if the no confidence motion is submitted today.
Standing Order 18 which allows an MP to move a motion to adjourn the House to discuss a definite matter of urgent public importance will be inappropriate and unhelpful as it only allows one hour debate on the specified issue without any vote being taken at the end of the debate.
The only way for a no confidence motion to be tabled and debated on Monday is for the Speaker ito treat it as a substantive and extraordinary motion which should take precedence and priority over all parliamentary business which does not need to comply with the requisite 14-day notice and publishing it as the first item of parliamentary business after Question Time in the Parliamentary Order of Business on Monday.
In doing so, however, the Speaker is likely be in direct loggerheads with the government of the day and must be prepared to pay the consequences of such decision.
I see little possibility of SAPP’s No Confidence Motion against Abdullah as Prime Minister being tabled and debated on Monday unless there is a second political tsunami in the next few days, with waves of support from other Barisan Nasional MPs from Sabah, Sarawak and Peninsula Malaysia making it a credible parliamentary move.
Whether the SAPP no confidence motion is tabled and debated in Parliament on Monday, its very announcement has set off political shock waves in the country confirming the longstanding, widespread and deepseated discontent of the people of Sabah at their unfair treatment by Umno leaders, whether at Federal or State level.

#1 by Godfather on Thursday, 19 June 2008 - 9:13 am
And that clown Kasim Amat tries so hard to parrot his beloved master’s words about Yong Teck Lee.
Kasim,, how about asking your master to satisfy my personal greed so that I tone down my criticism of your master ?
#2 by lakilompat on Thursday, 19 June 2008 - 9:18 am
All these ppl. Pak Lah has satisfied their personal greed are as below:-
1) Ong Ka Ting – PKFZ RM 4.6 billion bailout
Result:- Step down, MCA lost trust from chinese community
2) Najis – Commission from Shukoi jet & Scorpene submarine
Result:- Shud dap like a dog, not dare to utter anything have to wait for giliran like school kid. Atlantuya case pending.
3) Koh Tsu Koon – Commission from Motorola contract
Result:- Gerakan lost all the seat in penang, All penangites hated Gerakan and felt betrayed by his 17 years doing nothing.
4) Kamaludin – SCOMI
Result:- The LRT is poorly maintained, anything from air to sea you named it, SCOMI will bid the contract.
5) Curry – ACM-Libra, TENC Boutique, Penang Turf Club
Result:- Leader of Mat Rempit, billionaires Boneka, soon become president of FAM with his MYteam debut.
6) Patrick Lim – PGCC
Result:- Empty blank cheque.
7) Sammy – Commission from tolls, commission from contract for building.
Result:-MIC kalah teruk! this old man has nothing to be conferred by the Agong, all these years of corrupt practice has brought him down.
8) Rafidah – AP Queen
Result:- No cabinet post for her.
#3 by oknyua on Thursday, 19 June 2008 - 9:24 am
Al-Sheikh Ahmeed Al-Malmudi Fuad,
My respect and salute to you, sir. I don’t think KPMU’s Kassim Amat has subtantial rebuttal other than the usual UMNO’s rhetoric to reply to you.
#4 by lakilompat on Thursday, 19 June 2008 - 9:24 am
Pak Lah is like a Malay dictator who awards those who support him thru rewards and personal promises like MB post, contract, commissions, title, and many more. He is also the first PM of Malaysia to dictate a souring fuel price of RM 2.70 per liter for all Malaysian without consulting the parliament.
Any form of Dictatorship in Malaysia by weak leader, should be condemned.
PL has become like Musolini of Italy, Chiang Kai Shek of KMT, and Chen Sui Bien in Taiwan. Dictating every thing from MB appointment to fuel price hikes.
The Rakyat shud get rid of him before he plunder the country coffer dry.
#5 by seage on Thursday, 19 June 2008 - 9:31 am
Godfather… Well, not many may be as discerning as you to tell that Pigi Lah did that from day One, so its good to keep pointing out evidence of such quality in him.
#6 by oknyua on Thursday, 19 June 2008 - 9:35 am
Big Joe,
I was thinking along that line when Yong TL made his announcement. But the more I think of it the more I realised he is playing along a different game-plan. Yong YL can’t call for AAB’s resignation; SAPP is a minor component party subservient to UMNO in the alliance. He knows that and AAB’s resignation’s call can only be made by UMNO.
But there could be other things brewing. If you see today’s reaction from UMNO (esp. Rastam guy), Yong TL is already gearing for another manoeuvre. Right now we can only guess; but sit tight as the game unfolds.
#7 by konek on Thursday, 19 June 2008 - 9:40 am
You do not get it.
Malaysia cannot survive with this kind of mindset. This kind of mindset existed because of ignorance.
Ask yourself a simple question. After 30 years and trillion worth of oil money, why we still have 1/3 of the rural schools without water and electricity? Who did this to you? Who has the political power?
There are 50 billions worth of oil money every year for the past 30 years. Even a simple policy of distributing oil money to every malay would have killed poverty totally.
Do not blame it on non-malays. Non-malays do not have the power to make this happen.
#8 by Godfather on Thursday, 19 June 2008 - 10:23 am
Yes, non-Malays never had the power to steal. Only UMNO had the power to steal the country blind, and they depend on sycophants in MCA and MIC to assist them in the theft.
That is why we are where we are.
#9 by Godfather on Thursday, 19 June 2008 - 10:25 am
We have to take away the keys to the piggy bank from UMNO or else there is no future.
Kasim Amat, will you ask your masters to sue me now for slander ?
#10 by lupus on Thursday, 19 June 2008 - 10:44 am
How many does it take for BN to collapse from Govt ? Afterall, if more people are pulling out from BN, it cannot form Govt. SAPP maybe a small party but I like to see UNMO form Govt alone like to said to the other party in the previous election.
#11 by cheng on soo on Thursday, 19 June 2008 - 10:49 am
If one day say in 2019, or 2020 (when petrol run dry), and life in Msia get real tough for every average Msia., Hope the bumi will not blame the non bumi for this tough life. they (the bumi) should know who is (or was) the culprit.
#12 by mysn1st on Thursday, 19 June 2008 - 11:01 am
YB,
Thank you for the elaboration. I believe Malaysian need this kind of explanations from your which can assist us to think mature and get to know more about the important role of Parliament.
#13 by rainbowseahorse on Thursday, 19 June 2008 - 11:05 am
“I have not been able to satisfy his personal greed!” Pak Lah retorted, and, “I’ll elaborate at a later date”.
First, it confirmed that there was indeed some negotiations for Sabah MPs to stay put in BN.
Second, Pak Lah is not sure what incriminating dossiers he has on Yong and so has to check with his “special branch” before elaborating.
It occurred to me the similarity of Tun M trying to force a vote of no confidence on Pak Lah but which didn’t get the desired effect. Now Yong was one of the rotating CM of Sabah under Tun M admin, and Yong immediately spent the two years in power busy enriching himself instead of tackling all the problems besetting Sabah which he is so very busy highlighting and championing NOW. Under this scenario, if anybody got a dossier on Yong of his past deeds, it would be Tun M and not Pak Lah. So the question now is whether Tun M is pulling all the strings to make Yong dance and sing! It doesn’t matter that SAPP is a very minor BN component party, nor does the fact that SAPP cannot call for the motion of no confidence against the PM. The game plan is for SAPP to sensationalize what Tun M failed to do with the hope that it would jolt some very disgruntled UMNO MP or MPs to follow through with the motion against Pak Lah. Yong and his two miserly MPs would have been “taken care of” by Tun M and so it does not matter whether they are kicked out of the BN or not as Yong will get what he wants. Only problem for Yong is that someone else might have a copy of that dossier on him, in which case, Yong will indeed be such a dead duck!
#14 by Jong on Thursday, 19 June 2008 - 11:06 am
Finally, they are pointing fingers at each other ! The bunch of thieves and PakLah has just admitted how greedy and corrupted he, umno and bn component parties are.
What I fail to understand is, why is SAPP ‘given’ the task to move the “No-Confidence” vote?
Wasn’t Umno supposed to move it against their president and deputy president? What happened to all those jantans and brave men of Umno?
#15 by Jong on Thursday, 19 June 2008 - 11:08 am
I don’t believe Yong Teck Lee and SAPP acted on their own. Could it be Najib? Just a thought.
#16 by NG on Thursday, 19 June 2008 - 11:24 am
HI. BROTHERS, STILL GOT SHOWS TO COME IN NEXT FEW DAYS. AAB WORST NIGHTMARES ALREADY STARTED..HOPE THIS NEW WAVES OF TSUNAMI WILL KICK HIM OUT FOR GOOD???SABAH IS THE 3RD LARGEST CRUDE OIL PRODUCER IN THE COUNTRY. BUT IT IS ALSO THE POOREST IN THE COUNTRY… NO LOGIC ISNT IT.SO TO ALL SABAHAN YB. PLS SHOW THE SLEEPING HEAD YOU ALL GOT THE BALLS.
#17 by oknyua on Thursday, 19 June 2008 - 11:25 am
Godfather, how is Kassim Amat going to answer you when this article before his eyes appeared in Malaysia Today?
[[[“(Datuk)Shahrin has just secured a government approval for some 1,200 open approved permits (AP) for hybrid cars which will make him one very hot player in the auto industry. Datuk Shahrin Zahari, 28 year-old, is an Exco member of UMNO Putera. His datukship was conferred by Melaka Governor Tun Khalil Yaakob in 2006.
http://malaysianunplug.blogspot.com/2008/06/umno-led-government-gave-aps-for-hybrid.html”
#18 by Jameswong on Thursday, 19 June 2008 - 11:28 am
another AP saga, why saya Apa Pun tiada !!
#19 by yhsiew on Thursday, 19 June 2008 - 11:33 am
Why people like YTL and DSAI like to leak out information in advance; can’t they keep silent and unleash the “power of the bomb” only when the time is ripe. Don’t they know that the enemy is trying to do everything possible to counter their “attack” if they leak out information early?
#20 by Jameswong on Thursday, 19 June 2008 - 11:45 am
Inflation is set to soar “substantially” in June due to high fuel prices, but it will not hit double digits, said Domestic Trade and Consumer Affairs Minister Shahrir Abdul Samad.
this guy is talking cock.
#21 by passerby on Thursday, 19 June 2008 - 11:52 am
Kasim Amat,
YTL may be a traitor to the umno but will be a hero to the country and history will definitely remember him if he can bring down not only AAB but also the corrupt umno gov. He is no fool and he knows that he is crossing the bridge of no return. He may be a small minion in the bn and I am sure he has done his homework. Can you be sure that he has not got some of his fellow MPs to join him if the umno has the guts to accept his no-confidence motion.
Forget MCA and MIC. The people has already rejected them for being your running dogs. They are a liabilities to the bn and they will just be some extra mouths for umno to feed. Don’t try to convince the people here to support your corrupt umno and we feed up of the corruptions, waste and mismanagement.
#22 by lakilompat on Thursday, 19 June 2008 - 11:56 am
“Why people like YTL and DSAI like to leak out information in advance; can’t they keep silent and unleash the “power of the bomb” only when the time is ripe. Don’t they know that the enemy is trying to do everything possible to counter their “attack” if they leak out information early?”
That’s the difference between BN and PR, BN is 1 shot announce everything, everyone got shock. BN govt. is not prepared or well studied the implication of fuel and energy cost increase.
PR are prepared to face any counter effort made by BN. Many ppl. on the street already hated BN not becos of fuel + energy cost increase it is becos the govt. has gone too far and beyond any layman doubts, how they’ve misapropriate the countries funds, and income distribution, and how PL dictatorship turn M’sian into a big mess and shame.
#23 by Jong on Thursday, 19 June 2008 - 12:03 pm
” ….it will test the loyalty of other member parties and I don’t think either MCA or MIC want to be labelled as traitor for leaving BN. Further. MCA and MIC have already vowed to support for BN and UMNO no matter what happens. ” – Kasim Amat
- MCA and MIC have already been labelled by the very people they claim and insist to represent – Malaysian Chinese and Malaysian Indians, so what difference does it make? They are nothing now, support for them has been dwindling since GE-12 on 8 March 2008
Who are they representing now? – Ong Ka Ting and Samy Velu?
#24 by DAPPKR on Thursday, 19 June 2008 - 12:11 pm
A quote from Malaysiakini by Samy Vellu
“We will not let the prime minister down because he was elected by the people,” he added.
If he can say that the people elected the PM before and the SAME people wants him to leave now, why isn’t the PM obliging?
From here we should laud them for being transparent :D, being idiotic that is.
Sometimes politician cant think smart enough.
#25 by DAPPKR on Thursday, 19 June 2008 - 12:21 pm
And yeah
We need a new government not a new PM from BN
They probably have stuff planned out between Najib by now
Collapse BN and PR should take over.
When it concerns PR, PAS shouldn’t be imposing unnecessary religious rules that could affect non-muslim’s lifestyle. Don’t wag your tails too much.
#26 by Godfather on Thursday, 19 June 2008 - 12:21 pm
okynua:
Kasim Amat has no answer to such blatant acts of theft, and he knows it. He may even be a recipient of APs for all we know.
Does the public know that APs issued every year run into the hundreds of thousands, and that virtually all of them go to selected UMNOputras ? Does the public know that this form of taxation runs into billions of ringgit each year ? It is so shameful that words cannot describe this act of theft – try telling it to the man on the street that is trying so hard to make ends meet.
#27 by rainbowseahorse on Thursday, 19 June 2008 - 12:32 pm
I would interpret all those BN, especially from UMNO, MPs who expressed “It’s their right to express their views”, ..”the party can accommodate dissenting voices and didn’t think there was a need to expel SAPP from the coalition party” and other soft views over SAPP announcement as being quite happy and relieved that someone has done or is doing what they would like to do without jeopardizing their political positions. But I do not believe that SAPP is doing it on their own accord. Someone or somebody is pulling the strings to make them sing and dance.
#28 by rainbowseahorse on Thursday, 19 June 2008 - 12:38 pm
DAPPKR Says:
A quote from Malaysiakini by Samy Vellu
“We will not let the prime minister down because he was elected by the people”.
That is not correct. The people DID NOT elect the PM as he was made PM for being head of UMNO.
#29 by sheriff singh on Thursday, 19 June 2008 - 12:50 pm
Yong Teck Lee is the only leader of a political party who was not offered a seat to contest in the March GE. So he missed out.
His counterparts in PBS, LDP, PBRS, UPKO etc are now all holding some Minister or half-Minister post.
But Yong is UNEMPLOYED!!!!!
Now you understand why he is frusco and wants to shoot the Sheriff!!!
#30 by Jong on Thursday, 19 June 2008 - 1:05 pm
I agree with Rainbowseahorse. Samy Vellu is wrong -the Malaysian people DID NOT elect the PM.
The brave men of Umno was supposed to have moved the motion ‘vote of no confidence’ against their president, but somehow, things have changed and the “task” is given to Yong Teck Lee and his SAPP, against the Prime Minister. Who is behind this?
Why, have Umno’s brave men suddenly turned chickens? :D
#31 by rainbowseahorse on Thursday, 19 June 2008 - 1:14 pm
Jong,
Minister in the Prime Minister’s Department Datuk Seri Nazri Aziz said the party can accommodate dissenting voices and didn’t think there was a need to expel SAPP from the coalition party, and added, “It’s their right to express their views”.
Don’t you find that very strange coming from Nazri who is better known for cynical remarks??
Looks like UMNO has many camps and all have vested interest in wanting Pak Lah to fall.
#32 by Jong on Thursday, 19 June 2008 - 1:22 pm
Yeah Umno jantans are all in the cemetery!
#33 by Kasim Amat on Thursday, 19 June 2008 - 2:52 pm
There is no doubt BN does not need SAPP anymore because a traitor will never turn into a new leaf. To expel or not to expel SAPP from BN is the decision of our PM. It is not up to us to speculate.
Coming to the AP issues, although I know it is not related to this posting but since some of the ignorant citizen have touched on the issues and seems that they do not have much much knowledge about the issue, I will make some very short clarifications here. The AP was awarded to PREMIER Hybrid Cars Sdn Bhd, a company that has rights to import and distribute Hybrid car. The AP was approved by International Trade and Industry Minister Tan Sri Muhyiddin Mohd Yassin after careful consideration and assessments. The cost of Hybrid car is 25% more than the normal car. It is therefore still no assurance that these cars will generate profits for the company. Datuk Shahrin Zahari, a young and uprising businessman is however willing to take a gamble here mainly because he strongly believe that this is a good way to help transforming our living environment into a healthier’s and greener’s one for the benefit of all Malaysians. In order to do that, he needs to educate a lot of people to convert into this environmental friendly vehicles and it is not so easy. In fact 1,200 APs is never enough. Until all Malaysians realise the advantage of the hybrid cars, he can only live with these small number of APs for the moment. In addition, take note that the government did not just award the APs to any small company with no any track record. Datuk Shahrin is a shareholder and the executive chairman of Verti Global Berhad which is in the oil and gas dealing with the supply of diesel for long time. His business acumen has made him rise to the rank of top notch businessman in Malaysia and he is young and energitic. Being also a member in the committee of Putera UMNO, the government has done correctly in awarding the APs to him who has proven track records and yet who can be trusted. In his hands, we can be confident that the APs will not be misused. Some may realise that Datuk Shahrin is a good friend of our respected Mr Khairy Jamaluddin, please note that there is no connection between their relationship and the approval of APs. The approval of APs is contibuted to Datuk Shahrin’s own effort and capability.
P/S: I can’t remember who has commented that Datuk Shahrin is 28 years old. He is in fact 32 years old. Please find out the fact properly. This is a very serious misleading fact!
#34 by Kasim Amat on Thursday, 19 June 2008 - 2:56 pm
There are bound to be jealousy and unhappiness everytime AP is being announced. All I can say is these people are mere challenger of the NEP!
#35 by rainbowseahorse on Thursday, 19 June 2008 - 3:06 pm
Kasim Amat, you are one super duper! and I was even beginning to think that you are…hehehe…none other than…dah dah…KJ! Yes, the one and only KJ out to get ideas from opposition blog.
Shaybas bro!
#36 by limkamput on Thursday, 19 June 2008 - 3:12 pm
Kasim,
Who is challenging NEP? Let me tell you this: APs could have been easily given to PNB for example, and let motor traders who need the APs tender for them. The money earned by PNB from APs can then be used to buy trust funds for poor Bumi. Now that to me is NEP. The present system of issuing APs is not NEP, it is cronyism and not only that, it is also making the Malaysian economy less competitive by the day. Motor traders depending on APs are “good for nothing” companies, don’t forget that. You don’t really promote genuine entrepreneurship among Bumi, only rent seekers. But if APs are tendered out, motor traders will learn to make genuine profit and not merely collecting “transfer payments”. I don’t know how much economics you studied, but I hope you understand what I am saying here.
#37 by rainbowseahorse on Thursday, 19 June 2008 - 3:14 pm
limkamput says: “.. don’t know how much economics you studied..”
psssss!..he studied at Oxford! You know, the one in England!
#38 by cheng on soo on Thursday, 19 June 2008 - 3:32 pm
AP (in its present form) should hv been abolished long ago. It does not serve any useful purpose at all ! It only forced end user (of vehicle) to pay extra money unnecessarily ? and benefit who ??
If govt insist to hv AP system, why cant they issue it to end user of Vehicle directly, like that the end user paid to govt directly.
#39 by Godfather on Thursday, 19 June 2008 - 3:34 pm
Thieves will always be thieves. Like I said in another thread, stealing is a hard habit to break.
#40 by limkamput on Thursday, 19 June 2008 - 3:41 pm
godfather, you should patent the term “stealing is a hard habit to break”.
#41 by Godfather on Thursday, 19 June 2008 - 3:43 pm
I am in the process of writing a dangdut song with the title “Stealing is a Hard Habit to Break”. Ella will be performing for me.
#42 by limkamput on Thursday, 19 June 2008 - 3:48 pm
good man, seriously do it, make it big, who knows
#43 by Godfather on Thursday, 19 June 2008 - 3:52 pm
“Being also a member in the committee of Putera UMNO, the government has done correctly in awarding the APs to him who has proven track records and yet who can be trusted. In his hands, we can be confident that the APs will not be misused. Some may realise that Datuk Shahrin is a good friend of our respected Mr Khairy Jamaluddin, please note that there is no connection between their relationship and the approval of APs. The approval of APs is contibuted to Datuk Shahrin’s own effort and capability.”
Analyse this “official” UMNO statement carefully. A 32 year old with only a history of oil and gas is given APs to import hybrid cars. He happens to be part of Putera UMNO, and a close friend of KJ’s – but these are coincidences, so we should not read too much into these.
However, with all of Shahrin’s connections, he will ensure that all 1,200 hybrid cars will be sold. How ? Have the government buy 600 of the cars to be given to department heads. Have the government increase fuel prices even more. Have the government reduce road taxes for hybrid cars. Have KJ close down The Emperor’s New Clothes at Pavilion and change it into a hybrid car showroom. What are friends for ?
But the 1,200 APs is not the end of the story. Each year, there are HUNDREDS OF THOUSANDS of APs issued, and almost all these coincidentally go to UMNOputras who happen to have friends in high places.
#44 by Same story, different day on Thursday, 19 June 2008 - 3:54 pm
From a Sabahan point of view, Yong is another big hantu had been squandering the state wealth under PBS, together with Pairin and Jeffrey. I’m very skeptical on his sincereness to work for the benefit of ordinary citizens even if he is willing to join the PR government. I’m very upset that Anwar has no other credible candidates in Sabah to stage this attempt to remove the federal government. Sadly, I believe Sabah no longer have any credible politicians left, and obviously demonstrated by Anwar picking Jeffrey as PKR VP and leading the state PKR. See how PKR did badly in Sabah during the GE? The thing is, Yong and Jeffrey reputations in the eyes of Sabahan is long down the drain. Yong was the as**ole who stage the coup de’teat to bring down the PBS government and open the door for BN to regain the state. If anyone of you who knows about the falling of Ming Dynasty to Qing, Yong can be compared with Ng Sam Kwai who opened up the fort door and let the Qing army into China. I’m not saying PBS was good government as they are equally bad, and in the optiones offered back in 1994, it appears like BN can bring change to the state. I guess history do repeat itself in different scenario. The moral of the story is same, if Yong can be bought over now, he can do the same thing to PR government if BN comes in and offer better deal. In this case, I agree with Badawi that Yong personal greed is hard to please. He has not done anything all this while within BN, and over his 2 years role as CM.
Sad Sabahan.
#45 by gundam on Thursday, 19 June 2008 - 3:59 pm
he graduated from oxfart
#46 by Godfather on Thursday, 19 June 2008 - 4:21 pm
I will campaign in the kampungs to tell the rural folks how UMNO steals from the rakyat’s piggy bank, and how the cheques that they write keep getting bigger and bigger. I will tell them the usual modus operandi of UMNO and how the poor folks in the rural areas get conned time and time again. I will illustrate how the UMNOputras use the rakyat’s money to buy properties in Perth, London and Singapore. I will explain that the act of taking money from the rakyat’s piggy bank is a criminal act which, if left unchecked, will condemn Bolehland to a Zimbabwean way of life.
#47 by Kasim Amat on Thursday, 19 June 2008 - 4:26 pm
Please do not insult Oxford University. This is too much and off tangent!
In fact, the highly respected Mr Khairy Jamaluddin has been walking through the village roads of Rembau and spoken to the locals about the reason of the fuel hike. There are two diversely different visions of the future that are being offered by BN and the opposition. He has explained that BN’s vision for the future is far-sighted, comprehensive and completely achievable. There is nothing in the BN manifesto that is an empty promise, neither is there anything that cannot be implemented. It is, above all, a responsible vision for the future which will not leave any mounting debts for our children to bear. It is fiscally prudent and sustainable without endangering the longterm economic survival of our nation. The vision presented by the opposition, on the other hand, is something that appeals to our base instincts. It is classic populist politics.
Who can’t agree with lower petrol prices, higher salaries and a whole host of other freebies? The opposition has been exploiting the public’s fear of rising prices and an uncertain global economic outlook. The PR has taken this insecurity and turned their policy platform into an intellectually disingenuous bag of goodies that may be music to our ears but an unmitigated disaster for the future. Their principal objective is to inflict as much damage as possible to the BN – hence a populist strategy so as to materialise their dream of toppling the government come 16 Sept.
Anwar had promised that the price of fuel would be reduced if his party came into power. It was said that Anwar is capable of fulfilling this particular promise because during the eight years he was minister of finance, he managed to keep the price of petrol around RM1.10 per litre. The problem with Anwar is he doesn’t quite tell you everything. He only tells you the bits that you want to hear.Well, here’s the other half of the story. When he was finance minister, the global price of crude oil was between US$12 and US$22 per barrel – low prices which seem like they’re from another lifetime. Today, crude oil has breached US$140 per barrel and yet the price of petrol in Malaysia is only RM1.92 per litre – the second lowest in the region. In other words, the increase in the global price of crude oil since Anwar was sacked to today has been 500 per cent. The increase in the price of petrol in Malaysia during the same period has only been 75 per cent.
When Anwar was minister, of course it was easy to provide low petrol prices, simply because the global price of oil was extremely low. For Anwar to claim that this was due to his personal ability rather than the international market for oil, which is far beyond his control, is to blatantly present an incomplete and inaccurate account of the historical facts. But then again, who cares about the truth when your objective is to mislead people? Why should a charlatan care about the truth when he is taking credit for something that wasn’t his doing? The opposition parties say that they can pay for lower petrol prices by taking Petronas’ profits and turning it into further petrol subsidies. They forget to tell you that Petronas already channels almost two-thirds of its gross profits back to the government in the form of taxes, dividends and royalties. These monies go straight into development programmes. If the opposition had their way, the remaining third of Petronas’ profit would also be taken to pay for their promises.
But consider this: our oil reserves will run out in 10 years and by 2010, we ‘ll be a net importer of oil. So whatever profit Petronas retains, they use as operating capital to drill for oil in Africa, the Middle East and Central Asia.If they don’t do this,we will have no energy resources in the future to leave our children, simply because the opposition convinced us to take the easy way out today instead of being prudent for the future.
The bottom line effect is the government’s budget deficit ballooning from a manageable 3.2 per cent of GDP currently to more than 15 per cent of GDP. It will send us into the arms of international creditors and saddle our children with debts and contingent liabilities that they will have to pay for.
Open your eyes wide and big and see who has a better vision here!
p/S: My original intention was to clarify some misunderstandings but I have unintentionally converted this into my blog. So sorry Mr Lim!
#48 by rainbowseahorse on Thursday, 19 June 2008 - 4:27 pm
Godfather, only 600 hybrid cars for govenment departments? You must be joking! How many government departments are there in Malaysia? Then times that with 13 + 3 FT states.
What you say we take the AP “risks” ourselves? And, as a matter of course, we make saudara Kasim as our CEO, provided he lobby the APs for us.
#49 by Godfather on Thursday, 19 June 2008 - 4:34 pm
Kasim to lobby for APs ? You mean we have to share with KJ ?
I think we should get Kasim to help us with getting the APs for backpack thrusters – you know, the type that James Bond used to hop from one place to another ? PJ to KL will take only 5 minutes and we can spin off benefits too like air marshals, gas refills, etc.
How about it Kasim ? Don’t forget that we proposed this idea first. Don’t let KJ hijack this idea, OK ?
#50 by lopez on Thursday, 19 June 2008 - 4:42 pm
One thing not forgottern they is no favour involved here, you dont owe anybody a favour or face ,
you people in sabah and sarawak, so strong yet so weak in steering your duture and for 50 years you are still the same , watching and bragging you don’t have this and dat.
You make a few calls , thousands of MNC would be pleased to give a hand, who says business not involved profit.
You need good sons of the earth , no where to be found except in S&S.
But now, it appears you fells owe some favours to ppl on the peninsula, what has gone wrong who made what promise that get you fellas in this shape, trusting the bee’s end? you already got POKE deep deep and still want some more….
strannge ppl in S&S, some of you r in peninsula, had seen cause and effects of hidden agendas.