A new oil policy – reform Petronas

by Dr. Chen Man Hin

The latest jump in pump pricing by 42% has caused an upheaval in the economy and much unhappiness among motorists and the people. businesses are stalling, and there is undertainty about the future. the sudden severe rise has caused a social and economic earthquake.

The shocking increase was unnecesary, and here are the reasons why it was a bad mistake.

MARKED DISPARITY OF PUMP PRICES BETWEEN MALAYSIA AND OTHER OIL PRODUCING COUNTRIES.

Malaysia’s pump price should be equilvalent to pump prices in other oil producing countries, as for example:-

Saudi Arabia RM 0.38 per litre
UAE 1.19 / litre
Egypt 1.03 / litre
Bahrain 0.87
Qatar 0.68
Kuwait 0.67
Iran 0.35
Nigeria 0.32
Turkmenistan 0.25
Venezuela 0.16/litre
MALAYSIA 2.70/LITRE

COST OF PRODUCTION PER BARREL OF OIL

Statistics indicate that the production cost per barrel of oil for the above countries vary around US$ 4 per barrel. The world average is US$ 7 per barrel.

A barrel contains 44 gallons or 176 litres oil, which works out at US 2.27 cents per litre or 2.27 x 3.3 = 7.49 sen per litre.

As the production cost per litre is only 7.49 sen, it is beyond comprehension to see how the pump price could be raised astronomically to RM2.70 per litre.

There is no justification for pump price of petrol to be RM2.70 which is way above the price set in other oil producing countries in Middle East, Africa or South America.

This is an example of bad governance. Our natural resources should be used to help people and not to profit recklessly at their expense. Prime Minister Abdullah has a lot of explaining to do.

Petronas should be more transparent and be people frieidly.

Petronas is making huge sums of money. Tun Mahathir claims that Petronas made a profit of well over RM70 billion last year, and should therefore be able to keep down fuel prices instead of unreasonable price increases.

OIL PRODUCTION. Petronas produces 650,000 barrels of oil each day, out of which 250,000 barrels were for export and the balance of 450,000 barrels for domestic consumption.

At US$130 per barrel, less US$10 for production cost, profit per barrel would be US$120.

Estimated profit per year would be 250,000 x 120 x 365 x 3.3= RMR 36.1 billion

If we include profits from natural gas, investments in other countries, Petronas’s earnings would reach record levels.

PETRONAS WEALTH TO REDUCE SUFFERING OF THE PEOPLE INSTEAD OF RAISING OIL PRICES

The evidence is definitely against any increase of pump prices for Malaysians. Pump prices should return to a reasonable level – the same as in other oil producing countries.

Instead of spending money on subsidies for fuel, the funds should be used for the benefit of the people and marginalised poor with better schools, more hospitals for the sick and housing for the homeless.

PETRONAS TO REFORM

Since its inauguration in Parliament in mid seventies, its operations have been shrouded in secrecy. It is time for Petronas to be answerable to Parliament, to open its accounts to the people and to institute new policies for a healthy and vibrant industry.

Print Friendly

1. #1 by cheng on soo on Monday, 16 June 2008 - 10:47 pm

Fact now, Msia commodities all fetching record high prices, petrol, palm oil, rubber, tin, yet gomen said they hv no money, hv to increase fuel prices drastically, (63% for diesel). just imagine, if the prices of all these drop back to 50% present prices, how they can manage??
    Those who said Spore is easy to manage are ignorant, To start with, they hv a very small, very densely populated island, (3 vastly different races) no natural resources (hv to import food, water, even sand etc), practically no industry (back in 1965), surrounded by huge (relatively) unfriendly neighbours. so who can say easy??

2. #2 by cheng on soo on Monday, 16 June 2008 - 10:52 pm

But now, Spore is not so small already (in ASEAN) economically, they hv the 3rd largest economy in ASEAN (just push Msia to 4th place,) only Indonesia, & Thailand (or “Prathesh Thai” as prefered by Thai), had a bigger economy

3. #3 by Lee Wang Yen on Monday, 16 June 2008 - 11:17 pm

Kasim Amat’s various comments in relation to the oil prices hike touch on some issues that are not directly related to the issue of oil prices, e.g. whether Singapore is easy to manage given its small size, and the question of special rights and privileges accorded to the Malays in Malaysia.

In response to Kasim Amat’s comments, some commentators focus on these issues that are not directly related to oil prices. However, while the various comments by various commentators on the size and manageability of Singapore and a comment that is clearly labelled by the writer as ‘off topic’ are left undeleted, various comments on the special privileges of the Malays and their historical origin have been deleted for being ‘completely off tangent’.

4. #4 by madguyho on Monday, 16 June 2008 - 11:32 pm

The BN’s government only talk about how much our country can save by reducing the petrol subsidy. Billions of Ringgit! Days in days out, our medias trying to spin the benefits of reducing the subsidy. Never once our government touch on how many billions our economy going to loss due to the multiplier effect of rising the fuel price. How many businesses are going to close shop, how many will be unemployed, the rising of crime rate and social unrest due to poverty? Did they ever calculate that? They just don’t care about how much the economy and the Rakyat are going to suffer because that’s intangible to them. They on care about the amount that they can lay their hands on!

5. #5 by kingkenny on Monday, 16 June 2008 - 11:38 pm

Dear Admin,

my comments were not “completely off-tangent”, as obvious as it seems, and as Lee Wang Yen stated above, it is explicitly in response to Kasim Amat’s vile and incorrect comments about non-bumis here in Malaysia.

I do wonder whether you agreed with him when he accused non-bumis as thieves or robbers in our own birth land.

However, I sincerely hope, and will not ask of you to kick this user (Kasim Amat) out. Please let him stay on and continue mocking his own intelligence.

Below was taken from a super popular website, written by a journalist for the Japan Times:

>>Just like in 1970 when he wrote “The Malay Dilemma,” which documented the backwardness of the Malays over their habit of diluting their gene pool by intra-kinship marriages.<<

It is not my view alone. It is the view of the public, a former premier and a journalist.

UMNO is a party only…Malaysia does not belong to UMNO or whatever party for that matter…….

IT BELONG TO THE CHILDREN OF THE LAND!

6. #6 by kingkenny on Monday, 16 June 2008 - 11:41 pm

Dear Admin,

AND RIGHTEOUS CHILDREN FOR THAT MATTER.

Thank you.

7. #7 by kingkenny on Monday, 16 June 2008 - 11:43 pm

ONCE AND FOR ALL!

SEPT16 OR PRU13!

8. #8 by Ronson on Monday, 16 June 2008 - 11:43 pm

Another laughable article. Consider Iran’s oil subsidy.

Also contributing to the problem greatly, arbitrage opportunities, resulting from the difference between Iran’s subsidized price and the market price abroad, through smuggling with other countries, has considerably aggravated the shortage of gasoline in Iran, diminished its exports of crude oil, and illegally drained/stolen huge financial resources (counted in billions of dollars per year) from the government coffers (treasury – people’s money that is) into private bank accounts abroad[14]. No arrest has been made public to this day by the judiciary regarding the identity of the peoples responsible for this massive theft of the public property.[15]

Besides, studies have shown repeatedly that subsidies for gasoline mostly benefit the higher income strata of the population because they are the ones who can afford to drive cars or who can profit by using it as an input in their (export) businesses (eg. transportation) [16]. Therefore, it is advisable to ban gasoline subsidies altogether and transfer the subsidy amounts directly to the population equally or to the population who needs it specifically.

It must be noted that even if the government does not plan to target low-income Iranians for the subsidies, experts agree that in the worst case senario (the present situation that is), it would make more sense to distribute the same amount of subsidies in the Government’s budget (if not more) to the entire population equally and directly through cash payments.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ministry_of_Petroleum_of_Iran

9. #9 by KualaPenyu on Monday, 16 June 2008 - 11:50 pm

16th September 1963: The formation of Malaysia
    16th September 2008: The Malaysian Revolution

10. #10 by Kasim Amat on Tuesday, 17 June 2008 - 12:20 am

Anwar may be boasting something is going to happen on 16th Sept and we shall wait and see. We will see how PAS, PKR and DAP can sit down peacefully and divide the ministers’ posts equally and how long can they hold each other hands for. Ha Ha Ha!

With regards to the Petronas accounts, I would like to point out that it is imprudent to suggest that the accounts should be opened to the public. Being a primary national asset, surely there are confidential information that cannot be revealed or else this information will also be shared by other competing countries. Have you seen Singapore revealing their accounts in detailed on Temasek Holdings to the public? Please think carefully. If you are the government will you do this? The accounts are being audited by one of the big 4 audit firms and checks and balances are already in place. What the government could do is to release some preliminary data and explain where the funds have gone to in the interest of public. Further, by opening the accounts will it solve the subsidy issue? The issue is whether you want the whole country to go bankrupt for not being able to continue to pay for the high oil price or you want the country to continue to survive with people sharing a bit of the heavy burden in the face of high oil price? Again, my stand is still the same. This burden should be shared by all races but in accordance with the spirit of NEP.

11. #11 by Lee Wang Yen on Tuesday, 17 June 2008 - 12:26 am

Let me summarise the key response of some commentators to Kasim Amat’s claim that the Malays are entitled to special rights and privileges.

If one thinks that the Malays are entitled to special rights and privileges because they are the indigenous people, please reconsider in the light of the historical fact that the Malays originated from Yunnan, China.

12. #12 by AhPek on Tuesday, 17 June 2008 - 12:31 am

More important to look at is the per capita GDP and income distribution of the nation as measured by Gini coefficient which is a measure of inequality of income distribution or inequality of wealth distribution.It has a value between0 and 1.A low Gini coefficient indictes more eqitable income distribution whilst a high value means more unequal distribution.According to the latest internationally comparable data from World Bank, individual inequality ,the Gini coefficient for Malaysia (49.2) is the second worst in all of Asian countries for which data is available.Only Papua New Guinea ranks worst.

INEQUALITY IN ASEAN COUNTRIES
    country gini

Singapore 42.5
    Malaysia 49.2
    Thailand 43.2
    Philippines 46.1
    Indonesia 34.3
    Vietnam 36.1
    Cambodia 40.4
    Laos 37
    The economy of a country does you give you the general ‘wellness’ of the nation.The economy may be large and so is the population, very often wealth distribution is an immense problem!

13. #13 by AhPek on Tuesday, 17 June 2008 - 12:35 am

Should be ‘the economy of a country does not …………………………….’wellness’
    of the nation.’.

14. #14 by Lee Wang Yen on Tuesday, 17 June 2008 - 12:40 am

To Kasim Amat,

I agree with Tony Pua that the subsidy for fuel has to go. I think other DAP leaders agree in principle with his view.

Why then is the opposition to the price hike? It has to do with the abruptness and timing of the hike, and the fact that it took place before a properly thought-out remedial package and wholistic policy of stamping out corruption, developing the public transport system, and etc have been worked out.

15. #15 by Lee Wang Yen on Tuesday, 17 June 2008 - 12:41 am

oops ‘…HAD been worked out.’

16. #16 by AhPek on Tuesday, 17 June 2008 - 12:50 am

Coming back to what the administrator says about comments that are off tangent, I wonder on what basis he makes that. A comment on a comment he admits is not off tangent.It is only off tangent when a comment is made on points not found in the thread.I made a comment in relation to Kasim Amat’s arrogant insinuation that the non Malays being non indigenous to Malaysia is stealing from the Malays.I went on to remind him who the indigenous people of Malaysia are (orand asli,kadazans dusuns kelabit penans etc) and that Malays are also pendatang who came here originally from Yunan in China.Lee Wang Yen then presented some findings from a researcher pertaining to this matter. Both our postings are deleted.

17. #17 by bernadette on Tuesday, 17 June 2008 - 12:53 am

what happened to Kathy….lol

18. #18 by Lee Wang Yen on Tuesday, 17 June 2008 - 12:59 am

and all these deletions happened when many comments on the size and manageability of Singapore spun off from one of Kasim Amat’s comments were left undeleted.

19. #19 by AhPek on Tuesday, 17 June 2008 - 1:04 am

Further to my above comments the administrator strangely has admitted comments from 2 particular commentors fighting amongst themselves because of bruised ego.If anyone is in doubt just read the previous 2 or 3 threads.These two commentors literally occupy the whole comments to the thread each determined to win their feuds AND YOU ALLOW THAT! It pisses me off to say the least.

20. #20 by Lee Wang Yen on Tuesday, 17 June 2008 - 1:05 am

http://www.blackwell-synergy.com/doi/abs/10.1046/j.1365-2710.2000.00304.x?prevSearch=allfield%3A%28phenotypes+among+malays%29

Journal of Clinical Pharmacy and Therapeutics
    Volume 25 Issue 5 Page 379-383, October 2000

To cite this article: R. Ismail, A. Hussein, L. K. Teh, M. Nizam Isa (2000) CYP2D6 phenotypes among Malays in Malaysia

Background: Although they originated from China, Malays have undergone a lot of intermarriages. A study suggested that CYP2D6 poor metabolism (PM) phenotype was more common in Malays compared to Chinese. CYP2D6 is highly polymorphic and is involved in the metabolism of many drugs and has been implicated in some environmentally-induced diseases. It is therefore useful to further study this polymorphism in Malays.

21. #21 by Lee Wang Yen on Tuesday, 17 June 2008 - 1:06 am

Malay

http://allmalaysia.info/msiaknow/ethnicity/malay_ethnicity.asp

The largest ethnic group in Malaysia, accounting for more than half of the total population today, is the Malays.

Its origins can be traced back to Yunnan China through the Proto-Malays and Deutero-Malays, which belong to the broader-based Malayo-Polynesian group of races. These early aboriginal groups first reached the peninsula around 2000BC.

22. #22 by limkamput on Tuesday, 17 June 2008 - 2:28 am

To all who think they have no ego: ego is universal.

23. #23 by A_Lagerfeld_Girl on Tuesday, 17 June 2008 - 2:44 am

Kasim Amat,

RE; high quality living environment in KL etc etc.

High quality of living environment in KL? Huh what? You called this high quality? The living environment here is a far cry from some cities around. Having been in London for some time, we have had what one calls the Champagne Lifestyle. Not here though, I can barely have enough left for savings by the end of the month and I’m not even living it up here!

24. #24 by bernadette on Tuesday, 17 June 2008 - 4:09 am

ahpek,

you might want to visit nimcompoop’s blog. he is desperate for visitors to his blog and will not delete your comments. but why post when nobody reads….lol

25. #25 by bernadette on Tuesday, 17 June 2008 - 4:20 am

corr. “nobody is there to read except for Kathy”….lol

26. #26 by cemerlang on Tuesday, 17 June 2008 - 6:01 am

Only a few Malaysians can afford the first world kind of luxuries. Malaysia has not made it into the rich men’s club yet.

27. #27 by js on Tuesday, 17 June 2008 - 7:15 am

I personally disagree with what Tony Pua that fuel price should be hiked.

28. #28 by Kathy on Tuesday, 17 June 2008 - 7:21 am

I would agree that most of us Malaysians are “upset and angry” over the timing and the amount of the fuel price hike. It does not help that we have one of the worse public transport around. Public transport in Singapore and Thailand is much better than here.

The root of the problem here is that those in government should have place themselves in the people’s shoes. Not just talk about taking care of the rakyat’s welfare. By taking a LRT ride just to check something is not placing one in the rakyat’s shoes.

Any road changes made should have the Works Ministry involve in a study before work is being carried out thoughtlessly – like the one in Klang. Congestion everyday at any time of the day. Upgrade KTM Commuter coaches, make sure that LRT are on time, re-zon the city centre area to reduce congestion and polution.

Most of us wants to protect the environment and the natural resouces of Malaysia for the next generation to enjoy (if they will ever be able to).

29. #29 by bernadette on Tuesday, 17 June 2008 - 7:40 am

that’s right. stop being a twat and show some respect! stop addressing others as “You people”.

30. #30 by kingkenny on Tuesday, 17 June 2008 - 9:07 am

(from) A_Lagerfeld_Girl Says:

(to) Kasim Amat,

RE; high quality living environment in KL etc etc.

High quality of living environment in KL? Huh what? You called this high quality? The living environment here is a far cry from some cities around. Having been in London for some time, we have had what one calls the Champagne Lifestyle. Not here though, I can barely have enough left for savings by the end of the month and I’m not even living it up here!

=================================================

Dear Lagerfield_Girl,

This moron Kasim Amat has truly been successfully indoctrinated by his masters.

His comments directly reflects the mentality and nature of policies of UMNO/BN. That is why I say in the previous thread (Smart schools vs sick schools) that Malaysians are very silly. They allowed their loyalty and compassion for the country’s leaders to be exploited. Hence, the “tidak apa” attitude. “Bagi chan”-lah and all that.

In matters as grave as the People’s welfare, we cannot “bagi chan” or have a “tidak apa” attitude. While the world is speeding ahead in the midst of food crisis, fuel crisis, terrorism, racial tension, global warming – you can be sure if and when disaster strike – I consider Malaysia to be one of the countries to least survive that impending doom. And when I say disaster, it is a scenario where the government is powerless to help the Rakyat in all kinds of way. Even when they are capable now, they are turning their backs on us. So, if disaster strikes, tough luck for non-bumis!!!

Before that happens, we’d better make some contingency plans with a view of becoming a permanent resident in that country.

I have been to spain, their subway takes you right back to your doorstep (almost!). It is that good!

And their government got all this public amenities in place before fuel hike! (since ancient times)

31. #31 by kingkenny on Tuesday, 17 June 2008 - 9:23 am

And also please read what AAB response to the set up of royal commission of inquiry into Tun Mamak:

“Tak habis habis dengan hal ini. Reforms will be made to judiciary, we don’t need another inquiry”.

I don’t know whether we should be expecting this kind of reply from other PM in the world, but, WTF!…the Rakyat are demanding to know and it seems like he so fearless and in turn gave us a hard slap to the face!

From my viewpoint as citizen:

1. He is dumb and afraid
    2. Lame man
    3. Childish
    4. Unprofessional
    5. Contempt of justice
    6. [deleted]
    7. Confirms the Malaysian corrupt “culture”
    8. He has no courage whatsoever!
    9. Unprincipled!
    10. Confirmed that he is a corrupt man!

He can’t go hard with TM, otherwise his people will kill him before his demise on Sept 16. I prefer a triumphant killing on sept 16, let him live till then! DSAI will be licking his fingers and stoking the air, he can smell AAB’s & TM’s fear!!!

32. #32 by Same story, different day on Tuesday, 17 June 2008 - 10:26 am

Picked from The Star today. The govt is talking about changing lifestyle? The poor babies surely do not deserve this. What the govt should say now?

Tuesday June 17, 2008

Pricey infant formula forces substitute feeding

BUTTERWORTH: Some poor parents are substituting pricey infant formula with diluted condensed milk, rock sugar water, black coffee and plain tea, to feed their infants and toddlers.

Malaysia Hindu Sangam (Penang) Social and Welfare Committee chairman P. Murugiah said parents with low income of under RM1,500 and with an average of three children, have reduced feeding infant formula from five times a day to only twice a day.

“They substitute the remaining feeding periods with other drinks,” he said.

He claimed that poor mothers could not produce breast milk as they were undernourished.

“The price of infant formula has gone up by about 80% in the last two years, with one brand rising from RM9 to RM16.50 per 650gm,” Murugiah said.

He said the sangam and a few other non-governmental organisations have been giving milk powder aid to at least 30 families since last year.

“We believe there are more families who need such aid,” he said.

Murugiah urged the Government to help set up a scheme to make infant milk more affordable to such families.

He said the plight of these families would worsen if the Government removed essential grocery items from its price control list.

“Basic items, such as rice, sugar and flour should be made affordable especially to this group of people.

“The Government should introduce a ration card system, such as is practised in India, to allow the lower income group to buy essential food items at reduced prices,” he said.

33. #33 by Kathy on Tuesday, 17 June 2008 - 10:40 am

Why don’t get Samy Vellu to do some charity to lessen his guilt for not doing enough for the community?

There should be a welfare officer from the Welfare department looking into this matter. I don’t think it is only Penang folks that are the only one suffering. Blame it on the BN folks for raising everything that they can think of (or the lack of thinking power).

34. #34 by Same story, different day on Tuesday, 17 June 2008 - 10:51 am

I believe not only the Indian communities are affected, it affected all races in the country living below poverty line. Even the poverty line defined by the govt is way too low for a country heading for developed status in 12 years time. The basic needs of the people cannot be met, no point having the tallest building in the world, the most expensive admin capital or the best highway, while the paying are dying on the street. Then we can be famous on the highest fatality on poverty.

Any state welfare and social program cannot be dedicated to one race, it must be extended to all communities who need them.

35. #35 by Same story, different day on Tuesday, 17 June 2008 - 10:52 am

Sorry, typo error. “while the paying are dying on the street” should be “while the people are dying on the street”.

36. #36 by Kasim Amat on Tuesday, 17 June 2008 - 11:10 am

We must not ask what the country can do for us but ask ourselves what can we do for the country. Without BN rulings in the past 50 years, do we have what we have today? 90% of the people probably still lives in Kampong! As I said, fuel hike is a gobal issue and not only in Malaysia. Which country does not have protest when it comes to fuel hike? Malaysian has accepted the concept of free economy and since all industries are about to be liberalised, we should let the market moves freely. If we keep subsidising the fuel and with lesser tax income to be offset with, the government will go bankrupt. Faham? Regarding the accusations on losses of the mega projects, those are totally unfounded. Mega projects help the country chern out substantial income and it benefited everyone in the country including you and me as standard of living rises, job increases etc.

In summary, we should not keep digging into the past and should look forward to see how to solve the problems. What the Rakyat wants is to spend the time and money to solve the problem ahead efficiently but not keep looking in the past and keep harping on the minor mistakes. Further the so-called wrongdoings are insignificant but was merely overstated by the oppositions. After 3 months in power, we did not see much contibutions from the state government of the 5 opposition states except for them knowing how to dig out the oversights of the former administration. Sadly, all the time and money wasted in this only successfully gained them some political mileage but did not yield benefits to the Rakyat. This is totally ineffective and wasting of resources. I have been reading all the posts and found that most have insulted the government, our leader, past leaders and even the Malays in one way or another. Admin, I am of the view that this has to be controlled.

37. #37 by Kathy on Tuesday, 17 June 2008 - 11:13 am

It is true that the poverty issue cuts across all races. It is the fact that the government only choose to assist only certain parties that leads to alot of unhappiness. It is the way the whole government is being run.

What the PM says, everyone must follow. Doesn’t it sounds alot like a cult?

38. #38 by Kathy on Tuesday, 17 June 2008 - 11:22 am

Kasim Amat – it is not wrong that projects — whether mega or not, do help the nation overall. But it is way better and important to be more transparent in the tendering of the contractors and the costing of items used and required for such projects.

Even the taxi drivers on the road knows that a normal nail that costs about RM0.30 at the hardware store will cost about RM1.50 when it comes to projects such as these.

Ain’t this wrong?

What the opposition has been doing the last three months is correct in finding out what went wrong with the previous administrations. We would not know that the previous government have used up most of the money allocated for the whole of 2008 year within a short span of 50 odd days that they were in office if not for the opposition team.

Now it is time to clear up all these mess and then we can see a better administration moving ahead with the needs of the rakyat. It is not minor mistakes that the rakyat is facing what the previous administration have done. We are all facing the brunt of the whole decision making process and outcomes of the administration and government that should have spare a thought for those ordinary folks that need to make a living to support their families.

39. #39 by kingkenny on Tuesday, 17 June 2008 - 11:37 am

“”We must not ask what the country can do for us but ask ourselves what can we do for the country. Without BN rulings in the past 50 years, do we have what we have today?”"

Kasim Amat said the above

====================================================

This country will be better off with this kind man and mentality. It truly reflects on their masters mind. Such worthless creatures! (tarak guna pinya otak!)

This is what we have done for Malaysia you moron:

1. Shed our blood to fight British, Communist
    2. Pay annual income tax
    3. Pay quit rent, road tax, licenses & etc.
    4. Buy Malaysian made goods & services especially proton
    5. Pay for petrol subsidy
    6. Made Malaysia proud – Zang Toi, Michelle Yeoh, Jimmy Choo, Nicol David, Tan sri Teh Hong Piow, Tan sri Lim Goh Tong, Lim Kok Wing & lots more
    7. Pay subsidy for essential items – rice, wheat, flour
    8. Build suraus & mosque for our Malay countrymen

and everything under the sun in Malaysia. Where do you think the government got its fund from?! Please go to IRB and find out how much the so called non-bumis are paying annually…to this country on top of everything else.

Kacang lupakan kulit!

Tak ada Rakyat macam kita, tak ada Malaysia sekarang!….lagi teruk dari negeri kawan Tun Mamak di Afrika tu! Bangang!

40. #40 by cvl on Tuesday, 17 June 2008 - 11:46 am

Hi Folks,

We post comments in response to the OP and contribute towards so in exchange for the space in the blog space.

As I see it, excessive responses to readers comments [such as of Kasim Amat, for ex] is taking up undue blog space and hijack the OP article. This is exactly the main aim of hostile cyber troopers disguised as trojan commentators.

To recap, our comments should be strictly towards the train of thoughts in the OP; avoid giving any more space to hostile comments.

41. #41 by kingkenny on Tuesday, 17 June 2008 - 11:52 am

“”I have been reading all the posts and found that most have insulted the government, our leader, past leaders and even the Malays in one way or another. Admin, I am of the view that this has to be controlled.”"

Kasim Amat said the above too :)

====================================================

Ohhhh…when he started to accuse that non-bumis are ungrateful & are stealing from “his country”, or accuse us as robbers – it is his right to do so…maybe that comes into their privileged rights “enshrined” in the constitution also.

How pathetic…

When we started firing back he goes looking for daddy for protection….typical!

HA HAH HAHAH AHA :)

42. #42 by gundam on Tuesday, 17 June 2008 - 11:55 am

how idiotic for kasim to compare the performance of a 3 mths old to a 50 yrs old.

tat confirms his retardation.

complacency…truly malays, truly UMNO.

43. #43 by cheng on soo on Tuesday, 17 June 2008 - 11:58 am

Kas Am. just cannot think rationally, probably, nvr been to another country which export oil, (e.g. nearest Brunei), or any country, more developed or more democratic, or read economical, orpolitical, articles written outside Msia.
    Of course Msia is better than many (not all) countries in Africa, but do we just want to compare Msia with only countries worst than us?
    Come on lah, saudara Kasim, BN is not an all wise, all almighty, faultless party lah, they are just a party, if they dont perform, why afraid to change.
    Criticize BN not = criticize Msia or criticize Malay. This will not destabilize country if the ppl are matured politically !

44. #44 by lakilompat on Tuesday, 17 June 2008 - 12:22 pm

70% of M’sian population are made up of Malay but very few really make it to international stage.

6. Made Malaysia proud –
    Fashion:- Zang Toi, Jimmy Choo
    Entertainment & Movies:- Michelle Yeoh
    Sports:- Nicol David, Lee Chong Wei, Khoo Kien Kiet & Tan Boon Heong
    Banking:-Tan sri Teh Hong Piow
    Gambling industry:-the late Tan sri Lim Goh Tong
    Education:-Lim Kok Wing
    Most persevered party in Malaysia: DAP

Where are the Malays? or Indians?
    1st prime minister in Malaysia to quit party – Tun Dr. M
    Banker who ruined RHB
    1st prime minister who will be booted in coming September 16th Mr. Dollar
    Sheik Muzaphar the 1st M’sian space tourist doing nothing in space at the expense of Rakyat.
    Shukoi jet that don’t deliver, the scorpene submarine which does not have any submarine dock
    Mrs Mongolian case that involved C4
    PKFZ bailout RM 4.6 billion
    The Pig program in Selangor
    The palace infamy Mr. Mat Deros and his warong satay

45. #45 by citizenwatch on Tuesday, 17 June 2008 - 12:28 pm

The endless polemic of whether Anwar Ibrahim can lower the price of fuel, the crux of the matter is the availibility of money. Let us consider the virtually bottomless coffer of PETRONAS and other sleight of hands where our leaders, past and present had utilised to finance, bail out, cover up failed projects, wastage or mismanagement. Thus, Anwar can have access to money out there that other leaders did to make problems of their own making to vanish. Consider the following blog:

Those who are sceptical how Anwar Ibrahim could reduce the petrol price, perhaps the few reasons below could change your mind. The list is not even barely exhaustive as these are the ones uncovered – the tip of the ice-berg – if you want to put it! What lies beneath could be much larger:-

1.The Bank Bumiputra twin scandals in the early 1980s saw US$1 billion (RM3.2 billion in 2008 ringgit)

2.The Maminco attempt to corner the world tin market in the 1980s is believed to have cost some US$500 million. (RM1.6 billion)

3.Betting in foreign exchange futures cost Bank Negara Malaysia RM30 billion in the 1990s.

4.Perwaja Steel resulted in losses of US$800 million (RM2.56 billion). Eric Chia, was charged with corruption for allegedly steering US$20 million (RM64 million) to a Hong Kong-based company

5.Use of RM10 billion public funds in the Valuecap Sdn. Bhd. operation to shore up the stock market

6.Banking scandal of RM700 million losses in Bank Islam

7.The sale of M.V. Agusta for one Euro

8.Wang Ehsan from oil royalty on Terengganu RM7.4 billion from 2004 – 2007

9.For the past 10 years since Philharmonic Orchestra was established, this orchestra has swallowed a total of RM500 million

10.In Advisors Fees, Mahathir was paid RM180,000, Shahrizat Abdul Jalil (women and social development affairs) RM404,726 and Abdul Hamid Othman (religious) RM549,675 per annum

11.The government has spent a total of RM3.2 billion in teaching Maths and Science in English over the past five years. Out of the amount, the government paid a whopping RM2.21 billion for the purchase of information and computer technology (ICT) equipments which it is unable to give a breakdown.

12.The commission paid for purchase of Jets and Submarines to two private companies amounted to RM910 million.

13.RM100 million bill to compensate Gerbang Perdana for the RM1.1 billion “Crooked Scenic Half-Bridge”

14.RM1.3 billion have been wasted building the white elephant Customs, Immigration and Quarantine (CIQ) facilities on cancellation of the Malaysia-Singapore scenic bridge

15.RM 100 million on renovation of Parliament building and leaks

16.National Astronaut Programme – RM 40 million

17.National Service Training Programme – yearly an estimate of RM 500 million
    18.Eye on Malaysia -RM 30 million and another RM5.7 million of free ticket

19.RM 4.63 billion, ’soft-loan’ to PKFZ

20.RM 2.4 million on indelible ink

21.Samy announced in September 2006 that the government paid compensation amounting to RM 38.5 billion to the highway companies. RM 380 million windfalls for 9 toll concessionaires earned solely from the toll hike in 2008 alone.

22.RM32 million timber export kickbacks involving companies connected to Sarawak Chief Minister, Tan Sri Taib Mahmud and his family

Bailouts -
    23.Two bailouts of Malaysia Airline System RM7.9 billion
    24.Putra transport system, which cost RM4.486 billion;
    25.STAR-LRT bailout costing RM3.256 billion;
    26.National Sewerage System costing RM192.54 million;
    27.Seremban-Port Dickson Highway costing RM142 million;
    28.Kuching Prison costing RM135 million; and
    29.Kajian Makanan dan Gunaan Orang Islam costing RM8.3 million.
    30.Le Tour de Langkawi costing RM 3.5 Million

31.Wholesale distribution of tens of millions of shares in Bursa Malaysia to cronies, children and relatives of BN leaders and Ministers worth billions of ringgits.

32.APs scandal had been going on year-after-year going back for more than three decades, involving a total mind-boggling sum of tens of billions of ringgits

33.Alienation of tens of thousands of hectares of commercial lands and forestry concessions to children and relatives of BN leaders and Ministers worth tens of billions of ringgits

34.Wastages and forward trading of Petronas in the 1990s based on the low price of oil then. Since the accounts of Petronas are for the eyes of Prime Minister only we have no idea of the amount. Whatever amount, you bet it is COLLOSSAL!

In Time Asia magazine issue on March 15 2004, South East Asian economist at Morgan Stanley in Singapore Daniel Lian, figures “that the country may have lost as much as U$$100 billion (RM320 billion) since the early 1980s to corruption.”

46. #46 by Godfather on Tuesday, 17 June 2008 - 12:30 pm

“Without BN rulings in the past 50 years, do we have what we have today? ”

We would have become an economic powerhouse, stronger than Singapore or Korea. With the resources we have or had, such as tin, rubber, palm oil and petroleum, we could have been the real economic powerhouse of SE Asia, not Singapore. Singapore would indeed have to lick our boots if there was no BN, no den of thieves.

Instead, we have bailout after bailout, we have leakages all over the place, we have taxation that goes into individuals’ pockets. The singular reason why we have not gone down on our knees is our petroleum reserves, which has allowed successive BN administrations to come up with white elephants like Putrajaya, Cyberjaya, PKFTZ, Proton, Bakun, corridor after corridor……

47. #47 by Kasim Amat on Tuesday, 17 June 2008 - 12:35 pm

Saudara Saudari, we need to accept that we are in Malaysia and Orang Melayu is the major ethnic group of this country. Let’s support the government and help the country prosper peacefully without any hatred and grudges against one each other. NEP is not for the rich, it is for the poor. Tun Mahatir again yesterday at the talk organised by Warisan Pekembar confirmed that Malaysia was the only nation in the world where the main ethnic group had admitted other races and endowed them with rights. Malays still make up the majority of the poor. He remineded the special rights accorded to the main ethnic group should not be questioned or challenged. There is no reason why there cannot be two or three tier pricing in petrol, along with other commodities, in line with the NEP.

48. #48 by k1980 on Tuesday, 17 June 2008 - 12:35 pm

Ah Chang has left the sinking ship; when are the rest of the mca rats going to do so?
    http://www.sun2surf.com/article.cfm?id=23222

49. #49 by passerby on Tuesday, 17 June 2008 - 12:37 pm

Kasim Amat,

People have every right to question the gov. when any price increase affects their living. I don’t agree that gov. should support any subsidies which in the long run will be worse for the people.

Calling people to throw their support behind the bn is ridiculous. The gov. has fail to develop the country up to the level as S’pore, Taiwan, South Korea or HongKong where people will be able to absorb this increase, after these 50 years. The gov. has lost the mandate of heaven, so it is time for someone new to take over.

Oil is a seller commodity and it should not be that difficult for anyone to sell There is nothing to gloat about running the Petronas by bumi. or anyone and if you fail to do a decent job, you should be shot. Try running a company in a competitive industry, then we will see how good and smart you are without the support and subsidy from the gov.

Wasting money on non-sustainable mega projects will not make the country first class. This a very painful lesson which a lot of the failed economy has learned.

Singapore maybe small but to develop without natural resources, it is even much more difficult than you think. Remember everything that S’pore needed to survive has to be imported and if you don’t have any natural resources, where are you going to find the money to pay for all these. Without all these, yet it has still being able to develop itself into a developed country.

Let not speculate whether Anwar and his partners cannot win and form the gov., we will let the people to decide. In case you don’t realize, umno is now depended on Sabah and Sarawak to survive, and let see how long the people there will begin to question the raw deal they got from the umno.

When you said “This burden should be shared by all races but in accordance with the spirit of NEP.” do you mean in the good time the bumi take the more than the lion’s share and in the bad time the non-bumi should shoulder a bigger portion of the difficulties?

50. #50 by tshiunghan on Tuesday, 17 June 2008 - 12:37 pm

Hi Dr. Chen,

May we know where these statistics come from? I think shortie kiasu has a point.

Comments are closed.