by M. Bakri Musa
The government’s decision to revisit (and most likely do away with) the current teaching of science and mathematics in English is an instructive example of how an otherwise sensible policy could easily be discredited and then abandoned because of poor execution. Had there been better planning, many of the problems encountered could have been readily anticipated and thus avoided, or at least reduced. The policy would then more likely to succeed, and thus be accepted.
Ironically, only a year ago a Ministry of Education “study” pronounced the program to be moving along “smoothly,” with officials “satisfied” with its implementation. Now another “study” showed that there was no difference in the “performance” (whatever that term means or how they measure it) between those taught in Malay or English.
The policy was in response to the obvious deficiencies noted in students coming out of our national schools: their abysmal command of English, and their limited mathematical skills and science literacy. They carry these deficits when they enter university, and then onto the workplace.
The results are predictable. These graduates are practically unemployable. As the vast majority of them are Malays, this creates tremendous political pressure on the government to act as employer of last resort. Accommodating these graduates made our civil service bloated and inefficient, burdened by their deficient language and mathematical abilities.
This longstanding problem began in the late 1970s when Malay became the exclusive language of instruction in our public schools and universities. Overcoming this problem would be a monumental undertaking.
The greatest mistake was to underestimate the magnitude of the task, especially in overcoming the system’s inertia. Today’s teachers and policy makers are products of this all-Malay education system. Change would mean repudiating the very system that had produced them, a tough sell at the best of times.
In their naivety, ministry officials convinced themselves that such enormous obstacles as the teachers’ lack of English fluency could easily be overcome by enrolling them in short culup (superficial) courses that were in turn conducted by those equally inept in English. Or by simply providing these teachers with laptops programmed with instructional modules!
Even if we had had the best talents devoting themselves exclusively to implementing the policy, the task would still be huge. Unfortunately we have Hishammuddin Hussein as Minister of Education shepherding the change. An insightful innovator or an effective executive he is not. Being simultaneously an UMNO Youth Chief, he was also distracted in trying to pass himself off as the champion of Ketuanan Melayu.
These factors practically ensure the initiative’s failure. The tragic part is that the burden of the failure falls disproportionately on the rural poor, meaning Malays, a point missed by these self-professed nationalists. I would have thought that that alone would have motivated them to succeed.
A Better Way
Teaching science and mathematics in English would solve two problems simultaneously. One, considering the critical shortage of textbooks, journals, and other literature in Malay, teaching the two subjects in English would facilitate the acquisition of new knowledge by our students. With the exponential growth of new knowledge, it would be impossible to keep up solely through translations, even if we were to devote our entire intellectual resources towards that endeavor.
The other objective was to enhance the English fluency of our students. Of course if that were the only consideration, there are other more effective ways of achieving it, like devoting more instructional hours to the subject.
If, as the recent Ministry’s “study” indicates, there is no difference in performance between those taught in Malay or English, that in itself would favor continuing the program because of the twin benefits discussed earlier. Besides, changing course midstream would not only be disruptive but also counterproductive. Our educational system needs predictable stability and incremental improvements, not disruptive U-turns and faddish changes, especially in response to political pressures.
A more important point is this. Altering a politically pivotal and highly emotional public policy requires careful preparation and deliberate execution. If I were to implement the policy, this is what I would do. Lest readers think that this is hindsight wisdom on my part, rest assured that I had documented these ideas in my earlier book, long before the government even contemplated the policy.
Being prudent, as we are dealing with our children’s and nation’s future, I would begin with a small pilot project, analyze the problems, correct the deficiencies, and only then expand the program.
First, I would implement the policy initially only at primary and selected secondary schools, like our residential schools. The language requirements as well as the science and mathematical concepts at the primary level are quite elementary, and thus more readily acquired by the teachers. And at that level the pupils would not have to unlearn much as everything would still be new.
In schools where the background English literacy level of the pupils is low as in the villages, I would have the pupils take English immersion classes for a full term or even a year. We had earlier successful experiences with this with our Special Malay Classes and Remove classes. This strategy has also been tried successfully in America for children of non-English-speaking immigrants. Another idea I put forth in my earlier book is to bring back the old English schools in such areas. As the Malay literacy level in the community and at home is high, these pupils are unlikely to “forget” their own language.
At the secondary level, our residential schools get the best students and teachers. Consequently the program could be more easily implemented there as the learning curve would be steep, and mistakes more readily recognized and corrected. Once the kinks have been worked out, expand the program.
Second is the issue of teachers. Fortunately Malaysia has two large untapped reservoirs of talent: recently retired teachers trained under the old English-based system, and native English speakers who are either spouses of Malaysians or residents of this country. Given adequate compensation and minimal of hassles, they could be readily recruited.
I would add other incentives especially if they were to serve in rural areas where the need is most acute. Thus in addition to greater pay, I would give them first preference to teachers’ quarters.
A permanent solution would be to convert a number of existing teachers’ colleges into exclusively English-medium institutions to train future teachers of English, science, and mathematics. As the present teacher-trainees have limited English fluency, I would begin admitting them right away in January following their leaving school in December of the preceding year.
From that January till the regular opening of the academic year (sometime in July), these trainees would undergo intensive English immersion classes where their entire 24-hour day would be consumed with learning, speaking, thinking, and even dreaming in English. With the subsequent three years of additional instructions exclusively in English, these graduates would then be fully fluent in English.
With such quality programs, these graduates would be in great demand within and outside their profession. With their heightened English facility and mathematical competency, their educational opportunities would also expand as they could further their studies anywhere in the English-speaking world. With such bright prospects, these colleges would have no difficulty recruiting talented school leavers. Our teaching profession would also be enriched with the addition of such talents.
As for textbooks, there is no need to write new ones. The contents of these two subjects are universally applicable. Meaning, textbooks written for British students would be just as suitable for Malaysians, so we could select already available books. With its purchasing clout, the government could drive a hard bargain with existing publishers.
I hope Ministry of Education officials, including and especially Hishammuddin, would heed these factors when they review the current policy. They should continue the current policy, correct the evident errors, and strengthen the obvious weaknesses. The success of this policy would also mean success for our students, and our nation. That is a worthy pursuit for anyone with ambitions to one day lead the nation.

#1 by bernadette on Sunday, 15 June 2008 - 6:00 am
“We know very well that THOUSANDS of GRADUATES who have paper qualifications are UNABLE to speak proper English at interviews; and thus fail to get jobs in the private sector!”
true! not only are they not able to speak english properly but are not able to write and string two sentences without making some sort of mistake. for these people government service is the only choice. government service then becomes the dumping ground for many of the country’s retards.
#2 by 318 on Sunday, 15 June 2008 - 7:29 am
Kasim Amat BN goverment didn’t practice apartheid policy but discrimation policy
#3 by pamelaoda on Sunday, 15 June 2008 - 8:14 am
‘Second is the issue of teachers. Fortunately Malaysia has two large untapped reservoirs of talent: recently retired teachers trained under the old English-based system, and native English speakers who are either spouses of Malaysians or residents of this country. Given adequate compensation and minimal of hassles, they could be readily recruited.’
Agreed totally! The government is really clueless about “recycle” system. Put some creativity into their brain and to think out of the box, there are some many ways to tackle problems. Instead they totally ignored so many useful resources and talents!
#4 by Bigjoe on Sunday, 15 June 2008 - 9:49 am
Makes a good point that being UMNO chief and education minister is actually in conflict….
#5 by Anak Malaysia on Sunday, 15 June 2008 - 10:14 am
Dear Bloggers & Malaysians,
Yesterday I met a retired Malay soldier, Salim Khalid who served the British army during Japanese occupation in Malaya and we have half a hour chit-chat at Kopitiam.
I got to undestand and also shocked to be informed by him about the education system in Malaysia. He told me that the government under the late Tun Abdul Razak was responsible to promote Bahasa Melayu in the education system with a goodwill to ensure all races of the nation are able to communicate Bahasa Melayu for better understanding and mutual respect. The standard of Education was excellent and students achievement in English subjects were remarkable. The number of students who scored all A+ in 8 subjects were limited less than 100.
Unfortunately when the baton of power was transferred to TUN Dr M, the standard of English had gone down to earth in Malaysia. The supermacy of Bahasa Malaysia took over but majority of students still fair badly in their competency in both English and Bahasa Malaysia. Similar when the current education system has lower the standard of marking to ensure more students passed their public exams and to avoid thousand students drop out from schools at young age.
Now we read thousand of students scored super A+ with a top Malay scorer achieved 18A. Bravo !! said the senior Cambridge educated soldier praised his three sons for scoring excellent SPM and STPM results with remarkable all A+. He sadly told me that he never feel proud of his sons achievement because for one good reason given by him.
His sons are rewarded with overseas scholarship by JPA to do science degrees in medicine, pharmacy and aeronautical engineering. Simple, his sons have failed to secure any top elite universities in UK due to their poor proficiency in Mathematics, Science and Literatures. He said that his sons are hopeless in English subject because they cant communicated in English fluentlhey and cant write good English with many grammar mistakes. They failed their interviews and then entry assessment tests in five elite universities in UK. Their super all A+ are equivalent to all D+ during his Senior Cambridge exam. What a shame to the Education System in Malaysia ?
However, non-good top universities are able to offer them such courses because of their imcompetency and poor command in English in several core subjects like biology, chemistry, maths, english 119 and physics. Now they are absorbed in local universities.
Similar he informed me that his neighbour, Chinese hawker’s son who scored 13A in SPM and 5A in STPM was offered a foreign scholarship to do his medicine degree in Havard University when our JPA rejected his application and appeal letters. His command of English, Mandarin and Bahasa Malaysia are excellent because he read lot of English books in science, mathematics and literatures after his leisure time. Salim said this Chinese student was offered to do his medicine or pharmacy degree in Oxford, Cambridge,Havard, MIT, Stanford, NUS and Monash with part scholarship. He was shocked to notice that his applications for medical degree in local universities were rejected but was offered with lousy degrees in political science and agri science in third class local universities.
Salim did assisted the Chinese student to get recommendation letter and appeal for his scholarship but failed due to unfair scholarship quota system practiced in Malaysia. Salim was very dissapointed with the Education Dept and JPA for denying a Chinese smart student is pinched by the Singapore government. Salim said he disagreed with his own UMNO party and the BN government is still adopting backyard education policies based on races and also destroying the quality of the education subjects. He was very dissapointed with the current education system is very low standard and producing quantity of hopeless graduates by all local universities.
We ended our conversation in Koptiam where Salim is proud of his Senior Cambridge Exam result but happy to serve the country as a good Soldier. His last words noted that his comrade, a Chinese Malaysian soldier was killed by Japanese soldier because he defended and save his life and Malaya. During the World War 2, Japanese occupation and Communist emergency, many good Malaysian of all races were perished to defend this country.
Many foreigners and PR Malaysians are confused and doubtful on why Malaysian UMNO leads BN government has to continue in the discrimination and marginalisation education policies against other non-Malay in Malaysia. A very SAD Story from a good Malay Soldier who has high dream and great hope on his three sons to become elite graduates from elite universities are gone down to the drain. Also the brain drain of smart Malaysian of all races. What A BIG SHAME ?
Anymore comments !!
“IN ALLAH WE TURST”
Regards,
Al-Sheikh Ahmeed Al-Malmudi Fuad
(Retired) Senior Fuel Engineer & Analyst
PR Malaysian & UAE citizen
donplaypuks Says:
#6 by limkamput on Sunday, 15 June 2008 - 10:38 am
If I do not know the difference between “rhetorical” and “rhetoric”, I obviously would not be able to come here. Anyway, the issue here is not really about language. Now if you have lost an argument, please do not resort to petty issues like pointing out one’s occasion grammatical mistakes. But then, what can we expect from someone who wets his pants every night. In fact, the more I interact with you, the more I realize my judgment of you is right. Btw, would you want to deny or admit that you have posted five highly inflammable racist remarks in a blog? This is not a rhetorical question. This is a gambit question, got it? If you are undergrad2 masqueraded under the your present ID, I would also know.
Btw, don’t be too cock sure about your language proficiency. Sometimes, “rhetoric question” may be right. Let me ask you, is it operations research or operational research? But then, I don’t expect you to hear of this before!
#7 by limkamput on Sunday, 15 June 2008 - 10:41 am
should be occasional…. sorry i am dealing with a “wet pants” fellow here!
#8 by Tickler on Sunday, 15 June 2008 - 11:45 am
Jun 12th 2008 | HONG KONG
From The Economist print edition
The Brits make a linguistic comeback
IT WAS an admission of cultural defeat; but then Hong Kong is nothing
if not pragmatic about such things. On June 6th its education
minister, Michael Suen Ming-yeung, lifted restrictions that forced
four-fifths of the territory’s more than 500 secondary schools to
teach in the ?mother tongue?, ie, Cantonese, the main language of its
residents and of southern China. Schools may switch to English, the
language of the former colonial oppressor, from next year.
This reverses a decade-old policy adopted after Hong Kong’s reversion
to China in 1997, in an assertion of independence from both former and
present sovereign powers. Emotion may have played a large role in the
decision. But it made some sense. Students speak Cantonese at home,
and so using it is the easiest way to impart information and promote
discussion. It is also the first language of most teachers: a study
done at the time concluded that schools labelled ?English-medium? were
actually teaching in Cantonese but using English-language textbooks
(with predictably chaotic results).
After much bureaucratic shuffling, 20% of schools were permitted to
continue teaching in English. That may have made sense to teachers and
administrators, but not to ambitious parents. They know that their
offspring will need English to get ahead. Those who could flee the
public system for costly private schools, or for the eight
semi-private schools run on the British system, did so. The rest made
extraordinary efforts to enter the minority of English-language
schools. They have huge waiting lists; Cantonese ones gaping holes.
That helps explain Mr Suen’s change of heart, for which no reason was
given. So does a survey published last year, which concluded that
students from the Cantonese schools did far worse than their peers in
getting into universities?a result that would horrify Hong Kong’s
achievement-obsessed parents. And whatever the educators think,
employers from coffee bars to banks either require people to be
bilingual or pay more to those who are. Private schools offering
supplementary English tuition have mushroomed.
Hong Kong’s slow-moving educational bureaucracy has devoted much
thought to how English could be offered without harming other studies,
and without sacrificing a generation of teachers with a vested
interest in a system based on their first language. Mr Suen has
skirted these difficult issues. A much-debated but still undisclosed
formula will allow an increasing number of subjects to be taught in
English. Every step is controversial. As China’s most global city,
Hong Kong needs skills in both English and Mandarin, or putonghua,
China’s common language. Pragmatists want Hong Kong to drop Cantonese
entirely in favour of the two more broadly used languages. But that
may demand a level of cultural indifference which even Hong Kong
cannot muster.
#9 by ShiokGuy on Sunday, 15 June 2008 - 11:58 am
Take the bitter pill and going back to pure english for all secondary school to UNI..
Malay, chinese and native language at primary level..
It has been 38 years since the damage is done.. i think to reverse it.. only need 20 years or less..
Why are we worst that Singapore?
http://shiokguy.blogspot.com/2008/05/local-vs-foreign-graduate.html
Part of it is this BM as medium of teaching.
Shiok Guy
#10 by ShiokGuy on Sunday, 15 June 2008 - 11:59 am
Another thing award scholarship according to merit…
http://shiokguy.blogspot.com/2008/06/psd-scholarship.html
No skin color…. it about time we beat other countries based on brain.. not simple tallest twin.. longest … biggest… Ego based on brain is better
Shiok Guy
#11 by AhPek on Sunday, 15 June 2008 - 12:30 pm
English Language is no longer the language of England, it does not belong to England anymore.It has become a world’s language completely essential in international business and it is a language most prevalently found in scientific journal of any importance.And yet how could it be possible for this country not to have recognised this especially when English was once used commonly throughout the country.The only answer I could satisfy myself is the false pride of the Malay extremists in UMNO which has done so much to destroy this blessed country over the past 50 years.
#12 by AhPek on Sunday, 15 June 2008 - 12:53 pm
The two main architects in the destruction of the English Language in this country are none other than Razak and mamak.
#13 by limkamput on Sunday, 15 June 2008 - 1:10 pm
Anak Malaysia,
Look you are not a “Sheikh” and you are not from UAE. Please don’t insult the intelligence of others here. By the way, before you make further comments, I just want to let you know that your English too is horrible. Bernadatte can’t see it because he is intellectually corrupt or perhaps he only reads my postings!
#14 by yellowkingdom on Sunday, 15 June 2008 - 1:20 pm
I believe that to teach Science and Mathematics effectively in English, we must first inculcate the love of reading in English amongst our young right from Primary-level. Let us get right back to basics. Focus our efforts in developing the joy in reading among our children.
I’m a product of the BM medium of instruction during primary school in the 1970′s. I learnt “Sejarah Melayu” instead of world history.
I developed an interest in BM and enjoyed the flowery prose and witty “pantuns”.
Now my children, who converse mainly in English at home is struggling to cope with BM in class. It’s only the BM exam results that cause them to be placed in the lower classes. I may have to send them for BM tuition as advised by my other friends.
Read the following about what my friend, a Canadian married to a Malaysian is doing pro-bono for our children.
Volunteers inspire pupils in reading habit
By GLADYS TAY
JOHOR BARU: Primary school students read books with colourful pictures as they found them more entertaining.
M. Jinesvaran, 11, from SJK (T) Jalan Yahya Awal, said reading was not something he did regularly, but since a group of 10 foreigners volunteered to start a reading class at his school in March, he began to love books.
“I have read 11 story books since then and The Lion King is my favourite,” he said during a reading session at the school’s meeting room.
Starting young: Jinesvaran and his friend Rajeswaran (right), 11, reading with Brown, who is among 10 volunteers supervising the pupils in reading at the school in Johor Baru.
He said it was great fun to read under the supervision of volunteers Dave Brown, 56.
“He is good at cracking jokes and I love the way he reads,” said Jinesvaran.
Teacher R. Melavilli, 44, said the programme was superb as volunteers provided the books and spent time reading with the pupils.
“I am glad my pupils get the opportunity to learn from them.
“They are good at explaining when the pupils don’t understand the story,” she said.
The English Language teacher said the school was more than happy to use this time allocated for co-curricular activities.
“The sessions are held once a fortnight,” she added.
Group leader Marianna Pascal, 45, hoped the programme could reach needy children.
“My objective is to reach children in estates and the outskirts where there is little opportunity for education,” said the English teacher.
She said she started a library at an orphanage in Seremban and the response was overwhelming.
Pascal, a Canadian who married a Malaysian 13 years ago, said most Malaysians did not read because the books they were given during their younger days were boring.
For more information on the programme, call Pascal at 07-331 8658 or 016-764 5184.
#15 by AhPek on Sunday, 15 June 2008 - 2:23 pm
If you have to do science and maths in any language, one has to be at the very least sufficiently proficient in that language used as a medium of instruction.English is not a language Malaysian pupils are sufficiently proficient in and yet the education ministry sees it fit to use the language in teaching science and maths.They are in fact putting the horse before the cart resulting in pupils not only not comprehending the two subjects well but worse still it will result in stifling and killing whatever interest they may have initially.That is why it is important to introduce English Literature as a subject to help not only improving English but hopefully also the reading which is a life-long education.
Yellowkingdom,Sir, your post here is a clear indication of how important reading is not only in improving language skill but more importantly in stirring up the curiosity of young children All inventions spring from curiousity and if an education system does not do that it has failed the nation because the system has not help the young to realise their full potential.I remember very clearly some years (perhaps 20 years ago I think)Time magazine carried out a story on the best Primary Education in the world and she has selected New Zealand which she reckons has the best primary education for young children.Why?Because New Zealand concentrated mainly on the 3 R’s and did it superbly well.For example story telling plays a large part in the curriculum throughout the 6 years. story telling not only given by the teacher,the pupils themselves also take their turn in telling stories as well.It is observed that these kiwi kids have springs on their feet when they go to school in the mornings.Now take a look at the poor Malaysian young primary school kids.They carry a whole bag load of burden on their backs dragging their feet to school with the world’s problem weighing down on them. The oomph and enthusiasm for school is just not there.
#16 by k1980 on Sunday, 15 June 2008 - 5:29 pm
Let’s assume for a moment that PM Gordon Brown was struck down by hay fever/syphilis which affected his brain. He decided to implement the teaching of Maths and Science in Bahasa Melayu throughout Britain, simultaneously from Elementary scools through to the Unis. After 5 years of dismal results, he decided to switch back to the English language.
Why the dismal results? Because the British students do not have the grounding in BM to enable them to understand the Science and Mathematics being taught to them
#17 by bernadette on Sunday, 15 June 2008 - 7:22 pm
“….I just want to let you know that your English too is horrible. Bernadatte can’t see it because he is intellectually corrupt or perhaps he only reads my postings!” linkamput
only read the postings of someone who calls himself a nincompoop? why should i want to do that? i only reply to some of your obnoxious postings. and stop being paranoid. this is my first time here.
#18 by bernadette on Sunday, 15 June 2008 - 7:29 pm
“Moderator,
I notice that other bloggers are allowed to link their postings to other blog sites whereas i am not allowed to do so. May I know why I am being targetted at? I hope to get a response from you.” linkamput
have you found out why yet? like i said stop being paranoid.
#19 by bernadette on Sunday, 15 June 2008 - 7:47 pm
linkamput
one question and you don’t need to answer. why do you think i am a man? a sexist mindset which you’d do well to discard.
#20 by limkamput on Sunday, 15 June 2008 - 7:55 pm
there is no need to bring up new issues, just answer the questions asked earlier. You deny or admit that you have posted seditious remarks in another blog. I don’t care whether you are a man, a woman or in between.
#21 by cheng on soo on Sunday, 15 June 2008 - 8:44 pm
English is important, but not to extend that maths & science can only be taught in English in order to progress?
The important thing is the attitude towards learning, Look at Japan, S Korea, Germany, France, Russia, Italy, China, Taiwan, (surely they don’t use English to teach maths & science). Can we say they are backwards in science & maths.??
#22 by bernadette on Sunday, 15 June 2008 - 8:46 pm
why should anyone want to post seditious remarks when they are kept busy by twats like yourself?
#23 by limkamput on Sunday, 15 June 2008 - 9:14 pm
Look, wet pants, there is no need to twist and turn. Just answer “yes” or “no”. Give me a direct answer. There is no need to answer a question with another question. As i have said earlier many times, you are not as smart as you think because you don’t know what you don’t know, got it?
#24 by bernadette on Sunday, 15 June 2008 - 9:50 pm
obviously you’re too daft to understand that sometimes the answer is in the question. but let’s not over tax your brain.
#25 by limkamput on Sunday, 15 June 2008 - 9:53 pm
NO wet pants, i am not happy with that, especially dealing with lawyers. Just answer yes or no. I put it to you, did you or did you not?
#26 by bernadette on Sunday, 15 June 2008 - 10:05 pm
me? a lawyer? thank you for the compliment.
#27 by limkamput on Sunday, 15 June 2008 - 10:18 pm
oh, don’t be too quick to accept compliment. despicable coward, that is who you are.
#28 by catharsis on Sunday, 15 June 2008 - 10:47 pm
……………………limkamput Says:
Yesterday at 19: 46.32
Moderator,
I notice that other bloggers are allowed to link their postings to other blog sites whereas i am not allowed to do so………………………
THIS MODERATOR MUST BE A BN PERSON- DON’T WE HAD ENOUGH OF CENSORSHIP IN OUR PRESS ALREADY…………………………….
#29 by limkamput on Sunday, 15 June 2008 - 11:05 pm
Catharsis, may be our moderator is on extended holidays. We talk about BN abusing power. But think about it, power is to be abused, otherwise what is it for?
#30 by catharsis on Sunday, 15 June 2008 - 11:12 pm
LIMKAMPUT…….IT IS ALL ABOUT ID, EGO AND SUPER-EGO
#31 by Kathy on Monday, 16 June 2008 - 7:18 am
MAX2811, not all Chinese educated are poor in their written and spoken English. I knew some of them that are good and if not, better than those of us from the Mission schools. By the way, I have to say that the current format or system in the Chinese schools are in the bad state.
The teachers are really not qualified to teach – they lack the interest to build the yound minds and they do not have the proper qualification to teach. We can forget about Maths and Science being taught in English in these schools – found out that these two subjects’ allocated time are often taken up by other subjects and the teachers would leave it to the last minute before the exams to so-call “teach” them.
It also does not help that these schools prefer the stream the students and those in the better class are often given tips for the exams (knew about one teacher in Klang that actually told the students from her tuition class about the exam questions that were coming out the next day). These are not the ways of building the young minds – this route is taking them to the end of their world with immediate effect.
None of the parents and grandparents that knew about these problems wants to bring it up – due to the fact that their children and grandchildren will be victimised by the teachers and the principals and that MOE do not really want to help us out. Too many subjects for the primary school children to take up – should just go back to the basics and get them to learn up their languages properly – have chinese language and tamil in national schools’ timetable instead of POL classes. Then it can be trully called a national school. Why have Arab language when we are not in Arab??????
#32 by bernadette on Monday, 16 June 2008 - 7:35 am
“Moderator,
I notice that other bloggers are allowed to link their postings to other blog sites whereas i am not allowed to do so. May I know why I am being targetted at? I hope to get a response from you.” linkamput
now why should the moderator want to target somebody so humble as to call himself the blog’s nincompoop?? the moderator has better things to do than spend time educating you on how to do it. you have a blog and come to this blog to suck up to readers in the hope some would visit your blog. how pathetic!
#33 by bernadette on Monday, 16 June 2008 - 7:43 am
kathy may have something to say….lol
#34 by limkamput on Monday, 16 June 2008 - 9:41 am
Bernadette, it is slowly coming out, your cowardice. Others are linking to their sites almost everyday and why did the moderator allow that and why didn’t you say something. I did not call you a intellectual corrupt for nothing, you are, every inch of it.
I did the linking once a while when topics are relevant. This is my first time starting out, and I sincerely believe I could contribute something. I did not do it for money or for fame. I did not even use any of my real identity and I did not write for monetary gain. If there is anyone more pathetic, it is you, yes you, the “wet pants”. I have all the IP addresses with me. What I need is to take another step to find out who is that coward who tried to put me in trouble by writing all the racist slurs in my blog. But I have no doubt in my mind it is this “twat” (see I learn fast) who did it.
#35 by lakilompat on Monday, 16 June 2008 - 11:33 am
“bernadette” i dunno why u so keen to promote ur site? u shud not divert attention, and emphasize more on this thread discussion is more ethical things to do.
Pertaining to teaching, i think, most Malaysian if can afford would prefer to send their kids overseas to study pre-u program rather than wasting time in Malaysia.
With this fuel price increases, most of them will be denied.
I would say, if Malaysian education remain at the current rotting stage, this will definitely prevent Malaysian to excel in the future.
Our Universities are not recognize in term of merits in overseas, it is not even in the world ranking. This mean only local companies will hired local university grads. Education is the future asset of a country, too bad we didn’t make it into education world map.
No doubt, you will see trends of increasing Mat & Minah Rempit on the streets. Young man who become hawkers assistant or tyre shop assistant.
#36 by Kasim Amat on Monday, 16 June 2008 - 4:09 pm
//lakilompat says: “No doubt, you will see trends of increasing Mat & Minah Rempit on the streets. Young man who become hawkers assistant or tyre shop assistant.”//
lakilompat, are you implying more Malay will become hawkers or tyre shop assistant? What message are you trying to diseminate here? Are you trying to say Malay are inferior who can only linger on the streets and always be subordinated to other races such as Chinese when it comes to jobs? This is an extremely discriminatory statement and I hope you can retract it. In order to be a mat rempit, there are a lot of skills needed and these skills if developed properly, could be transformed into a very unique culture in Malaysia and potentially contributed to the tourism industry. If Chinese has Lion dance, why can’t Malay have Mat Rempit? We should look at the issue from a creative angle. This is 21 century for Allah’s sake.
The reason why our universities are ranked out of top 100 is mainly due to the practice of the unique quota system as well as the Islamic approach adopted in higher education. We should know who is the one behind these scoring system. Yes, they are all Westerner and these Western educationists are always against Islamic countries. Further, they failed to appreciate the unique situation of Malaysia where there is a need to help the Malay in order to achieve a more wealth-balanced society. Take away the above unfair scoring systems, there is no doubt one or two of the Malaysia universities would be among the top 50 in the world based on the academic results and other areas. We should be able to see the true color of the Western people who is trying to play down our reputation in the education. So please do not fall into the trap.
#37 by bernadette on Monday, 16 June 2008 - 9:31 pm
““bernadette” i dunno why u so keen to promote ur site? u shud not divert attention..” lakilompat
laki,
you meant to refer to limkamput.
#38 by AhPek on Tuesday, 17 June 2008 - 2:18 am
‘The reason why our universities are ranked out of the top 100 is mainly due to the practice of the unique quota system as well as the Islamic approach adopted in higher education. We should know who is the one behind these scoring system. Yes they are all Westeners and these Westen educationists are always against Islamic universities.Take away the unfair scoring systems there is no doubt one or two Malaysian universities would be be amongst the top 50 in the world based on academic results and other areas.’. Kasim Amat.
Really, looks like you seriously believe the crap you have written!You know you people have got ‘chips on your shoulders’, meaning if you can’t get what you want there is always somebody to blame.Why, for example, you don’t find somebody in the Malay world not getting a Nobel prize to date you would certainly assert we actually can if not for the fact that the whole Nobel Committee is made up of white men who are against awarding Nobel Prize to Muslims! Why there are so many unemployed Malay graduates and your answer is likely to be because employers are racists, only choose non Malays.Surely it would cost you people nothing to admit your weak areas and where the actual problem is so that you will then be sincere in trying to make amends and with that,improvements.
#39 by AhPek on Tuesday, 17 June 2008 - 2:19 am
Can’t you people see that!
#40 by bernadette on Tuesday, 17 June 2008 - 4:25 am
ahpek,
you’re stealing linkamput’s signature remark….lol
#41 by bernadette on Tuesday, 17 June 2008 - 4:29 am
…but in your case it’s different cos you’re referring to Amat and his ilk and not to us readers!
#42 by limkamput on Tuesday, 17 June 2008 - 9:13 am
talking about sucking up, hmmm, i just found the greatest sucker!
#43 by limkamput on Tuesday, 17 June 2008 - 9:49 am
you meant to refer to limkamput.
grow up, it shows one thing very clearly: NO one read anything that begins with bernadette says:…..because it is depraved, corrupt, and demeaning.
#44 by NewDAP on Tuesday, 17 June 2008 - 10:16 am
We should do away with those racist schools (ie Malay, Chinese and Tamil schools) as these racist schools are producing low standard and unemployable students. Please look around you, most of those low income group, labourers, poor families, hawkers and those involved in vice activities were from the racist schools as most of them not able to read and write properly in English and BM.
Those racist schools also produced most of those malaysians who are racist as in those schools, they seldom or never interact with other races. Most of those employable and high ranking or position malaysians in big organisations or firms are those from Kebangsaan School. That explained why most of the top management, senior managers, professionals, established lawyers and accountants in malaysia who are malaysian can’t read and write in Mandarin or Tamil.
Therefore, we just need to have one type of school for all Malaysians, ie Kebangsaan School or Vission Schools where all races are interact and study together in the school. All students will be allowed or given opportunity to learn mandarin and tamil in the kebangssan school.
Odinary Malaysians only need to learn how to read and write in mandarin or tamil but not necessary have to master it. They only need to master English and BM in order to be employable in Malaysia and to reach the top management level of those big organisations or firms in Malaysia.
#45 by anak_malaysia on Tuesday, 17 June 2008 - 2:26 pm
it is neither to do with the Malay, Chinese and Indian race. It is UMNO that politicised the education system in Malaysia so that they will served them under the context of “Ketuanan Melayu” which is actually “Ketuanan UMNO”.
Bear in mind that it is the Malay capitalist that wanted to see how Malay and Malaysia are right now. When a non capitalist is taking over the power, he have no idea what was the actual plan laid by the former PMs.
Education wasn’t a problem until UMNO call it a problem. Why in the old days Malaysia can generate a many quality intelligent graduate putting UM ahead of NUS and now we have tons of graduate jobless and our universities falling behind?
In order for the Malay to excel in the global, UMNO must out of the government.
Don’t fall into the politic traps of race, culture, skin colour and religion difference. We all are GOD’s children.
#46 by Kasim Amat on Tuesday, 17 June 2008 - 2:46 pm
It does not take one hand to clap. To reduce unemployment rate permanently, all corporations should start to adopt Bahasa Malaysia in their day to day operations including all documentations and communications. Countries like Korea, Japan and China have no problems in this then why should we always succumb to the Western language and culture? The problem is not because our graduates are poor in English. The problem is we do not promote Bahasa strong enough in commercial and working environment. Although I can see some local companies already use Bahasa in their operation, how many foreigh companies are using Bahasa in their working envionment? I will say almost none of them! None of these foreign companies have recognised that Malaysia has its own unique culture ad national language should come first before anything. To let English to become a dominant language in the commercial is not in congruence with our national lauage policies and there is a need to set strict criteria on foreign investors in order to protect safeguard our national language. This also helps to keep the local grads in the competitive job market. If not, this serious mismatch in the commercial world and our education system will ruined the future of our local grads!
#47 by Neobanchuan on Tuesday, 17 June 2008 - 3:14 pm
Well say Kasim! I fully agree with you.
#48 by cheng on soo on Tuesday, 17 June 2008 - 4:42 pm
Even if all companies use BM in their day to day operation, there will still be many unemployed graduates. English is not the only problem of these unemployed graduates !
#49 by tuppavongallo on Tuesday, 17 June 2008 - 7:13 pm
To Kathy
“The teachers are really not qualified to teach – they lack the interest to build the yound minds and they do not have the proper qualification to teach. We can forget about Maths and Science being taught in English in these schools – found out that these two subjects’ allocated time are often taken up by other subjects and the teachers would leave it to the last minute before the exams to so-call “teach” them. ”
Please do not point fingers at all Chinese primary schools just because it happened in your school or your children/grandchildren’s schools. There are many responsible teachers out there who are good at the language and are qualified to teach. Imagine asking me, an English teacher to teach Science or Mathematics, I would kill the students though my English proficiency is ok. I simply do not know anything about Mathematics or Science and would eventually wipe out their interest totally.
I would like to comment here that the situation in the Chinese primary school may be better than those in the national schools as there are many teachers in the Chinese primary schools who are proficient in the language. Most teachers in the Chinese primary schools who are MCE holders are proficient in the language and through proper brushing up they will be able to make it through. One of the tools to help them is the self-access learning modules supplied by the Education Ministry and I personally find that these modules are well prepared.
“It also does not help that these schools prefer the stream the students and those in the better class are often given tips for the exams (knew about one teacher in Klang that actually told the students from her tuition class about the exam questions that were coming out the next day). These are not the ways of building the young minds – this route is taking them to the end of their world with immediate effect.”
Please note that this thing does not happen in all schools but it is undeniable that it is happening. There are still many decent teachers who truly teach their students and do not have to resort to these tactics.
Please do not demoralise the teaching profession by suggesting that if one teacher does that , all teachers will follow suit.
Why do you hate teachers so much? Why must you taint them? What did your teachers do to you? If your teacher had done anything to you, does it mean that other teachers will do so?
#50 by tuppavongallo on Tuesday, 17 June 2008 - 7:41 pm
Personally, i think that if we want the standard of English to improve, the teaching of Mathematics and Science in English is insufficient.
English has to be made a compulsary subject whereby those who fail in their UPSR should attend Remove classes to bridge the gap. Start at the root, not at the top, sending them to attend English courses just because they can’t speak a word of English and can’t find jobs.
More time should be allocated for English lessons, especially in the Chinese primary schools whereby Year 1 pupils have half an hour of English per week, Years 2 and 3 pupils have an hour of English and Years 4 to 6 pupils have 2 hours of English per week.
They learn the basics of the language during the English lessons, not Science and Mathematics lessons. In Science and Mathematics lessons, they acquire vocabulary.
I have heard of Mathematics and Science teachers complaining that English teachers are not helping them because the vocabulary learnt in the English lesson does not help the students in acquiring their Science and Mathematics knowledge. In a way, it is true as English teachers are meant to teach the basics of the language, eg. the four skills, Speaking, Listening, Reading and Writing, grammar, blah, blah, blah …..
They teach the students to use the language, not the language.
Try to understand us English teachers, we are not Science nor Mathematics experts, neither are we Einstein nor Graham Bell.
When the students learn and master the basics of the language, they will naturally do better in Science and Mathematics.
I know of a girl who scored 7As in the UPSR (Chinese school) but did not do very well in Mathematics in Form 1 simply because she cannot understand spoken English well. (one of the loopholes in the Chinese education system is that most students can write but can’t speak nor understand much of the spoken language because they are trained to score in the examinations) This particular girl found it hard to cope in the Secondary school because of her handicap, the English Language , but not because she is weak in Mathematics so she started to master the language and by Form 2 she managed to catch up with the rest.
So I would like to stress that without acquiring the language, both these subjects can’t be mastered well.