Petrol price hike protest

– a bystander’s report of the petrol price hike protest in Kuala Lumpur today

They came not in ones or twos, not in tens or hundreds, but by the thousands, desperately seeking a solution for inordinately huge fuel hike just ordinary Malaysians, who have no solution on how to cope with the current inflation.

They were young and old, male and female, participants who came from out station. We salute them for their fortitude, for the sacrifice, for their efforts. Shame on us KLites, I stand humbled by their initiative and gumption to come over from Kelantan and Perak.

Fellow KLites they are walking right now for you and me, from Masjid Jamek, Kampung Baru after the Friday Prayers, they held banners up. I could be mistaken, but I think Nik Nazmi, Seri Setia State Assemblyman was at the mike for a while. Their numbers could be two to three thousand and more. Unit Amal guys showed their professionalism and efficiency in marshalling the crowds and the public address system.

They spoke of their despair at the rising cost and how it affects the common man. Thousands assembled at the intersection of Odeon and Sogo, at 2.30pm and voiced their disapproval at what possibly is the biggest petrol price hike, the world over, dealt out by our ruling government. Their anxiety and worry at how to maintain their families on megre monthly incomes, showed on their concerned faces. They ended with fervent prayers for the nation and continued to press on further with shouts of Allahu Akhbar. KL Bystanders came in bravely, joined them in solidarity, all races, stood shoulder to shoulder wondering how else to make the Nation’s leaders hear their cries.

Really if the leaders were truly committed to the Rakyat were honest and not wasteful, the Rakyat would not have given vent to this much of anger. All those Billions wasted on Mega Projects, in wasteful expenditure in keeping a bloated and sluggish bureaucracy to work as a mere vote bank for the ruling party to remain in control.

The token 10% cut in entertainment, is a mere drop in the ocean, a pittance infact and does not even reflect the sincerity of the Federal Government. Christians know that their pledge or tithe to the Church is a mandatory 10% good times or bad. So what’s the big deal in giving up 10% of entertainment allowance, cut down all allowances by 50%. Give up your overseas holidays, start using a bicycle not for publicity for your daily commute, instead of huge petrol guzzling chauffeur driven SUVs – we tell our leaders, change your life styles, ours is already at rock bottom.

Then again, with this Petrol hike, we the common man, cannot even resort to the public transport, which is in a most deplorable state. Ask me a Mom of two, I resisted owning my own car, but the state of the cockroach infested, overcrowded, and never on time Metrobus, made me give up my good intensions. I get home an hour and half earlier now, and its precious time with my school going kids, ofcourse I’m paying dearly for the petrol hike like you all.

But then this is not about you, me or our leaders, lets not steal the thunder of the Petrol Hike protestors who right now are on the way to KLCC. It’s about the common man – the Rakyat, who have sacrificed that our voice may be heard.

Suara Rakyat!!!! Makal Sakthi!!!

1. #1 by Xiao He on Friday, 13 June 2008 - 9:53 pm

For such a sudden steep hike in fuel price, demonstrations, protests and even strikes are indicated..

2. #2 by Anak Malaysia on Friday, 13 June 2008 - 9:59 pm

Dear All Brothers & Sisters of Islam and Non Islam Malaysians, Friends and Readers,

I came to Malaysia as a PR citizen for past 10 years and love the sunny, rainy and multi-color people of Malaysia.

I noted the petrol and diesel fuel prices increased are slower than the other prices increased of their related and non-related fuel goods like foods, groceries, electricity and services in Malaysia. To prove me right here, I kept the shopping receipts for groceries and foods from Tesco and Carrefour for past 1st quarter in 2008 and I shopped the same goods, groceries and items in both hype markets on 9 June 2008 after the announcement of the fuel price hike of 40%. I was shocked and almost fainted when I found out the bills have inflated almost additional 25% to 30% for groceries and foods in this 2nd quarter in 2008.

I seldom drive nowadays but to take slow LRT and fast cycling daily for my retirement days and part-time fuel consultancy works at KLCC since I am staying nearby affluent/high class area. I sincerely believed that Malaysians are suffering more in groceries, foods, electricity, transportation etc prices hike are KILLING them but NOT THE FUEL hike caused the spread of BIG FIRE from fuel hike in a great inflation in Malaysia.

Hope you will agree with me that your beloved kind government is giving a peanut refund of RM625 or RM150 to the people today. However, the main issue is the huge decline in REAL VALUE OF MONEY – RINGGIT IS VALUELESS and huge bubble INFLATION in most basic necessities of foods and groceries are essential goods for human survival.

YOU CANNOT SURVIVE WITHOUT FOODS BUT CAN YOU SURVIVE WITHOUT DRINKING FUEL ?

READ MORE BELOW ON MY ANALYSIS AND COMMENTS. THANK YOU

Now read below….. Need those in know of the basic economics of crude, fuel etc to comment.
    ==================================
    WHAT IS NEVER MENTIONED IN Mainstream Media like NST/TheStar/ Utusan/BH are these facts.

Malaysian Per-Capita Income USD 5000 versus Singaporean Per-Capita Income USD 25000

Further The Star made a comparison of prices in Thailand, Singapore and Indonesia .
    For Thailand it is quoted at RM3.90/liter, however are they aware that in Thailand new cars are cheaper than Malaysia by RM10,000? They pay only one life time for their driving license? No renewal fee after that? Also that goes for road tax as well? And do TheStar also aware that you can drive all the way from Hadtyai to Bangkok on a six lane highway without paying any Tolls?

Whereas here in Malaysia you have to pay yearly renewal for road tax , driving license and TOLLS, TOLLS, TOLLS!!!

For Singapore how can you quote RM 5.20 ? Please quote in Singapore Dollars because they are earning in Sing Dollars. You might as well say Europeans are paying RM10/liter. RM5.20/liter = Sing $ 2.20/liter, still cheaper than Malaysia in view of fact that Singapore is not a crude oil exporter. Are you saying that you fill up petrol in Singapore by paying Ringgit?

In economy, dollar to dollar must be compared as apple to apple. Not comparing like durian in M’sia is much cheaper than durian in Japan!! Of course-lah, Japan is not durian producer!!! Comparing Malaysian durian with Thailand durian make more sense!!

For Indonesia we might say is cheaper there at RM2.07/liter after 30% increase price but compare that to their level of income are in billions ! Their populations are almost hundreds time more than Malaysians and fifth largest population in the world. If Indonesia government subsidized their populations will go BANKRUPT over night as claimed by our beloved government Malaysia Boleh!

Now, let us compare the price with OIL PRODUCING countries among the top 20 world fuel producers:-

UAE RM1.19/litre
    Eygpt RM1.03/litre
    Bahrain RM0.87/litre
    Qatar RM0.68/litre
    Kuwait RM0.67/litre
    Saudi Arabia RM0.38/litre
    IranRM0.35/litre
    Nigeria RM0.32/litre
    Turkmenistan RM0.25/litre
    Venezuela RM0.16/litre
    MALAYSIA RM2.70/litre

MALAYSIA FUEL IS THE CHEAPEST as COMPARED TO THE WORLD !
    RM 2.70!!! Individual perspective: BELIEVE IT OR NOT?
    ==============================================================================================
    As of last month a Toyota Vios would ’cause a damage’ of about RM 89,000.
    In the international market, a Toyota Vios is about USD 19,000
    USD 19,000 = RM 62,700 (using the indicative rates of USD 1 = RM 3.30)
    That makes Malaysian Vios owners pay an extra RM 26,300.

This RM 26,300 should be cost of operations, profit and tax because the transportation costs have been factored in to the USD 19,000.

RM 26,300/ RM625 petrol rebate per year translates to a Vios being used for 42 years.

I do understand that the RM 625 is a rebate given by the GOOD Government, but it also means that one has to use the Vios for 42 years just to make back the amount paid in taxes for the usage of a foreign car. Would anyone use any kind of car for that long?

Now with these numbers in front of us, does the subsidy sound like a subsidy or does it sound like a penalty or an INSULT to the people mentality in mathematics and science ? This just seems to be a heavy increment in our daily cost of living as we are not only charged with high car taxes but also with a drastic increase in fuel price created a BIG “FIRE” spreading instantly towards huge inflation of prices of other goods and services like rice, foods, groceries, transportation, electricity, etc.

With all the numbers listed out, I urge all Malaysians to join in analyzing the situation further.

We know the international rates are above the USD 130/barrel. We understand the fact that the fuel prices are increasing worldwide and we also know that major scientist are still contradicting on why this phenomenon is happening. Some blame Bush and his cronies/plunders around the world and some blame climate change and there are others which say petroleum ‘wells’ are getting scarce.

Again we go back to numbers to be straight fwd

1 barrel = 159 liters x RM2.70/liter = RM 429 or USD 134

On 1 hand, we are paying the full cost of 1 barrel of crude oil with RM2.70 per liter but on the other hand the crude oil only produces 46% of fuel.

Malaysia sells crude oil per barrel at USD130 buys back Fuel per barrel at USD134.
    And not forgetting, every barrel of fuel is produced with 2 barrels of crude oil.

1 barrel crude oil = produce 46% fuel (or half of crude oil), therefore
    2 barrel crude oil = approximately 1 barrel fuel
    In other words, each time we sell 2 barrels of crude oil, equivalently we will buy back 1 barrel of fuel.

Financially,
    Malaysia sell 2 barrel crude oil @ USD 130/barrel = USD 260 = RM 858
    then, Malaysia will buy back fuel @ USD 134/barrel = RM 442/barrel
    Thus, Malaysia earn net extra USD 126 = RM 416 for each 2 barrel of crude sold/exported versus imported 1 barrel of fuel!!!
    (USD 260-134 = USD 126 = RM416)

So where this extra USD 126/barrel income is channeled to by Malaysian government……..used up millions for the top ANGKASAWAN ROCKET MALAYSIA whereas its own poor students and teachers in Sabah and Sawarak have to sit on the floors and eat Maggie instant mee duly subsidized by their owned Wealthy government ?????????

Another analysis:

1 barrel crude oil = 159 liters.
    46-47% of a barrel of crude oil = fuel that we use in our vehicles.
    46% of 159 = 73.14 liters.
    @ RM 2.70/liter x 73.14 liter = RM197.48 of fuel per barrel of crude oil. This is only 46% of the barrel, mind you. Using RM 3.30 = USD 1, we get that a barrel of crude oil produces USD 59.84 worth of petrol fuel (46% of 1barrel).
    USD 59.84 of USD 130/barrel turns out to be 46% of a barrel as well.

Another 54% = bitumen, kerosene, and natural gases and so many more.
    And this makes a balance of USD 70.16 that has not been accounted for.

So this is where I got curious. Where is the subsidy if we are paying 46% of the price of a barrel of crude oil when the production of petrol/barrel of crude oil is still only 46%?

In actual fact, we still pay for this as they are charged in the forms of fuel surcharge by airlines and road taxes for the building of road (because they use the tar/bitumen) and many more excuse charging us but let us just leave all that out of our calculations.

Which stupid economist equates rebates for rich or poor with the cc of the vehicles? An average office clerk may own a second hand 1300cc proton Iswara costing $7,000 (rebate = $625) while the honorable MP/Tun/TanSri/Dato’s children can own a fleet of 10 new cars of BMW, Audi and Volvo all less than 2000cc costing $2 millions and get a total rebate of $625 x 10 = $6,250! Wow what kind of economists we are keeping in Malaysia…wonder which PHD certificate that they bought from………………….!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Misleading concept of Subsidy:-

The word “subsidy” has been brandished by our beloved good hearted government as if it has so generously helped the POOR people here and in doing so incurred losses. This simple example will help to explain the fallacy:

Example:

Syed Abu is a fisherman. He sells a fish to you at $10 which is below the market value of $15. Let’s assume that he caught the fish from the abundance of the sea at little or no cost. Syed Abu claims that since the market value of the fish is $15 and he sold you the fish for $10, he had subsidized you $5 and therefore made a loss of $5.

Question:

Did Syed Abu actually make a profit of $10 or loss of $5 which he claimed is the subsidy?

Answer:

Syed Abu makes a profit of $10 which is the difference of the selling price ($10) minus the cost price ($0 since the fish was caught from the abundance of the sea). There is no subsidy as claimed by Syed Abu.

MALAYSIA BOLEH – PEOPLE ARE SMART MATHEMATICIANS, YOU WON’T WALK ALONE,
    WHERE OUR ARAB CAMELS ARE ALL LAUGHING THE WAY TO THE BANKS !

WE, PERMANENT RESIDENTS AND FOREIGNERS OF SECOND HOME IN MALAYSIA SUPPORT ALL MALAYSIANS TO PROTEST THE FUEL AND ELECTRICITY HIKE. BRAVO TO THE BRAVE MALAYSIANS FOR THEIR PROTEST TODAY. MALAYSIANS MUST FIGHT FOR THEIR RIGHTS, JUSTICE AND FREEDOM UNDER MALAYSIA FEDERAL CONSTITUTIONS AND MERDEKA !!!!!!

“IN ALLAH WE TURST”

Regards,

Al-Sheikh Ahmeed Al-Malmudi Fuad
    (Retired) Senior Fuel Engineer & Analyst
    PR Malaysian – from Middle East Arab Largest Fuel Producer Country

3. #3 by lovemalaysiaforever on Friday, 13 June 2008 - 10:14 pm

You know what…just because of fuel hike announced recently last two weeks. TNB officer came to my house and tells me that my meter reading is old and faulty, they immediately change me a new one. My electricity consumption is usually around RM40 plus because I have a small family. Now the new meter reads more and faster……..
    I wonder it happens to many others???

You see how TNB is taking their advantages and so hadap greedy???

4. #4 by lovemalaysiaforever on Friday, 13 June 2008 - 10:23 pm

Anyone knows about implementation of paying parking slots on Sunday???

5. #5 by ktteokt on Friday, 13 June 2008 - 10:35 pm

BN is all out to avenge the rakyat who have opted for PR in the recent elections. This only showed the arrogance and bad sportmanship in BN members. Taking advantage of the “Barang Naik” syndrome, TNB is increasing electricity cost and DBKL starts to collect 18 hours of parking charges 365 days a year. This is not only daylight robbery but “licenced” robbery, making it more a reason to vote BN out in the next election!

6. #6 by drngsc on Friday, 13 June 2008 - 10:51 pm

What is wrong with our leaders? Cant they see? Are they stupid or arrogant or what? Stupid and arrogant? Cant they see the the rakyat is hurting?

7. #7 by Kasim Amat on Friday, 13 June 2008 - 10:57 pm

I think instead of increasing the petrol price for everybody, the government should look into protecting the interest of bumiputra as they are the one suffer the most, and government should also stop subsidying petrol for foreign cars from Singapore and Thailand. In order to reduce the impact of the petrol hike to the poor who is mostly Malay, there should be different prices for foreigner, non-bumi and bumi at the petrol station as this is in line with the Constitution which accorded these special rights to the Malay.

8. #8 by sjchange on Friday, 13 June 2008 - 11:14 pm

Shame On us KLites, Chinese and MCA,

The Curse Of Selfishness in Chinese,

We Chinese,

Nothing but money-making!

9. #9 by bernadette on Friday, 13 June 2008 - 11:19 pm

“I came to Malaysia as a PR citizen for past 10 years and love the sunny, rainy and multi-color people of Malaysia.”

What rainbow colours do you see?? Red, blue, yellow, black, white?

10. #10 by Anak Malaysia on Friday, 13 June 2008 - 11:20 pm

Dear Love Malaysia Forever,

Dont worry about new eletronic meter to record the electricity consumption. We PR Malaysian has similar problem with TNB when the TNB technician came to instal our new meter for electricity consumption.

We got shocked in our life when the new meter recorded a huge amount of RM3,000 plus for the first month as compared with the old meter recorded an average of RM250 monthly consumption. We went to TNB with support past few months bills with a well written letter of explanation to TNB Customer Service Manager on the exorbitant bill for new electronic meter. TNB accepted our letter and copies of bills and sent a TNB electronic engineer to check the reading of the new meter and found the new meter was manufacturing default and immediately changed a new meter. Now our bills are less than RM200 per month in view that the new meter is able to function better than the old spring meter. The engineer informed us that many customers did complained and wrote to TNB for waiver of overcharged bills. TNB instantly rebate the RM3K from our bills next month and charge a pro-rata of RM200 only.

Now we enjoyed cheaper TNB bill with a new electronic meter. However, the Malaysian government imposed a higher gas tariff for TNB as compared with IPPs private electricity power plants and sell the power to TNB and subsequently charge higher tariff at huge inflated electricity price on Malaysia consumers indeed a BAD and POOR governance in Malaysia.

We, foreigners are enjoying almost cheap Electricity power and peanut fuel price in our rich resources countries in Middle East . But Malaysians pay the high prices for cooking oil, fuel, gas, electricity, cement, iron, rubber, seafoods, vegetable, foods , etc where Malaysia is net exporter of natural resources in the world.

We wonder all WEALTH of BILLIONS of taxpayers funds and natural resources are evaporated over past 50 years after independence and accounted for a deficit budget, high inflation, high unemployment, high crimes and many mismanagement, misused power against the people of Malaysia.

Malaysians have been paying up to their nose and struggle to survive nowadays. No Free Astro and Internet services for a develop country like Malaysia is indeed a BIG SHAME to all foreigners and PR Malaysians of Second Home in Malaysia.

We think Malaysians like “LoveMalaysiaForever” buddy should fight for your own rights today and go to TNB customer service manager and lodge your complain on the new meter default if you are getting a atomic bomb amount bill in your electricity consumption. We believed that TNB will also “layan” the local Malaysians like FIRST CLASS Citizen where TNB had “layan” us, PR Malaysians a “SUPER FIRST CLASS RAKYAT” immediately service within 24 hour after we lodged a complain to TNB office.

We PR Malaysians wish to thank Chinese opposition leaders and Chinese business people for helping Arabian PR to invest several big properties as SECOND HOME in Malaysia. Also thanked the Indian communities for assisting us to stay in comfortably and peaceful in mutli-color socities and also thanked ADIL & PAS Malay members for their help us to find a good mosque to pray.

NO Terima-kasih to a UMNO buddy for helping us to seek a business on big “coffee” licence with many read tapes with the authorities in Malaysia. We are broke before gaining profit here, so we invested our oil money into several businesses in the neighboring countries but love to stay in peaceful Muslim country in Malaysia.

LET US PRAY TO A PEACEFUL & HARMONY MALAYSIA
    WE LOVE MALAYSIA AND UAE FOREVER.
    MALAYSIA BOLEH!

“IN ALLAH WE TURST”

Regards,

(Retired) Senior Fuel Engineer & Analyst
    PR Malaysian

11. #11 by limkamput on Friday, 13 June 2008 - 11:26 pm

What rainbow colours do you see?? Red, blue, yellow, black, white?

This is what you got? YOu are not only a phua tang sai, you are a one liner phua tang sai?

12. #12 by gofortruth on Friday, 13 June 2008 - 11:29 pm

I’m still scratching my head why the gomen has to stir up INFLATION by raising a whopping 41% hike in petrol price????What is the genuine PURPOSE of creating a definite chaos in the country? Diverting attention???? How mindless & senseless!!!!!

Do you think Malaysian workers of 2008 will just sit down in silence and will not demand reciprocal salary increment?????

Looks like the gomen is trying to create instability in the country on purpose. Better WATCHOUT!!!!!

13. #13 by yog7948 on Friday, 13 June 2008 - 11:34 pm

Found these at TUN’s Blog.. IF this is true than why would gov care bout peoples suffering..

http://www.chedet.com/2008/06/masa-depan-umno.html

scroll down to FIXED DEPOSIT ACCOUNTS OF MAHATHIR’S WIFE AND 5 OF HIS CHILDREN.. That was previous G people.. Those now.. Only GOD knows. So “do what ever PEOPLE.. we are still laughing to the bank”.

14. #14 by Kasim Amat on Friday, 13 June 2008 - 11:34 pm

Before the government’s announcement of the price hike in petrol, necessary due diligence and proper consultation with Mr Khairy, the son in law of the PM must have been done. As an Oxford graduate and a young successful enterpreneur, we trust Mr Khairy has made the right decision and therefore it must be in the best interest of all. The decision must be respected by all Malaysians.

15. #15 by alancheah on Friday, 13 June 2008 - 11:38 pm

Good Luck to Malaysia.

16. #16 by cheng on soo on Friday, 13 June 2008 - 11:41 pm

Anak Malaysia Says:

Today at 21: 59.06 (1 hour ago)
    ……. a long comment
    however, No agree with some info quoted:-
    a) Indonesia population cannot be hundred times of Malaysia’s, Even China dont have 90 time Msia population of 26 million. Msia approx = 26 million, Indonesia approx = 260 million
    b) Indonesia population is the 4th larhest (not 5th largest) in the world. Only China, India, & USA had a bigger population.
    c) Thailand car is cheaper by more than RM10,000 for an average car, say, 1500 cc Toyota Vios , More than RM20,000 cheaper !

17. #17 by ipohites on Friday, 13 June 2008 - 11:41 pm

I think our PM do not understand our citizens of Malaysia been suffering due to the inflation…that is why we protest la!

18. #18 by The Enforcer on Friday, 13 June 2008 - 11:44 pm

Kasim Amat, where are you talking from? Are you speaking from your front or BACK opening? Here we are trying to rid the GOONS and strive as ONE irregardless of RACE or RELIGION and here you are talking about different levels of MALAYSIANS.
    What special rights are you talking about? Those GOONS have been doing it since independence, it’s just that you must be from the special GROUP, that is the Umnoputras and the CRONIES then only will you see the $$$$$ of the special rights!!!

19. #19 by Lee Wang Yen on Friday, 13 June 2008 - 11:49 pm

It seems to me that Kasim Amat is just being sarcastic.

20. #20 by Lee Wang Yen on Friday, 13 June 2008 - 11:50 pm

What he writes sounds like he is taunting rather than defending Abdullah

21. #21 by Anak Malaysia on Friday, 13 June 2008 - 11:53 pm

Dear Bernadette,

You said: “What rainbow colours do you see?? Red, blue, yellow, black, white?” in replied to our blog message to Sdr LKS.

Yes, Malaysia is a beautiful country with lovely rich natural resources and plentiful of nice people with multi-color cultures, excellent environment, sunny and rainny weathers and many good foods…etc.

Yes, Malaysia has beautiful rainbow colors after rain and shine where many local birds and animals are creating healthy living in the rich jungles, multi color fashions and beautiful people like Bernadette too.

Unlike when you visit the Arab Middle East countries in our soils where you can see clean deserts , brown sand buildings, green seas, camels, nomad dark fashion and etc but our Arabian are very RICH where money can buy all material goods and power in earth . Our BILLIONS cannot buy a beautiful ” RAINBOW” in this world.

VERY UNFORTUNATE that your kind wealthy government has done good jobs to pamper Malaysians with excellent high prices of goods produced from own rich natural resources nowadays in Malaysia. The superficial increased of prices across huge range of foods, goods and services due to hike in fuel and electricity have sparked a BIG FIRE towards Malaysians. Nevertheless, all Malaysians are damn kiasi and kiasu silent about the prices increased daily and many business people are laughing to the Banks today.

Only a handful poor people are protesting on the streets to voice their unhappiness about the prices hike today.

Millions of Malaysians are damn happy with the prices hike since the RAINBOW COLORS here are still shining on most rich pockets in Malaysia BOLEH.

We, PR Malaysians have nothing to protest here but to follow the majority Malaysians silent protest to keep peace and freedom forever. BRAVO !!

WE LOVE MALAYSIA BUT NOT HIKE PRICES HERE !!

“IN ALLAH WE TURST”

Regards,

Rich Second Home Investor /
    Snr Fuel Consultant

22. #22 by choonchoy on Friday, 13 June 2008 - 11:56 pm

Anak Malaysia Says:
    I was shocked and almost fainted when I found out the bills have inflated almost additional 25% to 30% for groceries and foods in this 2nd quarter in 2008.

—————————————————————-
    And the government say inflation is below 5%. Hahahaha PM is showing off his Mathematical Superiority. I suspect PM is using his newly formulated “Quantum Theory of Bullshit Economics”.

The prices have not stopped going up! Workers will now start to demand higher wages and in turn cause the employers to further raise prices which will offset the wage rise. It will take a few loop-the-loops for the market to adjust.

The work force (Indonesian) in the construction sector will decrease as cost of living rises. (Yes, Malaysia is mostly built by Indonesians!)

Badawi, Father of Inflation and Recession.

VOTE OF NO CONFIDANCE FOR BN, UMNO AND ABDULLAH!!!
    TIME TO RID MALAYSIA OF THESE PARASITES!!!

Just think about it, a PM who cannot even tell people his real name! How can we trust a person like that!

23. #23 by cheng on soo on Friday, 13 June 2008 - 11:58 pm

Is this kasim Amat, = previous killer??
    Hope Kasim, U are not serious,
    U proposed to hv 3 diff pricing for petrol?? U think it can work ? Don’t U think that Bumi will then sell the petrol to non bumi & foreigner for profit??
    Respect that Oxford graduate ?? Are U saying all other Msian are stupid (include U??)

24. #24 by cemerlang on Friday, 13 June 2008 - 11:59 pm

With the increase of fuel, basic necessities and others and cost cutting measures, can we declare to the whole wide world that Malaysia is rich ? Therefore cost cutting measures should include cutting away plans or projects or programmes that are not necessary. Example are we saying we are so rich by blasting Doctor Sheikh Mustaffar into space ? Are we so rich by sending our troops to change guard at the Buckingham palace ? Are we so rich by thinking of buying a rocket made in Russia ? Are we so rich that MAS could afford to have low fares ? If the politicians do not spend unnecessarily, may be, just may be, the petrol hike will not be that much and there will not be cost cutting measures on the things that matter. Sometimes we want to show off Malaysia, forgetting that it is actually not quite the right time for her to shine forever. This has something to do with financial management of the country since her birth. So the people has to shout loud at the government. May be make sure that Prime Minister is around and can hear and can see you all protest. We have overspent. How much do we owe anybody including the world bank ?

25. #25 by yog7948 on Saturday, 14 June 2008 - 12:01 am

Even if those “propaganda” account statement was used for 1999 G.Election. If DSAI can confirm it than our nation can see some new amnesia circus clowns with insomnia in town.

Aren’t they getting enough pay? DAMN those rakyat cheating people.. May God blAst their soul..oppss Bless.

26. #26 by pgsilai on Saturday, 14 June 2008 - 12:02 am

BTW, Bernadette please go back to Primary school and find out rainbow has how many colours. The rebate of RM625 is not only peanut, it will cause a lot of inconveniences, time wasted and unproductive. Should have think of other ways to ease the burden of our rakyat.

27. #27 by bennylohstocks on Saturday, 14 June 2008 - 12:06 am

28. #28 by limkamput on Saturday, 14 June 2008 - 12:06 am

The Enforcer, i think we should learn not to engage with soiled people whose culture is just to take and take but never to give.

29. #29 by Kasim Amat on Saturday, 14 June 2008 - 12:09 am

You bunch of people do not understand the meaning of the fuel hike and it is sad to say that you [deleted] with very short sight. And please do not ever give mockery comment on Mr Khairy. If he is not capable, our PM would not have consulted him so many times. Do u think the PM is insane? Also mind your word please and don’t ever challenge the special rights accorded to the majority race under the Constitution. We will gather the unity among the group and urge the BN led government to seriously consider the possibility of implementing a 2 or 3 different pricing at the petrol kiosk to help calm the majority of the people down.

30. #30 by cheng on soo on Saturday, 14 June 2008 - 12:18 am

Great ! Kasim Go on dont consider, do it !), and implement 3 or 4 or 5 pricing for petrol in kiosks & see what happen.

31. #31 by cemerlang on Saturday, 14 June 2008 - 12:22 am

Protests and demos should be in Putrajaya, the administration hub of Malaysia and right at the steps of Prime Minister office. That way, he can see for himself. Not just for the media or for the public. You must get the message straight across to him. Or whoever who is in charge.

32. #32 by Anak Malaysia on Saturday, 14 June 2008 - 12:24 am

Dear Mr. Cheng On Soo,

Thank you vey much for correcting PR Malaysian’s message earlier but the information was given by your good tourist mis-information officer at Visit Malaysia office.

We will lodge a simple complain to the Visit Malaysia Customer Service Manager this weekend.

Last but not least, my long comment earlier to Sdr LKS is to highlight to all Malaysians about the actual costs of crude oil and petrol in Malaysia. Why must Malaysians paying so expensive petrol at USD0.85 sen per liter or RM2.70 per liter as a net oil exporter as compared with other oil exporters. Malaysia has many rich natural resources like rubber, tin, timber, sand, granite, crude oil, seafoods, vegetables, dairy products, cocoa, palm oil, etc..you name them all that you can find in Malaysia….// yet Malaysians are paying the highest prices for all end products produced by local manufacturers in Malaysia. No wonder that many fixed income earners are getting poorer with their pockets getting smaller to smallest.

Read about the local business people are getting richer to richest, namely Vincent Tan, Nazir Razak, Mirzan Mahathir, political cronies too are recorded as BILLIONAIRES list in Malaysia. Unemployed Millionaire, Mr. KJ (PM’s son-in-law) is coming to be listed and join the Malaysia Billionaires Club list soon.

We, PR Malaysians are damn pity and sad with our brothers & sisters Malaysians paying high prices of many goods and services today because of fuel and electricity prices spread a BIG FIRE today.

Thanks to your good Mr. CLEAN for rewarding all Malaysians for voting Mr. Clean Guy into POWER again to RULE with deaf ears & to increase PRICES with smiling face :-) !! What a SHAME ?

Once again, WE LOVE MALAYSIA.

“IN ALLAH WE TURST”

Regards,

Rich Second Home Investor /
    Snr Fuel Consultant

33. #33 by Kasim Amat on Saturday, 14 June 2008 - 12:55 am

Al-Sheikh Ahmeed Al-Malnudi Fuad

I seriously doubt you are a real PR. A PR cannot be so passionate about the affairs of a foreign country at this hour, and your written English just does not look like an Arab. Seems to me you are just another disgruntled Chinese!

34. #34 by bernadette on Saturday, 14 June 2008 - 1:03 am

what makkal sakhti?? [deleted]

35. #35 by Anak Malaysia on Saturday, 14 June 2008 - 1:53 am

Oops !! This DAP Blog is a good forum for all smart Malaysians and intelligent bloggers unlike Kassim Amat is a big fool blinded follower or spy for some greedy cum arrogant politicians in Malaysia.

Who is this sucker “Kassim Amat” who is so color racist in his bloody mind to raise negative statements and racist remarks to shit on all Malaysian’s bloggers here?

This stupid fool has been very bad manner or Malay says “Kurang Ajar” in insulting many Malaysians on the subject of fuel and electricity prices hike in Malaysia.

Hello ! Fool Kassim Amat….read this message clearly,

PR Malaysian educated, write better and speak fluent Bahasa Malaysia here. We never play racist card in Arab soils unlike Kassim Amat is damn dirty on human color. Excuse me, I am non-Chinese, non- Malay or non-Bumi but a rich Arabian UAE citizen cum PR Malaysian who invested millions RM in properties and consulted top fuel national companies in Malaysia. My articles wrote earlier are to inform Malaysians are badly and mistreated by their own good kind Muslim leaders of their own blood as compared with our Arab countries are excellent Muslim leaders.

In a good faith of ALLAH s.w.t. quran book quoted:

“A GOOD MUSLIM LEADER MUST WILLING TO PAY HIGH ZAKAT AND SHARE RICH NATURAL RESOURCES OF MOTHERLAND TO THEIR OWN PEOPLE WITH A COMPASSION MIND AND HEART”.

Nothing wrong for a PR Malaysian who stayed 10 years in Malaysia to voice concern message about the current FINANCIAL affairs about the increased prices are hurting many people on the streets and majority wage earners and Muslim civil servants. I can go online 24 hours a day and watch FREE Euro Cup now since I am damn super RICH and RETIRED freedom in life enjoying Malaysia life here. Unless Kassim Amat wants to chase away our RICH Brothers and Sisters Muslims of Arab soils from Second Homes in Malaysia, please tell the authorities to do so. We are pleased to pack our Banks Accounts and sell our properties here to invest & stay in your neighbouring Muslims counties for GOOD. Get the MESSAGE RIGHT !

What is the problem with Kassim Amat kept on defending KJ and play racist card over the fuel and electricity price hike ? We, PR Malaysians have doubt about the motives of Kassim Amat replying to all bloggers here. Beware of Kassim Asmat!

THE INCREASE IN PRICES OF ALL GOODS AND SERVICES FROM FUEL HIKE WILL ALSO HIT BACK ON KASSIM AMAT’S BANK ACCOUNTS UNLESS HE IS SOMEONE CRONY IN FUEL BIZ !!

Kata pepatah Melayu saying:

” Tepuk Air Ke-Dulang, Kena Muka Sendiri”

What a BIG SHAME to Kassim Amat?

Do Malaysians agreed with PR Malaysian on the above comments earlier.

“In ALLAH We TRUST ”

Rich Second Home Investor/ Snr Fuel Consultant

36. #36 by procol on Saturday, 14 June 2008 - 2:15 am

TROLL ALERT. Kasim Amat is the newest “troll” on the prowl. I don’t know whether he’s Killer in disguise or what. Maybe just an immature kid who’s luring us into responding to his baseless claims all the while watching bloggers getting angry at his statements. Further, he adores Tun Mahathir, Badawi and Khairy. But hey, I think he has chosen the wrong idols right? I wonder who will he side if all 4 of them (including himself) meet…..Doesn’t appear to me to be a smart move especially now after he ticked off non-bumis.

37. #37 by passerby on Saturday, 14 June 2008 - 5:50 am

Kasim Amat,

It doesn’t matter if he, Al-Sheikh Ahmeed Al-Malnudi Fuad is a chinese or alien, at least he is voicing the suffering of all the poor and not any particular group or race. Do you mean only the malays are poor and there are no poor in other races?

To voice help to only one particular race and not to the equally poor from another is nothing but racist. You still did not learn anything why Malaysia is behind Singapore after all these years is because of racist policy, corruption and mismanagement. The smart and the capable all have wings so to speak and they will go to any place which welcome their abilities.

Using vile threat will not stop the poor of all racial group to question any inequality and sufferings and you cannot make all malays to be millionaires also with racist policy. Only a fair and equal policy will help malaysia escape poverty once the oil runs out and that day is not that far off too. Remember each time you squeeze the other group, Malaysia will only become poorer.

Let hope this oil crunch will wake up all these racist people and the government and think what will happen when the oil runs out. We have good example in Indonesia and see how the people there are suffering regardless whether you are bumiputra or not.

38. #38 by undergrad2 on Saturday, 14 June 2008 - 6:45 am

“In order to reduce the impact of the petrol hike to the poor who is mostly Malay, there should be different prices for foreigner, non-bumi and bumi at the petrol station as this is in line with the Constitution which accorded these special rights to the Malay.”

Tell me you’re only jokin’ !

39. #39 by winsoontan on Saturday, 14 June 2008 - 7:33 am

Government sudden put the fuel hike kills a lot of building and civil contractor. The cost easily increased more than 10%. So, this year may see a lot of companies shut down. Is This what government want to see?

Mean while a lot of default for bank loans will take place, properties market will be slow down, Is this good for the 5 Corridors that launched before GE-12?

Why the government never plan properly and cause Rakyat to suffer?

40. #40 by PSM on Saturday, 14 June 2008 - 7:35 am

“KL Bystanders came in bravely, joined them in solidarity, all races, stood shoulder to shoulder wondering how else to make the Nation’s leaders hear their cries”.
    And we said that the BN was not doing anything about uniting all the races in Malaysia!!!!!

41. #41 by PSM on Saturday, 14 June 2008 - 7:37 am

By the way, I salute those who came out yesterday & showed their displeasure in a controlled & civilized manner. I salute them again for standing against the “thugs in blue” (lthe ap dogs of BN) who would not hesitate to blast them with water cannons & batons at a single chance!

42. #42 by winsoontan on Saturday, 14 June 2008 - 7:38 am

Kasim Amat, are you still sleeping there? Sad!

43. #43 by Godfather on Saturday, 14 June 2008 - 9:02 am

Kasim Amat, another of UMNO’s cybertrooper tasked with infiltrating blogs with the standard UMNO filth, asked if Badawi was insane.

No, Badawi is not insane. I have met him. He is just a village idiot, just like so many village idiots running UMNO.

44. #44 by Godfather on Saturday, 14 June 2008 - 9:04 am

Just ignore bernadette’s comments. That’s a primary school student making comments on his/her parents’ computer.

45. #45 by yhsiew on Saturday, 14 June 2008 - 9:08 am

Minister allowance cut back, reduce fuel wastage, increase the number of NGV stations and give rebate of RM625 to vehicle owners are just PASSIVE solutions to world fuel price hikes. These PASSIVE solutions are only viable in the short term.

The government should aggressively embark on an ACTIVE solution of doubling or multiplying several folds the nation’s per capita income within a SHORT SPACE OF TIME like what has happened to neighboring Singapore. With higher per capita income, the rakyat will have more disposal resources to counter price increases of fuel and everyday goods and the country will be more resilient to price fluctuations of commodities and goods.

The government claimed there were good economic growths of 5 – 6% in the past few years. But they should note that people on the street have not been benefited from such growths. They should do an in-depth study on what happened to the money derived from such growths, why it didn’t reach the rakyat’s pockets and whether there is anything wrong with our distribution of wealth or the Gini index.

46. #46 by Mr Smith on Saturday, 14 June 2008 - 9:24 am

“I think our PM do not understand our citizens of Malaysia been suffering due to the inflation…that is why we protest la!”
    ========================
    Not only the PM, but the entire UMNO supreme council and cabinet ministers never understood the plight of the people.
    They are living in another dimension.
    Has anyone visited UMNO leaders’ houses? Even divisional chairmans’ houses. I have.
    Take a look at their luxurious homes, their fleet of cars, furniture, neatly lawned gardens, glittering clothes and their extravagant way of life (and wives and mistresses).
    I believe all of them are living beyond what they legal incomes allow.
    If only the next PR government can get them to declare their assets and reclaim our money, this country will be the riches in Asean.
    I blame those Malaysians, who kept voting for them again and again despite fully being aware of their corrupt nature and greed. We are suffering because of this.
    As for me, no, I never voted for BN in all my life.

47. #47 by k1980 on Saturday, 14 June 2008 - 9:53 am

Searching for secure and long-term returns, major investors turned their attention to the commodities indexes, investments that promised substantially higher returns than investing in the stock market. The more the funds invested, the higher the prices went, especially since the market for speculative commodities securities is very small. Even minor shifts in the portfolios of large mutual funds can quickly drive up the price of oil.

http://www.spiegel.de/international/world/0,1518,559550,00.html

48. #48 by limkamput on Saturday, 14 June 2008 - 9:54 am

Dear Friends, today is the first day of the refund for fuel hike rebate. I have just been to the nearest post office to see how the things like. As expected, cars are being parked haphazardly everywhere. Hundred of people crowd around here and there talking and discussing how to fill the form. This is the irony. Are we not spending more petrol to get back the money that are supposed to be ours in the first place. Just calculate how many man-hours are wasted in this madness. Just count how much the government will have to pay Post Malaysia to do an activity that has nothing to do with GDP creation or efficiency enhancement. It is not by coincidence that this nation has become tong sampah. The country is being managed by tong sampah people who can’t anticipate, who has no money sense, never think productive, and who can’t carry more than three variables in their heads.
    Read more here at: limkamput-nincompoop.blogspot.com/2008/06/funny-side-of-fuel-price-hike.html

49. #49 by bernadette on Saturday, 14 June 2008 - 9:59 am

why should anyone be interested in what a nincompoop has to say? it’s a lot of poop!

50. #50 by limkamput on Saturday, 14 June 2008 - 10:07 am

Ya, i do this for free, to contribute to society. For you, you are paid to monitor me, i know.

51. #51 by Anak Malaysia on Saturday, 14 June 2008 - 10:22 am

Good morning, Dear Malaysians,

Thanks to Passerby for his excellent comments on my replied to idiot Kasim Amat is racist blinded fool.

We, PR Malaysian or UAE citizen is very sad indeed to read, see, listen and witness on many government policies and negotiated contracts are created and established based on racial issues and quotas. In the name of ALLAH, Muslims citizen in the world have no such discrimination and marginalisation policies towards their own kind of human and blood unless the seggregation of human, animal and alien. Our Brothers and Sisters of Islam from Arabian soils are very suprised and unhappy with such color government policies practised in Malaysia similar like the “black or white” policies of South Africa where the white ruler imposed sanction and quota policies against the local black people. Now South Africa new government had changed their policies to benefits their people irrespective of colors. Bravo !

Whereas, we saw the Malaysian government still adopt the fuedalisma racial policies on the several issues played by the Race based parties like UMNO, MCA and MIC. For instance, Kasim Amat is idiol of UMNO always play racist card to fool other fellow Malays by way of undermining their intelligence and bravery and criticise other non-Malay for their successful wealthy life in Malaysia. Muslims believed a person must work hard and work smart irrespective of race or color or religion , in order for a person to develop his/her career and wealth in the competitive world. Nevertheless, irresponsible UMNO members are still leading the sandiwara racist card for many years to enrich selected cronies, families and dirty politicians with billions of projects and negotiated contracts at the expenses of the entire Malay citizens and caused stiff conflict and hatred with non Malay citizens are punching bags in the racist game.
    Muslim citizens dont do that to their own people and religion in Islam. Why a SHAME ?

The issue of fuel and electricity prices are a major problem to all Malaysians. It is non racial issue here but some fools out there are still voicing loduly of having color petrol pump stations to indentify Bumi, Non-Bumi and Foreigners. What a stupid policy and created a greatest JOKE in Malaysia? We, PR Malaysians are rich arabian do not feel any pinch for prices hike in fuel or electricity or goods and services rocketted above the sky because our Arab currencies are very strong as compared with the devalued ringgit over time. We voiced our concern and showed our pity to majority of Muslim brothers and sisters of all races and non Islam Malaysians have been badly hurt and injured by the feudalisma unequal policies between the rich and poor people of Malaysia. For instance, all Malaysians are imposed with heavy penalties on several unreasonable costs in their livinghood that you will never find within your neighbouring countries as follows:-

(a) High prices to pay for own end products like oil flour, cement, petrol, diesel, gas, cooking oil etc from own rich nature resources available here;

(b) High prices on tolls , road tax, driving license, taxi permit , taxes on local cars and imported cars;

(c) Poor local transportation, poor internet and telecomunication and poor Astro and TV services;

(d) High personal income tax and corporate taxes;

(e) Low academic standards, poor civil services, poor public delivery services, poor judiciary and non transparent and poor governance;

(f) High crimes, corruptions, mismanagement and misused of public funds and power;

and many negative policies that you can name them all over 50 years.

We, PR citizens have full respect over the past leaders and PMs like Tunku Abd Rahman, Tun Razak, Tun Hussein, Tun Tan Siew Sin and many other leaders were more concern about the welfare of all Malaysians. VERY Unfortunate that the present leadership are more concern about their own cronies, families, connected parties and party members in term of wealth distributions, negotiated contracts, and power allocations but totally ignored the welfare of middle and poor Malaysian citizens.

Last but not least, this message is our final words to show support and concern in voicing our anger towards your beloved unfair leaders on bad decision to cause huge price inflation in goods and services due to a small fuel hike sparked a BIG FIRE today.

Let PR Malaysians of Muslim brothers and sisters of Arabian soils to join hands with Malaysians on solidarity and united move to protest against all bad policies like ISA, OSA, Printing and Press Act and prices hike for all goods and services in the forthcoming major Nationwide Protest on 5 July 2008 at KLCC. All are WELCOME.

Terima-kasih, In ALLAH we TRUST forever.

UAE citizen and PR Malaysian
    Snr Fuel Consultant

52. #52 by cvl on Saturday, 14 June 2008 - 10:45 am

People power should leverage its reach for an optimal outcome. The logical next step is for the Malaysian motoring public to go on a peaceful ‘NO BUY’ Petronas for a period of 60 days.

Too many walking in protest is a good prelude, but is wasteful of public resources when done too many times. There’s a better process using an incisive approach that does little harm to the public. Just hold off from buying Petronas 60 days. Penang nasi kandar is an example.

53. #53 by simply on Saturday, 14 June 2008 - 10:50 am

Bernadette, if you think this website has a lot of poop, why don’t you write your own blog and let’s see your contribution to society. Honestly, I find http://limkamput-nincompoop.blogspot.com/
    blogs very informative , someone who uses his free time to share his knowledge to others, there are not many around these days.

The queue here is so long too, so unproductive, can you imagine the cumulative of man hours lost nation wide? Plus we burn even more petrol just to get there. It’s a silly solution.

54. #54 by lakilompat on Saturday, 14 June 2008 - 11:24 am

Dear all,

I’m looking forward to contact YB Lim Guan Eng, to tell him there is a way we can reimburse the hawkers, Mamak restaurant, Fast Food chain in PR state. Also promote environmental friendly, cut cost on truck, tractor, buses, diesel vehicles, and many more. Not NGV, that’s much more better than the concept of NGV.

It is biodiesel, recycling back the used cooking oil, turn them into biodiesel. In US, most of the tractor & truck, they already using it, that’s the reason, we don’t see any US folks go to street to protest.

I already have the info, how to convert that, currently my bro in the state is drafting a business proposal for anyone interested. But first i need to know how to book YB time to discuss the idea?

Biodiesel can also address the environmental issues, at this stage, i will perform a survey to check where are all these fast food chain, hawkers, mamak, dispose the used oil? is there any company collecting it? or it is federal govt. collection as schedule waste?

Well, since state don’t interfere with federal, i might face some problem in term of legality.

Anyhow, Bio diesel can compensate these hawkers if the sell their used cooking oil to be harness into biodiesel for diesel vehicles. By doing that, they also cut down on water pollution some might dispose to drain.

My e-mail is [email protected] if somebody having the same ideas please send me e-mail we can start working something into reality.

55. #55 by k1980 on Saturday, 14 June 2008 - 11:35 am

56. #56 by taiking on Saturday, 14 June 2008 - 11:40 am

Al-Sheikh Ahmeed, I admire your guts.
    Your are just a PR here in this country.
    You are therefore at our government’s mercy.
    However, I do appreciate your views.
    They add dimensions to ours.
    Thank you.

57. #57 by lew1328 on Saturday, 14 June 2008 - 11:44 am

“Kasim Amat Says: Yesterday at 23: 34.54
    Before the government’s announcement of the price hike in petrol, necessary due diligence and proper consultation with Mr Khairy, the son in law of the PM must have been done. As an Oxford graduate and a young successful enterpreneur, we trust Mr Khairy has made the right decision and therefore it must be in the best interest of all. The decision must be respected by all Malaysians.”

Are you sure about this?? If this is the true story behind, why did the Ex-PM TM so mad… Curious of the Oxford graduate criteria’s… Don’t just bark here…bros

58. #58 by ShiokGuy on Saturday, 14 June 2008 - 11:56 am

Petrol price hike, Syabas price hike, Profit from disconnecting and reconnecting?

How much is Syabas charge of Disconnecting and Reconnecting of water supply? The last I heard from Radio Station Traxx FM is RM100.00, but I am not sure if it is RM100.00 for Disconnection and RM100.00 for reconnection? If so then it is RM100.00 for the whole process.

So could this explain how those people who come to disconnect the meter is so keen and also SO Rude and behave like a thug?

http://shiokguy.blogspot.com/2008/06/thug-from-syabas.html

Shiok Guy

59. #59 by lakilompat on Saturday, 14 June 2008 - 12:35 pm

The reason why Rapid KL & Rapid Penang bus sales are not great is due to there are too many M’sian can afford vehicles, therefore, by increasing the petrol prices, ppl. will have to “ubah gaya” mean taking Rapid KL and Rapid Penang. It can also be use as an excuse to pump in more funds to buy more china made Rapid buses.

Dollar is smart enuff, his son SCOMI, and his son in law Oxford grad. all are intelligent businessman, not the type of leader Malaysian need to look after the people and nation building.

Singapore version
    “We build a nation, strong and free, reaching out together for peace and harmony”

Malaysia version
    “We build a nation, full of cronies, threatening & lying the people with OSA and ISA”

60. #60 by Tickler on Saturday, 14 June 2008 - 1:09 pm

No arrest y`day. Well they made up for it today:

Three MPs and several others arrested
    Jun 14, 08 11:25am
    newsflash Three opposition MPs and several others were arrested for gathering outside the Istana at around 10 this morning.
    Brought to Brickfields police station
    ISA detainees’ kids event

http://malaysiakini.com/news/84483

61. #61 by Tickler on Saturday, 14 June 2008 - 1:10 pm

The reason for the arrests:

Fathers Day appeal

Date : 14th June 2008 (Sat), 10.30 am
    Venue : Istana Negara, KL.

Objective : Conjuction of Father’s Day, seventy (70) children mix of HINDRAF and other races will lead a procession to the Agong’s Palace to present him with seventy (70) teddy bears as a Father’s day gift. This symbolic act is to show that at least seventy (70) children have been denied the right to celebrate father’s day with their fathers who are held as detainees in Kamunting under the cruel and inhuman ISA.
    On this day, the Agong shall play the role of the father for these children as all Malaysians are his loyal citizens irrespective of their color, race, religion or following.
    We invite HINDRAF supporters to contact Mr. Sambu at (012-274-9016)
    should you wish to include your child/children to join this historic and symbolic occasion.

62. #62 by rainbowseahorse on Saturday, 14 June 2008 - 1:43 pm

Again I ask: As the protector of the Rakyat, surely the Agong can play a greater role in helping us Rakyat in our plight over our corrupted and inefficient government. If the Agong cannot even “try” to help us, his loyal subject and all that, than we might have to question as to what exactly do we have an Agong for? Other questions, of course, like additional government expenditures and cost cuttings might start cropping up.

63. #63 by Kasim Amat on Saturday, 14 June 2008 - 4:35 pm

I think due to lack of knowledge of economics, it is difficult for the people to understand the action of the government led by Barisan Nasional. Please, semua orang sila diam and sabar, please note that apabila harga minyak dinaikkan, harga minyak di Malaysia antara yang termurah di Asia Tenggara. Jika kita membandingkan dengan Thailand dan Singapura, harga minyak di Malaysia adalah lebih murah. Malahan selepas petrol dinaikkan sebanyak 78 sen sekalipun, harga di Malaysia masih lagi murah daripada kedua-dua negara ini. Nasib rakyat di Malaysia masih adalah yang terbaik so please do not make any more noise. To make sure the government does not continue to bleed heavily, you can cry until the cow comes home and there will be no change in this policy. Thank you.

64. #64 by devilmaster on Saturday, 14 June 2008 - 5:57 pm

Kasim Amat Says:

In order to reduce the impact of the petrol hike to the poor who is mostly Malay, there should be different prices for foreigner, non-bumi and bumi at the petrol station as this is in line with the Constitution which accorded these special rights to the Malay.

Oh yes, and in line with the outdated Constitution, the Malays should be paying 70% tax of this country instead of the Chinese paying 90% tax. Try to think about this – without the 90% tax from the non-bumis, you might still be staying on top of the tree and playing with those m**keys right now.

65. #65 by AhPek on Saturday, 14 June 2008 - 6:33 pm

‘Oh yes, and in line with the constitution, the Malays should be paying 70% tax of this country instead of the Chinese paying 90% tax.’. devilmaster.

I wonder whether your statement here would succeed at least to put some sense of shame on this scum of the earth,Kasim Amat.And he is so mighty proud of extending NEP to petrol pricing, can anyone beat that!!This is Ketuanan Melayu for you!

66. #66 by PSM on Saturday, 14 June 2008 - 7:25 pm

Does anyone know what happened at the Istana this morning? Did HRH come out to see the children? I hear the “Thugs in Blue” (Polis Di Barisan National) were at it again!

67. #67 by miketan142 on Saturday, 14 June 2008 - 8:10 pm

Pity Kasim Amat still living in denial.
    He should be blogging with Ali Gostan not LKS.

68. #68 by bernadette on Saturday, 14 June 2008 - 8:51 pm

simply Says:

Today at 10: 50.56 (9 hours ago)
    Bernadette, if you think this website [nincompoop] has a lot of poop [nincompoop], why don’t you write your own blog and let’s see your contribution to society.”

appreciate the suggestion. but i wouldn’t call myself a nincompoop and call it “my contribution to society”. that’s stupid!

to nincompoop, monitoring you?? that’s so so so narcissism!

“I wonder whether your statement here would succeed at least to put some sense of shame on this scum of the earth, Kasim Amat” Ahpek

obviously the name ‘kasim ahmat’ is just a figment of someone’s imagination though not his personality. but without the likes of kasim ahmat, thoughts, ideas and theories would never be put to a test and this blog would be the poorer for it. call him names if you must but put your thoughts across to debunk his theories.

69. #69 by cheng on soo on Saturday, 14 June 2008 - 9:05 pm

2 or 3 tier pricing for petrol cannot work one lah! Guess what will happen, is govt will end up selling 90% or more petrol at the lowest subsizied price, ordinary bumi will find it difficult to fill up their tanks with lowest price, 90% of petrol at lowest price will be smuggled outside the country or to be resell to other non bumi, at a price between low and the high price (the bigger the diff, the worst !). Unless the diff is only a few sen / litre.

Saudara Kasim, kamu tahu kah? harga kereta di negeri Thai jauh lebih murah dari harga di sini, tiada tol di negeri Thai (dari Hat Yai ke Krungthep, lebuhraya 6 lorong sepanjang lebih 900 km), pendapatan orang Singapura jauh lebih tinggi, dari orang di sini, harga minyak lebih murah di Indonesia, China (kedua dua nya perlu mengimpot), lebih murah juga di Brunei. Harap maklum.

70. #70 by limkamput on Saturday, 14 June 2008 - 9:31 pm

bernadette Says:to nincompoop, monitoring you?? that’s so so so narcissism!

NO, that is you being a pervert, not me indulging in narcissism. It is utterly obvious you are deprived of something, may be growing up wetting your pants most nights or torturing your pets when your parents were not around. You could be the recycled kickbutt, diaperhead, bodosingh whatever. Please go get a girl friend of something, that is provided you are not disfigured or limped or …..

71. #71 by pwcheng on Sunday, 15 June 2008 - 2:18 am

Anak Malaysia and lovemalaysiaforever, Can you please advise me whom I should reach in TNB. I am having the same problem whereby my electricity which has recorded for years of about RM400-500 (commercial Rate) suddenly jumped to about RM900-Rm1000 which is a two fold jump. I complained and they changed the meter and the reading dropped back to normal of RM400-500. But they still insisted that the previous meter is not faulty and when I insisted that it should be tested by a third party like SIRIM, they just say all meters are already tested by SIRIM but I do not see any SIRIM sticker on it.

Looking forward for the advice.

72. #72 by TurboDiesel on Sunday, 15 June 2008 - 5:29 am

@Anak Malaysia

Its a good analysis you made. But to correct you, not all 159 litres in a barrel of oil is converted into Fuel. Only 50% of it is converted into Pertol, Diesel, Kerosenes. Others are LPG, Tar, Wax, Lubricants etc etc. Anyway, anyhow, There is ample Money to subsidize our Fuel well into atleast 2012 or at most 2015 as we are NET EXPORTER of Oil until those either dates. As long as we are NET EXPORTER, our Export is higher than Import of Petroleum, therefore = MORE than Enough money to subsidize local fuel.

73. #73 by kun9999 on Sunday, 15 June 2008 - 10:38 am

I am lucky to left malaysia early to neighbouring country to work & live there. With the petrol increase in malaysia, i am pretty sure that crime index will rise too this is because those who can’t earn enough to survive will do anything to survive.

74. #74 by rainbowseahorse on Sunday, 15 June 2008 - 11:39 am

Come to think of it, there is no point in giving my Bumiputras brethens any fuel subsidies at all. Why? It makes a lot of them more lazy as they sell their fuel subsidies instead of using the subsidies for fishing & farming. Their logic? Better to stay at home and earn rm20 to rm30 per day selling their fuel subsidies then toil in the hot sun. Very nice & short sighted logic! So what logic does my Bumiputra Politicians use? Quick & easy money with corruption instead of helping the rakyat which demands a lot of thinking, self sacrifices, and hard work. No wonder Malaysia is not progressing very much after 51 years.

75. #75 by citizenwatch on Sunday, 15 June 2008 - 2:16 pm

When the BN government hiked up the fuel price it was hoping that through ‘info’ of BN media and the impact of the move would be diluted by the global hike and protests and it went for broke. But seems like the the rakyat, again through the alternative media are not buying it and they are fighting back.

An intersting piece of news, – one of the organizers for GERAMM made a statement before the demonstration at Kpg Baru mosque that the police would not disturb the demo but in fact would help because they themselves feel the pinch from the fuel price hike!

76. #76 by Damocles on Sunday, 15 June 2008 - 5:38 pm

Well folks, don’t take Kasim Amat and company too seriously.
    By all means chew him up or treat him as a bit of diversion.
    Once the PR (Pakatan Rakyat) takes over the reigns of the government, he and his ilk will be history!

77. #77 by KualaPenyu on Monday, 16 June 2008 - 12:53 am

In 2006, our country produces an average 798,000 barrel/day. But we domestically consume 515,000 barrel/day, means with net export 283,000 barrel/day.
    798,000 X 365 = 291,270,000 barrel/year.
    So, with current price of oil at USD130/barrel:
    291,270,000 X 130 = USD27.8651 billion @ RM124.95483 billion.
    1 barrel = 159 litres
    Depending on crude oil quality, a barrel crude oil can produce total fuel ranging from 19 litres to 75 litres (12% to 47%). High quality crude oil can produce up to 47% fuel (petrol, diesel). Fortunately, our country crude oil tends to be of high quality. Malaysia’s benchmark crude stream, Tapis Blend, is very light and sweet with an API gravity of 44° and sulfur content of 0.08 percent by weight (http://www.eia.doe.gov/cabs/Malaysia/Oil.html)
    OK, let’s say we use “Anak Malaysia” percentage of 46% fuel production per barrel:
    – Domestic consumption 515,000 barrel/day @ 187975000 barrel/year.
    – 187.975 million barrel X 73.14 litres (i.e 46%) = 13.748491500 billion litres of fuel/year.
    – 13.748491500 billion litres X RM2.70/L (current price) = RM 37.38884331 billion.
    *Before price increase, petrol at RM1.92/L.
    – 13.748491500 million litres X RM1.92/L (before increase) = RM 26.3971037 billion.
    With the increase of 0.78 cents petrol price, BABI NASIONAL get an extra profit roughly RM 10.7 billion from the sale of petrol to the rakyat. I said extra because our country was a net exporter of oil.
    It’s true that we use 515000 barrel/day, but we all paid every drop of it. NOT FREE, and this is only 46%/barrel with another 54% valued RM43.57674045 billion in our domestic market.
    Hence, for Kasim Amat who is defending Khinzir J from BABI NASIONAL whom he refers as a smart advisor for AAB, WHERE IS THE DAMN OIL SUBSIDY? As far as i’m concern, only the sleeping Kasim Amat saw that our fuel being subsidised.We are paying our fuel according to the international market price at the moment you moron Kasim Amat!!!!!!
    Our total petrol usage per annum= RM37.38884331 billion
    Our cabinet ministers entertainment allowance=RM20.00 billion
    Wake up Kasim Amat!!!!!!

78. #78 by KualaPenyu on Monday, 16 June 2008 - 1:30 am

At the moment, our country proven oil reserves stance at 3.0 billion barrels. If we keep sucking it up at the current rate, we will run out of it in 11 years time. But fortunately for us, we have a few new tank in Sabah offshore: Gumusut, Kakap, Malikai, and Semporna offshore. Hopefully we will discover a few more in the future. Also our country oil company already operating in 32 foreign countries.

79. #79 by blablowbla on Monday, 16 June 2008 - 9:32 am

Anak Malaysia:

the present gomen is robbing our wealth and we still need to say thank you!
    like the police torture us:”cepat-2 kasi,banyak orang tunggu kat sana!”,and you hv to say:”terima kasih tuan kerana beri peluang saya jadi kambing biri-2!”

80. #80 by Kasim Amat on Monday, 16 June 2008 - 1:24 pm

People should stop harping on the issue of fuel increase and instead should be focusing on the right things ie nation building and how to get everyone to unite behind the BN led government at this difficult time. What the government need is the understanding and support from people so that other plans can be put in place. We should feel lucky as Petronas is able to make profit every year in the midst of stiff competition. What if Petronas doesn’t? If this is the case, then there is no question about subsidy or no subsidy. Again, we should feel proud about Petronas as it is being managed by 99% of bumiputra and is a Fortune 500 company. Who says Malay cannot run a big corporation? Without Petronas, we will not be able to achieve a lot of things in order to be world class ie bring F1 to Malaysia, having the world’s tallest twin buildings, having one of the best airport in the world and the high quality living environment in KL etc etc. We should fee lucky that Malaysia does not have any natural disasters. We must be grateful for what Allah has given us.

By cutting the Minister entertainment allowance, the government has already led by example. Which country’s Minister work for free?

81. #81 by Kasim Amat on Monday, 16 June 2008 - 1:28 pm

To allow bloggers to post thoughts freely is already a big breakthrough in Malaysia and this shows the open minded policies practised by the BN government. I urge everybody to give constructive advice and not insulting remarks especially words that are sensitive to other races! KualaPenyu, your posts will continued to be monitored.

82. #82 by Twister on Monday, 16 June 2008 - 2:33 pm

As far as i’m concern is that everything are on the high side because of the fuel hike except for my salary!!! We need a government that can provide us stability in terms of economic and overall the “rakyat” can live harmony in next generation to come.

BUT I DON’T SEE ANY NOW..

83. #83 by cardevect on Monday, 16 June 2008 - 5:02 pm

Penang City Stadium 15.6.08

shot video clip & picture

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=z9GNNZbm5-E