This will be the reaction of most Malaysians to the Yang di Pertuan Agong’s birthday honours list today – why Tun Dr. Lim Keng Yaik but no Tun Samy Vellu.
Is MIC leaving Barisan Nasional?
This will be the reaction of most Malaysians to the Yang di Pertuan Agong’s birthday honours list today – why Tun Dr. Lim Keng Yaik but no Tun Samy Vellu.
Is MIC leaving Barisan Nasional?
This entry was posted on Saturday, 7 June 2008, 9:11 am and is filed under Politics. You can follow any responses to this entry through RSS 2.0. Both comments and pings are currently closed.
Comments are closed.
Fusion theme by digitalnature | powered by WordPress
Entries (RSS) and Comments (RSS) ^
#1 by flyer168 on Saturday, 7 June 2008 - 5:25 pm
Dear YB LKS,
I suppose Samy is still not retired & because UMNOputras consider him as 3rd class as someone mentioned.
Maybe this should be asked in Parliament by MIC MPs.
With our 4th floor manupulators, BN UMNOputras & sleepy PM, very soon even the Taikohs, gangsters, etc will be Tan Sris & maybe Tuns.
About time the Association of Dato’s, Tan Sris & Tuns protest to maintain their status & image before it goes to the drain !
At present if one were to go to any crowded place & call out “Dato’” as many as 400 heads will turn around !
#2 by monsterball on Saturday, 7 June 2008 - 5:30 pm
Only Mahathir love Samy..with his “sink or swim” promise to Mahathir and a love poem.
Then he changed side…supported Dollah,,making Dollah so happy. He wrote another love poem…now will sink and swim with Dollah..and let Mahathir go to hell alone. He also learn the art to talk reasons…but the words uttered out…do shame Malaysian Indians…such a low class thick skin..hypocrite.
Dollah dared not sack Samy…and he must be thrilled to see Malaysians need to do his dirty job……we sacked him!!!
And Samy is daily saying …UMNO is the cause of MIC downfall.
With all these…you expect UMNO to give “Tun” to Samy??
Anyway….only UMNO and BN dreamers …crooks and half past sixes are thrilled with titles,
It is the most worthless piece of junk..in Malaysia and to the whole world. It can be bought with money too!!
#3 by kanthanboy on Saturday, 7 June 2008 - 5:37 pm
// if you like gutter politics, so be it but Yb Lim, have to be of a different class.// ADAM YONG IBNI ABDULLAH
It is your prerogative to call it gutter politics. I cannot understand how you can sincerely believe that the award of Titles by the DYMM Agong and the Sultans and the Governors are their prerogatives and has nothing to do with politics.
#4 by monsterball on Saturday, 7 June 2008 - 5:41 pm
And I need to repeat…some titles are given to deserving Malaysians…as it should be.
But UMNO have mixed crooks and balls carriers..people with no principles in life…all mixed up to the righteous and noble ones. Is not UMNO real smart??
No they are not. They love to show off…with titles and lots of stolen money.
They have become so greedy…that even few good UMNO ministers are now talking the same language. We Malaysians know…they are.not the real usual person talking now…at all. Most logical… that person is now…so filthy rich too.
#5 by ADAM YONG IBNI ABDULLAH on Saturday, 7 June 2008 - 5:41 pm
On lighter note, I sincerely believe that Datuk Lim Kit Siang, as being a grandfather through trying times,when YAB Lim Guan Eng was in jail, and out of jail, unable to get a job is more meaningful to Dear YB Lim.
This datuk as in grandfather is blessed by The Almighty, and may GOD bless you YB Lim and your family and grandchildren. When the little kids pranks with you, they will certainly be bundles of joy.
AND YB Betty Chew, has to be a CM’s wife in Penang, a wakil raayat in Melaka and a mother. This speaks volumn of womens’ ability to handle stress.
Not many of us can be BLESSED to have grandchildren. or even children.
thank you.
#6 by kanthanboy on Saturday, 7 June 2008 - 6:13 pm
One fast way to promote Bangsa Malaysia is for race-based parties like MIC and MCA to leave BN and die naturally. It will be good news for Malaysian politics if MIC is leaving BN. I hope Adam Yong Ibni Abdullah doesn’t say this is irrelevant.
#7 by shortie kiasu on Saturday, 7 June 2008 - 7:07 pm
All these so called awards by the Rulers are just laughing stocks to us and to the people in the world. It is not that we are “sour grapes”, but look, some never heard before can get a Tan Sri or Datuk just because he or she is rich. That is all. With their money connection at high place, the so called awards are just like a cheap piece of metal hannging over their neck.
In front we may be ‘forced’ to address them as such, but at their back we just spit.
#8 by Rocky on Saturday, 7 June 2008 - 7:21 pm
Nut Samy…second that bro.
#9 by ADAM YONG IBNI ABDULLAH on Saturday, 7 June 2008 - 7:38 pm
dear kanthanboy:
as long as you are not racist -i am with you dear man/lady.
there are good and bad in every race – boy/girl.
goodnite and have a nice sunday.
need to watch eurocup later. thats how i unwind.
#10 by undergrad2 on Saturday, 7 June 2008 - 8:09 pm
“Oh I forgot, what about Sdr Lim, why no Tunship for you. I have been campaigning since before March 8 election. You deserve the Tunship more than anybody else. When you get one, it will enhance the value of Tunship. So it is better for all the present Tun holders to support you getting one.” limkamput
Obviously you have the mindset of a BN supporter or a BN politician.
This practice of giving titles should be abandoned especially when the practice has been subject to a lot of abuse. BN politicians when they get to power, the first thing they look for is a datukship – and the last thing most government servants look to just before they retire is a datukship.
The practice stems from the feudalistic mindset of the Malays.
#11 by Godson on Saturday, 7 June 2008 - 8:50 pm
Who cares…….all those title. Only for people with very low esteem. Wolfs in sheeps skin, no truth, too many around us. Stand aside……make way for the honorable RAKYAT.
#12 by hiro on Saturday, 7 June 2008 - 9:25 pm
MIC leaves Barisan for where? Nowhere except the gutters.
#13 by sheriff singh on Saturday, 7 June 2008 - 9:30 pm
Its Tong Samy Vellu, please.
#14 by sheriff singh on Saturday, 7 June 2008 - 9:39 pm
Full Official Title:
Yang Amak Bahagia Tong Samy Vellu,
Wira kepada Orang-orang India, Pakistan, Bangladesh, Sri Lanka, Nepal dan lain-lain
TONG, JKR, PWD, MIC, KEY, MOU, SE, BAN, ANA
Hic! Hic! Hic!
#15 by Jong on Saturday, 7 June 2008 - 9:41 pm
Talking about “mindset of BN/Umno politicians”, only recently, my friends and I over coffee were rolling in laughter recalling the lengths those politicians would go, just to feed their ego to get ‘recognaised’ and be ‘noticed’ in the late 80s-90s. Remember how silly they used to look in their bush-jackets of grey, blue, beige and black? :D
Another ‘must’ were those high-back office executive chairs and colorful office-phones to give that ‘exclusivity’ and status symbol perhaps? :D
Remember there were no cell phones yet and those black Telecoms sets of black were boring. :D
Malaysians, memang boleh!
#16 by negarawan on Saturday, 7 June 2008 - 9:44 pm
Why Sami Vellu did not get a Tunship? Didn’t he gave the brilliant idea for petrol price control, but no petrol?
#17 by Damocles on Saturday, 7 June 2008 - 9:49 pm
“This taking a swipe at Samy Vellu is unnecessary YB Lim.” – Adam Yong
I think that you’ve missed something.
This is psychological warfare as waged by Uncle Lim.
Just like in ordinary warfare, everything that can unnerve or even make the enemy squirm is O.K.
Remember, the constant harping of BN scandals in Parliament, which so unnervered their MPs and at the same time served as a reminder to “short-memory” Malaysians? It may look “unnecessary” but it served a purpose.
It undermined the confidence of the BN MPs!
#18 by blink4blog on Saturday, 7 June 2008 - 9:49 pm
Does DYMM Agung gives away Tun title to opposition leaders that serves the countries for ages? Why not?
#19 by cheng on soo on Saturday, 7 June 2008 - 10:45 pm
Tong Untuk Najis?? Never mind lah, if no have, now we hv flush toilet mah !
#20 by alancheah on Saturday, 7 June 2008 - 10:50 pm
Uncle Lim himself should have awarded TunShip long ago.
#21 by cempakian on Saturday, 7 June 2008 - 11:03 pm
I wonder why Titles are given only to BN members and not the opposition. They have done so much for the Rakyat.
#22 by miketan142 on Saturday, 7 June 2008 - 11:41 pm
YB Kit,
Perhaps DAP should award the ‘ TONG ‘ title to the most rubbish and corrupt minister in the cabinet every year.
#23 by limkamput on Sunday, 8 June 2008 - 12:07 am
Obviously you have the mindset of a BN supporter or a BN politician. undergrad2
Dear undergrad2,
Oh, I know myself better and I don’t have the kind of mindset you mentioned. When Kit gets it, everybody know he deserves it, whether or not it is feudalistic or otherwise. For your info, I too am a recipient of an award (a fairly respectable one) from our King and I am proud of it because I didn’t solicit for it and I did not have to deal with “intermediaries” to get it.
Do you know what is your mindset? You are smart and intellectual, but sometimes I have a little problem with your honesty and integrity. But if you just want to irritate me for the fun of it, I can accept. But seriously if you just want to find fault with me, I think you have found a wrong guy. As I said before many times. You are smart, please don’t for a minute think that there are no other smarter than you out there. There are plenty.
#24 by limkamput on Sunday, 8 June 2008 - 12:09 am
sorry last line, …..You are smart, but please don’t for a minute think that there are no others smarter than you out there. There are many.
#25 by yog7948 on Sunday, 8 June 2008 - 12:28 am
Malaysian Indian CLUB presidents wont get TUN. LKY is getting one since his Party still have some people to call member. MIC has been degraded now to status of CLUB only.. Those who need a good laugh are welcomed to join them, they provide FREE Tosai and Tea during meetings but for those really keen of robbing your own kin are also welcomed. They really have experts on that field.
#26 by bernadette on Sunday, 8 June 2008 - 2:51 am
“I too am a recipient of an award (a fairly respectable one) from our King and I am proud of it …” linkamput
PJK??
#27 by bernadette on Sunday, 8 June 2008 - 2:54 am
..isn’t that for having spent your entire working life in government service?
#28 by ShiokGuy on Sunday, 8 June 2008 - 4:33 am
Tun Samy Vellu? Does not sound right and kind of tongue twisted.
Why the government tend to award a ex component parties leader a Tunship? Kind of strange!
In my opinion Samy has been a running slave of BN/UMNO. He was involved in almost all the privatization project.. He tend to jump from one ministry to another, and when he was in => Privatized!
right? May be let him served as army cadet as Private, so dear samy let the rakyat award you the following title
Private Samy Vellu.
Shiok Guy
http://shiokguy.blogspot.com/
#29 by isahbiazhar on Sunday, 8 June 2008 - 5:17 am
Samy Velloo did not work for the Indians.He worked for the MIC he controlled and the Tamils who prostrated to him.Do not forget the cronies from the Barisan who benefitted from his ministry.Since he is not a national leader in terms of reality he deserves not the TUN.What he has is more than sufficient.I hope the future MIC leaders will think all Indians as Malaysians and work without bias.
#30 by negarawan on Sunday, 8 June 2008 - 7:25 am
Frankly speaking, what is the big deal of Datuk, Tun, Tan Sri etc? I do not have any respect for these superficial titles. There are elements of corruption and cronyism involved in the awards, and too many are given. Even crooks and criminals have it. The moment they step out of Malaysia, it has zero meaning.
#31 by lakilompat on Sunday, 8 June 2008 - 8:11 am
The King is wise, indeed to wise to confer a title of “TUN” to a bloody old man who ruined Gerakan from its heyday.
This bloody old man oso ruined a talented young gay like KTK (14 yrs of ruled) giving nothing but more polution, more land been privatize, less state authority, everything increases. During LCY time food in Penang state is the cheapest, char koay teow was RM 0.80 cents at that time Johor “Kon Lou” noodles was RM 1.50 cents Now it is almost the same, are we better off or worst off joining the Barang Naik party?
Let’s declare independent tomorrow.
#32 by lakilompat on Sunday, 8 June 2008 - 8:14 am
If Penang is a free port, and independent sure there will be alot of overseas planning to shift back to Penang due to its strategic location.
We can be like Singapore, we have the capacity since our population is 700K Singapore have 3.6 million
We will start using NGV (RM 0.68) instead of oil (RM 2.70-4.00).
#33 by TheWrathOfGrapes on Sunday, 8 June 2008 - 8:25 am
/// xtheman Says:
Yesterday at 10: 58.55
LKY for TUN …what a world …….JOKE ///
No, Lee Kuan Yew ia probably one of the handful who really deserve the Tunship, but then again they will not give it to him.
Kidding lah. :)
#34 by catharsis on Sunday, 8 June 2008 - 9:28 am
OUR SAMY FRIEND IS STILL WRITING HIS PENANCE………………..
I WILL NOT INDULGE IN SELF AGGRANDISEMENT
#35 by limkamput on Sunday, 8 June 2008 - 9:36 am
Bernadette,
All awards are respectable, including PJK. So please don’t implicitly insult PJK recipients. If there are some who spent their whole life to get this award, let it be. It is their contributions to the country. Having said that, I am not a recipient of PJK and I am not telling you which award I get. It is not your business to know.
If there is any disappointment among us over the awards, it is the way some of the recipients behave. It is never the awards per se, got it? So please don’t confuse the issue. I still maintain that Sdr Lim should be conferred a Tun-Ship or a Tan Sri-shipfor his unwavering contribution to this nation. It is meaningful and befitting for him to get one despite whatever you may think of the award.
Finally Bernadette, you could be someone “familiar” masqueraded in a new ID trying to start the war here again. So far what I see is one liner from you. Tell you want, write me two paragraphs of substance first. If you have standard, I will engage you. Otherwise I usually throw “phua tai sai” into the next tong sampah.
#36 by sheriff singh on Sunday, 8 June 2008 - 12:52 pm
Come to think of it we kind of miss Sammy Vellu.
Without his daily stupidities, among other things, life is so dull, dull, dull.
Come on Samy, say something stupid once in a while. We miss you.
#37 by chiakchua on Sunday, 8 June 2008 - 3:35 pm
Yes, the semi-value is already in bad shape, please spare him some mercy YB Lim. Don’t dwell on this issue.
Get LGE to try resolve the long outstanding Penang bridge jamm problem. KTK couldn’t solve the problem during his tenure, but I believe LGE with the help of the tough and hardship grilled new excos will be able to do something to the jamm. All Penangites will applause the achievement!
#38 by Jong on Sunday, 8 June 2008 - 4:37 pm
Lim Keng Yaik now one of the TUNs! What a dubious 36 year political legacy, this jackal must have felt mighty ‘proud’ of himself – one of Malaysia’s greatest clown, a pak turut cartoon only next to Samy Vellu!
Remember in 2002, he pride himself to be the first non-muslim national leader to come out in full support Mahathir’s “929 Declaration” that Malaysia is an “Islamic State” ? – an “achievement” and a Tunship reminds him of.
#39 by boh-liao on Sunday, 8 June 2008 - 5:19 pm
When we look at the list of people who were conferred various titles, from Tun to Datuk, we cannot but feel sad for the country. Among them, how many have really contributed to the advancement of our nation?
Even the newly appointed office bearers of, say, Perak from PR, before they show any positive contributions to the state, they were conferred titles like Dato Seri and Datuk. Why?
#40 by Jong on Sunday, 8 June 2008 - 6:17 pm
I agree with you, boh-liao. This title-giving/title-buying has to stop. It is said to be a money-churning venture, let’s hope it’s not true!
This has to stop. Imagine every year, 13 states + the King’s are churning out datos/datuks, tansri, datuksri/datosri etc .(btw, I don’t even know the difference in their spellings!) This is real alarming, the streets are already line with them! Who cares for their title really! When are they going to put a stop to this? We should all call for a big eraser and rub off all those titles.
#41 by subject on Sunday, 8 June 2008 - 7:37 pm
The honour list shall consist of ONLY those who truly sacrify for country and its peoples. Not those who only knows how to bodek and acting!!!
Even whole the country is in the unstable ecomonics situation yet there is still a lot of people (those government paid) who are more concern on oneself honour rather than the people’s life..
Why the hell these so-called country leader and representative???
#42 by malar on Sunday, 8 June 2008 - 10:39 pm
All these titles do not mean anything to any layman. People with titles are just gaining for themselves only. What I am pissed off with people with these titles are especially the MIC leaders, they chose temples as a place to show their titles. Too sad they can’t do it among with UMNO or MCA cos MIC is third class in ranking with other parties so the MIC leaders with these titles chose temple functions as there will be indians only who will be running around like dogs to favour these so called ‘ttitled people’. The Datuks and Datins should be given royal welcome and their behaviour can make a person vomit blood. The place of worship will be turned into a political field and the worshippers will finally be worshipping these stupid Datuks and Datins. For me MIC is just an existing party and the members are all like dead corpses. Semi Value only deserves a kick in his ass and not a Tun. He has sold the dignity of indians to UMNO and the wound he has caused to many indians will take a long time to heal.
#43 by ktteokt on Sunday, 8 June 2008 - 10:56 pm
What is a TUN? It’s no more than an inverted NUT!!!!!!
#44 by leealex24 on Monday, 9 June 2008 - 12:09 am
It’s time Malaysia and Malaysians embrace one’s genuine contribution than mere designation. No offense intended but I rather obtain advice from a successful businessman who have proven track record in his specialized field as opposed to a politician who got his Tun through his vast networking contacts.
#45 by 7even Sins on Monday, 9 June 2008 - 12:15 am
Some of the Kaki Ampu & Corrupt get rewarded. What an irony..!!!
The title Tun has lost its noble meaning…!!!
The King should have conferred them “KarTun” title instead..!!!
#46 by maxplus on Monday, 9 June 2008 - 12:29 am
Semi Value does not deserve the Tun-ship; as someone it is for retirees and wise men only; he will still be standing for next GE.
I join other to propose to the KIng not to ever award this joker with that award ever; please…
#47 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Monday, 9 June 2008 - 3:41 am
Keng Yaik has most recently been critical of the government after having been part of its deception machinery for 30 years or more.
Now, Keng Yaik, is this Tunship a mouth-stopper?
Samy Velu, Tunship? Why don’t you just pay for his one-way ticket and send him to space. Nobody would ever miss him.
#48 by kanthanboy on Monday, 9 June 2008 - 4:00 am
//…datos/datuks, tansri, datuksri/datosri etc .(btw, I don’t even know the difference in their spellings!) This is real alarming, the streets are already line with them!…/
Very good observation! Jong. The streets are already line with them. They are like cars made in Malaysia: Protun, Wira, and all models with names end with Sri….. something you can only see on Malaysian streets. When they go overseas they have to leave their titles at home because they will be regarded as scrap metals. The same goes for Malaysian cars, Not acceptable in developed countries because they are not road worthy.
#49 by monsterball on Monday, 9 June 2008 - 4:51 am
Is Ling Liong Sik..a TUN?
He should be.
He qualifies as the best of the best crooks….to get the best title. UMNO and BN Datuks should be inspired to get Tan Sri and finally…a Tun…by stealing big…inspired by Mahathir.
#50 by monsterball on Monday, 9 June 2008 - 4:58 am
Leaving out the noble……righteous deservingly Malaysians….bestowed with titles..most are professionals.
Then check out the list of welknown UMNO
“Tun”….and you will note…the bigger the crook…the higher ..the title.
I notice Mahathir blog ..by introducing himself with no titles.’
Smart bloke…….preparing himself….to be stripped off all titles…landing in jail…..sooner or later.