Ipoh’s protest :
KL’s protest :
![]()
Some hundred people, including DAP MP for Ipoh Barat, M. Kulasegaran, Perak State Assembly Speaker Sivakumar, Perak DAP State Excos Su Keong Siong, A. Sivanesan and Chen Fook Chye and DAP Perak Assembly members Leong Mee Meng (Jalong), Lim Pek Har (Menglembu), Ong Boon Piow (Tebing Tinggi) and Siva Subramanian (Buntong), together with representatives from trade unions and NGOs, gathered outside the Perak Federal Building this morning to fire the first salvo of protest on behalf of Malaysians at the hefty and unconscionable increase of oil prices yesterday.
The half-hour protest went off smoothly, with Kula, Su, Sivanesan, Chen and myself speaking briefly on the protest.
In Kuala Lumpur, a similar protest, attended by five DAP Federal Territory MPs (Dr. Tan Seng Giaw, Fong Kui Lun, Tan Kok Wai, Teresa Kok, Lim Lip Eng), Manogaran (MP – Teluk Intan) and Selangor DAP State Assemblywoman Jenice Lee Ying Ha (Teratai), was held at the Pudu Market, Jalan Pasar.
Excerpts of my remarks at the Ipoh Protest this morning:
The sudden hefty oil price increases – 40.6 per cent and 63.3 per cent increase in pump petrol price and diesel price respectively – creating a seven-hour nation-wide chaos is an outrage as it is most unconscionable, unjustifiable and deplorable reflecting poorly on good governance in Malaysia especially after ministerial undertaking that there would be no changes until August.
The introduction of annual cash rebate of RM625 to those who own cars of 2,000 cc and below, and pick-up trucks and jeeps of 2,500 cc and below, and cash rebate of RM150 a year for owners of motor-cycles of 250 cc and below, as well as road tax discounts, will not be able to fully cushion the low and middle-income Malaysians from the inflationary spiral which would be unleashed by the greatest hike in oil prices in the nation’s history.
Equally of concern will be the deterioration of the public safety index, with the expected worsening of the crime situation which has already become an endemic problem causing Malaysians, tourists and investors to fear for their personal safety, their loved ones and the safety of property as well!
The Prime Minister, Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi said yesterday:
“We cannot keep subsidising at the current rate. We must reduce wastage. If we can change our lifestyles, we will not suffer a terrible situation.”
However, the present government has no credibility in setting an example of “change of lifestyles” in eradicating the parasitic subsidy mentality as it has shown no political will to eliminate the rampant waste, extravagance, abuse of public funds, lack of accountability and corruption rife in the public sector, as illustrated by Malaysia’s worsening reputation on corruption whether nationally or internationally, the RM4.6 billion Port Klang Free Zone (PKFZ) bailout scandal, the lack of accountability for the Petronas billions, etc.
In the previous oil price increases in February 2006, the government promised radical improvements in the public transport system – but nothing has come out of it.
The Prime Minister and all the Cabinet Ministers owe Malaysians a full and acceptable explanation why they could not fully involve the Malaysian public in the restructuring of the fuel pricing system which is fair and equitable to the low and middle-income Malaysians and done in a competent , professional and accountable manner as to avoid the seven-hour nation-wide chaos yesterday.
Parliament, which ended its meeting last week and would meet again on 23rd June, should have been the forum to decide on the fuel pricing system which is fair, equitable and efficient.
Why was Parliament by-passed altogether by the Cabinet?
The first item of business of the forthcoming parliamentary meeting should be a motion to seek approval of Parliament for the hefty and unconscionable oil price increases yesterday. This motion should be moved by the Prime Minister, Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi himself.

#1 by shocked on Friday, 6 June 2008 - 9:45 am
What is the difference between Malaysia and Singapore?
Singaporean loves their govt eventhough there are a lot of restrictions but they realise their country is manage by capable and qualified people that can do big things for the good of the nation. In a way, the Singapore govt puts the nation’s interest and their top priority.
The BN govt…on the other hand, are manage but people that are not qualified, only think of their own interest and interest of their family members and treats the rakyat as slaves.
#2 by k1980 on Friday, 6 June 2008 - 9:46 am
The country is expected to save RM13.7 Billion a year from the reduction in fuel subsidies. This RM13.7 Billion is the average cost to build a badawi corridor. Now you see the link? We have to eat less so that the corridors can be built.
#3 by stnaaron on Friday, 6 June 2008 - 9:50 am
bodowi !!! low iq
#4 by pulau_sibu on Friday, 6 June 2008 - 9:52 am
I am trying to take a different look. Subsidising fuel, is it like a ‘NEP’ in energy global market? Has the government been over protecting the people and now we are all spoilt?
#5 by NG on Friday, 6 June 2008 - 9:55 am
can anyone pls let me know what is the email contact of PM?i am going to SCRUUUUUUUUUUW him! i never see such a jam near the patrol station on that wed evening.a foreigner ask me whether our PM seen the Q at the patrol station or not.he used his digital video camera to record the scene as he want to show his friends back home in UK.felt very bad.
#6 by lextcs on Friday, 6 June 2008 - 9:55 am
while you guys harp over petro price lah, access roads lah, tolls lah…..have anyone of our ‘caring’ politicians think about the security and safety of the people? Talking is cheap and most of the time it is these ‘loud’ mouth politicians that make the matter worst.
Recently i had an unfortunate incident where a few robbers jumped into my house with ‘parangs’, robbed, threatened to chop our heads off, ransacked our house and eventually drove of with one of our car. Now i would say that im an average income fella staying in a old double storey terrace link house. The house is my fortress and it was intruded. I dont feel secure anymore after this harrowing experience. Bynow what i’ve just gone thru is not uncommon to many of us here. We have heard and seen our friends carjacked, bag snatched etc etc thruout the country.
Question we ask now is howcome lawlessness is so prevalent? Is it because we have indirectly take it upon ourselves that we have a right to do everything we wanted for the sake of democratic rights and thus sending the wrong message to our youths? Where are the deterent laws to prevent crimes? Nowadays even criminal knows their rights (not surprising if our politicians are championing for them) and the police is in a dilema. Too harsh an action would warrant the wrath of our dear politicians and too soft an approach would subject to more crimes committed.
Here, i would think that the hudud law plays an efficient role in combating would be crimes. One teacher suggests ” if your hands causes you to steal chop it off!” Too harsh? Think about it again. The law is to send a message and deter anyone from doing those actions. Of course when this hudud law is suggested…our dear YB will be the 1st to bark them off. Let someone hold a parang at your neck and let me know your views again.
YB kit, where are your blueprints for a safe Malaysia?
#7 by Godfather on Friday, 6 June 2008 - 9:58 am
lextcs:
We know you have been sent here to divert and disrupt the thought process of the angry rakyat, but stop changing the topic of this thread.
If you can read English, it refers to the fuel price hikes and NOT to personal security, which is a topic you should refer to your UMNO masters.
#8 by monsterball on Friday, 6 June 2008 - 9:59 am
Petrol is free!!
How about no import tax on cars? Free it too!
Road users are paying road taxes using highways….freeways….everyday…with toll charges. Is that not double taxations?
Actually car owners are paying road taxes for city and town driving. Even within city areas…so many toll charge….making fools of car owners.
If they introduce toot toot .like the Thais…and horse and carriage….like London…combining Thai and England great ideas together…Proton will go bankcrupt!!
No …they give you multi billions investments…monorails…this rail…that rail….all to make sure.it will not hurt Proton at all.
Then ….the famous Petronas huge huge profits….all belonging to Malaysians…..to US ALL…yet we cannot know what they are doing with our money. It’s top secrets!!…..hahahahahaha
Can you imagine….we the rightful shareholders.. employ some guys to run our business…..and they tell you… cannot know…what’s going on. Talk too much…get wallop…or put into the jungle.with c4!!
Yet…so many shareholders agree with these bulliers. WHY?? Got share la…to rob us all??….hahahahahaha
But partnering a crook…you will also got played out.
So..supporters of UMNO…take note..you will suffer….same as all of us….lets see you ambil bodek and get favours…..hahahahahaha
Jokes aside…I am a small tiny boss..but feel great…I increased my staffs salaries….by cutting my own salary …and expenses.
I must focus on my staffs. That matters most to me now..as they need help.
All okay now…I alone….suffer most!!……hahahahahaha
Hope my example…will get all stingy bosses…to change and be real generous to their staffs…at this serious situations….involving their poor and middle class workers.
Without them……you are nothing!!
Ours.. is a government…managed by a pariah for 22 years,..and now few idiots,…trying to save that pariah and his croonies…all from UMNO….to tax us all again….more and more.
Others….puppets…charge….just for show….ad one or two small fry….put to jail…..YET…one can go home from… Kajang jail every night…as he likes it. I wonder how…Abdullah Ang can do that!
And who was the PM at that time?
#9 by TheWrathOfGrapes on Friday, 6 June 2008 - 9:59 am
/// k1980 Says:
How can Malaysia, a net oil exporter, be compared to oil importers? Why are other oil exporters not included in the list? ///
k1980, walao and AWhite,
First off, I didn’t come up with the list – Reuters did. The US and the UK are also oil producers.
The key issue here is really – does Malaysia want to continue to be dependent on subsidies? Yes, the cost of petroleum in Malaysia is low because it it oozing from the ground and the sea. But do you want to sell something cheaply below market rate, just because you get it cheap? The US and the UK are oil producing countries, but they don’t sell gasoline at cost price.
The real issue facing Malaysia is that it is fast running out of oil (can’t remember off hand – but is the oil reserves running out in the year 2012?). So, do you want to wait until 2012 or 2013 to see petrol price tripling or quadrupling then, instead of a hike of 40.6% now and adjust to market rate eventually?
Someone mentioned Brunei. I think their reserve will last longer. Even the reserves in the UAE/Dubai are running out soon. But they were smart – they realised that long ago, and have spent the past decade building up their infrastructure, building up their tourism industry and buying up world-class companies with their oil money instead of splurging it away on white-elephant projects and sending a civilian on a space joy ride.
Why is Malaysia in this petrolem mess? To me, the answer is clear — Proton and the ill-fated car industry. Malaysia never had and never will have any comparative, let alone competitive advantages in the car industry, and yet because of one man’s ego and misplaced and misguided nationalism and sense of industrialisation, Malaysia plunged head-long into a non-viable industry. The rest, as you can see, is history.
Because of the Proton, there is a need to make it appear “successful”. Car prices for local cars were/are artificially kept very low to encourage ownership and sales of local-made cars. What this means is that many can now own car when, economically and financially, they would otherwise not be able to. In other words, a false demand was created.
To make matter worse, petrol prices were heavily subsizied to stimulate car usage and car sales. Again, a false and articially high demand for petrol was created.
So, who is to be blame for this petrol fiasco?
If there is one thing that the Malaysian government gets it right for the past 5 decades, it is this removal of petrol subsidy. If there is one far-sighted policy that the Malaysian government can boast of in the past 5 decades, it is this scaling down of subsidies. (What, you want to wait until the oil wells run dry in 2012 before you act?). Hence, I sigh when I see the present administration being attacked relentlessly for something which is the right thing to do. If someone is to be blamed, it should be the champion of Proton. It should be He who introduced the subsidy. It is he would is the master of the crutch mentality.
As I said before, we are all barking down the wrong oil wells. It will be running dry soon. Do you want to shed tears only when you see the coffin?
Do we now know who is the real culprit, who is to be blamed?
Based on the 12 countries I quoted, only 5 are rich first-world countries. The rest are much poorer than Malaysia. Based on CIA World Factbook, their GDP per capita on a PPP basis (that takes care of the purchasing power parity) are appended in the last column.
Just look at the Sri Lankans. Their average income is not even one third of Malaysians, but they are paying almost double the price for petrol. Malaysia’s problem is that its people have been enjoying cheap petrol for so long that they become addicted to it.
London……..$2.15
Singapore….$1.58
Tokyo………$1.50
Sri Lanka…..$1.46……….$4,000
Sydney…….$1.39
Delhi………..$1.19……….$2,700
USA…………$1.00
Bangladesh…$0.97……….$1,400
Vietnam…….$0.90……….$2,600
Malaysia…….$0.83……..$14,000
Indonesia……$0.65………$3,400
Beijing……….$0.61………$5,300
Source: Reuters
#10 by Godfather on Friday, 6 June 2008 - 10:02 am
lextcs:
Write to the PDRM for attention Musa Hassan. He will give you the blueprint for a safe Malaysia, but don’t forget to ask him which edition.
#11 by rainbowseahorse on Friday, 6 June 2008 - 10:05 am
For what’s its worth, I STILL THINK this is a deliberate strategy by insiders within UMNO to force that Bodohwi to resign amidst EXPECTED massive public outcry and protest against the huge oil & rice price increases.
Somebody DELIBERATELY GAVE VERY BAD ADVICES to that Bodohwi to hike these prices and followed immediately with announcement of hike in electricity tariffs in July too. They KNOW FULL WELL THE EXPECTED CONSEQUENCES of such unpopular and, indeed, suicidal decision especially with the already unpopularity of that Bodohwi during the last general election.
Those “INSIDERS” are the ones who got to gain the most from the fall of that Bodohwi…the prize being the position of PM & DPM of Malaysia at the cost of the sufferings and sacrifices of Malaysians.
To “WrathOfGrapes”, you forgot that you British salaries are at least SIX times to those of ordinary Malaysians. If you want to compare the cost of living among nations, do it properly and take all factors into considerations instead of focusing on single items.
#12 by Godfather on Friday, 6 June 2008 - 10:06 am
If the price hikes had been combined with the announcement that all construction projects will be put on hold, or that the ministers will all take a 50 pct pay cut, or that all overseas trips by ministers will be on MAS instead of on the private jets, or that we will sell the brand new A320 used to shuttle Badawi and his relatives, or that we will cut defence expenditure, or that government advertising will be slashed by 50 pct, etc etc, maybe – just maybe – we won’t be so p!ssed off.
Instead, the message from BN is clear – we can’t afford to subsidise you, so it’s just too bad we had to raise the fuel price. And the electricity price. The message is simply: Tough sh!t.
#13 by gofortruth on Friday, 6 June 2008 - 10:07 am
“FUEL PRICE HIKE: Oil exploration costs Petronas a bomb, says CEO
News & Commentaries
Posted by kasee
Friday, 06 June 2008
KUALA LUMPUR: The national oil company Petronas, which has paid the government about RM335.7 billion since its incorporation, now faces large rises in exploration costs at a much higher rate than the increase, in percentage terms, of oil prices. ”
http://www.malaysia-today.net/2008/content/view/8460/1/
—————————–
Anyone wants to conduct an independent audit on the “EXPLORATION ” cost?
Can you imagine how money could have or had “leaked” from here????
#14 by andy6000 on Friday, 6 June 2008 - 10:14 am
voting BN during 8.3.08 .. and now you see what happen? Maybe badawi still not realise what he doing. maybe someone behind him suggest him to do such things. definetly umnoputra gang.
#15 by monsterball on Friday, 6 June 2008 - 10:14 am
Poor Spaceman..no more important.
Just look at how our government spending billions upon billions…fooling Malaysians….and pocketing huge legal commissions…for party…for running dogs….and for pesonal…but personal…not directly to that mastermind pockets.
It must travel round the world…..to have sons and daughters…getting …big bank loans….say RM100 million…no need collaterals….some 15 years ago…and make RM500 million…through a wayang kulit deal….all planned.
Yet the father said….he has smart children…that’s why they are so filthy rich.
And now…that man…..is accusing Dollah on corruptions…which strangely.. are true too!
So why no one sue anyone? Why Dollah don’t sue Mahathir….or Mahathir…talk less….go make dozens of police reports ….on corruptions…get all the crooks to court…and save Malaysians being cheated?
Why all talk…no actions?
hi UMNO ministers and supporters….why are you so proud of a crooked party?
#16 by TheWrathOfGrapes on Friday, 6 June 2008 - 10:24 am
rainbowseahorse – look at the per capita GDP on a purchasing power parity basis (third column). Sri Lankans average annual income is US$4,000, while Malaysian’s is US$14,000. On the other hand, Sri Lankans are paying US$1.46 for petrol, while Malaysians are paying only US$0.83 (after the 40.6% increase).
So, what do you suggest. Continue with the subsidy until the oil run out, and then you run amok?
#17 by ADAM YONG IBNI ABDULLAH on Friday, 6 June 2008 - 10:29 am
Dear Godfather,
The Star reported today Starbiz. page B10.
“ECM Libra Financial Group Bhd expects to grow its shareholders’ funds to between RM4 billion to RM5 billion in the next three years from Rm500 million currently.”
read between the lines. period.
#18 by ADAM YONG IBNI ABDULLAH on Friday, 6 June 2008 - 10:33 am
lectcx.
ask a stupid question , you get a stupid answer.
you should ask that question to the Minister of Internal Security and The IGP of Malaysia.
#19 by k1980 on Friday, 6 June 2008 - 10:39 am
The only thing going down is the standard of living.
The people have never felt the pain like this. Prices of other goods would also increase even as petrol prices soared. Imported Thai rice and Vietnamese white rice have surged 120%; cement prices would go up today (5 June); pork prices keep increasing and electricity rates are going up too.
http://www.malaysia-today.net/2008/content/view/8462/84/
#20 by Godfather on Friday, 6 June 2008 - 10:42 am
Adam Yong:
Not if PR takes over the federal government soon. Then there will be a reopening of the saga where Avenue, an asset of the government, was sold to ECM Libra for a pittance and with no competitive bidding.
#21 by andy6000 on Friday, 6 June 2008 - 10:44 am
Cant imagin those salary not more than RM2000 per family with small baby milk powder and housing loan with car loan as well how to survive.
#22 by ADAM YONG IBNI ABDULLAH on Friday, 6 June 2008 - 10:45 am
dear Thewrathofgrapes.
“continue the subsidy until the oil run out , and than you run amok”?
Why dont you address this concern of yours to YAB Perdana Menteri, to continue the extravagant lifestyle , until the oil run out, and than the prime minister and his ministers and executives will ride a bike ?
The very petrol that drives the S500 class of some of the MBs are paid and subsidised by the more deserving raayat.
Provided that the leaders pay for their own fuel , pay for their own air ticket ,( from their own gaji ) . i am not complaining further.
#23 by dawsheng on Friday, 6 June 2008 - 10:50 am
According to BN government, our inflation rate last year is only 2%.
#24 by passerby on Friday, 6 June 2008 - 10:54 am
I don’t think anyone can do anything to stop the price increase as this is a global issue, unless Malaysia has plenty of oil like the Arab countries. It is better that the increase comes during the bn’s time than when PR comes to power. Since bn has been ruling and mis-ruling the country all this time, why not let bn do the explaination to the people?
The rich and the powerful and the corrupt will not feel any pain and hardship when prices gone up and it is always the poor and the weakest who is going to bear the full brunt of any inflation and suffering. How are you going to explain to the poor in the rural area who has not benefited anything all these while and now asked to continue to tighten their belt further more?
All these sufferings and hardships would have been avoided had the gov. been fair, efficient and not corrupted and the country will be much richer maybe like, say , S,pore, to absorb the increase. Instead, you have wasted all the country resources and money on wasteful mega project benefiting only to your group and the nep which not only fail to produce truly qualified person but at the same time driving away all the smart people who could help the country to develop.
There will be a lot of disenchanted people all across the country and PR should take this opportunity to meet and wake up the poor that they must vote to change the corrupt gov stop any further mismanagement of the country for their sake and also for the sake of their children’s children.
#25 by Godfather on Friday, 6 June 2008 - 10:54 am
dawsheng:
They conveniently forgot to tell you that it is 2 pct per month. They have learnt very well from the Ah Long’s advertisements.
#26 by k1980 on Friday, 6 June 2008 - 11:02 am
Being a major commodities exporter and a net exporter of oil, shouldn’t the country be flush with funds as a result of soaring commodity prices? How are other oil-producing countries able to offer lower oil prices to their people?
http://anilnetto.com/accountability/subsidy-what-subsidy-ai-yah-i-dont-understand-lah/
#27 by dawsheng on Friday, 6 June 2008 - 11:03 am
That’s what I suspect Godfather. I was still in business in 2006 when the oil price increased, it was still ok in the first two months but by the third months, the chain reaction started, business cost gone up, and sales dwindled as customers tighten their belts. Well, in view of the uncertainties, I closed shop.
#28 by TheWrathOfGrapes on Friday, 6 June 2008 - 11:05 am
/// Why dont you address this concern of yours to YAB Perdana Menteri, to continue the extravagant lifestyle , until the oil run out, and than the prime minister and his ministers and executives will ride a bike? ///
Dear Adam, no thank you. If you have been following what I said, I am quite happy about reducing the subsidy. In fact, I think they should mark it to market at one go and make it RM4 to RM5 a litre, insteading of prolonging the pain.
PM has already addressed my concerns – the running out of oil – and I am happy with the new policy. Maybe you or rainbowseahorse should approach the PM with your concerns?
;)
#29 by dawsheng on Friday, 6 June 2008 - 11:07 am
The BN government has a plan, it is call plan A and that’s it. If Plan A didn’t work out so well, there will be another Plan A. I learned about this in a hard way. Well, now I know Plan A is about how much BN government can rob from the Rakyat in broad day light.
#30 by megaman on Friday, 6 June 2008 - 11:17 am
I have to agree with TheWrathOfGrapes, the main issue is that subsidies are never and can never be never-ending.
But unfortunately, the problem is that the Msian government was and will continue to be short-sighted and unable to prepare the economy for the eventuality that these subsidies will be reduced and finally removed.
Ironically, the government is doing totally the opposite. It is continually making the life of the people harder and more dependent on the oil subsidies. Instead of investing and improving the public transport, it took measures that totally screwed up the public transport system. The worst action taken would be the latest measure of increasing diesel price by 60% and then prohibiting the bus companies and transport companies to not increase their fares because it would burden the rakyat !!! Ehh !!! Hello it is the government job of protecting the interests of the rakyat not the bus companies. This is absolutely irresponsible behavior on behalf of the government !!!
The Msian coffers are dry of funds. The problem has taken root over decades of misguided policies and bad governance that it is impossible to avoid the bad effects now.
The question is : Are we angry and unhappy because of the rising fuel prices and living costs ? Are we demonstrating our unhappiness and disenchantments thinking it would make things go back to its original state ?
OR are we unhappy because the government has failed to prepare us and taken the correct measures to handle the fundamental problems in our economy ?
If you are hoping things can go back to what it was, then you are dreaming and basically an ignorant fool. The illness is too seriously terminal and even if our economy recovers it would no longer be the same. Similar to a seriously ill patient, if he/she sought medical help early it could be cured, but when it reached the terminal stage even after recovering, the body is ravaged and no longer functions the same.
So demonstrate and force changes to put people with the right heart and the right mind into our government. Otherwise, our next generations would be the ones to suffer similar to we suffering the result of the ignorance and indignation of our elders.
#31 by ADAM YONG IBNI ABDULLAH on Friday, 6 June 2008 - 11:20 am
dear dawsheng.
Sorry to note that you have closed shop. but i feel more sorry that you believe what bn told you and will tell you.
The Pm said – parliament will not be dissolved – 24 hours different story.
The Dpm said – announcement on friday on the structure of petrol price hike in august – 5 pm friday- price of fuel shocking increase.
#32 by ADAM YONG IBNI ABDULLAH on Friday, 6 June 2008 - 11:21 am
sorry- wrong day- was supposed to have an announcement on friday, but the price went up on wednesday. ( on purpose )
#33 by raverus on Friday, 6 June 2008 - 11:36 am
he is soooo above parliament?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!
#34 by Plaintruth on Friday, 6 June 2008 - 12:00 pm
Why do I see government vehicles are having wife and children in it at 8 and 9pm on the street? Anyone can put a stop to it for these kind of practise of using our tax-payer money driving big jeep and expensive diesel?
#35 by ADAM YONG IBNI ABDULLAH on Friday, 6 June 2008 - 12:13 pm
plaintruth:
anyone can put a stop :- YOU.
with your vote.
#36 by rainbowseahorse on Friday, 6 June 2008 - 1:02 pm
WrathOfGrapes, first and foremost, Sri Lanka is not an oil exporting country like Malaysia and so no comparison. Malaysian GDP USD14,000 per capital??? Only a nut would believe that figure! It’s more like USD2,200.
Oil subsidy is not good for any country, but when its raised 40 to 63% overnight without proportionate increment in salaries, coupled with over 40% increased in basic food like rice, and top that up with immediate announcement of hike in electricity by almost 20% in less than two months time, then our Malaysian government must be NUTS too!
Now with these hikes in prices, that will have very significant cost impact on just about everything in Malaysia. So, how is a family man with just USD185.75 per month going to feed, cloth, schooling for the children, transportation for himself and his children, house rental (if any), and all the other basic needs?
Eliminate subsidies by all means, but at a more moderate and HUMAN manner!
#37 by Bobster on Friday, 6 June 2008 - 1:30 pm
Indonesia is currently net importer but their petrol price is cheaper than this country.
Yes, we are going to be net importer 5 yrs down the road. Cant those cronies increase the price stage by stage and survey the market response and inflation. Imagine if Federal Reserve in US simply increase overnite interest rate by even 1% all the stock market in the world will feel the impact.
40-60% sudden increase and more to come. Few days before the great Najib scrapping the subsidies for public transport. Not forgetting the other great Tee Kiat imposed mandatory seat belt for rear passengers. How abt those family with four kids, single bread winner? How to buckle up? How to fock out another few hundred bucks for fuel increase?
Najib: Adjust your lifestyle and go eat sand!
These cronies really pushing rakyat to the wall at one go.
Hope these fellow get kick out ASAP before further damage done to country economy!
#38 by cempakian on Friday, 6 June 2008 - 2:35 pm
Sabahan and Sarawakian please wake up!
Don’t support for Bodohwi anymore. He’s damaging our country gradually.
#39 by TheWrathOfGrapes on Friday, 6 June 2008 - 2:41 pm
/// rainbowseahorse Says:
Today at 13: 02.41 (1 hour ago)
WrathOfGrapes, first and foremost, Sri Lanka is not an oil exporting country like Malaysia and so no comparison. Malaysian GDP USD14,000 per capital??? Only a nut would believe that figure! It’s more like USD2,200. ///
rainbowseahorse – please read my entry in its entirety – then maybe you can see where I am coming from. The US and the UK are oil producing countries as well. Malaysian per capita GDP is not US$14,000 but higher at US$14,400 – sorry my mistake. It is on a PPP basis – go and find out the meaning of purchasing power parity – it is very important concept. Otherwise we cannot discuss how many ringgits you need to buy a McDonald hamburger.
#40 by rainbowseahorse on Friday, 6 June 2008 - 2:42 pm
Bobster, if the US government DARE to force that type of increses on their people, I think their Presedent would have been dragged out and hung on the nearest tree.
Indians carried out mass protest for a mere 11% INCREASE IN FUEL. And what do we Malaysians are expected to do?? Leave it to the DAP and perhaps the PKR!
Very pro-active!
#41 by ShiokGuy on Friday, 6 June 2008 - 3:02 pm
* Today I need to pump petrol! *
* It really hurt my pocket *
* my hate emotion is under control! *
* knowing i will only go for rocket *
I reduce my dependent on petrol by doing this…
http://shiokguy.blogspot.com/2008/06/petrol-price-hike.html
Shiok Guy
#42 by Bobster on Friday, 6 June 2008 - 3:16 pm
What I see is whether this PM wrongly advised from some group that plotting his down fall or he is planning to hang himself soon.
Just like to see what the general public esp our bumi friends who are struggling to make ends meet say and will do in a few weeks time.
What can chinese minority do except dropping a pin into the ocean?
Hope the whole country wake up now and acknowledge the fact that it is time to change the whole administration after blunders upon blunders. Enough is Enough!
#43 by Jeffrey on Friday, 6 June 2008 - 3:21 pm
TheWrathOfGrapes is right about the un-wisdom of reliance on petrol/diesel subsidies and how much of it is attributable to the unilateral wet dream of one man – only on standalone basis of looking at it from economics point of view.
However, the main grouses now is that the cutting down of petrol/diesel subsidies issue is interconnected with other issues: first the pace of withdrawal, whether the reliance on it should be weaned away gradually or drastically, as is now, with all its attendant effects on spiraling inflation; second whether it is fair to rakyat when they do not have reliable and affordable public transportation in place; and third, the questionable priorities with which the government otherwise allocates and appropriates resources (a substantial part from dividends or tax from Petronas greater earnings due to high crude oil prices) without transparency and accountability – indeed with many questions surrounding them. Yes subsidies are generally wasteful and car users are spoilt but what high moral ground does one stand on in suddenly withdrawing pre-existing benefit of subsidies from car users – causing cost push inflation across the board – when one continues in wasteful expenditure in subsidizing of other questionable projects and other bailouts neither beneficial nor equitable, if not down right detrimental to rakyat, PKFZ RM 4.6 billion scandal for example ???
It is the inter-connectivity of petrol/diesel subsidies issue from other issues related to lack of accountability and transparency and other wastage from other forms of subsidies given that benefit the elites and cronies that make evaluation of petrol/diesel subsidies issue on a standalone basis (like picking on strand from the interconnected strands making the entire fabric) objectively difficult and questionably useful!
Even if one compares with other countries and says our car users are spoilt and have hitherto enjoyed very cheap petrol, one has, when comparing, to compare also the cost of driving per head – taking into consideration road tax, custom excise duties, toll charges – relative to his income and purchasing power.
Citing Sri Lankans as an example – that their average income is not even one third of Malaysians, but they are paying almost double the price for petrol – is not altogether helpful to appease angry Malaysians when it is recollected that Sri Lankan government’s coffers are depleted by decades of civil war and strife with Tamil Tiger Separatist, and, unlike ours, not replenished by taxes and dividends from Petronas’s bumper profits from high crude oil prices.
#44 by rainbowseahorse on Friday, 6 June 2008 - 3:26 pm
When the fuel increase was announced followed by electricity hikes in July, it just struck me that Bodohwi must be really2 stupid to do that closed on the heels of increases in rice and other items. On top of that, he must know that he is no longer popular with the rakyat. So why doies he do what he did??
He held fast after being suggested and then asked to step down as PM. So, with so many of his people standing impatiently for him to step down, the process was hasten by giving him bad advises so that people’s power will topple him.
#45 by rainbowseahorse on Friday, 6 June 2008 - 3:38 pm
Why don’t UMNO group of companies (PETRONAS) go and smuggle out fuel oil from, say, Nigeria at RM0.32/litre or Turkmenistan at RM0.25/litre, or better still Venezuela at a mere RM0.16/litre and ship back the fuel to Malaysia at a huge profit? Overnight, Bodohwi & company will be off the hook over the fuel subsidies issue. Then UMNO inc. can keep all that PETRONAS profits quietly for themselves.
#46 by TheWrathOfGrapes on Friday, 6 June 2008 - 4:02 pm
Jeff – agree with you. The issue is not really about subsidy. The subsidy must go, sooner or later, and I suggest the sooner the better. Drop dead date – 2012. The real issue is whether one can trust the government with the savings from the subsidy and whether they will be put to good use.
There are just too much nonsense written by so many who haven’t a clue about supply and demand. Many are whacking the government for other reasons (deservedly so), but this removal of subsidy should not be a flogging horse.
As expected, the only politician who made sense in this issue is Tony Pua, who happened to be an economist. I suggest everyone go and read what he has to say. Even so, there is someone who wrote on Tony’s blog asking him to be careful about what he wrote. Apparently, opposition must blindly hantam the government, no matter what.
#47 by rainbowseahorse on Friday, 6 June 2008 - 4:18 pm
WrathOfGrapes, agreed that subsidies is VERY VERY bad for any government. Better to have none at all and let market forces dictat pricings. But once you start subsidies and wants to reduce these subsidies, reduce gradually and not at a rate which over takes raise in salaries.
Also, without transparant accounts of PETRONAS, how the hell do we know what the government is doing with all these huge profits??
#48 by rainbowseahorse on Friday, 6 June 2008 - 4:44 pm
Come to think of it: What happened to that Bodohwi’s election promise to erradicate corruption??
Hmmmm…. maybe this increase in fuel & basic food items is his round about way to tackle that problem!
#49 by wombatahem on Friday, 6 June 2008 - 4:49 pm
If the price of petrol is to be determined using the market forces, which in this case the price has gone up due to the higher oil price, will the government DECREASE the petrol price WHEN the oil price FALLS?
Will the government actually let the price of petrol to be REALLY determined by the market forces if the price of oil falls?
If that is the case, then should the goverment also remove the protection surrounding our local cars as such protection also distorts the price of imported cars?
With the money saved, please use it to upgrade the public transport! LRT and monorails or its equivalent is the best mode of transportation, in my opinion.
#50 by Godfather on Friday, 6 June 2008 - 6:27 pm
Like I said in an earlier posting, the price hike may be – just may be – tolerable if there is an equivalent show of austerity by the BN government. They keep mum over issues like the use of private jets, shopping sprees by ministers’ wives, unncessary or non-urgent projects like the new palace, and new defence equipment.
Why say that we are unwinding the subsidy system when we are also unwilling to unwind the crony system that sucks the rakyat’s money ? Can we reduce tolls ? Can we eliminate stupid concessions like medicine holograms, cigarette holograms, liquor holograms ?