Ipoh’s protest :
KL’s protest :
![]()
Some hundred people, including DAP MP for Ipoh Barat, M. Kulasegaran, Perak State Assembly Speaker Sivakumar, Perak DAP State Excos Su Keong Siong, A. Sivanesan and Chen Fook Chye and DAP Perak Assembly members Leong Mee Meng (Jalong), Lim Pek Har (Menglembu), Ong Boon Piow (Tebing Tinggi) and Siva Subramanian (Buntong), together with representatives from trade unions and NGOs, gathered outside the Perak Federal Building this morning to fire the first salvo of protest on behalf of Malaysians at the hefty and unconscionable increase of oil prices yesterday.
The half-hour protest went off smoothly, with Kula, Su, Sivanesan, Chen and myself speaking briefly on the protest.
In Kuala Lumpur, a similar protest, attended by five DAP Federal Territory MPs (Dr. Tan Seng Giaw, Fong Kui Lun, Tan Kok Wai, Teresa Kok, Lim Lip Eng), Manogaran (MP – Teluk Intan) and Selangor DAP State Assemblywoman Jenice Lee Ying Ha (Teratai), was held at the Pudu Market, Jalan Pasar.
Excerpts of my remarks at the Ipoh Protest this morning:
The sudden hefty oil price increases – 40.6 per cent and 63.3 per cent increase in pump petrol price and diesel price respectively – creating a seven-hour nation-wide chaos is an outrage as it is most unconscionable, unjustifiable and deplorable reflecting poorly on good governance in Malaysia especially after ministerial undertaking that there would be no changes until August.
The introduction of annual cash rebate of RM625 to those who own cars of 2,000 cc and below, and pick-up trucks and jeeps of 2,500 cc and below, and cash rebate of RM150 a year for owners of motor-cycles of 250 cc and below, as well as road tax discounts, will not be able to fully cushion the low and middle-income Malaysians from the inflationary spiral which would be unleashed by the greatest hike in oil prices in the nation’s history.
Equally of concern will be the deterioration of the public safety index, with the expected worsening of the crime situation which has already become an endemic problem causing Malaysians, tourists and investors to fear for their personal safety, their loved ones and the safety of property as well!
The Prime Minister, Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi said yesterday:
“We cannot keep subsidising at the current rate. We must reduce wastage. If we can change our lifestyles, we will not suffer a terrible situation.”
However, the present government has no credibility in setting an example of “change of lifestyles” in eradicating the parasitic subsidy mentality as it has shown no political will to eliminate the rampant waste, extravagance, abuse of public funds, lack of accountability and corruption rife in the public sector, as illustrated by Malaysia’s worsening reputation on corruption whether nationally or internationally, the RM4.6 billion Port Klang Free Zone (PKFZ) bailout scandal, the lack of accountability for the Petronas billions, etc.
In the previous oil price increases in February 2006, the government promised radical improvements in the public transport system – but nothing has come out of it.
The Prime Minister and all the Cabinet Ministers owe Malaysians a full and acceptable explanation why they could not fully involve the Malaysian public in the restructuring of the fuel pricing system which is fair and equitable to the low and middle-income Malaysians and done in a competent , professional and accountable manner as to avoid the seven-hour nation-wide chaos yesterday.
Parliament, which ended its meeting last week and would meet again on 23rd June, should have been the forum to decide on the fuel pricing system which is fair, equitable and efficient.
Why was Parliament by-passed altogether by the Cabinet?
The first item of business of the forthcoming parliamentary meeting should be a motion to seek approval of Parliament for the hefty and unconscionable oil price increases yesterday. This motion should be moved by the Prime Minister, Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi himself.

#1 by danchungs on Thursday, 5 June 2008 - 3:20 pm
A – Apek
B – Bikin
D – Duit
U – Untuk
L – Lancarkan
L – Ladang
A – Anak dan anak menantu
H – Haram
#2 by aman on Thursday, 5 June 2008 - 3:21 pm
dEAR WALAO..the cabinet has approved and had made that decision…but what YB Lim trying to say is PM should brings this matter to be passed by parliament….it seems that you just like to commenting by not reading the writings..huh…
#3 by gofortruth on Thursday, 5 June 2008 - 3:25 pm
This is not bad governance, this is “Samseng” governance. I think everyone expects petrol price will go up but NOT up by a hefty 40% for a oil producing nation!!!!!!!! Yesterday the Indian government has also raised their petrol price but by only 10%!!! Can’t Malaysia learn to do it gradually, take sufficient time to prepare hearts & minds & let incomes catch up during the period? Are they trying to instill national unrest????
Just imagine the rippling impact on prices of other items, now we have to expect an escalating inflation such as the nation has never seen before coming to Malaysia.
Lets hope it won’t go out of hand, OR can it just be that the BN has purposely planned this to create national chaos so that they can stay in power, divert attention from Mongolian murder, Lingam saga etc etc?
#4 by aman on Thursday, 5 June 2008 - 3:31 pm
I am so aggitated with some Malaysians who’d like to make non-sense remarks..For me its enough showing our dissapproval on the matter with well-manner writing. Making such non-sense allegations is nothing less we could do to improve our standard living. YB Lim, help us with your briliant ideas.
#5 by nazryan on Thursday, 5 June 2008 - 3:32 pm
Some sort of silent and demonstration protest need to be organize here…
My wife and me were part of the 98 demo and still today, we were very proud of it. It was not just an issue for one man – DSAI suffering only and it shows today since that fateful day that more and more un-imaginable event/ mismanagement/ corruptions etc happenned
I am willing to demo again (but off course leaving my wife taking care of my children). To show our dis-satisfation…and again palying hide and seek with the FRU.
Which is why I maintained my opinion and position…To all BN MP’s please cross over if you still want to have your dignity in the eyes of Rakyat. Please save Malaysia while we can and do not wait until another 5 or 10 years
#6 by dawsheng on Thursday, 5 June 2008 - 3:49 pm
Stop paying bills and taxes to BN government and GLCs.
#7 by ahkok1982 on Thursday, 5 June 2008 - 3:49 pm
justice_fighter Says:
The gov will not react, your boss will react ;-)
A better solution is to keep educating the young and naive Malaysians to vote BN-UMNO out totally come GE13. If the voters have wisdom, we won’t have such incompetent and corrupt government!
==============================================
Of course education is necessary but it takes time and time is very obviously not on our side. Of course, boss will react but then what will the reaction be? Fire everyone? Close shop? What do you think taxes from these business go to? The gov will feel the pain…
How do you think Ghandi protested? Hunger strike.
Try staying at home for a week, not spending much on food, entertainment or anything else. Heck, dont even turn on any electrical appliance.
If enough people do this, what do you think will happen?
#8 by ktteokt on Thursday, 5 June 2008 - 3:52 pm
Does Abdullah care a damn about what parliament says? He thinks he has the absolute power because he is PM, Minister of Finance and Home Minister! These gave him the absolute power to do what he likes but it looks like this may be his last act!
#9 by mauriyaII on Thursday, 5 June 2008 - 3:54 pm
YB Lim,
Street protests alone would not bring in the necessary changes. Such protests would be capitalized by the Umnoputras and innocent but concerned citizens might even get mauled by the police and the govt. thugs in blue.
For protests and demonstrations to be effective, the participants need to be better informed. The PKR component parties especially the DAP should explain very clearly what the 41% petrol, 63% diesel and the 20% electricity hikes would cost the ordinary citizen.
Since the MSM cannot be trusted to give the true picture, I suggest that PKR distribute leaflets in English, Malay, Chinese, Tamil and other languages of Sabah and Sarawak highlighting the issue in terms of escalation of prices of consumer goods, services and other utilities.
What must also be made apparent is the spiralling effect of this exorbitant hike on the lifestyles of the average citizen.
The elites in the Umnoputra hierachy will not feel the pinch at all and they can ask the citizens to CHANGE their lifestyles but it is these clowns that need to CHANGE their mindset and come down from their ivory towers to ground zero to feel the misery of the rakyat.
For all Malaysians, even the fence-sitters to feel that a CHANGE in government is necessary the downside of the status quo need to be explained. The BN MPs from Sabah and Sarawak who have been branded as frogs by everyone including Mahathir need to be convinced that their future and the future of their peoples is with PKR and not the rotten BN.
#10 by ktteokt on Thursday, 5 June 2008 - 3:55 pm
The effect of fuel hike is instantly seen. I was on my way down to Jalan Pasar before noon today and was surprised at the few number of cars on the road. It only took me ten minutes to reach Pudu from Cheras (a journey which would normally take half an hour). If everyone thinks the same way, i.e. travelling less and only when necessary, then the fuel hike may not prove profitable to those concerned. And if everyone were to boycott Petronas filling stations, then Petronas will definitely feel the pinch!!!!!
#11 by Piston on Thursday, 5 June 2008 - 3:58 pm
We need formation to protest petrol & diesel on Agong Birthday (7/6/2008) In front of Istana. Any one???
#12 by TheWrathOfGrapes on Thursday, 5 June 2008 - 3:59 pm
Sigh……. Malaysia is such a lucky country. Even after a 40.6% increase, its petrol price is still one of the lowest in the world. (All prices in US Dollar.
London…….$2.15
Singapore…$1.58
Tokyo……..$1.50
Sri Lanka….$1.46
Sydney……$1.39
Delhi……….$1.19
USA………..$1.00
Bangladesh..$0.97
Vietnam……$0.90
Malaysia……$0.83
Indonsia……$0.65
Beijing………$0.61
Source: Reuters
#13 by ktteokt on Thursday, 5 June 2008 - 4:02 pm
Fuel hike would definitely have an adverse impact on the sale of Proton cars. No wonder AAB is disowning Proton just before the fuel hike. Now that Proton is “bare” and unprotected, can it again be as arrogant as it was in 2000 where EON salesmen asked for “under counter” money for “fast cars”?
#14 by Piston on Thursday, 5 June 2008 - 4:03 pm
Are you sure (TheWrathOfGrapes) We have oil production.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gasoline_usage_and_pricing
#15 by NG on Thursday, 5 June 2008 - 4:03 pm
I can sense a VERY VERY BIG TSUNAMI is building up.IT will 100% blow the BN people away for good.
#16 by enoughisenough on Thursday, 5 June 2008 - 4:14 pm
YB,
I was inspired to write this poem after hearing all the news about the latest fuel price hikes. May I share this with you and your readers?
Troubled times
What troubled times we are living in nowadays…
Yesterday, we said goodbye to rm1.92 petrol,
Now we don’t even know whether to put our lives
In the hands of the public transport drivers
Or even walk all the way, if need be.
I can’t even begin to envision a truly developed Malaysia
When the poor gets poorer,
And when the nasi lemak gets smaller
And even we have to pay premium prices for our bread.
I don’t know…
Should I just pretend that everything is alright and walk along
With the nonchalant masses?
Or rally like-minded people and call for
An end to injustice, unequality and imbalance.
I might be scared of even holding a placard stating my beliefs.
I don’t even want to be robbed.
I don’t want to die young or even penniless.
I just don’t want to live in fear everyday.
These are troubled times we are living in everyday…..
#17 by budak on Thursday, 5 June 2008 - 4:14 pm
MIC, MCA and other components party MP, all KECUT…
same like Nazi Nazri said they are juniors and sit behind him, he’s full minister can “goreng” RAKYAT in-front of YouTube.com…
kepada anjing-anjing BN, please use your CACING BRAIN to think who are you in BN… just a anjing jalanan… you’re chosen by the RAKYAT to protect RAKYAT interest not Makan, Tidur and Berak bersama UMNO…!
Wake UP…!
#18 by slashed on Thursday, 5 June 2008 - 4:14 pm
I have a question. Do you guys think that at the very least that trucks etc ought to get an exemption of sorts or at least bigger subsidies? Would this mitigate the rising costs of logistics for our local industries and hence slow down the general price increases, or do you think that the overall petrol price increase’s effect on inflation is going to be so large so as to render any such attempts futile?
BTW, coming from Sarawak, I can say that it is very unlikely that Sarawak MPs would switch. If you know Sarawak at all, you’d know that we have one of the most corrupted man in Msia pulling the strings. He is probably going to take this chance to secure his position from ACA and the Federal Govt itself (!). I heard that he has been staying in power this long because he has yet to find a way to watch over his interests after he leaves office. It seems that he is going to get his chance. Just watch within this year or two! Also, PKR and DAP need to work out their issues in Sarawak first – in the last election, one or two seats would have gone the opposition’s way had it not been for DAP and PKR contesting for those seats at the SAME time!
#19 by kkc on Thursday, 5 June 2008 - 4:17 pm
I think its ok to raise petrol price. Not sure why you all react so strongly. Its not like we’re so special from other people around the world. We’re not high volume petrol exporter also. What we need to blame is inability of BN to make our currency exchange higher and better transportation. Anyhow, this is expected.
#20 by PetirRoket on Thursday, 5 June 2008 - 4:20 pm
Enough is enough! The price hike is totally unjustifiable. The Federal Government should be focussing on cutting waste, reducing leakages, rooting out corruption, optimise savings, etc. etc. Malaysia is the laughing stock of the world when virtually other oil producing nations maintain very low prices for their consumers! It is only RM0.16 in per litre in Venezuela.
Something is not right … PETRONAS must be made to account to the people. BN must be made to account how can they justify spending grandiose sum on mega projects which benefit the people very little and yet remove the so-called subsidies which come at a bad time, i.e. in view of the global food price crisis?
#21 by slashed on Thursday, 5 June 2008 - 4:21 pm
kkc – I don’t think the problem is that prices are going up. I think it is the fact that it’s a sudden 70sen increase that is causing so much anger. I am also not sure if raising our exchange would help us since we need to maintain lower export prices to compete with other countries. But you are right, BN needs to improve our public transport services.
#22 by PetirRoket on Thursday, 5 June 2008 - 4:39 pm
The BN government’s priorities are wrong. The priority is not to gradually remove the subsidy at this stage, but how best to use PETRONAS export earnings to help the middle and lower income people. If the government is interested in helping consumers, PETRONAS should be *nationalised* and be made accountable to Parliament so that its pricing monopoly can be broken.
Let nationalisation take place within a free market environment that promotes *free* ocpmetition in determining the price index.
And let the DAP and the Pakatan Rakyat be at the forefront of resisting this totally unjustifiable and unconscionable policy of this inept and incompetent BN federal government on the back of the massive display of public outrage and anger!
” …to fire the first salvo of protest on behalf of Malaysians at the hefty and unconscionable increase of oil prices yesterday.”
YES!!! Hidup Roket! Maju DAP! Utamakan-lah Malaysia!
#23 by mauriyaII on Thursday, 5 June 2008 - 4:44 pm
The country was raped by Mamakthir and his cronies for 22 years with impunity because others from the MCA, MIC, GERAKAN, ppp and other component parties from Sabah and Sarawak with vested interests decided to suck up to the dictator for the crumbs from his dinner table.
Petronas which was formed with the rakyat’s money became the financer for all the mega projects of the Mamak era. He even had the temerity to demand a crooked bridge be built to pander to his ego.
The privatization or is it piratization of public utilities, the Proton setup which only benefits a particular race at the expence of all the races, the extension of the NEP indefinitely (quote Najis), the so-called subsidies for fuel when the country is a net exporter of petroleum and of course the lop-sided toll concession agreements in favour of the toll operators (operated by UMNO party cronies) have only brought disaster and hardship to the rakyat during his dictatorial rule.
AAB’s dismal 4 year’s performance, the present directionless beginning does not portend a bright future for the country. A hefty 90 odd percent hike in petrol prices and an exorbitant 200 odd percent hike for diesel from 2004 to date only shows what a miserable record of inefficient governance he has to show the rakyat. Not that the country would have been better off if the mamak was still in power. At least he had the foresight to abandon ship when the going was still good but to a bumbling simpleton!
It is not fair to put all the blame on AAB but then when he has a bunch of idiots in his cabinet, what can one expect? More hard times for the rakyat!
#24 by shiock on Thursday, 5 June 2008 - 4:46 pm
Here again another flip flop decision to ban the pumping of petrol in the border towns. We have another flip flop when Shahrir are saying there will be no petrol price increase on Tuesday and the very next day Bodohwi announce the price increase.
Is there any consultation among the ministers and the PM??? Are they working under two separate entities?? Why are they confusing us all?? Bodohwi are just not the material to handle the economy of the country.
They are asking us to adjust our lifestyles but with so little money left in the pocket, how to adjust??
#25 by Anak_Penang on Thursday, 5 June 2008 - 4:46 pm
“Imagine ur dad is a fisherman, he caught 1kg of fish and cook for u, then he ask u to pay him RM2.70, the son complained why ? The dad told the son, look … the fish will cost u RM4.00 if u buy outside. It is already cheap as I subsidized u RM1.30″
sonofpenang
blogspot
#26 by hennesy on Thursday, 5 June 2008 - 4:49 pm
I am very disappointed with the federal government. It is not the price increase that we are all pissed off about. It’s the blatant disregard and disrespectful way in which it was handled. Pak Lah says he will announce new subsidy plans on 4-June-2008 to be implemented in August 2008. Then without warning, like a stab in the back, he announced immediate price increase from RM 1.92 to 2.70 per litre with immediate effective after midnight. WHAT KIND OF government is this? Is he our Prime Minister or a Dictator? Where is law and order? Try doing this to the civil servants, announce salary will be released on 30th June then on 1st July, tell them all get salary cut by 25% with immediate effect. I bet the whole of Putrajaya & every other government building will be on fire. Literally.
How nice if he would announce that he would step down on 30th July 2008 and then immediately resign from UMNO today.
#27 by wesuffer on Thursday, 5 June 2008 - 4:54 pm
how come BN not get 2/3 majority ,still can by passed without approval from parliment ?
#28 by wesuffer on Thursday, 5 June 2008 - 4:55 pm
i thought they fail to win 2/3 this term, they couldnt suka suka increase the petrol n etc..
#29 by pwcheng on Thursday, 5 June 2008 - 4:56 pm
Blame our misfortunes for in spite of a tsunami we are unable to change a government that is corrupt to the core. Where has Petronas money gone and how it is spent, nobody knows except those sitting right at the top of UMNO. They will keep on bleeding the rakyat until we are dry, perhaps with the notion that they won’t be the Government for long. As the saying goes a cornered tiger is a dangerous tiger and that is what UMNO exactly is.
They will keep on telling the rakyat to “change lifestyle” as we often heard even after the Feb 2006 price increased. The Big Question is they changing their lifestyle as leader by example. On the contrary now they can afford a better and more luxurious lifestyle after robbing from the rakyat. More money to the Government means more money into their pockets. The PM can now fly more comfortably in his private jet and perhaps have more honeymoons with his new found beloved wife. The FT ministry can have more visits to Europe for lawatan sambil belajar. More money for the cronies and more money to buy votes, in away to get better anchorage to be the government. This exercise is not simply that they are unaffordable to subsidize but a political maneuver.
You do not need an economist to know why the Government has become a sadist to punish the rakyat. The hefty increase twice during this Bodohwi’s era is unprecedented. Simple economics will tell that Malaysia being a net exporter of oil will stand more to gain in any rise in price as compare to the losses in subsidizing. Have you all realized that they conveniently forgot about Brunei?
#30 by hedgehog7 on Thursday, 5 June 2008 - 5:01 pm
If I am a company CEO, do u think I mind a Rm0.78 increase of petrol? For those that approve it, they didn’t even know how to pump petrol. Unless, they have to go down the petrol station, pay and pump their own. Everything they uses is consider allowances or claim, for sure no problem even a increase of Rm2.00/ litle.
End of the day, the top management will not have impact, cause everything uses is not from own pockets.
#31 by rainbowseahorse on Thursday, 5 June 2008 - 5:02 pm
I dare to think that perhaps..just perhaps..that Bodohwi got bad advise (to drastically increase fuel & food prices) by insiders out to bring him down silently. Why not? Bad move makes very angry Rakyat which is not limited to none Bumiputras.
If this is the case, then it’s a very nicely orchestrated coup d’état and I “salute you Sir”…whoever you maybe! But then again, given that that Bohdowi doesn’t know what the hell is going most of the time, it wasn’t a very difficult stunt to pull off.
#32 by ADAM YONG IBNI ABDULLAH on Thursday, 5 June 2008 - 5:03 pm
Of course , the price increase of petrol and diesel is expected, as it is a Global issue BUT, the government should have more sympathy to the raayat than a SUDDEN AND HUGH HIKE when the raayat were suffering from higher cost of living from price increase in rice , wheat flour and every consummable products.
Yab Perdana Menteri, STOP asking the raayat to change their lifestyle. They have no more money even to buy a loaf of bread. The lifestyle change should be from the TOP down.
1) cut your salary by 50%.
2) cut all ministers salary by 40%.
3) take a cab or bus or walk from your official residence to JPM. VERY short distance only.
4) sell off the jets.
5) cut salaries of ceo of GLC by 30%.
6) dont need to bring wives along on business trip.
7) cut down on fancy launching at 5 stars hotel.
8) no need for police escorts.
9) buy your own car / pay your own petrol. (if needed).
10) dont show off by having international events that dont benefit the raayat.
until than, DONT ASK THE RAAYAT TO CHANGE LIFESTYLE.
#33 by Bobster on Thursday, 5 June 2008 - 5:07 pm
These day light robbers BN goons publicly declared projected inflation only 5% for this year.
Hey, joking or kok toking. Think Rakyat Malaysia retarded?
This gomen utterly made up of bunch of professional liars and cheaters.
Hope BN blind supporters now feeling the knock out punch from their own masters.
Chinese can never fight alone put it straight. Only Rakyat Malaysia ie Malays, Chinese, Indians dll all stand together united under one roof can weather the dark BN storm! Pressure cooker is building fast!
#34 by ihavesomethingtosay on Thursday, 5 June 2008 - 5:10 pm
The people is getting poorer mr PM, are you awake?
our oil company will again, report a huge post tax profit.
he no Robin Hood you know, you are the sheriff of Notingham, you rob the poor to aid the rich.
HOW MUCH IS THE IPP PAYING FOR DIESEL NOW? I REALLY WANT TO KNOW!
#35 by righttoequality on Thursday, 5 June 2008 - 5:11 pm
Bravo to the government, Malaysia has deteriorated in the poverty index. Are we going to end up like Philippines, Bangladesh and Indonesia? Sooner or later our future generation will degenerate to low cost labour and maids?
#36 by Bobster on Thursday, 5 June 2008 - 5:13 pm
8 March 2008 Tsunami is nothing to them.
Let’s give them an AVALANCHE that wipe the bunch of corrupts out of this nation!
ARE WE READY PAKATAN RAKYAT?
#37 by grace on Thursday, 5 June 2008 - 5:17 pm
If only the government can cut down its excess.
Pak Lah reduce his overseas trip. Fly on a commercial jet. Sell the executive jet.
Scrap the Monsoon cup. Cancel the space programs. Do away with commission for the purchases of arms and military hardwares.
Lots More. Arresrt all corrupted bastards and make them return their ill gotten wealth.
With the money saved, it could actually subsidise the petrol.
#38 by drngsc on Thursday, 5 June 2008 - 5:25 pm
This increase is shocking but more is to be expected. Please continue to speak out that rise in prices of petrol and electricity, will almost certainly fuel inflation and that will certainly worsen the crime situation. We are all at risk. Abolishing corruption under this Barisan Government is our dream. I hope to see see it in my lifetime, but somehow I don think so. You cant teach the crab to walk straight.
#39 by quinnling on Thursday, 5 June 2008 - 5:32 pm
PM without brain
#40 by caishen on Thursday, 5 June 2008 - 5:36 pm
>righttoequality Says:
Bravo to the government, Malaysia has deteriorated in the poverty index. Are we going to end up like Philippines, Bangladesh and Indonesia? Sooner or later our future generation will degenerate to low cost labour and maids?……….
Hmmmm……Malaysian can compete with others globally in term of low-cost labour and maids…afterall we are still considered a third world country.
#41 by walao on Thursday, 5 June 2008 - 5:46 pm
TheWrathOfGrapes Says:
Today at 15: 59.17 (1 hour ago)
Sigh……. Malaysia is such a lucky country. Even after a 40.6% increase, its petrol price is still one of the lowest in the world. (All prices in US Dollar.
London…….$2.15
Singapore…$1.58
Tokyo……..$1.50
Sri Lanka….$1.46
Sydney……$1.39
Delhi……….$1.19
USA………..$1.00
Bangladesh..$0.97
Vietnam……$0.90
Malaysia……$0.83
Indonsia……$0.65
Beijing………$0.61
Source: Reuters
—————————————————————-
Hey Bro, you compares like this not fair. Look at our neighbours, cars is cheaper, less toll, medical benefits, unemployment benefit, clean transparent government, good infra and utilities. LOOK AT US?? We have the worst standards. Don forget we have crude oil resorces. Want to compares??
#42 by talker on Thursday, 5 June 2008 - 5:50 pm
Indeed i agreed with all of you…I wish the DAP or PKR is time to do something about that group of idiot that sit on the cabinet position chair, those buaya and vampire that suck away our country money and OUR money too and only good to make us suffer and not mentioned keep cheating us…
#43 by Jamesy on Thursday, 5 June 2008 - 5:55 pm
The consequences of fuel increase in Malaysia -
1) Higher crime rate
2) Increased unemployment
3) Salaries cut
4) Increased rural and urban poverty
5) Higher inflation rate
6) SMIs and SMEs are likely to close down
7) Street demonstrations
8) Possible use of ISA
9) The rakyat become more angry
10) Change of Federal Government from BN to PR
Q – Another political tsunami in the making?
#44 by madmix on Thursday, 5 June 2008 - 5:58 pm
What would happen if crude drops to say USD 60 and stay at that level? Petronas profits and government revenue from oil would drop 50%. Would BN government adjust pump price to reflect cost which would probably be around RM2? Government revenue would now be seriously slashed. How to finance projects? pay civil servants? Or will rakyat have to pay a tax on fuel to keep the price at 2.70 to meet shortfalls in revenue?
I suggest the following measure:
1. Tax toll road operators at 80% income tax instead of 26%. Their share price will drop like a rock. Khanazah can mop up the shares and nationalise toll operations, then charge a much lower toll rate.
2. Do the same to IPPs. Mop up cheap shares then supply electricity at fair rates.
#45 by caishen on Thursday, 5 June 2008 - 6:02 pm
The leadership of AAB..’Lembap,Lembik,Lembut’.
No wonder DRM is so frustrated with him.
Suka-suka naik when the economic is no good.
Suka-suka tidur when asked for decision…( please refer to Khairy )
The world is laughing and laughing and laughing at us.
Ever wonder what has he done since becoming PM..
how many countries has he tried to promote Malaysia?
Or just mahu main cucuktanam ( agriculture)?
Does he has the aim of turning Malaysia as a developing country?Malaysia Vision 2020 and it coming closer and closer….
#46 by k1980 on Thursday, 5 June 2008 - 6:03 pm
TheWrathOfGrapes Says:
London…….$2.15
Singapore…$1.58
Tokyo……..$1.50
Sri Lanka….$1.46
Sydney……$1.39
Delhi……….$1.19
USA………..$1.00
Bangladesh..$0.97
Vietnam……$0.90
Malaysia……$0.83
Indonsia……$0.65
Beijing………$0.61
How can Malaysia, a net oil exporter, be compared to oil importers? Why are other oil exporters not included in the list?
#47 by kensball on Thursday, 5 June 2008 - 6:06 pm
We the Rakyat want ALL THE BN/UMNO Minister to pay for thier own petro and use the own car. NO MORE USING TAX PAYER MONEY!!!
#48 by Anak_Penang on Thursday, 5 June 2008 - 6:15 pm
Describe your feeling on the latest increase in fuel prices @ sonofpenang.blogspot.com
#49 by Xiao He on Thursday, 5 June 2008 - 6:16 pm
the AAB administration is so coward as to announce the oil price increase this week, when parliament is not in session.. why not they announce it last week, and let Pakatan Rakyat MPs table an emergency motion..
#50 by taiking on Thursday, 5 June 2008 - 6:18 pm
And we dont have a choice.
Poor and dangerous public transport system is only alternative for most of us.
Cities in China are doing away with motorcycles on their streets by providing good and efficient public transport.
Here in malaysia we will surely see more of those two wheelers.
That is Regression.
Perhaps there is some truth in the statement: “All Roads lead to Rome.”
By regressing we will and can also achieve our 2020 developed nation objective.