Ipoh, Perak
- Venue : Perak Office of Ministry of Domestic Trade and Consumer Affairs
at Federal Building (opposite Dewan Bandaraya Ipoh ), Green Town, Ipoh - Date : Thursday, 5th June 2008
- Time : 11am
Kuala Lumpur
- Venue : Jalan Pasar, Pudu (indirectly opposite RHB and Am Bank)
- Date : Thursday, 5th June 2008
- Time : 11.30am

#1 by Jester on Thursday, 5 June 2008 - 5:53 am
OHHHH my god i dunt believe our PM i so blind or deaf is he really awake or still dreaming.Cant he see citizen in Malaysia are suffering to earn a leaving.I dunt understand what is the purpose of banning Thais and Singapore people to refuel oil when the price is not much different.Is he taking us at a fool im really fed up with the current government.Seriously i respect a robber more that our current so called ministers.When a robber rob a bank he use his life to fight for the money.Unlike our ministers robing our citizen money like no one business.For me they are worse than robber or theft.Because what they do they dunt have to pay the penalty.But if our minister get caught he will said it looks like me it sounds like me but it is not me.Come on okay nowadays no matter you are Malay,Chinese ,Indian etc we are not a stupid and please dunt treat us like a donkey or fool.
When a time comes people cant effort to buy their basic food etc there will be chaos.I hope that those who create this trouble will face the consequences.Even now Thai Bhat is stronger than Msia what do they produce other than plantation and you know what.Yet their money is stronger than us.Im ashame to hear this an independent country like us with so much resource is worse than Thai can you imagine that.Im just graduating and plan to buy a a car but after this matter will i still stick to my old HONDA EX 5.Those who are corrupted should be punish and all their asset should be confiscated just like what Thai PM do to those drug lord.Look at their economy it is getting better day by day but our country i have no word to describe my disappointment.Some times when i visit to thai i feel much more ashame than them a country with full of resource is worse than ….. country.When im in secondary school im so proud and lucky to be a Msian but after what has happened it really sadend me .I feel that the PM should learn more Morale subject what is called jujur and ikhlas .I wonder which stupid will vote for BN unless they have a share.Though i cant get to enter to local U luckily my aunt from Eng help me lot if i can work there i wont come back to this country im very sad what has happened the cost of leaving is already so high.Dunt said the poor even the middle class can feel the pain unlike those who are in the crony of you know who…..sign
#2 by ktteokt on Thursday, 5 June 2008 - 6:23 am
Licensed robbers – BN! Think of the consequences of such ridiculous hike in petrol prices! I think AAB is going for his “last straw” by making this move. He is thinking, “since I am going soon, might as well reap my last harvest! After all BN is not so popular at the last GE. Might as well let PR take over but before that, let me grab a bit of the country’s riches!”
Such mentality is very irresponsible by AAB as PM of Malaysia. He is just digging his own grave at a faster rate!
#3 by bumi-non-malay on Thursday, 5 June 2008 - 6:25 am
All this is Punishment for not supporting FREEDOM of Religion, Freedom from Racism and FREEDOM of Press & ISA…..
Malays really now need to think of how many kids they want to have……learn Birth control fast, “Billing method”……For the sake of Political power you increase your racial mix % now you pay with something that will UMNO/PAS promoted…..NEP…etc. Somethings will haunt you 20 years later……the non-malays are still suffering from generational missed opportunity. Petrol or food and neglect child brain development…….what is the value of Ketuanan Melayu…now that you realised that it was stolen from Orang Asli.?? Orang Asli have NO Issues with this Fuel Hike….think about it!
With all the profit UMNO-BN have not improved the public transport infrastructure….yet they strenghten themselves with Corruption money….UMNO-BN will DIE defending it. I sense ISA coming …… in the name of National security…….
#4 by mendela on Thursday, 5 June 2008 - 6:32 am
Remember only a few weeks ago Mahathiu took the Petronas corporate jet to fly to Narita and talked bad about Malaysia?
Do you know how much it costs our hard earned money on such stupid trip on fuel, landing fee at Narita, parking fees at Narita and other maintenance fees at Narita?
And Mahathiu was at Tokyo to spoil Malaysia’s reputation!
Go to hell Mahathiu!
Petronas money is our very money!
#5 by Jeffrey on Thursday, 5 June 2008 - 6:33 am
40% & 64% percent increase in pump petrol price & diesel price respectively and 20% rise in Electricity Tariffs with cost-push inflationary & knock-on effect of increasing prices of all kinds of goods & services across the board is double or triple whammy on the people whose wrath will be directed straightaway at the government. The fact that it is necessitated by surging cost of oil (no thanks to oil futures by derivative speculators) is not going to appease Malaysians used to subsidies, reliant on cars because of unsatisfactory public transportation. The need to wean Malaysians from our umbilical cord to subsidies (that suposedly favour the rich with their guzzlers of 2000 cc or more ), to make prices more in line with market conditions, though not wrong strictly by themselves, is wrong against the overall larger picture as perceived by rakyat that taxes from Petronas’ bumber profits, monies from the very high excise & custom duties, road taxes on cars and tolls (all making unit cost per driver high) are appropriated and used/frittered for other purposes beneficial to ruling elites & their cronies….
India increased petrol prices by 11%, diesel by 9.4%, Taiwan by 16%, Indonesia by 30%, how did we come out (what’s basis of computation) with a magic figure of 40% & 64% increase in pump petrol price & diesel price when we’re a net exporter of oil benefiting from surge in oil prices? Already before the cut subsidies, Govt has suffered a vote of no confidence on March 8th this year. Now is not just price spiral in goods & services, but, in context of looming economic crisis and hardship caused in no small way by external world conditions, a spiral of expected street protests ands unrests will be generated, then police counteraction, more bloodied nose and fractured limbs on streets that will cause govt’s standing to plummet further. No one believes official figures of 5% inflation, many would think of 10% or more, and now this! It is a serious political misjudgment on the part of present administration that will face the consequences.
#6 by mendela on Thursday, 5 June 2008 - 6:36 am
I kind of suspect Petronas coffer could be dried by now else Bodowi and cronies would not do such suicidious act!
Petronas book is never open to public, unlike all public listed company. Petronas must have raped by UMO and cronies all this year and it must be near bankrupt now!
#7 by Godfather on Thursday, 5 June 2008 - 6:58 am
Folks: It is likely that the government treasury is now empty, or they would not have resorted to this grossly unpopular measure. With Bodohwi having increased civil service pay by RM8 billion a year, with the billions in government expenditure for various Corridors, with states now demanding for greater petroleum royalty – these thieves are finding their coffers empty.
They would rather stop development projects like 2nd Penang bridge or KTM double tracking or Klang Valley LRT extension – they have no money.
Yet they allow BN cronies to rack up huge debts without any financial repercussion – Perwaja continues to owe TNB billions, AirAsia owes Petronas and MAHB hundreds of millions and Naza owes hundreds of millions to Treasury in unpaid import duties. The politically connected get away scot-free, the poor have nowhere to run.
Such is the wasteful mentality of this Barang Naik government that has brought Bolehland to its knees.
CEMERLANG, GEMILANG, TEMBERANG !!!
#8 by Godfather on Thursday, 5 June 2008 - 7:04 am
To digress a little, these idiots don’t even use the time-tested tradition of announcing the price increase close to midnight so that there is no stampede. What we witnessed last night was shameful, with disorderly lines, blocking of roads, individuals carrying plastic containers to fill up.
The word is that Bodohwi couldn’t wait till close to midnight to make the announcement because he had to sleep early.
#9 by ktteokt on Thursday, 5 June 2008 - 7:23 am
Those who voted for BN in the recent election must be “banging their balls now! That is the gratitude they get for casting their votes for such a useless, ungrateful and irresponsible government! Let this be a lesson to all Malaysians, don’t fall for the tricks and sweet talk of BN in future! Today, you get a taste of the medicine you brew on March 8 2008!
#10 by undergrad2 on Thursday, 5 June 2008 - 7:25 am
I suggest you guys cycle to work. It is after all environmental friendly. We used to cycle to get from point A to point B during our early years. Why can’t we do the same? That would make us less dependent on oil.
It is time.
#11 by lyhmsia on Thursday, 5 June 2008 - 7:30 am
Though I’m anti-BN but I would like hear YB Lim Kiat Siang the reason for the government should subsidize the oil. Due the huge increase of the oil price, it is a huge burden for the government to continue subsidize the oil. Furthermore, I strongly believe in free market so this is a good move for us to control the demand of the oil at home.
Could YB provide us the solution to solve high oil cost?
My solution:
1. Improve public transportation.
2. Increase road safety for motorcycle and this will indirectly increase more motorcycle users which uses less oil.
3. Proton should heavily invest on Hybrid or electric car R&D.
#12 by undergrad2 on Thursday, 5 June 2008 - 7:32 am
It is good cardio vascular exercise! What’s more? It is free. No need to invest in tread mills and you get to save membership fees for Clark Hatch where lesbians and gays congregate and exchange phone numbers.
#13 by lakilompat on Thursday, 5 June 2008 - 7:34 am
“we are 1 of the oil exporter/producer in SEA?”
Unfortunately among the SEA we have one of the weakest leader who failed in simple mathematics.
They also create alot of discontent with neighbor countries
Indonesia – Plan to cut down by implementing quota
Singapore & Thailand – Ban visitor to pump our country petrol
Singapore – Disputing some small island
Malaysia can only prosper if the parti Barang Naik is eliminated. Surprisingly simple Malaysian are rich, luckily i lived in opposition state, i’m not stupid and rich to support the Barang Naik party and its leader. We should throw egg at them for mismanaging the country funds.
How party Barang Naik torture Malaysian
1) Implementing NS camp without providing quality & adequate medical support, we’ve many cases of children dying.
2) Our national car cost more to all national but in foreigner country, the car is relatively cheaper compare we buy it locally
3) Our petrol has been sold to other country thru OSA contracts the bounty of commissions are been channelled out from the country. There is no longer petrol for Malaysian, as we’ve to bear the cost.
4) Our govt. kill the childrens by robing milk money from each family, setting up tolls, increasing energy cost further while TNB is earning good profit, and ultimately rise cost of living.
5) All the transportation are managed by Barisan Naik relatives or cronies e.g. Rapid KL, Rapid Penang, Scomi LRT, Air Asia
6) Our govt. abuse of power allowing and tolerating mountain of debt. for its cronies company like AirAsia who owes Petronas and MAHB hundreds of millions and Naza owes hundreds of millions to Treasury in unpaid import duties.
7) To solve all these, the simple majority, simple mind leader, jus made a simple solution, that is to simply increase the fuel price and energy tariff without considering the difficulties of the Rakyat.
Thank you simple Malaysian for voting your future, your saving, your children, it is time to migrate to Singapore and overseas, there is no hope in Bolehland as our country coffer are dry now with these monkeys in the administration.
#14 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Thursday, 5 June 2008 - 7:35 am
All of you who are complaining, think of BN’s stupid, lying words: Malaysian inflation is only 3.5% or something like that!
No wonder, Pak Lah failed his Statistics!
The next stupid thing BN will say is: No one is supposed to increase prices – not the hawker, not the taxi driver, not the newspaper vendor, not the bus company….and also, not the chicken seller. Chickens don’t drink petrol! That’s the level of stupidity of Pak Lah’s BN.
And, oh, Pak Lah should call for a snap election now and prove whether the people love him or hate him.
#15 by pulau_sibu on Thursday, 5 June 2008 - 7:37 am
when you have a Islamic major as prime minister, anything may happen. The person has no sense about the number and economy. we should promote him as a bomoh
#16 by xplora on Thursday, 5 June 2008 - 7:38 am
He reminded us not to do any demonstration like he reminded us to vote for BN if want more voice in the cabinet.
#17 by malaysia born on Thursday, 5 June 2008 - 7:46 am
We do have a FREE source of energy but it’s just that we are so used to the oil subsidies and too comfortable with our lifestyle and so easily duped by the government with all the feel-good propaganda that we had taken everything for granted.
And what is that FREE source of energy that I am talking about?….It’s the SUN (no! not the newspaper but the hot one up in the sky that we get for almost half the day. If you ask me, that’s a mighty lot of energy there just going to waste).
Solar-powered cars may not be here yet but solar panels are. And if we harness that power and channel it to our homes, that is one small step but one giant leap into utilizing solar power ….and maybe, just maybe, we won’t have that many IPP’s.
But is the BN government promoting the usage of solar-power? Have they done any research into that? So we have a ‘not-too-bright’ government but are WE not-too-bright too?
Having said that, let’s have a show of People Power and i suggest that we ALL set aside a day or a few hours to SWITCH OFF to show that we are TURN OFF by this petrol increase!
Switch off ALL electrical appliances in our house, office or where-ever and stop driving our vehicles whether it happens to be at home or on the road.
Better still, coincide this protest with any major international event that is held here to show the world that we are turned off by this government.
#18 by alf_red7 on Thursday, 5 June 2008 - 7:46 am
Those who are not in Ipoh and KL, do not organise demonstration! Don’t fall in to their trap! THis will give BN to declare emergency! This is their plot to take away what PR had achived! To keep their corrupted power. Just drive as slow as possible to paralyse the traffic untill they back down! You will save petrol ($$), and the force can’t do anything to you! Coz you drive slow to save $$!
#19 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Thursday, 5 June 2008 - 7:46 am
CEMERLANG, GEMILANG, TEMBERANG !!!
‘Som mor’ lan? (What poppycock?)
SOME MORE lan? (More cock and bull?)
TEMBERANG? ( Talk cock)
#20 by k1980 on Thursday, 5 June 2008 - 7:54 am
He’s just following the lead of his old brother, uncle mugabe of zimbabwe
#21 by syntax on Thursday, 5 June 2008 - 8:02 am
WAHLAU EH!!!!!!!!!!…RM625 for us by end of every road tax renew???Come on……BEGGER CASE AH!!!!!!
WHY NOT PROTEST IN PENANG!!!?????!!!
CHANGE GOVT AND SEE WHAT CAN WE HAVE PLEASE!!!!!
#22 by lyhmsia on Thursday, 5 June 2008 - 8:16 am
Firstly, we can only blame the price hike on the market demand. The prices are high due to demand. Though we’re oil producer, we’re not the main world oil producer. We can only blame the government for poor planning on public transportation system. Also, due the government corruption we lost all the money. Therefore, we don’t have money to subsidize the oil or improve the public transportation.
I would really like to hear DAP or Pakatan Rakyat on solving this global fuel hike. Hence, I would to challange DAP to give a solid solution on solving it rather than just protest.
#23 by highhand on Thursday, 5 June 2008 - 8:17 am
please call for a non confident vote in next parliment session,
we want to vote out bn !!!!
#24 by Concerned Malaysians on Thursday, 5 June 2008 - 8:20 am
Dear syntax….I totally agreed with your comment!
WE DESPERATELY NEED TO HAVE NEW GOVERNMENT!!! The present UMNO/BN Bunch is drastically killing the Rakyat!!!
#25 by dawsheng on Thursday, 5 June 2008 - 8:29 am
“oh, i see, so this is your fear – a state of emergency..” – Xiao He
It is not about fear but about strategy. What did Abdullah expects? Demonstration right? Typical of opposition party. How many times can you demonstrate and what are the chances of overcome the price increase decision by demonstrating unless the BN government is paralyzed by it.
#26 by caishen on Thursday, 5 June 2008 - 8:30 am
Cash rebate RM625??
It work out to RM52.08 per month.
Imagine we have to fork out additional RM200 every month!!!
Change the government!!!
Call for snap election now!!
Sell off your private jet!!!
Follow LGE of helping the nation save $$$$$$$$!
#27 by TheWrathOfGrapes on Thursday, 5 June 2008 - 8:32 am
I think we should think through this carefully. Those who are blaming the present administration are barking up the wrong the trees and blaming the wrong people. Think.
Who is responsible for the present mess? Think. Who instituted the fuel subsidies in the first place? Think. Who inititiated the Proton project and the car industry when Malaysia had/has no competitive and comparative advantages in the car industry? Think.
Why Proton and the car industry is to be blamed? Because in order to make it a “success”, the prices of local cars were/are artificially kept low so that more people can afford to buy them. In other words, many who shouldn’t be buying cars bought them. And to make it even more viable to buy cars, petrol and diesel are subsidized heavily.
Be fair people. Who is to be blamed?
#28 by malaysia_poor_man on Thursday, 5 June 2008 - 8:36 am
Downgrading the citizen living style but upgrade themselves with latest and most expensive things, the leaders are sucks in either way…but that’s the culture for malaysia
“if you don’t like it, get out from malaysia”..sounds familiar isn’t it
#29 by yhsiew on Thursday, 5 June 2008 - 8:48 am
Concerned Malaysians Says:
Today at 08: 20.23 (8 minutes ago)
“WE DESPERATELY NEED TO HAVE NEW GOVERNMENT!!!”
—————————————————————–
NEW GOVERNMENT YES!!! But wait until inflation flare up in 2 – 3 months time and when the rakyat get mad with price increases of all things. That is the right time for BN MPs to cross over to PR. Even if Pak Lah then dissolves Parliament to call for a fresh election to save UMNO, PR will still “win big”. So much the better if Pak Lah does not call for a new election – PR will take over Federal Government right away.
#30 by ktteokt on Thursday, 5 June 2008 - 8:51 am
One suggestion – Why not “borrow” the famous “SATU LAGI PROJEK BARISAN NASIONAL”?to be displayed at the protest today? After all this is all to their credit!
#31 by caishen on Thursday, 5 June 2008 - 8:58 am
AAB’s mentality work like my X-boss.
Also a Penang-borned guy.
He makes profit by squeezing every staffs under him…internally.
No bonus,no benefits….
He would boast and show-off that he is the most intelligent boss in the world and think he is always doing the right thing.
At the end of the day….he is SACKED!!!
Do you know why???
Because he NEVER bring in enough revenue to support the company!!!He will stay in the office and never leave office looking for business.
He thinks he is the sherpard and we are the goats and cows.
The staffs complained and highlight to our CEO.
The people’s power!!!!
Similarly, it could happen to AAB as he is too concentrating domestically rather than going all-out externally to push up the economic.He is waiting to be PUSH-OUT!!!!
#32 by Bigjoe on Thursday, 5 June 2008 - 9:09 am
Someone take a calculator and do some math. According to the announcement, the govt will save RM15 billion but my calculation shows there is at least RM25billion savings assuming consumption does not drop drastically. There are some funny numbers going around here.
#33 by blablowbla on Thursday, 5 June 2008 - 9:13 am
WE ALLOWED HIM TO BE THE PM AND FINANCE MINISTER,HE IS TRYING HIS LEVEL BEST TO OVERCOME PETROL SUBSIDIES/PRICE HIKE PROBLEM,THIS IS WITHIN HIS CAPABILITY!
DUN EXPECT AN JACK OF ALL SPORTS,EXPERT OF NON TO PERFORM,WE ARE EATING OURSELVES,WE DESERVED IT!
HE DOESNT KNOW ANYTHING ABOUT ECONOMY,WHAT A BIGGEST JOKE ON EARTH AND YET HE HOLDS THE MONEY!
WHEN WE ARE ON-BOARD,IT DOESNT MATTER MAS OR AIRASIA,AT LEAST 80-90% OCCUPANCIES (AIRASIA IS 99%!),THIS IS ECONOMY,BUT WHEN HE FLIES ON HIS OWN AIRCRAFT,SAME CONSUMPTION,IT MERELY CARRIES FEW PPL,AND THIS IS REVERSED-ECONOMY,ESPECIALLY AT THESE VERY MOMENTS!
IF A DONKEY CAN BE A KING OF A JUNGLE,DOOMED DAYS ARE NUMBERED!
#34 by ktteokt on Thursday, 5 June 2008 - 9:17 am
So how does this BN brand of medicine taste? Sweet? Sour? Bitter? or simply YAKS!
#35 by bumi-non-malay on Thursday, 5 June 2008 - 9:23 am
We like to blame Pak Lah…the real Culprit is that Racist Tun and Corrupt UMNO -BN ministers…..Its UMNO at the end of the day.
Their Progress and infrastructure Fruits of labour are tested by Fire now in the form of Global Inflation yet within a CREDIT Squeeze…..It gets worst whoever the leader of Malaysia….because we have not Obliterated UMNO-BN sooner…like in 1969
They will defend their wealth no matter what and is RAKYAT Mind Set Ready for the “Whateve it takes” clause??….
#36 by kentutoyol on Thursday, 5 June 2008 - 9:31 am
Paklah have made a suicidal decision for UMNO BN.
The rakyat understand him much better now and their sufferings will bring down UMNO BN.
Hidup Rakyat!
#37 by caishen on Thursday, 5 June 2008 - 9:37 am
I am now the most frustrated Malaysian living in Malaysia.
With AAB administration, the cost of living will spiral up indefinitely.
My income show no sign of improvement for this year. My boss will take advantage of this situation because the government has given them the GREENLIGHT to do so.
Will the petrol increase has great impact to AAB and his government????
He has every reason to smile and sleep well.Play golf weekly…. because he is getting every free and fully-paid by taxpayer like us.
Will Anwar counter-attack the price hike???
Will he reverse the current price to RM1.92 or below???
Hmmm….I think he can do it afterall he had set an example to Sabah.
#38 by pulau_sibu on Thursday, 5 June 2008 - 9:38 am
Sorry, guys!
In Miri, the petrol should be free or 1 sen per litre for everyone
In other part of Sarawak, it should be 1 ringgit per litre
In West Malaysia, it should be 5 ringgit per litre
#39 by taxpayer on Thursday, 5 June 2008 - 9:42 am
Malaysia is an oil producing country. It exports more than it imports in terms of value as its oil is sulphur free which commands a higher price. What is the stupid pm talking about the rising world market price. It benefits Petronas and the country. When oil price increases Petronas makes more profit and pay more taxes to the government. The subsidy is therefore not a problem. Many of the government projects are wasteful eg the so called national service which is a death trap for youngsters. The next session is due to begin on 16th June 2008. All responsible parents should boycott this programme. The 2nd finance minister is talking rubbish when his says that the current increase in fuel prices will lead to efficiency. The domestic trade minister is even worst when he say that the current price increase in fuel will not affect the prices of consumer goods.
#40 by Anak_Penang on Thursday, 5 June 2008 - 9:44 am
If Dato Seri Anwar became the new PM due to the price hike effect, who should be his deputy ?
Vote now at sonofpenang.blogspot.com
#41 by ktteokt on Thursday, 5 June 2008 - 9:49 am
BN voters, you have voted in your own “guillotine” to behead yourselves! Like it?
#42 by VoteDAP on Thursday, 5 June 2008 - 9:55 am
BLOOD SUCKING BARANG NAIK GOVERNMENT!
I agree with caishen, instead of so-called AAB style of “saving” by cutting the existing subsidies again and again. why not work harder to save the government operating cost. i am sure plenty of billion can be saved if they want to! cut or on hold mega and useless projects at the moment. CHANGE THE GOVERNMENT OFFICERS BOSSY LIFE STYLE first before asking the people to change our life style! T N S….
#43 by caishen on Thursday, 5 June 2008 - 9:56 am
Sdr LKS,
Thinking back,we should not just ‘duduk diam-diam’ and let him do what he want.
We should continue protesting until the next election comes.
If not, Malaysian has great tendency to becoming a ‘Pelupa like DRM’
This is another opportunity for PR to touch the heart of Rakyat now.
Since 5 states already in hand, how about adding another state or more?? Johor the new target?? The Johorean will lovin’ it.
#44 by HJ Angus on Thursday, 5 June 2008 - 9:58 am
I would not join any protest against higher fuel prices but of course it is a rallying point that the ordinary folks can identify with.
Even a PR government will have to raise oil prices when it comes into power so do you also protest then?
We should unify under other important issues like:
IPCMC and the government’s failure to launch
The AG’s inaction against major corruption cases(open and shut tightly?)
Leakages in the mega-projects
Granting of the licence to print money via APs and other monopolies to cronies.
This type of protest can easily escalate into mob violence (it only takes a few from either side) and the government can declare an emergency and suspend Parliament.
Maybe that is the grand scheme of things?
http://malaysiawatch3.blogspot.com/2008/06/bitter-medicine-to-swallow-but-major.html
#45 by blink4blog on Thursday, 5 June 2008 - 10:03 am
This is a complete scandal. The government now is cheating the people of Malaysia with eyes open and spit on your face! The hike of petrol due to raw petroleum price is understandable but one fine move would be at least let the people prepare. Increase RM0.30 or something is acceptable but RM0.70 is too much, furthermore the people is not ready for such big flop!
Last night the situation is worst as the government only announce it 5pm in the evening, creating havoc and jam nationwide, why can’t they announce at least some time earlier? Are they happy to see that?
Those rebate worth nothing as the cost of electricity and chain reaction of food and others is not enough. Reimbursement of RM6xx for owners under 2000 c.c. of cars is simply not enough, does anyone only spent RM600 per year on petrol especially with this new price? I doubt that.
#46 by pulau_sibu on Thursday, 5 June 2008 - 10:08 am
After buying votes using YOUR money during the election, BN has to pay back using YOUR money again. YOUR money cannot be used to subsidise the petrol, but to pay for the debt of his cronies. MCA, MIC, Gerakan, SUPP,…. all cannot say anything to the big brother UMNO
#47 by madmix on Thursday, 5 June 2008 - 10:12 am
I for one do not support subsidies as this create an inefficient economy. The government’s measure is hugely unpopular, but cheap fuel in this day and age only encourages wasteful consumption of a dwindling resource. Look at what the Americans were doing before expensive oil became a way of life: big cars, big SUVs and trucks; poor use of public transportation. Compare that to the Europeans who have always lived with high fuel prices. We have to take the bitter pill sooner or later and better sooner than later.
Some North sea oil producing nations are net exporters of oil but domestic fuel is heavily taxed on top of paying market price.
Market forces will force people to use public transport; and if the government do not try to over-regulate this sector, it will see rapid growth to meet the demand.
#48 by swyoke on Thursday, 5 June 2008 - 10:21 am
Instead of complaining until the cow come home why not think of a way to solve this problem.
Our country is rich in natural resources and with our temperate climate, can sustain vegetations and farming all year long.
30 years ago, I learnt about tenaga suria, dynamo, etc but till now, we didn’t see much development on this natural resources, only people lamenting our oil will habis by the year 2012.
The Suria 1000 program is laudable. But we want more than this. Can the government be more COMMITTED. We can’t rely on the gwai lo’s technology solely, which is not only expensive but does not suit us. We have many bright Malaysians who unfortunately ignored by our own beloved country. Why not organise competition – e.g. create effective solar/dynamo powered engine that can be used on cars and motor??
Like this, we not only develop interests in science, we also produce more thinking intelect and can draw bright people, incl Malaysians home.
By that time, we can be proud to be Malaysians !!!
#49 by pulau_sibu on Thursday, 5 June 2008 - 10:30 am
I also don’t understand why we are lacking of rice.
Abdullah please advice people to eat less, may be half our current diet. Many of us are too fat and over-weight. For our health, it is nice to suggest the people to eat less.
We are lacking of food yet we have plenty of land. Simply the people are too lazy to work hard. Instead of sitting in front of the computer here and talking nonsense, why not give us some land and let us plant the padi.
There are so many gangsters handing around in the towns. Please send them to plant padi.
#50 by caishen on Thursday, 5 June 2008 - 10:33 am
“Negara di bawah tempurung” best described for Malaysia.
The Government take advantage against the Rakyat.So are the neigbouring countries who think Malaysian are naive and easily corrupted.
The Rakyat pay the price for the generosity and kindness shown.