Fuel hike: 78 sen more to RM2.70 per litre
Jun 4, 08 4:55pm
The government has just announced that petrol price will go up by 78 sen at midnight – a 40.6 percent jump from RM1.92 per litre to RM2.70.
The price of diesel will go up RM1, or 63.3 percent – from RM1.58 per litre to RM2.58.
The price hikes are among government measures to cut the spiralling bill for oil subsidies, which is expected to amount to RM56 billion this year.
At a press conference held at 5.30pm, Prime Minister Abdullah Ahmad Badawi also announced that the government plans to offer rebates to motorists to offset the fuel price increase.
Under the scheme, vehicles below 2000cc will receive a RM625 rebate annually – to compensate for 800 litres of fuel used under the new price.
Meanwhile, motorbikes will be given a rebate of RM120. The money will be paid by postal order.
Rebate will be paid when motorists renew the road-tax for their vehicles.
The government is expected to save RM4 billion under this new subsidy restructure.
However, the government is slowly expected to head towards totally abolishing the fuel subsidy.
If petrol is to be sold at full market prices, it could be as high as almost RM4 a litre – about 50 percent above current levels.
Since 2004, petrol has gone up by 97.1 percent, while diesel increased by a whopping 231 percent [see chart below].
Higher TNB tariffs
Abdullah also announced that the road tax for vehicles above 2,000cc will be reduced by RM200. For motorbikes above 250cc, their road tax will be slashed by RM50.
The diesel subsidy for fishermen will be fixed at RM1 per litre while vessel owners will have to pay RM1.20 per litre.
The premier also announced a price hike in gas supply for electrical and industry sectors.
The premier further said that the electricity tariffs too would be increased.
He added that the power tariff rate would remain the same for households which use about 200 kilowatt of electricity, which would still cost them RM43.60.
Any usage beyond this would fall under the new price which will be announced by power supplier Tenaga Nasional soon.

#1 by slashed on Wednesday, 4 June 2008 - 10:53 pm
Here in the UK the public transport is good so the people can still cope relative to their income. But if you read the news, you’d know that the truckers have been protesting about the price hike. Apparently, it costs them £1000 a week to run a single truck. I am not sure how we’d find a good way to compare without engaging in some complicated economics and mathematics. Simply assuming about our purchasing power is not good enough. Any economists here care to help the rest of us lay people?
#2 by dapforever on Wednesday, 4 June 2008 - 10:55 pm
this saturday i will be staying at home…most people will do that i believe….expensive to travel about +40% more expensive than before…i believe we need to have peaceful protest to pressure the government to reduce the fuel of price…i believe now even BN supporter and all opposition supporters will agreed to this…i know those vote for BN regretted…they will remember for life…but we can’t wait for the next general election to VOTE OUT BN..it’s too late..that’s mean we going to live with this price for another 4 years or more?
#3 by slashed on Wednesday, 4 June 2008 - 10:56 pm
MISHUGINA, VoteDAP
LOL, don’t forget to bring a tennis racket for the smoke bombs.
#4 by deathlings on Wednesday, 4 June 2008 - 10:57 pm
another protest and walk to istana and petition the agong to dissolve parliament for a re-election? i’m sure if there BN would lose even more seats if there is one..
another point, has anyone calculated their electricity bills with the new scale? mine is going up more than 30% effectively.. ouch..
#5 by melurian on Wednesday, 4 June 2008 - 10:58 pm
“Any economists here care to help the rest of us lay people?”
economist tell you subsidy no good – best is lift it, period …. they are mostly bookworms and the theory usually from textbook that does not apply to malaysia…….
#6 by cheng on soo on Wednesday, 4 June 2008 - 11:00 pm
Msia (net oil exporter) Vs Indonesia (net oil importer), Diesel price RM2.58/litre, Vs Rp5,500 (RM1.93) / litre ?? Petrol / diesel is also cheaper in Brunei.
U can be sure transport fare (bus, taxi, etc) will naik soon.
#7 by stjames on Wednesday, 4 June 2008 - 11:01 pm
slashed, i dont understand you. I hear you that you are not defending the govt policies. You also state that “result of years of misappropriation and mismanagement of public finances”. I will just refer you to the recent events eg. MBB overpriced acquisitions, handling of the 3 yr seat belt implementation vs. saman now, and loads more questionable/silly issues if you have a look at the parliment debates and now today 41% rise in petrol.
If after years “result of years of misappropriation and mismanagement of public finances” + all similar silly decisions for so many years is not enough to call for CHANGE OF GOVT, then what is enough?
Just compare what u see in Msia vs. how difficult issues such as these are deliberated in the UK. 9 to 5 rightly pointed out its funny that the cabinet took pride in discussing this matter for only 4 hrs. Look at how politicians on BBC hard talk are grilled. Look at how the UK MPs got grilled for simply getting over 100k allowances etc. In Msia, you question, you get a ludicrous response (as some put it, the govt sometimes treats us like we were born yesterday)
It is good to see that most of the PR front are behaving like proper MPs debating the issues at hand, but look at some of the behaviour on the other side, really appalling.
#8 by alternatif on Wednesday, 4 June 2008 - 11:01 pm
This is good start. Let’s start biting the bullet instead of living in the unreal world of over-subsidizing.
For once, Pah Lah, your decision is right and quick.
Bravo.
#9 by wesuffer on Wednesday, 4 June 2008 - 11:02 pm
SEMEJAK PAK LA JADI PM, APA TAK NAIK? OF COURSE NAIK
IF NOT MISS ‘J’ SO SUSAH LOH
#10 by sheriff singh on Wednesday, 4 June 2008 - 11:03 pm
In Singapore 1 litre of petrol is S$ 2.33 and diesel S$ 1.76. In Malaysia, its RM 2.70 and RM 2.58 now.
A person earning RM 3,000 pm in Malaysia is paying MORE than his Singapore counterpart earning S$ 3,000 pm.
How do you explain this Pak Lah and Nor Mohamed?
#11 by MISHUGINA on Wednesday, 4 June 2008 - 11:05 pm
if petrol price goes up to RM 4 by August, guess how much **** will skyrocket?
Char Koay Teow – RM 6, possibly more
Roti Canai – RM 2
Chap Fun, 1 meat and vege – RM 5 (just one meat and vege u know?)
Milo Ais – RM 2.50
Teh Tarik – RM 1.70
Banana Leaf Vegan rice – RM 5
Nasi kandar meat and vege – RM 10 (go tapau McD same price maybe? LOL)
A McSavers burger (cheeseburger?) RM 5
prepare migration plans if PR doesn’t take over by Sept =P
#12 by melurian on Wednesday, 4 June 2008 - 11:08 pm
not to say singapure makan $S3, malaysia makan rm 4 !!!!! food is close market, like bigmac, and yet sgpura and eat more and save more. malaysians standard of living is getting poorer and poorer!
to ppl like “alternatif”, i know you are rich earning 10k and has alternative to stay at aus, we’re not like you, we live and die in malaysia, we got no where to go!
#13 by shamshul anuar on Wednesday, 4 June 2008 - 11:08 pm
Dear Mr Smith,
You did claim that PM has a private jet. Hmmnn. Can you prove your allegation?
Yes. Malaysia is an oil exporter country. We produce approximately 700,000 barrel of oil daily. Our oil is of high premium. So, Petronas sells this oil. And Malaysia imports approximately 600,000 barrel per day.
Petronas does make money. It contributes back to Federal Govt billions of ringgit yearly. It also explores oil in some countries like Vietnam, Sudan, Turkeministan, Timur Leste, Bahrain. Much of its earning come from this foreign ventures.
Yes, Thailand and Singapore do not export oil. Yes, Saudi Arabia, VEnezuela, Iran export oil. How muchSaudi Arabia produces daily ? App 8 million barrels. So, do understand that it is unfair to compare the retail price of oil in Malaysia and that of Saudi arabia?
Do understand that Malaysia will be running out of oil very soon.
#14 by wesuffer on Wednesday, 4 June 2008 - 11:09 pm
HOW GOOD IF TOMORROW EVERYONE DRIVE MOTORBIKE INSTEAD OF CAR, THEN WE CAN SAVE PAYING TOL. AND CAN MAKE HIGHWAY COMPANY BANCRUPT.
NO CAR IN HIGHWAY, THEN THE MOTOCYLIST CAN BE SAFER USING HIGHWAY
#15 by melurian on Wednesday, 4 June 2008 - 11:13 pm
“Malaysia will be running out of oil very soon”
but that does not give excuse to increase the oil price overnight – NOW!
malaysians should entitled the discounted rate. I’m not against rate 1.5 – 1.9, or maybe 2.2 but there are sources claim that by august the subsidy will be removed completely! completely man, for ppl like me earning 3k (how bout those 2k that has to feed his old parents), middle class living in city, how to survive?
this is not progressing nation, this is regressing nation!
#16 by alternatif on Wednesday, 4 June 2008 - 11:16 pm
It would be naive to think that PR if the they come into power that they will be able to shield Malaysia from the worldwide economic impact. It not as simple as the Soros fiasco. A short term relief may come from dipping into Petronas’ resources, it is not unlimited. DSAI won’t get my vote if he wants to do that if PR get in.
Let start living within our means and helping fellow Malaysians who needs a little help to tie over.
#17 by wesuffer on Wednesday, 4 June 2008 - 11:17 pm
WHEN BN DESTROY ONE DAY, LET’S SEE THIS ALTERNATIVE CAN BRAVO AGAIN NOT
#18 by alternatif on Wednesday, 4 June 2008 - 11:18 pm
BRAVO
#19 by deathlings on Wednesday, 4 June 2008 - 11:19 pm
all the Gov need to do is to buy less submarines and fighter jets, only few days ago DPM was talking about replacing all the Nuri helicopters.
The reason why we should oppose this price hike is it will hurt the economy as a whole. High inflation is not a business condusive environment, we will have foreign investors pulling out of Malaysia, forex will then fall, when RM falls in relation to other currencies, all imported goods will then increase further. At the end of the day, damage done from this would be more felt of by the people than otherwise. GDP will fall as a result of this. And all our bosses will tell us that economy not good, sorry we cant give you bonuses and increments, making us all worse off.
But what do our PM care?
KLCI is going to fall further tomorrow. PM, you are pushing us backwards rather than forward.
#20 by Cinapek on Wednesday, 4 June 2008 - 11:21 pm
The whole world knows that even as the Govt complains about the oil price increase and the corresponding increase in subsidies, it is conveniently silent on the equally huge increase in revenue and profits to Petronas who is benefitting from the global surge in oil prices. The GOvt seems to be in a obscene haste to increase the fuel prices but strangely kept silent on any increases on the price of gas supplied by Petronas to the Independent Power Producers at RM6.40/liter while market price is RM35/litre. The Govt has subsidised these fat IPPs to the tune of RM56b while the people are milked to the max.
It is also strange that the Govt wants to move so quickly to increase the fuel prices by so much so quickly. Is it trying to divert quickly the rapidly increasing profits of Petronas from the subsidy for the petrol and diesels to some other areas which cronies can benefit and before the Govt is taken over by Pakatan/Anwar?
#21 by Concerned Malaysians on Wednesday, 4 June 2008 - 11:24 pm
Hoi! Slashed…Sounds like you are one of the cronies who sucked enough money from Malaysia for you to afford to migrate to UK. Please shut up & zipped up your big FAT mouth and stay there…
Malaysia does not need people like you.
We in Malaysia are the one who have to pay RM2.70/Lit in another half an hour time, this price hike has nothing to do with you, so please logout.
#22 by harrisonbinhansome on Wednesday, 4 June 2008 - 11:25 pm
After February 2006 after the 30 cent per litre increase from 2005 at 1.62 per litre, the interim PM assured that there will be no price increase in 2006 and 2007.
Today, in 2008 the increase is at 78cents per litre, a near 3 fold increase from the last major hike.
AAB is just accumulating the intangible increase with interest on Malaysians on 2006 and 2007 and waiting to unleash them in 2008.
What a con-man!
#23 by stjames on Wednesday, 4 June 2008 - 11:25 pm
Guys, how about these as a solutions:
http://www.teslamotors.com/
http://www.zapworld.com/
wesuffer, i like your msia wide bike idea!
#24 by wesuffer on Wednesday, 4 June 2008 - 11:26 pm
WE SHOULD ORGANIZED A BIGGEST PRICE HIKE PROTEST BY THIS WEEK. PAKATAN PLEASE SHOW YOUR ABILITY TO LEAD RAKYAT WHO VOTE YOU. PAKATAN HAVE ENOUGH SUPPORTER NOWADAY ESPECIALIST IN PAKATAN STATE! SELANGOR , PENANG.
DONT WORRY ! THERE ARE HUNDRED OVER THOUSAND PEOPLE READY NOW. PLEASE DO SOMETHING.
#25 by deathlings on Wednesday, 4 June 2008 - 11:27 pm
Alternatif,
I work 8am to 8pm every day, and I am single, dont club or spend on anything unnecessary. My salary is considered slightly above average, but I can barely save. I dont have a car loan or even a mortgage. I seriously wonder how can there still be people who support this price hike. Are you going to help those of us who cant make ends meet?
#26 by VoteDAP on Wednesday, 4 June 2008 - 11:33 pm
[MalaysiaKini.com:
Perdana menteri mengumumkan struktur tarif baru elektrik yang akan diguna pakai oleh semua pengguna domestik, komersial dan industri di Semenanjung.
Satu struktur tarif baru akan diumumkan tidak lama lagi bagi Sabah dan Sarawak.
]
What msian_msia said which Bodowi is trying to pay Sabah/Sarawak development bills by stealing rakyat’s money is not groundless…After all, don forget the BN/UMNO politician always “uses” us for their own political benefits in our history. This is another typical example.
#27 by alternatif on Wednesday, 4 June 2008 - 11:36 pm
deathlings,
None of us like the present situation imposed on us beyond our shores. If anyone of us can provide real solutions we should be push for it. You will have the whole world thanking it. Meanwhile, no point getting pessimistic over it. Meanwhile, tighten the belt and help those below the poverty line if we come across them.
Still, another half hour to save yourself 0.7 per litre. I did. Cheers.
#28 by esgreat on Wednesday, 4 June 2008 - 11:39 pm
I noticed that basically saying the same thing: hikes, living standards, and f**k BN, etc.
The government is at fault, but not because of rising prices. Rising prices will give signals for us to prepare ourselves…it’s the market’s way of steering us.
What we need to ask is: why isn’t our standard of living higher to absorb this? Why isn’t our purchasing power better? Why isn’t our currency stronger? Why aren’t there alternatives in public transport?
…and here is where the government faulted: not creating the right infrastructure, poor transport planning, national car program, and massive corruption. They could hide it during times of prosperity, but when times like this come, the emperor is shown to have no clothes!
Also the previous subsidies have turned the country into a nanny state where people are too reliant on the government. It’s no wonder there’s a backlash!
The government needs to reduce spending, reduce its size (we have way too many civil servants), stop paying its cronies, and give us a truly sustainable economy.
#29 by dapforever on Wednesday, 4 June 2008 - 11:43 pm
Now government already reduce its subsidy for our fuel…sky roketting…….and still want to increase tariff for Electricity?we can’t afford it anymore!
#30 by deathlings on Wednesday, 4 June 2008 - 11:47 pm
Got mine filled up with V Power (that can get me through more km wise per $)yesterday. it was obvious from the papers yesterday that the hike would occur. No point queueing for it today.
YB, please ask DAP compatriots in Selangor to organise protests and I certainly would join in=)
time allocate 40% more petrol and approx 30% more for electricity and on the safe side another 10% on all food expenses. thats comes out to an extra 10% of take home pay gone. I am never going to get to paying the downpayment of a house within this decade=)
Come august, I hope there won’t be another hike. IF this is all, then what has August got to do with petrol hike, unless there is another one.
By the way, the media tried to paint a positive picture for the Gov, the effective cost to the refineries and dealers to sell is about RM3.20-3.30 per litre base on current crude oil prices. Certainly NOT RM4.
#31 by daryl on Wednesday, 4 June 2008 - 11:50 pm
Not sure what is the logic behind this. To try to punish the rakyat or try to imitate the US Fedreal policy of rebating $600 to everyone that is within certain income. In this case even a billionaire can buy a 2000cc just to get this rebate. However, what happen for those who don’t own a car but have to pay for the rising food costs because of this. Poor people that doesn’t own a car cannot receive the RM$625 but pay back in term of rising costs on food and basic needs.
Another great (full of sarcasm) by our great BN Federal government.
#32 by pjboy on Wednesday, 4 June 2008 - 11:52 pm
Don’t know where to begin. I am compelled to write this after seeing what is happening on the roads, driving down from Ipoh-KL just then. BN-Gov is taking us as kids handing out rebates like gula-gula. Using rebates to justify the increase & try to cloud those people whom they think can’t count. Look at the massive jams & rush by rakyat to the pumps. The BN-Gov seem to take pleasure in seeing such incidents, which has become scene of Malaysian life since 2004. They are not paying for it, so it does not matter to them.
Before making such brainless decision or announcement, to take away something, something must be given in return to be seen as fair-value to rakyat (tax payers) at least. BN-Gov regards themselves as almighty over rakyat all the time. Countries that don’t practise subsidies for petrol/diesel at the pumps enjoy other perks*. Not to mention their average per capita income could be much higher than Malaysia (YAB Tony Pua would know what I mean). *perks are such as: NO MEANINGLESS APs that don’t benefit the Rakyat, NO tax (except road tax, but reduce) to reduce price of cars/vehicles, NO TOLLS, NO TAX on spare parts, etc.
On average per capita income, take Australia. The apci is say around AUD 35,000 today. The price at pump is AUD 1.50-1.60/ltr. Malaysia apci if not wrong at RM 25,000 & we pay at the pump now at RM 2.70/ltr. Price of Toyota Camry in Australia is AUD 40-45,000 (depending on variant)…price of Toyota Camry in Malaysia RM 140-180,000. Price of cars engine <1500cc around AUD 20,000 (Honda, Toyota, Holden). In Malaysia, cheapest Proton around RM 25,000 (1300cc). Price of quality home built on 6000sq.ft land say AUD 350,000 (30-60min from city). Price of link-house 24×75 RM 350,000 (complete with low quality fittings from C***a). Figures are not exact but that’s the gist of it. Our currency may have gained against USD but lost quite a bit to others like Euro, AUD, GBP. Tolls are only confined to CBDs in Australia or certain bridges. To those small minded ones, this is a comparison. Just like when oil prices are compared to non-oil producing nations like Singapore, whose apci i was told nearly SGD 40,000. Shall not mention income tax to complicated matters…let’s go back to the topic.
In the first place, what subsidy? First, we need to look at the cost of oil production – did it increase that much? Then we look at the world market price for OIL PRODUCING nations to EXPORT their oil or commodity price for crude oil. Also, whatever happened to the so proudly declared 40B subsidy saved in the last pirce hike? Asap pun ta dak.
The 56B saved only exist on paper by BN-Gov. In reality, PETRONAS will gain that 56B or more while we pump at the stations. The question is what PETRONAS will do with the 56B GAINED from the rakyat. It is quite obvious WHO will gain from the 56B “subsidy” & for what purposes, be it personal or political. The word “subsidy” has been used frequently to fool every rakyat as the marketing propaganda by BN-Gov since 2004. The 56B GAINED by PETRONAS should be enough to pay off all the TOLL-CONs so that all the shareholders (cronies) can retire & leave the country. Pay-off all the interest & debts. Nationalise the highways & truly become “FREEWAYS”. PETRONAS should bear the cost of maintaining the roads to be seen as facilitating for customers. Consider it as customer-service.
Other questions: at what price PETRONAS pay the gov for the oil? How much are exported & at what price? Are we selling our most precious resource at a lower rate to other countries, in return hurting our own industry (primary & agri)?
56B gained by PETRONAS will be at the expense of rakyat, industry & long chain of supply. So at the end of the day, why the price hike? If PETRONAS is for the rakyat, we should be paying price of oil like those other OIL PRODUCING nations. Instead, we are being forced to pay & will continue to pay NON-OIL PRODUCING nation prices. No surprises the 56B gained by PETRONAS will be used for meaningless mega-marked-up projects to suck the funds dry before the next GE, or maybe SNAP-GE or UMNO-GE.
Forget about demanding BN-Gov to improve public transport. They don’t even use it themselves. So, they don’t know what public transport means. Plus, it will not benefit them personally ($$$ wise). So, the best is, use up the 56B to pay off all the TOLL-CONs nationwide. NO SUBSIDY, NO TOLL. This is probably what they are expecting. All TOLL-CON cronies can cash-out now before it’s too late. Look at it as a sign of BN-Gov pressing the eject seat as the plane is nose diving.
When we do become NET OIL IMPORTER, did we ask ourselves: who will control the import price & who will benefit? I smell something rotten here. Will it be another “BERNAS” in the making?
#33 by miketan142 on Thursday, 5 June 2008 - 12:00 am
On a lighter side, are those used (2nd hand) 4×4 , SUV & etc going to be more affordable now ? Of course provided if we can afford the petrol first !
#34 by pjboy on Thursday, 5 June 2008 - 12:03 am
It certainly smells like a bail-out plan for such haste…”to Perth here I come…will get new golf clubs while I am there”.
#35 by esgreat on Thursday, 5 June 2008 - 12:08 am
PJ boy has a point. Something needs to be returned.
Well, it has been proven in many places that government intervention always bring about corruption (perhaps except Singapore). Another thing is that the more you subsidize, you actually pay more eventually.
I’m all for a SMALL GOVERNMENT. This means minimal tax, no tax on productivity (INCOME TAX). Without taking our money in the first place through taxes, the money can be spent at the right places. With less taxes we improve our productivity and improve our purchasing power.
Don’t depend on the the government, because all they can do is corrupt it. I’m worried about the trend towards more and more socialism…socialism relies on governments to breast feed the people…it’s just like the NEP…we get people who are too ‘manja’. Another things is socialism has a knack of tranforming into fascism and eventually communism. Let’s not go there.
It’s fine for Petronas to earn more…why to let the rakyat become its shareholders? By being run in a more private way the government can’t touch it as their never ending piggybank.
#36 by pjboy on Thursday, 5 June 2008 - 12:11 am
It could also mean somebody’s pocket is running dry of funds for political business…not to buy over PR MPs but to prevent BN MPs hopping over to PR. How ironic it can be if true. Thus, the hoppers are holding BN-Gov ransom?? Possible leh.
#37 by esgreat on Thursday, 5 June 2008 - 12:12 am
Typo: “why *NOT let the people become it’s shareholders?”
#38 by cheng on soo on Thursday, 5 June 2008 - 12:31 am
Ppl who voted for BN, U hv NO RIGHT to complain on this, OK, & dont argue if yr friend blame U for this !
#39 by pjboy on Thursday, 5 June 2008 - 12:36 am
I gather price of rice in China still the same. No increase & no cutting back on consumption. Price of VW cars in China as cheap as Proton here in Malaysia. Imagine VW cars in Malaysia as cheap as Proton in Malaysia…are we being shortchanged?
#40 by deathlings on Thursday, 5 June 2008 - 12:37 am
cheng on soo,
i guess the only people who voted for BN are those ppl who flourished under BN rule and couldn’t care less about our sufferings.
All the cronies would not be complaining this hike, they would be laughing their heads off, with more funds for them to remit to their swiss acocunts.
#41 by futureblog on Thursday, 5 June 2008 - 12:38 am
This is a big pain in the ass… Life has not been good and now it is becoming worse!!! By saving so RM56 billion, how can goverment make full use of the money to make our Public Transportation more effective??
PS
Our credit card debts will also increase!!!!
#42 by pjboy on Thursday, 5 June 2008 - 12:44 am
In Bangkok, not sure if also rest of Thailand, can fill NGV almost at every petrol station or next to it. Even my friend Camry can come fitted with NGV system. This is what I call a pro-active gov that think of the people. Price of NGV in Thailand similar to Malaysia, but it’s well facilitated (not only in Petronas). Price of cars (Toyota, Honda, etc) also cheaper than Malaysia by RM 30-50K.
#43 by pjboy on Thursday, 5 June 2008 - 12:48 am
goodnite fellow malaysians. got to sleep well & earlier tonight. may have to use bicycle to get to work from now…:(. need all the rest can get.
#44 by 9to5 on Thursday, 5 June 2008 - 1:12 am
A fisherman caught a sea bass and cooked it for his son to eat. Before his son could eat the sea bass, the father asked his son to pay up $10.
The son thought that the fish was caught abundantly from nature and therefore at little or no cost, asked his father why.
The father said “son if I buy that fish in the market, the fish would cost you $15. Therefore, you should be thankful that I’m asking you to pay only $10 because I had subsidised $5 for you!
Substitute father with Badawi and son with Malaysians and you will see how the BN government has hoodwinked us all these years!
#45 by mohammadharrisjalil on Thursday, 5 June 2008 - 1:14 am
Oh My God Oh My God!!!! KAMI SAYANG PAK LAH…. SAYANG SANGAT SAMPAI KAMI MENANGIS KESAYANGAN!!!!!!!!!!!!
#46 by lakilompat on Thursday, 5 June 2008 - 1:16 am
THANKS TO ALL SIMPLE MALAYSIAN WHO VOTED PARTI BARANG NAIK WIV A SIMPLE MAJORITY.
HOW PARTI BARANG NAIK TREAT BACK THE SIMPLE MAJORITY MALAYSIAN?
FUEL PRICES INCREASE RM 2.70 PER LITRE
ENERGY COST INCREASE 20%
MALAYSIAN BUYING HIGHER COST NATIONAL CAR COMPARE TO SOUTH KOREA PRODUCING THEIR OWN NATIONAL CAR. WHY OUR NATIONAL IS SELLING AT CHEAPER COST IN FOREIGNER COUNTRY? NOBODY INTERESTED IN OUR CAR BECOS IT IS USING INFERIOR QUALITY PRODUCT FROM CRONIES SUBSIDIARY. OUR NATIONAL CAR CAN ONLY BE SELL IN THIRD WORLD COUNTRY.
MALAYSIAN ARE PRODUCING OIL, BUT OUR OIL IS MEANT FOR OTHER COUNTRY LIKE CHINA, THE COMMISSION ALL POCKETED BY COMPANY WHO FACILITATE THE DEAL. ASK URSELF, WHAT RAKYAT MALAYSIAN GET FROM ALL THESE OIL DEAL WITH FOREIGNER COUNTRY? THE GOVT. SAID IT IS OSA (OFFICIAL SECRET ACT) CAN’T BE QUESTIONED.
IN THAILAND, THE INDONESIAN MAID IS DRIVING A HONDA CRV TO THE MARKET, BECOS IT IS CHEAP THERE. BUT HERE EVEN A KELISA WILL COST MORE THAN A REASONABLE CAR FROM FOREIGNER COUNTRY.
#47 by lakilompat on Thursday, 5 June 2008 - 1:18 am
“have to use bicycle to get to work from now”
I think a decent mountain bike or racing bike will cost more these days.
#48 by waterkewl on Thursday, 5 June 2008 - 1:25 am
even mountain bike wont do any good. our city road is much challenging than the mountain. we NEED TO RISE. i’m really pissed off right now and cant sleep. need to make new budget with this price hike. i’m so going to be soo slim by the end of the year.
#49 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Thursday, 5 June 2008 - 1:52 am
Can I ask one very simple question, at the risk of being labelled ‘unfair’.
now, really and honestly, do you think PM Pak Lah really understands all these ‘ups and downs’. Yes, he has made all these announcements, but does he understand its impact: the toll on people’s lives, how to ameliorate effects of increases, how to stimulate the economy to provide the people with competitive incomes and a first-world standard of living. It shouldn’t be the first family only and all UMNO cronies that get to enjoy all the fine perks of life.
My guess is: Pak Lah doesn’t understand. ANd he never will. In a manner of speaking, it’s just too late to teach an old dog new tricks.
#50 by ShiokGuy on Thursday, 5 June 2008 - 1:57 am
Dear YB,
We are expecting this for a long time already. The solution now is how are we going to offset the increase with change of life style, drive less, NGV conversion etc.
I know of one Water4Gas kit that can help save 30-40% of fuel consumption. Check it out at my block.
http://shiokguy.blogspot.com/2008/06/petrol-price-hike.html
Shiok Guy