A really hefty price increase!

Fuel hike: 78 sen more to RM2.70 per litre
Jun 4, 08 4:55pm
The government has just announced that petrol price will go up by 78 sen at midnight – a 40.6 percent jump from RM1.92 per litre to RM2.70.

The price of diesel will go up RM1, or 63.3 percent – from RM1.58 per litre to RM2.58.

The price hikes are among government measures to cut the spiralling bill for oil subsidies, which is expected to amount to RM56 billion this year.

At a press conference held at 5.30pm, Prime Minister Abdullah Ahmad Badawi also announced that the government plans to offer rebates to motorists to offset the fuel price increase.

Under the scheme, vehicles below 2000cc will receive a RM625 rebate annually – to compensate for 800 litres of fuel used under the new price.

Meanwhile, motorbikes will be given a rebate of RM120. The money will be paid by postal order.

Rebate will be paid when motorists renew the road-tax for their vehicles.

The government is expected to save RM4 billion under this new subsidy restructure.

However, the government is slowly expected to head towards totally abolishing the fuel subsidy.

If petrol is to be sold at full market prices, it could be as high as almost RM4 a litre – about 50 percent above current levels.

Since 2004, petrol has gone up by 97.1 percent, while diesel increased by a whopping 231 percent [see chart below].

Higher TNB tariffs

Abdullah also announced that the road tax for vehicles above 2,000cc will be reduced by RM200. For motorbikes above 250cc, their road tax will be slashed by RM50.

The diesel subsidy for fishermen will be fixed at RM1 per litre while vessel owners will have to pay RM1.20 per litre.

The premier also announced a price hike in gas supply for electrical and industry sectors.

The premier further said that the electricity tariffs too would be increased.

He added that the power tariff rate would remain the same for households which use about 200 kilowatt of electricity, which would still cost them RM43.60.

Any usage beyond this would fall under the new price which will be announced by power supplier Tenaga Nasional soon.

Fuel Price

Print Friendly

1. #1 by k1980 on Wednesday, 4 June 2008 - 7:07 pm

2. #2 by musyu99 on Wednesday, 4 June 2008 - 7:08 pm

Semenjak Pak Lah menjadi PM…. Apa yang tak naik???

3. #3 by MISHUGINA on Wednesday, 4 June 2008 - 7:16 pm

Govt raise petrol by 20 cents there was huge hoo-haa. Now they plan to raise till 80 cents, this country is going to the dogs. I can’t imagine how the price of goods will skyrocket.

4. #4 by penang308 on Wednesday, 4 June 2008 - 7:27 pm

This is the time to change the “BARANG NAIK(BN)” government! Why wait?

5. #5 by k1980 on Wednesday, 4 June 2008 - 7:34 pm

The 1 sen coin is no longer in circulation. Soon the RM1 note would be withdrawn and we shall all become billionaires like the Indons and Zimbabweians

6. #6 by catharsis on Wednesday, 4 June 2008 - 7:36 pm

SO LETS SEE HOW GOOD OUR “FIRST WORLD” MINISTERS MANAGE THE ECONOMY IN DIFFICULT TIMES LIKE THESE- RISING FUEL AND FOOD COSTS………………………VIS-A-VIS RISING INFLATION

7. #7 by Samuel Goh Kim Eng on Wednesday, 4 June 2008 - 7:44 pm

When there’s such a big fuel hike
    It’s time to change car for a bike
    Or some may prefer their sporty spike
    Although these choices are not what all like

(C)Samuel Goh Kim Eng – 040608
    http://MotivationInMotion.blogspot.com
    Wed. 4th June 2008.

8. #8 by william85 on Wednesday, 4 June 2008 - 7:47 pm

While I feel the pain of the price rise, this is quite inevitable due to the global petrol price, so we should not snipe on Pak Lah or BN. That would be irrational.

9. #9 by yhsiew on Wednesday, 4 June 2008 - 7:48 pm

Following such a steep increase in petrol price, prices of other goods are bound to rise and hence the cost of living will rocket. More miseries are in store for the rakyat especially the middle and low income groups.

Mr. Anwar should quickly bring about a change of Federal Government to alleviate the people’s suffering.

10. #10 by k1980 on Wednesday, 4 June 2008 - 7:52 pm

Questions to ask in Parliament:
    1. Would there had been a petrol price hike if the Pakatan Rakyat had taken over the Federal Govt?

2. How come fellow oil exporters like the Gulf emirates do NOT sell petrol at world market rates to their people?

3. Now that we can save RM56 billion from not subsidizing petrol, should we use this savings to buy the used useless re-entry capsule from Russia and also send up more umno space tourists to the ISS?

11. #11 by pulau_sibu on Wednesday, 4 June 2008 - 7:54 pm

Instead of calling it price increase, why don’t we call it a cut in income? All of us have a cut in salary by 40% overnight!

12. #12 by VoteDAP on Wednesday, 4 June 2008 - 7:55 pm

Well Willlam85, widen your global viewpoints, BN always confuses us by claiming we still enjoy the cheapest oil price in Asia and one of the cheapest in the world. Just widen the comparison, those countries are not oil exporter, WE ARE! BN always says countries like Singapore, British, Japan, blablalala their oil price are a few times than us in actual RINGGIT, but in actual RINGGIT, those buggers earn a lot more folds than us! As oil exporter country, the citizen should benefits from the petrol income. Why we should pay more unless the wealth is badly mis-managed like what BN is doing! The oil dug out from our own ground that belongs to all of Malaysians, NOT BN, NOT PM, NOT PETRONAS.

Change GOV ASAP~~!!!!! for the sake of our living…how you going to survive. I am sure there will be catastrophic impact on other goods pricing if easily such a price hike for rice and petrol. CHANGE YOUR LIFE STYLE as told our dear PM? Isnt that better for all of Malaysia to change just the PM?

13. #13 by waterkewl on Wednesday, 4 June 2008 - 7:56 pm

the nation really need to be reformat like a hardisk. too many bad sector and useless junk. i’m so not a good mood today. we need to rise and teach them whose the boss.

14. #14 by ReformMalaysia on Wednesday, 4 June 2008 - 8:01 pm

Calling for ….

ADBULLAH BADAWI immediate resignation!!!

What is the use of saving RM4 billion, while at the same time the nation is going to lost tens of billion Ringgit?

This will be the situation:

Savings from reduction of subsidy = RM4 BILLION

CONSEQUENCES/LOSS :

MANY COMPANY could not survive the spirally rising cost due to chain reaction from rise in fuel cost -transportation, demand for higher pay, raw material

Result: Many company close down -government collect less tax, many people lost jobs

Many people would live in poverty. There meagre income just enough to buy food, no more money left for supporting their children education. Free education in Malaysia? – Well do the government pay for transportation cost to school? no! And higher education is definitely not free.
    -This would result big loss to the nation too

Dampening domestic consumption.
    -people could not afford to buy houses and cars
    Result – PROTON may become just history
    -Business community will lost income too

Increase in crime rate -when the poverty strikes, crime rate would increase

So, is is justified to save RM4 billion while losing RM400billion ?

15. #15 by MISHUGINA on Wednesday, 4 June 2008 - 8:01 pm

“While I feel the pain of the price rise, this is quite inevitable due to the global petrol price, so we should not snipe on Pak Lah or BN. That would be irrational.”

william, our country is a net exporter of oil. The billions of profit that Petronas made can be channelled back into savings of rakyat. Also consider enormous amount of wastage the govt spent recklessly such as Port Klang Free Zone scandal, purchase of submarines, proposed new Istana Negara, etc. If can splash money just like that, cushioning the rakyat against rising oil prices should be justified.

The govt can’t manage the current inflation rate which is taking toil especially on lower income groups, public transportation is hopeless and IPPs are still being freaking subsidized! And you want to defend Bodowi?! I just assume you’re too naive for your own good.

16. #16 by shiro on Wednesday, 4 June 2008 - 8:11 pm

Now let us compare the price with OIL PRODUCING countries

UAE– RM1.19/litre
    Eygpt– RM1.03/litre
    Bahrain– RM0.87/litre
    Qatar– RM0.68/litre
    Kuwait– RM0.67/litre
    Saudi Arabia– RM0.38/litre
    Iran– RM0.35/litre
    Nigeria– RM0.32/litre
    Turkmenistan– RM0.25/litre
    Venezuela– RM0.16/litre
    MALAYSIA– RM2.70/litre

Well.. hidup BN(Barang Naik)…

*stats taken from http://www.malaysia-today.net/2008/content/view/8384/84/

17. #17 by slashed on Wednesday, 4 June 2008 - 8:12 pm

Fuel prices are rising all over the world. Even here in the UK (which is an oil producing nation). I’d like to know the full extent of government subsidisation before passing judgement on them.

18. #18 by yhsiew on Wednesday, 4 June 2008 - 8:16 pm

The enormous financial resources spent by BN on campaigning the 12th General Election could well have been used for petrol subsidies.

19. #19 by ilikeit on Wednesday, 4 June 2008 - 8:23 pm

Well have u all heard of the word ripple effect or chain reaction. The transporter is having nightmare.
    The ceiling price of chicken is abolish so nasi ayam is going to hit the ceiling, not to mention ayam goreng, ayam percik and wat about KFC prices. I heard the ceiling price of cement is also abolish so nobody will be able to buy houses anymore or renovate for that matter. Man all hell is going to break loose. After the hefty increases in the price of rice and other edibles wat is bodowi thinking of? He is getting his revenge.

20. #20 by Richardqed on Wednesday, 4 June 2008 - 8:25 pm

william85 Says:

Today at 19: 47.13 (29 minutes ago)
    While I feel the pain of the price rise, this is quite inevitable due to the global petrol price, so we should not snipe on Pak Lah or BN. That would be irrational.

————————-

Regardless of the global petrol price, we are an oil producing nation. So one can never compare us with oil-importing countries like most nations. All it takes would be to have a Govt that uses Petronas money to spare its rakyat the pain. Instead, the rakyat has to feel the pinch, and Petronas $$ can be put to unknown use elsewhere.

The way that many Malaysians blindly accept what excuses are given to them are unbelievable.

Time to really educate the rest of our fellow Malaysians not to believe in the stupid BN crap and excuses.

Well, thanks to the voters who gave BN the power to decide on petrol prices again. We now all have to pay the price for decisions made by fools at the election box.

21. #21 by k1980 on Wednesday, 4 June 2008 - 8:27 pm

Malaysians should immediately switch to the following mode of transportation, which runs on air alone

http://bp3.blogger.com/_BJGWfUvJNiQ/SEV142HxtNI/AAAAAAAAEXc/ifEKICiBBzo/s400/Picture1.jpg

22. #22 by xtheman on Wednesday, 4 June 2008 - 8:27 pm

BN supports pls continue to support the Miserable BN lah….. Opss not BN it is Umno. See how they can make your life miserable.

BN have failed the country Miserable for 50 years. Pls read annilnetta blog. Petronas profits 600 billions ….. where the hell the money gone ? why the country still so miserable ?

23. #23 by malaysia_mana_boleh on Wednesday, 4 June 2008 - 8:28 pm

Why are you guys complaining?

Our beloved Pee-m need some poket money kenot ar?

Some more we need $ to send another monkey 2 the moon so need your cooperation a bit lar.

Revenge is sweet especially when it hits where it hurts most- our pocket and soon our stomach!

Did i hear our Pee-m just snigger?

24. #24 by undergrad2 on Wednesday, 4 June 2008 - 8:29 pm

The facts are fast emerging that speculators (in oil futures) are behind the price increase. The argument that the fast growing economies of India and China are responsible for it is fast losing ground.

Though the idea of a subsidy interfering with free market forces would not be good in the long run, the equitable effect in the short term cannot be denied.

25. #25 by malaysia born on Wednesday, 4 June 2008 - 8:29 pm

Not only will there be an increase in food prices, there will be a corresponding increase in crime, both by the small fish (mat rempits, snatch thieves, bank robbers) and the big fish (bn politicians)……..oh yes! not forgetting our men-in-blue, men-in-grey, and whatever men in uniform.

Inflation, social disorder will be the order of the day.

26. #26 by drngsc on Wednesday, 4 June 2008 - 8:31 pm

It is good to note that as the PM announced the petrol price increase, the heavens showed her anger, with thunder and lightning and rainstorm, which again showed the government shortcomings in the mainroads. Traffic was virtually at a standstill all across KL town, and the suburbs. It took me an hour and half to get from Saujana to Subang Jaya ). The roads were flooded and the traffic lights on many roads were down. So now we pay more for petrol and waste more petrol on the roads.Thanks to the government of the last 50 years. Back to the petrol price increase. Don’t hold your breathe. Looks like this is the first of three price hike. This one in June. Another in July and a third one in August, when it will be market value, as announced by the Minister of domestic trade, earlier. So, we should all gear up for inflation. Enjoy your chow koay teow, which will soon cost RM 15 in the corner shop “tai chow”.

27. #27 by stjames on Wednesday, 4 June 2008 - 8:34 pm

Uncle Kit,

The govt has gone overboard. Can you please tell the people WHAT ARE THE OPTIONS TO EXPEDITE THE CHANGE IN GOVT, it sounds like the country needs some drastic changes.

Im afraid to say, its quite obvious we are spiralling down to the dumps very quickly.

28. #28 by dapforever on Wednesday, 4 June 2008 - 8:38 pm

i cannot accept this Government anymore….what more is they raised too much for most people..including myself…it’s not acceptable…even in Indonesia, they raised for 30%…is malaysian government trying to show/challenge other coutries who can raised the fuel price higher?

additional RM 0.78 for petrol and RM 1.00 for diesel…

Change the current government!!!

29. #29 by melurian on Wednesday, 4 June 2008 - 8:43 pm

man, the ban haven’t really taken effect and now oil price increase like this. those sgpura pr voiced disapproval for the ban now must be laughing at malaysians for criticizing them – padan muka they would think.

why is this shahrir and AAB always making flip flop decision. when shahrir first suggested the ban, i applauded the move. but as negara pengeluar petrol, these ministers have the cheek to say to remove subsidy by august ??? that means the gov is rubbish and idiot. i demand to publish full transparent on government spending and petronas earnings, no doubt the oil price hike but petronas too must earn handsome profit on this! the standard of living is getting worse and worse, those sgpura earn 3k and pump 2.2. we earn 3k and pump 2.7, and to add insult as oil producer!

30. #30 by Damocles on Wednesday, 4 June 2008 - 8:44 pm

And there are people who still beleive to give the BN (UMNO?) a chance to reform.
    Reform?
    Our country has already gone from bad to worst.
    Didn’t anyone notice that with each change of PM, the people got a worse deal?

31. #31 by dapforever on Wednesday, 4 June 2008 - 8:49 pm

See what happen when BN won the GE2008…promised to raised fuel price….all janji janji manis…!

I think those who supported BN during GE2008 will regret with their decisions or action…when they support BN(Barang Naik) that’s mean they agreed with what they do..so don’t complaint…

Tomorrow, bas sekolah also naik including public transport from KL to Melaka or Johor…. everything go up averaging +50%

A RM 20 trip will be charged at RM30…

Let’s held new GE 2008. See who win this time…

32. #32 by justice_fighter on Wednesday, 4 June 2008 - 8:52 pm

Still remember before the GE12 that Najis said there won’t be a petrol price increase after the election?

Furthermore, where is the efficient public transport system promised by the stupidest PRIME MINISTER a few years ago!!!

Vote BN out for good and send these corrupt and lying BN leaders to jail!!

33. #33 by AhPek on Wednesday, 4 June 2008 - 8:57 pm

This Bodowi is again found lying thro his teeth.Petrol price to go up 78cents in less than 8 hours from announcement ….a clear 40.6% hike, it is unbelievable.I think most people is expecting,a staggered one but hell not this.And I don’t the government has actually studied its impact on people across the board.Poor people would be aversely affected and what do Bodowi care!

34. #34 by stjames on Wednesday, 4 June 2008 - 8:57 pm

Uncle Kit,

People’s power worked to some extent on Mar 8, 2008. Other than relying UMNO to overthrow the present leadership or defecting MPs to PR, what are the people’s legitimate options to enable a change in govt asap (dont think ppl can wait for another GE)? Royalty led?

I think there are many frustrated people out there (probably including those who have voted BN), options seems limited other than to migrate (only for those who can)?

I think it would help if the people know what they can do to inject PEOPLES POWER again.

35. #35 by dawsheng on Wednesday, 4 June 2008 - 8:58 pm

My advice to Pakatan Rakyat, do not organize any street demonstration and stay out of one if there is.

36. #36 by kentutoyol on Wednesday, 4 June 2008 - 9:04 pm

What an unpopular move!!

Before this price hike, the rakyat have being worrying but Paklah have made their worries come true.

The worst is yet to come, the cost of living will surely soar. The rakyat will decide their next government.

Hidup rakyat!

37. #37 by melurian on Wednesday, 4 June 2008 - 9:04 pm

kit, please raise ,motion to have AAB step down, vote for no confidence…. the rakyat must fed up with his flip flop decision. first b4 ge he assured there’s no raise. then after given mandate, he (thru shahrir) call for the ban to foreigners (which i sokong). then he said august will increase, brace yourself. now less than 24 hrs naik 70sen.

AAB should pecat diri sendiri, he’ll do the nation big big favor if he step down!

38. #38 by stjames on Wednesday, 4 June 2008 - 9:07 pm

Im not sure what was TDM’s masterplan when he resigned.

Im not sure what PKR de facto leader’s masterplan was when he revealed the plan of the defecting 30odd MPs.

Im not sure Tengku Razaleigh is up to in his campaign.

Im not sure if any of the planned outcomes above are any better.

But

all i know is, THE TIME TO STRIKE IS NOW.

all i know is, MBB’s foolish acquisition, poorly managed petrol ban, petrol price hike, childish behaviours of some BN MPs in parlimen and all the attempts to unfairly limit the efforts of opp. led state govts IS UNBEARABLE.

39. #39 by dapforever on Wednesday, 4 June 2008 - 9:18 pm

REBATE for what? RM625 is nothing compare to the fuel price at the moment…how much u can buy using RM625 for a year…worst still make things complicated…

RM 625/12 = RM 52.0833 per month? (additonal?)

Example:-
    Proton Waja -Full Tank 45L
    45L x RM 1.92 = RM 86.40 (Before)
    45L x RM 2.70 = RM 121.50 (After) effective on 5 June 2008
    price differences = RM 35.10

We are given additional RM 52.0833 per month…
    How many times we can fill up our tank full based on RM 1.92?

RM 52.0833/RM 35.10 = ONLY 1.483 time full tank…

First 1.483 full tank, we are still paying at RM 1.92

There after we are paying for RM 2.70!!!!!!!

In a month, our petrol usage averaging from RM 200-RM 300
    depending on car models, etc…

Let assume we are spending RM 200 @ RM 1.92 currrent oil price
    RM 200/1.92 = 104.17 Liter

if Given our full tank is 45L therefore,

104.17/45 = 2.314 time full tank…

First 1.483 tank…we are paying for RM 1.92
    Remaining 0.831 tank we are paying for RM 2.70

0.831 x 45 L x RM 2.70 = 100.9665 (After)
    0.831 x 45 L x RM 1.92 = 71.7984 (Before)
    Differences = ADDITIONAL RM 29.1681

RM 200 + 52.0833 (per month) = 252.083
    2.314 tank x 45L x RM 2.70 = 281.151
    Difference = ADDITIONAL RM 29.068

hope my calculation is right..heh

40. #40 by comingto50 on Wednesday, 4 June 2008 - 9:21 pm

The coffer has dried up.

If we dig back a few years back we have contracted to sell in the futures our gas and oil to China and Japan at low prices.

Idiots!

41. #41 by malaysia4all on Wednesday, 4 June 2008 - 9:21 pm

to better understand the help of rebate

RM1.92=>RM2.70 (41% increment)

car rebate: RM150/yr = RM2.88/wk = 41% of RM29.32/wk
    meaning: current spending at RM1.92/L, weekly first RM29.32 spent is covered by rebate, subsequence spending is not.

bike rebate: RM650/yr = RM12.02/wk = 41% of RM7.04/wk
    meaning: current spending at RM1.92/L, weekly first RM7.04 spent is covered by rebate, subsequence spending is not.

note: RM150 motorbike rebate instead of RM120 above, according to
    http://www.pmo.gov.my/website/webdbase.nsf/w_4?openForm&title=Latest%20Releases%20from%20Prime%20Minister&url=http://www.pmo.gov.my/WebNotesApp/Abdullah.nsf/hv_PMKiniSemasaNew/214AA70091D7F2534825745E003CA153

hope this useful.

42. #42 by 9to5 on Wednesday, 4 June 2008 - 9:23 pm

It has been reported that among the measure taken to reduce the petrol subsidy is the direct cash payments to motorcyclists and small car owners.
    This is the stupidest decision I have ever known in my entire life. It shows the low calibre of the people in our Badawi’s Cabinet.

1.A large number of those two cannot afford motorcycles and small cars take buses to go to work. When petrol price increases, it is a foregone conclusion that the bus owners will increase the fares. Instead of helping the poor, this category of people will be hit by a double whammy – increased bus fares and increase in prices of food, goods and services and everything else!

2.A new small car costs much more than a second hand car. For example, a small new 850cc Kancil cost $27,000 can carry about 4 persons albeit with some difficulty but a second hand 2500cc Volvo 850 costs about $15,000 could carry goods and 5-6 people easily without problem. In fact, we do find a lot of poor kampong folks driving big, old but cheap continental cars/vans/jeeps because it is more suitable for carrying farm produce as well for transporting their large families. Again they will be hit by a double whammy – increase in price of petrol and everything else!

3.In a poor family of 10 people, only one can afford a small car which is used to make 2 trips to transport everybody. Only one will receive a small petrol payment (for one trip) and the other 9 members will have to bear the increased prices of petrol (for 2nd trip), food and everything else.

4.The huge increase in price of petrol will cause a chain reaction on the increase in prices of other goods and services. Whatever small amounts received by the motorcyclist and small car owners will be largely negated by the more than disproportionate increase in prices of goods and services.

5.Which stupid idiot equates rich or poor with the cc of the vehicles? An average office clerk may own a second hand proton Iswara costing $7,000 (rebate = $850) while the Robert Kuok’s children can own a fleet of 10 new cars of BMW, Audi and Volvo all less than 2000cc and get a total rebate of $850 x 10 = $8,500!

6.In Malaysia, the heavier burden is caused by cost of travelling to work. The cost of travelling will have to include:

1. toll charges,
    2. amortisation of the vehicle’s cost over the economic useful life of the vehicle, or, for those who have obtained loan financing, the monthly loan repayments,
    3. the annual vehicle maintenance cost (tyres, brake pads, engine oil, spark plugs, etc)
    4. road tax,
    5. Parking; and
    6. petrol

If you analyse above carefully a huge chunk of the expenses goes to car amortisation cost and toll charges. Everyone who has travelled overseas knows for a fact that Malaysia has one of the highest numbers of tolls in the country and very high excise duties on cars.

Take a real life example of a typical average worker in Malaysia earning a take home pay after deducting EPF of RM 2,000 a month. He drives a small Kancil (cost RM27,000) and travels to and from work each day from his home in Cheras averaging about 40 km. His typical monthly travelling cost is:

Amortisation of car for 10 years ($27,000/10/12)………….$225
    Petrol (based on current price)………………………………………… ……….$200
    Maintenance of car…………………………………………… ….……..$100
    Road Tax ($50/ 12)…………………………………………… ……………….$4
    Parking ……………………………………………… ………….………………$90
    Total Travelling Cost per Month……………………………………$619
    Percentage of Travelling Cost to Take-Home Pay……………………….31%

It simply does not make sense that the use of vehicle for travelling to work to earn revenue for the country would be a whopping 31% of his take home pay for a country that is a net exporter of oil. That does not even include his payment for the increased price of petrol and monthly expenditure for food, housing loan, medical expenses, children schooling expenses, etc, which are certain to increase if the prices of petrol increase.

It makes stupid sense to make a small amount of cash repayments to a small portion of the citizens but the cost of tolls, food, goods and services keep on escalating. I don’t know whether they are aware that not all registered owners are the actual users of the vehicle and how the repayments could go to the actual persons intended.

This way of abrupt petrol price increase would be disastrous to the nation and once the negative chain reactions (stock market crash, run away inflation, economic slowdown, corporate under-budgets, etc) happen, the nation might not recover from it for a long time.

It is haphazard decision hastily decided by a low calibre Badawi cabinet. On TV3 Badaw prided that the cabinet took 4 long hours to deliberate on the issue! Only 4 hours of deliberation for such an important issue? An important decision of this nature which has a rippling effect on the whole nation show be studied by a competent team of economist, academicians and thinkers for months – not by shallow thinking cabinet ministers in 4 hours!

The present UMNO regime has hoodwinked the citizens long enough by just comparing the petrol price with selective non-oil producing countries without taking into consideration the related travelling cost and the cost of living!

Logic will tell you that a fisherman cannot have a same cost of fish as his neighbour who is a farmer!

Meanwhile, oblivious to others, UMNO will be splurging the oil revenue by spending on themselves, their cronies and on other less prioritised projects! UMNO realised that it may be their last term in power and used the opportunity to enrich themselves as much as possible before they are kicked out by the rakyat!

Only the kampong folks may be duped by UMNO! The citizens have had enough of the half-truth of UMNO!

The citizens demand transparency on the accounts of Petronas and how were these revenue been used! Petronas is not “bapa punya” of UMNO – it belongs to every citizens of Malaysia!

43. #43 by dapforever on Wednesday, 4 June 2008 - 9:23 pm

i think KLSE will drop to the furthest at tomorrow opening…

44. #44 by Malaysian on Wednesday, 4 June 2008 - 9:25 pm

The idiot Sharir in TV3 saying that the increases of petrol price is only discriminary to the rich who own big cc car. Did the government consider those average rakyat who have to spent RM 400-RM500/month on petrol to go to work and have to spent extra RM 160 after the hike in petrol price? What is the RM625 rebate which is equivalent to RM50/month. The Minister should go to work by using Proton Waja by tommorow instead of your black Mercedes S500.

45. #45 by malaysia4all on Wednesday, 4 June 2008 - 9:26 pm

sorry messed out my calculation. correction below,

car rebate: RM625/yr = RM12.02/wk = 41% of RM29.32/wk
    meaning: current spending at RM1.92/L, weekly first RM29.32 spent is covered by rebate, subsequence spending is not.

bike rebate: RM150/yr = RM2.88/wk = 41% of RM7.04/wk
    meaning: current spending at RM1.92/L, weekly first RM7.04 spent is covered by rebate, subsequence spending is not.

46. #46 by Rocky on Wednesday, 4 June 2008 - 9:26 pm

This gomen is more than willing and goes out of the way to subsidies rich cronies and UMNOPutras by handing out one sided contracts and APs but wants rakyat to reduce wastage and learn to live without subsidies.Think LDP, think CYC football tournament, think MRR2 and lets not forget the toll fees we have to pay.Why can’t they do open tenders? why can’t they get rid of AP as it is we are paying RM20-30k for our cars compared to Thailand which means we are paying for the subsidy upfront.

Yeah have a snap election, love to see what happens to UMNO…we have almost buried MCA and MIC. Gerakan is gone.UMNO is next!!!!

so this gomen has got it all wrong. They need another lesson at polling booth.Pak Lah saya cabar kamu…Pak Lah kan pantang dicabar.

47. #47 by Damocles on Wednesday, 4 June 2008 - 9:30 pm

“AAB should pecat diri sendiri, he’ll do the nation big big favor if he step down!” – melurian

He’ll definitely not do you the favour of stepping down!
    Neither will it be possible for elephants to drag him from his post.
    Why?
    He has the whole nation in his palms and to do as he pleases!
    It’s like a village idiot playing with his toys.
    Although his toys are your lives!

48. #48 by TheWrathOfGrapes on Wednesday, 4 June 2008 - 9:31 pm

This is the best move ever by the government. Didn’t many people clamour for reform? Well, this is reform. Didn’t many people say subsidies are bad, that we should take away crutches? Well, this is to be welcomed then.

My only grouse is that they should marked it up to market at one go, instead of bit by bit and prolonging the pain. Why RM2.70? Why not RM4 or RM4.50 per litre? This way, there will be no need to worry about foreign cars coming in to enjoy the subsidies. Heck, while we are at it, why not increase it to RM5 or RM6 per litre? This way, Malaysian motorists can go down the causeway and enjoy the cheaper petrol for a change.

Be careful, you might just get what you wish for.

Reform and market prices. No subsidies. Yes, we are getting there….

49. #49 by cemerlang on Wednesday, 4 June 2008 - 9:32 pm

If there was no election results’ tsunami, will the petrol price still rise ? Or other basic commodities ?

50. #50 by penangboy on Wednesday, 4 June 2008 - 9:33 pm

Poor planning; lack of forward vision; indecisiveness – all these are BN’s traits and will continue to be that way. I would advise Pakatan government to now work on a plan to look into alternative means of transportation – times for adjustment – time for a bigger change. AAB – call for a snap election – get a new mandate and get it now

1 2 3 5

Comments are closed.