Sabah – Cinderella after March 8 “political tsunami”

All eyes are on the Prime Minister, Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi, as Santa Claus with “goodies” for Sabah in his visit to the State tomorrow.

As reported by the Star yesterday, among the “goodies” for Sabah expected from the Prime Minister are announcements:

• Abolishing the controversial Department of Federal Development Sabah (JPPS) set up when the state was ruled under the then-opposition Parti Bersatu Sabah (PBS) in 1991 and to channel federal development funds through the Sabah Development Office;

• More federal funding for projects in the state.

• A high-powered Cabinet panel to work on the framework of a long-term solution to Sabah’s complex migrant problem; and

• Immediate standardization of the prices of subsidized goods nationwide.

What about 20% oil royalty for Sabah?

Lets wait until tomorrow to see what are the goodies Abdullah has in store for the people of Sabah. The March 8 political tsunami in Peninsular Malaysia has a Cinderella-effect on the people of Sabah in transforming them from among the most marginalized to “king-maker” holding in their hands the very survival of the Barisan Nasional federal power.

Hence the “goodies” in Sabah tomorrow!

1. #1 by Saint on Friday, 30 May 2008 - 2:17 pm

Good for Sabahans. Let them enjoy it as much as possible.

2. #2 by Godfather on Friday, 30 May 2008 - 2:29 pm

Christmas is early this year. Santa Claus is coming to town.

3. #3 by disapointed86 on Friday, 30 May 2008 - 2:30 pm

hahaha…dont hope too much lah ok…maybe nth big deal…AAB got so generous or not??

4. #4 by limkamput on Friday, 30 May 2008 - 2:45 pm

I don’t know, are all these the “additions” to the amount of goodies/perks/positions/contracts/deals that had been given or promised to give to the scumbag leaders from Sabah?

5. #5 by AhPek on Friday, 30 May 2008 - 2:55 pm

The goodies dished out by this Santa does not come from his pocket,take everytning there is for the taking, but for Heaven’s sake, decide in the interest of Sabah. Are you capable of doing that MPs of Sabah?

6. #6 by devilmaster on Friday, 30 May 2008 - 3:14 pm

But this Santa Claus has the habit of telling lies…

7. #7 by Cinapek on Friday, 30 May 2008 - 3:28 pm

What can be given can also be taken away so don’t be too happy about it. The BN Govt has proven this many times in Kelantan and Trengganu. Since none of these goodies can be cast in stone, just enjoy them while you can.

You have them by the throats now and they have no choice but to eat humble pie and accede to your request. But the seething resentment will be festering inside and the day they do not need your votes, they will kick you back. In thier eyes you are nothing more than a bunch of country bumpkins to be manipulated as they like.

8. #8 by i_love_malaysia on Friday, 30 May 2008 - 3:55 pm

Yes, more goodies for Sabah expecially the Sabah BN politicians!!! it is a zero sum game, more for Sabah and less for other states, to AAB, it is ok for him as long as he holds on to PM post and BN continues to run the federal govt. and continues to enrich themselves!!! After all, it is the Rakyat’s money and not his own money, why should he cares!!!

9. #9 by i_love_malaysia on Friday, 30 May 2008 - 3:57 pm

There will be less money (budget) for other PR states as AAB will channel the money to Sabah!!! dont be too happy about this!!!

10. #10 by ktteokt on Friday, 30 May 2008 - 4:01 pm

what to do? you can only please some of the people some of the time but never all of the people all of the time!!

11. #11 by i_love_malaysia on Friday, 30 May 2008 - 4:11 pm

Cinapek,

That’s why BN created so many MP seats in Sabah & Sarawak even though there are only few million people there!!! BN knows that the people there are easily manipulated unlike peninsular Malaysian!!!

12. #12 by gofortruth on Friday, 30 May 2008 - 4:24 pm

Good for Sabah & also Sarawak. Wait a minute MCA can’t even get the re opening of Damansara primary school, are they still habitually waiting for the crumpets to fall from the master’s table & still behaving like beggars instead of “king maker”????

13. #13 by LALILOo on Friday, 30 May 2008 - 5:07 pm

That despicable chap been practically on his knees begging them to “bagi satu chance lah!” and begging for them to accept his early “christmas goodies”.

You see, no matter how great a man can be, when you have no principles, you would be more than willing to beg and steal just to save your skin.

How despicable can that be!

14. #14 by eddieqh on Friday, 30 May 2008 - 5:24 pm

Well….well…well….it seem like the big shark in Sabah are sucking our Tax Money to be consumed alone rather than going thru the hand of Umnoputra…..Bad for Umno…..but definately not benefiting the “Rakyat”….I pray for PR not to merge with those shark whose only sincere with Money….

15. #15 by monsterball on Friday, 30 May 2008 - 5:58 pm

Sabahans should know…who are their real… fairy Godfather is.
    Certainly not UMNO.
    Well….just accept the goodies and firmly vote for change of government for real real good permanent goodies…from a caring and sharing People’s Party promises. If People’s Party.. also turn out to be bullshitters….we can decide late…which bullshitter is better for our country..in 13th election. No harm done…to make a change….for the better…applying positive thinking attitudes.
    It is after all…People’s Party….that is moving UMNO arses..to do what they are offering to Sabah. They have a track record..to control people…not serving the people.as should be. UMNO ministers are a bunch or arrogant and weird politicians. Is not Mahathir…the living proof of what I am saying? Sabahan politicians should trace back….past years requests….all snubbed ..turned down..by UMNO.
    They were treated like nobody.
    So..like before election advices from PP….take the goodies.and pledge to serve Malaysia for Malaysians.
    Under UMNO..totally impossible.
    Before…also impossible to make a change….even if you want to. But now…..with such a strong opposition..it is as real as the sun will shine tomorrow..to make the said opposition become the ruling government.
    All eyes and ears and prayers of all Malaysians are hoping Sabah and Sarawak politicians… will make the change of government…..come true.

16. #16 by yhsiew on Friday, 30 May 2008 - 6:43 pm

Mr. Anwar must take action quickly to effect a change of Federal Government before Pak Lah’s sweets sweeten the hearts and minds of Sabah’s disgruntled BN MPs.

17. #17 by yhsiew on Friday, 30 May 2008 - 7:02 pm

I guess the “goodies” Pak Lah brings to Sabahans tomorrow, when expressed in cash term, is worth only a tiny fraction of the 20% oil royalty promised by PR if Sabahans were to let PR rule Sabah!

18. #18 by pai on Friday, 30 May 2008 - 7:40 pm

LKS,
    No matter what goodies brought by AAB this time, we wouldn’t be fooled as goodies are usually meant for festivals & events and therefore offer only temporary uplifting! Sabahans certainly would not loose sight of a better future with UMNO crumbling into oblivion in the footstep of USNO.

Please continue to raise and pursue the matter on RCI for illegal immigrants! You have already won the heart and mind of many Sabahans. Don’t forget to pour more scorns on Ronald Kiandee – now considered by many as Sabah’s public enemy no. 1.

19. #19 by robert wong on Friday, 30 May 2008 - 10:09 pm

How can you call it “goodies” , when the fund to be begged upon is actually yours !

All funds given whether through federal or state agencies, once given to these hungry thieves , only a dismal amount is actually benefiting the rakyat of Sabah.

No wonder Sabah is still the poorest state , reason being Sabah is probably “endowed” with the highest standard cost of living in Malaysia!! Thanks to our BN gomen.

If the funds given are not being hijacked , only then Sabah will regain her glory

20. #20 by Jos10 on Saturday, 31 May 2008 - 1:55 am

I agreed with what cinapek said, what ever given also can be taken away.

If it is going to happen how about the other states in Malaysia especially the neighborhood state, Sarawak? Both of these states were lack behind in infrastructure developments such as road, treated water supply etc. It should be fair and he should take into account the priority needs of each states.

21. #21 by ShiokGuy on Saturday, 31 May 2008 - 2:09 am

In politic, when you are in demand! then make demand!
    No such thing as Vote for me first then we see what happen
    Now…. after the tsunami.. the table has flip..

Deliver what i want within the time frame, else I walked!
    Make you demand now, else when you are down again. They sure will bite you back!

Next thing is inflation rate,, simply too high!
    http://shiokguy.blogspot.com/2008/05/real-life-malaysian-inflation-rate.html

Shiok Guy

22. #22 by isahbiazhar on Saturday, 31 May 2008 - 5:38 am

While abdullah can promise and give anything to appease Sabah, he should not forget Terengganu.From Mahathir era till today Terengganu did not benefit anything from oil though the infrastructure is there.Many did not understand that when oil was discovered in Terengganu, Terengganu was a backward state and that the people were uneducated.The state did not benefit only the outsiders benefitted.It took about 20 years to see some local people in the scene.During Wan Mokhtar’s era he developed Kemaman and neglected the other districts.Only his ousting did see some good but unfortunately when PAS took over the Federal government under Mahathir cut off the supply.Mahathir did not understand progress.As a result Terengganu suffered.Only Abdullah seem to understand that opposition led states people pay taxes and the Federal government must work enthusiastically to develop such states.Abdullah is the first Prime Minister to understand this concept;perhaps he learnt it from the Americans.When Idris took over he got something from the Federal govenment but still the bulk did not come here.The recent election should have fortified the concept and more money should come.What Terengganu need immediately? a)The completion of the East West highway immediately.b) A good primary school with hostel facilities in each district for the best and the poor. c)A good fully equipped hospital in each district with the best provided(most district hospitals are in poor state) d)The new universities to have their faculties distributed at all the districts thereby developing local intelligence. e)All Terengganu citizens above the age of 70 to be given an allowance of RM300(most of them are very poor: neglected by their children) f)Modern parks in every district for relaxation g)Public transport system(subsidised by the state) run privately h)Drug rehabilitation centre at every district . i)Community centres for the old and the young at each district j)Food coupons for the poor in the place of social welfare money. With immediate effect Wang Ihsan should be abolished and those who had cheated should be asked to pay back.(Many did not qualify but had falsified information).For all these to happen Abdullah must give 20% of the oil revenue to the state government.If Sabah is promised or given than Terengganu deserves more.We will wait and see.

23. #23 by bernadette on Saturday, 31 May 2008 - 6:21 am

goodies??! it’s not even christmas!

24. #24 by lopez on Saturday, 31 May 2008 - 8:29 am

Sabar han and Sarawah kians , you have a great piece of land at your backyard.
    How come the state still like backyard nation.
    Material – you have
    Management – you have
    Money – you also have but need trade off with material
    Machines – you can buy with Money.

What is wrong with you people?
    If your leaders dont know , kick them out, im sure they know but apparently they enriching themselves.

otherwise how come still backyard state or maybe your management are keeping ownership of power so they can reap you slowly without you knowing…if you have beautiful garden you must be proud to show to others otherwise it will fade away….like you ppl being shrouded by those crocodies, on pretext being protected.

25. #25 by mendela on Saturday, 31 May 2008 - 10:05 am

Bodowi is using our tax money to buy the supports of those Sabahan MPs in order to maintain BN rule.

At the end, all the money will be like the Trengganu “Ehsan money”, abuse by the cronies and disappeared totally.

To all Sabahans, say NO to Bodowi. Enough is enough! It is time to grow up!

26. #26 by cheng on soo on Saturday, 31 May 2008 - 11:09 am

Base on natural resources/ land area Vs population, Sabah & Sarawak should be the richest states in Msia.
    Any sincere, honest, dedicated, average capability leaders can do that ! Dont need brainy or high capability leaders.
    But sadly, it is the OPPOSITE now !

27. #28 by dusunbukit on Saturday, 31 May 2008 - 10:59 pm

Sabahan need no goodies – Sabahan want UMNO-BN to leave Sabah alone – Sabahan want PR to reform the whole system – to a better power sharing concepts.

UMNO is the mother of all evil! – they may go to HELL

28. #29 by monsterball on Sunday, 1 June 2008 - 1:36 pm

I know Sabahans and Sarawakians love freedom of speeches and rights. The simply love a free life!
    They need to join UMNO…toe the line….for 50 years…out of no choice…cannot beat them….oin them..for the sake of their children’s futures.
    If one have travel to Sabah and Sarawak …many times….as I did…you can see…they are somewhat similar to Penang Malaysians…everyone..treat anyone…same…no race distinctions.
    And that is because….if you look carefully over that two States…they have a more diversified and equal amount of races….truly very colourful and rich States.
    So many Malays are Christians in Sabah….and you find Malaysian Chinese…fill the churches and Buddhists temples….during festive seasons….all smiling.
    Those two States have no race and religion dirty thoughts.until UMNO and BN planted them in.
    At one time…Sabahan parents were so worried of their grown up children…have nothing much to do…so they got married very young….mostly 18 years old….got married!! …and start a family..with some purpose in life.
    If the two States are what I am telling you are…. as it is…then they should love this opportunity to free themselves….be equal as Malaysians…cut off…all the crabs..and join People’s Party.
    If not….then they support me… monsterball….a 70 year old man…and many more Malaysians.. being treated like animals…with tear gas and water cannons….and 5 under ISA..for no reasons…all…walking for the sake of young Malaysians.

29. #30 by kentutoyol on Monday, 2 June 2008 - 7:03 am

Nowadays people are paying less attention to what AAB says but they are watching what he can do!

30. #31 by dusunbukit on Tuesday, 3 June 2008 - 3:41 am

abdullah badawi should be charge for curropution in the court of law for bribbing sabahan openly.. what a shame!