Good news for BMC controversy

During the debate on the last ministry – Home Ministry – on the 2007 Supplementary estimates in Parliament late yesterday evening, DAP MP for Serdang, Teo Nie Ching and I questioned police conduct in the Bandar Makhota Cheras (BMC) “thug and police violence” following public protest at the rebuilding of the barricade by the toll concessionaire, Grand Saga.on Tuesday night.

I had earlier met the Works Minister, Datuk Mohd Zin Mohamed at the MPs’ lounge and I asked why his Ministry could not resolve the long-standing BMC access road issue.

Mohd Zin said he has a formula to resolve the issue which he would be bringing to the Cabinet today.

I understand there is good news for the long-suffering residents over the BMC controversy.

Print Friendly

1. #1 by Godfather on Saturday, 31 May 2008 - 10:37 pm

Nothing of what we say EVER HAPPENED. If you don’t believe it, go ask Kim Jong Il, or Robert Mugabe.

2. #2 by wtf2 on Saturday, 31 May 2008 - 10:43 pm

when a person who’s purported to uphold the law lies, he should be asked to resign or just kick out for being an ignoramus. Lately many people with Datuk to their names lie like there’s no tomorrow. Something is wrong with the process of awarding these titles…but since these titles are bestowed by the royal household there should be royal reprimands dished out to these jokers

3. #3 by yhsiew on Saturday, 31 May 2008 - 10:55 pm

Najib claimed in tonight’s Sin Chew Daily that the Federal Government ordered the barricade to be removed because the it cared for the people not because it bowed to pressure from the Opposition.

I find his comment utterly disgusting. Many BMC people know the road was blocked in October 2005 and for more than 2 years the residents there have been struggling to get the road open. Najib today has the guts to make the above comment. I wish to ask him why only now the Federal Government cares for the BMC people; why not way back in October 2005 or in 2006? Thick skin UMNO is quick to snatch credit from the Opposition!

4. #4 by limkamput on Saturday, 31 May 2008 - 11:24 pm

Godfather, you mean like holocaust, it never happened?

5. #5 by cheng on soo on Saturday, 31 May 2008 - 11:24 pm

yhsiew Says:

Today at 22: 55.29 (18 minutes ago)

Najib claimed in tonight’s…. that………… barricade to be removed because… cared for the people not because…….. from the Opposition.

I find his comment utterly…. Many BMC ……………; why not way back in October 2005 or…? Thick skin UMNO…… from the Opposition!
    —-
    Ai ya, yhsiew, sebagai kerajaan yang bertanggungjawab & berprihatin, isu ini perlu masa untuk di kaji terliti !

6. #6 by cheng on soo on Saturday, 31 May 2008 - 11:25 pm

cancel lah

7. #7 by daryl on Saturday, 31 May 2008 - 11:31 pm

Quote:
    Deputy Inspector-General of Police Datuk Ismail Omar said allegations that the police used brutality during the incident were totally baseless.
    Unquote…

If it is baseless and they acted according to protocol please show us the PDRM protocol because RAKYAT want a new one done immediatly and backdate it to MArch 8 so we can bring these 20 FRU officers and the officer in charge to justice. Also, if Najib listen to rakyat show us you care by punishing all these STUPID comments make by your minister and PDRM officers. They could have say we will suspend these officers and reviews the evidence and punish them accordingly. But, no they have to defend their innocents and take rakyat as still stupid like four years ago.

8. #8 by miketan142 on Sunday, 1 June 2008 - 12:28 am

Malaysia has one of the highest rate of road-tax. Since most of the roads are tolled, it should reduce or abolished the road-tax.
    In the UK where the ‘B’ road is wider and better than our highway, there is not a single toll road.

9. #9 by undergrad2 on Sunday, 1 June 2008 - 1:59 am

“It is not like Undergrad2 only know there are tolls in NY. May be I was there earlier than him.” limkamput

Cheap shot!

10. #10 by undergrad2 on Sunday, 1 June 2008 - 2:15 am

“If other countries have toll within the cities, let them be. In Malaysia, no toll within the cities, as a matter of policy, period. It is not like Undergrad2 only know ….” limkamput

What is your verbal score on the SAT?

This is what I said earlier:

“In the United States as you drive into New York City, there are a number of road tolls.”

If you cannot see the difference in meaning between “no toll within the cities” and “as you drive into the city” your verbal score on the SAT must be very low.

11. #11 by independent on Sunday, 1 June 2008 - 4:57 am

“The police today maintained that there was no unnecessary excessive force used by the Federal Reserve Unit (FRU) personnel on a resident during a protest at Bandar Mahkota Cheras on Tuesday night…we are carrying out a thorough probe into the matter. But I would like to stress that the FRU personnel deployed on that day followed procedures”

Conclusion already made even by the highest authority in the investigation. So why are they saying “still investigating”?? Is this lip service?? Or just another way to waste more public $$ to conduct investigation??

12. #12 by Godfather on Sunday, 1 June 2008 - 7:42 am

The words “immoral” and “shame” are not in UMNO’s dictionary ? Go ask Killer. He will confirm this on behalf of his UMNO masters.

13. #13 by bernadette on Sunday, 1 June 2008 - 11:19 am

who got low SAT score?? to get into U.S. university the average score on critical reading is 500+ and 500+ on maths. poor understanding of english means you cannot enter.

14. #14 by undergrad2 on Sunday, 1 June 2008 - 11:54 am

bernadette,

The scores you give are only ‘average’. You need better than average scores to get into their colleges. You could still get into those ‘community colleges’ of dubious standards without an SAT score or poor SAT score. Many Malay students on scholarships end up in some of these ‘community colleges’ which explains their poor comprehension and verbal skills – a waste of tax payers’ money.

15. #15 by bennylohstocks on Sunday, 1 June 2008 - 12:18 pm

senseless beatings..

SENSELESS BEATINGS

16. #16 by shortie kiasu on Sunday, 1 June 2008 - 1:19 pm

It is the result of a very good fight by the resident of BMC with the support from the PR Selangor State Government and PR MPs. The resident has exert their fundamental right to a just and fair society. It is not just commercial entities fighting for profit. It is more like day light robbery by the “Highway Concessionaire”, with its greed, to squeeze every extra sen from the poor, to enrich themselves.

It relented only when the MB of Selangor invoke the power of a major shareholder, which the Selangor Government is, in the Concessionaire, and threaten to restructure the Board of directors and Management team of the group; only then the concessionaire management relented, and sheepishly agreed not to put up the illegal barricade there again.

Then, when things seemed to be settled, only then followed by the Abdullah’s ministers, his deputy and his cabinet, when he saw himself and his government cornered with no outlet to escape, because the police was being impartial in this case and only present to ensure order but not to restrain the removal of the barricase by the resident over the last episode.

17. #17 by Kathy on Sunday, 1 June 2008 - 2:49 pm

BN and its gang knew about the whole incident yet have the wait and see attitude. Very bad. Instead of showing the rakyat that they can do the right things, they just prove to us that what the so-called “rumours” are true.

As things keep on going the way they are, no doubt the coming election would be a good time to see the fall of the current Geng BN.

18. #18 by MY VIEW on Sunday, 1 June 2008 - 5:51 pm

Godfather Says:

Today at 07: 42.44 (10 hours ago)
    The words “immoral” and “shame” are not in UMNO’s dictionary ? Go ask Killer. He will confirm this on behalf of his UMNO masters.
    ————————————————————–
    We just have to look at the former UMNO president and we will have the answer.

19. #19 by limkamput on Sunday, 1 June 2008 - 7:28 pm

Hiaya, undergrad2, I was just joking only. Seriously SAT is not meant for me lah. Remember I studied in Attap University, so there was no SAT required. But if you want to compare GMAT, I don’t mind lah. You are famous for twisting and turning. If you read my posting carefully, you should know what I am referring to. I said Klang Valley metropolitan, not KL city. So similarly, you should know I implied the same when I am talking about NY, ok? Anyway don’t need to quarrel lah. I thought we are on more friendly term now. Seriously I enjoy your postings and also Jeffrey’s and Godfather’s. Got standard lah.

20. #20 by undergrad2 on Sunday, 1 June 2008 - 7:45 pm

You did not say “Klang Valley metropolitan”. So let’s not mislead readers who may be reading this.

21. #21 by limkamput on Sunday, 1 June 2008 - 8:55 pm

I did lah, so many times i mentioned that. If you read every of my post, (i believe you did), you should know. I always mentioned no toll within the Klang Valley metropolitan areas. After all there is no toll within the KL inner city. When was the last time you were here? Has Adam sent you the ticket yet. Anyway, you can afford.

22. #22 by limkamput on Sunday, 1 June 2008 - 9:01 pm

limkamput Says: lawyers always need evidence. Here is one:

Yesterday at 11: 18.25
    That is why I have been campaigning – no toll within the Klang Valley Metropolitan area. I don’t care what would be the government’s argument. It is the responsibility of the government to provide roads as cities expand. If the government can’t afford, that government does not deserve to be there. We have paid enough taxes. Toll roads are sweet heart deals to enrich the well connected and their cronies. The government can afford to build those roads. There is no big deal – those big asses up there just have to travel less, abuse less, corrupt less, transfer less to good for nothing statutory bodies, GLCs, this tabung and that tabung. The money saved would be able to allow us to build twice the number of roads without imposing toll. This bloody toll thing within the city must go. It is nothing more than the rightist idea to suck the rakyat dry by this group of bloody parasite rent seekers.

23. #23 by StevePCH on Sunday, 1 June 2008 - 9:55 pm

I think PKR is too soft in tackling the issue. Hence, all the misfortunes. but better late than never. it also showed the true colors of DN. a crony based govt. Cant decide bcos their own interest involved. If BN were to have been on power for another few years, probably the shares owned by state govt. would be sold to cronies for a few ringgits or maybe state govt need to pay compensation huh … ? BN is too dirty and disapponting. PR PLEASE do better than BN.

24. #24 by ridzwancherus on Sunday, 1 June 2008 - 10:31 pm

Salam Sejahtera,
    Apabila dikatakan PAKATAN maka wujud beberapa parti politik bergabung. Tetapi dalam soal ini kenapa LKS hanya highlight DAP dan LKS, Macam mana dengan YB Ahli Parlimen Hulu Langat, MB Tan Sri Khalid, Dan Ahli Parlimen Pakatan Rakyat yang lain. Kena la mention sama. Nanti penyokong DAP kata wah DAP sahaja buat kerja, Ini semua atas usaha BERSAMA @ PAKATAN. Kalau tidak bubar pakatan DAP jaga diri sendiri.

25. #25 by lew1328 on Sunday, 1 June 2008 - 11:15 pm

Salam Sejahter, saudara Ridzwancherus..

Pertama: Oleh sebab agenda penting disini adalah mengenai soal yang dihujahkan oleh DAP, maka LKS dikaitkan dan dipujikan.

Kedua: Projek-projek yang dihujahkan disini adalah untuk “Rakyat”, kami disini memang mengambil tahu bahawa PR adalah tulang belakang kepada semua “Rakyat” baru.

Ketiga: Tiada sesiapa yang menyatakan ini adalah kredit mana-mana satu parti sahaja. Ini adalah kerjasama daripada PR dan menikmati keputusan seberikut untuk “Rakyat”.

Terima Kasih.

26. #26 by BlackEye on Monday, 2 June 2008 - 6:29 am

yep.

27. #27 by taiking on Monday, 2 June 2008 - 11:27 am

We are the master; and the government (Prime Minister, Ministers, officers of government etc) are our servants.

It just does not make sense for our servants to tell us that we cannot question them or know what they are doing.

National security, that is understandable. But Highway concession contracts? Confidentiality clauses? What utter nonsense.

The government are accountable to us and are responsible for all their deeds and misdeeds.

We must know all about them. We must be informed.

Not only are they opaque in their ways, as if they are afraid that it was not enough, they decided to privatise some of their responsibilities and then mask them with confidentiality clauses.

The ploy: Yes I can am accountable and responsible. No. I cant tell you somethings.

Are we stupid? Such confidentiality clauses are clearly against public interest and policy. The laws of our land would strike such provisions out of the concession contracts. Our courts would not enforce them (some of us would doubt this in view of the Lingam clip issue).

So tell us. Just lay the contracts bare for all to see. Dont use the confidentiality clauses to avoid your responsibility.

28. #28 by badak on Monday, 2 June 2008 - 2:30 pm

Firstly everyone in AG,s chambers must be sacked.WHY…Because all goverment contracts from HIGHWAYS to building of sports complex are one sided …The BN led goverment had been made to look stupid.

29. #29 by Godfather on Monday, 2 June 2008 - 6:40 pm

badak:

This one we can’t blame the AG’s Chambers. They acted only peripherally in the highway contracts. The agency responsible is the EPU, and they were “advised” by the JKR in terms of routing, and costings.

Hence Mahathir and Semi Value formed the best tag team in the history of Bolehland – a tag team for highway robbery, that is.

30. #30 by Godfather on Monday, 2 June 2008 - 6:41 pm

And the BN government wasn’t “made” to look stupid. In most cases, they pretended to be stupid so that people won’t be watching while they siphoned off the money.

31. #31 by lopez on Sunday, 8 June 2008 - 8:39 pm

There was a bat who was hurried flying home one day when he came across in sight of a pack of wolves runnings head on to its direction,
    out of curiosity, the bat flew lower to see more, upon close proximity one wolve wave at the bat , hey you are you not joining us, we are going to a have a show down with the birdy Vultures and you are heading the wrong way, join quick we need all the help we can get.

The wolve….stammered and answeered …err sorry lah i have some chores to atttend at home, see you fellas ..and climb

Just as quickly he lost sight of the wolves , out he came face to face with a birdy flock and the lead vulture , shouted ” hey you, you are heading the wrong way, the wolves are this direction , get into formation or you ‘lll be tried for treason.

Buut, but i have nothing to do with what you are doing,,,the lead vultures swerved and dive towards the bat who ducked and yell hey you got the wrong guy I am a BAT not althouggh i can fly does not mean i have birdy fraternity with you and for your information although i have looks like a wolve does not mean i am a wolf.
    I am both a bird and a wolve or a flying wolve.

Are you like me? the bat asked, if so you can join me , I ‘ll make you my second in command,..ok

Comments are closed.