Motion to establish RCI on Sabah illegal immigrants sabotaged

The amendment motion in Parliament to establish a Royal Commission of Inquiry to realize the three-decade dream of the people of Sabah to end their nightmare of the long-standing problem of illegal immigrants in the state was sabotaged when it was disallowed on the most flippant and unacceptable of grounds.

I had sought to move the amendment to the Motion of Thanks in Parliament by proposing the establishment of a Royal Commission of Inquiry into the illegal immigrant problem in Sabah at the end of the winding-up speeches by all the Ministers, which was about 6.30 p.m., but the Deputy Speaker Ronald Kiandee disallowed it on the ground that it was irrelevant.

How could the long-standing and intractable 30-year problem of illegal immigrants in Sabah be irrelevant to what should be the policy concerns of the Federal government for the next 12 months – which in a nutshell is what the Royal Address is all about.

I had previously moved an amendment to a Motion of Thanks for the Royal Address which is the conventional and acceptable practice in all Commonwealth Parliaments as it is an opportunity for a policy debate and resolution – but the Malaysian Parliament is regressing backwards instead of striking forward to become a First-World Parliament.

I feel sad at the shocking disallowance of the amending motion for it also sends out the message that after 30 years, the primary concern of Sabahans – the problem of illegal immigrants in Sabah – is still not taken seriously at the national level and merely treated as a peripheral issue!

Print Friendly

1. #1 by pwcheng on Friday, 23 May 2008 - 2:10 am

BN already knows your move. The sleepy PM and his henchmen must have found that the best way out is to reject the motion right away. Fire is raging everywhere and the Mahathir’s fire is burning almost at the doorstep. So the best thing to do is to kill this fire before it can even get started. Otherwise some Sabah MPs might rear its ugly head and embarrass the sleepy head and make BN more divisive.

2. #2 by undergrad2 on Friday, 23 May 2008 - 3:25 am

Why don’t you guys address the wider issue of illegal immigration? Sabah is just an example of how illegal immigration has changed the entire political landscape of that state.

3. #3 by ReformMalaysia on Friday, 23 May 2008 - 3:27 am

This is the inherent problem in a parliament when the SPEAKER post is held by a non-neutral person(in this case -from ruling party- BARISAN NASIONAL).

Motions that all not `Barisan Nasional interest-friendly ‘ would be rejected as irrelevant.

We should have a Dewan Rakyat Speaker which can act similar to a judge in a court of law…. but even the courts in Malaysia neutrality at times are questionable (probably contributed by the ‘correct…. correct! correct ! correct!! scandal or the like scandals )

4. #4 by undergrad2 on Friday, 23 May 2008 - 3:29 am

“Without doubt this is No 1 issue with Sabahans and they don’t need Uncle Kit to do the fighting for them. They are proud people who know how to extract concessions from the Federal govt this time. Don’t believe me ? Go and read Sabah newspapers.” killer

Are we seeing the begining of a movement – the Sabah Liberation Front Movement with limkamput (a peninsular Malaysian) as its chairman??

5. #5 by isahbiazhar on Friday, 23 May 2008 - 4:38 am

I was pessimistic all the time.The Sabahans themselves must be serious if not nothing can be done.Mr Lim was brushed aside as the issue was not pressing at this moment of time.Sabahans want to extract as much as possible from Abdullah before taking arms against him.We have to be patient and see what is their next move.Even Mahathir is feeling low because his action had not resulted in any catastrophic effect.Sabahans have a choice while UMNO has none.Abdullah must survive and so he will uplift them.Watch and see!

6. #6 by clearwater on Friday, 23 May 2008 - 5:22 am

I’m not surprised. It’s not the opportune time to bring up the illegals issue. The BN members of parliament from Sabah are not yet ready to revolt and support you in any event. Try again at another time when they are.

7. #7 by ADAM YONG IBNI ABDULLAH on Friday, 23 May 2008 - 5:59 am

dear killer,

Seriously, I believe you owe Yb Lim Kit Siang an Apology.

If you are truly committed to your principles of the root cause of the “legalised immigrants”, you should support anyones’ effort to bare all the truth in Project IC.

I was already in Sabah since Datuk Harris Salleh’s time, and Sabahans are always wary of what West Malaysian are doing to their State. I needed a work permit to work in Sabah, whereas, Sabahans do not need one to work in Peninsula Malaysia. This was an agreed terms in joining Negara Malaysia. I am not complaining.

killer,
    You are a commoner who love Sabah so much, and would dread to see the state filled with ‘approved aliens’ , you should join in to support YB Lim or any other bodies that can raise this issue in Parliament. Do you know why YB Pairin Kitingan (PBS) form an alliance with BN ? i know. Do you know why the rotation of chief minister was initiated in Sabah ? i know. Do you know why LDP was the last Non Bumi Cm of Sabah ? i know.

I will support ANY MPs from the State of Sabah to move a motion for a RCI on the illegal immigrant. but so far none did that. It is like what mca, gerakan, mic were claiming to be doing for those they represented. (within the three walls of bn) all these years. Till one came out as an expired beggar after two decades. I dont think you have that much time my dear “killer” to wait another two decades .

thank you.

8. #8 by ADAM YONG IBNI ABDULLAH on Friday, 23 May 2008 - 6:09 am

YB Lim,

There will be another day. Next friday is Harvest Festival in Sabah. so maybe, you can try again next week .

9. #9 by kerishamuddinitis on Friday, 23 May 2008 - 6:21 am

Wahlaueh, Adam Yong knows more than KILLER! And Adam was so much more even in tone than KILLER’S ‘How the hell would I know” outburst. Killer’s ‘concern’ is just like the BN-type; ‘concerned’ but nothing concrete is done. If it does get done, there’s a money-spinning machine somewhere in there.

Go, Killer, go…

10. #10 by Malaysian on Friday, 23 May 2008 - 8:02 am

YB Lim

As expected, Kiandee who is the UMNO Beluran MP will take whatever way to sabotage your motion. No UMNO politicians will support any move to tackle this issue as they are only beneficially from the Project IC. Instead you should challange Yong Teck Lee to ask his party two MPs (Sepanggar and Tawau) to table a motion top set up a RIC on the illegal immigrants issue in Sabah. If he really has balls. SAPP should not only talk in the press to satisfy thier supporter. Yong Teck Lee should also guide them how to table a motion as I doubt both of them know how to table a motion in Parliament UPko is useless as thier MPs i.e. Dompok(Minister in PM dept), Mojigoh and Bumburing (deadwood who replaced Tangau in Tuaran) are not interested in this issue anymore.

11. #11 by devilmaster on Friday, 23 May 2008 - 8:44 am

ADAM YONG IBNI ABDULLAH Says:
    dear killer,
    Seriously, I believe you owe Yb Lim Kit Siang an Apology.

Last time when he was using the handle “RealWorld”, he wrongly accused me of calling Malaysia as Bodohland, whereas i only called Malaysia as Bolehland. He still owe me an apology until now. Ketuanan Melayu mentality only allows apology to be accepted but not apologizing to others. So many years of living under the cruthes and feeding like a parasite, one ends up losing his own ethics.

Glocal Malays(according to the Altantuya murderer) kononnya. Cant even compete with your own local counterparts, and yet want to take on the globalized world :lol:

12. #12 by taiking on Friday, 23 May 2008 - 8:45 am

Undergrad made a valid point.
    Obviously, the cowboys are afraid of the aliens in sabah.
    So uncle kit, shift your position a little.
    Widen the issue to cover all aliens in the country.
    Then try again in parliament.
    Sabahan MPs, what have You guys got to say?
    And Sabahans, what have You guys got to say?
    My say? BN is beyond salvage.
    Just jump.
    Right NOW.

13. #13 by robert wong on Friday, 23 May 2008 - 8:49 am

Dear Mr Donald Kiandee , I guess you have betrayed your KDN race especially “SUNGEI” race. I guess you would only feel the pinch when you or your family were to be robbed or hurt by the illegals. Because of self-interest you have done an utmost disgrace to all your genuine Sabahan.
    The LORD will watch over every move you make.

14. #14 by robert wong on Friday, 23 May 2008 - 9:00 am

Dear Mr Ronald Kiandee, one fine day, please come to Tawau and have a close look, illegals are building their “Second Homes” on government lands right infront of the federal and state governments departments’ quarters !! Mind you also , they received free cukai pintu, electricity and water as well.
    Are those federal or state governments’ officers blinded or they are the one who so generous and sympathise to their “sepupu”.

15. #15 by seage on Friday, 23 May 2008 - 9:20 am

If one is a turkey among a group of eagles, they will divulge their real identity when they let out a gobble. That much I can say abt our how-do-i-know ala Nazri styled Killer.

“You might have missed, but WE actually do have reps from Sabah in the Parliament too and I would assume they know what is important for their state better than you, me or Uncle Kit.”. [Killer]

Notice the “WE” in his statement? Who is the “WE”? The Sabahan? Us? Who? Turkeys? When Killer respond to this later, it can qualify for another joke of the day.

“Without doubt this is No 1 issue with Sabahans and they don’t need Uncle Kit to do the fighting for them. They are proud people who know how to extract concessions from the Federal govt this time.” [Killer]

HAHAHAHAHA!!!! Another joke of the day. Priceless! Note the word “Sabahan” and “they” being used as synonim. The one million dollar or ringgit question:

Does the term Sabahan equates to (A) All the original ppl who lived in Sabah 30yrs ago, (B) All the immigrants under project IC (C) All of the Above?

Suddenly Killer can represent the Sabahan. Way to go Killer! At last you are speaking out for the “Sabahan”! Come, let us toast!

16. #16 by oknyua on Friday, 23 May 2008 - 9:33 am

Aha.. killer made this thread interesting.

To show respect for Sabahans, yes, I have some very close friends from Sandakan, Tawau, Inanam, and of course KK. You profess to have worked, and employed them, but the group your associated with could be homogenously pro establishment that had one way or another been the receivers of handouts from the administration. This is my guess only, ok.

But my friends are the lorry drivers, mechanics, carpenters, construction workers, matel employees, security guards etc. And why are the unskilled here in W Malaysia? You think about it. Motor Mechanic Ujang (Kadazan) said, “Kalau gaji separuh ada, besok pun saya balik ke kampung.” Usof (Malay) said, “Sana susah, boss, mau cari makan macam ini mana dapat?”

Don’t believe me, check AirAsia flights from 1st May to 30th May.

17. #17 by limkamput on Friday, 23 May 2008 - 9:42 am

Are we seeing the begining of a movement – the Sabah Liberation Front Movement with limkamput (a peninsular Malaysian) as its chairman??

Dear Mr Undergrad2, I don’t what is your motive with regard to Sabah Liberation Front Movement. Obviously that is NOT what we are talking about here. You are an expert in law, so be careful of you are saying.

However, if you want to know about the devastating impact of foreign workers in Malaysia, may be I can give you a piece on the “Economics of Foreign Workers”. Unlike Killer who claims he is an expert but actually not, I am not an expert but actually I am, hahaha. Sorry, it is just a joke.

18. #18 by RitchieLow on Friday, 23 May 2008 - 9:44 am

Hope the problem is addressed soon before the Sabahans take matters into their own hands like what is currently unfolding in South Africa. That wouldn’t be Malaysian like, would it ?

19. #19 by limkamput on Friday, 23 May 2008 - 10:10 am

Undergrad2,
    I think we must hold true to what we believe. If we agree with an issue, we agree. If we disagree, then we disagree. To say that we all think alike on the illegal immigrants issue is not fair. It is obviously clear to most that the problem in Sabah needs resolution fast, one way or another. Killer is just talking nonsense, paid for by vested interest groups perhaps.

Please don’t say we are mere “yes men” to Sdr Kit. I hope you have read my posts with regard to election of deputy speakers and how at least 17 PK MPs have shown to be “bodoh sombong”. I took off my glove, you remember? And I am still waiting for the declaration of assets by all the PK controlled states. Why still nothing happens? Do they need Federation Government’s approval for doing that? One more, if you want to read the stupid statements made by Elizabeth Wong, the State Exco for Environment of Selangor, please go here: limkamput – nincompoop.blogspot.com

20. #20 by Saint on Friday, 23 May 2008 - 10:17 am

Yes, Saudara Kit, we are all disappointed, but as said in my previous post; the motion will not go through. UMNO (and BN) cannot and just do not want to learn. We have to understand this and prepare our strategies accordingly.

21. #21 by Godfather on Friday, 23 May 2008 - 10:45 am

Killer, the UMNO mouthpiece, has the typical Barisan Nasional response:

“I know what the problem is, but I’m not telling. All we can say is that the problem is bigger than anyone thought, and we need more time. We don’t welcome solutions from the Opposition. Anything that the Opposition proposes, we will shoot the motion down first. We will call it irrelevant or simply not urgent. Case closed.”

The rakyat has to rise up and vote these clowns out of office for good. Incompetence begets incompetence.

22. #22 by sheriff singh on Friday, 23 May 2008 - 10:57 am

When you sit on the Speaker’s chair, you get possessed by the “Its specific, of public interest but not urgent” syndrome started and suffered by the previous occupants.

Add to that the “irrelevant” variant now. I tell you that chair needs to be exorcised before it affects its occupants.

Kiandee is merely protecting his Sabahan MPs and friends in high places. Many of them could be illegals too and don’t want to be found out and deported. Its a good life there. Anybody checked their papers?

There was a case some years ago of a Tawau town councillor who served for 22 long years before he was found out to be an illegal with forged documents.

Then Nur Misauri, the muslim rebel from the southern Philippines, was seen using KK airport frequently on his many overseas trips to Libya and mid-east. See how easy it is in the Land of the Wind?

Illegals go to Keningau and the interior for a while, then emerge and make their way to the nearest registration department and claim you just emerged from the forests and is indeed a Malaysian citizen. They will help you get your papers pronto. These days the process is even shorter, from the boat directly to the office.

Its sooo easy to be a bumiputra in Sabah. Why, even Pakistanis, Afghans, Pashtuns etc are living and working everywhere in KK. And parts of KK is more Filipino than Mindanao. Come and visit and get your papers done at the same time. The airlines are offerening free seats.

23. #23 by Godfather on Friday, 23 May 2008 - 10:59 am

Limkamput:

How about stupid statements made by Jeffooi in his blog ? Laughable but that guy brooks no dissent. He will have you blacklisted on his blog if you dare criticise him. At least here, Kit is magnanimous in allowing an UMNOputra to air his views.

24. #24 by Godfather on Friday, 23 May 2008 - 11:01 am

Talking about unfair reporting, it happens on Opposition blogs too. If you read Jeff Ooi’s blog, he kisses … Tony Fernandez until his nose was brown, and a few days later, it was reported in the Star that AirAsia actually owes MAHB RM110 million from 2002 ! Was that reported by the brown-noser Jeff Ooi ? Noooooo…

25. #25 by limkamput on Friday, 23 May 2008 - 11:09 am

Godfather, I rarely visit other sites. What about? Once I did a post in Tony’s site, but it was not published immediately. They need filtering I guess.

26. #26 by Godfather on Friday, 23 May 2008 - 11:14 am

Try going through this mutual admiration society….

http://www.jeffooi.com/2008/05/let_them_fight_consumers_will.php#comments

27. #27 by Godfather on Friday, 23 May 2008 - 11:17 am

Anyway, let’s not digress from our Killer-bashing mode…..

28. #28 by limkamput on Friday, 23 May 2008 - 11:18 am

i guess it is everywhere. We have showmen/women in PK too, for sure.

29. #29 by Killer on Friday, 23 May 2008 - 11:56 am

Datuk Anifah Aman (BN – Kimanis), who had been one of the Sabahans to speak out, said they would file their own motion.

“We do not want … others to say it for us. We will put in our own motion. Ipoh Timur’s proposal for a Royal Commission would not have been what we wanted. Nobody loves Sabah as much as we do,” he said.

30. #30 by oknyua on Friday, 23 May 2008 - 11:57 am

The rakyat has to rise up and vote these clowns out of office for good. Incompetence begets incompetence.]] Godfather

That is the big problem. The voters are illegal foreigners who outvoted citizens.

So back to my argument – the BN MPs’ sincerity in the solution when the solution means killing themselves.

31. #31 by Killer on Friday, 23 May 2008 - 11:59 am

Kalabakan MP Datuk Abdul Ghapur Salled said – royal commission was not necessary.

Yong Tek Lee said – although not an MP himself, he would make a commitment after studying Lims motion

Pensiangan MP Tan Sri Joseph Kurup said – “what we want is action. There is no point for a commission if it ends up just another toothless tiger”

32. #32 by oknyua on Friday, 23 May 2008 - 12:07 pm

So, it pure political, right killer?

33. #33 by Killer on Friday, 23 May 2008 - 12:21 pm

Folks

Now you would have realised what I had been telling before. These Sabahans want RESULTS. And they are more than capable of taking care of Sabah’s interests than leaving to a political opportunist from Semenanjung. If want RIC, they will do it themselves. Please give them some respect and due credit.

34. #34 by Killer on Friday, 23 May 2008 - 12:23 pm

So folks for all your arguments and personal attacks, all your comments look made to silly after the abjact failure of the motion and the comments by Sabahan reps.

35. #35 by cheng on soo on Friday, 23 May 2008 - 12:33 pm

If uncle LKS do not start this issue, anybody expect all those BN Sabah MPs would suddenly be concern on this issue??
    OR any BN Sabah MP suddenly want result??

So who is / are political opportunist?? Would think none other than present BN Sabah MPs (as this problem is at least 15 years old oledi !! All those BN Sabah MP had at least sleep that long on this !!) fit this name.

This is someone’s outdated idea, i.e.,
    Only BN Sabahan MP should care about Sabah problem, no other Msian should care??
    Only BN Sarawak MP should care for sarawakian
    Only UMNO MP should care for Malay Msian ??
    Only MCA MP should care for Chinese Msian ??
    Only MIC MP should care for Indian Msian & so on
    Since wgen is “caring for” various Msia problems bcome “patented right” of certain parties??

Who is not giving who due credit & respect ??

36. #36 by oknyua on Friday, 23 May 2008 - 12:35 pm

Killer, don’t jump the gun yet. Lets wait and see if Anifah, Yong teck Lee, Pairin et al make good their words.

Don’t forget Anifah was D Minister last term. Yong Teck Lee was CM. Ghapur, I don’t have to say anything at all. You know him. But don’t let the people wait too long. Give them one year?

37. #37 by cheng on soo on Friday, 23 May 2008 - 12:35 pm

sorry typing error, Should be “Since when is….”

38. #38 by tswern on Friday, 23 May 2008 - 12:46 pm

BN Sabah MP’s do not have any back bone.

Uncle Kit, don’t give up!

39. #39 by Zeroshit on Friday, 23 May 2008 - 12:47 pm

I will never forgive Ronald Kiandee for doing this. For the Sabah MPs who wanted to vote against this motion, you must be relieved but its not over yet. We still view u as traitors. We dont even view u as Sabahans anymore. Just proves that Sabah has become a mere puppet state just like Manchukuo. We will not let this pass. You and Kiandee will get what u deserve from the Sabahan people no less. Just u wait.

40. #40 by limkamput on Friday, 23 May 2008 - 12:51 pm

The bloody posterior is talking again. If MPs from Sabah are sincere and capable of solving problems, the illegal immigrants issue would have become so acute today. One more thing, please don’t think illegal immigrants are just Sabah’s problem. If they can get the blue ICs there, they can come here, am I right, POSTERIOR? You are just a good for nothing “pua tang sai”.

May I remind all the spineless MPs from Sabah – you don’t have the sole prerogative to solve the illegal immigration issue in Sabah! Good for nothing A**es, and yet want to talk so big.

41. #41 by limkamput on Friday, 23 May 2008 - 12:53 pm

sorry post again, mistakes above.

The bloody posterior is talking again. If MPs from Sabah are sincere and capable of solving problems, the illegal immigrants issue would NOT have become so acute today. One more thing, please don’t think illegal immigrants are just Sabah’s problem. If they can get the blue ICs there, they can come here, am I right, POSTERIOR? You are just a good for nothing “pua tang sai”.

May I remind all the spineless MPs from Sabah – you don’t have the sole prerogative to solve the illegal immigration issue in Sabah! Good for nothing A**es, and yet want to talk so big.

42. #42 by Zeroshit on Friday, 23 May 2008 - 12:54 pm

So Sabahan ppl, I hope this revelation would be enough tell us that Barisan Nasional is NOT FOR SABAH. All the tough talk recently by Ghapur, Yong Teck Lee, Marcus Mojigoh, Dompok, etc, in the end becomes mere empty talk. Pakatan Rakyat is our only choice!

43. #43 by cheng on soo on Friday, 23 May 2008 - 1:06 pm

Those who said / think only BN Sabah MP should care / about Sabah problems is comparable to the ideas of Myanmar Junta, i.e. only Myanmar Junta should care / do the relief works for Myanmar cyclone victims !!

44. #44 by Zeroshit on Friday, 23 May 2008 - 1:18 pm

Killer,

What “Sabahans” are you talking about? Sabahan MPs or Sabahan people? I assume u mean Sabahan MPs. When you say Sabahan MPs are more than capable than taking care of itself. U are right! They only know how to take care of their own personal interest, but not Sabahan interest. So in this circumstance, we need other Malaysian (no need to be Sabahan) to take care of Sabahan interest. The MPs have made a blunder for not taking this motion seriously. Stupiduty at the highest order. Sabahan MPs can piss off.

45. #45 by novice101 on Friday, 23 May 2008 - 1:22 pm

LKS – care to comment on the words and actions of Wan Azizah Wan Ismail and Nik Aziz, Both openly invited mahathir to join their parties.

Why does the DAP keeping ‘its elegance slience’ on this???

46. #46 by Killer on Friday, 23 May 2008 - 2:06 pm

Ok folks

Confession time.

To begin with (I have to disagree with Jeffrey here) I thought this motion was oxymoronic. Though on the paper it looked as though Kit was hitting three birds with one stone (to blacken BN’s name, to show solidarity with Sabah and split the BN loyaty of Sabah reps) but only the naive (there are many here unfortunately) would believe this would work in the world of realpolitik. I did not comment on this to led Uncle Kit try and fall flat on his face.

You want to know why ?

If this motion is supported by Sabah BN, it would be akin to a political Harakiri. Why ?

It would show that Sabah BN MPs failed to do their duties and it has taken someone from Seberang to highlight it. These MPs would never allow Kit to steal their thunder.

Secondly supporting the motion would mean a betrayal of the BN spirit and would incur the wrath of AAB and national leadership.

Thirdly, it would allow DAP to exploit it to score a propaganda victory that would backfire in the coming days, weeks and month.

And finally, supporting the motion would mean endorsing DAP’s policies and it would put DAP in a stronger position with Sabahans. DAP would be able to capitalize it in the next state elections and GE.

My guess is the reason for “killing” the motion is to deprive the publicity that DAP might enjoy in Sabah due to this motion, irrespective if the Sabah MPs support it or otherwise.

I am surprised that someone as experienced and smart as Kit failed to think through carefully and let him be outmaneuvered by these Sabah MPs. I think Kit is losing his touch. First he allowed KJ to kick his rear and then this.

47. #47 by i_love_malaysia on Friday, 23 May 2008 - 2:17 pm

YB, it is expected, I’m sad too for those in power and authority were not exercising what they supposed to do. Our beloved country will be filled with legallised immigrants in no time!!! Our country will be the most “open” country in the world for welcoming immigrants of its own kind which belongs to the supreme race!!!

48. #48 by lchk on Friday, 23 May 2008 - 2:20 pm

Killer posted:

“I am surprised that someone as experienced and smart as Kit failed to think through carefully and let him be outmaneuvered by these Sabah MPs. I think Kit is losing his touch. First he allowed KJ to kick his rear and then this.”

The only manuevering exists in your own addled mind. The only one who thinks KJ and the Sabahan MPs are being victorious over Kit is you and no one else – except perhaps your UMNO political masters.

By rejecting the motion, the pressure is on the Sabah BN MPs to sort out the illegal immigrant mess starting from the time they rejected the motion.

Trust Kit and some others to bring this matter up if it doesn’t get sorted out in due time. Not that I am expecting it to be sorted out anyway as evidenced by the “Project IC” of the past two decades in Sabah.

49. #49 by i_love_malaysia on Friday, 23 May 2008 - 2:21 pm

Time to pray for our beloved country, so that it will not fall into the hands of the evil ones!!!

50. #50 by limkamput on Friday, 23 May 2008 - 2:24 pm

Talking about naivety, has it even occurred to you (yes you, the Posterior) that Sdr Lim foresaw that (i) the motion will be rejected by the speaker or (ii) the motion will not be supported by the MPs from Sabah even if the speaker allowed it. It is obvious you can’t see this. Look, you are more stupid than I thought.