Motion to establish RCI on Sabah illegal immigrants sabotaged

The amendment motion in Parliament to establish a Royal Commission of Inquiry to realize the three-decade dream of the people of Sabah to end their nightmare of the long-standing problem of illegal immigrants in the state was sabotaged when it was disallowed on the most flippant and unacceptable of grounds.

I had sought to move the amendment to the Motion of Thanks in Parliament by proposing the establishment of a Royal Commission of Inquiry into the illegal immigrant problem in Sabah at the end of the winding-up speeches by all the Ministers, which was about 6.30 p.m., but the Deputy Speaker Ronald Kiandee disallowed it on the ground that it was irrelevant.

How could the long-standing and intractable 30-year problem of illegal immigrants in Sabah be irrelevant to what should be the policy concerns of the Federal government for the next 12 months – which in a nutshell is what the Royal Address is all about.

I had previously moved an amendment to a Motion of Thanks for the Royal Address which is the conventional and acceptable practice in all Commonwealth Parliaments as it is an opportunity for a policy debate and resolution – but the Malaysian Parliament is regressing backwards instead of striking forward to become a First-World Parliament.

I feel sad at the shocking disallowance of the amending motion for it also sends out the message that after 30 years, the primary concern of Sabahans – the problem of illegal immigrants in Sabah – is still not taken seriously at the national level and merely treated as a peripheral issue!

Print Friendly

1. #1 by i_love_malaysia on Friday, 23 May 2008 - 2:28 pm

When every human action fails, God offers hope!!! even communist China is talking about looking to heaven i.e. God, when earthquake hit Sichuan!!!

2. #2 by lchk on Friday, 23 May 2008 - 2:29 pm

Killer posted:

“Now you would have realised what I had been telling before. These Sabahans want RESULTS. And they are more than capable of taking care of Sabah’s interests than leaving to a political opportunist from Semenanjung. If want RIC, they will do it themselves. Please give them some respect and due credit.”

Sabah is part of Malaysia.

It is a Malaysian problem.

Illegal immigrants entering via Sabah or into any other Malaysian state is a problem for Malaysia.

Give RESPECT to Malaysians helping fellow Malaysians and stop calling for divisive policies of segmenting Malaysians by state and by ethnicity.

3. #3 by Zeroshit on Friday, 23 May 2008 - 2:43 pm

Well Anifah said he would table a motion himself. Me and many other Sabahans will be waiting anxiously. God willing.

4. #4 by Zeroshit on Friday, 23 May 2008 - 2:47 pm

Killer, does not the voice of common Sabahan mean anything to you? U only seem to be interested in politics and political survival. What about community interest and welfare? The Sabahan MPs had all the time in the world to do this, but they failed. Sekarang baru dia mau buat bising. Tapi tindakan tiada!

5. #5 by helpless on Friday, 23 May 2008 - 3:00 pm

What happened?

Over the years, those immigrants were probably be part of the society in day-to-day working life.

Knowing that is a sensitive issue, we fear MP from Sabah & Sarawak might selfishly consider their own interest rather than supporting the motion.

6. #6 by seage on Friday, 23 May 2008 - 3:18 pm

Killer, the points that you have just raised, I have already posted in the previous thread. Say something original. If someone as raw as me can foresee the picture, I am sure YB LKS had seen it coming. Don’t act like you know all when you don’t (as per your claim earlier) and don’t act like you know nothing (as per your earlier demonstration too). The blog is not filled w buffoons like Bo Nao. Let those that have eyes see and those with ear hears and those discerning discerns. The MPs from Sabah are in hot waters regardless of their claim as the rakyat can see what they r doing and more so the Sabahan.

7. #7 by Damocles on Friday, 23 May 2008 - 3:55 pm

All arguments are futile.
    Just boot the BN out as soon as possible.

8. #8 by novice101 on Friday, 23 May 2008 - 4:30 pm

LKS – care to comment on the words and actions of Wan Azizah Wan Ismail and Nik Aziz, Both openly invited mahathir to join their parties.

Why is DAP keeping ‘its elegance slience’ on this???

9. #9 by badak on Friday, 23 May 2008 - 4:38 pm

We call ourself East and West Malaysian,We call ourself Johorians,Orang Ipoh,orang Negeri Sembilan and many more. We call ourself , Chiness ,malay ,Indians ,Eurasians.We say we are Bumiputras none Bumiputras,But when we are overseas, we tell every one we meet we are Malaysians.
    When we are in our own country ,It is wrong for a Muslim to enter a CHURCH OR OTHER HOUSE OF WORSHIPS.But when we travel overseas, there is no problem Visiting thier CHURCHES OR thier houses of WORSHIPS.

10. #10 by Vidya Young on Friday, 23 May 2008 - 4:40 pm

Killer Says:

Yesterday at 11: 56.12 (3 hours ago)
    “Datuk Anifah Aman (BN – Kimanis), who had been one of the Sabahans to speak out, said they would file their own motion. We do not want … others to say it for us. We will put in our own motion. Ipoh Timur’s proposal for a Royal Commission would not have been what we wanted. Nobody loves Sabah as much as we do.”

================================================
    To Killer
    There you go again, Mr “Know-All”, “Mr Concerned”. How long is it going to take Sabahans to file “their own motion”? Another 30 years? Ya, ya, ya, we have heard it all. Datuk Anifah Aman is just another BN politician, filling up his coffers in the interim.

If Sabahans are incapable of sanitizing their ‘homes’, then at least be modest enough to allow someone highly capable and genuinely concerned to do it instead!

Could it be that they are complacent to live in a £$%-hole?

11. #11 by cheng on soo on Friday, 23 May 2008 - 6:31 pm

Someone who think / commented, only BN Sabah MP should care about this problem??

If one day this “someone” is sick, Will he / she insist only a doctor of his / her race from his home state / town / city / kampong can understand him / her and treat him / her accordingly. No other Msian doctor should treat him / her??

Is this ‘someone’ same as Myanmar Junta??

Do BN Sabah MP also insist, only poilcemen / soldiers of Sabah origin should defence Sabah or take part in any exercise to check on or deport illegals ??

If like that, Will these Sabah MP consider for independent and form the NEGARA SABAH BAWAH BAYU !

12. #12 by undergrad2 on Friday, 23 May 2008 - 6:46 pm

“Please don’t say we are mere “yes men” to Sdr Kit.” limkamput

Let’s not mislead readers into thinking that I did.

13. #13 by myint3 on Friday, 23 May 2008 - 7:25 pm

Most of the Sabah MPs who are now voicing their demands for redress on this issue were the ones who were directly involved in letting UMNO having a foothold in Sabah. They sold their constituents to the highest bidder. There used to be some semblance of “self autonomy”(these term is loosely used here) during the PBS era. Remember, under Pairin, Sabah managed to resist the courtship of BN for four consecutive elections. Until the last one, where PBS won but the state government crumbled when MPs who won under the PBS flag leaped frog to BN.

So forgive us Sabahans for doubting these BN MPs/politicians now. Although we welcome their recent boldness in demanding this and that from the federal government but one can’t stop having a nagging feeling behind one’s head that they were the ones who pimped us out to BN in the first place. One must add that UMNO is the biggest pimp of Malaysians. They are the head pimp amongst all the other BN components.

Are they(Sabah BN MPs) doing all this now with genuine concern for the interest of Sabahans or are they simply putting pressure to gain political favour or mileage from the federal government?

Even Pairin, the so called Huguon Siou, poster child of Sabah democracy during the 80s is a shadow of himself these days.

Sorry lah, Sabah BN MPs. What result are you talking about? You are part of the problem. Step aside. You say you love Sabah more than anyone else, you mean you love Sabah’s money. You should be ashamed of yourself that a West Malaysian has to champion for Sabah’s rights, an opposition one at that. Malu kan. That’s why you keep quiet about the motion lah.

You pimped us, allow us to be plundered and raped, molested, drugged ….

14. #14 by kerishamuddinitis on Friday, 23 May 2008 - 10:59 pm

Yo, all Sabahans reading this, KILLER posted above that you guys do not want others speaking up for you. OK, that’s a fair statement. Now, will you SPEAK UP for yourselves?

Your Sabahan MP’s said Sabahans can do this for yourselves. They also said ‘no need for RCI, we want action’!

So, will you now speak up and address KILLER so that he knows what you think. I am not sure how many of the writers here are Pen Malaysians, but what is needed now is a deluge of responses to Killer’s opinion that Kit should leave it to Sabahans to solve Sabah’s problems.

Will you?

And if and when you do, would you also kindly write to all the Sabah MPs who litrerally told Kit to his face not to waste time fighting for Sabahans.

15. #15 by best4rakyat on Friday, 23 May 2008 - 11:42 pm

Till today……petroleum price already reaching at about us $135! Moreover, our many potential Malaysian students with good grade in Cambridge “A-Level” not STPM couldn’t get acceptance of a place in local (public) Universities instead are being offered places with “good recognition even in NUS of Singapore or overseas. Problem is not only need to travel far away but financially too because many are from the hardcore poor family!
    Why!why!why! as have been asked about by many parents and of course this should be part of many plan about for a developing nation in education too.
    Keep it up and suppose all good MPs can see many reasons behind every weak systems in our country. It is only whether they sincerely wish to see good future of our young Malaysian!
    Keep it up if it is a positive motion.

16. #16 by Killer on Saturday, 24 May 2008 - 12:09 am

Yo folks

Aren’t we forgetting the simple fact that these Sabah BNs were elected by the Sabahan themselves in the GE and the state elections ? If these MPs have failed Sabah or failed to represent the best interest of the state, they would have been booted out.

While I have my personal opinion about the issue, how the Sabahan want this issue best handled is up to them. Suggesting otherwise is showing disrespect to these proud people.

It never ceases to amuse and amaze that people who never even heard of or bothered about Sabah just few days ago (these people shall remain nameless for the sake of politeness) have suddenly become rabid defender of Sabah’s interest, shedding tears and keying away furiously posts after posts in this blog.

Well, I never claimed to represent Sabah or know how the issue is best handled. I had been telling that Kit is just taking the Sabahan for a ride by being a political crocodile.

Well, I am not about to give the Froggies here a lecture on the origin of the problem. But I would like to caution that although Dr M was the main culprit but the root cause is very complex due to the history of Sabah / Mindanao politics. This is a very sensitive subject as some of the stuff is not in public domain so it is best to leave it at that.

My personal point is simple, tackle the illegals issue immediately. And again I would challenge some of the half-baked comments here that the inward flow is still continuing. It has stopped for the last fews years now (actually stopped during Dr M’s time). The issue now is on how to best to clean up the ones already inside Sabah.

There are some other injustices had been inflicted upon Sabahans which I hope will be reversed too. Kit has now clue on these problems and I am not about to enlighten him or the rest here. But the Sabah MPs know these problems too well and I trust they know what do best.

17. #17 by lchk on Saturday, 24 May 2008 - 12:48 am

Killer posted:

“But the Sabah MPs know these problems too well and I trust they know what do best.”

If they knew what was best, they would have flushed out the illegal immigrant problem long ago.

Also, as someone here has rightly pointed out, illegal immigrants in Sabah can move elsewhere to other parts of Malaysia which your mentally challenged brain did not comprehend.

Kit does not need you to enlighten him on anything – you are an UMNO mouthpiece hence you have nothing to contribute here except being mocked at.

18. #18 by robert wong on Saturday, 24 May 2008 - 7:53 am

All Sabah BN MPs are scum-bags , they don’t represent the majority of the genuine sabahans aspirations , they were put into power by bogust voters ie illegal immigrants who possess double nationalities. What Sabah urgently needed are new breed of young and vibrant politicians who are able to bring fresh ideas and clean politics back to Sabah . The present BN politicians are too corrupted to be called YB. The present BN YBs are not genuine to tackling the illegal immigrant issue , all they are harping is to get more political milage and projects for their cronies and themselves.

19. #19 by myint3 on Saturday, 24 May 2008 - 9:38 am

This is a report on the front page of The Daily Express(one of Sabah’s local newspaper which West Malaysians wouldn’t have access to) today:

Kota Kinabalu : The rejection of the motion for the establishment of a Royal Commission of Inquiry on Sabah Illegal Immigrants in Parlianment on Thursday is disappointing, said Parti Bersatu Sabah Supreme Council member, Dr Chong Eng Leong.

He said the motion should have been allowed and supported by the Sabah MPs because “it is not anti-Barisan Nasional nor pro Pakatan Rakyat but a matter of defending the sovereignty of Sabah within malaysia”.

In a statement, Friday, Dr Chong said the counter proposal by Datuk Anifah Aman to set up the Parliamentary Select Committee to solve Sabah Problems might not succeed(see main story).

This was based on past experience like the committee chaired by Tan Sri Bernard Dompok “when there was a directive from the higher-ups not to cooperate”, he said.

“So what guarantee can we get that the issue will be solved? We have experienced before that the Parliamentary Select Committee (on Integrity) did not work so why not just for for the Royal Commission of Inquiry(RCI),”he asked.

He said now that Sabah and Sarawak appear to be keeping the Barisan Nasional government from collapsing they should be brave enough to expose the Project IC.

“Aren’t we all patriotic to Malaysia? To solve this we need strong political will starting from the State Government, PBS has two State Cabinet members both of whom were very local (*sic*. I think type error, I think it should be vocal) when in opposition.

“Can’t they reason with(Chief Minister) Datuk Seri Musa Aman on this? What is there to hide? Then reason with the Prime Minister,” he said.

“We took part in the formation of Malaysia primarily to safeguard security and sovereignty. Who shall eb the next Prime Minister to solve Sabah’s woe if the present one is still procastinating?” he asked.

Dr Chong said just after the election Datuk Seri Abdullah Badawi had stated he had heard what the people wanted him to hear.

“Perhaps, he had heard Sabah’s voice also but his heart is not with us. The Prime Minister’s only concern is the peninsula. I don’t believe he would do anything concrete to solve this.

“We must make sure the next Prime Minister has the will to help us.” he said.

FYI, Dr Chong is not an MP but he is in PBS’s Supreme council. He is a staunch advocate against the presence of Illegal Immigrants.

He certainly did not mince his word hahaha.. Notice what he tacitly implied at the last paragraph of the report? :)

He was not one of the Katak, so he’s ok in my book. I hope he doesn’t get into too much trouble for being vocal. He even took a swipe on his boss, Datuk Pairin and Dr Yee Moh Chai. The two state cabinet Minister he mentioned.

Uncle Lim, maybe you should invite him over to DAP Sabah.

20. #20 by myint3 on Saturday, 24 May 2008 - 9:52 am

Another report in today’s The Daily Express:

Dr Chong also criticised his party Deputy President, Datuk Maximus Ongkili for not supporting the effort to resolve the problem of illegal immigrants in Sabah.

“I have reasons to believe that he was running around Sabah MPs to vote against the motion for this RCI, telling them to toe the line as if he had the clout to influence them.” he said.

Meanwhile, Parti Keadilan Rakyat (PKR) said it was shameful for any Sabahan leader who did not seek ways and opportunity to help crystallise the establishment of the RCI.

PKR Sabah deputy chief, Daniel John Jambun, said the Deputy Speaker Datuk Ronald Kiandee had failed Sabahans by likening the proposal in Parliament to establish the royal inquiry to being “disrespectful” and “unpolite” to the King.

“The least Sabahan leaders like Kiandee could do is to choose the correct words when dealing with such a disgusting perennial problem of PTI in Sabah, or else be registered as among those who stood in the way of solving this problem.

“What is so disrespectful and unpolite about getting a paragraph on PTI in the motion of thanks to the King’s speech in Parliament?,”he asked in a statement, Friday.

SO Uncle Lim and brethren in the West, the fight is on over here. Sabahans are not taking it lying down. But that doesn’t mean that we don’t welcome any help from our brethren in the West. This is family problem that involves all the brothers and sisters in this household we call Malaysia.

21. #21 by myint3 on Saturday, 24 May 2008 - 10:00 am

To kerishamuddinitis, that is Killer’s opinion and he is entitled to. I am a Sabahan and as you see in my posts here, I welcome Uncle Lim to speak up for us. As certain that Killer is not the only one to have such a stand, so it is with my stand also. There are other Sabahans like me who welcome Uncle Lim’s help.

22. #22 by humanly on Saturday, 24 May 2008 - 2:48 pm

Myint3,

Syabas, syabas. Am very proud of your spirited concern and perjuangan demi rakyat Sabah. I noted your response to my comment in another entry. Hope you are not offended by my cariculturing Sabahans as docile based on my anecdotal experience with them. Most of them have issues but dare not stand up to be counted.

I agree with your opinion on Dr Chong En Leong. It’s to Sabah loss that he never got elected to the DUN or Dewan Rakyat. A man who is not afraid of going against the tide of his party.

In one election, he stood against Yong Teck Lee in Likas. He then filed an election petition challenging the results and won. This caused Yong’s disqualification to contest.

Dr Chong’s unsuccessful stint in politics is due to his membership with the wrong parties. Cos of his character, he was never in the good book of the party’s top leadership.

It’s almost impossible for a non-BN to win Likas precisely cos of the large ‘phantom voters’ from Pulau Gaya.

Dr Chong does not speak on the platform of race but across the spectrum of Sabah interests.

23. #23 by myint3 on Saturday, 24 May 2008 - 9:09 pm

Humanly,

No offence taken, don’t worry. We hope that the components within Pakatan Rakyat can work together to bring betterment for all Malaysians.

24. #24 by i_love_malaysia on Monday, 26 May 2008 - 12:46 pm

Killer & all those who bougth the idea that only Sabahans MPs are qualified to resolve the illegal immigrants issues in Sabah should consider the following two points before continue with their arguments:-

1. Sabah MPs had been given 30 years and there’s no action and results so far. Don’t you think it is timely for others to help to resolve the problem? especially the problem is affecting all Malaysian regardless of the state where we come from.

2. The federal govn. is taking 95% of SABAH’s petrol money instead of 5% . So the federal govn. should have the duty to solve at least 95% of Sabah’s problems, this includes the illegal immigration problems.

25. #25 by rainbowseahorse on Thursday, 29 May 2008 - 11:14 am

I think we all should go through the documents pertaining to the lease of Sabah (North Borneo) from the Sultan of Sulu (lease documents of North Borneo by Charles Lee Moses, Baron Von Overbeck, the British North Borneo Chartered Company, onto being a British Crown Colony, and to being part of the Federation of Malaysia) and then decide whether it’s worth fighting for the rights of Sabah (under Malaysia). If the matter is to be taken to the ICJ and is ruled against Malaysia, as I have surmised it might, then we Sabahans should perhaps start lobbying for Sarawak to take on selective Sabah migrants into Sarawak.
    Perhaps this issue of “rightful owner of Sabah” has prompted the Federal Government to ‘tidak apa’ attitude as they know Malaysia will eventually lose Sabah to the rightful owner. If that document is authentic (at http://www.royalsulu.com), and the Malaysian government does pay an annual rent of USD1,500 to the heirs of the sultan of Sulu for Sabah, then if the case is to go to the ICJ, Malaysia will have no leg to stand on over the issue.

My fellow Sabahans, I suggest we start applying to migrate to Sarawak and leave these MPs to help run Sabah down to the level of the Southern Philippines.