Motion on RCI on illegal immigrants in Sabah – likely tomorrow

It is now 10.30 p.m.

Waiting in Parliament for the whole day – second one – for the end of the front-bench speeches in the Ministerial winding-up to move the amendment to the Motion of Thanks for the Royal Address to propose the establishment of a Royal Commission of Inquiry into the long-standing and intractable illegal immigrant problem in Sabah.

The Minister for Housing and Local Government, Ong Ka Chuan, is replying. I stood up to remark that it was all “a political sandiwara” when he replied to the MP for Kulai who is not only his brother but was the Housing and Local Government Minister (Ong Ka Ting) and should have the answers on his fingertips as the Minister responsible for the portfolio for two terms.

There are still two more Ministries before coming to the Prime Minister’s Department, which has four Ministers who should be replying individually on their respective portfolios.

Do not expect the ministerial winding-up to end by midnight – which means my amendment motion for the establishment of a RCI on the illegal immigrants in Sabah will be deferred until tomorrow.

More time for Sabahans and concerned Malaysians to contact MPs, particularly the Sabah Barisan Nasional MPs, to support the amendment motion to bring into being a Royal Commission of Inquiry to resolve the problem of illegal immigrants in Sabah and fulfil their dream of Sabahans for three decades to end their nightmare in the state.

1. #1 by cvl on Wednesday, 21 May 2008 - 11:04 pm

Emailing Sabah’s MP would be the way to get their attention and memory….perhaps our Sabahan friends care to share their fav MP e mail address or blog sites where we can register our pleas?

2. #2 by limkamput on Thursday, 22 May 2008 - 12:38 am

I think rakyat in general and Sabahans in particular are appreciative of what you are trying to do. It is a worthy motion. But I doubt BN MPs from Sabah will be supporting the motion. They have been talking loud and issuing threat recently. But I think we all know their motives – to capitalise on this window of opportunity to solicit for more lucrative positions and perks for themselves from the Federal Government. This is so sad. This should be the best time for Sabah to redeem their lost right in the Federation.

One more issue, why is PKR and PAS so quiet on this issue? Are they just “going along” or genuinely supportive of your motion?

3. #3 by Xiao He on Thursday, 22 May 2008 - 12:47 am

Mr Lim,
    too bad they try to drag on their ministerial replies.. Hope u will be able to move your amendment tomorrow..

4. #4 by Xiao He on Thursday, 22 May 2008 - 12:52 am

I’ve been checking The Star online, malaysiakini, merdekareview, your blog, and other DAP MPs’ blogs the whole night and couldn’t find any mention of your amendment in parliament.. Seems like not having a chance yet today and have to wait till tomorrow..

[Yes, the amendment motion will have to wait for today’s, i.e. Thursday, meeting. When Parliament adjourned just before midnight, the Foriegn Ministry was mid-way in winding-up, leaving the Prime Minister’s Department as last item. The winding-up should complete in the afternoon meeting, when I will move the amendment motion. Will keep all informed. – Kit]

5. #5 by Xiao He on Thursday, 22 May 2008 - 1:19 am

Yup, hope u can successfully move your amendment motion on today’s (thursday’s) afternoon.. And let us see whethe Sabah MPs have the guts to walk the talk..

6. #6 by lakilompat on Thursday, 22 May 2008 - 11:49 am

“PKR and PAS so quiet”

Becos PR have enuff support from them to boot the current BN govt. atm just pending the right time.

7. #7 by badak on Thursday, 22 May 2008 - 1:28 pm

Lets wait and see

8. #8 by year of snake on Thursday, 22 May 2008 - 5:43 pm

The MPs from Sabah is walking on a tight rope. If they don’t support your motion which is for the benefit of Sabahans there will be hell to pay when they go back to Sabah. If they support you they will be criticised by the UMNOputras for being disloyal to BN. Lets wait and see!

9. #9 by barble on Monday, 23 June 2008 - 11:11 am

datuk yong, may not be the perfect CM when he was in power but at least he knows that by doing what he is doing now its plainly for the best interest for the people of Sabah. the illegal immigrants are flocking into the state like nobody’s business and they are out numbering the locals. Soon they will get hold of Sabah like they have been trying to do for awhile now, and like the recent Pulau that has been taken by Singapore even though it clearly shows that Malaysia is the lawful owner. with our may i say honestly, STUPID AND SELF RIGHTEOUSNESS POLITICIANS soon Sabah will fall to the hands of the illegals residing there…
    the timber forest has been whipped out, no fuel royalty has ever been paid back to the people of Sabah, cost of living is high but salaries are low and all decision on the future of Sabah actually relies on the federal government. why???
    it is HIGH TIME that the new generation take the lead in this country, and the OLD generation of politicians should gracefully step down because if they don’t the current situation is going to get worse and also we new generation are who much more educated and have been leaving out of the country to know and differentiate what is wrong and what is right. Please make way for the new generation to LEAD this country and i am sure with all the exposed,knowledge and good education these people are much worthy than the OLD politicians that are bringing our country down to it worse position in the history of Malaysia. the first thing is CRIME must stop! from the MPs to the little people who are snatch thieves and road bullies… even to the nuisance MAT REMPIT!!