Fulfilment of 30-year dream of Sabahans in the hands of Sabah BN MPs

The three-decade dream of Sabahans for a Royal Commission of Inquiry on illegal immigrants in the state will be realized tomorrow if the 24 Barisan Nasional Sabah MPs join the 82 Pakatan Rakyat MPs to support the amendment to the Motion of Thanks for the establishment of such a Royal Commission.

For the past thirty years, calls for a Royal Commission of Inquiry into the illegal immigrant problem had been made in Parliament, the Sabah State Assembly as well as in the public domain but they had been totally ignored.

Now, for the first time in three decades, it is possible for such a Royal Commission of Inquiry into the long-standing and intractable problem of illegal immigrants in Sabah, which had reduced Sabahans into a minority to foreigners, to be established provided the 24 Barisan Nasional MPs from Sabah walk the talk about their concerns about this issue and support my amendment to the Motion of Thanks for the Royal Address to set up such a Royal Commission.

The support of the 24 BN MPs is all that is needed to secure the necessary majority in Parliament to direct the Cabinet to set up such a Royal Commission of Inquiry as there will be 82 Pakatan Rakyat MPs in support of the proposal.

Although the Parliament has a total of 222 MPs, I do not expect more than 200 MPs to be in Parliament during the voting, which means that with the support of 82 Pakatan Rakyat MPs together with the 24 BN Sabah MPs, there will be a majority of at least 106 votes to carry the amendment motion.

Whether a Royal Commission of Inquiry on the long-standing and intractable problem of Sabah illegal immigrants, which had turned the “land below the wind” from a paradise on earth before the sixties into quite a nightmarish land, is now completely in the hands of Sabahans, in particular the BN Sabah MPs.

The amendment motion, which was expected to come up for decision in Parliament today, will now be dealt with tomorrow as the debate on the Royal Address motion is extended till tomorrow.

1. #1 by Justicewanted on Tuesday, 20 May 2008 - 8:29 pm

Hello Sabah and Sarawak….. It is the time to walk the talk

2. #2 by ADAM YONG IBNI ABDULLAH on Tuesday, 20 May 2008 - 8:38 pm

YB Lim,

Beside the Royal Commission of Inquiry on the Sabah Illegal Immigrants, we also need the following urgent attention:-

why only 50% of the roads in Sabah is tarred?

why schools have no proper furnitures ?

why water supply to the town like kudat looks and taste like mud ?

why generator sets are required as an alternative source of electricity?

why with the largest scale of oil palm plantation in the country, the price of cooking oil cannot be cheaper?

why is there A price difference between East and West Malaysia?
    (if cost of transport is the reason, what about sabah produced item )?

thank you Yb.

3. #3 by pulau_sibu on Tuesday, 20 May 2008 - 8:54 pm

How about a commission to investigate the wealth of Taib Mahmud and the association of him and his family members in the major state projects?

4. #4 by kentutoyol on Tuesday, 20 May 2008 - 9:24 pm

Sabahans do not welcome over staying illegal immigrants what more when IC are distributed to them. But I am quite sure Sabah MPs will not support your motion. They don’t worth the people but the pockets. Sabahans are watching over them and the people power will decide their faith in the next election.

5. #5 by Saint on Tuesday, 20 May 2008 - 9:52 pm

Sorry to say this saudara Lim, you are going to loose the vote. Many of the Sabah & Sarawak MP’s are going to support you and none of the UMNO, MCA, MIC, Gerakan MP’s are going to support you either. You will get only 82 votes if ALL PR MP’s attend the session.

6. #6 by ADAM YONG IBNI ABDULLAH on Tuesday, 20 May 2008 - 9:58 pm

dear saint,

sorry to say this to you saint.
    who is the gerakan MP?

i thought Gerakan closed shop. lim keng yaik was a beggar minister and he should be operating a barber shop somewhere in semporna. !!!

i saw someone that look like him at petaling street the other day.

7. #7 by bystander on Tuesday, 20 May 2008 - 10:01 pm

How can true sabahans fulfil thier dreams even if they want to? they will be outvoted by the illegal immigrants controlled by the plundering umnoputras led by musa. true sabahans must take the bull by the horns and kick umnoputras out of sabah. same goes for sarawak. sabah and sarawak belong to the true sabahans and sarawakians and not people like musa and taib. why should sabahans and sarawakians be treated like 3rd class citizens, worse off than the non malays in the west? why take only 5% oil royalty? why not 90% since only a miniscule of it is returned as development fund? why should sabah and sarawak be dictated and controlled by umno? why not decide your own destiny?

8. #8 by milduser on Tuesday, 20 May 2008 - 10:03 pm

It’s up to them now. The ball is at their feet. Don’t point figures at others if this opportunity is by- pass. Decide wisely, NOW! They got nothing to lose except more immigrants problems if they reject the motion!

9. #9 by ADAM YONG IBNI ABDULLAH on Tuesday, 20 May 2008 - 10:05 pm

dear pulau_sibu,

The richest man in Sarawak, who owns a bank, and had a drinking session somewhere along Jalan Sultan Ismail and Tun Razak, and a police report lodged for assault.

Aca- no proof of corruption.
    PDRM- no further investigation
    AG-no further action.

10. #10 by gundam on Tuesday, 20 May 2008 - 10:08 pm

“Our children are taught in school that Sabah & Sarawak “gained independence through Malaysia”…this is what the UMNO-led Federal governments have been brainwashing us with for decades. Ask any local history academic of repute, and they will confirm that Singapore, Sabah & Sarawak were sovereign nations for a short period (independence from Britain) before they joined the Federation of Malaya (as sovereign nations) to form the Federation of Malaysia. Sabah & sarawak were hoodwinked into giving up their rights as sovereign nations to become mere states in the Federation……….reverse colonialism. How happy the Singaporeans and Bruneians of today, whose forefathers and leaders had the foresight and wisdom to leave the so-called Federation (Singapore) or not to join it at all(Brunei). ”
    – treeman1957

11. #11 by 20 Perkara on Tuesday, 20 May 2008 - 10:17 pm

24 MP BN Sabah memang bodoh kalau tidak sokong Suruhanjaya ini. Bagus pulang kampung, jangan menyibuk di Dewan Rakyat…

12. #12 by ADAM YONG IBNI ABDULLAH on Tuesday, 20 May 2008 - 10:18 pm

dear bystander,

Only with education, we can make The Nation great. Unfortunately, the Sabahans and Sarawakians poor children are made to walk miles to reach school. and the basic facilities are not even provided for. How to be politically active, if education is deprived to the natives of the Great Borneo.

Even in Peninsula Malaysia, Sabahans are discriminated. I am stating facts. This may seem disgusting, but maybe the MPs from Sabah please take note.

A Poor Sabahan lady who has a family to support back in Tenom, may command RM100.00 for an indecent job. But the West Malaysian lady comand RM150.00. No one is willing to earn a living as a prostitute, but they have children to feed and yet West Malaysian treat them differently. SAD BUT TRUE STORY. LETS NOT BE HYPOCRITE.

MPS from Sabah- dont pretend you guys are unaware.

13. #13 by drlimsc on Tuesday, 20 May 2008 - 10:20 pm

If Sabahan MPs really concern about their problem,now it is the time to do so.show to Abdullah that you guys mean it and will do any thing for the people of Sabah.

14. #14 by Godfather on Tuesday, 20 May 2008 - 10:22 pm

Pulau Sibu:

Richest family in Sarawak awards a contract for the construction of the new state assembly to a company owned by the family matriach. This company immediately subcontracts to a publicly-listed construction company for RM 67 million less for the full scope of work.

I always wondered if this company owned by the family matriach actually paid income tax on the profit derived from this deal.

Corruption ? Depends on which angle you look from, never from the point of the law.

15. #15 by Godfather on Tuesday, 20 May 2008 - 10:24 pm

But this thread is about Sabah, not Sarawak. We don’t have to look far to have a recent CM of Sabah being sued for gambling debts amounting to millions. Where did he get the money ? Certainly not from his salary. Isn’t gambling haram ? Ah, who is going to prosecute ?

16. #16 by ADAM YONG IBNI ABDULLAH on Tuesday, 20 May 2008 - 10:27 pm

dear Godfather,

in the construction industry, there is this v.o, this variation order can be anything from 10 to 20%. so not subjected to tax. so they will claim. LHDN has not the expertise to verify the vo.

17. #17 by Godfather on Tuesday, 20 May 2008 - 10:31 pm

Adam:

My understanding was that there was no VO – the scope of work between main contract and subcontract was identical. Difference apparently was project management fees, which are taxable on a net basis. You are right that LHDN has little or no expertise to verify ANYTHING.

18. #18 by Xiao He on Tuesday, 20 May 2008 - 11:21 pm

Yup, hope the Sabah MPs got the guts to support Mr Lim’s amendment to the motion of thanks in Parliament tomorrow..

Sabah MPs – it’s time for u all to walk the talk..

19. #19 by undergrad2 on Tuesday, 20 May 2008 - 11:24 pm

If you cannot garner enough votes for the setting up of this Royal Commission, then the Sabahans have only themselves to blame!

Has there ever been a bipartisan voting on an issue such as this in this country?

20. #20 by insecticide on Tuesday, 20 May 2008 - 11:34 pm

PRakyat MP please help Selangor before she becomes like Sabah condition especially places of illegal factories hiring illegal immigrants. DSAI please advise and guide Sgor MB to act fast. I think he is a bit hesitant on some issues.

21. #21 by assamlaksa on Tuesday, 20 May 2008 - 11:49 pm

if the sabahan mps support kit, they will be whipped. it is a test whether their a** is more important or the rakyat is more important.

22. #22 by undergrad2 on Wednesday, 21 May 2008 - 12:00 am

Malaysia is clearly benefiting from the influx of cheap labor from neighboring countries. The socio-economic problems associated with the influx have never been addressed e.g. poor housing, poor heath and safety standards at work, increasing crime rate due to alien criminals, drug abuse etc. It is time. The failure is that of a government which is not interested.

It is time that human rights groups speak out against the exploitation of cheap labor, about the sub-human standards with which these people have had to live under, the ill-treatment by employers, the sexual abuse etc.

The Malaysian government has a moral responsibility even though it is not a signatory to the U.N. Convention relating to the Status of Refugees and the 1967 Protocol.

The terms of reference for the Commission should be wide enough to take into consideration the many facets of this socio-economic and political issue. It is also a humanitarian issue.

23. #23 by novice101 on Wednesday, 21 May 2008 - 12:18 am

Ali Rustam reneged on his promise!

He lies to the people of Malacca. Ali Rustam, during the GE12 campaign, promised the project will be scrapped. Now the election is over, he is proceeding with the project. He cares not about the rakyat’s wish as he knows this will be his last term. This is what you get for voting for Barisan Nasional.

Those MCA candidates who stood alongside him when he made the promise to the people of Melaka, where are you now? You should stand up for the people now, or else you are equally guilty of deceit!

24. #24 by devilmaster on Wednesday, 21 May 2008 - 3:52 am

if the sabahan mps support kit, they will be whipped. it is a test whether their a** is more important or the rakyat is more important.-assamlaksa

i dont think they dare to whip the Sabahan MPs, unless they want to sit at the Opposition bloc. The racist Umno Parliamentarians Club, which will be revived soon, will be chaired by another Sabahan MP – Anifah Aman. The Sabahan MPs are calling the shots at the moment. They are jewels to Pak Helah now.

25. #25 by isahbiazhar on Wednesday, 21 May 2008 - 5:28 am

Sabahans will not join the opposition as they know by now that the government will do something.They will be promised action and they will not be cowed.Sabah is in a vital position after the election and so will be able to extract much and they will keep it that way.We should think logically as the government can turn the table at any time.Even Mahathir had to resort to something drastic and still the response is poor.He is making his own exit.Sabahans for the first time in history are treated royal.Abdullah will give in to look fair.

26. #26 by robert wong on Wednesday, 21 May 2008 - 7:07 am

If all Sabah MPS do not support the motion then these MPS will receive their hardest punishment and wrath from Sabahan in time to come. These MPS had over-eaten the durian fruit and at the same time drinking lots of beer and its fermenting time. If they don’t vomit part of them out, the consequences are severe. Beware all BN MPs.

27. #27 by Damocles on Wednesday, 21 May 2008 - 7:55 am

It’s good to see UMNO in complete disarray; even TDM has left!
    I think that king makers Sabah & Sarawak should be daring enough now to squeeze the crown jewels (balls) of the UMNOputras!
    Don’t be surprised that PR will carry the day in Parliament.

28. #28 by eagle_eyes on Wednesday, 21 May 2008 - 8:32 am

Uncle Lim,

First of all, Thank you very much of bringing up this illegal immigrant matter to the Parliment and Shame to our local Sabah MPs who were just Penakut, especially Kadazan-Dusun leader what are still Drunk with their Montaku (Local Liquor).

Our Greedy Musa Aman (Sabah Chief Minister) would be the loser if this motion materialized. Why? Lots of Plantation workers are his sources of wealth, so why he bothers to catch this illegal immigrants.

UMNO, yes UMNO needs these Illegal Immigrants to Vote for them because they were given genuine ICs! So all of Sabah BN MPs are real loser once they ignore this motion. So my advice to all Sabah MPs, dont be penakut and if you decide it right you will be proud of your decision for the rest of your life..unless your incestors are from southern Philipines and Indonesian (Which I am sure some of you are)

29. #29 by ADAM YONG IBNI ABDULLAH on Wednesday, 21 May 2008 - 8:39 am

In case the MPs from Sabah are still sleeping . Think of what RM50 millions can be used to buy computers for the classes . Think of what RM50 millions can be used to provide transport to ferry the children to schools.

AS reported in The NST and The Star today.

” VVIP Mausoleum will be built next to the National Monument in Kuala Lumpur. The Prime Minister Department plan to build 500 lots of tombs meant for vvip , each lot costing from RM50,000 to RM112,000. ”

To Yab ABdullah Badawi.
    To all the YBs from Sabah and Sarawak.

This is another waste of public fund , when one person mati, it is all over. The body just rot and decay . Why the need to spend RM50,000,000.00 to build tombstones or graves for 500 vvip. If they are vvip, they are rich enough to buy their own graveyard. Dont use raayat monies. USE THE MONEY TO SPONSOR DESERVING STUDENTS FOR THEIR TERTIARY EDUCATION.

whose stupid idea is that??( ratio 60:40 ie muslim :non muslim ).
    SHAME ON THE PRIME MINISTER’S DEPARTMENT. BUY YOUR OWN GRAVE.

30. #30 by limkamput on Wednesday, 21 May 2008 - 9:08 am

Talkng about unfettered entry of foreign labour:

This nation is addicted to foreign workers, we must face the fact. There is no political will to change it because the vested interest groups from the government to those in the private sector are simply too overwhelming for anything meaningful to emerge. If we average Malaysians can’t see our standard of living being gradually dragged down by the indiscriminate entry of foreign workers, we must be gullible fools.

Japan, Korea and even Singapore have become developed without massive influx of foreign unskilled and disease-carrying workers. There is a simple observation that I want share: Society will slowly gravitate toward what the policy dictates. For example, if we allow indiscriminate entry of foreign unskilled workers, then our society will grow to depend on them. On the other hand, if we are stringent on the entry of foreign workers, the society will also evolve and gravitate toward lesser dependence on foreign workers. There will be, for example, more automation, mechanization, working from home, flexi working hours, time off for mothers, etc. Right now, as I can see, this country will continue be inundated by foreign workers to the detriment of our social fabric and well being. The tragedy is those who lobby hard for foreign labour and those who approve the entry of foreign labour will eventually retire to the comfort of some foreign lands leaving the waste land for all of us who have no where else to go.

It is time to control the unlimited entry of foreign workers. For goodness sake, just ignore what the business people say. They are just exploiting and profiteering out of the misery of foreign workers and ordinary Malaysians. Let our GDP grows by 3% instead of 6%. It is ok. New Zealand is a good development model for us to copy – grow slowly, control population growth, attract only quality investment, build on quality human capital, preserve the environment, and maintain clean and healthy living conditions. There is no need to rush like mad dogs, for what at the end?

31. #31 by eagle_eyes on Wednesday, 21 May 2008 - 9:09 am

Joseph Pairin Kitingan..So called ‘Hero of Sabah’..Please stand up and say Something about this Motion..

32. #32 by oknyua on Wednesday, 21 May 2008 - 9:20 am

How to describe a Sabah MP?

We have real well-intended comments to post. But to be appreciated by Sabah’s (& Sarawak’s) MPs, we need to understand their stand. The only time Sabah was truly democratic was some 25 yrs ago when Pairin did a coup against Harris. Unfortunately he was the torn against Mahathir and was removed by the promise of rotating Chief Minister and the arrival of UMNO. The same (very same) people who kissed Mahathir are now asking the role of UMNO and demanded more from the federal gov’t. Even Pairin, the sworn adversary of Mahathir gave him a “pantun” on Mahathir’s last official visit to Sabah.

There are thousands of Sabahans in West Malaysia, all migrating for menial in factories, construction and many are also jobless. Ask them about their MPs and you have nothing good to hear. MPs are having millions in cash, timber land and major supply contracts. They drive big cars and own big houses. Ask about Pairin and the answer would be, “Heh, heh… did apa kira kita?” Prove me wrong by going to the nearest SIB church this Sunday; there are many Sabahans there.

What we read is one image of Sabah MPs. They are grumbling about unfair treatment and a host of other things. But the stories from the ordinary men and women portray them as greedy opportunists. Would Sabah MPs support YB Lim? I’d ask back; why should they? The welfare of the people is hardly in their mind. The illegal in the streets of KK is hardly their problem. If we hope for the 8th March tsunami to hit Sabah (& Sarawak), we can wait until cows come home.

Call the voters stupid and a list of other names, but I ask back, what option do they have? Is there an alternative when DAP and PKR cannot have an agreement for alliance? What is Jeffrey Katinggan’s (PKR) stand against DAP? Even a DAP member can be so stupid to throw eggs are YB Lim. Need we say more?

33. #33 by Dinghorse on Wednesday, 21 May 2008 - 11:06 am

YB Uncle Lim,
    Besides the illegal immigrants problem in Sabah, I hope DAP also can help us (the residents of Jalan Bundusan, Penampang) to change the “wild wild west” situation of Jalan Busdusan.
    Jalan Bundusan in Penampang area is now under construction and is supposed to complete by Oct 2008. They worked at snail speed just like “Karamunsing flyover”, the road signs infront of CKS Supermarket are misleading. If we follow the road sign from KK to Penampang, we may end up in head on collusion with another vehicle. Traffic at the road junctions infront of Beverly Hills Plaza, most drivers don’t follow traffic rules. Maybe to have temporary traffic lights to regulate the flow. After election, the BN YBs have forgotten us.

34. #34 by wag-the-dog on Wednesday, 21 May 2008 - 11:07 am

MIC Rebranding – Heading for Failure

Visit http://www.wagthedog-malaysia.blogspot.com for details.

35. #35 by alert81 on Wednesday, 21 May 2008 - 11:24 am

From the very beginning since Sabah joined the Federation of Malaysia, the state is always at the losing end! Particularly the eroding rights as stipulated in the ’20 points’. Perhaps the state may fare better given that it is still under the colonial master!

36. #36 by Zeroshit on Wednesday, 21 May 2008 - 1:58 pm

Sabah BN representatives have time and again voiced out about one of the major issues in the state: Illegal immigrants. Pairin Kitingan, Yong Teck Lee, Ghapur Salleh, etc have done their voicing out. Finally, the time has arrived to see whether these leaders actually really care about solving this issue. Tomorrow (22 May) MPs will cast their vote whether they support the setting up of the Royal Commission of Inquiry on illegal immigrants in Sabah. Call me naive or to optimistic but it is a simple matter: if the Sabahan MPs vote in favor of setting the RCI, your sincerity in serving the people of Sabah and Malaysia cannot be questioned. If they vote against the setting up of the RCI, we know you are merely making noise with no intention at all to fix the problem. You are traitors to Sabahan people and do not deserve to be where you are today. The ball is in your court.

37. #37 by dap-for-pj on Wednesday, 21 May 2008 - 2:18 pm

I do not have much knowledge of Sabah politics. I thought BN wins in Sabah because of ‘professional’ voters from neighbouring countries. If this is the case, Uncle Kit’s plan is doomed!

38. #38 by ShiokGuy on Wednesday, 21 May 2008 - 2:34 pm

OOPs..
    my comment was deleted..
    Did i said anything wrong?
    Sorry if i did.

Shiok Guy

39. #39 by pwcheng on Wednesday, 21 May 2008 - 2:37 pm

VVIP Mausoleum will be built by ADAM YONG IBNI ABDULLAH

They have to be taken care of from the womb to the tomb

40. #40 by deer on Wednesday, 21 May 2008 - 3:22 pm

Don’t expect PBS MPs like Pairin and Dr.Max to support the motion. They simply don’t have the guts and the heart to save Sabah from being overpopulated by foreigners. If they do, they would have nominated Chong En Leong to stand in Api-Api. Sabah UMNO MPs are gone case. They just lick the ass of their big brothers in Semenanjung. Until now CM Musa Aman has never uttered a word to condemn the syndicates on fake Mykads and illegals. Being a businessman, Musa’s judgements and decisions are determined by the bottom line: “dollars and cents”. To UMNO and their agents in NRD, Police, Immigration and EC, the illegal immigrants in Sabah are the “geese that lay the golden eggs”, why chase them out! The other Sabahan BN MPs have just shaken by the political tsunami in West Malaysia. Only now they start barking like “anjing gila”! But, what can toothless dogs do? Why support the opposition-led Motion and be branded as “BN trators”? Might as well keep quiet, plan their moves to go for the many billion-dollar SDC projects promised by Pak Lah. And when time is up, off they migrate to New Zealand, Canada, Australia and even South Africa!! The conclusion is, Kit Siang’s motion will only receive 1 Sabahan DAP vote. That’s how far Sabahan BN MPs “membelah nasib rakyat”! What a shame!! Don’t blame them, fellow Sabahans. Blame YOURSELF for putting BN back to power!

41. #41 by Godfather on Wednesday, 21 May 2008 - 3:42 pm

“There is no need to rush like mad dogs, for what at the end?”

Limkamput (or was it lakilompat??)

Rushing like mad dogs is to make hay while the sun shines. If there’s a lesson to be learnt from March 8, it is that time waits for no man, and the faster you can get a deal done when you are in power, when you are in control, means the difference between a life of luxury in Perth, or a life of monotony in Rembau. Who rushed to approve land conversions around March 8 ? Who rushed to transfer funds around March 8 ? These are the real mad dogs.

42. #42 by ckchung on Wednesday, 21 May 2008 - 4:07 pm

I hope the MPs will vote for the motion, because Sabahan don’t another 30 years, after 30 years Sabahan is the minority in our own land. Do something emotional like China’s people love their country, Sabahan need your vote.

43. #43 by ADAM YONG IBNI ABDULLAH on Wednesday, 21 May 2008 - 4:19 pm

pwcheng.

i cannot afford my own grave. but that is least of my worries. you see, toyol had promised me Rm2000.00 when i reach 60 and kick the bucket. that is provided i reach 60 , and that is provided toyol kept his promise. ( oophs. toyol no longer in government ) .

it matters not how you die ( and be buried ), it matters most how you live.

44. #44 by ADAM YONG IBNI ABDULLAH on Wednesday, 21 May 2008 - 4:40 pm

Mr. limkamput has to work hard for a living. Be fair to him.

lakilompat is a racist. he is a bigot.

45. #45 by i_love_malaysia on Wednesday, 21 May 2008 - 4:46 pm

Sabah & Sarawak are full of political cowboys who enrich themselves in the name of “helping” their people!!! That’s the reason why BN (Basically UMNO) is increasing the no. of MP seats in the two states even though the two only have couple of millions people. This is because they know very well that these MPs are easily controlled by them and will help them to remain in power to form the federal govn. !!! It is time for Sabah & Sarawak MPs to vote according to their conscience and not according to dollar & cents that they will get!!! God knows all your actions!!!

46. #46 by i_love_malaysia on Wednesday, 21 May 2008 - 4:50 pm

To All Sabah & Sarawak MBs & BN MPs,

What is the point of gaining the whole world but you lost your soul?

Time to vote and support the motion by LKS.

47. #47 by i_love_malaysia on Wednesday, 21 May 2008 - 4:50 pm

To All Sabah & Sarawak MPs & BN MPs,

What is the point of gaining the whole world but you lost your soul?

Time to vote and support the motion by LKS.

48. #48 by boh-liao on Wednesday, 21 May 2008 - 5:01 pm

Who owns Malaysia?

North Borneo (Sabah), Sarawak, Singapore, and Malaya agreed to come together to form Malaysia, a new nation, in September 1963. At that time, did Sabah, Sarawak, and Singapore have large numbers of Malays in their populations? Did the peoples of Sabah, Sarawak, and Singapore agree that Malays must have political dominance in the newly created Malaysia? Did the peoples of Sabah, Sarawak, and Singapore agree to subject themselves to Ketuanan Melayu?

Looking back, Singapore must thank its luck star to be given the opportunity to leave Malaysia and the clutches of Ketuanan Melayu in 1965 to chart its own destiny. The rest is history.

Sabah and Sarawak remain in Malaysia – the rest is history too. Just look at the conditions they are in today.

After 45 years of existence, Malaysian citizens from West Malaysia are still not treated as equal Malaysians in Sabah and Sarawak. However, certain groups of non-Malaysians can transform themselves into East Malaysians who have better rights than Malaysian citizens from West Malaysia.

What happened to the people, who first settled in Sabah and Sarawak, and their descendants?

49. #49 by ADAM YONG IBNI ABDULLAH on Wednesday, 21 May 2008 - 5:02 pm

are you trying to say ” what does it profits a man if he gains the whole world but suffers for the lost of his soul “.

the problem is my dear i_love_malaysia, mankind has enjoy all the material trappings of life, that they think they have no expiry date. they may think, they have time to repent, but may not.

50. #50 by ADAM YONG IBNI ABDULLAH on Wednesday, 21 May 2008 - 5:06 pm

what happened to the people , who first settld in Sabah and Sarawak and their descendants?

they were marginalised and discriminated by the like of lakilompat.

51. #51 by Killer on Wednesday, 21 May 2008 - 5:40 pm

Dear YB Kid…oops Kit,

While the motion is praiseworthy, your intentions are completely political.

If your intentions are noble and you do care for the people of Sabah/Sarawak you wouldn’t only be bringing this issue up now but years ago.

Where were you when the Sabahan were crying for RCI for years now ? This is just a politically expedient exercise.

Your are just another politician trying to take Sabahan for a ride.

52. #52 by Old.observer on Wednesday, 21 May 2008 - 5:44 pm

” VVIP Mausoleum will be built next to the National Monument in Kuala Lumpur. The Prime Minister Department plan to build 500 lots of tombs meant for vvip , each lot costing from RM50,000 to RM112,000. ” – ADAM YONG IBNI ABDULLAH

This is definitely a waste of taxpayers monies.

Why should a tomb cost RM50k?

RM112k is simply unacceptable when there are so many poor Rakyat suffering!

I’m sorry to say this but this is a stupid idea, and I oppose it!

Just imagine – Penang Chief Minister doesn’t want the State government to spend $300k to repair State’s house for his own use. Why is Federal government so quick to spend 500 x $100k = RM50 Million on the dead ???? Are the Dead worth more than the Living?

No, No, No. I refuse to accept this. And I’m sure everyone with their right mind will refuse this extravagant expenditure. They should use their own money.

Old Observer.

53. #53 by Godfather on Wednesday, 21 May 2008 - 6:00 pm

Killer:

Where was BN when the Sabahans were crying out for help ? During Mahathir’s time, I could understand that if you try to bring a motion like what Kit is proposing to Parliament, Mahathir would have you locked up under the ISA. After 5 years of Badawi, what do Sabahans have ? Zilch.

BN is nothing more than a bunch of crooks hell bent on staying in power for one purpose only. No need to elaborate on what this purpose is.

54. #54 by cheng on soo on Wednesday, 21 May 2008 - 6:09 pm

Godfather Says:

Today at 18: 00.47 (4 minutes ago)
    Killer:

Where was BN when the Sabahans were crying out for help ? During Mahathir’s t…..
    WELL SAID! this Killer is talking RUBBISH, If Kit brought this up earlier when the OPPS.. so weak, got what use??
    BN been in power for 50 years, cannot solve this??

55. #55 by novice101 on Wednesday, 21 May 2008 - 6:29 pm

Calling all Malaysians, go out and make a donation to help the cyclone-ravaged people of Myanmar and the earthquake-devastated people of Sichuan.

The accumulated good accrued will rid Malaysia of all the evil perpetrated by the evil doers. The universal law of cause and effect in action.

56. #56 by lchk on Wednesday, 21 May 2008 - 6:50 pm

Killer posted:

“If your intentions are noble and you do care for the people of Sabah/Sarawak you wouldn’t only be bringing this issue up now but years ago.”

Are you thick or what?

Kit has brought up the problem of Sabah being flooded with illegal immigrants for years!

57. #57 by orang utan on Wednesday, 21 May 2008 - 6:50 pm

Killer, Don’t be so slow to see the real problem here, Political motive or not, the point is Mr LKS is trying to raise this motion where no one of Sabah MPs dare to do so. Come on and wake up. What kind of killer are you? mosquito killer?

58. #58 by chiakchua on Wednesday, 21 May 2008 - 6:59 pm

Not only Sabah, Sarawak MPs should support the formation of RCI into the illegals, but also all MCA, Gerakan and MIC MPs. They must speak out without fear and favour for the benefit of all Malaysian! If they don’t, we know they are talking nonsense only!

59. #59 by Killer on Wednesday, 21 May 2008 - 7:12 pm

Godfather / cheng on soo /lchk

Kit was afraid to be locked up under ISA for bringing up the issue before this ? Please keep such silly and lame arguments for debating in some primary school blogs. Come to think of it, even pre-teens now are smarter than buying such idiotic reasons.

60. #60 by orang utan on Wednesday, 21 May 2008 - 7:16 pm

Killer,
    are you one of those Sabah illegal immigrants who’s already got a genuine IC?

61. #61 by Malaysian on Wednesday, 21 May 2008 - 7:38 pm

Killer, you barking at the wrong tree. Come and visit Sabah then you know how Sabah is flooded with all illegal immigrants with geniune My card. As I said before only Dr Chong En Leong Matius Tangau and SAPP (recently) raised this issue again. Where are u Umno Sabah??

62. #62 by Godfather on Wednesday, 21 May 2008 - 8:11 pm

Killer the UMNOputra:

When are you gonna stop stealing from Sabah ? Nobody said that Kit was afraid to be locked up under ISA. Average people like you and me would be, but not Kit. He’s been to Kamunting before, courtesy of your former hero, the MadMamak.

63. #63 by katdog on Wednesday, 21 May 2008 - 8:11 pm

Killer, so when would have been a good time for LKS to bring up this issue? Should he wait for when BN has got 200 seats in parliament then only bring it up? Should he never bring it up? Wait for Sabah MP’s to bring it up?

Now is the perfect time to bring the issue up. I personally don’t care what the personal motives are. So what if there are political motivations associated? Are you naive? You gonna oppose it just because of that?

What do you have to say then about the various ‘politically associated projects’ that the BN parties do? All the ‘satu lagi projek Barisan Nasional’? The UTAR,AIMST and community service centres by MCA/MIC. No political motivations whatsoever? All funded by tax payers money but claimed to be gifts from BN?

64. #64 by Godfather on Wednesday, 21 May 2008 - 8:24 pm

CEMERLANG, GEMILANG, TEMBERANG !

65. #65 by lew1328 on Wednesday, 21 May 2008 - 8:56 pm

katdog Says: Today at 20: 11.43 (33 minutes ago)
    “All the ’satu lagi projek Barisan Nasional’? ”

I just hate to see this sign all around the corner in this country. What they think they “BN” funded those project fi it’s not from “RAKYAT”

They shall change the sign to “Another Project from RAKYAT” with immediate effect.

As for the RCI, I think MP’s whose characteristic of wisdom will support this.

66. #66 by pky103 on Wednesday, 21 May 2008 - 9:06 pm

Dear YB,

– Allow me to digress but Ong Tee Keat’s rude and ad hominen responses on the ‘PKFZ’ today is unfounded and unacceptable.

– Is it possible to upload that video?

Cheers!

67. #67 by lchk on Wednesday, 21 May 2008 - 9:21 pm

Killer,

You don’t comprehend English too well, do you?

You claim that Kit has only brought up this issue now.

Kit has been highlighting the issue of illegal immigrants in Sabah for years!

But coming from you, it’s no suprise – after all, what would you expect from one who claims that a typical Malaysian has about the same quality of life as his Singapore counterpart?

68. #68 by dawsheng on Wednesday, 21 May 2008 - 9:40 pm

If those illegal immigrants are staying in Sabah because they are to earn a decent living, I think the country can accommodate them. However the problem in Sabah is not that simple, it looks like we are being invaded by alien. The situation is out of control, soon it will be chaos.

69. #69 by petestop on Wednesday, 21 May 2008 - 9:55 pm

For 50 years, we’ve been hoodwinked by BN.

The Indians have woken up with the Hindraf movement, when their temples are demolished and their equity in the country languished below 5%, and even that only concentrate in few politically connected hands.

The Chinese have always flip-flop, don’t know whether to stand up against oppression by UMNO Ultras, or try some pragmatism by working with them in BN, for fear of UMNO bathing of their keris with Chinese blood.

The Sabahan and the Sarawakians…. you wanna wait another 50 years, until your Petroleum runs out, your natural resources plundered and your country overran by illegal immigrants….??

Yet you remain in your drunken stupor, maybe impressed by Malaysia able to launch a “space tourist” into space.
    Come on, still impress with “nikit belon” ??

Don’t let the rest of Malaysian look down on you, take your destiny in your own hands !

70. #70 by Zeroshit on Wednesday, 21 May 2008 - 10:00 pm

Killer,

As a Sabahan I dont really care whether LKS was politically motivated when bringing up this issue. The fact of the matter is that the RCI should be brought up for the sake of justice and so the truth prevails. Better now than never.

71. #71 by limkamput on Wednesday, 21 May 2008 - 10:01 pm

So would the MPs from Sabah vote for Kit’s motion? I say NO, who are with me?

I say no not because the motion is not worthy. I say no because MPs from Sabah are mere loud mouths fighting for their own positions and perks. The welfare of Sabahans is never in their consideration set.

Godfather, I need your help: Get the lakilompat to change his ID to something else. Each time I come across his ID, I thought it was me and that will make my heart beats skip on beat.

Adam, I hope you are not saying I am a bigot, are you?

72. #72 by eagle_eyes on Wednesday, 21 May 2008 - 10:40 pm

K i l l e r, Don’t be so slow to see the real problem here, Political motive or not, the point is Mr LKS is trying to raise this motion where no one of Sabah MPs dare to do so.

Come on and wake up. What kind of killer are you? mosquito killer?

Are you one of those Sabah illegal immigrants who’s already got a genuine IC?

73. #73 by cvl on Wednesday, 21 May 2008 - 10:41 pm

For Sabah and Sarawak….has it crossed your mind?

I mean, the USB thingy……United States of Borneo…..could it be reasons enough ? if Borneo Island is properly seen as Muslim majority, it would be fitting enough for the declare it a nation?

Illegal migrant coming to Sabah did not and still does not make economic senses, enless for a greater glory….

Care to ponder and think about it sometimes?

74. #74 by Godfather on Wednesday, 21 May 2008 - 11:20 pm

Limkamput: We are most happy to make suggestions for your new handle if you are prepared to change yours. It is evident that lakilompat isn’t going to change his, so changing yours is the only logical option.

75. #75 by ADAM YONG IBNI ABDULLAH on Thursday, 22 May 2008 - 4:12 am

dear limkamput,

i wrote: that you have to work hard for a living. so i am praising you.

as for whatever your name,it is not important. It is how you live your life/or is prepared to change your life. I have also stated once here and in malaysiatoday, that i use my actual name in blogs post.

dear limkamput,
    your handle starts with l and end with t, spells like ,sounds like,but i am sure you are not .

have a nice day ahead.

76. #76 by kerishamuddinitis on Thursday, 22 May 2008 - 5:34 am

KILLER’s modus operandi, it seems, is to simply litter a thread with some STUPID, ILL-CONCEIVED statement that often makes a mockery of the issue in discussion, and cause writers to jump all over his statements rather than discusss the issue. Of course, he surfs the other posts and repeats this everytime, just making, almost poking fun at the writers.

That, I suppose, is why his handle is KILLER. He is simply ‘killing’ issues and ‘space.’

No-brainer job. Probably very good money.

77. #77 by lchk on Thursday, 22 May 2008 - 8:00 am

With this exposure of Killer’s UTTERLY FALSE accusation that LKS only recently brought up the issue of illegal immigrants in Sabah, I think killer will need to assume nick to continue posting here unless he likes being ridiculed and mocked everytime he writes his garbage in this blog.

78. #78 by lchk on Thursday, 22 May 2008 - 8:00 am

“assume a new nick”

79. #79 by i_love_malaysia on Thursday, 22 May 2008 - 10:41 am

Killer is just a messenger boy who may have the connection to the highest office of this land. It is good to keep him here so that whatever we discuss may be reported directly back to the master. They want to find out how people will response especially those whom they thought are going to counter their ways of working and thinking. From his posts, we will know how good is the master behind him!!! so far, my own assessment is, he should look for a new master!!!

80. #80 by i_love_malaysia on Thursday, 22 May 2008 - 10:56 am

We just need to treat Killer as an opposition member of LKS blog for his opposing views, so that people who read this blog will be exposed to both views and decide for themselves whose views and opinions are correct/practical etc. !!! Lest this blog will become a “Yes Man blog” & LKS will not be able to see other views other than his own!!!

81. #81 by lchk on Thursday, 22 May 2008 - 11:30 am

I believe Kit welcomes viewpoints from all parties, even those that are against his stance or principles.

However, I firmly believe that a line should be drawn when slander and false accusations are hurled into the mixture of postings.

For instance, Killer made two false accusations (without a shred of evidence):

1) Claiming that Kit is only now reacting to the illegal immigrant problem in Sabah instead of doing so in the past

2) Claiming that Penang DAP members are fuming at Lim Guan Eng because they did not receive handouts from the Penang State govt as rewards for the recent GE victory

82. #82 by lchk on Thursday, 22 May 2008 - 11:37 am

Believe me, if I was Kit, I would track down Killer’s IP address and if he resides in Malaysia, make an example of him in a court of law for slander and malice.

83. #83 by lakilompat on Thursday, 22 May 2008 - 11:57 am

Respond to Killer,

“If your intentions are noble and you do care for the people of Sabah/Sarawak you wouldn’t only be bringing this issue up now but years ago.”

Years ago BN 2/3 majority, Now is the time is right to grill them and return justice to the people.

Where were you when the Sabahan were crying for RCI for years now ?

YB Kit & his team was fighting to crush the 2/3 majority held by the BN goons when the Sabahan were crying for RCI for years. In fact YB Kit & his team won 5 states and managed to set foot on Johor (BN strongholds) and it also successfully to conquered one of the richest & developed city in Sabah and Sarawak.

Your are just another politician trying to take Sabahan for a ride.

They are there to restore the justice to all Malaysian, Makkal Sakti! whoever not interested go join the BN. Even Tun Dr. M quit from UMNO to show how disgusting it was.

84. #84 by lakilompat on Thursday, 22 May 2008 - 11:59 am

When the day Tun Dr. Mahathir join PR, it is the day, new govt. resume & restore order.

85. #85 by badak on Thursday, 22 May 2008 - 1:45 pm

Killer..AKA…KJ..The last 8 years UMNO has become so powerful that.It has gone to thier heads.So much so that no BN component party members dare go againts it.This UMNO leaders are so power crazy that they will do anything to stay in power

86. #86 by Jong on Thursday, 22 May 2008 - 1:57 pm

Well, on 8 March 2008, they had to pay for their arrogance. Right thinking Malaysians decided no way they can tolerate them anymore, had rejected Umno and BN. If not for EC’s help and postal votes, Pakatan Rakyat would have taken over Federal govt.

87. #87 by rainbowseahorse on Tuesday, 27 May 2008 - 11:36 am

Dear All,
    Please STOP refering to the Sabah problem as “illegal Immigrants” as it implies that these foreign immigrants are in Sabah without proper documents. There are indeed illegal foreigners living & working in Sabah without proper documents, but that’s another issue.
    Sabah REAL and VERY MUCH BIGGER PROBLEM are the economic immigrants who were issued IC, and then MyKad, and who effectively have became Constitutional BUMIPUTRAS in Sabah. In rough estimates, they numbered two to one over the real Sabahans. This is the main issue that should be addressed first and foremost over anything else. In truth, these IMPORTED BUMIPUTRAS are already in every facet of Sabah’s society and in the government which makes it that harder still to untangle.
    The problem is like a cancer to Sabah.

88. #88 by deer on Wednesday, 28 May 2008 - 5:02 pm

Don’t have to go far. A genuine economic migrant with proper work pass from East Timor spent the last 15 years working in the kebun of a local in Keningau and tried his luck to apply for a PR. He has married a local. He was told bluntly by an NRD officer in KK: “Kalau mau dapat Mykad, senang saja bah. Tapi nama kamu kena tukar dulu….”
    He refused to betray his religion, remain as Petrus and earned his livelihood with his conscience clear.

There is a religio-political dimension in the whole episode. As long as this is the hidden agenda of the Federal authorities, RCI or whatever bodies will not work.

Only the rise of PEOPLE POWER from among the Rungus, Dusun, Lotud, Murut, Kwijau, Kimaragang, Tatana, Liwan, Brunei, Bajau, Idahan, Tambonuo, Kadayan and 30 more other ethnic “Children of the Soil” (Bumiputra). You cannot depend and or trust outsiders! The sad thing is, the Sabahan Bumiputras are all fallen into the divide-and-rule scheme long time ago….!