Former Prime Minister Tun Dr. Mahathir Mohamad has challenged the government to charge him following the report of the Royal Commission of Inquiry into the Lingam Video Clip scandal.
Dare the Prime Minister, Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi, pick up the gauntlet?
This is the AFP report of Mahathir’s cdare:
Malaysia’s Mahathir challenges govt to charge him
JOHOR BAHRU, Malaysia (AFP) — Malaysia’s former prime minister Mahathir Mohamad on Saturday challenged the government to charge him for his alleged involvement in a judge-fixing scandal during his rule.
The government on Friday released a report that found evidence of an “insidious” conspiracy to influence the appointment of judges and had listed Mahathir, along with other top figures, as being involved.
Following the release of the report, Prime Minister Abdullah Ahmad Badawi’s cabinet agreed for the attorney-general’s chambers to immediately investigate the allegations against those identified in the report, including Mahathir.
“I welcome it,” the 82-year-old influential leader said at a meeting in southern Johor state.
“I want them to charge me in court. Only then will I have the opportunity to expose more conflicts faced by the judges, including those who have implicated me,” he told reporters.
The report was prepared by a royal commission that investigated a video clip allegedly showing top lawyer V.K. Lingam brokering judge appointments.
“We are of the view that there was, conceivably, an insidious movement by (V.K. Lingam) with the covert assistance of his close friends,” it said, citing business tycoon Vincent Tan — Mahathir’s close associate — and secretary general of the ruling United Malays National Organisation, Tengku Adnan.
“In the process, Tun Mahathir Mohamad was also entangled,” the report said, referring to the man who ruled Malaysia with an iron fist for 22 years.
The report said there was “sufficient cause” to invoke laws including those on sedition and corruption against “some of the principal individuals involved.” But it did not specify who should face prosecution.
During the commission inquiry, Mahathir testified that he was not influenced by his associates when he selected judges.
His arch foe and former deputy premier, Anwar Ibrahim, unleashed a furore last year by releasing the clip, which apparently showed Lingam telling a person identified as former chief justice Ahmad Fairuz that that he would put him forward for a top job.

#1 by Godfather on Sunday, 18 May 2008 - 12:36 am
Lingam can’t hide in Kg Attap unless he changes his name to Lingamput.
#2 by undergrad2 on Sunday, 18 May 2008 - 12:36 am
LOL
#3 by undergrad2 on Sunday, 18 May 2008 - 12:43 am
Do you think Lingam can pass for a woman without his moustache? If he can then I may have something for him. A job as an exotic dancer in Little India in Edison!
#4 by Godfather on Sunday, 18 May 2008 - 12:45 am
Nah, not as an exotic dancer with that pot belly.
#5 by mendela on Sunday, 18 May 2008 - 12:46 am
Vincent looks like Lorena Bobbitt?
No, I think he looks more like John Bobbitt!
#6 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Sunday, 18 May 2008 - 12:58 am
TDM throws down the gauntlet & not without arrogance too. There is a man here who thinks he is better than any archangel. Whilst archangels are wonderful messengers of God, this arrogant man is prone to bouts of amnesia. Besides, Lucifer was himself an archangel once.
Pak Lah, come on, face it. The Royal Commission has spoken. There is a prima facie case of corruption of the highest order involving, amongst others, he-who-thinks-he-is-an archangel. One fell stroke and Pak Lah will be able to redeem his image as a ‘lembik’ fella before the eyes of Malaysians and the world. Nesides, justice must be seen to be done, come hell or high waters. ‘Fiat justitia, ruat coelum’ – let justice be done though the heavens fall.
TDM has promised to squeal and spill the beans on other judges, if his ‘threats’ is anything that can be understood. SO be it. Don’t we all need to know the truth and the Malaysian judicary, a sea change and torrents of fresh air?
#7 by undergrad2 on Sunday, 18 May 2008 - 12:59 am
Mendela,
Vincent has to look like somebody Interpol would not be searching for! You know what Lorena Bobbit is known for?
#8 by undergrad2 on Sunday, 18 May 2008 - 1:01 am
“Nah, not as an exotic dancer with that pot belly.” GODFATHER
They love Indian exotic dancers with pot bellies over here!
#9 by undergrad2 on Sunday, 18 May 2008 - 1:06 am
‘One fell stroke and Pak Lah will be able to redeem his image as a ‘lembik’ fella ..” HORNBILL
What are you talking about “lembik” ” Since Mahathir threw down the gauntlet made of rubber, he couldn’t get it up!
#10 by Jong on Sunday, 18 May 2008 - 1:11 am
What if after all those big talks and bold fronts, the old jackal wants to abscond, how do you guys suggest he disguise himself to escape the law? And where to? …Zimbabwe?
#11 by HJ Angus on Sunday, 18 May 2008 - 1:13 am
It seems that the authorities may have been “forced” to make the report public after all the MSM disclosed some of the findings.
Otherwise why are they wasting precious resources to try to find the leak?
This case could be a defining moment for AAB to prove that he is man enough to finally get rid of his great tormentor.
If the man has some spiritual fortitude, he must take up the challenge and any former minister who is tainted in the judicial mess should be allowed to resign on the following basis:
1.Become a witness for the state.
2.Retire from politics.
We must NOT allow such corrupted people in the halls of power anymore and this is our best chance to restore our freedom.
It is interesting to note on the poll on my blog and a high percentage of readers want the PM to bring TDM to justice.
In a recent interview TDM criticised the AG’s office by saying they were incompetent and would lose cases if they went against people like opposition lawyers…..maybe he forgot too that he appointed a few AGs.
#12 by limkamput on Sunday, 18 May 2008 - 1:22 am
You fellows now got serious positions and heavy responsibility, so don’t spend so much time making fun of lingamkut or limkamput.
By the way, can someone tell me the China man and the Indian man absconded or they happened to be overseas.
#13 by undergrad2 on Sunday, 18 May 2008 - 1:24 am
“What if after all those big talks and bold fronts, the old jackal wants to abscond, how do you guys suggest he disguise himself to escape the law? And where to? …Zimbabwe?” JONG
Let me see….. How about Tora Bora?
#14 by undergrad2 on Sunday, 18 May 2008 - 1:27 am
Who are you talking about, limkamput?? Don’t be hesitant to name them. After all there are more than one Vincent and more than one Lingam walking this earth!
#15 by limkamput on Sunday, 18 May 2008 - 1:27 am
What Zimbabwe, Robert Mugabe can’t protect him anymore. I think Kim Jong Il is a better bet.
#16 by undergrad2 on Sunday, 18 May 2008 - 1:28 am
Suing anybody for defamation is furthest from their minds right now!
#17 by penangites on Sunday, 18 May 2008 - 1:29 am
Why suddenly TDM recall his memory and now want to expose more conflicts by the judges after Royal Commissions Report completed and intend to made it public?? But not during Royal Commission’s inquiry where he claimed don’t remember “anything”?
#18 by undergrad2 on Sunday, 18 May 2008 - 1:30 am
They are too busy making travel arrangements.
#19 by limkamput on Sunday, 18 May 2008 - 1:30 am
well, i am not a lawyer, so i don’t know the law and i don’t now court procedures. To engage you, you probably will charge me triple.
Remember this china man once sued some reporters and got 10 million damage. And also the Air Molek case?
#20 by Jong on Sunday, 18 May 2008 - 1:30 am
Yeah esp when they stall in glass houses, those scumbags!
#21 by Jong on Sunday, 18 May 2008 - 1:33 am
So now good chance to ask for return of the 10 million?
#22 by undergrad2 on Sunday, 18 May 2008 - 1:39 am
Penangites,
When you are giving testimony in court as a witness, you may suffer from or develop selective memory, or even defective recall. It is not a crime. Telling a lie is a crime. But when you are the accused you can’t afford to develop selective memory or heard making inconsistent statements!
#23 by undergrad2 on Sunday, 18 May 2008 - 1:41 am
“well, i am not a lawyer, so i don’t know the law and i don’t now court procedures. To engage you, you probably will charge me triple.” limkamput
Is there a reason why you should engage the services of a lawyer? Do you know something we don’t?
#24 by undergrad2 on Sunday, 18 May 2008 - 1:45 am
“So now good chance to ask for return of the 10 million?” JONG
Restitution is not a defense.
#25 by undergrad2 on Sunday, 18 May 2008 - 1:46 am
Why are you guys still awake?? It’s 1.45 a.m.
#26 by limkamput on Sunday, 18 May 2008 - 1:55 am
i follow eastern standard time.
#27 by pulau_sibu on Sunday, 18 May 2008 - 2:15 am
What Mahathir said is about existing judges. He knows the ins and outs of all of them. Likely most of them if not all of them got the appointments because of connections and they have been involved in fixing the trials. These judges are now black mailed.
Mahathir now has to tell all the stories to uphold his good name.
What I want to know most is how Paul Augustine was assigned to Anwar’s sodomy trial. Most Malaysian knew that it is a strange and fabricated trial.
If this is the case, the government should overhaul the whole justice system by firing all these judges and appoint new ones.
#28 by ilovedap on Sunday, 18 May 2008 - 2:16 am
This man is the closest resemblance to evil. For 22 long years he’s been an unremorseful dictator and till now, he’s still twisting all his wrongdoings and making it sounds like reasonable.
His press statement definitely insults the people’s intelligence and judging by his son’s undying ambition to become a youth leader, he really thinks his family can carry on to rule the nation for many more generations.
Malaysians must stop this man and his family from continuing to rob the nation.
#29 by pwcheng on Sunday, 18 May 2008 - 2:51 am
Mahathir is a known strategist. He is a good poker player, definitely many levels above Badawi. Even if he has a 2 bottom, I think he still can win the game.
#30 by doggone on Sunday, 18 May 2008 - 3:28 am
The Malaysian Insider has reported that this ‘thing’ that has ruled the nation for two decades is playing the racial card in a desperate clutch at an imaginary life line. My take is that, the moment they strip him of his Tunship, he will have the final cardiac arrest before any arrest could be made by the police.
He seems to be hearing the same music playing in his head as of late. Doctors putting a stethoscope to his head can attest that it is ‘the last post’ being played.
#31 by I Malaysian on Sunday, 18 May 2008 - 3:41 am
It occurs to me that Mahathir see this as direct threat from Pak Lah and his cabinet. He knows he could be in danger and it could end his legacy which he and many thought would take another 50 years before another PM could better.
So, an angered Tun M reciprocates by challenging or rather I should say threatens the institutions that are responsible to bring him to justice. I find him threaten:-
a) The Judges who will hear his case
b) The AG and IGP whom TMM is directly responsible for their elevation to their current position
c) Past and present cabinet ministers who lobbied for their promotions
d) The ACA Chairman/Director who could have helped him concealing many facts at his request
It also become obvious with this indirect threat, there are lot of them whose hands are tied in someway; they won’t be able to discharge their services effectively. This leaves only option- to appoint foreign experts to conduct a complete inquiry that could ensure free and fair prosecution. This is also TMM’s wish
#32 by kanthanboy on Sunday, 18 May 2008 - 4:55 am
The Malaysian judicial system has rotten beyond redemption. AAB should establish a judicial appointment commission to be headed by the Sultan of Perak. First thing first: Fire all the judges and reappoint only those who have not been tainted and have the necessary qualifications.
#33 by undergrad2 on Sunday, 18 May 2008 - 5:06 am
“Efforts to contact Datuk V.K. Lingam were unsuccessful. Calls to his mobile phone were diverted to voicemail…”
Since his disappearance there have been many Lingam sightings – mostly in London. He was seen at White Chapel, London. Another placed him along Chancery Lane, yet another at High Holborn. Some said they saw the guy wandering in a daze at Regent’s Park, near the Lake.
There were as many sightings of him as there were of UFOs.
#34 by undergrad2 on Sunday, 18 May 2008 - 5:18 am
Mukhriz said in Parliament that Anwar had employed Wolfowitz’s girlfriend Shaha Riza at the foundation. It had been reported that Shaha was involved in the recent World Bank controversy.
He asked “Do we want Datuk Seri Anwar, who is directly involved in an organisation with a questionable background, and who is a close friend of a neo-conservative who is responsible for the killing of one million Iraqis, to take over the Malaysian leadership?” he asked.
This is a cheap shot!
#35 by kanthanboy on Sunday, 18 May 2008 - 5:30 am
//Since his disappearance there have been many Lingam sightings-//
#36 by ADAM YONG IBNI ABDULLAH on Sunday, 18 May 2008 - 5:49 am
The Relevancy of Yabhg Tun to be investigated is secondary. Even if Tun and the list of mentioned VVIPs are investigated and subsequent charged, would not have done any justice to all Malaysians who HAD been denied their rights and fair trial provided for by the Judiciary.
If ONLY, then, there are more great men,like Tun Salleh Abbas and Justice Malik and Justice Chan, Malaysians alike would have withstood the “rot in the state of denmark”. However, we were parties in one way or another a cahoot to this henious crime of self before the nation.
Many postings above,are done by learned solicitors. Among them Sir Jeffrey, Already graduated Undergrad2. Many of the current MPs from either BN and PR are lawyers by profession too. I hope that these learned solicitors would care to read comments pointed out by CJ Mears In matter of Babu Dwarka Mithal AIR 1924 and also by CJ Whyatt made in reference to Yee Chang & co Ltd v NV Koninklijke ( 1958) MLJ 131 page 133.
There is an old saying that it “takes two to tango” and “takes two hands to clap”. I certainly believe in the wisdom of my great great great forefathers than any further cause of actions here in this current state of further rotting.
#37 by ADAM YONG IBNI ABDULLAH on Sunday, 18 May 2008 - 6:16 am
YaBHG Tun, has absolute nothing to lose in this war with Yab Mr. Prime Minister.( which include Datuk Seri Anwar ) Both of them have made enough to see through 3 or more generations. It is the raayats that have suffered and is still suffering with political instability , inflation, unemployment and racial divide and other forms of discrimination.
The Judiciary is but only, one arm that can be amputated , but the Nation is on life support machine now. The Judiciary is too hugh an Institution for common raayat to fanthom, and yet, the daily bread and butter are set aside to the “same old actors and actresses to remain in the limelight of the stage “.
Students with excellent grades are deprived of any funds to further their studies in tertiary education and deprived of their dream career.
Planted questions and planted answers are seen everyday, with a soaring Unemployment rate or Unemployabla rates. graduates no longer have the aptitude and right attitude for jobs . The reformation of the Education system is priority. Even if we put them in area of their planted choice, performance is poor.
The Rich gets richer, the poor gets poorer. many living on income of below poverty line, and if ” that line is perceived accurate “. The basic needs of the raayat like water in the State of Sabah rurals is a luxury item.
I am least interested at the poker games of the actors. i am appealing for help to save the poor majority. BN has failed us, PR is still waiting and argueing. Do we need to keep reminding our Mps ?
#38 by pulau_sibu on Sunday, 18 May 2008 - 6:27 am
>Students with excellent grades are deprived of any funds to further their studies in tertiary education
You must be referring to study overseas. No, the local universities should gain reputation to be able to attract the best students.
#39 by ADAM YONG IBNI ABDULLAH on Sunday, 18 May 2008 - 6:50 am
dear pulau_sibu,
Allocation of students into public universities in within MALAYSIA, without quota set for race and religion And the degree of the undergrad choice. Can we achieve that please.
#40 by ADAM YONG IBNI ABDULLAH on Sunday, 18 May 2008 - 6:56 am
dear pulau_sibu,
can we also have proper classrooms , with proper tables and chairs for those living in the rural areas please.
can we spare a dime or many dimes to operate a proper transport system to ferry the students to their primary schools .
EDUCATION SHOULD BE FULLY SUBSIDISED UP TO UNIVERSITY FOR ALL DESERVING MALAYSIANS. can we do that.
(if we can waste millions and even billions on white elephants).
thank you sir.
#41 by k1980 on Sunday, 18 May 2008 - 7:48 am
The fool who paid USD1.2 million just to shake the other fool’s hand
http://bp0.blogger.com/_KUD2BqHya4M/SC79kNcgLvI/AAAAAAAAHk4/fx8kwWfe2Fg/s400/svBUSH_wideweb__470x321,0.jpg
#42 by liu on Sunday, 18 May 2008 - 8:04 am
Dr M couldn’t remember, so he said, so many things at the Royal Commission hearing on the Lingam tape and now he said he wants his day in court to reveal all. Truly, Dr M is Dr Machiavelli.
#43 by caishen on Sunday, 18 May 2008 - 8:13 am
The hungry ghost festival starts earlier than expected!.
The battle between Tun Mamak and Pak lalai is getting more and more intensive…day after day.
The Malay saying..when 2 elephants fight for supremacy, the mouse deer become the casualty.
The MalaysiaInsider:Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad today played the race card ? something the former prime minister has not done since he was a young, upstart Umno politician in the 1960s.
On the other hand, Pak lalai has a KKK (Kiasi,Kiasu and Kiamsiap) personality.People with this syndrome will seldom or never step down unless circumstances force him to do so.
Because he afraid to die( Kiasi), he make the ACA and Judiciary more transparency.
Because he afraid to lose( Kiasu), he let out Anwar the Lion-Hearted from the jail earlier than expected,to fight with the Tun Mamak and Umnokuraps.
Because he afraid to spend( Kiamsiap), he cuts and trims all mega projects initiated by big-spender Tun Mamak.
Pak lalai is not a economic-mover as like his mentor.I regards him as a economic-retarder who don’t promote his country well and always besides his Jeanne.Ask him how many countries has he visited since becoming PM?
Instead, he would rather sit down collect taxes and cost-cutting.That could be the trait and habit of a Penangites…
That triggered the controversial and his 22 years of efforts as the 4th.PM has gone down to the drain….He feels insulted.
#44 by Jeffrey on Sunday, 18 May 2008 - 8:57 am
Tun Dr Mahathir (TDM) had found his memory. He told press conference that he did not want probe on him to end with the authorities concluding “there’s no case” against him, and that he “hoped” he would be charged so that he could reveal instances of judges lobbying him for promotions”. “It was not just judges who lobbied. People lobbied to be ministers and election candidates. I listened to them but I made my own decisions. I did not know lobbying was a crime. I also did not want to be a postman, where the Chief Justice hands me a recommendation for a judge and I hand it over to the Yang Di Pertuan Agong. I would also scrutinise the candidate, and if I found that he was not capable, I would not support his appointment”, he added. Source : Page 7 (Prime News) of New Straits Times, May 18, 2008.
#45 by Jeffrey on Sunday, 18 May 2008 - 9:23 am
While it is acceptable practice for people to lobby the Prime Minister for ministerial and election positions, is it equally acceptable to lobby for judicial positions? TDM seems to have no notion whatsoever of legal and judicial precepts, the need of separation of powers, the independence of judiciary from executive patronage and influence. He has confused politics with judiciary, legislative with judicial process and thinks that what is legitimate in the case of the former is legitimate for the latter. His statement embarrasses the judiciary further. With courts often accused of being not independent of the Executive, with the recent public revelations of Lingam’s Commission, TDM’s reference to “it was not just judges who lobbied”, makes it imperative to review all judges’ appointments and dismissals after he took over as premier. This implies not just the investigations into Lingam video clip but why Tun Salleh Abas & 5 other judges were removed in 1988, how chief judges were appointed after that. We would need another royal commission to investigate these events.
#46 by k1980 on Sunday, 18 May 2008 - 9:50 am
“…where the Chief Justice hands me a recommendation for a judge …. I would also scrutinise the candidate, and if I found that he was not capable, I would not support his appointment…”
In simple language, the executive can appoint the judiciary which would be beholden to him. Truly a 3rd world feudal banana fiefdom.
#47 by pjboy on Sunday, 18 May 2008 - 9:59 am
Wow, TDM can remember everything now. Earlier semua tak ingat. Sekarang kena charge, semua boleh ingat.
Points to note:
1. nothing wrong to lobby (by TDM)
2. cabinet only suggest (on indelible ink by AAB)
This is all playing with words. TDM & AAB treat all Malaysians as fools, insulting our intelligence.
#48 by digard on Sunday, 18 May 2008 - 10:09 am
undergrad2 says:
“This type of case if it is allowed to see the light of day in court is enough to bring down any government in the world. Because of that I’m not confident it will happen under BN rule. I’m not confident if it will happen even under Pakatan rule.”
undergrad2, been away from our country for too long? One cannot simply apply ‘global standards’, one also needs to take local tradition and convictions into account.
Whereas in the west, one likes to challenge a superior or ruler, here it is considered very much a no-no.
In the west, hauling up an ex-politician will garner votes, in the east it makes one unpopular.
No stereotyping here, of course. Just observation of an average.
#49 by Justicewanted on Sunday, 18 May 2008 - 10:25 am
Hello SiLembik, TDM is throwing a challenge???
Do you need to consult your SIL ????
Or maintain your silence or sleepy elegance???
#50 by clearwater on Sunday, 18 May 2008 - 10:36 am
Once again, the geriatric ex-PM is hissing and spitting like a cornered snake. Is he a fanged poisonous cobra or a toothless mimic? Will he be prepared to bring down cronies still living in the BN-Umno house of cards with his revelations? Will he survive a long drawn investigation and possible trial if wrongdoing is revealed? His legacy is in tatters anyway; he may bare all and do this country a favor for once in his life. This self centered man whose comeuppance is about to arrive in his sunset years. Consigned to oblivion in the history books. Smitten by his own vitriol. Poisoned by the truth.