Another NS death

BY: Emergency Physician

Dear YB, please speak up for the many concerned parents regarding the deaths and deaths and deaths in the NS camps… it is very very worrying… authorities don’t seems to concern much

i am a doctor, working as a specialist in emergency department… i can somehow guess what had happened… it is ridiculous for a victim to die like that in Kem Semanggol with a simple answer of unknown fever… ridiculous!!! is a case of neglect and delay treatment..

the victim Too Hui Min… again… if not because of neglect and delay of treatment… WHY WHY WHY should a victim complaining of constipation die… it is not the answer…

i suspect it is the stupidity of the paramedic who did not refer her earlier to the hospital… believe me, i have seen many referral letters written by paramedic to the hospital with stupid diagnosis… just because he didn’t know what’s happening…he might have simply labeled her as having constipation. rather than seeing the non bowel opening as a warning sign to something sinister… he made the wrong diagnosis of keeping her in the camp further and worse still, gave her a pill which could make her worse!! If he is not qualified to make a decision like a doctor, at least he should refer!!!!

My heart really goes out in tears to those who have trusted their children into the hands of these people…only to bring back dead bodies

So, please YB, please speak up on our behalf..numerous letters had been written in Malaysiakini, even in other papers like the STAR, etc.. I for once, wouldn’t want to send my children, when the reach that age…to the hands of potential murderers.

1. #1 by bumi-non-malay on Thursday, 15 May 2008 - 11:32 am

Sue …Sue …Sue For all the Dead Compensation from UMNO-BN Government. This is a civil case of Negligience causing Death…..somebody should be charged for Man-slaughter at least.

Otherwise……we defy the Government Via BOYCOTT of NS…….see if they have Jail for tens of thousand of children…..In unison all over Malaysia…..THIS is TSUNAMI 3 from the Teenagers of Malaysia of all race…….A warning to UMNO-BN and lets organise a March to Agong Palace for Royal Commission on the Deaths of these Kids and the procedure and who is ULTIMATELY RESPONSIBLE….!!

2. #2 by my-my on Thursday, 15 May 2008 - 1:33 pm

Hallo Lee Lam Tsai what say you now. Want to show us you crying again ah!

3. #3 by atw on Thursday, 15 May 2008 - 4:59 pm

Stop the NS programme!

http://stopNSProgramme.blogspot.com

Parents and other concerned Malaysians have been expressing their anger and misgivings in the past couple of years about the NS programme after the numerous unnecessary deaths occurring related to participation in the programme. All these concerns have fallen on deaf ears. Excuses after excuses were given. Inquiries after inquiries were promised. But have we heard anything about the outcome of these inquiries? Have we seen any improvements in the management of the NS camps?

No! Instead we have now received the sad news that another NS trainee, Too Hui Min has died on 7 May 2008. According to the camp staff, this occurred after she complained of constipation for three days. Are we to believe the camp staff?

Najib said the number of deaths was a small percentage compared to the total trainees who had benefited from the programme. The NS Training Department director-general was quoted as saying that the training programme will not be scrapped “just because of one or two deaths”. These are callous comments similar to what the former Health Minister said last year that reports on the deaths of the trainees have been overblown and “the rate of death (of the trainees) is in fact much smaller than that in the general population”!

These comments are certainly no consolation to the parents who have lost their love ones because of the NS programme.

We have said it again and again. Not a single death due to the NS programme should be tolerated! The Defense Minister and the director-general of the NS Training Department and all others responsible for the implementation of the NS programme, regardless of their positions, must be held morally and even legally accountable for their negligence for these deaths.

They are negligent for not heeding the calls for review and suspension of the NS programmes after the NS-related deaths occurring in the past. They are negligent for not publicly releasing the inquiries they have made which should have exposed any shortcomings in the management of the camps. They are negligent for not taking appropriate actions and making improvements in the programme which can ensure that another death would not occur again.

Mind you, according to the notice for an emergency motion in Parliament tabled by an MP Fong Po Kuan, this is the third death in less than 2 months (the motion was rejected on the ground that it was not urgent!). In April, Afiz Zuhairi Ahmat Rozali a trainee in the Sentosa Chenderiang Camp died after having a fever.

Another trainee, Balammah died on 21 March 2008. She complained of severe chest pains after she returned from NS training on March 11. Family members suspect that she must have suffered internal injuries during the NS training which eventually led to her death.

We have had enough. No more excuses. No more inquiries. The ill-conceived NS programme must be scrapped immediately!

This time if the government do no heed the cries of anguished parents, all parents should boycott the NS programme and refuse to send the loved ones to NS programme.

4. #4 by Killer on Thursday, 15 May 2008 - 10:14 pm

Guys

I had to admit that I am completely and utterly underwhelmed by the volume and the quality of the replies. It is not so often that we see so much is written with so little logical reasonings, data and facts to back it all up.

Sometimes I often wonder if I am at the blog operated by the People’s Action Party of Singapore or one managed by the Democratic Action Party of Malaysia. The intolerance and violent reactions to dissenting views and cyber intimidations makes me wonder if this is the kind of Malaysia we will get when DAP gets to rule our country one day.

Coming back to the issue at hand, I have nothing new to add. The numerous posts that followed my suggestions either completely failed to negate the points raised or opted to attack me personally.

Wel, just in case you have missed my earlier post, I shall repeat the key arguments that I put forward.

1. We cannot act drastically like banning NS as it is akin to banning driving due to the numerous road accidents. Saying that we have the freedom of choice in driving is a lame excuse and argument. While I don’t deny that in NS camp we don’t have a choice, the question of choice matters little. As far as I know, no Malaysian whom I know of has stopped driving because of these acciddents. Even if the accidents increase dramatically, I will bet that none of you here will call for a ban on driving even though you have the choice of not driving. What you would do is to blame the govt for the accidents and tell them to fix the problem.

2. There are no conclussive proof that all these deaths were caused by negligence. These deaths certainly caused by carelessness, of course. But even if there are deaths caused poor management, shouldn’t we focus on fixing those problems rather than sweeping the problems under the carpet by closing the NS program ?

3. Most of the cases looks like stemming from long term medical conditions which could have happened any where.

4. Statistically these cases are not significant as compared to the general population as pointed out by Najib.

In fact there are far more youths die of motobike accidents in a year than in NS camps. Shall we ban youths from riding motorbikes too ?

Ultimately, I believe the real issue is not these deaths but it is the kiasi / kiasu attitude of Malaysians. While their mouth speaks of Bangsa Malaysia, but their actions often are in pure self interest in the worst kiasu manner.

5. #5 by Killer on Thursday, 15 May 2008 - 10:17 pm

Correction.

2. There are no conclussive proof that all these deaths were caused by negligence. These deaths certainly could be caused by human carelessness, of course. But even if there are deaths caused poor management, shouldn’t we focus on fixing those problems rather than sweeping the problems under the carpet by closing the NS program ?

6. #6 by kingkenny on Thursday, 15 May 2008 - 10:51 pm

# Killer Says:
    Today at 22: 17.28 (16 minutes ago)

Correction.

2. There are no conclussive proof that all these deaths were caused by negligence. These deaths certainly could be caused by human carelessness, of course. But even if there are deaths caused poor management, shouldn’t we focus on fixing those problems rather than sweeping the problems under the carpet by closing the NS program ?

=================================================

Dear dear killer,

what’s the difference between negligence and human carelessness?! And “of course” death resulting from “poor management” ?!

I can kill “the bird” with 1 stone here (hehe) :)

Stop your nonsense killer, as I can see from numerous posts in this blog and as bloggers had pointed to you, you missed the point time and again!!! Please allow me to put it in a few sentence for you, specially for you and your level of competence:

“WE DO NOT WANT DEATHS RESULTING FROM THE GREEDINESS OF SOME PEOPLE BEHIND THE NS PROGRAM” &

“THE NS WAS STARTED FIRST FOR PROFIT BEFORE NATIONAL UNITY” &

“IF WE FOCUS ON FIXING THOSE PROBLEMS, OKAY, IS 3 DEATHS ENOUGH FOR YOU TO FIX IT BEFORE IT BECAME 16″ (How long must it take killer, we can send spaceman to space with millions & billions, but we can’t STOP the childrens’ death with our resource???! Don’t you think there is something so wrong??!)

YCES!!!! What a lame idiot!!

That is why I said I still believed that people who are corrupt are eating rare human flesh & drinking blood and I will not regret a single word of it !! :)

7. #7 by kingkenny on Thursday, 15 May 2008 - 10:54 pm

killer,

AND THERE IS NO CONCLUSIVE PROOF IS BECAUSE SOME PEOPLE DO NOT WANT IT TO BE KNOWN!

You eat bananas all this while? Whose bananas was it? Taste nice? :)

8. #8 by kingkenny on Thursday, 15 May 2008 - 10:56 pm

killer,

from now on, I shall call you the “banana killer” because you A.J.A.P.O.S!

9. #9 by pjboy on Thursday, 15 May 2008 - 11:16 pm

Looks like the heatseeking missiles on the Sukhoi jets are locked on DPM. Guess there has been too much pressure on PM lately, so, MSM should divert a bit & give more coverage to DPM lah.

If ruling gov does not want NS to be stopped, then PR should have a campaign to get as many signatures possible to bring this matter to our Agong’s attention. Go to the malls, markets, schools,…where there will be parents from all walks of life – the Rakyat. This will show whether the ears exist in BN…our PM says he has big ears…but what’s the use if it’s shut all the time. Maybe someone stuffed it with 2 submarines. If the gov not listening to the Rakyat, the last resort is our Agong. To start with, run a poll to gauge the Rakyat sentiments on this issue.

Stop the NS (Najib Service), save the money on food-programme or other more meanigful social service for the poor, disabled, orphans, homeless, lost-souls, etc. We will have to look into illegals as a humanity issue.

If the NS were to continue, the gov or relevant ministry MUST guarantee the health & safety of the trainees. At the moment, whenever there is a calamity, it’s always the trainee’s fault. Getting rape is also the trainee’s fault it seems. Getting food poisoning is also trainee’s fault. Dying of exhaustion is also trainee’s fault. Getting bullied is also trainee’s fault.

10. #10 by raven77 on Friday, 16 May 2008 - 1:31 am

This NS death must be the last…..where is the opposition in this?????? Dont tell me 82 seats is stil not enough for you guys to do something about this????????

11. #11 by Killer on Friday, 16 May 2008 - 5:07 pm

Guys

I had to admit that I am completely and utterly underwhelmed by the volume and the quality of the replies. It is not so often that we see so much is written with so little logical reasonings, data and facts to back it all up.

Sometimes I often wonder if I am at the blog operated by the People’s Action Party of Singapore or one managed by the Democratic Action Party of Malaysia. The intolerance and violent reactions to dissenting views and cyber intimidations makes me wonder if this is the kind of Malaysia we will get when DAP gets to rule our country one day.

Coming back to the issue at hand, I have nothing new to add. The numerous posts that followed my suggestions either completely failed to negate the points raised or opted to attack me personally.

Wel, just in case you have missed my earlier post, I shall repeat the key arguments that I put forward.

1. We cannot act drastically like banning NS as it is akin to banning driving due to the numerous road accidents. Saying that we have the freedom of choice in driving is a lame excuse and argument. While I don’t deny that in NS camp we don’t have a choice, the question of choice matters little. As far as I know, no Malaysian whom I know of has stopped driving because of these acciddents. Even if the accidents increase dramatically, I will bet that none of you here will call for a ban on driving even though you have the choice of not driving. What you would do is to blame the govt for the accidents and tell them to fix the problem.

12. #12 by Killer on Friday, 16 May 2008 - 5:08 pm

3. Most of the cases looks like stemming from long term medical conditions which could have happened any where.

4. Statistically these cases are not significant as compared to the general population as pointed out by Najib.

In fact there are far more youths die of motobike accidents in a year than in NS camps. Shall we ban youths from riding motorbikes too ?

Ultimately, I believe the real issue is not these deaths but it is the kiasi / kiasu attitude of Malaysians. While their mouth speaks of Bangsa Malaysia, but their actions often are in pure self interest in the worst kiasu manner.

13. #13 by ShiokGuy on Friday, 16 May 2008 - 5:38 pm

YB, can we start a referendum to scrap the NS?
    Is there a way to do it? Is it legal?

Anyone start a poll? I just started one on my blog for a simple YES or NO. If you are a parent, given a choice, will you send your kid to NS?

Take the poll at my blog.

Shiok Guy

14. #14 by kingkenny on Saturday, 17 May 2008 - 12:02 am

The NS should be scrapped!

It is inhumane, poorly managed, a unity camp initiated by the government should be of a high standard.

Not a place for “mysterious illness”, “unknown fever”, sakit perut – no problem, makan painkiller, “eaten animal faeces”, “rape” by camp warden, “peeping”, capital punishment or training regime!

Don’t you think Malaysia has the highest unknown illness in the world? by accounts of numerous media reports?

Scrap NS!

15. #15 by zainuddinmaidin on Saturday, 17 May 2008 - 3:59 pm

16. #16 by zainuddinmaidin on Saturday, 17 May 2008 - 4:00 pm

[IMG]http://i238.photobucket.com/albums/ff105/zainuddinmaidin/satar/plkntahi.jpg[/IMG]

17. #17 by negarawan on Sunday, 18 May 2008 - 11:23 pm

Here’s a good reading:

Najib, you really can’t be bothered, can you?
    TW | May 16, 08 4:39pm
    I refer to the Malaysiakini report Najib lashes out at accusations of ‘the Mongolian woman’.

Oh my goodness, Mr DPM, this is the 21st century. This is the Age of the Internet. Where have you been? The rakyat are no longer stupid. Perhaps one good thing that the Barisan Nasional (read Umno) government has done is use billions of taxpayers’ money to send thousands of Malaysian students (of one particular race) abroad to study. So now, it’s payback time! Their minds are more open; they have seen the world, soaked in new ideas, experienced freedom and have analytical minds.

The public is not confused. Not at all. The public is very clear about the issues. And the public wants justice, accountability, honesty, compassion, and integrity. Can the Barisan Nasional government give us these things? Oh, oh, the silence is deafening. I thought so.

Corruption, crime, injustice, arrogance, and lies are running rampant in Bolehland. What have you done, as the people’s elected representative, to combat these ills of society? You have party colleagues who are sexists and racists, and colleagues in Parliament who advocate ‘closing one eye’ to corrupt practices, and you do nothing about them. Now you want the public to sympathise with you?

The Court of Public Opinion is running on overtime. Mr DPM, if you care, just pop by any coffee shop or warung in the morning before you go to work, have a cuppa there and listen to what Malaysians from all walks of life have to say about you. Listen to the questions they ask about the Mongolian woman’s murder trial, and the so-called ‘commissions’ paid out to crony companies in the fighter jets and submarine deals. Listen to what they have to say about the stupid National Service programme. It’s enlightening. You must try it. But you are perhaps too far detached to even bother isn’t it? And you claim to have the people’s interest at heart?

There is absolutely no need for you to point the finger at the opposition. You only need to listen to the rakyat. And the rakyat is smart enough to know what’s going on. They don’t need the opposition to be the penghasut. Your job is not to point fingers. Your job is to answer to the people, the rakyat, and do the right thing. You need to convince the Court of Public Opinion that what you have said to date is indeed the truth, the whole truth and nothing but the truth. Otherwise, what you have said in the august House will have absolutely no meaning whatsoever.

There is definitely a need for a commission of inquiry into the government’s 2002-2003 purchase of the two French-made Scorpene submarines, and the 18 Russian-made Sukhoi fighter jets. The rakyat can no longer take your word for it. And if the rakyat wants an investigation into these deals, proceed with the investigations. It is the rakyat paying for it anyway. So who are you to say it is not necessary? Perhaps, it is timely to remind you that in a democracy, the people are the boss. Not the government. The government is the servant of the people. We seem to have this notion reversed up for a long, long time. No more!

The rakyat also demands the deals be scrutinised by the government opening its books to be examined. Perhaps then, the people will believe what you say. On the PSC-Naval Dockyard patrol boats project for the navy, where is the great Amin Shah? Is he not liable to answer for this botched project that has cost the taxpayers billions of ringgit?

And you actually reckon the National Service programme is well-received by the rakyat eh? In that case, it would be proper to NOT force parents to send their children to these camps. Allow them the choice to decide if they want their children to participate. Can the government do that in the event that you still insist for the programme to continue? Or would that hurt the bank accounts of the organisers too much? You had earlier said the National Service programme cannot be terminated because ‘too many parties were involved’. So it’s not about fostering national unity or promoting racial integration is it. It’s about profit, isn’t it?

Mr DPM, you are a seasoned politician. You are also the people’s elected representative. But strangely, you don’t sound too concerned about the deaths of these innocent kids in the NS camps. You don’t seem too concerned about what the affected parents are going through. You are indifferent, as many of your party colleagues in Parliament are. You are indifferent because these kids are not your own flesh and blood. They don’t count. You really can’t be bothered, can you? Now that’s extremely telling about the kind of leader you are.

As a taxpayer and a member of the electorate, I demand that you prepare a list showing which member of the Cabinet has children participating in the NS camps, or is it true that children of ministers and Umno cronies do not have to attend these camps?

18. #18 by ktak on Thursday, 12 June 2008 - 10:09 pm

http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/singaporelocalnews/view/353648/1/.html

SAF suspends physical training after two deaths in two days
    By Valarie Tan, Channel NewsAsia | Posted: 12 June 2008 1715 hrs

SINGAPORE: Singapore’s Ministry of Defence has declared a three-day time-out (12-14 June) on all physical and endurance training activities in the army, navy and air force.

This follows the deaths of two servicemen within two days.

20-year-old Officer Cadet (OCT) Lam Jia Hao Clifton, a pilot trainee with the Republic of Singapore Air Force (RSAF), died on Wednesday, one-and-a-half hours after he collapsed while he was undergoing jungle orientation training in Brunei.

A day earlier, 20-year-old army recruit Andrew Cheah Wei Siong died after he fainted while taking part in a two-kilometre walk training activity on Pulau Tekong.

Defence Minister Teo Chee Hean said the time-out will allow the Singapore Armed Forces (SAF) to review and re-focus on training activities to ensure that proper procedures are in place before training resumes. – CNA/ir

Related News

• RSAF serviceman dies after collapsing during training
    http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/singaporelocalnews/view/353643/1/.html

• NS recruit dies after fainting during training activity
    http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/singaporelocalnews/view/353163/1/.html

19. #19 by ktak on Thursday, 12 June 2008 - 10:11 pm

http://www.mindef.gov.sg/imindef/news_and_events/nr/2008/jun/12jun08_nr2.html

Statement from Minister for Defence Teo Chee Hean
    Posted: 12 Jun 2008, 1500 hours (Time is GMT +8 hours)

Minister for Defence Teo Chee Hean said:

“I would like to express my deep condolences to the families of the late REC Andrew Cheah Wei Siong and the late OCT Clifton Lam Jia Hao.

I am saddened by the loss of two young and precious sons of Singapore.

I support the decision of the SAF to take a time-out on physical and endurance training for 3 days. This will allow the SAF to review and refocus on such activities to ensure that proper procedures are in place and being followed, before such training resumes.

While the SAF needs to carry out realistic training, this will be done without compromise to safety.”

Related News Releases

12 Jun 08 – Death of Regular Serviceman
    10 Jun 08 – Death of Serviceman

Last updated on 12 Jun 2008