“Beggar Minister” finally admits

“Position of BN component parties like beggars” is the headline of today’s Sin Chew Daily exclusive interview with former Gerakan President Datuk Seri Dr. Lim Keng Yaik, with a secondary headline: “Not given equal respect – Lim Keng Yaik”

Keng Yaik, who is now Gerakan adviser, told Sin Chew that Barisan Nasional component parties like MCA, MIC including Gerakan ended up with status like that of “beggars” as they were not given equal position in the Barisan Nasional.

He criticized BN for not treating its component parties equally. He stressed that although Malay special rights are protected under the Constitution, the non-Malays also clearly enjoy their own rights.

This is a gem of an admission from Keng Yaik, who had been a Cabinet Minister for 22 years from 1986 to 2008.

MCA, Gerakan, MIC and other BN component parties had long been criticized for accepting “beggar politics” in the Barisan Nasional and Cabinet.

When did Keng Yaik discover that he had been a “beggar Minister” for 22 years? After his political retirement and the March 8 political tsunami?

During the 2008 general election campaign, Keng Yaik went all out to campaign for Dr. Koh Tsu Koon to replace him as the Gerakan “beggar Minister” in Cabinet and to send his son, Lim Si Pin to be a “beggar” MP in the Malaysian Parliament.

Why had Keng Yaik been so blind that he was blissfully unaware for more than two decades that he had been a “beggar Minister” for 22 years, with the scales coming out of his eyes only after the March 8 “political tsunami”?

Print Friendly

1. #1 by ShiokGuy on Monday, 12 May 2008 - 4:27 am

To think about it further.. May be a beggar is not a bad choice after all.

A beggar of choice but not circumstances! I for sure would not want to be a beggar of circumstances and I cannot imagine the life by dragging my 2 poor sons around begging for 3 meals.

If I can be beggar of choice, i might consider sending my 2 poor sons who has autism to be one too. BUT>>>>>> Not this kind of beggar of choice… NO NO..

2. #2 by ADAM YONG IBNI ABDULLAH on Monday, 12 May 2008 - 5:35 am

Lim keng yaik statement is too little , too late.

When Mr. Lim Keng Yaik was enjoying all the trappings of power, all the priviledges and benefits of a Minister, i remember you have insulted the estates workers.

We ,the raayat was ‘ BEGGING’ THAT our voices be heard, but where were you. Go and retired somewhere in an island south of the equator,that no one knows you. SHAME ON YOU.

YOU REAP WHAT YOU SOW.

Now is for Mca and Mic to be among the beggars or still dreaming.

Beggars have to work also, Mr.LimKeng Yaik. They are Beggars have to sell tissues , play the bongo, and stay under the hot sun for pittance. Even calling yourself a beggar is an INSULT TO THE REAL BEGGARS.

PARASITES WILL BE THE BETTER DEFINATION OF YOURSELF. AND YOUR CRONIES.

3. #3 by ADAM YONG IBNI ABDULLAH on Monday, 12 May 2008 - 5:46 am

Yab Mr.Prime minister , this is a golden opportunity for you to direct the AG to investigate Mr. lim keng yaik for seditious remarks against umno.

4. #4 by flyer168 on Monday, 12 May 2008 - 6:24 am

Dear YB,

For as long as BN is in self denial mode, the reduced strength of the remnant MCA, MIC, Gerakan, etc cannot champion their party’s cause to the rayaat. They continue to sing the same BN tune which is all rhetorics ! They will need to break away from BN & UMNO to convince the rayaat & really “Walk their Talk”. Talk is Cheap, anyone can do it ! So it is Check-mate !

5. #5 by UzMiNoOnist on Monday, 12 May 2008 - 6:50 am

Is this the signal for mass exodus of MCA, MIC and other component parties to PR?

6. #6 by lew1328 on Monday, 12 May 2008 - 7:07 am

“Position of BN component parties like beggars” from Lim Kheng Aik : – Is that mean there’re the most riches beggar after all?

All others ordinary Rakyat is suffering while national wealth holders were ruled by themselves.

7. #7 by winsoontan on Monday, 12 May 2008 - 7:23 am

No wonder there was not developement in Beruas (where LKA as MP for so many terms) so far! We feel cheated cause LKA bluff us with Vision Beruas but in reality we are begger all the times!

8. #8 by Godfather on Monday, 12 May 2008 - 7:33 am

All UMNO gives to the other component parties are crumbs. Some parties don’t even get invited to the main table. It’s time people like Ong Ka Ting recognise the fact as well, and stop living in denial.

9. #9 by TC33 on Monday, 12 May 2008 - 7:40 am

Gerakan should just tutup kedai.

10. #10 by TC33 on Monday, 12 May 2008 - 7:42 am

And so do MCA & MIC.

11. #11 by winsoontan on Monday, 12 May 2008 - 7:49 am

If what LKA said is true, they should shift to PR (If can quit as begger). I really dont want to be a begger, so as all Rakyat Malaysia!

12. #12 by ALLAN THAM on Monday, 12 May 2008 - 8:05 am

This admission was only possible because this guy already left the government, other wise he would not admit it even though deep inside his heart he knew it. The same apply to MCA and MIC, they are all beggars’ part with difference name.

Let be honest, if you all can not serve the people because of the non equal treatment why should you still keep to the notion that fighting from inside, fighting from inside. Don’t you reallise 50 years has been too long.

Let face it even your Big Boss party has been spit by many many, yet you still want to remain a beggar party. Time to ponder hard, Dr. Lim. Time for you give some sensible advise to your party other wise it is better to shut the mouth.

13. #13 by Godfather on Monday, 12 May 2008 - 8:12 am

What Keng Yaik is trying to say is that beggar parties steal less than the Ketuanan party. Or that beggar parties are given cabinet portfolios that have far fewer chances of making money compared to the Ketuanan party.

Time to abandon ship. Moaning about it isn’t going to make the Ketuanan party change its stripes.

14. #14 by drngsc on Monday, 12 May 2008 - 8:19 am

It is so good for Dato Seri Lim to come clean. Such admission must be very difficult for him to make. I hope that all his former non-UMNO Barisan colleagues will also think over what Dato Seri Lim has said. Do they all wish to continue to be ” beggar parties? ” or will they take the bold and correct stand to ” unbeggar ” themselves?

15. #15 by yhsiew on Monday, 12 May 2008 - 8:20 am

BN suffered a major setback in the 12th General Election because in the BN coalition: MIC + MCA + GERAKAN + UMNO = UMNO (i.e. there is no such a thing as BN, voting MCA is no different from voting UMNO).

In the PR coalition: DAP + PAS + PKR = PR, i.e. there is a fair share of power among the 3 members.

16. #16 by anak_malaysia on Monday, 12 May 2008 - 8:40 am

hahahahaha

be a blogger better than be a beggar

at least LKY realised it, although pretty late, but better than never. Gerakan was so strong when they are not with Um-NO. But i think “Ong Kata Nothing” and “Semi-Value” will still prefer to protect their rice bowl, eventhough like a beggar. Leaders are like coward. How to success? Better go and join the seminar and learn how to become a leader

17. #17 by ktteokt on Monday, 12 May 2008 - 8:50 am

Component parties within BN, apart from UMNO, have been “beggars” all along, otherwise, MCA would not be claiming “credit” that they “fought for this” and “fought for that”. Can you imagine being a component party in BN, MCA still need to “fight for its rights”. This clearly tells the people MCA, MIC, Gerakan, PPP are nothing but “second class” component parties within the BN.

If at all AAB or UMNO takes these component parties as true partners, why should they be “fighting”. What AAB has announced before GE12, the “at par” policy, was nothing but a plot to misguide the Chinese and Indians in Malaysia. He was seen hugging OKT on one side and Semi-Value on the other when the picture was taken. He thinks that such propaganda can “deviate” the people’s perception but he was wrong. The people are not blind and they were able to see what UMNO was up to. Indeed his famous “Saya pantang dicabar” made him an absolute tyrant!!!!

18. #18 by PSM on Monday, 12 May 2008 - 9:11 am

Wow! Keng Yaik has suddenly seen the light?!
    Well as advisor to Geraken he should sdvice Gerakan either to join the “PR” or quit the BN altoghther.
    Can he be charged under the “Sedition Act”?

19. #19 by cancan on Monday, 12 May 2008 - 9:15 am

We knew this long time ago.
    The Umnoputras are full of arrogance and cockiness because they are living in a state of constant fear.
    See how defiant they are against the PR govt.

Link: http://www.kingsmary.blogspot.com/

20. #20 by Bobster on Monday, 12 May 2008 - 9:23 am

Dear Mr Lim Keng Yaik,

After working for 22 years as ‘BN beggar’, now only you realise Gerakan has no place in BN and treated like scumbag? Why didn’t you make things right before your retirement? When has Gerakan spoken up for the rakyat regarding BN injustice and inequality in Parliament so far? Just some noises after the iron has cooled down referring to the many issues of Federal Constitution raising in 2007.

Please lah Datuk, for you it is too late. Main reason is Gerakan lead by your goodself and Toh Tsu Koon always seen as ‘BN beggar’ and ‘BN yesman’ where words louder than action. In another words, tok kok more than taking action is Gerakan’s Motto, that everybody knows.

But for Toh Tsu Koon it is still not too late if the latter after suffering for 8 March 2008 Gerakan’s landslide defeat able to pick himself up, learn from the mistakes, turn around and join the coalition of Pakatan Rakyat.

Gerakan still have some hope if the leaders able to look back at the party history ie prior to 1969 and beyond 2008.

21. #21 by Bintulu on Monday, 12 May 2008 - 9:24 am

What an ironic. Kah Ting is now becoming more vocal and now we have Keng Yaik. These guys should have known it. Here is the hilarious part of what what these BN components parties really are – found at (kayankneyah.org forum):

PRS – Party Rosak Sendiri
    SPDP – Sama Palau Dalam Pub / Saya Punya Dia Punya
    PBDS – Dahun hivan iha tih party pano’ pedeng sediri. (don’t understand what is this either – Kayan language perhaps)
    SUPP – Selalu Untung Punya Party
    MIC – Mesti Ikut Cina
    MCA- Mesti Cari Akal (akal – i local slang for tipu)
    PBB – kelo ilau ke…… (don’t understand what is this either – Kayan language perhaps)
    SNAP -..kelo ilau sediri. (don’t understand what is this either – Kayan language perhaps)

22. #22 by taiking on Monday, 12 May 2008 - 9:37 am

Ladies and gentlemen and now the Power sharing formula is …
    Huh?
    Er
    The formula — the Power Formula is
    U.M.N.O.

23. #23 by clearwater on Monday, 12 May 2008 - 9:41 am

Better a ‘ live’ beggar than a ‘dead’ opposition without access to the UMNO gravy train. That seemed to be LKY’s philosophy in politics. Well, we now have a very much alive opposition in Parliament. And a dying Gerakan faced with Hobson’s choice. What now LKY, WHAT ADVICE CAN YOU GIVE other than to prepare for political oblivion? This is a very sorry state of affairs for a party founded on multi racial ideals but gave it all up to be a beggar at the UMNO banquet. How much did you contribute to Gerakan’s pending demise? Do some more soul searching and breast beating.

24. #24 by yhsiew on Monday, 12 May 2008 - 9:42 am

How often we hear people say, “If you can’t beat them, you join them!”

I suggest MCA and GERAKAN join PR since they admit (albeit tacitly) they could not beat PR.

Chus Sui Lek said the 12 non-UMNO BN members should form a coalition to counter UMNO’s bullying influence in BN. I think his idea will not work. Even if the 12 member coalition is formed, in no time, it will be punished by the authoritarian UMNO. Why not MCA leave BN and join PR which is a proper independent opposition party.

25. #25 by alancheah on Monday, 12 May 2008 - 9:49 am

I don’t want to listen & believe in whatever they
    (BN) talk anymore.

I am just waiting for Pakatan Rakyat to form the new govt..

26. #26 by Justicewanted on Monday, 12 May 2008 - 9:51 am

What LKY said, is 22 years late?

If BN still retained two thirds majority and did not lose the four states to PR, will the ‘Beggar’ minister say the same thing….

LKY stopped all your wayang kulit….

27. #27 by oknyua on Monday, 12 May 2008 - 10:11 am

BEGGARS in your own land.

LIM KY found out too late, fine, but what about from today onward? Are we still begging for places in University, scholarship, government service etc? Look around, which NON-Malay can operate a Petronas Station? Which non Malay can get contract on Nasional Service work (that killed 18 innocent youngsters)? Which non-malay can obtain contracts in Putra Jaya? Which non-malay can register as PKK contractor and supplier with MOF? The list goes on and on.

Beggars in the past, but would we continue to be beggars in our own land?

28. #28 by Short-sleeve on Monday, 12 May 2008 - 10:15 am

Keng Yaik,

You are nothing but a gutless man. Why now only you bring this up? You should have stood up many years ago rather than now.

Your time has passed. Spend your retirement ranting at some coffee shop instead.

29. #29 by Tickler on Monday, 12 May 2008 - 10:43 am

Therefore, it can only be inferred that it is the Non-Malay leaders that led all the non-malays into Beggary.
    All non-malays are now Beggars on account of them.

30. #30 by sheriff singh on Monday, 12 May 2008 - 10:43 am

Don’t be deceived. Some “beggars” say they are “beggars” but in actual fact they are filthy rich, driving big and expensive cars, live in posh houses, eat filthy rich foods…….. they didn’t mind the handouts and other benefits.

Their complains are actually because they want some more, much, much more. Never enough for them.

31. #31 by Tickler on Monday, 12 May 2008 - 10:47 am

Lemming suicide is a frequently-used metaphor in reference to people who go along unquestioningly with popular opinion, with potentially dangerous or fatal consequences. This is the theme of the video game Lemmings, where the player attempts to save the mindlessly marching rodents from walking to their deaths.

32. #32 by madmix on Monday, 12 May 2008 - 10:47 am

Classic quotes from MCA, SUPP and MIC:
    We are not like the opposition who shout and make demands. We quietly consult behind the scenes and resolve the matter quietly. Meaning we beg and beg out UMNO, PBB masters to give an inch.

33. #33 by citizen on Monday, 12 May 2008 - 10:53 am

He is late. But better than never.

34. #34 by caishen on Monday, 12 May 2008 - 11:02 am

Ongkating and Sami Vloo. it is still not late to pour out your heart.
    Rich beggar like LKY and Tun M has done it.

Sun Tzu Art of war says.
    When the enemy in commands,kow-tow and be respectful. And when the enemy is no more in control, show your guts!

BTW, what happen to kayeas,the PPPukian President?Still holding on the postkah?

35. #35 by Tickler on Monday, 12 May 2008 - 11:06 am

Haha Kayveas must be trying to hold another lottery (like he once did) now that he`s out of a job.

36. #36 by xtheman on Monday, 12 May 2008 - 11:27 am

YB,

We no need to make big ho ha here !!

Pls ensure PR members working relationship in good term and all states in PR needs to be well managed. MCA , MIC and Gerakan will be no choice to join PR in next GE.

Rgds

37. #37 by xtheman on Monday, 12 May 2008 - 11:32 am

:-) ….. when they join PR … pls black list Ong Ka Ting, Samy V and LKY

38. #38 by pulau_sibu on Monday, 12 May 2008 - 11:37 am

Beggar in front of umno, but robbers in front of the people.

Please never take these rotten BN pieces into Pakatan!! You should get only upon careful selection. Only highly qualified persons may switch!

39. #39 by i_love_malaysia on Monday, 12 May 2008 - 12:02 pm

Now LKY is telling the half Truth, he should tell the whole truth and to admit that he continued to stay in BN and as beggar not because he wanted “to change from within” the rotten system but rather because he wanted to stay in BN to “dig from within” & enjoy all the goodies that come with the position that he was in!!!! In Chinese saying, this is the running dog for the master, people without backbone!!! but he is not stupid or gila on appearant, he might not be happy to be beggar, but when he thought of the goodies that he can enjoy and the contracts that he can award to his people, he stayed put!!! SHAME on you LKY (SHAME X MC2 on you for having the same initial as LEE KUAN YEW whome I admire!!!)

40. #40 by Damocles on Monday, 12 May 2008 - 12:07 pm

Uncle Lim, be extremely careful who the PR accepts into its fold.
    It takes just one rotten apple or egg to spoil the whole barrel.
    Under no circumstances should anyone with a dubious character be accepted.

41. #41 by i_love_malaysia on Monday, 12 May 2008 - 12:12 pm

“dig from within” should be “digging gold from within” and make them theirs. The gold belongs to the Rakyat!!!
    I believe LKY came to realisation now because he is blogging now instead of begging and exposed to so much rots which he might think only happening to him when he was in power!!!
    LKY’s Datuk Seri ship may be revoked soon and his Tan Sri or Tun ship will be in jeopardy since now he no longer wants to be a beggar!!!

42. #42 by ktteokt on Monday, 12 May 2008 - 12:14 pm

Chinese saying “Lang Zi Hui Tou Jin Bu Huan” – “Repentance of a vagabond is worth more than gold”, but what MCA and Gerakan are doing now is simply too late. Had they realized their mistakes years before, they would not have suffered the fatal blow during GE12. But do you expect MCA or Gerakan to repent? They have been such cowards that they have been made eunuchs to UMNO. Once “castrated”, how can they become MAN again?

43. #43 by drmaharajahrk on Monday, 12 May 2008 - 12:18 pm

so who is the chameleon now ?

Anwar of Lim Keng Yaik ?

44. #44 by Samuel Goh Kim Eng on Monday, 12 May 2008 - 12:42 pm

I beg your pardon I never promise you a rose garden (song)
    Where there are no thorns or weeds to be your wardens
    With soil not tilled at all until it has remained harden
    How on earth can we now expect plentiful harvest golden?

(C) Samuel Goh Kim Eng – 120508
    http://MotivationInMotion.blogspot.com
    Mon. 12th May 2008.

45. #45 by badak on Monday, 12 May 2008 - 12:43 pm

To all MIC MCA GERAKAN PPP IPF and UMNO members..If you want your race to have an equal say in the goverment,JOIN Any OPPOSITION PARTIES.
    Open your eyes .. UMNO is not fighting for you. All this talk about KEKUATAN MELAYU which is coming from UMNO is all bullshit.Infact what they mean is KEKUATAN UMNO.So that they can carry on milking the country dry..REMEMBER OUR CRUDE OIL IS FINISHING FAST ..If you don,t care now..Please think of the future of your children and grandchildren

46. #46 by pwcheng on Monday, 12 May 2008 - 1:17 pm

It has never been a secret that MCA, MIC and Gerakan are beggars in the fold of BN. Even without LKY telling and spilling his saliva over this, it was never a secret. Umno is just too powerful and all these “cacing” parties are just there as toy boys for UMNO to play around and putting a false front of the “Power Sharing Concept” which they lied to us and UMNO took this to lie to the world.

UMNO is just too powerful for them. There is no way they can withstand the might of UMNO. They have 2 choices NOW. Either they take Chua Soi Lek’s advice to unite themselves as one component party or leave Barisan. The latter is a better choice but the former is a good political strategy for the present political scenario as it is a “it’s now or never type of opportunity”.

47. #47 by kanthanboy on Monday, 12 May 2008 - 1:29 pm

Lim Keng Yaik doesn’t fit the definition of beggar. He is a eunuch in the BN dynasty. They are just like the eunuchs in the last Ching Dynasty of China. Their master treated them like dogs. They are eunuchs by choice because they can use their positions to exploit the people especially people of their own race in order to enrich themselves and enjoy the privileges accorded to them. Similarly, all the ministers and BN representatives from MCA, Gerakan, MIC, SUPP and PPP are all eunuchs. The reason they still want to stay in BN is because once you become a eunuch you cannot un-eunuch yourself.

48. #48 by bukanbumi on Monday, 12 May 2008 - 1:41 pm

We are all beggers except the UMNOputras, remember the student who get 9 As for his SPM and was not awarded a scholarship? He and the rest of the Non Bumi must “BEGGED” for the scholarship.

How ironic! many of these student beggers will one day become one of the best in other countries but not in their motherland.

49. #49 by lovemalaysiaforever on Monday, 12 May 2008 - 1:43 pm

Finally L.K.Y. have burned his ass…belate better than never…this show’s atleast you are not traitor of Chinese.
    Why must he lead our Chinese to behave like beggars at the first place???In terms of civilization and culture we are much longer, isn’t it? I am sorry perhaps he didn’t read much in the historical books..or maybe he did not do research much about our origins…
    Well, I assume Kah Ting will be soon acting soon instead of leading his party to sandquick.
    Remember, Malaysia will not be Malaysia if there is no Chinese, Indian and Malay in our Merdeka. So, it is for all!

50. #50 by Jong on Monday, 12 May 2008 - 1:45 pm

How come it takes these “eunuchs” decades to realise that they had been selling off the rights of the NONs? Isn’t it too little too late?

Singapore’s website http://www.talkingcock.com will have a field day! :D :D

1 2 3

Comments are closed.