i have been informed that Raja Petra Kamaruddin has been ordered to surrender himself at the Jalan Duta magistrate’s court at 9.30 am tomorrow to be charged with sedition.
I have not been able to contact RPK to get confirmation.
i have been informed that Raja Petra Kamaruddin has been ordered to surrender himself at the Jalan Duta magistrate’s court at 9.30 am tomorrow to be charged with sedition.
I have not been able to contact RPK to get confirmation.
This entry was posted on Monday, 5 May 2008, 10:15 pm and is filed under Court, Human Rights, IT. You can follow any responses to this entry through RSS 2.0. Both comments and pings are currently closed.
Comments are closed.
Fusion theme by digitalnature | powered by WordPress
Entries (RSS) and Comments (RSS) ^
#1 by undergrad2 on Tuesday, 6 May 2008 - 6:50 pm
“His act of electing to remain in custody, when posting bail of RM5,000 is not a problem, baffles me in a disconcerting way. I don’t know why he is doing this and what great point he is trying to prove. To me it makes no sense.” Jeffrey Qc
Which is why I mentioned earlier that I felt he has a reckless disregard for the law, for his personal safety and the welfare of that of his family.
He must have been well advised by friends and family members not to step over the edge. His other so-called friends and lawyers (who are prepared to work pro bono in return for the free publicity they get) in egging him on do so for reasons better known to themselves.
But even his critiques cannot but admit that his courage in the face of an enemy determined to make an example out of him, is perhaps equal to if not surpassed only by those of Kit, Guan Eng and Karpal Singh and the others following in their footsteps, all of whom bore the wounds of their confrontation with their enemy.
It is obvious that in refusing to pay bail, RPK has inflicted a wound on himself. A self-inflicted wound to his critiques is not the best way to start a fight. To them he only made it difficult for those left to pick up the baton he dropped to carry on the race – or did he? Or is this too soon a conclusion to make? Does he know something we do not know?
#2 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Tuesday, 6 May 2008 - 6:51 pm
RPK has shamed the Malaysian government again!
SUrely the blogs should be allowed to pass fair comment. Without a free press and now without a free blogosphere becaause of selective prosecution, evil men will have their day and can, literally, get away with murder if there is no whistleblower and where messengers and whistleblowers are persecuted for their social conscience.
#3 by lew1328 on Tuesday, 6 May 2008 - 6:59 pm
Dear, WargaMalaysia
Before you comment or feedback here, do you already asked “Allah” that the words you are putting in are the “TRUTH”. I really hope that you can sleep well with that’s.
Regards. Behalf of all Malaysian
#4 by Killer on Tuesday, 6 May 2008 - 7:07 pm
Folks
Slamming the BN/UMNO and criticising their policies is one thing but implicating the leaders in a vicious murder plot without any evidence is not just unethical but also criminal. There is a very clear line between criticism of policies and vicious personal attack.
We need to be very clear on this distinction. What RPK done was not acceptable to any right-thinking citizen (unless they are politically blind).
And by refusing to post bail, RPK has shown that he is more interested in gaining publicity than fighting for rakyat and justice.
By choosing to go to prison, he has severely dented his own ability to prepare for the case and the chance to keep speaking out.
Adios amigo….
#5 by pkrisnin on Tuesday, 6 May 2008 - 7:14 pm
Only a total blind moron would deny the facts in this case. Read the facts, http://www.malaysia-today.net/2008/content/view/7033/84/
#6 by Mr Smith on Tuesday, 6 May 2008 - 7:16 pm
RPK has said that this is political persecution and he would not play their game.
So, by refusing to make a statement to the police and now preferring to go to jail, RPK is being consistent in his stand – not to play their game.
In any case, the prosecution will have to prove that the article is seditious. That would be monumental task.
#7 by pkrisnin on Tuesday, 6 May 2008 - 7:21 pm
I have no idea what is seditious when he’s just stating the fact about the case and the events during the trial and we still have Malaysians like “Killer” slamming RPK for stating the facts.
#8 by Bobster on Tuesday, 6 May 2008 - 7:25 pm
Well said YB Lim in the Parliament. This KJ fellow really needs to think hard before opening his big mouth.
#9 by verbal-lash on Tuesday, 6 May 2008 - 7:28 pm
All I can say is, the proof of the pie is in the pudding. Whatever that people like Killer, lextcs and wargamalaysia might say, their arguments hold no water in this blog. The rest of us are still going for the kill to support RPK. Look at how much money have been raised in a very short while and better still, we are doing a part for charity after helping RPK post his bail.
#10 by pulau_sibu on Tuesday, 6 May 2008 - 7:31 pm
uncle lim fought hard in the parliament today. excellent job
#11 by grace on Tuesday, 6 May 2008 - 7:32 pm
Majority of the writers support RPK. It is good. but there are a few ungrateful ones who are praying that he be sent to jail.
Honestly, RPK did help DAP and PKR in getting elected to power. MT itself had exposed so many corrupt practices and abuse of power on the part of government. In this aspect he saved us tax payers of millions of ringgit.
For his good deed, we should support him with a little amount of money to finance his fight . This is not too much.
Luckily there are just a few ungrateful ones in our midst.
By the same token, these few ungrateful ones may harbour the same thought on DAPonly leaders who have been fighting tirelessly for a clean and fair government for us.
If that is the case, it would be better for them to blog on proUMNO or MCA or MIC site. Their suggestion would be much appreciated there!!!!
#12 by undergrad2 on Tuesday, 6 May 2008 - 7:34 pm
“To Undergrad 2,
Why has DPM Najib Tun Rajak and wife have not taken anyone to court for litigation? I leave it to the readers to appraise for the answers. As usual, the Sedition Act was deployed instead. Clever eh?”
The same reason why Mahathir after threatening to sue the London tabloids in the mid 80s during his negotiations for a massive defense contract with the Thatcher government backed off.
The same reason why tabloids all over the world relish the thought of a possible confrontation with corrupt politicians. Their sales would soar through the roof and the revenue from sales would be more than enough to pay for the damages any court may deem fit to impose.
The same reason why BN politicians and their lackeys in government have not sued members of the opposition for the statements the latter made.
Imagine the dirty linen that would end up being washed in public – and what that could do to the plaintiffs. Imagine what else we do not know about the plaintiffs that we now come to know. What we may come to know would no longer remain in the realm of hearsay. They become part of court transcripts which could be used in evidence in law suits to come! They are fodder for investigative journalists out to make a name for themselves. These corrupt politicians would fall like dominoes.
#13 by limkamput on Tuesday, 6 May 2008 - 7:34 pm
Moderator,
The postings below put up by Undergrads are still in the thread while my response to him have all be deleted. May I know what are you doing? Do you want me to write to Sdr Lim again? I think I shouldn’t bother him too much, but at least I expect you to do your job professionally.
[Thanks. It was an oversight. Rectified - Admin]
#14 by undergrad2 on Tuesday, 6 May 2008 - 7:56 pm
Jeffrey QC and I were discussing jurisdictional issues involved should the AG want to pursue the matter against Malaysia-Today and RPK.
#15 by penang308 on Tuesday, 6 May 2008 - 8:10 pm
Now we all know who is right and who is wrong. By charging RPK under Sedition Act only confirmed that RPK know the “TRUTH”!
The killer or killers must be so scare that he is now resort to such a “DIRTY” act to shut him out! Even a 7 years old boy know that!
#16 by undergrad2 on Tuesday, 6 May 2008 - 8:13 pm
“It is tough on Puan Marina Lee Abdullah-Petra and her children when Raja Petra Kamarudin goes to gaol in Sungei Buloh for refusing bail. This is because he felt that the whole episode leading to his incarceration was a set-up (see video by malaysiakini.tv) by certain elements in UMNO who were looking for a pretext to “get” him.” Din Merican
RPK should give a thought to his wife and children.
#17 by malaysiauser on Tuesday, 6 May 2008 - 8:15 pm
Dear all,
trust me… it is a very ugly tactic of BN to stop bloggers voice their opinions..
i hope foreign press will print up this issue!
ok… well what happen to althantuya case? already closed ka?? ..oppss!!! im not seditious!!
#18 by Justicewanted on Tuesday, 6 May 2008 - 8:18 pm
RPK bravo to you.
I admire your guts.
I think we all should consider setting up a legal fund for you.
#19 by ilovedap on Tuesday, 6 May 2008 - 8:59 pm
limkamput and undergrad2,
Enough la! Cant we all just get along with each other, guys. Let me spend you guys teh tarik one day, ok?
#20 by undergrad2 on Tuesday, 6 May 2008 - 9:05 pm
No prob with me ilovedap but you’ll need to buy me a plane ticket home which should cost you some RM3k? So the teh tarik is not cheap after all!
#21 by undergrad2 on Tuesday, 6 May 2008 - 9:06 pm
“I reread the article “Let’s sent Altantunya murderer to Hell.” RPK’s article is a regurgitation of MSM report. Tell one instant where it was the product of his imagination? ” oknyua
I believe RPK knew it was seditious but he couldn’t care less! Those paragraphs are now spelt out in the charge sheet.
#22 by undergrad2 on Tuesday, 6 May 2008 - 9:08 pm
I don’t believe the government has ever lost a sedition case – and that is due in no small measure to the fact that we do not have jury trials.
#23 by undergrad2 on Tuesday, 6 May 2008 - 9:12 pm
We should pause to pray not only for RPK and his family but also to the families of those who lost their lives due to the cyclone in Myanmar.
#24 by ilovedap on Tuesday, 6 May 2008 - 9:21 pm
undergrad2,
Spend you when you are back. That’s why i said “one day” to protect myself. :)
#25 by undergrad2 on Tuesday, 6 May 2008 - 9:23 pm
Ah! A budding lawyer yourself!
#26 by undergrad2 on Tuesday, 6 May 2008 - 9:25 pm
We can start planning now! Where shall we go?
#27 by ilovedap on Tuesday, 6 May 2008 - 9:33 pm
starbucks or san francisco coffee, Lot 10. Anyone else interested?
#28 by bra888 on Tuesday, 6 May 2008 - 9:33 pm
http://www.kennysia.com
See how Lim Kit Siang WOULD look like if he were to do some cam-whoring. XD
#29 by anak sungeisiput on Tuesday, 6 May 2008 - 9:36 pm
In any country where the rule of law is supreme this Allt. murder case would have been concluded expeditiously and the perpetuators of the crime, irrespective of the corrupt influence such alleged criminals may wield. Given that there are so many concrete evidence of higher up intervention, I can only come to one cloclusion and that is the rule of Law in Malaysia has much to be desired and the country may join other 4th world countries.
#30 by catharsis on Tuesday, 6 May 2008 - 9:42 pm
Now can you understand why the PDRM do not have enough resources to catch the bads guys…………………………………….JUST TOO MANY ERRANDS TO DO FOR A POLICE FORCE ……..what a fiasco
#31 by cemerlang on Tuesday, 6 May 2008 - 9:42 pm
Barisan Nasional is shooting blindly at anyone and anything just because it has lost so many seats. PDRM does not dare to touch the real criminals. But with petty problems, they resort to such heavy tactic. So many corruptors, so many gangsters, so many crimes and yet what did PDRM do ? Nothing without an order. So once again we are reminded who the boss is. Exactly who is the boss ?
#32 by undergrad2 on Tuesday, 6 May 2008 - 9:44 pm
ilovedap, that depends on whether you’re going to put some sedatives into limkamput’s teh tarek! I’m sorry I need to protect myself.
#33 by kenyalan08 on Tuesday, 6 May 2008 - 10:00 pm
Are we ready to show the PEOPLE POWER ? If so , YB LKS , please take the lead to organise a peace rally – the Gandhi way . Apply police permit for gathering at Bukit Jalil Stadium-show of support to RPK and People voice to the government .
Failing which , are we ready to march peacefully into the prison camp for free three meals . Imagine a million go in- we will win the battle .
#34 by catharsis on Tuesday, 6 May 2008 - 10:06 pm
limkamput ……take this cue:
Whoever corrects a mocker invites insult;
whoever rebukes a wicked man incurs abuse;
Do not rebuke a mocker or he will hate you;
Rebuke a wise man and he will love you;
Instruct a wise man man and he will be wise still;
Teach a righteous man and he will add to his learning
Every prudent man acts out of knowledge, but a fool exposes his folly
Cheers
#35 by harrisonbinhansome on Tuesday, 6 May 2008 - 10:09 pm
My personal thanks to YB Lim for not only taking this RPK issues to pARLIAMENT, but the Najib “bashing”. There is no mistake in voting for the opposition coalition.
#36 by pjboy on Tuesday, 6 May 2008 - 10:39 pm
Good idea kenyalan08…next can be Shah Alam Stadium. Then Kelana Jaya Stadium, then PKNS football field & all over Selangor-Perak-Penang-Kelantan-Kedah-FT. Action speak louder than words. Let the world know.
One thing is for sure. PDRM is very efficient in catching the innocent but inefficient in catching the real criminals that threathen the safety of the people everyday.
The 1st attempt to try & find an excuse to lock up RPK was the RTM invite. Recalled the host asked RPK if his blog was anti-establishment…so, guess RPK saw this coming. It was a plan to lock him up one way or another.
#37 by pgsilai on Tuesday, 6 May 2008 - 10:44 pm
Catharsis, well said ! I hope the mocker out there gets the message.
#38 by cemerlang on Tuesday, 6 May 2008 - 10:52 pm
National security is definitely threatened if murderers are allowed to walk free on Malaysian soil. Just the other day, someone said that Chua Soi Lek still got a bit of face because he dared to owe up to his wrong. But this is not an excuse for his come back because he has failed many people who trusted him. Then somewhere in U.S.A., that first class lady pimp committed suicide rather than telling all the dirty secrets. The secrets are out. First class service for the powerful. It is such a dirty world. So there is a balancing act between having some affairs somewhere and trying to get to the top. No need to have affairs out of Malaysia. Some young hot intern can do the job in the office. If one is really busy, one would not be dreaming and desiring. 50 years come and go and what do we have ? Politicians having so much time to go galavanting.
#39 by Killer on Tuesday, 6 May 2008 - 10:53 pm
While we are talking about a New Dawn for Malaysia post-March 8, it is saddening to see people still thinking along a narrow political lines. Your hatred of UMNO/BN should not blind you to the unethical and uncivilised tactics that people like RPK adopts.
The reason why LKS and Karpal has endured so long and have the highest respect even among the BN camp is their unwavering adherence to their democratic and ethical principles.
While I was upset with LKS and karpal on their “Animal Planet” antics on the 1st day of 12 GE Parliment, I still hold them as two of the greatest Malaysians that I have seen or known. The same goes for Patoo, LGE and a few others. While they have been hard on BN and unrelenting in their criticisms, they never shied away from handing out kudos if the BN did something worthwhile. They never ever stooped so low to resort to lies to tarnish the names of their political opponents.
However, I simply do not have the same respects but only contempt for people like Anwar, the PAS Mullahs and RPK. These guys displayed no principles whatsoever and many a times shown that they will use any means fair or foul to undermine their opponents.
Please ask yourself how would you react if UMNO resorts to such tactics on LGE to undermine his as the Penang CM. Would you support them as a matter of “principle” or condemn them for spreading lies ?
Folks, we need to raise above the petty party politics and behave on the principles of fair play and ethics. We have made our choice on March 8 and it is time to show maturity and not blinkered political partisanship.
#40 by cto on Tuesday, 6 May 2008 - 11:02 pm
Killer Says:
Today at 15: 56.31 (6 hours ago)
cto
You said ” I don’t believe what you wrote above. I am not gullible. I like to believe you but I can’t. I really need some proofs.”
hold a minute…now this is slandering…
I can’t recall calling you gullible, could you be so kind to help me to refresh my memory ?
————————————-
You did not call me gullible. Neither did I accuse you of calling me gullible. Please read carefully lah before accusing me of anything. At least get some if not all of the bases covered.
I merely said that I am not gullible.
BTW, I grant you permission to label me as gullible if you wish to do so. It is OK. My feelings won’t be hurt and you can write as much as you want about it. Even if I have the power to do so, I will not rely on the police to shut you up. :)
#41 by mybangsamalaysia on Tuesday, 6 May 2008 - 11:05 pm
PDRM…. go for corrupted officer and criminals la, dont waste tax payers’ money with RPK. Why PDRM is not charging those making sedition and false police report on inedible ink?
YB and anyone, can we know who make the report of inedible ink was brought into Malaysia before election? sedition too?
#42 by Godfather on Tuesday, 6 May 2008 - 11:22 pm
Killer:
I trust you understand the phrase that what is sauce for the goose is also sauce for the gander. Gimme a break about the fairness of BN and the machinery that it controls.
#43 by harrisonbinhansome on Tuesday, 6 May 2008 - 11:28 pm
I also take this opportunity to thank Madame moderator for her speedy comments of mine under detention without trail.
Sudah minum ma’am?
#44 by limkamput on Tuesday, 6 May 2008 - 11:42 pm
catharsis Says:
Today at 22: 06.58 (1 hour ago)
“limkamput ……take this cue:
Whoever corrects a mocker invites insult;
Every prudent man acts out of knowledge, but a fool exposes his folly Cheers”
Thanks Catharsis and also pgsilai.
#45 by undergrad2 on Wednesday, 7 May 2008 - 12:18 am
“I also take this opportunity to thank Madame moderator for her speedy comments of mine under detention without trail. Sudah minum ma’am?” handsome
Hello hansome! Ms. Moderator got to be seen to be doing her job since someone here has been after her job for a while now.
#46 by whoisthis on Wednesday, 7 May 2008 - 12:21 am
How the world has changed!
To think that Najib’s late father (the Late Prime Minister Tun Abdul Razak) and RPK’s late father studied law together in the 1950′s and were close friends. Now the 2 sons are sworn enemy.
The late Tun Razak (Najib’s father) even said that the nation has lost a great man and Malay when RPK’s father passed away in 1971.
#47 by limkamput on Wednesday, 7 May 2008 - 12:23 am
since someone here has been after her job for a while now.
“Whoever corrects a mocker invites insult;
Every prudent man acts out of knowledge, but a fool exposes his folly Cheers”
#48 by Jong on Wednesday, 7 May 2008 - 12:27 am
Hi undergrad2 and limkamput,
I have come to accept it that this blog truly needs you two around without whom it will be soooooooo
boring and dull! :D
#49 by undergrad2 on Wednesday, 7 May 2008 - 12:32 am
“Moderator,
The postings below put up by Undergrads are still in the thread while my response to him have all be deleted.” limkamput
Correction. Those postings were in fact responses to yours which were made with malice, meant to ridcule and insult. Some of your postings still remain and in case you think I’m calling for the moderator to do something about them, I’m not. I’m all for free speech.
My advice to you? As they say if you can’t stand the heat get out of the kitchen.
#50 by undergrad2 on Wednesday, 7 May 2008 - 12:33 am
Jong, I’m gonna ignore this guy and see what happens!