RPK to be charged with sedition?

i have been informed that Raja Petra Kamaruddin has been ordered to surrender himself at the Jalan Duta magistrate’s court at 9.30 am tomorrow to be charged with sedition.

I have not been able to contact RPK to get confirmation.

Print Friendly

1. #1 by Godfather on Tuesday, 6 May 2008 - 1:39 pm

Bail was set at RM5000. That must have hurt the prosecution. Even if it was RM5 million, RPK has enough support to raise this amount. The UMNO goons must be really envious.

2. #2 by ilovedap on Tuesday, 6 May 2008 - 1:40 pm

Lextcs,

I dont know what’s your agenda. Nevertheless, I still hope one day you’ll open up your eyes. Anyone with the slightest of intelligence knows that it is not a ploy to make money. May God bring you back to the Good Side. Even Darth Vader at his dying moment regret what he did. When will it be your turn to realise?

3. #3 by cto on Tuesday, 6 May 2008 - 1:41 pm

Killer Says:

Today at 12: 09.12 (1 hour ago)

[snip]

If you had been to his blog, you will know that he doesn’t offer any proofs or show a balanced approach at all. So if he chooses to write in such manner, he must be prepared to face the consequences. If you have the guts to criticise people then you must have the guts to defend your convictions.

———————

Lots of people here write without offering any proofs. And most have their own personal bias. I have not seen you offer any proof either.

I am pretty sure that RPK has the guts to defend his convictions. However, the collorary holds – if there is no truth in what he is writing about, Malaysia Today becomes nothing more than a tabloid. What is there to fear? Unless you believe that the majority who can read and write are actually that gullible.

The other day, the national inquirer reported that Elvis is still alive. He was seen having dim sum in San Francisco chinatown with Bruce Lee. Go spread the good news.

4. #4 by chanjoe on Tuesday, 6 May 2008 - 1:45 pm

hey guys, RM1.00 is nothing to you I believed! Even RM10.00 is nothing today so if you want to contribute any amount, just contribute and you know its for a good cause….to those who think its a scam…well as long as inside your heart you are contributing to a good cause, you will be blessed and Rakyat thank you for that. If you dun want to contribute just SHUT UP and dun try to negate the whole issue…

You got your rights and we..Rakyat got ours too….

I believe LKS is waiting for the outcome of the hearing and if the need arises, LKS can even donate his 1 month MP’s allowance to RPK for his cause…and for that matter, LGE can also donate his 1 month MP’s allowance too. Dun forget RPK campaigned for DAP in Klang, PJ, Perai and other places too.

That would be a great gesture I think…TQ

5. #5 by negarawan on Tuesday, 6 May 2008 - 1:51 pm

Many UMNO politicians have uttered seditious remarks or made seditious actions in public and also in parliament. We all know who they are. We all know how they have enraged us. Why haven’t these UMNO politicians been charged? Why is UMNO charging an innocent citizen? Free RPK and all the innocent Hindraf victims now!

6. #6 by cklife on Tuesday, 6 May 2008 - 1:51 pm

Uncle LKS..

Do something!!!!!
    I need RPK….
    The real RAKYAT… he’s truly Malaysian in spirit…
    a true Muslim.. who sacrifice himself for the good cause…

7. #7 by cto on Tuesday, 6 May 2008 - 1:51 pm

Godfather Says:

Today at 13: 31.21 (9 minutes ago)
    I think lexcts is just an UMNO crony who was “wronged” by RPK, but unwilling to sue for fear of “something”. That “something” is up to your imagination

————————

lexcts is giving UMNO a bad name. Asking for RPK to be given the death sentence before there is even a trial. I thought UMNO is fair. :)

8. #8 by ilovedap on Tuesday, 6 May 2008 - 1:51 pm

Very well said Chanjoe.

9. #9 by grace on Tuesday, 6 May 2008 - 1:58 pm

cto,
    just leave that attention seeker alone. He is the only one who is not with us in spirit and thought and yet he wanted to join in the party.

At this point in time, we should rally behind RPK who had exposed so much wrong doings on some corrupt officials and ministers.

10. #10 by chanjoe on Tuesday, 6 May 2008 - 2:00 pm

I am overseas now but I want to make sure my RM1.00 or RM10.00 or RM100.00 really goes into the account as advised and so I am asking my wife in Malaysia to go bank in my small contribution tonight…well…hope you guys can also contribute too…

I wish to ask you to sacrifice a glass of teh tarik and take a bit of trouble to contribute whatever small amount of yours towards the fund.

If the fund is misuesd then the misuser will surely be punished by Rakyat and GOD….Look at those who makan suap suap teruk…what happened to them? If Zak is alive today, I think he will ask all to be clean and have integrity in your life.

11. #11 by Killer on Tuesday, 6 May 2008 - 2:02 pm

Godfather,

Let’s see examine the case of RPK. Do you think based on principles of fairness and justice, RPK has maintained a high standard of journalism and integrity ? While RPK complains so bitterly about the mainstream media, has RPK himself practised ethical and fair reportage ? RPK is a classic case of “cakap tak serupa bikin”.

I would say that RPK’s blog enjoys much popularity for its entertaintment value rather than truthful and bold reporting. Most people defend him not because he stands for justice but because he stands against BN.

The only reason why he has escaped lawsuits so far because of his royal connections. However, in the much changed Post-March 8 period, this protection is as useful as IP rights law in China.

If DPM sues RPK for slandering, then he will be deemed to beinterferring with the course of justice as the case is on going. Even if this is not the case, RPK will claim that the DPM using his position to silence the political opponents from speaking out. This stance is nothing new, a common strategy adopted by those who have no evidence to back up wild allegations.

If RPK really courageous, then he should welcome the opportunity to present the evidence that he has so that skeptics like myself and the rest of the world can be convinced. If he can’t then he should shut up and apologise to all concerned. I am sure RPK also knows that with holding evidence is a crime as well.

cto : Whether RPK is guilty or not is up to the court to decide. At this point we don’t even clear what he is charged for..

12. #12 by Saint on Tuesday, 6 May 2008 - 2:11 pm

The issue at hand is what PR is going to do as RPK was one of the driving forces for its win? Saudara Kit (and the others) seems to be silent on this matter.

13. #13 by cto on Tuesday, 6 May 2008 - 2:21 pm

grace Says:

Today at 13: 58.43 (18 minutes ago)
    cto,
    just leave that attention seeker alone. He is the only one who is not with us in spirit and thought and yet he wanted to join in the party.

——————

True. However, s/he piqued my curiosity. I am wondering why is s/he as mad as a hippo with a hernia at RPK. Perhaps RPK reported something silly like his/her grandfather sleeping with his/her mother.

14. #14 by Killer on Tuesday, 6 May 2008 - 2:23 pm

Yo cto

You said ” I am pretty sure that RPK has the guts to defend his convictions. However, the collorary holds – if there is no truth in what he is writing about, Malaysia Today becomes nothing more than a tabloid. What is there to fear? Unless you believe that the majority who can read and write are actually that gullible.”.

Yes, you are absolutely right, those who believe RPK are gullible . How otherwise one can believes such outrageous tales that has no logic nor proof whatever. Most of these people become so guilible due to their political affilitions that blinker their cognitive abilities.

15. #15 by Anti_NEP on Tuesday, 6 May 2008 - 2:23 pm

According to Malaysaikini report, RPK is charged with sedition and he refuse to post bail and chose to be in jail till October 6 the hearing date. What injustice is done to him. If the DPM is serious about clearing his reputaiton why can’t he take RPK to court for defamation rather than making use of the police!!!

16. #16 by cto on Tuesday, 6 May 2008 - 2:24 pm

Killer Says:

Today at 14: 02.18 (19 minutes ago)

[snip]

The only reason why he has escaped lawsuits so far because of his royal connections.

[snip, snip]

——-

Can you please offer some evidence or proofs?

17. #17 by aawilliam on Tuesday, 6 May 2008 - 2:26 pm

hello lextcs,
    why are you so “hot” about RPK?Relax!!,sit back and watch,cannot meh?DPM is your biological father ah?You are spoiling our mood here.

18. #18 by cto on Tuesday, 6 May 2008 - 2:30 pm

Killer Says:

Today at 14: 23.10 (1 minute ago)

Yes, you are absolutely right, those who believe RPK are gullible . How otherwise one can believes such outrageous tales that has no logic nor proof whatever. Most of these people become so guilible due to their political affilitions that blinker their cognitive abilities.

———————-

I don’t believe what you wrote above. I am not gullible. I like to believe you but I can’t. I really need some proofs. :)

Seriously though, you are making a pretty sweeping statement above and you are not even practicing what you preach.

19. #19 by ilovedap on Tuesday, 6 May 2008 - 2:41 pm

Wargamalaysia,

So RPK can sue you now and put you in jail because you said he’s mentally sick and you dont have prove. Can you surrender yourself mate?

What a rubbish.

20. #20 by wargamalaysia on Tuesday, 6 May 2008 - 2:47 pm

I can easily get all Ulamak2 to say that thru his writings/opinions, his is wrongly perceived by non-muslims to be a true muslim.

21. #21 by wargamalaysia on Tuesday, 6 May 2008 - 2:49 pm

Neither UMNO nor PAS will accept RPK. PKR or DAP or GERAKAN maybe….

22. #22 by harrisonbinhansome on Tuesday, 6 May 2008 - 2:50 pm

Dear Madame Moderator,

My comments is still stuck with your red-tapes. Personally I don’t beleive what I had written tantamount to any sorts of Seditious, Official Secrets, Acts.

U don mind do u?

23. #23 by oknyua on Tuesday, 6 May 2008 - 2:51 pm

“Forget about the impartiality of the court, RPK can still win the moral war if he can prove to rakyat that he has the facts to support his claims. Then he can show his courage by going to jail as an honest man, just like LGE did.” Killer.

I reread the article “Let’s sent Altantunya murderer to Hell.” RPK’s article is a regurgitation of MSM report. Tell one instant where it was the product of his imagination?

“I would say that RPK’s blog enjoys much popularity for its entertaintment value rather than truthful and bold reporting. Most people defend him not because he stands for justice but because he stands against BN.” Killer

Not true because he slammed DAP and PAS as well. Lately he also slammed PKR.

“Yes, you are absolutely right, those who believe RPK are gullible . How otherwise one can believes such outrageous tales that has no logic nor proof whatever. Most of these people become so guilible due to their political affilitions that blinker their cognitive abilities” – Killer

The argument goes both ways; political affiliations also blinded readers, true or not? As a whole your arguments displayed nothing substantive, sir. Please come out with something else.

24. #24 by ilovedap on Tuesday, 6 May 2008 - 2:52 pm

wargamalaysia,

That just illustrated another point why you are naive. All ulama? It’s enough. If you dont wanna help, please just back off. There are many others who are willing.

25. #25 by bukanbumi on Tuesday, 6 May 2008 - 2:58 pm

lextcs Says:
    raja P bastard should be given a death sentence instead. Serves him right.
    —————————-
    Wah! Death sentence for speaking his mind! If you are the Boss, all Malaysians will be dead by now except your family members.

RPK do not deserved death sentence lah, he has great appeal and resonates with many urban Malaysians lah. Just watch the save RPK funds snowball within the next few days!

26. #26 by lakilompat on Tuesday, 6 May 2008 - 3:08 pm

Shut media, shut radio, shut press – lost 5 states to opposition

Shut internet – lost the whole country

It’s good to try.

27. #27 by localgrad on Tuesday, 6 May 2008 - 3:11 pm

Hi, i was initially like most of the malaysian hoping that BN would not go down to the drain and PR will use next GE to take power.

But after a series of unfortunate events, judging by the same old BN aftermath 08 March…. i think we need to change this gomen by wat ever reasons and bury them in the graveyard/muzium.

Thank you Najis or Pak-lala to charge RPK, people would feel more alienated and frustrated with BN.

Thank you RPK for your bold move, we Malaysian all owe you one more time. I saluate you and will pray for you by not being insulted in the lockup period.

28. #28 by wargamalaysia on Tuesday, 6 May 2008 - 3:25 pm

My dear ilovedap,

I don’t mind if you and the gangs support RPK for whatever value that u feel fit to you, but not to perceive him as a true muslim as stated by some of you. I am a muslim and I bon’t accept him as a true muslim. If he’s a true muslim, he’ll received support by majority muslims. On the other hand, if only some of his articles about his ‘liberal’ Islam have received some +ve comments by some non-muslims in his blog, he might be wrongfully perceived as a true muslim to suit the readers.

I am no fan of BN, but personally to me, PR is no difference, to rightfully claim to be a non-racial coallition. Even if DAP is said to be a multi-racial party, but still with chinese candidates contesting in chinese-majority seats. So does PAS, UMNO, MCA, MIC & GERAKAN.

29. #29 by LALILOo on Tuesday, 6 May 2008 - 3:28 pm

For the sake of RPK, please make sure that all those that are involved in this matter be burned in hell.

30. #30 by wargamalaysia on Tuesday, 6 May 2008 - 3:32 pm

For the sake of ISLAM, please make sure that RPK is burned in HELL…

31. #31 by seage on Tuesday, 6 May 2008 - 3:38 pm

Seems like we are gonna have another 911 coming. Can someone please use the ISA?

32. #32 by localgrad on Tuesday, 6 May 2008 - 3:39 pm

Wahai wargamalaysia yang tak serupa wargamalaysia,

Only GOD has the power and his utmost rights to judge who are going to HELL or HEAVEN.

But those who want to steal over his power or being your own judge infront of GOD-ALMIGHTY will definitely being grilled and burned first.

33. #33 by cheng on soo on Tuesday, 6 May 2008 - 3:41 pm

Wah ! somebody want to sentence RPK to death,
    Hey, sedtion charges, no death sentence lah! Msia still has some law lah!

34. #34 by bentoh on Tuesday, 6 May 2008 - 3:46 pm

# harrisonbinhansome Says:
    Today at 14: 50.39 (53 minutes ago)

Dear Madame Moderator,

My comments is still stuck with your red-tapes. Personally I don’t beleive what I had written tantamount to any sorts of Seditious, Official Secrets, Acts.

U don mind do u?

==============================================

Ughhh… never really know that there is a comment moderating mechanism for this blog…

35. #35 by wargamalaysia on Tuesday, 6 May 2008 - 3:47 pm

Dear localgrad,

I thought U just pray some ppl to be burned in hell. I pray the same thing, but different ‘subject’.

As to seage, I thought all malaysians want ISA to be abolished….?

36. #36 by ilovedap on Tuesday, 6 May 2008 - 3:51 pm

Dear wargamalaysia,

I’ve no right to comment about whether RPK is a true muslim or not as I am not muslim myself but what I do know is, he is championing the cause for all Malaysians and that has nothing to do with religion. That’s point number one for you.

Point number two, I disagree that PR is the same with BN. There are many chinese and indian in PKR while there also many indians in DAP. For me, Pakatan is more malaysian than BN.

Point number three, I do respect that you have own thoughts and ideas and that you may not support RPK and Pakatan but that doesnt mean you should stop others from helping a friend in need. For example, you hate this person and he has cancer and he needs help from donation, are you going to be shouting to everyone not to donate? So can you kindly back off if you do not wish to help him?

On another note, I do hope one day you will be on Pakatan’s side. Again it is up to you.

37. #37 by Killer on Tuesday, 6 May 2008 - 3:56 pm

cto

You said ” I don’t believe what you wrote above. I am not gullible. I like to believe you but I can’t. I really need some proofs.”

hold a minute…now this is slandering…

I can’t recall calling you gullible, could you be so kind to help me to refresh my memory ?

Seriously though, you are making a pretty sweeping statement above and you are not even practicing what you preach.”

38. #38 by sotong on Tuesday, 6 May 2008 - 4:10 pm

Anyone fight for justice will get my support…..religion and race are not important.

One should be concerned of people abusing their position of trust, power and influence…..not INDIVIDUALS speaking out for common good.

39. #39 by seage on Tuesday, 6 May 2008 - 4:11 pm

‘Wargamalaysia’ that is not so malaysian… not all malaysians call for ISA to be abolished. No, not especially so with someone that will curse in the name of religion by saying “For the sake of ISLAM, please make sure that RPK is burned in HELL…” as though Allah could not defend Himself and needs someone like a wargamalaysia to make sure RPK burned in Hell for Allah’s sake.

40. #40 by paramjs on Tuesday, 6 May 2008 - 4:12 pm

Dear Uncle Lim,

Looks like Malaysia Govt Reps and the Police will never grow up in this country. If someone want to write, let him write lah…we are all grown up people, we will know how to distinguish what is right and what is wrong. If someone is creating slanderous rumours, we are intelligent enough to ignore it. By these guys practicing this kind of act, those days tangkap semua under ISA now its Tangkap semua under sedition act. Lama – lama Malaysia just be a Dumb & Dumber person cannot talk at all, Buka Mulut saja kena tangkap.

After all this GE 12, We thought the Govt will learn a lesson that people in Malaysia are getting very much mature and want a change in the way we think, act and do things, but sad to say some people never change.

41. #41 by Jeffrey on Tuesday, 6 May 2008 - 4:42 pm

Raja Petra was granted a bail of RM5,000/- which he refused to post, deciding instead to remain in custody until the hearing date(s) Oct 6 to 10 – 5 months from now!

His act of electing to remain in custody, when posting bail of RM5,000 is not a problem, baffles me in a disconcerting way. I don’t know why he is doing this and what great point he is trying to prove. To me it makes no sense.

First of all, the charge may be withdrawn but even if it were not, it may not, in law, stick and be thrown out by the court – so why stay 5 months in Sungai Buluh prison under remand for nothing?

Secondly, even if the charge were considered by the court as proven, RPK might as first offender be imposed a short custodial sentence of (say) two months imprisonment, so why serve 5 months before the trial has even begun?

Thirdly, if the logic is that RPK wants to show that the prosecution was all a political persecution of him as a martyr, again the fact that they charge him for sedition already proves that in public eyes and he does not really go into prison until October to show he is martyr for the Malaysian Cause.

Fourthly, if going on remand by refusing to post bail were a strategy to pressure authorities to unconditionally withdraw the charge, then (unless there’s prior understanding with some one at the top), there is no reason to think why such a strategy would work. After all they do not force him to go to prison; he was offered bail; he could well afford the RM5000/- bail : so if he decides not to post bail, it is RPK’s own doing and fault.

Fifth and lastly, RPK does not know the prison conditions – I hope he does not think it is great fun. He has many enemies, some in high places outside prison walls, who would wish him harm and could use inmates within the prison to put him in harm’s way……And what could RPK do to co-ordinate defence with his lawyers, continue his campaign to blog the Malaysian cause if he remains in prison until October, not to mention the toll on his family???

It is hard to understand from the rational standpoint, his decision not to post bail allowed and to voluntarily go to prison for perhaps as long as 5 months!

42. #42 by k1980 on Tuesday, 6 May 2008 - 4:47 pm

To the malaysians who voted for BN, this is what you have sown—
    http://themalaysianinsider.com/mni/images/stories/2008may/0605rpk01.jpg

43. #43 by bukanbumi on Tuesday, 6 May 2008 - 4:55 pm

Hello Wargamalaysia,
    You have your ideas about how a good Muslim is like and many others have their ideas as well, its true that some comments say that RPK is a true Muslim where these commentators are not Muslims, surely these commentators view RPK as a true Muslim from the point of Universal values. If you mean a True Muslims means only Pray 5x a day, don’t eat Pork, wear Arab dress and do not have Moral values then a True Muslim is a very superficial Muslim indeed.

Why want RPK to be burnt in Hell? Has he killed and rape anyone yet?

44. #44 by Saint on Tuesday, 6 May 2008 - 5:19 pm

Dear Wargamalaysia,

Please define a “true Muslim” and in what country do you find them?
    Bomb the Buddha statues in Afghanistan?
    Bring down Twin Towers in USA?
    Blast people in Bali?
    Honour killing in Pakistan?
    Women cannot even drive in Saudi Arabia?
    Killing brethren Muslims in Sudan”
    The word Allah is purely for Islam as in Malaysia?
    To me RPK is a “true Muslim” for he is against all the above.
    Maybe you can enlighten us.

45. #45 by bennylohstocks on Tuesday, 6 May 2008 - 5:58 pm

Seen all over th blocks the spelling is wrong:
    (grace Says:
    Today at 11: 24.57 (6 hours ago)

If all of us are so concerned over RPK, the minimum that we can do is to help him in his defence financially.
    If Lim Kit Siang is not starting one, we can donate it to on :
    :

Bank: CIMB

Account No.: 1403 0214 3340 50

Account Name Holder: Visvalinjam )

The name is: VISVALINGAM A
    (The receipt is with me)

46. #46 by leeann on Tuesday, 6 May 2008 - 6:04 pm

I think it stated they had enough money for the bail n since he didn’t want to pay the bail. I think there should not be anymore donation until Marina Lee ask for it.

47. #47 by dawsheng on Tuesday, 6 May 2008 - 6:05 pm

“Raja Petra was granted a bail of RM5,000/- which he refused to post, deciding instead to remain in custody until the hearing date(s) Oct 6 to 10 – 5 months from now!”

That’s an insult to RPK! The bail should be at least RM5,000,000 and above.

48. #48 by ilovedap on Tuesday, 6 May 2008 - 6:07 pm

Pete (RPK) has gotten RM24,500.00 from CIMB bank and USD3,283.61 from Paypal so far

Awesome. Bravo Malaysian. Now that’s what I call People’s Power!

49. #49 by leeann on Tuesday, 6 May 2008 - 6:13 pm

Message from RPK’s wife and family:

Only RM5,000.00 is needed to bail out RPK. The remaining balance will be given to charitable home of RPK’s choice. We would like to thank you all for your tremendous supports.

Message from MT’s Team: 5.30pm 6th May 2008

We would like to CALL OFF the donation campaign as we already collected enough fund to at least bail out our dearest YM RPK. It is the matter of RPK principle, and collecting excess wouldn’t be appreciated by him. As stated aerlier, all excess will be given to charitable home/center, and RPK or his family will make known of the statement from time to time. Thank you MALAYSIAN for supporting MALAYSIA TODAY!

50. #50 by joehancl on Tuesday, 6 May 2008 - 6:18 pm

WE must fight this charge against RPK together. We must NOT allow the govt. to cow the alternative media. It was RPK and bloggers like him who gave us the breathing space to VENT our frustrations on the govt. DAMN the govt.

Comments are closed.