i have been informed that Raja Petra Kamaruddin has been ordered to surrender himself at the Jalan Duta magistrate’s court at 9.30 am tomorrow to be charged with sedition.
I have not been able to contact RPK to get confirmation.
i have been informed that Raja Petra Kamaruddin has been ordered to surrender himself at the Jalan Duta magistrate’s court at 9.30 am tomorrow to be charged with sedition.
I have not been able to contact RPK to get confirmation.
This entry was posted on Monday, 5 May 2008, 10:15 pm and is filed under Court, Human Rights, IT. You can follow any responses to this entry through RSS 2.0. Both comments and pings are currently closed.
Comments are closed.
Fusion theme by digitalnature | powered by WordPress
Entries (RSS) and Comments (RSS) ^
#1 by alancheah on Monday, 5 May 2008 - 10:33 pm
Once you get the confirmation, kindly update us.
Thanks a lot. Uncle Lim.
#2 by ceefoo on Monday, 5 May 2008 - 10:39 pm
Its apparently true.. RPK needs all our support. He has been selflessly sacrificing to uphold the TRUTH. We owe it to him to show up in BIG numbers to show the powers-that-be how disgusted we are with their oppressive scare tactics. Pls lead us in protest. What do we do? We dont have much time
#3 by Ron260461 on Monday, 5 May 2008 - 10:40 pm
Thesaurus: sedition
noun
Organized opposition intended to change or overthrow existing authority: insurgence, insurgency, insurrection, mutiny, rebellion, revolt, revolution, uprising. See resist/yield.
Willful violation of allegiance to one’s country: seditiousness, traitorousness, treason. See trust/distrust.
The word sedition has been described as written above in the Thesaurus. It amazes me that what RPK wrote in his recent article on the Razak Baginda case is considered seditious by the authorities. It is clearly a form of intimidation & harrassment to instil fear in the public and to muzzle any form of discussion & dissemination of information.
#4 by Jong on Monday, 5 May 2008 - 10:40 pm
Yeah, protect the culprit and intimidate the rakyat who speaks up! Go on arrest RPK today, there’ll be a few more RPK tomorrow. Looks like they’ll need to blast us all with C4 to silence us, eh?
#5 by leeann on Monday, 5 May 2008 - 10:41 pm
RPK just wrote a blog , it is confirmed.
#6 by Anak_Penang on Monday, 5 May 2008 - 10:50 pm
RPK, nvm, be steady, God is watching.
#7 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Monday, 5 May 2008 - 10:52 pm
Raja Petra KAmaruddin should just speak the truth and damn the devil.
It’s so very uncanny how truth has a way of squeezing its way out from the darndest, driest crook and cranny.
So RPK, should just have faith that what’s done in secret places will someday be blasted from rooftops and emblazoned across the nation’s doorposts and lintels. God is not mocked by the derisiveness of any man who stands proud against GOD and man. So RPK can take heart and keep yr faith inviolate. God bless you, sir.
#8 by mendela on Monday, 5 May 2008 - 10:52 pm
Let’s start an International Crusade to save Pete. Pete is the greatest blogger Malaysia ever produced.
Without Pete’s voice, Malaysia fragile democracy will be further compromised!
#9 by Penang_soul on Monday, 5 May 2008 - 10:58 pm
Penang education director stops DCM from distrubuting spectacles to poor students
GEORGE TOWN (May 5, 2008): Last year, prescription spectacles were distributed to poor students in several Tamil schools without a glitch but when the state executive councillor for education tried to carry on with the programme now, he was stopped from doing so by the state Education Department.
Dr P. Ramasamy, who is also the deputy chief minister II, informed the state Education Department of his intentions to distribute spectacles to 223 pupils from 11 Tamil schools in Seberang Perai Utara.
“We planned to do it on May 12 during school hours in a Tamil school in Jawi so that it is easier for the pupils to turn up and receive the spectacles,” he said.
However, the department told Ramasamy they are not allowed to go ahead with the programme during school hours.
“They told us that it would disrupt the schooling hours of the pupils so we should not organise it during school hours,” he told a press conference today.
I WOULD LIKE TO HIGHLIGHT THE LAST PARAGRAPH… ASK THE DIRECTOR TO GO AND CHECK SOME SCHOOLS WHERE THE TEACHERS ARE WASTING TIME WITH POLITICS AND OTHER NON-TEACHING ACTIVITIES (LIKE DOING SALES, HAVING LONG STUPID MEETINGS DURING TEACHING HOURS) AND NOT TEACHING OR ENTERING THE CLASS AT ALL ESPECIALLY THE SK SCHOOLS SO PLEASE DON’T TALK ABOUT DISRUPTING SCHOOLING HOURS….. THE CLASSES OF SUCH SCHOOLS ARE ALWAYS DISTRUPTED THROUGHOUT THE YEAR AND THE POOR PUPILS ARE AT THE LOOSING ENDS. IF ONLY THE DIRECTOR WOULD CARE TO FIND OUT FOR HIMSELF. IF HE NEEDS PROOF MANY PARENTS HAVE IT BUT THE PROBLEM IS HE DOES NOT CARE AT ALL AS ALL ADMINISTRATORS OF SCHOOL ARE HIS OWN PEOPLE AND HE IS THE BOSS…
#10 by hasilox on Monday, 5 May 2008 - 11:01 pm
Another record level of bodoh. Murderers are glorified. People who cry for justice are charged.
Maybe everybody should start committing crime. You’ll be charged if you don’t!!!!!
#11 by drphang on Monday, 5 May 2008 - 11:01 pm
Thats bad to have RPK in…..This proves democracy….we are with you RPK….Truth will prevail
#12 by undergrad2 on Monday, 5 May 2008 - 11:05 pm
So somebody agrees with me after all when I said earlier:
“RPK to me seems to be doing more than just pointing out defects in the administration of justice when he wrote the said article. He is suggesting unequivocally that the process is corrupt and that the administration of justice has been tampered with ‘by higher powers’ and by doing so invites public scorn on the country’s justice system. Now it is important to also note that he does this while the Altantuya murder trial is an ongoing case and this is important. I don’t know how else to put it.
In my opinion, there is enough material in there to satisfy Sec. 3 (1) (c). Sedition Act 1948.”
#13 by undergrad2 on Monday, 5 May 2008 - 11:10 pm
It is unfortunate that RPK seems to have surrounded himself with lawyers who do not have his best interest at heart. Either that or his reckless disregard for the law has put him in the present predicament.
#14 by aawilliam on Monday, 5 May 2008 - 11:12 pm
This is another mistake,the 1st …..hindraf 5!!!!! Now RPK.This will be the downfall of DPM NAJIS.Mark my word,my dear DPM!!!!!!!!!!!!!”Forcing the tiger to jump over the wall”,SO HOPED THAT 13th GENERAL ELECTION is just around the corner.GOD PLEASE BLESS OUR PRIME MINISTER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
#15 by Richard Teo on Monday, 5 May 2008 - 11:20 pm
Undergrad,
Dont try to be a smart guy. The govt prosecutors dont need your help to convict RPK under the sedition Act.
#16 by undergrad2 on Monday, 5 May 2008 - 11:24 pm
My sympathies go to your family, RPK. Your courage in standing up to the authorities – to be admired.
#17 by chanjoe on Monday, 5 May 2008 - 11:25 pm
RPK….I am with you…my support with you is steadfast….I am overseas so cant go to court tomoro to support you but my spirit is with you.
LKS should gather a lawyers team headed by Karpal Singh to membela RPK….
#18 by cancan on Monday, 5 May 2008 - 11:29 pm
Is Abdullah Badawi playing a political mind game?
Link: http://www.kingsmary.blogspot.com/
#19 by chanjoe on Monday, 5 May 2008 - 11:33 pm
LKS,
Pls order all DAP MPs & ADUNs to go to court tomoro to show your support for RPK. He did so much for DAP during the GE12. ALL DAP MPs should show up and prove to all that we are all Ketuanan Rakyat…
PAS & PKR should also do the same and lets show our People’s Force to be together with RPK…..NO BUTs….just be there…
#20 by pgsilai on Monday, 5 May 2008 - 11:33 pm
Whatever we can do, let’s do something to support RPK especially the lawyers in this blog. Let the truth prevails !
Mendela says :
Without Pete’s voice, Malaysia fragile democracy will be further compromised!
#21 by limkamput on Monday, 5 May 2008 - 11:34 pm
This Renaissance man at times can be so condescending and boastful. There is no need to rub salt into wound anymore. The prosecutor can charge, but it is up to the court to hear and make the final decision. This Renaissance man has already found him guilty before he is charged. So much for this Renaissance man! May be I should withdraw the title bestowed on him just a few minutes ago in another thread.
#22 by 9to5 on Monday, 5 May 2008 - 11:36 pm
***It is unfortunate that RPK seems to have surrounded himself with lawyers who do not have his best interest at heart. Either that or his reckless disregard for the law has put him in the present predicament.***
That’s why RPK is RPK! If he were to surrounded by lawyers who advised him not to do this or not to do that for fear of running foul of the law, he would be like just you and me – ordinary people!
Genuine political leaders are extraordinary people; they dare to defy authorities and therefore command respect from the people they fought for.
That’s why RPK, Kit, LGE, the 6 Hindrafs, etc are extraordinary leaders who dare defy the corrupt legal system and the injustice of the BN government!
Many of them are lawyers themselves; they know the consequences and the perils of their defiance and yet they plowed on!
Because of their defiance, we get the results in the 12th GE.
#23 by 5xmom on Monday, 5 May 2008 - 11:39 pm
My prayers that we shall see justice with regards to RPK’s case.
But I am very furious with this :
I had blogged about this because I am a mother with four school going children. I know little kids love the ‘celebrity factor’ of having VIPs to grace their school events.
First on NUTP ridiculous instructions, then, Ong Kah Chuan attending PTA, and the Minister of Higher Education distributing school building funds.
(pardon my language on my blog, that’s my firebrand LOL)
I am furious because the ruling Federal Government is not sticking to their own words. They allowed all the UMNO/MCA ministers to go to schools and participate and yet, create petty things with our Penang State Government.
P/S : YB Lim, I am from KADun Air Putih. Was there at the launching of the service center.
#24 by limkamput on Monday, 5 May 2008 - 11:46 pm
Undergrad2, I don’t understand how you could put these sentences together.
(i) “….. his reckless disregard for the law has put him in the present predicament.”
(ii) “…..Your courage in standing up to the authorities – to be admired”.
I can only assume that your (ii) is an after thought after getting the thrashing from Richard Teo. If one is unwilling and cannot fight, please spare some thought for those who are willing.
#25 by undergrad2 on Monday, 5 May 2008 - 11:47 pm
9to5,
I feel RPK is more useful out of Kamunting than in it which is why I feel he should tread carefully. His courage is admirable. Let’s hope it is just intimidation and he’ll not have to spend time.
His connection with the palace should save him. It didn’t save him the last time. But that happened under different circumstances.
#26 by undergrad2 on Monday, 5 May 2008 - 11:49 pm
I still feel RPK got into his present predicament parly because of his reckless disregard for the law. Courage is a different matter.
#27 by undergrad2 on Monday, 5 May 2008 - 11:51 pm
Of course, one shouldn’t expect limkamput to see the difference. As for this Richard Teo, I can understand why he wants to spin! He is still reeling from the spanking he got when he wrote about the Regent of Perak.
#28 by limkamput on Monday, 5 May 2008 - 11:54 pm
On second thought, may be it is this “know-all” also known as Renaissance man who gave the idea to the prosecutors to charge RPK under sedition. How tragic!
#29 by undergrad2 on Monday, 5 May 2008 - 11:56 pm
It takes courage to know you could be hauled in for continuing to infringe the country’s sedition law because of your writing on your blog. But that doesn’t change the fact that it was your reckless disregard for the law that got you.
#30 by limkamput on Monday, 5 May 2008 - 11:59 pm
Mr. Undergrad2, this is not personal. I am asking you to stop being condescending and boastful. There is no need to rub salt into wound anymore. The prosecutor can charge, but it is up to the court to hear and make the final decision. Inadvertently, you have already found him guilty before he is charged. Just say sorry to RPK and all his supporters and move on.
#31 by undergrad2 on Tuesday, 6 May 2008 - 12:04 am
Kit here surely understands. Until the Sedition Act is repealed we are all subject to it – which is why he deletes comments which fall foul of the Sedition Act, not that he agrees with it.
What good will Kit be, and what good will LGE be if they have to spend time incarcerated for infringing the country’s sedition law. We do not need martyrs as much as we need leaders.
#32 by pgsilai on Tuesday, 6 May 2008 - 12:07 am
Undergrad2 , please don’t think you are the only wise man around and must always have the last say. It doesn’t help at this moment, so please stop rubbing salt into the wound.
If you are a supporter, please think of ways to save our Dear RPK.
#33 by limkamput on Tuesday, 6 May 2008 - 12:07 am
But you are imposing how others should fight or choose to fight, come on you are smarter than that.
#34 by Tim Sng on Tuesday, 6 May 2008 - 12:09 am
If the truth was spoken or written, then no writer should fear. Let there truly be freedom in this country to speak the truth and to be unafraid to tell the truth.
I believe that many more `rpk’s will be raised. Remember, there were previous forerunners who braved and fought for freedom…..Nehru, Mahatma, Nelson Mandela, Tunku Abdul Rahman, Syed Hussin…..now…RPK
#35 by assamlaksa on Tuesday, 6 May 2008 - 12:10 am
Another case of wasting resources and having wrong priority. Unsolved crimes are happening everywhere all the time.
Maybe RPK is an easy target, police just have to go to his
house and tell him to surrender, no searching, no roadblock, no need to take risk of getting shot by armed criminals
#36 by syncbasher83 on Tuesday, 6 May 2008 - 12:10 am
wah spillling to this thread oso? hmmm…
#37 by undergrad2 on Tuesday, 6 May 2008 - 12:17 am
“The prosecutor can charge, but it is up to the court to hear and make the final decision.” Limkamput
Look who’s talking?? The only one on this blog who goes on and on about the law not being fair, about judges who are corrupt and lawyers who are no more than scumbags! What makes you think that the judge would come down on his side this time?
Has the judiciary changed so much since March that you have taken a 180 degree turn?? Or is it the Prozac?
#38 by undergrad2 on Tuesday, 6 May 2008 - 12:24 am
“If you are a supporter, please think of ways to save our Dear RPK” pgsillai
I’m not rubbing salt into any wound here. If our best intentions and our best wishes could free RPK, then he wouldn’t even be facing charges for sedition.
The only way RPK could be saved is if there is intervention from the Palace. I’m hopeful there will be. Who would have imagined Anwar could be arrested and jailed?
#39 by limkamput on Tuesday, 6 May 2008 - 12:25 am
Look, just say sorry and move on. You have no right to be so rude to RPK. You said many things: (i) there are enough grounds to charge RPK under sedition, (ii) he will be found guilty as charged. What i said was at least let the court decide, not so much i suddenly have accepted the judiciary has changed. If you use more time Prozac on me i will give you words that you will regret. You are warned.
#40 by limkamput on Tuesday, 6 May 2008 - 12:30 am
it should be read: if you use Prozac one more time on me, I will give you words that you will regret, you are warned.
#41 by undergrad2 on Tuesday, 6 May 2008 - 12:30 am
I think it is nothing more than intimidation so that RPK could pause to ponder about his family without him.
#42 by raven77 on Tuesday, 6 May 2008 - 12:38 am
This man helped the PR to be in power….will the PR help him now……all Malaysians who voted in the PR will soon find out…….
#43 by Jong on Tuesday, 6 May 2008 - 12:51 am
I am sure PR will stand by him, that’s for sure!
#44 by arctanck on Tuesday, 6 May 2008 - 12:52 am
RPK believes that it’s God’s will that he is sent to jail. But I believe it’s a struggle between two extremes – good and evil. The lost of RPK may be a transient event, yet has long term impact on the nation, or as undergrad2 would want to believe, RPK’s action is just foolish and no positives can be taken from RPK’s actions. Look, RPK is prepared to go to jail for what he has said, so forget about the law, the judge possibly corrupted and the judge’s decision. What’s more important is that we stand together and fight the evil, or through your action what RPK did might truly become foolish, and that you let the evil prevails. You know which side I’m on. Let’s show the authorities the people’s power, and people’s will for a change!
#45 by melurian on Tuesday, 6 May 2008 - 1:00 am
next time all rpk’s article should put a footnote “all here are fictional and any similarity is merely coincidental…..
#46 by HJ Angus on Tuesday, 6 May 2008 - 1:12 am
That murder trial sure has some common folks wondering:
1.Are the immigration records so unsecured that files can be deleted?
2.The prosecution appears to have wanted to steer the case towards a certain direction and away from a wider scope as could be encompassed with the missing records.
3.The 2 men who are taken to court are always protected from the public eye. Does the judge get to see if the same folks are in court each time?
After all, just see how easy it was for a dangerous terrorist to escape from his jailors in Singapore.
#47 by undergrad2 on Tuesday, 6 May 2008 - 1:13 am
“Look, just say sorry and move on. You have no right to be so rude to RPK. You said many things: (i) there are enough grounds to charge RPK under sedition, (ii) he will be found guilty as charged.” limkamput
Somebody is ranting again! I never said he would be found guilty – certainly not when he was not even charged for anything.
Those comments were made on another thread in the context of the discussion of whether there was basis for a sedition charge since what was obvious was that RPK made comments sub judice when he wrote about the Altantuya murder case – a matter involving contempt of court and nothing seditious. I thought so initially. My opinion when reading the entire article later, however, was that there was enough material in that article to support a charge for sedition. Whether he would be found guilty or not is another matter which would be decided by the courts applying the high criminal standard of proof beyond reasonable doubt.
Readers would appreciate that that is different from saying that I want RPK to be charged for sedition!
Of course, you can depend on limkamput who clearly is on Prozac or some other psychotropic drugs not to see the difference. Godfather and I have been advising him many times not to self-medicate and see his doctor but he won’t listen!
#48 by Jeffrey on Tuesday, 6 May 2008 - 1:16 am
Under the Sedition Act, the intention of the person charged – whether he intended or attempted to be seditious is irrelevant. The offence of sedition will be made out if act, speech, word, publication has, in language of section 3(1) of the Act, a “seditious tendency”. There is a seditious tendency if it excites disaffection amongst the people and brings into hatred or contempt both the government and the country’s administration of justice…..
The case against RPK for his article “Let’s Send The Altantuya Murderers To Hell” will most likely focus on that part of what he wrote, which is not part of public knowledge, still a rumour, unproven as to facts which (hint hint) begins with : “Rumour has it, and it remains just that, a rumour, is that all this ‘evidence’ has been given to….”
I don’t even dare to repeat it in fear of being also charged for sedition and I advise that you don’t too.
The only defence under the Act is if act, speech, word, publication is expressed to point out an error by the government or the system of administration of justice with a view to procure by lawful means the alteration, removal and rectification of that error….Phew this is not easy.
On conviction for first offence, the person will be liable to a fine not exceeding five thousand ringgit or to imprisonment for a term not exceeding three years or to both, and, for a subsequent offence, to imprisonment for a term not exceeding
five years!
#49 by wtf2 on Tuesday, 6 May 2008 - 1:19 am
by charging rpk it shows that
1. the police is still screwed up. Replace the top brass before he screws up the country and the people further
2. if the legal system does not throw this charge out – means that judicial reform is failing. Can we begin a petition to sack the AG for inability to follow the letter of the law instead of coming up with adhoc interpretations?
3. everyone can conclude that the entire BN in particular UMNO is still doing the “Tuan” thingy over the BN and the country.
4. Badawi should seriously consider dedicating his time fully to his herb garden, goats and nasi padang store
#50 by Jeffrey on Tuesday, 6 May 2008 - 1:21 am
Now the more important part – how can RPK be saved?
“///……If you are a supporter, please think of ways to save our Dear RPK…///” -. pgsilai
But what makes you think he needs “saving”??? He is aware of the system here. He would not skirt on the edge of sedition if he were not, on legal advice, fully prepared for the consequences.
Why do you think Cruise ships here sail to international waters to allow for the gambling that goes on in their casinos???? This is because domestic gaming law (the Common Gaming Act) makes unlicensed gaming in public place by public an offence but this is not the case in international waters……