Lee Hwa Beng to investigate RM4.6 billion PKFZ scandal?

Letters
by Albert Lim

I refer to YB blog posting dated April 11 regarding abovementioned.

I strongly believe and fear that YB predictions may come true with the appointment of former Subang Jaya state assemblyman, Lee Hwa Beng as Port Klang Chairman, reported today by China Press.

With Lee’s appointment, the transport minister gives an immediate instruction for him to appoint independent auditor to look into PKFZ scandal. Obviously, the transport minister’s instruction is a step in the wrong direction, a step towards a 3rd minister to be marred and tarred.

Again, BN minister has underrated the intelligence of all Malaysians, a lesson not learnt in the aftermath of March 8 political tsunami.

I hope YB Lim will look into the issue again, raise it in Parliament. A very simple action to show Ong Tee Keat’s sincerity in exposing this scandal is by appointing credible persons in the investigation,not Lee Hwa Beng known as ally to former transport minister Ling Liong Sik.

1. #1 by justice_fighter on Saturday, 3 May 2008 - 12:44 pm

Dear YB Kit,

Can you please ask Ong Tee Keat when is he going to disclose the full details of the PKFZ scandal as he promised 2 months ago? Seems that is will be another chicken-shit transport minister after Chan Kong Choy!

2. #2 by peterchiang on Saturday, 3 May 2008 - 12:44 pm

OTK usual excuse is “not dancing to the tune of” his opponents.
    You comment A, he will do B.
    Unless you can exhaustively made comments that is good, he can still live by picking one option that is not so bad.

3. #3 by ShiokGuy on Saturday, 3 May 2008 - 1:22 pm

What is OTK? Oops Ong Tee Keat? I am kind of forgot who he is now! So sorry, may be by next GE they will disappear for good.

Why Lee Hwa Beng? Isn’t the one the rakyat rejected in recent election? Why is he appointed back when the rakyat has rejected him?

Seem like we cannot get rid of this joker unless we take over the federal government. So GE13 may be? Unless what Anwar claimed is not a bluff, and may be we can clean up the system urgently.

Lee Hwa Beng, please do the right thing! You are rejected and don’t be thick skinned to take up any post. Go home and look at the mirror and reflect what you have done wrong.

We don’t want you, if we have the choice and power. But I belief you are man enough to say NO. May be we will consider voting you in next time.

Shiok Guy

4. #4 by Short-sleeve on Saturday, 3 May 2008 - 1:37 pm

Lee Hwa Beng is a eunuch.

5. #5 by grace on Saturday, 3 May 2008 - 1:38 pm

Mr Lim,
    When are they really serious in solving corrupt practices especially one involving their own kind?
    I give up . My only hope is the BN would be wiped out completely in the next GE.
    Oh yes, before I forget.
    In view of the lightning speed that forme state governments and wives remove files and fund at lightning speed after learning their defeat, I suggest that Mr Lim could ask the cabinet to pass a law freezing all state and federal government accounts when parliament dissoves. Also seal the offices of the excos and ministers for that period.
    I fear that in case BN lost the federal government, the same problem PR would face as they are in Penang, Perak or selangor now. No files .

6. #6 by badak on Saturday, 3 May 2008 - 1:55 pm

PKFZ scandal will never see the light of day,The rakyat know that a wrong has taken place.ACA must investicate ,but then again legally its hard to prove in a court of law.So what if the land was bought at 200 times the market price.It is still not wrong.So what if there is a 5 star hotel in the middle , it is still not wrong .It,s sad that our goverment is so corrupted,From local council to ministers. They give out money and contracts to their cronies without fear of getting caught.

What happen to the report on the COMMONWEALTH GAME IN MALAYSIA.Nothing do you think Pak lah is serious about corruption I DON,T THINK SO.It,s just talk and more talk.

7. #7 by ShiokGuy on Saturday, 3 May 2008 - 3:04 pm

Rejects please read my message here..
    http://shiokguy.blogspot.com/2008/05/rejects-please-go.html

please go la….

8. #8 by Justicewanted on Saturday, 3 May 2008 - 3:44 pm

With Lee’s appointment, the transport minister gives an immediate instruction for him to appoint independent auditor to look into PKFZ scandal.

===============
    Another wayang kulit just to decieve the public. Is the auditor’s report going to be made public?

If sincere, recommend Royal Commission lah.

9. #9 by shortie kiasu on Saturday, 3 May 2008 - 6:51 pm

We thought something credible would come out from the huha of statements from a new minister of transport on Ong Tee Keat, but it was indeed a big let down from the latest episode by pushing the task at hand to another guy low down the line.

It only goes to show how this minister from MCA goes around playing football in the games of shifting the real issues of the case.

After all the “hangat hangat ayam” it is back to square one, back to the era of Ling Liong Sik and Chan Kong Choy. You would just bet that NOTHING would come out of the so call “investigations” excpet more public money would be spent on engaging more professionals to study the account of PKFZ fiasco, and don’t the minister try to argue about semantic. It is a fiasco because there are so many questions remained unanswered; the main of which is corruption, abuse and squandering of public fund.

If it is the private fund involved, no body would bother how the money was spent, but this is people’s money.

10. #10 by shortie kiasu on Saturday, 3 May 2008 - 6:58 pm

What can a Chairman of Port Klang Authority do to investigate a scandal onvolving RM4BILLION? He does not have the authority covering areas outside his jurisdiction and inter agencies matters and dealings. He is powerless and toothless to bite.

Transport minister used him as a smoke screen, you see something and you see nothing!

11. #11 by ktteokt on Saturday, 3 May 2008 - 7:10 pm

Trusting the chickens to a fox???

12. #12 by limkamput on Saturday, 3 May 2008 - 7:19 pm

I am saying this out of thin air, i.e using my common sense. I don’t think the PKFZ fiasco is the sole doing of MCA Ministers, past or present. MCA can’t even build a Chinese primary school; you think “they” will let the Ministers concerned to incur RM4.6 billion in that stupid project. But if they chose to be fall guys for the little scum that come their way, so be it. Hit them hard so that the truth may prevail. Common sense tells us this case is not just about mismanagement, poor monitoring or incompetence. It is corruption and a scheme to siphon money out of government coffer, pure and simple. RM4.6 billion is RM4,600 million, I think enough to build all the smart schools we need. Even PKFZ could produce gold, it still does not worth that much. Ask Singapore how much they spent to build the Distripark despite the exorbitant land cost and building materials in Singapore.

Sdr Lim, I think it is pointless to behave like a butterfly flying from flower to flower in search for nectar. Can we pursue this case till it comes to some conclusive end? We raise so many issues, but how many really get resolved? Our pursuit should be relentless and tenacious. This is the only way to ensure that the new minister will not talk big and get away with it.

13. #13 by novice101 on Saturday, 3 May 2008 - 7:36 pm

LKS, let’s wait to see who Lee Hwa Beng appoint to do the audit and the audit report before we condemn. It is not LHB who is going to conduct the report, is it? The external auditor has it code of ethics to guide it too.

14. #14 by ShiokGuy on Saturday, 3 May 2008 - 7:50 pm

On the topic of wasting tax payer Money, See how the SYABAS is wasting our money is doing all this marketing thing: –

http://shiokguy.blogspot.com/2008/05/oh-syabas.html

What is the need to do all this?SYABAS is a monopoly and no competitor, just pass the saving to the consumer with cheaper or free water lah.

YB Lim, could you please help to shot them down?

15. #15 by ALLAN THAM on Saturday, 3 May 2008 - 8:00 pm

All those coward in MCA dare not do anything. qualified accountant or not, Lee will most probably another Kow Tow fellow.

If there is no one dare take resignation as a challenge, no true can come out. this scandal is too big, it could involve too many not only within MCA, thus no one dare to expose the shit.

What an audit can reveal? nothing!!! the auditors are restricted to the term of references. The only true can come out it only by Royal Commission, even Royal Commission also subject to the term of references, as all know in Lingam’s scandal. So not to mentioned audit by auditors. In fact the financial statement should have subject to annual audit already. So What is the purpose of another audit? It is not for show then what?

Auditors get pay and write report, that as simple as that. No authority to call witness etc. If people do want to cooperate, auditors will just report, no inform available.

This Lee guy know better than any one else because he him self is a qualified accountant and auditor. All bullshit! .Another show. Another way to waste the tax payer moneys.

16. #16 by undergrad2 on Saturday, 3 May 2008 - 8:55 pm

“Sdr Lim, I think it is pointless to behave like a butterfly flying from flower to flower in search for nectar.” Nimcompoop

Kit, you’ve been accused of behaving like a butterfly! Your call!

17. #17 by undergrad2 on Saturday, 3 May 2008 - 9:26 pm

Should readers be surprised if that statement also comes from the same poster who said:

“I think my postings here are more sought after than Sdr Lim’s. Let’s face it”

18. #18 by limkamput on Saturday, 3 May 2008 - 9:33 pm

Too bad, no one acknowledges you, despite your best effort instigate, pathetic.

19. #19 by BlackEye on Saturday, 3 May 2008 - 9:41 pm

No, I’m not surprised!

20. #20 by limkamput on Saturday, 3 May 2008 - 9:51 pm

“Kit, you’ve been accused of behaving like a butterfly! Your call!” Know-all

I accuse no body. I said, “I think it is pointless…….”, just like you said, “akin to…. ” remember? If there is any one harbouring ambition that his postings are the more sought after than Sdr Lim’s, I think we all know who that guy is. You know the one who knows all, and must have the final say in every damn thing, even on subjects he knows nothing!

21. #21 by Captain on Saturday, 3 May 2008 - 10:17 pm

Holy Cow!

How can a politician that lost to a raw small boy has the credibility to head such an important Body? Furthermore, how can a politician erased by the people from Malaysian Political season have people’s confidence to do the job.

Sure he will cover Chan Kong Choy’s ‘backside’. Or is he selected to cleanup the shit? what better person than an accountant? If the Government is sincere, they should have appointed a professional who has the knowledge and experience of managing a duty free area or a person really qualified to helm such position. This position must be taken away from MCA or rather BN Politicians.

Is the Givernment telling us that only MCA leader has the aptitude to lead that Agency? Didn’t a leader from MCA and its crony the GM are the culprits? This is the exact opposite way and BN cannot win people’s trust. It will become worse.

Really, it is this sort of attitude and arrogance and stupid decision that brought down BN and the same will help bring down BN federal Govt. in the next 8 weeks. If MCA really had good leaders, they wouln’t have appointed ‘small boys’ as Ministers. Therefore this is what you can expect fron Ong Tee Kiat.

Wake up BN. Wake up Badawi before its too late.

22. #22 by undergrad2 on Saturday, 3 May 2008 - 10:19 pm

I seriously think you need to attend an adult education class in English. I’m not saying this with malice.

23. #23 by limkamput on Saturday, 3 May 2008 - 10:29 pm

To attend an adult education class in English? What do you mean by that? I can challenge what you said is ambiguous, want to bet? Are you saying the adult education is in English, or are you saying attending English lesson for adults? Please don’t irritate for no reason, ok. I think you are smart, but I am smarter.

24. #24 by undergrad2 on Saturday, 3 May 2008 - 10:41 pm

In case you accuse me of name calling, the term ‘Nimcompoop’ was earlier used by you to refer to yourself and your handle which sounds similar to ‘limkamput’. I’m using it with your implied permission. Let me know if you think it is derogatory.

25. #25 by limkamput on Saturday, 3 May 2008 - 10:47 pm

Not at all, it is supposed to be nimcompoop, but i used the chinese version. that should make you happy i hope. whatever we may have said to each other, i look forward to reading your posting. So…i don’t know what to say.

26. #26 by undergrad2 on Saturday, 3 May 2008 - 11:04 pm

About ‘America’ (I don’t know why you keep using ‘America’ when you mean United States unless it is a direct translation from ‘Amerika Syarikat’. ‘America’ as you know includes Canada, Mexico and the Latin countries of south America) being a capitalist state…

The United States is founded on capitalist principles and is today very much capitalistic in its ideology. Economically speaking, one may want to refer to the system as ‘mixed’.

Hillary Clinton, for example, when interviewed on FOX News yesterday did not like to be called a socialist by O’Reilly.

27. #27 by undergrad2 on Saturday, 3 May 2008 - 11:23 pm

…and we’re talking about a Presidential candidate i.e. the post of President of the United States, the highest and most powerful post in the world!

28. #28 by limkamput on Saturday, 3 May 2008 - 11:30 pm

Ok, America, I meant the United States of AMERICA. That is the problem talking with lawyers and those who are legally trained. Everything must be exact. But you know which country I am referring to, am I right? You still want to believe that i am a Malay, am i right?

As a lawyer, may be you like to look at everything based on expounded principles. My contention is it does not matter what one wishes to call himself or herself. Remember North Korea calls itself The Democratic People’s Republic of Korea (DPRK). What is important is to look at the actual working of the economy to determine whether it is skewed more toward socialist or capitalist. The reality is United States today has much more “socialist safeguards” than many countries who claim to be socialist. Take social security, minimum wage, working condition, equal employment opportunity, gender and race equality, rules against sexual harassment for example. All these are relatively well-developed and established in the US. On the employers’ side, there are also numerous safeguards to prevent excessive exploitation and adherence to corporate governance vis-à-vis the environment, employees and minority shareholders etc. Of course whatever I said here is based on general principles. There are always exceptions to general rules.

Ok, when you come back to Malaysia, you may teach me English, but certainly not how to be a MP.

29. #29 by insecticide on Saturday, 3 May 2008 - 11:36 pm

PKFZ is full of BN shits. OTK would”t want to land his feet into it. So, he put this Ah Beng there to write out a story on how RM4.6 billion was spent. And this Ah Beng still thanks the gov for this shit-cleaning job bcoz he is jobless now and still desperate for a position. Soon he will smell the shits too!

30. #30 by undergrad2 on Saturday, 3 May 2008 - 11:37 pm

Wished I could oblige you but I’m now committed to Rev. Wright (former spiritual mentor to Barack Obama i.e. the next President of America ooops United States, in the opening of an acting school for budding MPs, current MPs and wannabee MPs.

31. #31 by undergrad2 on Saturday, 3 May 2008 - 11:38 pm

…ooops advisor

32. #32 by Tantech on Saturday, 3 May 2008 - 11:41 pm

I am from Kelana Jaya. I voted lee hwa beng out. I think he’s a nominal christian, an opportunist who only knew how to make use of churches.

I am surprised that ka ting gives him such an lucrartive post. With hwa beng’s appointment, MCA would be demised sooner. Praise God.

33. #33 by limkamput on Saturday, 3 May 2008 - 11:45 pm

tantech, please don’t say like that. We can criticize him as a politician, but please don’t say he is a nominal Christian or he makes use of churches.

34. #34 by undergrad2 on Saturday, 3 May 2008 - 11:49 pm

Do you see any material difference in these two statements?

“The United States is founded on capitalist principles and is today very much capitalistic in its ideology. Economically speaking, one may want to refer to the system as ‘mixed’.”

and

“What is important is to look at the actual working of the economy to determine whether it is skewed more toward socialist or capitalist. ”

Your statement is made from the perspective of ‘the working of the economy’ and mine more from the perspective of ‘political ideology’.

35. #35 by limkamput on Saturday, 3 May 2008 - 11:56 pm

Ya, I saw the difference, but which is more relevant, the actual working of the economy or political ideology. Ideology can remain ideology or even a false front as in the case of North Korea – what people democratic and what republic?

36. #36 by undergrad2 on Sunday, 4 May 2008 - 12:34 am

No. There is no material difference between the two statements is what I meant to say!

37. #37 by undergrad2 on Sunday, 4 May 2008 - 12:37 am

…like a cup half empty and a cup half full. And here I don’t want to be dragged into another argument of what it really means!

38. #38 by dawsheng on Sunday, 4 May 2008 - 12:52 am

The PKFZ scandal has taken the meaning of “heinous crime without criminals” to a higher level, closer to heaven.

39. #39 by wtf2 on Sunday, 4 May 2008 - 1:01 am

maybe it’s otk’s way of telling lls “i’d put your man there, whether you can hide the shit or dig your own grave depends on how he and you interacts”

40. #40 by undergrad2 on Sunday, 4 May 2008 - 1:06 am

It has always been the modus operandi of the corrupt among BN leaders to first identity the cow, and later to milk it dry. This is one such cows.

41. #41 by undergrad2 on Sunday, 4 May 2008 - 5:25 am

The other cow is behind limkamput’s house. That cow belongs to him.

42. #42 by undergrad2 on Sunday, 4 May 2008 - 7:15 am

Proton, Perwaja Steel are such cash cows and PKFZ, I suppose, just adds to the growing list. What do you do with cash cows? You milk them dry!

43. #43 by kanthanboy on Sunday, 4 May 2008 - 9:10 am

//LKS, let’s wait to see who Lee Hwa Beng appoint to do the audit and the audit report before we condemn. It is not LHB who is going to conduct the report, is it? The external auditor has it code of ethics to guide it too// novice 101
    ———————————————-
    For the audit to be effective the external auditor must be given the most comprehensive terms of reference with the mandate to disclose any financial impropriety. If the terms of reference are restricted the audit exercise will just be a waste of public fund.

44. #44 by Cinapek on Sunday, 4 May 2008 - 10:11 am

If the external auditor is promised the future audit jobs of PKFZ, then we need to be wary of the report. Remember Enron?

Ideallythe external auditor selected should be for this one off job and better still if it is a serious competitor of their exisiting auditors. The selection should further be narrowed down to the few major international audit firms in order to reduce th risk of political interference.

45. #45 by lopez on Sunday, 4 May 2008 - 10:53 am

what another siphoning act got caught…..pls no wishful thinking it will reveal nothing and must not reveal anything fishy.

It too much to bear, these clowns are taking turns to reap taxpayers money.
    It is free for all, ..the standing understanding lu tak cakap saya, saya tak cakap lu.

I believe we don’t want to be paying something which we never benefit at all, which is not strange to us.,not anymore,,,yet there is so many which we paid for which we did not benefit at all…
    Where is the governance , what joke and it can only happen here in bolihland …see the akinship.

46. #46 by Justicewanted on Sunday, 4 May 2008 - 11:52 am

The new Port Klang Chairman is a trained accountant…. Just wonder is he sent in to clear up the mess or do creative accounting???

47. #47 by limkamput on Sunday, 4 May 2008 - 12:07 pm

As i said earlier, common sense tells us this case is not just about mismanagement, poor monitoring or incompetence. It is corruption and a scheme to siphon money out of government coffer, pure and simple. RM4.6 billion is RM4,600 million, I think enough to build all the smart schools we need. Even PKFZ could produce gold, it still does not worth that much. Ask Singapore how much they spent to build the Distripark despite the exorbitant land cost and building materials in Singapore.

So do we need to spend more to engage the auditor to do another study? Who appoints the auditor and who pays the audit fees? Despite whatever ethics the auditors are supposed to follow, auditors are known to work hand in glove with those who appoint them. There are simply too many examples around. To be effective, can the Public Account Committee appoint the auditor and the auditor report be tabled to the committee?

To undergrad2, the cow that was behind my house is no longer with me. Since March 8, I gave it to you. You mean you have milked it dry already?

48. #48 by lopez on Sunday, 4 May 2008 - 3:48 pm

I have forgetful mind but i remember, that it is a practice entrenched deep in company culture that the board of directors in a company selects the public accountant for audits.

You scratch my back i scratch yours ok seems apt if audit reports comes out gleaming clean or just superficial scratch…..yes even in scandals involving b’s.
    So what this is bolihalaand…….you don’t know ah.

Maybe Thats why our SE is so relatively reserved…..who can trust words like “fundamentally” strong and blah blah…

49. #49 by Godfather on Sunday, 4 May 2008 - 6:37 pm

It’s like putting the fox in charge of the henhouse. And I am not talking about the henhouse in Kg Attap run by Mr Know All !

50. #50 by cucu adam on Sunday, 4 May 2008 - 6:46 pm

Can a defeated assemblyman in the recent GE be good enough to investigate RM4.6 billion scandal. And we told that Lee Hwa Beng is a qualified accountant. Will that makes a difference? How long will he takes to complete the investigation.

I fear it is a gone case from the start, and that nothing much can be expected at all. Prove that we are all wrong, Mr Lee Hwa Beng, and you never know if things work well, you have the chance again to be elected in the next GE, and may even stands a chance to be a Minister (if BN wins the 13th GE).

Judging from the people reactions since March 8th. if is unlikely that BN will remain in office after the next general election. There are already talks that it will be a matter of time that BN will be handing over the government to Pakatan Rakyat.

Having since what took place in Selangor and Kedah, appropriate actions should be taken to ensure all files and computers storing huge amount of data concerning the nation will not fall into the wrong hands. It will be interesting to witness when the existing Ministers change their seats. It is obvious that they had have not learned from March 8th. tsunami, and this is making the rakyat more sick, especially with the spiral increase of essential items.

51. #51 by ALLAN THAM on Sunday, 4 May 2008 - 7:27 pm

What Mr. Lee can do are as follows:-

1 Prepare a resignation letter. Resigning himself from all posts included his MCA membership, leave the date empty.

2 Use his resources and experiences, dig all documents related to the PKFZ transactions. Bundle them and make a police report, and ACA report,

3 CC Copies of all documents to NAdes from the SUN.

4 Signed your resignation letter and delivered the letter to your BOSS.

5 Go back to your accounting practice and earn a decent living.

6 All Malaysian folks will remember you as a hero.

52. #52 by Godfather on Sunday, 4 May 2008 - 7:39 pm

Lee Hwa Beng is a nice guy, but he is a BN guy and his role will be to sweep everything under the carpet. He is not going to say that the MCA Minister was presented with a fait accompli by UMNO. This is as certain as the sun sets in the West.

53. #53 by kanasai on Sunday, 4 May 2008 - 8:54 pm

Instead of wasting time looking for scapegoat, rakyat want to see more efforts to bring in more foreign investment to the realisation of this vibrant project which will push the Port Klang economy to greater height. Would the opposition-led leaders be able to re-negotiate with the Dubai port authority to co-ordinate this project?

54. #54 by limkamput on Sunday, 4 May 2008 - 9:12 pm

It’s like putting the fox in charge of the henhouse. And I am not talking about the henhouse in Kg Attap run by Mr Know All ! godfather

You mean that “know all” now residing in upstate New York coming back soon to Kampung Attap to run a tuition centre teaching Jeffrey’s English?

55. #55 by Anak_Penang on Sunday, 4 May 2008 - 11:01 pm

I think the result of the investigation will be filtered by the cabinet before being made public.

56. #56 by undergrad2 on Monday, 5 May 2008 - 12:01 am

Somebody forgot to mention the ‘henhouse’ and I’m not referring to chickens either!

57. #57 by Shenlung on Monday, 5 May 2008 - 1:01 am

I cannot fathom the rationale or logic on the appointment of Lee Hwa Beng as the Port Klang chairman to investigate the PKFZ scandal. For as long as one can recall, Port Klang has always been under the jurisdiction of Ministry of Transport which is ear-marked for the MCA politicians. Appointing someone from the MCA to investigate the scandal smacks of a lack of political will to seek the absolute and complete truth. Perhaps the current Minister of Transport may want to explain to the taxpayers on his choice. Lee Hwa Beng is hardly the suitable person to do the job – considering the fact that he was one of those out-going MPs before March 8 to have spent hundreds of thousands of funds allocated to his constituency – all within 3 months or less!! The electorate still awaits his clarification on this matter. Now, he is taking on a RM4.6 billion job? God save us!!
    YB Mr. Lim, please ask Ong Tee Keat on behalf of us taxpayers why Lee Hwa Beng has been chosen to do this job?

58. #58 by dawsheng on Monday, 5 May 2008 - 4:49 am

“Lee Hwa Beng is a nice guy, but he is a BN guy and his role will be to sweep everything under the carpet.” Godfather

In that case, Lee Hwa Beng is not a nice guy, a nice guy on the wrong side is a bad guy.

59. #59 by JDoe on Monday, 5 May 2008 - 9:56 am

Ask Ah Beng to join PR lar…

60. #60 by langkah baru on Monday, 5 May 2008 - 10:00 am

You guys believe that they going to investigate it…I doubt it, why, because I think they are busy accumulating all the suficient and false documents to cover their ass and that is why it took so long to show to the public.

61. #61 by Godfather on Monday, 5 May 2008 - 10:10 am

Of course they will try to cover, cover, cover. We will have to try to korek, korek, korek…..

62. #62 by kanthanboy on Monday, 5 May 2008 - 12:05 pm

YB Lim,

The title of your posting is:
    “Lee Hwa Beng to investigate RM4.6 billion PKFZ scandal?”

In the announcement by Ong Tee Keat as reported by Malaysiakini Lee is only assigned the task to nominate a suitable accounting firm to perform an over audit on the PKFZ’s finance. There was no mention of investigation.

There is a huge difference between an audit and an investigation.

63. #63 by taiking on Monday, 5 May 2008 - 12:09 pm

I think at last they have learned a lesson.

You see justice must be seen to be done. That is very important.

So you see effort must also be seen to be expanded. That too is also very important.

After that, we all pretty much can predict what would happen.

Report submitted to cabinet for deliberation on whether to make public or not blah blah blah.

And then bla bla blah.

And bla blah bla.

blah bla bl b …

It is almost like singing. Isnt it?

Singaporean has a slang for this “TALK C__K SING SONG”

64. #64 by dawsheng on Monday, 5 May 2008 - 12:35 pm

“There is a huge difference between an audit and an investigation.” -kanthanboy

Well, there is a huge difference between how we do it in Malaysia and how the rest of the world did it. As long as it looks like it, sound likes it, it is it. Audit or investigation, it makes no difference that billions of taxpayers’ money has gone into someone’s pocket. Bottom line is this, it is our money and we want it back.

65. #65 by i_love_malaysia on Monday, 5 May 2008 - 12:38 pm

As the Cantonese saying goes “Fatt Sayen Choy” or Hokkien “Huat Silang Chai” i.e. making money out of dead people!!! (in this case, it is making money out of the scandal!!!) How you may ask. They are now trying all means to make another round or many more rounds of money out from this scandal by using millions officially to audit the accounts and at the end of the day, there wont be any results as LeeWB already said in the Sun newspapers today that people has no confidence in ACA or PCA (Public Accounts Committee), so getting auditing firm to audit – by this statement, he agreed that ACA and PCA are toothless and an auditing firm who gets paid by him will come out with something!!! ACA & PCA should ask him to apologise immediately!!!

66. #66 by i_love_malaysia on Monday, 5 May 2008 - 12:46 pm

Lee WB should be reminded that the giant auditing firms in the world also involved in auditing scandals before i.e. changed the audited accounts to show that the companies were making profits instead of losses!!! he should check out the internet for the companies involved if he cant remember even though he is an accountant!!!

67. #67 by lakilompat on Monday, 5 May 2008 - 1:58 pm

Audit firm are not independent, in order to satisfy or give in to their customer needs & wants, they have to play dirty.

Auditors were detained or even killed if they pose a threats to the management especially in Malaysia company. Audit firm are subject to manipulation by management. All the infos, are submitted & manipulated by the mgt. before it is handed in to the audit firm.

Enron have significant stakes in Arthur Anderson (auditor) prior to the scandals.

68. #68 by Godfather on Monday, 5 May 2008 - 2:05 pm

“Auditors were detained or even killed if they pose a threats to the management especially in Malaysia company.” Lakilompat

You have to be careful what you say.

69. #69 by Godfather on Monday, 5 May 2008 - 2:08 pm

“Enron have significant stakes in Arthur Anderson (auditor) prior to the scandals.” Lakilompat

Arthur Andersen was run as a partnership and, as far as I know, no corporations have stakes in the firm. It would have been a clear conflict of interest to have a publicly listed firm take a stake in its auditor.

Neither did Arthur Andersen have a stake in Enron.

70. #70 by kerishamuddinitis on Monday, 5 May 2008 - 2:39 pm

The more they put before the rakyat, the more the rakyat gets to question. The more they promise to ‘investigate’ the more the rakyat is able to challenge such ‘investigations’ – the quality, scope, depth and degree of transparency.

Regardless of who they assign this task and responsibility to, there’s a BIG difference today vs yesteryears. Today, after GE12, the rakyat are more informed and have at least one eye open, one ear open and a tongue ready to lash out where previously, both eyes and ears were shut, while the tongue remained silent. Today, the rakyat has 82 MPs in Parliament to challenge the crap that BN dishes out, the lies they HOPE to perpetuate and the red herrings they throw out to the people. Today, Selangor is a PR state.

So, let the crippled, mortally-wounded BN-led, UMNO-decimated government work hard to ‘tell us more.’

Hah, Ah Beng or no Ah Beng, auditor or no auditor, the BN, UMNO and their incidental serfs are back-peddling like crazy! And the Malaysian public is pushing for the TRUTH on so many fronts.

All because the ONE National Front chose to embrace corruption and empower it’s members to enrich themselves.

Malays are no longer so forgiving of those who cheated them, who manipulated their loyalties and sentiments and who today still attempt to justify their corrupt actions and behaviour while creating more such ‘cheating Malaysia and Malaysians’ cases.

BN, UMNO, MCA and the 2 other decripit whatstheirnames racist parties will have to backpeddle all the way to Sept 16th, just a matter of 5 months from now.

Let’s all pray, ‘nominal Christian’ included, that PR forms the government by then…Ah Beng can still repent on PKFZ to be ‘saved.’

71. #71 by nkeng11 on Monday, 5 May 2008 - 3:20 pm

Have you heard how this Lee Hwa Beng fella speaks, thinks and act?

I heard him speak in a political forum in a Church in PJ. Cannot believe that he was a MP all these years.

Worst, after he lost his MP seat, he acted like a small boy who lost his marbles.

Have you seen him acting out with his family? You should !!!

72. #72 by albert308 on Monday, 5 May 2008 - 3:33 pm

Hi Kanthanboy,

This is not YB Lim writting, it is my letter.
    PKFZ whole entity is mega scam! Of course OTK did not specifically order him to investigate, his immediate instruction to LHB to appoint an indepandent auditor is a step towards that. A step in the wrong direction! Recently, OTK promised to investigate the scandal and this is part of it. Malaysians public is watching closely every single step taken!

73. #73 by waterfrontcoolie on Monday, 5 May 2008 - 7:08 pm

From all the comments that appeared here, it would be certain that many of you have frustrating experiences with the BN Gomen.
    To give creditability to this site, we should be nore rational. To hit the new MOT without giving him time certainly makes us look naive in trying to find the truth of the PKFZ.
    Just like, PR needs time to settle down to Gomen the 5 States. Such wanton and blind attacks surely make your remarks and comments less relevant in the eyes of the general public. For the Gomen to explain the detail expenses costing $4.67 B certainly takes some time. Let us wait for the Public Auditor to file its report, then with it, one will have more basis to assess the value of the report.

74. #74 by lopez on Monday, 5 May 2008 - 8:13 pm

i remember we had some 20 years of busy busy busy days and every one quite happy , in fact only some part of society were most happy..you can see the cars in the street and its drivers and the hosues too , some place even declared they are developed …huh?

Every good thing must come to an end especially things that were done around the rules.

One thing i observe in boiling land, those clowns always use statistics to support any advocation. Actually they are insulting us because we dont have the stats and data. Moreover they are the ones who made the stats too and for all i know even tweak it here and there.
    Any way who would challenge those stats , you don’t because you never have the time, even if you are a ministar, you got 5 years only and it is wiser to use the time for your own agenda and to make it yourself and your next of kin.

So forget the lies, save the nation resources just sacked the top clowns they are the ones who are accountable and responsible.
    The small guy is always under duress, it is survival.

75. #75 by kanthanboy on Tuesday, 6 May 2008 - 1:46 am

//This is not YB Lim writing, it is my letter.// albert308 Says:

My apology to you and YB Lim for the mistake.

Why the need to appoint another independent auditor? Does OTK imply that the current or previous auditor of PKFZ is not independent? I agree with you that we have to watch closely every single step taken by LHB. I see this audit exercise is just a scheme to cover up the scam.

76. #76 by lakilompat on Friday, 9 May 2008 - 4:04 pm

“just sacked the top clowns they are the ones who are accountable and responsible.”

Who is so strong now? nobody, the Sultan might come back, but that doesn’t mean is a good things. Look at Karpal Singth now.

Tun Dr. Mahathir take away power from Royal Family back to the party, this allowed him to develop the country free willy on the darker side amassed billionth from Rakyat back to his family. Then PL wanted to follow, but after 4 yrs was been prevented by the PR due to his ignorance and arrogance.

There is nobody who are brilliant enough to lead Malaysia. Those who make it, is better to enjoy life rather than toil for the Malaysian. They don’t really care much, where are the police who used to patrol our streets?