Its a bad start for the 12th Parliament, with Parliament setting the bad example of breaking and bending laws and rules to fit the whims and fancies of the Barisan Nasional government, whether during question time or in the first debate on the Royal Address.
Those who have seen the live telecast may want to give their views for the benefit of MPs.

#1 by balance88 on Thursday, 1 May 2008 - 1:06 pm
I have not seen the live telecast but from what I heard and read, it is a good move forward to telecast the session live. At least the people can judge for themselves who they voted for.
It is high time for people to be more aware of what actually goes on in Parliament. Isn’t this what democracy is all about. Hopefully, the next time anyone votes, they will be more aware of who they are voting for instead of just ticking the next to the dacing sign or rocket sign or whatever. Some voters do not even know the name of the person who is standing for election. If you put a dead wood next to the BN sign, in all likelyhood, some voters would probably still vote for the dead wood as long as it is next to a BN sign.
The live telecast should be extended beyond 30mins. Let the elected people be seen and heard. Afterall, public funds are involved in all that the government does. The public has the right to know. Obviously, the Info Minister thinks otherwise. Sounds like the BN is not prepared to take the heat and subject themselves to public scrutiny!
#2 by sheriff singh on Thursday, 1 May 2008 - 2:30 pm
All groups go through the following phases : FORMING –> STORMING—> NORMING —> PERFORMING —–> ADJOURNING and maybe even MOURNING.
It is possible that we can fall back to the previous phase or never even progress to the next. And even progress directly to the MOURNING phase.
Where will our MPs “progress” to if at all? Will we be stuck at the “FORMING” and “STORMING” phases and never progress to the “PERFORMING” phase?
It all depends on the individual members who form the whole.
#3 by seladang on Thursday, 1 May 2008 - 2:57 pm
both sides should stop name calling and go on to the real issue of the rakyat.i dont even care if the opposition seats is not cushy and comfy compared to the bn chair.deal with it and debate the rakyat issues not the wakil rakyat issues.
#4 by niakong on Thursday, 1 May 2008 - 3:35 pm
Wisdom is the word … we really need.
Just hope our YB Karpal,
and other senior or junior PR YB, should speak more wisely.
don’t insult people and don’t get insulted by other people,
especially we all know how is the record of that person.
if we keep argue with him, we lower down our “standard”
“By love they will quench the fire of hate,
by wisdom the fire of delusion.
Those supreme ones extinguish delusion
with wisdom that breaks through to truth.”
#5 by pwcheng on Thursday, 1 May 2008 - 3:41 pm
I cannot disagree with Jeffery that the Minister of Information to discontinue the broadcast of parliament proceedings IS WRONG. As voters, taxpayers and rightful citizens of Malaysia, it should be the duty of the Government to make known to us of the performance of each and every MP via any available technology of the day to disseminate such information’s and of which we had been deprived of since time in memorial and without censoring. If we are given the mandate to be able to vote, we must also be recognized that we are matured enough to discern what is right and what is wrong and not to be told what we must see and what we must not see and deprived us vital information not only on the performance of our MPs but also critical first hand information on the well being of the country. I think is not a privilege but a right of all voters to have such info.
Ahmad Shabery Cheek might have his own political reason/reasons to stop the broadcast, but citing the scenario at parliament looking like a circus and some MPs taking opportunity to play to the gallery is unacceptable and too flimsy an excuse. In fact he should telecast live for the full parliamentary sittings for the benefit of the voters whose right s must not be denied.
As a matter of fact, I was the first to express my dislike at Lim Kit Siang’s way of expression on the tsunami and issue of removing the UMNO hegemony with strong traits of arrogance and somewhat inciting in his very own blog here.We do not need this in good governance. Many bloggers subsequently agreed with me. If Kit Siang listens, the country would have benefited from this and the broad cast is definitely not wasted. I can see that many are giving good and constructive criticisms but there are of course a few loose cannons.
I strongly think most Malaysians voters do not have the extremist instinct but will ride together with those whom we think will form a better government and this broadcast can be a good guide for us to know whom we should vote for when the time comes.
WE MUST BE GIVEN EVERY OPPORTUNITY TO KNOW WHO SHOULD FORM THE GOVERNMENT.
#6 by adi_dude77 on Thursday, 1 May 2008 - 4:07 pm
You keep preaching about having a First World Parliament. And yet you have people like Karpal Sing, NOT A FIRST TIME MP, calling Kinabatangan Big Foot. I didnt follow the telecast. I didnt know what was the reason for him to use such word. I dont care if he was provoked or that Mr Kinabatangan started it or if there is any other pathetic excuse. It was just unacceptable. Grow up please.
#7 by cheng on soo on Thursday, 1 May 2008 - 5:20 pm
Someone said Tai. Mah.. had 1.4 million hectares of land in Sarawak, i.e. bigger than Trengganu land area ! WOW
#8 by undergrad2 on Thursday, 1 May 2008 - 5:43 pm
What kind of Speaker do we have? He doesn’t speak the truth. He doesn’t listen to the truth and he certainly does not know how to see and identify what is true and what is not! The three wise monkeys would be laughing at how the Speaker tried to exert his control.
If I were the Speaker I’d throw all the MPs out and lock the door behind them until the end of the statutory cooling off period.
#9 by gitf701 on Thursday, 1 May 2008 - 6:42 pm
I think BN allow the Live Telecast not without any hidden agenda. They want to dictate what the viewers get to see and hear…..but in the end LKS is smarter. Good move. LKS.
On the name calling, I would suggest Pakatan Rakyat lead the way by being professional and matured in their speech. It has to be deliberate meaning PR MPs must be briefed and all buy-in a certain code of conduct. This way, BN MPs would stick out like a sore thumb. Go for hard hitting solid points to catch BN pants down and avoid childish antics. All the best!
#10 by undergrad2 on Thursday, 1 May 2008 - 7:55 pm
For example if “Big Foot and Monkey” are permissible insults why not “bochor”? If “bochor” what about “stupid” or “old man”??? The difficulty for the Speaker is where to draw the line.” Jeffrey
Don’t expect the Speaker to be able to draw the line because he’s old and stupid though only sometime bochor!
#11 by s4ds4d on Thursday, 1 May 2008 - 11:22 pm
mr lim..im not against on yr efforts for a better malaysia. having see the live telecast brings up a few questions.why should the MP’s bring up issues like Point of Order and such??is it necessary??i seriously think that more important issues should be addressed rather than how the questions by MP’s is brought up..like the Speaker has said..issues like seatings of Pasir Mas MP is “remeh”. i hate to agree but true..MP should directly have the 73 questions answered and not have issues not related to the public welfare addressed.that way, MP’s have the chances of having more supplementary questions in parliament and more issues can be addressed efficiently in the span of time given.. instead of brinigng up issues that is not related to the rakyat. Also, opposition MP’s i see has the tendency to go against BN MP’s in the harsh way and sometimes overreact too much…i feel that Mr Karpal remarks of Bigfoot shouldn’t have being said. This is the reason why arguements and exchange of words happened. I strongly feel that if things are talked out in a pleasant and professional way will gain respects by other MP’s. that way is much more effective.now the nation is watching, opposition MP’s should take this opportunity to fight for the rakyat continuously and show that they’re worth each and every vote of the rakyat..pls refrain from immature acts for the sake of the rakyat..thank you and best of luck! cheers!!
#12 by Cooltiger on Friday, 2 May 2008 - 1:06 am
The casting of the Parliament proceeding is an eye-opener for Malaysian to observe and understand how a parliament functions and how the MP discuss on legal issues and matter faced by the voters.
I was quite happy to see the Oppositions stood up for the betterment of the country. However,It is really disappointing to see the MPs argued on the trivial issues, for instance the sitting of the sole independent MP, rather than discussing on more important issues like rising of food prices and crimes rate especially Mr Karpal Singh, Mr Gobind Singh and you, Mr Lim Kit Siang. The precious time had been consumed by you guys on trivial issues.
Is this how you guys always act all these while in the Parliament? It seems to be a political game rather than speak up and enact good laws for the people.
Shame on you!!
#13 by petestop on Friday, 2 May 2008 - 2:51 am
Given Opposition are obviously suppressed by the biased Speaker, they do have to shout louder to be heard.
On Supplementary questions not allowed, it is totally unprecedented.
If this is disallowed, might as well the MPs don’t attend Parliament, just wait for a written answer. In fact they can do it from home, with email, Internet and all.
So, to those who got brainwashed by MSM that it is a circus and implied that Opposition is at fault… well… think deeply again on what is the actual reasons for the ruckus.
When you fell oppressed (by the Speaker) what you do ?
When you just keep getting “sit down, be quiet” from the Speaker, what do you as MPs do ?
Sit quietly and sip on your StarBucks/mineral water…. come on !!
We vote them in to FIGHT for US, and that is EXACTLY what we expect them to do.
Having said that, it is probably better for Pakatan Rakyat parties to get themselves more organised, and not to have individuals get drawn into their trap. Argue your points eloquently, for all to see.
But half hour is too short, we want continuous live telecast for the whole session.
With modern technology, it is so easy to repeat live telecast over the Internet. Visit. http://www.sayatv.com/watch/100092
#14 by Jeffrey on Friday, 2 May 2008 - 6:07 am
///…“But half hour is too short, we want continuous live telecast for the whole session. With modern technology, it is so easy to repeat live telecast over the Internet…///” – petestop
Continuous live telecast – good idea but not just over the Internet.
What about not so internet savvy older folks ??
Malaysiakini interviewed Gerakan advisor Dr Lim Keng Yaik (“LKY”).
Malaysiakini: “Blogging is the new past time for politicians. Will you become a blogger?”
LKY: “No lah it’s not easy. Although emotionally I would be suitable (to be a blogger) but I don’t sit hours and hours (in front of the) computer. I’m more of a traditional TV man. Astro has enough programmes to interest me. I hardly go online. In fact I’m computer illiterate… I had interest in it about seven-eight years ago when I was on the verge of chatting with my nephews and nieces. It was the time at KTAK (Energy, Water and Communications Ministry) that took away too much of my time, so I decided called it quits”.
Malaysiakini : “So you won’t be reading this interview then?”
LKY: “No, but they will download for me (smiles)”.
So talking about continuous Live Televised Broadcast of Parliamentary session, have it under Astro for benefit of “computer illiterate” senior citizens and for benefit of children under the Channel 615 Cartoon sections.
#15 by lakilompat on Friday, 2 May 2008 - 8:38 am
They will stop it, as it embarass the country image, the Agong’s face, the prime minister as well.
Last time we are proud of our outspoken Prime Minister, but now our PM is very weak not able to answer. It is better to give the PM position to those civil servant who cut grass on the roadside.
#16 by yhsiew on Friday, 2 May 2008 - 9:09 am
PL said he preferred live telecasts of the parliamentary sitting be stopped. If he really goes ahead with his word, PR can include “If wield power, PR will live telecast all parliamentary sittings to promote parliamentary operation transparency” in their next manifesto. This will certainly give PR extra credit in garnering the rakyat’s support.
Apparently PL and UMNO are still unaware of the intense political competition arising out of the emerging 2-party system in the country.
#17 by Bigjoe on Friday, 2 May 2008 - 9:47 am
What surprise me is hearing and reading the number of people who don’t understand what was going on and why.. The number of people who thought the opposition was wrong was actually surprising.
This is democracy, its not suppose to be pretty. Even if Karpal and Bung Mokhtar had punched each other lights out, it would have been OK by me. I would criticise and laugh and if they continue a few more times, I would stop voting for at least one of them, depending on who started the violence first.
Stop being babies. How many of us in this country, are better than our counterpart in other countries in what YOU DO??? Do you expect then our politicians automatically to be better????
Give me a break…
#18 by cheng on soo on Friday, 2 May 2008 - 11:11 am
MP should attend a course on parliamentary rules, n behaviour of MP, etc,
Any MP “langgar undang2″, just fine them RM400/- for 1st offence, n RM800 for 2nd offence, and RM1200 for 3rd offence & so on, the amount can be adjusted, if these amount are too little.
#19 by Godfather on Friday, 2 May 2008 - 11:21 am
Live telecast is simply not possible for Badawi. His 4th floor handlers know that they take a huge risk each time they put him in front of live TV without the proper prompting and pre-arranged answers.
#20 by lakilompat on Friday, 2 May 2008 - 11:33 am
cheng on soo, where got law & rules existed in Malaysia. If got, there will be so many foreigner lining up to invest in Malaysia rather than Singapore, or our neighboring countries. And it is surprisingly fun all the big projects & country commissions are given to relatives and kinsmen.
Well, his Oxford advisor need to tweak that monkey brain to respond faster. It’s an Ox brain or Monkey brain?
#21 by lakilompat on Friday, 2 May 2008 - 11:35 am
Whenever Malay are proposed Law & Regulations there will complained and pickett that they’ve been exploited, that they are Kerdils (Dwarf) versus Gergasi (Giants) while they travel on 1st class, driving around in Porsche, BMW, Benz, and playing golf at priviledge club with Royalties for “Dwarf Projects” commissions.
#22 by lakilompat on Friday, 2 May 2008 - 11:40 am
Generally, the rakyat end up paying higher premiums from these bunch of UMNO Dwarven.
The Dwarf can also eat their own babies, contravening the trade rules, award billionth of project just to retain Motorola to continue its operation saving 10K employees bowl. Instead of inviting new players it is giving favouritism to certain group who deals with Dwarven Govt. They knew it is very hard for new MNC to invest in Penang or other states, becos Malaysia reputation is so stink that Kak Fida can no longer become trade ministry with his infamy AP Queen title.
#23 by lakilompat on Friday, 2 May 2008 - 11:51 am
Foreigner investors will go Shanghai or Beijing not becos it is cheap to start up, becos the chinese govt. take very serious action against graft, look at the punishment. Sammy will be the first Indian to get shot if he’s in China for that cracked and collapsed building. Tun will be sent to jail for graft more than 10 yrs + look at the example of recent Chinese govt. decision to put a mayor to jail after he retired, and that mayor agreed.
Malaysia, around 65% are Malays, with the current leader, how can they advance? or even compete in international arena. We can’t self sustain we are unlike Japan with millionth of population, the whole Malaysia only 20+ millions ppl. and Penang only have 700K++ ppl. while Singapore have roughly 3.8 millions. If we don’t have the population, don’t have the leader, how many more burden the population have to carry. Many Malaysian graduate choose migration, they will migrate to Canada, US, Australia, UK seeking for better quality of life, better value etc.
I can’t migrate, becos my wife can’t separate with her parents, that has become a norm certainly for many Malaysian. Qualification is never a problem, because i’m experienced, with good education, just that sometime we are tied up by family business, roots, etc. that’s why most of us, chinese, sent our children abroad so that they can have better life, we love our childrens. We don’t trust the local U, it’s not even recognized worldwide, it has no ranking in international yet our leader dare to go international podium and talk? who the hell are they in international arena, ppl will wonder, from some cheap local Universities with ABCD multiple question, and scrutinize syllabus?
We love our country, that’s why we voted for a better Malaysia, the PR must be aggresive to take on the BN. We are pretty comfortable at this moment.
#24 by darcwil on Friday, 2 May 2008 - 12:09 pm
Once and for all, everyone should just stay united no matter whatever party they represent. And to see this from the MPs are depressing. So since, for example karpal is being a “monkey” should we blame azizah from pakatan rakyat for his behaviour?
Just like most of the comments here blaming pak lah for some BN leaders’ behaviour, how relevant is that?
#25 by yhsiew on Friday, 2 May 2008 - 3:03 pm
Why making all that fuss over shouting and name calling at our parliament proceedings. Was not the televised British parliamentary session characterized by booing, jeering, yelling and bench-thumping? It was a norm to see all these “chaos” at a televised British parliamentary session during my student days in the UK.
People in this country who have not exposed to televised parliamentary sessions are probably finding it odd to see all the “chaos” taking place at the session.
#26 by cmkhoo on Friday, 2 May 2008 - 4:14 pm
what the heck happened in the parliment man?! i’m actually expecting DAP to be a more matured party. No Big Foot and unpolite words in the parliment. I expected DAP to educate BN on their arrogance and come out with fantastic ideas. more civilised one. Everybody’s eyeing on DAP. All the best…
#27 by cmkhoo on Friday, 2 May 2008 - 4:17 pm
yhsiew, norm in the UK doesn’t mean a norm in the asian civilised country. shouting is not the exact way to have your own stand in the parliment. True leader need not shout like a barbarian.
#28 by localgrad on Friday, 2 May 2008 - 4:25 pm
Dear YB LIM and other MPs,
I would like to let all Malaysians know that Jabatan Perdana Menteri’s Biro Tata Negara has all this while missused thier position and $$$ to brainwash government servants and to a certain extend, GIC employess.
I could not believe myself how racist they are if I were not participated in the previous round. Some of their tricks to incite hatred among us (Malays, Chinese and Indians)
Please, someone must stop this or perhaps expose it to the general public that this kind of unlawful brainwashing events are in place. I encountered a few aunties that have really been “cheated” by this bunch of scumbags.
Some of their unjust provaocations:
1. UMNO is malays’ only savour.
2. DSAI is a trator of malay and being used by Jews.
3. We have given Chinese and other non-bumi citizen status and they should not have asked more than that! i.e.fair treatment… ya he mentioned in front of a small no. of non-bumi. They even threatened to revoke non-Bumis’ citizenship!
4. Malays need government contract and will sub-con to Chinese once they got the projects cause Chinese own most of the trailors, construction machines…. (can u believe it???)
5. Racial riot video, one being stabbed and slahed…
6. UTAR/KTAR are illegal, Dong Jiao Zhong is extremist, Sekolah Rendah Jenis Kebangsaaan is too much. (???!!!)
and many more!!! and they even mention some sort like “China balik China and India balik India” (wat the fck!!!)
Please can someone raise this question in the parliament and it has to be stopped.
Or you can suggest them to rebrand it as “BIRO TATA UMNO”???
#29 by Tim Sng on Friday, 2 May 2008 - 6:05 pm
Bad start…..more like a zoo….with monkeys and kangaroos.
Poor show by all parties. Maintaining the telecasts will help show the country the true picture.
Let us hope that they [both sides] will improve, when all eyes are on them, including and especially the veterans!
#30 by Killer on Friday, 2 May 2008 - 8:32 pm
Reading postings in this thread made me wonder if some of the people here are actually living in some god-forsaken caves.
That these people have been suffering from an advanced form of “Ostrich-head-in-the-Sand” Syndrome is pretty obvious going through the torturous posts.
The verdict of ordinary Malaysians on the street is one of revulsion and deep disappointment. They feel betrayed and cheated. The much anticipated 12GE Parliment turned to be nothing more than a rowdy platform for PR MPs to score political points and thumb their chests at BN. If this political hooliganism is going to continue, I suggest PR MPs better start making their exit plans for the 13GE.
Personally I am neither surprised nor particularly disappointed. As someone who is familiar with these MPs, I would be have been shocked if the session turned to be well-ordered and intellectual one.
And that Jeff Ooi’s raised the issue of his car being towed perhaps best sums up the mentality of these MPs that we have voted in. People who knows him personally or through his blog would have expected nothing less from this political Ah Beng from USJ.
I had many encounters with these MPs over the years and being a non-political person I had the opportunity to observe their immaturity over the years.
Many years ago, in one of the GEs Tian Chua stood for PKR and lost badly. After announcing the winner, the EC officer invited the contestants to come up to the stage and say a few words. The winner (I think it was from MCA) went up and recorded his thanks to the supporters, volunteers, the police, the EC, etc and asked them to go home and rest. Then came Tian Chua. He spent the next 1 hour harraguing the EC, BN, MCA, etc. Then he continued with a political speech laced with seditious accusations before the stunned audience. For me that summed up Tian Chua’s maturity as a person and a politician.
People are surprised by LKS’ poor command of Malay, well, this is a joke as many of the non Malay PR MPs can’t speak the national language well at all. Just wait and see.
Many people think Poh Kuan is a sort of a modern day Mother Teresa and Joan of Arc rolled into one. But listen to her and you would mistaken her some bleach blond Ah Lean from Kepong.
#31 by Jeffrey on Friday, 2 May 2008 - 10:59 pm
It appears to me that if “people here are actually living in some god-forsaken caves”, and “that these people have been suffering from an advanced form of “Ostrich-head-in-the-Sand” Syndrome”, you are obviously participating in a wrong and unsuitable blog – and sharing communication with a segment of cyber community not commensurate with your level of comunication.
#32 by Killer on Friday, 2 May 2008 - 11:20 pm
Jeffrey
Perhaps you are right. But if PR MPs and their supporters here are ignoring the sentiments of the common people, they face the wrath just like BN did in 12GE.
Their level of delusion and a stubborn refusal to see the reality is…well, blindingly obvious.
#33 by darcwil on Saturday, 3 May 2008 - 1:34 am
killer, you have a point there.
and someone mentioned that shouting, jeering, booing is the norm in Britain’s parliament? So?
Shall we compare ourselves to Western counterparts? Surely not. First and foremost, whatever madness displayed in our parliament recently certainly was not Malaysian culture to say the least. I’m cringing at the mere fact.
#34 by lchk on Saturday, 3 May 2008 - 1:07 pm
Killer posted:
“Reading postings in this thread made me wonder if some of the people here are actually living in some god-forsaken caves.”
I am not sure about some people but I am dead certain that you haven’t ventured out of your mud hole very often as ascertained by two of your comments listed below:
1) The average Malaysian’s standard of living is almost equal to the average Singaporean.
2) Maybank is the only foreign bank with significant presence in Singapore.
Looks like some UMNO village is missing its idiot.
#35 by desmondlee on Saturday, 3 May 2008 - 3:24 pm
Income Tax is something we all need to pay if we are taxible. I look into the tax amount and some of the tax rebate items and I find it totally make no sense to me at all.
Let’s look at the 2 items call umemployed wives allowance and children allowance.
Wife is RM3,000.00 for a year. If I take RM3,000/12 months = RM.250.00 per month. If let say RM3,000/365 (days in a year) = RM 8.22 a day! DO YOU THINK YOU CAN RAISE A WIFE WITH ONLY RM8.22 A DAY! I went to buy i meal i.e. only CHINESE ECONOMY RICE that is RM4.50! 3 meals will be RM 13.50.
Let look at our chilren allowance. RM1,000.00 per child. same simple arimethic. RM1,000/12 (months) = RM83.33 per month. If let say RM1,000/365(days in a year) = RM2.74 a day! This is even worst! MY CHILDREN EXPENSES WORTH ONLY RM 2.74 A DAY! THIS IS NOT EVEN ENOUGH FOR ME TO BUY 2 TIN OF MILK POWDER OR TOTALLY NOT ENOUGH TO FEED MY 12 YEAR OLD DAUGHTER IN 3 MEALS A DAY!
I wonder base on what is the government plug these numbers or amounts from?
Is these amount base on 10 years ago when rice is only around RM18 per pack and today I went to Carrfour rice is RM31.55 per pack? And the government telling the nation we have enough rice and annoucing 3% inflaction! This is more than 50% inflaction!
I came to know my wife expenses worth only RM8.22 and my child expenese worth only RM 2.74 a day! With the rising cost in every damn thing today should this two basic items to be reviewed and revised as the initial stage?
I have not talk about my children school fees, my chuldren clothing, wife clothing, my car fuel and many more to calculate here. THIS IS DAILY FOOD TO FEED MY FAMILY! OH MY GOD!
PLEASE HELP TO TABLE THIS IN PARLIMENT! I WILL POST THIS IN OTHER BLOGGER. THANK YOU
#36 by bra888 on Saturday, 3 May 2008 - 10:53 pm
Please stop the second SPACE TOURIST training. What’s the benefit of training a SPACE TOURIST?
#37 by Killer on Sunday, 4 May 2008 - 1:24 am
lchk
I think you have some serious mental health issues that requires need urgent attention…
Why don’t you go to the original thread if you wish to prolong your childish arguments….let’s not hijack this thread and waste people’s time.
#38 by Killer on Sunday, 4 May 2008 - 9:24 am
Killer Says:
Today at 01: 24.15 (7 hours ago)
lchk
I think you have some serious mental health issues that requires need urgent attention…
Apologies lchk & others, I withdraw this comment…personal attack is wrong so I take it back.
#39 by Killer on Sunday, 4 May 2008 - 9:26 am
lchk
On the otherhand you are not off the hook yet in terms of debate.
Here comes the first salvo.
Corporate Information : About Maybank in Singapore
About Maybank in Singapore
Maybank’s Presence in Singapore
Maybank started its operations in Singapore in 1960 as a full licensed commercial bank and its first local branch was opened at South Bridge Road in December 1960. Thereafter, within the next few years, the Bank aggressively opened another 21 branches.
Maybank is currently among the top five banks in ASEAN and is a Qualifying Full Bank in Singapore. The Bank has the most extensive network of branches and ATMs amongst the foreign banks in Singapore. All our 22 Branches and 32 ATMs are strategically located in both the business districts and the suburban estates for the convenience of our customers.
http://info.maybank2u.com.sg/corporate_info/index.htm
#40 by Killer on Sunday, 4 May 2008 - 2:43 pm
Dear lchk
The moral of the story is that just because someone once worked in Singapore for a few years as a Production Operator / Assistant Hawker, it would not automatically make the person an expert in Singapore banking sector.
#41 by shamshul anuar on Sunday, 4 May 2008 - 6:06 pm
Dear readers,
I refer to views by many readers. Allow me to express views that seldom heard here . I am referring to views of simple kampung people whom I met . And I also would like to express the viewpoint of several professionals about current political situation in Malaysia.
These views may surprise the readers here as you will not read this in Star or New Strait times.
Some of the views are:
1) Allah is merciful to UMNO that It still allow UMNO to retain Federal Govt. This is the most common responses among Malays, rich or poor, academicians or despatch boy.
2) Many Malays regretted . We “over punished UMNO”. “Ingat nak sedarkan UMNO sikit. Tak sangka sampai hilang kerajaan negeri”.
3) With regards to UMNOputras, they include people from PAS and also PKR. There is no denying that many members of PAs and PKR actually received scholarship from JPA, MARA.
4) MCA , Gerakan, MIC fared very badly as Malays , upset over Hindraf, the ”
slogan One vote for MCa meaning one vote for UMNO” decided not to vote for Malay candidates. Hence Tan Chai Ho lost in Bandar Tiun Razak, Fu Ah Keow lost in Kuantan and also Palanivel lost in Hulu Selangor seat.
These are some views that I gathered among kampung people. Of course, I can expect some bloggers will stood low low by condemning me as UMNOputra, narrow minded. ect.
#42 by Killer on Sunday, 4 May 2008 - 7:06 pm
Folks and Uncle Kit
Last night a group of friends (obviously me included) gathered for a dinner to catch up socially and to talk about the political situation.
None of us were politicians or strong supporters of any party. I guess most if not all of them voted for PR during the 12 GE as such there was much expectation for the 12GE parliament. But the most common theme of the dinner was the performance of Karpal and yourself. Many of them only have heard of both of you fighting fearlessly for the rights of Malaysians. Some of them had attended your ceramahs during the 12 GE campaign.
The unanimous verdict was that both of you were a total failure. They were utterly disappointed and let down by the behaviour of the 2 most senior members of PR. I think both of you had lost completely the credibility that you had built up over the years. Many of these people are non-political folks who took an interest only recently and they feel cheated.
Unfortunately for you, that seems to be the general sentiments of many Malaysians (of course the Ostriches roaming this site are exempted). I think this is rather unfair since I had followed both of you for a long time but that’s politics I guess.
Finally, I see a remarkable parallel between Pak Lah’s fortunes since 11 GE and yours post 12GE. Just like Pak Lah you have reached the zenith of your career, brace yourself for a deep dive to oblivion.
#43 by lchk on Sunday, 4 May 2008 - 10:44 pm
Killer,
You stated that Maybank is the ONLY foreign bank with significant presence in Singapore. Pure BS, my suggestion is to go take a look at StanChart and Citibank.
Your sources states that Maybank Singapore has 32 ATMs – are you aware that Citibank has more than 100 ATMs in Singapore?
Click on the link below and see how many ATMs and ATM locations Citibank has including at all major MRT stations.
http://www.citibank.com.sg
I’ll keep it short and simple for you:-
The ACTUAL moral of the story here is that you know absolutely NOTHING about banking in Singapore or even about Singapore in general besides what you read in the Utusan newspaper i.e. UMNO mouthpiece. In reality, you know even less so than a Malaysian factory operations worker in Singapore.
Your statements regarding the quality of life in Malaysia being almost on par with Singapore’s and about Maybank being the only foreign bank worth its salt in Singapore are evidence of that. I am sure the readers here can decide who is posting facts and who is spouting waste out of his rear orrifice.
Hence, I have serious doubts about your declaration that you spend almost half your time in Singapore.
If you want to spin your own credentials, it pays to check your facts and be consistent in lying through your teeth. Otherwise, folks will point them out and you end up with egg on your face and make yourself look like a bigger fool than you already are.
#44 by lchk on Sunday, 4 May 2008 - 10:49 pm
Killer,
I believe all of us here know you are a BN/UMNO cyber mouthpiece in LKS’s blog.
If you want anyone here to take your views seriously, post factual and objective comments instead of accusing the readers of Kit’s blog of being frogs under coconut shells or worse, posting outright lies and attempting to pass them off as facts.
#45 by Killer on Sunday, 4 May 2008 - 11:36 pm
Dear lchk
Chill out bro….get a hold of yourself and refrain from making a fool of yourself.
Well you said “are you aware that Citibank has more than 100 ATMs in Singapore? ” and provided the link but you know what the link says ?
” With effect from 31 October 2007, the atm5 Shared ATM network will be available at a selected list of over 125 ATMs of the 5 Qualifying Full Banks (QFBs) – ABN-AMRO Bank, Citibank, HSBC, Maybank and Standard Chartered Bank”
You see yet again I have proven with the necessary data and this time using your own source to show that your are completely wrong.
I suggest that in order not to be humilated yet again, please refrain from debating with me unless it is about factory production operations or selling char koay teow in Singapore.
BTW, you can call me village idiot / BN cyber trooper / Nazi storm trooper etc, that doesn’t affect or concern me at all. I always held the principle that when someone resorts to personal attacks and insults, that’s the clearest indication that he/she is intellectually bankrupt. So go ahead, insult me !
#46 by cheng on soo on Monday, 5 May 2008 - 12:03 am
desmondlee Says:
Yesterday at 15: 24.45
Income Tax is something we all need to pay if we are taxible. I look into the tax amount and some of the tax rebate items and I find it totally make no sense to me at all.
Let’s look at the 2 items call umemployed wives allowance and children allowance…………
…. our chilren allowance. RM1,000.00 per child. same simple arimethic. RM1,000/12 (months) = RM83.33 per month. If let say RM1,000/365(days in a year) = RM2.74 a day! This is even worst! MY CHILDREN EXPENSES WORTH ONLY RM 2.74 A DAY! THIS IS NOT EVEN ENOUGH FOR ME TO BUY 2 TIN OF MILK POWDER OR TOTALLY NOT ENOUGH TO FEED MY 12 YEAR OLD DAUGHTER IN 3 MEALS A DAY!
AGREED TOTALLY, this RM1000/- a year for a child is sheer nonsense!
This killer / lchk, must continue! very interesting, but think Killer, quoted US$1 trillion of foreign fund parked in Spore, why these fund nver come to Msia? Mr Killer, U know how many zero is a trillion or not (US or UK or European definition).
BUT, fact, standard of living in Msia, surely cannot approx. = that of Lioncity ,south of here?
n Jeff Ooi, is an MP from penang, not from USJ lah.
#47 by langkah baru on Monday, 5 May 2008 - 10:12 am
Hey friends out there, I have seen the tremendous show and do you all realize that non malay MPs speak very well in malays and this show that MPs in late 60′s with english education background can really really speak malay well. What happen if they change to English session, do all the MPs can speak well too? Well I dare to say they can’t, only 10% can but not all .
#48 by laufuzhe28 on Monday, 5 May 2008 - 10:57 am
Dear YB Kit,
Quote: “Public outcry over the unruly first sitting of Parliament is unwarranted as sessions should be robust and peppered with spirit, Bukit Gelugor MP Karpal Singh said. He said one of the dullest places on Earth was Parliament except for the occasional exchanges between the Opposition and Barisan Nasional MPs.
“We need a Parliament which is robust. Lively exchanges and repartee enliven what would otherwise be mundane and dull proceedings,” said the DAP chairman who has been an MP for 26 years.” Unquote
Please tell Karpal that I beg to differ from his remark. No matter how dull a place the Parliament can be, MPs must respect the August House and please refrain from those name calling, but show good behaviour, especially so when there would be daily visits by groups, irrespective of whether students or others, to the Parliament daily.
Let the BN MPs do whatever they like; such as showing disrespect to fellow handicap or female MPs. Just show them the smile. Please, the Rakyats have voted such a big PR group into the Parliament this time is to show the BN that we deny them the 2/3 majority and the PR group is expected to be in Parliament to do the “check & balance”. Just raise question like the one raised on Ministry of Defence requesting the breakdown cost of maintenace for each fighter plane.
#49 by lchk on Monday, 5 May 2008 - 11:41 am
Killer,
You are practising selective reading and obviously know nothing about ATM networks – Citibank is part of the ATM5 network which is similar to the HOUSE ATM network in Malaysia.
Citibank has its OWN branded ATM machines, read the press release below:
http://www.citi.com/citigroup/press/2006/061207c.htm
Citibank’s latest initiative to open branches and Instant Banking Centres at MRT stations will position it as the only bank in Singapore to have such a comprehensive presence in MRT stations across the island. At the same time, it will more than double Citibank’s current branch network to 19, and more than triple its proprietary ATM locations to 75. As part of the arrangement, Citibank is working with AXS to deploy Citibank-AXS terminals at all MRT stations as well. As at 1 December 2006, Citibank’s customer touch-points included 9 branches, 24 proprietary ATM locations, over 370 Citibank-AXS terminals and more than 140 ATMs under the ATM5 network.
And you said that Maybank is the only foreign bank with significant presence in Singapore. The above FACTS just blew you out of the LIES that you have been posting in this blog.
cheng on soo, thanks for reminding me of the 1 trillion matter.
Killer, where is your EVIDENCE that there are USD1 trillion worth of funds from Indonesia which have been parked in Singapore?
Is the quality of life in Malaysia as good as in Singapore?
#50 by Killer on Monday, 5 May 2008 - 12:06 pm
lchk
Well, please re-read your own post bro. This is hilarious…thanks for shooting your own feet.Appreciate it.
Note that Citibank’s network of 140 ATMs Do NOT belong to them but shared among all the foreign banks, unlike Maybank. There is no way Citibank has a bigger presence than Maybank in Singapore, unlike of course your are mouthing PAP’s propaganda here.
And Citibank can only claim better coverage in MRT stations as they have exclusive deal with MRT.
If you disagree with me , please provide a source that says otherwise.
As for illegal funds from Indonesia, well I have posted many articles and links in the thread on LKC. I will re-post there here if you wish.
And BTW, why are you so defensive about Singapore’s record ? Are you an apologist for the PAP government ?