Hishammuddin’s apology – Malay keris-wielding antics laid to rest?

Two weeks ago, when speaking at the first public ceramah/consultation with DAP MPs, Excos, State Assembly representatives in Ipoh, I broached the subject when the UMNO Youth leader and Education Minister, Datuk Seri Hishammuddin Hussin will publicly apologise for his offensive, irresponsible and provocative “Malay keris” antics which MCA, Gerakan and even Umno leaders had blamed as one of the causes of the Barisan Nasional’s debacle in the March 8, 2008 general election “political tsunami”.

I said:

Hishammuddin should publicly apologise for his “Malay keris” antics and MCA, Gerakan and other Barisan Nasional leaders should demand in unison for such an apology and assurance of no repetition in Cabinet and Parliament.

Unless Hishammuddin is prepared to make a public apology and MCA, Gerakan and other BN leaders in Cabinet and Parliament take a public position demanding that Hishammuddin publicly apologise for his offensive, irresponsible and provocative “Malay keris” antics, it could not be said that Umno, MCA, Gerakan and BN leaders have learnt anything from the March 8 “political tsunami”.

The questions I want to pose tonight is whether Hishammuddin is prepared to publicly apologise for his irresponsible and provocative “Malay keris” antics and whether MCA, Gerakan and other BN leaders are prepared to demand in unison for such an apology and assurance of no repetition in Cabinet and Parliament as proof that they have taken seriously the voice of Malaysian voters in the March 8 “political tsunami”.

Now Hishammuddin has made his apology, although quite an ambivalent one.

MCA, Gerakan, MIC and Umno leaders are euphoric and ectastic with Deputy Prime Minister, Datuk Seri Najib Razak declaring that Hishammuddin’s apology was “something great and noble” and calling on the issue of the “keris-wielding” to be put to rest.

I had repeatedly lambasted Hishammuddin for his irresponsible, offensive, insensitive and provocative “Malay keris wielding” in the last Parliament even citing it as a reason for a RM10-salary cut for the Education Minister’s pay as a censure, and I was extremely disappointed that apart from support from other DAP MPs, there was not a squeak of protest against the keris-wielding antics its from the Barisan Nasional ranks, whether front or back benches, whether MCA, Gerakan, MIC, Umno or from other BN component parties.

I can accept Hishammuddin’s apology, however haughty or ambivalent, but the issue cannot just be forgotten and buried if no attempt is made to understand its root causes and how and why it could happen – symptomatic of something very wrong with half-a-century of Malaysian nation-building.

Hishammuddin’s irresponsible, offensive, insensitive and provocative “Malay keris wielding” symbolized the worst of Umno political hegemony, which was mischievously equated with Malay political power.

It represented a rejection of the Vision 2020 objective of creating a “Bangsa Malaysia” out of the diverse races and religions in Malaysia, a repudiation of the concept of “ketuanan Malaysia” to replace “ketuanan Umno” camouflaging as “ketuanan Melayu” and a refusal to accept that all Malaysians must be treated as equal and rightful citizens in Malaysia.

In apologizing for his insensitive “Malay keris wielding”, is Hishammuddin prepared to fully respond to the paradigm shift pioneered by the voters in the March 8 “political tsunami” for a fully Malaysian approach, transcending race and religion, to the nation-building challenges of the country where the focus is no more on competition between Malays and non-Malays but between Malaysians and the rest of the world in the highly competitive era of globalization?

Print Friendly

1. #1 by Loh on Monday, 28 April 2008 - 11:23 am

“I apologise to the non-Malays and the Malays. To the non-Malays because of the fear to a symbol which was not my intention. And to the Malays for not being able to uphold their symbol of heritage.” – Datuk Seri Hishammuddin Hussin

That is not an apology. He is merely saying to the Chinese: ” that I am sorry that you should feel this way, and that feeling is wrong. But I could not help in changing the feeling you had. It is not wrong for me to raise the keris, but it is your sensitivity that I could not help.”

His so-called apology to the Malays has clear reference to this which was left unsaid. ” It is because you did not vote for UMNO that have caused the party to lose two-third majority, and because of that I had to apologise for upholding the Malay symbol of heritage”

The man brandished the keris to masruerade a Malay saviour, and he is using the occassion of ‘an apology’ to justify his action. The racists in UMNO have been rewarded with power as exemplified by Razak, Harun and TDM. The Kerisman is trying to outdo the old heroes.

2. #2 by Jong on Monday, 28 April 2008 - 12:28 pm

It’s FAKE, too little too late! Don’t buy it!

“Kerishamuddin” – will be stuck to him for the rest of his despicable life. No Malaysians for generations to come will forget his highly insensitive and irresponsible keris wielding antics with venom frothing from his mouth!

3. #3 by limkamput on Monday, 28 April 2008 - 12:51 pm

In his case it is not to control. It is to nurture, to stoke the flames, to let him be consumed by his own anger!

Yes precisely again, those who play with fire will get burnt – very badly i hope, disfigured would be the best.

4. #4 by sotong on Monday, 28 April 2008 - 1:05 pm

Keris or no Keris……BN UMNO days in government are numbered!

5. #5 by limkamput on Monday, 28 April 2008 - 1:22 pm

i hope those gullible fools who advocate federal state coperation will read this piece: “Guan Eng: It’s a new form of colonialism” in the star.

6. #6 by boilingmad on Monday, 28 April 2008 - 1:29 pm

I don’t understand why people are still mad about this keris-waving incident. It is one of the factors that brought down UMNO. When he is pressured to apologise, everyone claims he is insincere, but he doesn’t apologise, everyone claims he is arrogant. So exactly what is he expected to do over this incident?

I say, just forget about it get on with other more crucial issues. Frankly, it doesn’t matter what he does or does not do. We don’t like him and we don’t want him. All we want is to kick him out completely.

Just as RPK said, the more UMNO opens their mouths, the deeper the hole they’re digging. I say, let them dig deeper and deeper. The deeper the hole, the easier to bury all of them.

7. #7 by seage on Monday, 28 April 2008 - 1:44 pm

Well said Loh! (Loh Says: Today at 11: 23.49 (2 hours ago)

8. #8 by oknyua on Monday, 28 April 2008 - 1:56 pm

My belated response to this “keris” wielding; I posted the same thing in MT.

“”Dilemma of the keris.
    At this age, the struggles for Malays are global – Malaysian Malays prosper in London, New York, Singapore, Melbourne. Confine Malays to the backwaters of ulu kampongs and they rebel, not because they reject opportunities, but for far too long they have been treated as a group with very little ability and talent, both to think and to act. Shout “keris” in New York and Melbourne and the people there show you the middle finger. You can’t bring the “keris” to these places. In fact, you don’t need the “keris” anymore. What you need is your intelligence, ingenuity and sweats.

No, the Malays hadn’t forgotten their race. Why should they? But there is a clear agenda in politics that the Malays see. The Malay race had been the thrusts of independence and formation of Malaysia, well and fine, but now the Malay race is being exploited to support a small group of politicians who regard Malaysia, Malaysians and the Malays as their domain and fiefdom. The Malays are manipulated as the group that helps them to cheat, plunder and pillage, manipulate and destroy.

This is the same Malays that rebelled against the British. Would the Malays TODAY exchange one master for another? Never, the Malays will never allow that. The also won’t the cheapening and manipulating the symbol of the “keris” for cheap political gains.””

Keris wielding has insulted many people, not just the non-Malays. For example, Hisham’s apology had a “doublespeak.” He apologised to the Malays for failing to “instigate” Malay patriotism with the Keris – another insult, this time to specifically to the Malays. Is he a self-appointed sentinel to the pride of the Malays as much as he was hurting the non-Malays? Won’t that incidence be repeated in future? Won’t the Keris wielding resurfaced in another form(s) in the next General Assembly? That is the question YB Lim KS presented here. The apology had not given us any assurance at all.

9. #9 by ilovedap on Monday, 28 April 2008 - 2:13 pm

Judging by the reaction of the people, this performance surely wont win an Oscar despite the effort. How sad! :)

10. #10 by wag-the-dog on Monday, 28 April 2008 - 3:01 pm

Mother Malaysia – Tanah Tumpahnya Darahku

Visit http://www.wagthedog-malaysia.blogspot.com for details.

11. #11 by Hishamuddin on Monday, 28 April 2008 - 3:42 pm

Mother earth…. does he look like he is apologising or just making a statement ?????????

12. #12 by ngahc on Monday, 28 April 2008 - 4:19 pm

He is paving way to be VP of UMNO. I am sure more news will come from him in the next few months so as to catch limelight. UMNO’s election is around the corner..I would rather hear him apologize for the drop in standards of our local universities..Without high quality education provide to the mass, we just could not survive in this globalisation.

13. #13 by lopez on Monday, 28 April 2008 - 6:54 pm

Tribal minds minds with ancient ways have no place in times like this in boiling land, loud mouth should just resign from politics and save the apology for his father.
    No one will be foolish enough to accept those statements once said cannot be unsaid, no a piece of paper under editing stage but spoke with a loud mouth , all clear and recorded. there is no slip of the tongue nor a fault of his mind, those statements are orchestrated with much thought and unilateral reasoning filled with bias intentions.
    There those who were present at that moment, but did nothing and silent , some even gave weight to it too.
    I wonder where are these people now.

14. #14 by ipohites on Monday, 28 April 2008 - 10:43 pm

Hishamuddin is making a fool for himself… You should have apologize early before the election… Now it’s just too late…

15. #15 by kcb on Tuesday, 29 April 2008 - 12:11 am

THIS MAN HAD WIELDED THE KERIS SEVERAL TIMES, WITH EACH TIME KNOWING FULLY WELL THAT HE WAS HURTING THE FEELING OF THE NON-MALAYS! HE HAD THEN ARROGANTLY CONTINUED TO DO SO WITHOUT SEEING THE NEED TO APOLOGISE.

SO, WHAT FOR APOLOGISE NOW?
    APOLOGY NOT ACCEPTED!

16. #16 by boh-liao on Tuesday, 29 April 2008 - 12:28 am

It’s a fake apology, the Lingam’s type …. looks like it, sounds like it, but definitely not an apology.

After the 2004 GE, HH, KJ, and the whole bunch of Umnoputras were so, soooo arrogant and invincible. They treated non-Malays as najis and dirt, to be trampled upon. Umnoputras then believed that they did not need the votes of non-Malays to continue to rule the nation. The keris was unsheathed and held high menacingly to reinforce ‘ketuanan Umnoputra’ and to threaten non-Malays. Words (which would get normal mortals under ISA) were shouted in front of the entire nation.

What did SIL say during the raising of the keris?

Did they feel sorry about it? Certainly not. Just wayang now to pretend to shed some sorry crocodile tears. They think people are dumb and mudah lupa.

17. #17 by perfectmalaysia on Tuesday, 29 April 2008 - 1:37 am

wait.. wait… wait…. did hishamuddin apologise?? i dont think so… i dont even see any coverage or anything that he is apologising, let alone his sincerity.. then najib backed him up but closing the topic forever.. what is the game that they are playing? Malaysia is the best country is the world, but with this kind of torture and tarnishment.. it is closer to hell day by day…. UMMO is using propaganda to separate the malays and other races.. so WHERE IS THE MUHHIBAH SPIRIT THAT HAS BEEN FORGOTTEN?

18. #18 by chiakchua on Tuesday, 29 April 2008 - 7:42 am

The PR should not only ask federal government to reveal the income tax revenue but also the custom & excise collection from the 5 PR states. The BN government is staffed by ‘racist politicians’ who are good only in ‘saying good things’ to the PM, and are ‘arrogant’ to the rakyat.

19. #19 by ShiokGuy on Tuesday, 29 April 2008 - 10:57 am

The only way out for Malaysia to move forward is for Keris Joker to resign and disappear for good!

Like the saying said ????,????

Read my opinion about him here..
    http://shiokguy.blogspot.com/2008/04/keris-apology.html

Please disappear, or else we will vote you out next

Shiok Guy

20. #20 by ShiokGuy on Tuesday, 29 April 2008 - 11:28 am

Sorry i did not know the blog cannot display Chinese character..
    Do read about the ????,???? at my blog
    Shiok guy

21. #21 by KINI on Tuesday, 29 April 2008 - 11:53 am

We are not “GOD”, so we all make mistakes. What is wrong to apologise if a person make mistakes???That is the problem with BN, “apologising” is not thier culture. If this mentality persists, you will see BN loses more seats.

l am sure all Malaysians agreed that the “Kris” were shown in the inappropriate place to pursue personal agenda. But our Krismuddin denied and insisted that the “Kris” showing were to protect malay’s culture. Come on, an uneducated layman easily understood the motive.

Now, l am totally amused that the “apology”was said, again, to protect malay’s culture and Umno.It is hard to accept an apology if it is said merely for other purposes then admitting self-wrong-doing.

22. #22 by yhsiew on Tuesday, 29 April 2008 - 3:06 pm

Hishammuddin should have performed the keris-wielding ceremony closed-door. There was hardly any need to publicize such an act as people not of the Malay culture might misconstrue it as a threat or an insult to them.

23. #23 by boh-liao on Tuesday, 29 April 2008 - 3:45 pm

HH declared that he was willing to sacrifice his political career for the party. Soooooooooo noble, for someone who said that he will continue to wave and poke an unsheathed keris at Umno GA until the non-Malays are sensitised to the act!

The spirits of his immediate relatives are watching him!

24. #24 by boh-liao on Tuesday, 29 April 2008 - 3:53 pm

Umnoputras believe that they live in a different, elevated world than other mortal Malaysians, and are above the law.

Even the Wives of Selangor Assemblymen and MPs followed the SOPs of their husbands – semua pun boleh, tipu, gasak semua, and act without concern about rules and regulations, all can be bent like Beckham.

25. #25 by eusoon on Tuesday, 6 May 2008 - 10:16 am

When Hishammuddin took over the leadership of Umno Youth, he was considered as a hot potential candidate for the premiership in the future. But he doesn’t seemed to have inherited the family’s gift for politics, his strange ideas of Malay champion, with the unnecessary antics of brandishing the keris, spell the end for his dream to be the future Prime Minister.