Lee Kah Choon saga – opportunity lost for BN leaders after March 8 “political tsunami”

The Lee Kah Choon saga is an opportunity lost for Malaysian leaders to emulate the Malaysian voters in the March 8 “political tsunami” to rise above race, religion and political differences to work single-mindedly for the good of the people, state and country.

In the last Parliament, in keeping with the perverse notion of “Support Barisan Nasional, right or wrong”, a new rule was formulated for all Barisan Nasional MPs that they cannot support Opposition motions whether right or wrong and cannot vote according to their conscience but must toe the party line.

As a result, the then Chairman of the Barisan Nasional BackBenchers Club, Datuk Shahrir Abdul Samad (now Domestic Trade and Consumer Affairs Minister) was forced in May 2006 to resign from his post to avoid disciplinary action against him for speaking up in favour of my privilege motion in Parliament to refer the then MP for Jasin, Mohd Said Yusuf to the Committee of Privileges over the impropriety of an MP asking the Customs and Excise Department to “close one eye” in a case involving the import of sawn timber in Malacca.

It was in disgust at such obtuse and petty-minded mentality where individual and party interests were placed above parliamentary, public and national interests that the Malaysian voters rose as one to teach the Barisan Nasional a salutary lesson in the March 8 “political tsunami”, depriving the BN of its hitherto unbroken two-thirds majority in Parliament and power in five states.

In the March 8, 2008 general election, Malaysian voters crossed ethnic, religious and even party lines to vote for change and the Lee Kah Choon saga would have been one opportunity for Barisan Nasional leaders to demonstrate that they have heard the voices of the people and are prepared to emulate the voters’ example to put aside personal and party differences for the betterment of the people, state and nation.

Initially the Prime Minister, Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi sent out the right signals in his first public reaction on Tuesday on Lee’s appointment and acceptance of the posts of Penang Development Corporation (PDC) director and InvestPenang executive committee chairman – that for him, “it’s okay as long as there is no clash in policy”.

However, in a matter of a few hours on the same day, Abdullah was prevailed upon to ignore the voices of the people in the March 8 “political tsunami” and to come out with a hardline stand declaring that Lee’s decision was “against the spirit of BN” and requiring action from the Acting Gerakan President, Tan Sri Dr. Koh Tsu Koon.

The latest pronouncement on the matter came from Deputy Prime Minister and Deputy Barisan Nasional Chairman Datuk Seri Najib Razak yesterday that Lee’s acceptance of the two Penang state government positions was against the “clearly stated policy of BN” – making it the most unknown “clearly stated” BN policy as the Prime Minister, Deputy Prime Minister and BN leaders had not known about it for 48 hours!

One important reason why Malaysia had lagged behind other countries in economic development and international competitiveness in the past four decades is because of the country’s failure to give top priority to meritocracy and excellence in nation-building.

The Lee Kah Choon saga shows that the Barisan Nasional government and leaders have yet to hear the voices of the March 8 “political tsunami” who want Malaysian leaders to emulate the voters in transcending ethnic, religious and political differences to work for the betterment of the people, state and nation by creating a new culture of talent and merit unsullied by partisan considerations.

Print Friendly

1. #1 by akarmalaysian on Saturday, 26 April 2008 - 1:01 am

p/s: do u see any leaders in bn who has really contributed and benefit the people of malaysia in this present government?the only thing i really see we common people get fr this present government are taik lembu.

2. #2 by chongs on Saturday, 26 April 2008 - 3:00 am

Weak BN leadership shows up again !! All top BNs are selfish lots. They only choose their own kind, corrupt, narrow-minded and not far-sighted. I shiver when I think of Malaysia in the next five years under their rule.

3. #3 by Godfather on Saturday, 26 April 2008 - 6:44 am

The Lee Kah Choon saga will not be the last. The BN goons are already asking the civil service not to cooperate with opposition state governments.

The sorry state of affairs can only end with a change of government at federal level. I am hoping that Anwar will act sooner rather than later, for this country is going to the dogs.

4. #4 by Bujang Zayn on Saturday, 26 April 2008 - 7:40 am

Must congratulate LKE and LKC.Both are gentlement enought to break the ice and becomes icon of statementship working for the betterment of the nation.

The Malaysian at large must ensure BN be buried in peace. Hishamuddin like Pak Lah tendered his apology on the ‘kris’ issue. Basically being an ordinary malaysian apology not accepted. All UMNO including other BN component parties must also be armed with the “kris” to face ‘mungkar nangkir’.The ‘kris’ hopefully protect them from being further harrass and questions.

5. #5 by k1980 on Saturday, 26 April 2008 - 8:08 am

How come the “new” ACA is not investigating this? Or it is waiting for the mullah to give the go-ahead?
    http://www.sun2surf.com/article.cfm?id=21761

6. #6 by js on Saturday, 26 April 2008 - 8:17 am

As penangite, I fully support the appointment of LKC. It is a wise move by LGE.Penang state government should keep those who really can serve the people and can help for the development of the state. I have confident that LGE can manage the state well. We penangites like him so much. All should give him full support.

7. #7 by Bigjoe on Saturday, 26 April 2008 - 8:54 am

When I watched Koh Tsu Koon comment on TV that he talked to Lee Kah Choon about bigger role in Gerakan and implied he was not patient enough, I realized why the smart people that I know think he is in fact boot-licking idiot.

At this hour, without proof, they are trying to paint him badly – crass negative campaigning at a time when the electoral is looking for actions and leaving politicking behind. How out of touch is that?

Its one thing for crazy doctor to go ALL negative on Lee Kah Choon, he is suppose to be retired and can wax lyrically about anything. And even then he is being compared to Dr. M which the chinese don’t take too kindly now.

KTK should really just go. He is an embarassing geek now only.

8. #8 by cheng on soo on Saturday, 26 April 2008 - 9:48 am

Wonder which is more important?
    Spirit /Interest of BN /UMNO or
    Spirit /Interest of Malaysia n her citizens.

9. #9 by undergrad2 on Saturday, 26 April 2008 - 10:13 am

As a former Penangite myself, I feel it was a smart political move in more ways than one.

The offer by the Chief Minister to someone albeit from another party which used to run the government is a recognition of the need to work on a non-partisan basis for the betterment of the island economy. PR would need all the cooperation it can get from the federal government.

However, the fact that the offer appears to have been made to someone without the relevant experience is bound to raise eyebrows.

In any case I think it is a smart political move by DAP.

10. #10 by Jong on Saturday, 26 April 2008 - 10:47 am

As a Penangite, I sokong what you said! Yes, for Chief Minister Lim Guan Eng, that was a smart political move, magnanimous gesture!

As for retiree Lim Keng Yaik, he and Dr Mahathir should spend time throwing saliva at each other, for all we care.

11. #11 by eddieqh on Saturday, 26 April 2008 - 12:30 pm

I think those againts LKC move must be ppl afraid of LKC may expose their loop-hole……

12. #12 by ablastine on Saturday, 26 April 2008 - 12:53 pm

Yes do not stop doing it. Get the best from wherever they are to lead and and manage the State and very soon Singapore will start to look up to us even. This is simply because we have about 26 million strong to choose from. They only have about 5million. Congratulation to LKC. You did the right thing. Although the whip has been on you and you faced all type of pressure, you should realise now that in the eyes of the people of Malaysia, you are a hero, well respected and beyond petty politics. Please continue your good work and make us even more proud by catapulating Penang into a new league of development and expansion to rival even Singapore.

Thank you also to LGE for making a fantastic move. Perhaps he should recruit somebody like Zaid Ibrahim next to come over to serve PR. BN is now at its last phase of existence. Get their best to serve the country before they are eclipsed. Also can somebody or some company volunteer to fix the roof of the CM’s official residence so that the CM does not need to stay in his father’s house. We owe him at least that much.

13. #13 by James on Saturday, 26 April 2008 - 1:14 pm

Yes, I fully agree with you on this matter. The bird-brained, corrupt, selfish and racist BN members are too wrapped up in their own warped invention to know what is happening despite the results of the recent GE. As one contributor has pointed out it is only when the rakyat totally vote these unsavoury characters out of power then maybe they will wake up & out of their drug-induced stupor. Let us all do that in the next GE. Insyallah.

14. #14 by dranony on Saturday, 26 April 2008 - 2:15 pm

Just as a demonstration of the idiocy of the BN’s perverse notion of “Support Barisan Nasional, right or wrong”, where all Barisan Nasional MPs that they cannot support Opposition motions whether right or wrong -
    WHAT IF during the opening session of the next Parliament, a rookie MP were to propose a motion of confidence in Abdullah Badawi?!

IF the BN MPs are bound by the BN order NOT to support any Opposition motion, THEN it would be seen as having NO confidence in Pak Lah!
    IF ON THE OTHER HAND, they were to actually support the motion of confidence, then it would show that they had violated the stupid BN notion of NOT supporting any Opposition motion!

Of course, the other Opposition MPs need not support the motion either, but then this will have no effect, since there is no similar Opposition order to vote against their beliefs and conscience.
    This motion by a rookie MP would serve only to demonstrate the idiocy of the BN order.

15. #15 by kenyalan08 on Saturday, 26 April 2008 - 2:35 pm

Spirits of BN :
    1)Apolozise with your mouth but not with your heart . Hishamuddin
    said sorry to all Malaysian for kris incident however next UMNO
    youth meeting will leave the kris infront-on the table .
    2)When BN lost the state , wives and supports of BN transfer all
    accounts to ” swiss bank “.
    3)Any BN wrong doings exposed , ACA spring into action , results not
    enough or concrete evidences proved-Woman Minister is there to
    cut ribbons and have a few dishes of abalone , bird nest soups .

I am sure you guys can add more……….

16. #16 by chongs on Saturday, 26 April 2008 - 3:33 pm

Before the election, I did know much about Lim Guan Eng regarding his leadership, except that he is the son of LKS, and who has been detained under the ISA. One of qualitites of a good leadership is being original, creative, innovative. LGE was shown this superb quality by appointing someone outside his party to an impotant post. This simple idea of recruiting the best person who is from a different party to do a job for a better nation has never occurred to the BN leaders since their 50 years of ruling. (This reminds me of Lee Lam Tye but then it’s a different story.) Never mind if DAP has its own agenda, what is important is that this person is very qualified to hold the post. It’s a normal pratice in some countries like in America, but still, to do this in Malaysia is quite something out of the original and to be proud of.
    I believe more to come from LGE.

17. #17 by badak on Saturday, 26 April 2008 - 5:22 pm

After reading and hearing Hisammudin apologies for the kriss waving incident.He still sounds arogant to me.All in all he still blame the rayat for not looking at the kriss as a symbol.

Yes he can raise the kriss ,Yes he can kiss the kriss but must he treaten the other BN component party members not to touch on Malay rights with the kriss.This UMNO bigots are not protecting Malay rights but the rights of UMNO to go on cheating the raayat.

18. #18 by simsimsim on Saturday, 26 April 2008 - 5:24 pm

In any practice of “Talent Management ” one need to find balance between ” internal and outside ” recruit…. that the way most of the success and powrerful country keep their competitiness eg…. US ,,, a migrant country and also increasing trend in EUR countries …. nearest country .. Singapore , recruiting “Talent ” irregardless of race and religious …. some of your brother or sister may be working there … right…
    DAP/ LGE , You hv done a Great Job on this….
    Pls continue with this strategies ,, BN sure Kaput…

19. #19 by undergrad2 on Saturday, 26 April 2008 - 7:08 pm

“In the last Parliament, in keeping with the perverse notion of “Support Barisan Nasional, right or wrong”, a new rule was formulated for all Barisan Nasional MPs that they cannot support Opposition motions whether right or wrong and cannot vote according to their conscience but must toe the party line.” Kit

With their majority whittled down, and BN leadership in disarray, don’t expect BN leaders to change the rules.

BN MPs have always been programmed by their leaders to believe that conscience is their enemy, that conscience is not God’s presence in Man but the Devil’s – or worse the DAP’s. So do not expect BN MPs to suddenly realize on whose side the Devil is really with!

20. #20 by k1980 on Saturday, 26 April 2008 - 7:50 pm

No money to carry out the project say so lah, don’t blame others!
    http://themalaysianinsider.com/mni/federal-government-threatens-to-scrap-penang-monorail-project.html

21. #21 by k1980 on Saturday, 26 April 2008 - 7:58 pm

If Singapore sneezes, then Malaysia would be having terminal cancer

http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/singaporelocalnews/view/343843/1/.html

22. #22 by rckk007 on Saturday, 26 April 2008 - 7:59 pm

Those of us in the private sector knows that their good staff are always been headhunted by others, and usually come bonus/increment time, management wait in anxiety who among them will tender their resignation. In most cases, the immediate superiors are always the last person to know.

If Keng Yaik expect to be consulted BEFORE his staff is pinched, that is unrealistic. Job offers are two-way processes, and its always between interviewer and candidate. Either can accept or reject

23. #23 by Jong on Saturday, 26 April 2008 - 9:15 pm

k1980,

We all know they were playing poker games of “bluff” the with the rakyat before the GE-12 that was all.
    Just observe, very soon all their corridors will one by one collapse, except Johor Iskandar the only one might possibly remain standing. They have no money!

24. #24 by NotProudToBeMalaysian on Saturday, 26 April 2008 - 10:17 pm

This proved that DAP is very open minded unlike the BN who are too selfish, boastful and greedy.
    Unlike other countries, when the opposition were to win, the losing party is willing to hand or co-operate with the winning party without any problem.
    If Umno were to lose completely, I’m 100% sure that there were be chaos in the country.
    As for the Johor Iskandar project, I’ve a feeling that it will fail for good ‘cos it’s too ambitious.
    As the chinese saying goes, “If you don’t have a big head, don’t wear a big hat”.

25. #25 by Jong on Saturday, 26 April 2008 - 10:48 pm

Umno den of thieves on tongkat have always been living beyond their means, 22 years of training under the former dictator – no money, no proble just use tax-payers’ lah and who are the tax-payers?

Re “corridors”, I mentioned ‘except Johor Iskandar’, not that I have faith in it but, just bagi muka lah, out of the 5(?) correct me if I’m wrong, if they can’t get one to work, then they are doomed!

26. #26 by alberttye on Saturday, 26 April 2008 - 11:27 pm

The offer to a Gerakan member Lee Kah Chuan to sit on the board of Penang government’s corporations reflects the magnanimity, forward-looking and progressive stance of DAP, in the interest of the nation in general and the people of Penang in particular.

It is therefore extremely disappointed that BN leaders do not consider the interest of the nation above its partisan interest!

This episode and other post-election behaviours of BN should prompt the leaders of Pakatan Rakyat to make a more serious consideration of gaining control of the federal parliament earlier than it heretheto intends.

27. #27 by boobear on Sunday, 27 April 2008 - 1:01 am

It is SAD that “opportunities” are taken to gain “political points” with their own “kakis”. All they know is how to tembak, tembak and tembak.. even with blanks…

That’s why I say, it AMPLIFIES the need to have political earthquake and bring in PRakyat at Federal level !!!!!

CHANGE the TOP… then the rest will fall into place… and the “kakis” will just become a footnote in our history books!!

28. #28 by Killer on Sunday, 27 April 2008 - 1:09 am

Let me offer my contrarian opinion.

I am from the electronic industry and I am very familiar with the situation in Penang.

Most people here obviously have no clue on the situation and just elect to pass opinion on matters they have little, if any knowledge on.

If you talk about selecting the best qualified for the job, I can easily name a dozen Malaysians who would fit the bill. But LKC won’t be nowhere near the list for the simple fact that he has no qualification whatever for the post.

I can only conclude that LGE has politics rather than meritocracy in his mind for selecting LKC. And it is also rather transparent that this has been in planning for some time, seeing the actions of LKC after the 12GE.

If I were LGE I would have de-politicised the position by having apolitical candidate to fill it. However, LGE is bent playing on political upmanship and try to weaken Gerakan/BN by enticing their top leaders to defect.You can expect LKC to join DAP when the heat is off in the near future.

What is going to happen is that LKC will be dead on water by the time he starts to work since he has antagonised both side of the political divide.

The sentiments of the Penang investors is one of caution, or more accurately cautiously negative. There has been too many statements by DAP senior leaders and mid-level leaders during the 12GE and after that upset them .The meeting held between the Penang new govt and the investors apparently didn’t go well, according to some of those who were present. The investors apparently unimpressed by LGE and his team and to make matters worse a few new exco members made some ill advised statements that betrayed their lack of knowledge. And Jeff Ooi in particular appears to be a rather unpopular figure, I wonder why….

29. #29 by Joshua Tan Kok Hauw on Sunday, 27 April 2008 - 2:43 am

The opposition parties can consider filing a motion of confidence in PM AAB. If BN’s parlimentarians do not support the motion of confidence in PM AAB which is filed by the opposition parties then PM AAB should resign as he obtains no confidence from the 140 parliamentarians of BN.

30. #30 by undergrad2 on Sunday, 27 April 2008 - 4:27 am

I’m on all fours with Killer and I’m not even in the electornics industry!

Foreign investors are right in wanting to steer clear of local politics. Bodies like MIDA, Ministry of Trade & Industry, Bank Negara, Customs and Immigration are relevant to their needs.

Guess where prospective foreign investors go to get their project approvals and guess who help them identify local partners and decide on foreign equity participation and matters like tariff protection? Guess where they go to negotiate for a waiver of import duties for machineries they bring in, and which banks they go to to negotiate for their import and export letters of credit, trust receipts and bills discounting facilities and term loans and overdrafts? Guess where they go to get their work permits for their expatriate staff? These are federal bodies.

What is left is the issue of land and infrastructure.

31. #31 by jinboy on Sunday, 27 April 2008 - 5:03 am

It show how bad BN stand on matter’s concerning members choice to work with opposition goverment they should instead support and appreciate the post offered to them.By pressure they lost a good members.Poor BN please change your mindset see the benefit for the whole people of penang and not otherwise..

32. #32 by simplicity on Sunday, 27 April 2008 - 5:30 am

Excerpt from NST Online:

GUAN ENG: WHAT’S THE FUSS?

PETALING JAYA: Penang Chief Minister Lim Guan Eng yesterday said he was surprised by the negative responses to his appointment of Datuk Lee Kah Choon as director of Penang Development Corporation and investPenang.

“Lee was appointed because he fulfilled the requirements outlined in our principles of competence, accountability and transparency.

“The Penang government welcomes all Penangites who share this philosophy regardless of race, background or political beliefs.”

Asked why Lee was selected when he had no experience in a similar capacity, Lim said he had his own reasons.

- NST Online 2008/04/25 -

HERE’S THE FUSS:

IF the article by NST Online is accurate, then here’s the fuss:

The last line of the NST excerpt above reads:

Asked why Lee was selected when he had no experience in a similar capacity, Lim said he had his own reasons. – NST Online

Notice this statement: “…Lim said HE HAD HIS OWN REASONS.” This is my biggest worry.

I don really care about the politics behind it cos end of day, the politicians and govt administration (whoever they are or what chop they carry on their foreheads) are there to do only one thing for me: make me a Malaysian that can improve my quality of life here in Malaysia now so that I can improve the quality of life of Malaysians to come.

As such, the decision on any national-serving post must solely rest on Meritocracy, nothing more, nothing less. Dont care what colour or creed the person who fill it, he or she must not only be competent but must be super-duper excellent in knowledge and delivery of results by exceeding all Malaysian and International accepted standards of achievement in order to fill the said post.

Malaysians all smart people, sure got those who can exceedingly fit the bill one.

LGE’s “I have my PERSONAL REASONS” dont guarantee that LKC can deliver anything at all.

Sounds to me more like a: ‘i help u then u help me’ kinda deal man.

Or maybe it’s a: ‘I show BN what I can do man” thingy.

Or maybe wan to show Sabahans how to: ‘defect’ gracefully and legally, and stil hold your head up high.

Mr Penang CM, i can suggest:

1. Articulately (no ambiguity please, dont be a Pak Lah) state the exact and detail nature of the responsibilities of a Director of the Penang Development Corporation (PDC) and investPenang.

2. Match your choice, LKC’s credentials alongside the Job Responsibility so that all Malaysians know how he measures up.

3. Stop using the lines: “I HAVE MY REASONS” or ‘”I will explain to DAP members and hopefully they will accept my decision..

YOU DONT OWE AN EXPLANATION TO YOURSELF OR TO DAP, YOU OWE THEM TO THE PUBLIC WHO VOTED YOU. PLS DONT BE A MAHATHIR AND GO ‘THIS INFORMATION IS PRIVY’ BECAUSE IF IT IS, THE PUBLIC DONT NEED THE PDC. WE NEED TRANSPARENCY SO GET USED TO PRACTISING IT DILIGENTLY.

Btw, I voted DAP so you better listen!

33. #33 by robert wong on Sunday, 27 April 2008 - 6:20 am

I’ve taken a crushed course on the subject of “paradigm shift”. The last 12th GE clearly demostrated that the rakyat have exercised their rights either consciously or unconsciously on the concept of paradigm shift. BN was once too powerful that they were locked up in their own set of rules which now backed fire within their own “box” . I believe PR has taken a right step towards that shift to propell and steer the country towards a better future for all .

34. #34 by Killer on Sunday, 27 April 2008 - 10:09 am

undergrad2,

Spot on !

Investors want political and macroeconomic stability and they don’t care about politics. The situation in Penang previously was very different. The relationship between Federal and state government was very strong and the policies were consistent. What was promised by the Federal government in terms of legislation, incentive and infrastructure would be delivered without any questions by both Federal and state authorities.

In Penang the situation was unique since Koh Tsu Koon had such a close knit relationship the investors. He was held in much respect by the investor community and in fact he would have been the Federal MITI Minister had he won in the 12GE.

In fact many investors decided to stay in Penang rather than move to another low-cost country purely due to the personal touch of KTK.

However, the DAP govt has shot themselves in foot before the 12GE by raising issues such as Intel and Motorola. In fact the case of Motorola raised by that idiotic Jeff Ooi made international news and harmed the global image of Motorola. I was in the US at that time and the publicity did the company a lot of damage especially when it is performing poorly at the corporate level.

Many other “populist” statements by the DAP leaders since the 12 GE also had frightened the investors. There are a lot of worries about the future of the 2nd Bridge and the Monorail projects and all these contributed to much negativity in the Penang investor community.

To make matters worse, the meeting between the new state govt and the investors didn’t go well. Some foolish exco members made ill-advised comments that offended the investors. Though the investors were polite upfront to the new govt but they were seething inside.

Expect some major annoucements of closure / downsizing in Penang by some major MNCs in coming months, likely in Q3/Q4. As for Samsung deal that KTK almost secured, well, kiss it goodbye…

35. #35 by mohammadharrisjalil on Sunday, 27 April 2008 - 10:53 am

mybangsamalaysia Says:

April 25th, 2008 (2 days ago) at 17: 54.16
    gofortruth Says:

Today at 17: 09.03 (41 minutes ago)
    Sorry to digress-
    Why bother waking up at 3am to study?
    http://www.malaysiakini.com/letters/81940
    ———
    It happened to me back in 1974 and after 34 years they are still at it. How sickening! Who is the Education Minister now, he ought to be fired immediately!

Dear gofortruth

It happened to me too… it is pay back time. Now we know why BN lost. Inequality.

……………………………………………………………..

Dear godortruth and mybangsamalaysia.

to be honest with you… i also feel sick about this… i am malay and i am very sad to see all my chinese classmate that sat beside me, go to canteen together, study together, play football together, march in band together… and suddently he is the one who unable to get to university although i admit that his result is better than mine. When i got my uni result, he went to my house….and told me his bad news… i dont know where should i put my face when i got the offer.. i dont know what should i said to him when he ask me my uni application result… i dont feel happy or proud at all when i get the offer from the uni when i see my friend that are better than me being discriminated politically….
    but thank god he understand.. that i am not the reason of him not going to uni…. UMNO and the kroni are the one that made this stupid law!!! and try their best in giving as much ‘prasangka’ to hate the non malays… what the hell are they UMNO thinking????

i just want to let you know that we are also not happy with this kind of treatment…we also dont want to see non bumi being discriminated etc…. because of this, we are separated, i really pissed of with BN racist goverment that keep playing this kind of game…

we are the generasi muda are not stupid! now its time to change!

36. #36 by blablowbla on Sunday, 27 April 2008 - 11:48 am

the BN agenda is crystal clear,and worst still,supported by the ‘blind’ component parties like MCA,GERAKAN,MIC,BERSATU,PPP and so on,so lets see wat’s their AGENDA:
    inorder to promote fairness in certain sectors,like Economy and Education,a quota has to be set to achieve ‘equality’!

i was thinking,my as well quote everything in ‘quota’,so wat’s the point of having free- competitions in business and examinations in education?didnt BN know tat tis is damn contradicting?tat means inorder to achieve your so called ‘quota’,we must have equal number of professioanals like lawyers,accountants,doctors,engineers,scientists and etc for Malays,when these protected- unqualify species go into their profession,could they perform professionally?who the hell dares to engage these ‘ppl’ to be their lawyer,or the worst thing,doctor whom will conduct surgical into their body?DIDNT YOU KNOW TAT WHEN COME TO THE ISSUE OF PROFESSIONALISM,THERE CANT BE ANY COMPROMISE?
    throw your agenda to the garbage-bin,nobody wants it anymore!go for MERITOCRACY!then only Malaysia can prosper!

37. #37 by blablowbla on Sunday, 27 April 2008 - 11:58 am

we dun hv to spent million of rm to go overseas for ‘lawatan sambil belajar’ kind of non-sense trips,the Rakyat knows alredy,these are merely excuses to spend tax-payers’ money to go for ‘makan angin ‘percuma!
    You local councils must be humble,just learn something from small tiny red-dot,then we will definitely see some improvements!

38. #38 by kerishamuddinitis on Sunday, 27 April 2008 - 12:20 pm

Dear Mohammadharrisjalil,

Thank you for your frank opinion.

I am in the ‘uncle’ age category, not ‘anak muda.’ And I am Chinese. But I was once ‘anak muda’ like you, and like your friend, I couldn’t get back to continue my studies in A Levels even though I qualified on merit. My place was taken by a Malay. Now, my children are ‘anak muda’ and they are studying overseas.

In truth, what has happened to Malays, Indians and Chinese has hurt all three races BUT strengthened us as well:

- the non-Malays were deprived of places in pursuit of education even as far back as 30 years ago; what it has made us is simply TOUGHER! Those who can study went to alternative institutions (today, you call this off-campus, twinning etc). Those who couldn’t/can’t study went to work. And most gravitated to the commercial centres (today, key market centres have huge concentrations of non-Malays)

- the flip-flopping of policy on Malay language hurt Malays more than it did non-Malays. Chinese have good command of either English (my era) or Mandarin (increasingly today). Indians have good command of English since they don’t have Tamil as an alternative mainstream language. Malays? Unlike Chinese and Indians who expose themselves to a minimum of 3 languages and/or dialects, Malays are NOT forced to expose themselves beyond Malay. We lost 13 years of good solid base in English when the kids were forced to switch to Malay in schools. The Chinese medium schools continued to teach in Mandarin. English is lingua franca for 60% of the world, Mandarin for at least 30%. Malay? Some will argue Malay-speakers are more populous than Japanese (250mil to 150mil) and therefore a ‘world’ language. That’s speaking with the heart, not the brains. Indonesians are Malays who laugh at how Malaysian Malays speak ‘Malay.’ You don’t see Japanese in the north laughing at how Japanese in the south speak the language, do you? Malay is a fragmented language even in Malaysia. How can a fragmented language become a ‘world’ language? It will take time, a long time. But not now, not even in your time.

So, ‘generasi muda’, spend some time to analyse what the heck went wrong. You are not stupid for sure. And it’s time to change! For the better, for Malays and all races. Competition is good otherwise you get the Dr whathisname on the NTV7 panel reviewing the GE12 results. He was such an embarassment. he didn’t have a point-of-view. He couldn’t express himself well. He had lousy command of English, and basically he was just POSTURING! In the real world, posturing won’t last.

39. #39 by anak sungeisiput on Sunday, 27 April 2008 - 1:03 pm

IF DAP Penang wants the Rakyat to trust its principle of CAT, should not ALL vacant positions be advertised and the BEST candidates be selected from the respondents. Dont fall into the same trap of BN’s croneyism that violated all principles of openess in filling public statutory poistions. There could have been a better way of filling in this tax payers funded public position.

40. #40 by Killer on Sunday, 27 April 2008 - 2:01 pm

anak sungaisiput

I am with you. The post should be depolitised and open for all Malaysians and best man/woman irrespective of race or political affiliation.

LGE has made the situation worse not only continuing the tradition of appointing the person but also using it for political machinations. Either way LKC is dead on the water…

As for LGE, Penangites’ eyes will be on him and LKC on to see how much investment they bring in or, looking at the current situation, how much they can keep from leaving Penang.

Perhaps LGE being a non-Penangite and non-businessman does not understand the importance of the electronics industry to Penang. His political career could be over before it started if he fails to address the issue of foreign investors….

It would be interesting for him to know that he is already been compared unfavourably with KTK by the Penang investors community….

41. #41 by shortie kiasu on Sunday, 27 April 2008 - 2:24 pm

Fifty years of bondage under the ketuanan UMNO in the coalition of convenience, the component parties will find it hard to grow up and mature, judging from the talks and statements given by these so called leaders, especially after the debacle of the recent general election, they remained defiant to what they held as truth for the last 50 years.

If they do not grow up and out, then their political obituary is just a matter of time, and soon.

42. #42 by mmc2008 on Sunday, 27 April 2008 - 3:11 pm

From what our PM said, it should not be a right move for Kah Choon to accept the positions. Why? Because the state government is not a BN government? Even, it is a Bn government, has the RAKYAT interest in the first place of his list? Nope, UMNO’s interest is in the first place of the list. This is the government of the RAKYAT not the Umno’s. If the person is capable and has the purpose to serve the people, why not?? Kah Choon, please accept the position in good faith and ensure perform beautifully and woe more investors to Penang and proof the PM is wrong 100%. Take up the challenge and proof that they (BN) are all wrong!

43. #43 by undergrad2 on Sunday, 27 April 2008 - 7:26 pm

“In fact the case of Motorola raised by that idiotic Jeff Ooi made international news and harmed the global image of Motorola. I was in the US at that time and the publicity did the company a lot of damage especially when it is performing poorly at the corporate level.” Killer

Killer,

This guy has a lot to learn. His background has been in journalism and that is never good with potential investors when he is also an opposition politician at the national level. He should know better. Investors basically do not like change because it creates instability. It makes for difficult planning – certainly in the medium and long term.

Deteriorating federal and state relationship is a cause for concern for these foreign investors who do not understand local politics and do not wish to be embroiled in it – especially so in the case of Malaysia which has had the same party ruling it for some five decades. True they have no choice and has to accept reality but the DAP has to tread very carefully. Deteriorating federal and state relationship certainly is not something that could be marketed to potential foreign investors.

BN will try and punish Penang Chinese for voting for the opposition but just how they are going to do it remains to be seen. A loss to Penang and is also a loss to the country.

The Penang government has to organize a trade investment mission to countries like Japan, Taiwan, Korea and Europe and the United States. Among their objectives would be to explain to them that they should have no cause for concern as investment policies and guidelines remain the same, and that the new state government will work hand in glove with the federal government to ensure that their requirements will be looked after. Expect some tough questioning. Included among those participating in the mission should not just be those from bodies like PDC but also MIDA officials, officials from the Ministry of Trade etc.

I would suggest Jeff Ooi be dropped from the mission.

44. #44 by mohammadharrisjalil on Sunday, 27 April 2008 - 7:58 pm

dear kerishamuddinitis

thanks very much for your opinion as well…. i totally agree on all your opinion.

Harris

45. #45 by Killer on Sunday, 27 April 2008 - 10:31 pm

I can say that the chance of Penang mission succeeding in any overseas mission is close to a big fat zero. So LGE might as well save the money and time to retain investors from leaving.

The world’s competitive landscape has changed very much in the last few years and sadly, the political developments in Malaysia, especially in Penang has damaged the attractiveness as a location for FDIs.

There are a few companies in the pipeline for investments in Penang from the KTK regime and especially promising were his efforts to woo companies from the photonics and bio-tech sectors. I see that the Penang Science Park in Bukit Minyak is almost ready. But sadly, all these likely to go waste…

Another danger is the lurking Singapore. Even during KTK’s time these Kiasu folks literally “stole” the investors under our nose by “bribing” them. Singapore is well aware of the situation and will maximize the uncertainties by scaring and then luring the potential investors aware.

And btw talking about Motorola, expect some announcements from them as a response to the Jeff Ooi Fiasco. The price that Penang going to pay for this a moment of idiocy of self-proclaimed most influential blogger in Malaysia will be very heavy.

46. #46 by Jeffrey on Sunday, 27 April 2008 - 11:46 pm

Opposition has just formed the state govt in less than a month, LGE & Opposition in Penang are new kids in the block, there’s always a learning curve on how to run the state government in a way attractive to and not inimical to foreign investments. It is just too early to make the call that they will not be doing things right Penang mission will fail etc just because of some ill advised highlighting by Jeff Ooi of issues relating to Motorola and Intel before the election or appointment of LKC as director of Penang Development Corporation and investPenang.

Whilst I have no doubt that Koh Tsu Koon had a close knit relationship with investors and held in respect by the investor community, are Penangnites and Malaysians as a whole prefer the BN to continue ruling Penang state government for this reason? If we believe that principles wise transparency, accountability and meritocracy are the right compass and the way to go in the long haul which will serve in longer term the cause of attracting FDIs, then we should give the Opposition a chance – at least some time to show what it could do.

Anyway, is there any objective data (other than the anecdotal) thus far that shows initial reaction of FDIs being uncomfortable with Opposition running Penang or for that matter Perak & Selangor based on concerns like that of deteriorating federal and state relationship??? Take the case of Singapore, which has been said to be maximizing on uncertainties by scaring and then luring the potential investors away – what I have heard (from S’pore bankers) is that some Singapore companies are beginning to invest in Penang precisely because of the change of State government to Opposition.

47. #47 by limkamput on Monday, 28 April 2008 - 12:41 am

If there are concerns by foreign investors coming to Malaysia, I think it is the general concern vis-à-vis the whole country, and not just the PK states. Malaysia’s declining competitiveness, competition from other countries as well as present uncertainties hovering over the global economy all play a part. The PK states may not be perfect and probably still have lots to learn. By all means be critical, but we should also be acutely aware of the obstacles faced by these states, particularly Penang. I believe if the leaders are smart, honest and willing to work untiringly for the people, the PK states can outshine the rest. The most important thing is the PK states must cooperate and confront the Federal Government jointly on issues relating to Federal-state relations.

48. #48 by ablastine on Monday, 28 April 2008 - 12:56 am

Having read some of the comments above I must say that some commentators here have very exacting standards and high expectations of the opposition now running Penang. So Jeff Ooi has become an idiot shooting his mouth off about motorola and LGE is just playing petty politics by selecting LKC for the post, overlooking many others who are more suitable with more impressive credentials. It is so easy to criticize and condemn isn’t it. Oh come off it. Give these guys a chance and some time. One cannot realistically expect Penang to be like Singapore in 5 short years. If they made mistakes point it out to them. It is not necessary to call somebody an idiot just because what he did wasn’t to your expectation. If you think that there are others who are more qualify than LKC why don’t you just name them here. I am sure LGE will be more than happy to have more good men working for him and the country. Also if you think that you can do better than Jeffrey and LGE why don’t you just volunteer to take over or at least help them out. I do not know whether what has been said about their performance here is accurate or deserving as I do not belong to the inner circle but one thing I know well and that is these guys are there working their butts off to realise a dream which we all share.
    I think it is high time we help them with more constructive comments than wanton condemnation.

49. #49 by undergrad2 on Monday, 28 April 2008 - 1:13 am

“And btw talking about Motorola, expect some announcements from them as a response to the Jeff Ooi Fiasco. The price that Penang going to pay for this a moment of idiocy of self-proclaimed most influential blogger in Malaysia will be very heavy.” Killer

Again I’ll have to agree with you!

50. #50 by undergrad2 on Monday, 28 April 2008 - 1:19 am

Confront the Federal Government jointly on issues relating to Federal-state relations??

This is the kind of populist garbage we can expect to hear from someone standing on the soap box in some park somewhere. “Confronting” the federal government when the federal government has control over your purse strings??

The key word has to be “cooperation” and not “confrontation”.

Comments are closed.