The Lee Kah Choon saga is an opportunity lost for Malaysian leaders to emulate the Malaysian voters in the March 8 “political tsunami” to rise above race, religion and political differences to work single-mindedly for the good of the people, state and country.
In the last Parliament, in keeping with the perverse notion of “Support Barisan Nasional, right or wrong”, a new rule was formulated for all Barisan Nasional MPs that they cannot support Opposition motions whether right or wrong and cannot vote according to their conscience but must toe the party line.
As a result, the then Chairman of the Barisan Nasional BackBenchers Club, Datuk Shahrir Abdul Samad (now Domestic Trade and Consumer Affairs Minister) was forced in May 2006 to resign from his post to avoid disciplinary action against him for speaking up in favour of my privilege motion in Parliament to refer the then MP for Jasin, Mohd Said Yusuf to the Committee of Privileges over the impropriety of an MP asking the Customs and Excise Department to “close one eye” in a case involving the import of sawn timber in Malacca.
It was in disgust at such obtuse and petty-minded mentality where individual and party interests were placed above parliamentary, public and national interests that the Malaysian voters rose as one to teach the Barisan Nasional a salutary lesson in the March 8 “political tsunami”, depriving the BN of its hitherto unbroken two-thirds majority in Parliament and power in five states.
In the March 8, 2008 general election, Malaysian voters crossed ethnic, religious and even party lines to vote for change and the Lee Kah Choon saga would have been one opportunity for Barisan Nasional leaders to demonstrate that they have heard the voices of the people and are prepared to emulate the voters’ example to put aside personal and party differences for the betterment of the people, state and nation.
Initially the Prime Minister, Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi sent out the right signals in his first public reaction on Tuesday on Lee’s appointment and acceptance of the posts of Penang Development Corporation (PDC) director and InvestPenang executive committee chairman – that for him, “it’s okay as long as there is no clash in policy”.
However, in a matter of a few hours on the same day, Abdullah was prevailed upon to ignore the voices of the people in the March 8 “political tsunami” and to come out with a hardline stand declaring that Lee’s decision was “against the spirit of BN” and requiring action from the Acting Gerakan President, Tan Sri Dr. Koh Tsu Koon.
The latest pronouncement on the matter came from Deputy Prime Minister and Deputy Barisan Nasional Chairman Datuk Seri Najib Razak yesterday that Lee’s acceptance of the two Penang state government positions was against the “clearly stated policy of BN” – making it the most unknown “clearly stated” BN policy as the Prime Minister, Deputy Prime Minister and BN leaders had not known about it for 48 hours!
One important reason why Malaysia had lagged behind other countries in economic development and international competitiveness in the past four decades is because of the country’s failure to give top priority to meritocracy and excellence in nation-building.
The Lee Kah Choon saga shows that the Barisan Nasional government and leaders have yet to hear the voices of the March 8 “political tsunami” who want Malaysian leaders to emulate the voters in transcending ethnic, religious and political differences to work for the betterment of the people, state and nation by creating a new culture of talent and merit unsullied by partisan considerations.

#1 by cheng on soo on Tuesday, 29 April 2008 - 5:13 pm
Thanks, Mr. Killer, had checked, http://www.wikipedia.com, under “Western Samoa.”, but cannot find what U claim, wil check under IFC. later.
Anyway, would appreciate, if U can explain why we need RM2.28 to buy SG$1, when in 1984, it was only RM1.09, & in 1975, only RM0.99
#2 by Killer on Tuesday, 29 April 2008 - 7:26 pm
cheng on soo
Try under IFC or check out sites like IMF or other financial portals.
As for the exchange rate, well, it is a long and complicated story. It is determined by a host of factors like interest rate and inflation differentials, current-account deficit, terms of trade, economic performance, supply/demand of the currency,etc.
Obvious these factors are reflected in the exchange rate. But we also need to understand that BNM historically kept ringgit weaker against SGD for reasons of competitiveness. As such, the ringgit is likely to be undervalued against SGD.
It started of with a parity in 1973 but this was quickly discarded. Initially it appreciated until 1985 due to favourable economic condition but the mid 80s recession wiped out the gains.
But we need to understand that SG is a First World country while we are firmly rooted in the 3rd world.
#3 by cheng on soo on Tuesday, 29 April 2008 - 10:08 pm
Thanks, Mr Killer, so at least U said SG is 1st World, we still 3rd world.
Then U said “they just wanted to be the center for the ill-gotten gains of the Asian Gallery of Rogues and Dictators. ”
If they are not good, not more efficient, better management etc, then, why these Rogues and Dictators want to park their money there, why not here (at least part of their US$ 1 trillion as stated by U?) Their cost is much higher than here. Surely it is not so simple as “they just wanted”
Isn’t it cheaper here, as Ringgit is only about 44 cents, there.
#4 by cheng on soo on Tuesday, 29 April 2008 - 10:16 pm
FYI, Mr Killer, I was working in Brunei, from 1977 to 1984, during this period, Brunei $/ Sing$, never worth less than RM, so, yr statement Ringgit appreciate (Vs Sing$) up to 1985, is not true!
#5 by Godfather on Tuesday, 29 April 2008 - 10:19 pm
Perhaps you could explain why these corridors aren’t such good ideas in the first place – Killer
Anything that is mooted by Badawi Al-Korridor will have the kiss of death. Has anything mooted by Badawi EVER taken off ? Badawi does not understand that “taking off” means a project having started. His only knowledge of the words “taking off” refers to removal off the list – the UMNO list.
#6 by undergrad2 on Tuesday, 29 April 2008 - 11:40 pm
Godfather/Killer,
There’s another meaning to “taking off” and that is when an UMNO turncoat and outcast decides to masquerade as a deeply loyal supporter of DAP i.e. the kind who would throw himself under a bus to save the Party (or so he claims) – even changing his ethnicity in the process. This individual is deeply conflicted and has some very serious issues with himself as not to know who he really is all these years – apart from being pathetic. We all know him as that retiree from Kg. Attap, the small time pimp. To others he is known as the “village idiot” because of the empty space between his ears.
If you don’t already know who we are talking about, Killer, you’ll soon know if you hang around for another week! Even now you can spot him since he suffers from ADS and paranoid schizophrenia among others. You may want to ask Godfather what ADS mean. It has nothing to do with the car’s braking system.
#7 by limkamput on Wednesday, 30 April 2008 - 12:16 am
Car braking system is known as ABS and ADS. What else do I have to say, zilch.
#8 by limkamput on Wednesday, 30 April 2008 - 12:17 am
sorry, Car braking system is known as ABS and NOT ADS. What else do I have to say, zilch.
#9 by undergrad2 on Wednesday, 30 April 2008 - 12:36 am
Here it is! The first clue.
#10 by undergrad2 on Wednesday, 30 April 2008 - 1:23 am
I said ADS has nothing to with the car’s braking system.
Confucious once said: “Stupidity is forever, ignorance can be fixed”. This is clearly not a case of ignorance.
Wait for the second clue.
#11 by Godfather on Wednesday, 30 April 2008 - 7:18 am
ADS is a behavioral issue.
#12 by lchk on Wednesday, 30 April 2008 - 8:11 am
Killer,
You posted two pieces of bull crap.
1) You stated that Maybank is the only foreign bank with any significant presence in Singapore. Standard Chartered is the bank with the biggest branch network in Singapore with 20 branches and employs more than 2,000 people.
http://www.standardchartered.com.sg/home/aboutus.html
Citibank is the foreign bank with the largest ATM network amongst foreign banks in Singapore – more than 120 ATMs nationwide including at most SMRT stations.
http://www.citibank.com.sg/
2) You stated that almost USD 1 trillion worth of cash has been transferred out of Indonesia into Singapore. Provide the evidence then – otherwise you are making yourself to be more of a dimwit than you already are!
#13 by lchk on Wednesday, 30 April 2008 - 8:15 am
Killer posted:
“lchk
Perhaps you could explain why these corridors aren’t such good ideas in the first place ?”
You do not reply my question with a question of yours.
Please state your reasons why you believe that the so-called economic corridors are excellent ideas. Otherwise, I take it that you are expelling hot air.
#14 by limkamput on Wednesday, 30 April 2008 - 9:42 am
I said, car braking system is known as ABS and not ADS. What else do I have to say, zilch. You said ADS has nothing to with the car’s braking system.
Now we know why people disdain lawyers. It is like you got caught naked in bed with another woman by your wife, and you would still turn around and say, “honey, this is not what you think. We are just having a conversation here.” It reflects one’s integrity again, Sigh….
#15 by limkamput on Wednesday, 30 April 2008 - 9:49 am
ADS is a behavioral issue.
Yes, it is true. It applies to those who frequently use it.
#16 by Godfather on Wednesday, 30 April 2008 - 9:53 am
You mean a person can “use” ADS as though it is a braking system?
#17 by Godfather on Wednesday, 30 April 2008 - 10:15 am
I’ll tell you guys why the corridors are NOT a good idea.
It was mooted for vote-getting, nothing more. They were all hurriedly announced immediately prior to the elections. Everybody knows that there isn’t enough money for all of them to take off – but of course Badawi Al-Korridor decided that he should please everybody.
If BN were to have retained control of all the states, there will be “token” investments by GLCs – Sime will put a billion or two in the Northern states, Petronas will put a billion or two in Trengganu (never to benefit Kelantan). After March 8, they awoke to find that a number of key states have fallen to Pakatan, so now there is no squeak from the federal government or from the relevant GLCs on most of the corridors. In fact, now that the BN state government in Trengganu is asking for oil royalties to be controlled by the state, you can bet your bottom ringgit that Petronas will not be in any hurry to “invest” in the Eastern Corridor.
Another reason for announcing the corridors was so that the relevant state cronies could have a hand in the construction pie. Koh Tsu Koon was supposed to turn the other way when the Penang projects were “allocated” to UMNO Penang or to Badawi cronies like Patrick Lim. Idris Jusoh was supposed to announce a few more construction projects in Trengganu on top of the Monsoon Cup.
Killer also took LGE to task for not holding out an olive branch to Badawi. What was LGE supposed to do ? Tell Badawi that when he was sleeping, Penang UMNO took most of the construction contracts in the state ? Tell Badawi that land was allocated by Penang UMNO that even Koh Tsu Koon didn’t know about ? Tell Badawi that publicly listed companies made announcements on contracts that were not even approved yet by the state government ?
The impasse between the various state governments and the federal government is essentially caused by the fact that the stealing under BN rule had reached epidemic proportions, and the Opposition is still trying to unravel these crimes. Badawi isn’t going to make it easy for the Opposition, and the Opposition isn’t able to compromise. Imagine what we would do to LGE if he strikes a deal with Badawi to “forgive” Penang UMNO’s transgressions in exchange for federal projects.
No, the state governments must come clean and they must expose the thieves for what they are – petty thieves. If federal projects don’t proceed, the BN cronies have more to lose – they were all “designed” for BN anyway. The Emperor has no clothes.
#18 by limkamput on Wednesday, 30 April 2008 - 11:59 am
If I am not mistaken, the government is supposed to provide only basic infrastructure and regulatory and legal framework for the corridors. The actual investment should come from the private sector, i.e. private sector driven. Other than that, clap clap clap again.
Yes, the moment the oppositions compromise, they will end up like BN. The tenacity of PK parties is still unfolding though. Not sure how long they will last and how long the people are williing to wait to see substantive results.
#19 by Godfather on Wednesday, 30 April 2008 - 3:43 pm
Yes, that was always the original intention – let the private sector lead the development of the corridors, but they must be crazy to think that there are billions of private sector money waiting to go into Kedah, Perlis or Trengganu or Pahang. What they wanted to do was that the “private sector” in the form of Sime Darby and Petronas will spend some money (a billion or two for national service) to provide the impetus for additional investment capital.
With most of these states under Opposition rule, even this “billion or two” have gone missing. I think the country has to get worse before we all realise that the only option is to remove the inept federal government.
#20 by Killer on Friday, 2 May 2008 - 5:42 pm
Sorry guys, been out of the country…
Ok, let’s take it up from here.
Let’s talk about the Corridors. Folks put your politically tainted lenses away for a moment and talk economics for once.
As I had said, Malaysia is no longer in a low-cost location but neither we are in the leagues of economic giants like Singapore, Korea, Japan,etc.
So what we do ? We can either upgrade our skills and knowledge to compete with 1st World nations or find some ways that would give us comparative advantage over these nations.
The 2nd important purpose of these corridors are to have a balanced regional developments instead of the money being poured to create white elephants as it was during Dr M’s time when the focus was Klang Valley alone.
As such the Iskandar DR was a brilliant idea as it is situated right next to Singapore on a large tract of land. One, it offers a large, cheap region next to high cost, congested Singapore. It also offers cheaper labour and operational cost.
The foreign investors love the central location of Singapore, political stability, business friendly policies and its financial, regulatory and physical infrastructure. But the high cost of operations and the scarcity land are some of the issues they are facing.
By offering a location close by, these investors will tempted to move away their business operations and even residence while still maintaining their core operations in Singapore. Unlike in Shenzhen in China, Malaysia also offers a large pool of skilled and professional work force to staff these operations too. So these investors can enjoy the best of both worlds. I can easily think of a dozen industries / operations that can be relocated to IDR.
The appointment of Khazanah, SD and Petronas and other GLCs are meant to address the perennial Malaysian problem of poor execution and the political interference. With their managerial skills and experience, they offer something that our govt officials lack for a project of such magnitude.
Also the appointment of these bodies will ensure the development of integrated corridors rather than the disjointed efforts that are the characteristics of the past efforts.
The other corridors are less ambitious but nevertheless I found them to be well thought out as well.
#21 by Killer on Sunday, 4 May 2008 - 1:36 am
lchk
This really makes me wonder if you are an apologist for the Singapore government…seeing you being do defensive..
Anyway here you go…
Indonesia seeks lost trillions in Singapore
By Bill Guerin
JAKARTA – Indonesia and Singapore last Friday sealed a bilateral extradition pact, opening the way for Jakarta to apprehend and try the many wayward business people and bankers who allegedly stole untold billions of dollars’ worth of assets from the country and parked them in Singapore in the wake of the 1997-98 Asian financial crisis.
Successive Indonesian administrations have been stymied in their pursuit of footloose white-collar criminals, many of whom Jakarta
contends have fled and taken refuge in neighboring Singapore. Singapore has long denied the charges and refused to sign the extradition treaty unless Indonesia agreed to a concomitant defense treaty, which will expand on the previous Military Training Area bilateral arrangement that began in 1995 and ran through 2003.
read more at :
http://www.atimes.com/atimes/Southeast_Asia/IE02Ae04.html
#22 by Killer on Sunday, 4 May 2008 - 1:39 am
lchk…
Read and weep….
Sand in Singapore’s Gears
Tag it:Our Correspondent
05 March 2007
Indonesia, seeking legal recourse to nab fleeing financiers, uses the world’s cheapest commodity as a weapon
It started with a barge-load of Indonesian sand, or a whole fleet of them, delayed for the last two months on their way to Singapore to be used in reclamation projects.
At first Indonesian officials insisted the sand without a country was held up for environmental reasons. Now, it appears the sand is actually political leverage in an extradition tiff with Singapore over a brace of crooked bankers hiding out in the city state.
What’s really at stake is not sand, which should be the world’s cheapest commodity, but an extradition treaty that Singapore government authorities have been refusing to sign for 34 years. Indonesia wants a bunch of elusive bankers who took part in an astounding heist of more than US$13.5 billion looted from the Indonesian central bank’s recapitalization lifeline to 48 ailing banks during the 1997-1998 Asian financial crisis.
more at :
http://www.asiasentinel.com/index.php?Itemid=31&id=406&option=com_content&task=view
#23 by Killer on Sunday, 4 May 2008 - 1:41 am
lchk..
Read how “clean” and “efficient” is the Singaporean banking system
Monday November 5, 5:18 PM
U.S. tells Singapore to cut bank ties with Myanmar
BANGKOK, Nov 5 (Reuters) – The United States told Singapore and its banks on Monday to sever financial links with Myanmar’s junta, widely believed to use the city-state as its main off-shore banking centre.
“We believe that there are regime officials with accounts in Singapore,” senior State Department official Kristen Silverberg told reporters in Thailand during a regional tour to drum up support for a tougher Asian stance against the former Burma. “We hope that they ensure that their financial institutions are not being used as sanctuary for Burmese officials,” said Silverberg, who is responsible for U.S. liaison with groups such as the Association of South East Asian nations (ASEAN).
#24 by Killer on Sunday, 4 May 2008 - 1:48 am
Perhaps more importantly, Singapore is the banking center of choice for Burma’s generals and their business cronies. Most have Singapore bank accounts, as does the powerful 43-year-old tycoon Tay Za, who is close to junta leader Than and his family. Tay’s Htoo Trading Company was one of two main contractors that built Burma’s new administrative capital, Naypyidaw. The other was the Asia World Group, headed by Tun Myint Naing, or Steven Law, son of Lo Hsing-han, who, in the 1970s, was branded by US authorities as the King of Opium in Burma’s sector of the Golden Triangle. Both Tay and Law are frequent visitors to Singapore, and Than himself goes there for medical treatment.
#25 by Killer on Sunday, 4 May 2008 - 1:59 am
more….
Singapore bank secrecy threatens EU trade talks-MEP
Tue Oct 2, 2007 6:43am EDT
SINGAPORE, Oct 2 (Reuters) – Singapore’s refusal to soften its strict bank secrecy laws could scupper talks with Europe about a trade agreement, a European politician said on Tuesday
The European Union and the 10-member Association of South East Asian Nations (ASEAN) are negotiating partnership and cooperation agreements, which are a prerequisite for a fully fledged free trade deal
#26 by Killer on Sunday, 4 May 2008 - 2:00 am
Continued…from above..
“We say that we don’t think there’s money laundering going on here, but clearly people engaged in money laundering are looking for places like Singapore with low levels of transparency to actually engage in money laundering,” Ford said.
“If I was looking for somewhere to do my money laundering, Singapore would be getting towards the top of my list these days,” he added.
#27 by cheng on soo on Sunday, 4 May 2008 - 10:34 pm
So this IDR is a good idea according to Mr. Killer here. IDR was launched on Oct/Nov 2006,
Let see how well it developed, say by Oct.2009 (3 years after its launched) ?? No need to argue, wait n see. Time will proof it.