Renewal of Makkal Osai welcomed – now for immediate release of Hindraf 5

The government’s about-turn to renew the publishing permit of Tamil daily Makkal Osai which it banned last week is welcome as it would have otherwise destroyed the credibility of all reform pledges of Prime Minister, Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi on the judiciary and the anti-corruption agency.

The Home Minister, Datuk Seri Hamid Albar should learn the lesson of the Makkal Osai faux pax and not repeat the same mistake of complying obediently and blindly the dictates of the “Little Napoleons” in the bureaucracy and to bring to bear his higher duties and responsibilities as the Minister ultimately responsible for all decisions made by his ministry.

Now, it is for Hamid to order the immediate and unconditional release of the Hindraf 5 from Internal Security Act (ISA) detention in Kamunting.

Hamid cannot again pass the responsibility of the continued detention of the Hindraf 5 to the civil servants as he must bear full and final responsibility for the government’s refusal to heed the voices of the people in the March 8 “political tsunami” that the Malaysian Indians have legitimate grievances about their long-standing marginalization of their citizenship rights in the country, and the Hindraf 5 should be rewarded instead of being incarcerated for bringing the plight of the Malaysian Indians finally to the attention of the government and nation.

Yesterday, Suhakam Commissioner Datuk N. Siva Subramaniam denied allegations that Hindraf leader P. Uthayakumar had been denied proper medical care while in detention. What is most surprising is that Siva had only met representatives from various government quarters including Taiping Hospital, the police and the Kamunting detention centre but not Uthayakumar himself and it is most inadvisable on his part to venture such a bold judgment based solely on one-sided accounts.

Siva should have met Uthayakumar first before passing any judgment. Did he ask to meet Uthayakumar or was he denied access to the ISA detainee? If the latter, he should have told the authorities that he would not be able to offer any public judgment of the treatment of ISA detainees unless Suhakam is allowed free and unfettered access to them!

In Parliament, it had been customary in the past for Ministers, Deputy Ministers and Parliamentary Secretaries to blame civil servants for wrong or misleading answers – something completely unheard-of in first-world Parliaments and countries.

All the Ministers in the second Abdullah Cabinet must adopt a new mindset and culture of responsibility and should understand and accept that the buck of responsibility ends with them and that they cannot claim that they were only acting on the advice of the “Little Napoleons” in their ministries and departments.

Ministers and Deputy Ministers must master the subjects under their portfolio which they have to address in Parliament, whether during question time or debates, and they must bear full responsibility for every word uttered in Parliament. Civil servants cannot provide safety nets for Ministers and Deputy Ministers who made a fool of themselves in Parliament when giving wrong, misleading or even stupid answers.

In the new Parliament starting next week, Ministers and Deputy Ministers should accept that they have no safety nets when giving replies prepared by their civil servants as they do not have the luxury of blaming their civil servants for any mistake or misinformation for what they say in Parliament.

Ministers and Deputy Ministers are not “postmen” or “postwomen” of their civil servants when speaking in Parliament.

“Passing the buck” to blame civil servants for wrong or misleading answers given in Parliament should be a thing of the past as it is no more acceptable as higher standards are expected of the new Cabinet in the 12th Parliament.

Print Friendly

1. #1 by ADAM YONG IBNI ABDULLAH on Friday, 25 April 2008 - 9:40 am

moderator.

truth hurts.

2. #2 by ADAM YONG IBNI ABDULLAH on Friday, 25 April 2008 - 9:46 am

lakilompat.

pl replies will be subjudice.

3. #3 by ilovedap on Friday, 25 April 2008 - 9:50 am

undergrad2 Says:

Yesterday at 21: 35.34
    “ISA is still necessary but must have proper restrictions and judicial review after perhaps 30 days maximum detention.” HJ Angus

Agreed. You don’t want to act in haste especially now that there is a possibility PR may take over the federal government! Imagine using the ISA on BN politicians and give them a taste of their own medicine! That would be fun to watch!”

You believed that this draconian law is unjust and yet you want to use them for revenge. That is equally wrong! Abolish ISA and not use it as a weapon against anyone anymore. Let’s be rational.

4. #4 by undergrad2 on Friday, 25 April 2008 - 9:54 am

Guys, it is all about the presumption of innocence. You are innocent until proven guilty. The burden is on your accuser to prove beyond reasonable doubt that you are guilty of the crime you are charged with.

But until you know the allegation or allegations made against you i.e. the offence of which you stand accused, how are you going to defend yourself?? What the ISA does inter alia is it reverses the burden of proof. You are guilty until proven innocent. The onus is instead on the accused and not his accuser.

All ISA detainees must be charged in court or released. Charge them or release them.

As for the lawyers they don’t decide if their clients are not guilty. The court does. The lawyers only defend their clients based on all the evidence. But how are the lawyers going to defend these people who are detained under the ISA? The detainees have no access to legal counsel. Jeffery QC can help me out on this one as I’m not sure if they have the right to counsel. More important they don’t even know what they are accused of?

What of indigent clients? Would they be given a lawyer if they cannot afford one?

For the time being the focus understandably is on the HINDRAF detainees who are the subject of international attention. But there is no reason why the rest of the detainees should not be charged or released if not charged! When they are charged in court and if the offences are bailable offences, bail should be set and they should be released on bail.

5. #5 by PSM on Friday, 25 April 2008 - 10:06 am

Bro Kit,

I am rather disappointed with the PR!
    Yes, the HINDRAF 5 should be immediately released (or charged in Court). However, if I am not mistaken, there are a whole bunch of other ISA detainees also! What about them? Have we forgotten them? They should either be immediately released or charged in Court.
    Please do not forget them all! God willing the PR will one day take over the Federal Govt. However, it has to show it deserves to rule!

6. #6 by undergrad2 on Friday, 25 April 2008 - 10:09 am

“You believed that this draconian law is unjust and yet you want to use them for revenge. That is equally wrong! Abolish ISA and not use it as a weapon against anyone anymore. Let’s be rational.” ilovedap

It is unjust for the above reasons.

We must remember that today we are fighting terrorism, and against an enemy who look upon death as a release from their burden. who would rather die than live under terms not of their making. We must remember we are living in a post 9/11 world and countries all over have passed similar legislation.

We need legislation like the ISA but with the right to judicial review and other legal safeguards. It should be used only against terrorists. It was used among others against the father of the recently deceased Rustam Sani, Ahmad Boestaman who had links to the PKI (Indonesian Communist Party of Indonesia).

It is not to be used to suppress political opposition such as when it was used againt Kit and the others in Ops Lallang etc.

7. #7 by ADAM YONG IBNI ABDULLAH on Friday, 25 April 2008 - 10:16 am

undergrad2

what are the two examples of the one chinese girl and a malay man got to do with terrorist and 9/11?

8. #8 by ADAM YONG IBNI ABDULLAH on Friday, 25 April 2008 - 10:18 am

dear psm

there are about 90 poor souls in kamunting.

9. #9 by undergrad2 on Friday, 25 April 2008 - 10:20 am

“As for the Chinese girl who talk about Jesus christ to the malays in Trengganu, is she a terrorist ? absolutely no. is she a threat to national security ? absolutely no.” ADAM

You may want to look up the Federal Constitution 1957 which forbids the proselytization of Malays and Muslims by non-Muslims. Was she proselytizing?

10. #10 by ADAM YONG IBNI ABDULLAH on Friday, 25 April 2008 - 10:23 am

THERE ARE MANY DETAINED IN KAMUNTING UNDER ISA.

USING ISA AS A TOOL OF REVENGE IS JUST AS EVIL. dont even think about it.

11. #11 by undergrad2 on Friday, 25 April 2008 - 10:25 am

State legislation imposes a fine or/and jail sentence for the offence of proselytization of Malays and Muslims.

Where is Jeffrey QC who is an expert on the matter? Perhaps he could cite the relevant section of the state legislation in the state of Trengganu.

12. #12 by undergrad2 on Friday, 25 April 2008 - 10:26 am

“USING ISA AS A TOOL OF REVENGE IS JUST AS EVIL. dont even think about it.” ADAM

That was tongue in cheek!

13. #13 by ADAM YONG IBNI ABDULLAH on Friday, 25 April 2008 - 10:29 am

DEAR UNDERGRAD.

my question was, what have they got to do with terrorist and 9/11.
    yes or no ?

14. #14 by ADAM YONG IBNI ABDULLAH on Friday, 25 April 2008 - 10:31 am

oophs.

TYPO ERROR.
    undergrad 2.
    hei , by now you should graduated and doing the master now.
    i like your style, but you have to be fair please.

15. #15 by kingkenny on Friday, 25 April 2008 - 10:31 am

ADAM YONG,

getting the list of detainees now held in Kamunting is unnecessary. The question of why YB Kit is not helping other people of different faiths should not be raised in the first place. Are there any proofs to that? The whole ISA issue is so broad, it was used against ‘preachers’, so called terrorists, politicians, the public and many more, why suddenly religion took precedence above all?

We all know how the wretched BN politicians work here in Malaysia.

If YB Kit somehow succeed in releasing the Hindraf 5, don’t you think other detainees will have a better chance of release?

If the Hindraf 5 were released, it shows only thing:

ISA is flawed and MUST be reviewed and/or abolished.

And for the record, I sincerely hope whoever is detained in Kamunting will get their fair chance in court – they are not guilty unless proven in court with evidence.

So, please understand. I did not accused alfatih.

16. #16 by ADAM YONG IBNI ABDULLAH on Friday, 25 April 2008 - 10:33 am

undergrad2
    ………imposing a fine or jail sentence….., than why ISA?

17. #17 by ilovedap on Friday, 25 April 2008 - 10:35 am

“ADAM YONG IBNI ABDULLAH Says:

Today at 10: 31.34 (2 minutes ago)
    oophs.

TYPO ERROR.
    undergrad 2.
    hei , by now you should graduated and doing the master now.
    i like your style, but you have to be fair please. – adam”

HAHaHAHA! That was funny, Adam!
    Hey undergrad mate, I do love your eye for details and openness to discuss though.

18. #18 by limkamput on Friday, 25 April 2008 - 10:38 am

The moment we have such a draconian law, who get to decide whether its use is against a terrorist, a sympathiser or political opponent? Who gets to define a person is a terrorist, a sympathiser, or a political opponent?

If this draconian law has all the safeguard like the right to judicial review and other legal safeguards, then is it still draconian?

Illogical and incoherent are forever. Only those who can see their own stupidity can be fixed.

19. #19 by KINI on Friday, 25 April 2008 - 10:38 am

Again, this is an act of terrorism. This bacth of BN people have never learnt the painful lesson from the just concluded election. l think the 5 Hindraf have or will not post any harmful national security to us at all. Do you think it is fair to keep these harmless people under ISA for the unforseen period of time?Again this is Malaysia style.Malaysia BOLEH.What ashame!!!!!!

20. #20 by lakilompat on Friday, 25 April 2008 - 10:39 am

Hello all,

Earlier on, i already warned that the Penang state and opposition state there will be alot of robberies. Soon, i’m predicting one of the bank will be robe within this year.

The 2nd robberies case in Bukit Mertajam Penang has already become obvious, right. These ppl. are used to have support from previous admin, but now, they have to resort to such.

21. #21 by ADAM YONG IBNI ABDULLAH on Friday, 25 April 2008 - 10:40 am

DEAR KINGKENNY.

“getting the list of detainees now held at kamunting is unnecessary”

WRONG. WRONG, WRONG,

dear kingkenny, justice is for all.
    if YB lim, publish the list, than we can know how to help them.

some have been there for seven years, and poor guy or gal, and because they are NOT SO FAMOUS, they are forgotten.

no one should be detained without trial.

or if you believe in fifo. ? (first in first out).

JUST ABOLISH ISA. RELEASE ALL ISA DETAINEES.
    AND DONT SEEK REVENGE LATER. USING THE ISA.

22. #22 by Jong on Friday, 25 April 2008 - 10:55 am

Rice – this is madness! Everyone’s watching – rising of price is understandable due to expensive fertilisers and high oil prices for transporation, but Futures speculation is definitely playing a big part.

US and Canada are not large rice consuming nation yet rice movement and availability have made it to front pages of all newspapers. Walmart and CostCo are creating unnecessary frenzy; it’s predicated will end in tears one year from now!

23. #23 by mysn1st on Friday, 25 April 2008 - 11:00 am

Sir,
    How about the renewal of “Oriental Daily Press”? It is that difficult to approve a license until need to wait for so many months?

24. #24 by Jong on Friday, 25 April 2008 - 11:01 am

sorry, last sentence, spell : “predicted”

25. #25 by kingkenny on Friday, 25 April 2008 - 11:03 am

ADAM,

I do agree with you that justice is for all irregardless of race and faiths. And ISA should be reviewed OR abolished OR replaced.

Justice is important to us, but so is SAFETY. There aren’t any guarantee there will not be any exploitation from the opposition side or the current ruling coalition side. Who knows people would be and could be instigated to cause riots and disharmony in our country?

FIFO, FILO, LILO also doesn’t matter, BN has already wrecked their lives for so long, what we can do is keep on fighting for them.

And if it is proven in court they are being held OR detained unlawfully by the government, then we can also fight for them to be paid compensation by the government – commensurate with the length of detention!

26. #26 by ADAM YONG IBNI ABDULLAH on Friday, 25 April 2008 - 11:11 am

DEAR ILOVEDAP.

i have repeatedly stated that undergrad2 is one of the good and serious contributor to this blog. and i mean it.

thanks kingkenny for agreeing that justice is for all. thank you.

bye folks for now, will be in dubai for a week,( no time to blog ) and till than, MAY GOD BLESS YOU ALL.

and by the will of GOd, the 5 hindraf leaders will be released, followed by others. still abolish isa .

27. #27 by ADAM YONG IBNI ABDULLAH on Friday, 25 April 2008 - 11:13 am

GOD BLESS YOU TOO MISS MODERATOR.

as we are guest in YB LIM’s blogsite. we should show respect to our host. if in any way, my comments have hurt yours or YB or anyone feeling, i deeply apologise.

thank you again.

28. #28 by seage on Friday, 25 April 2008 - 11:17 am

Today at 09: 23.25 (1 hour ago)
    dear seage.

” i am sorry to say that i do not know these people personally”

Do you have to know them personally, to request our elected MPs to seek release of them?
    I dont know the Hindraf 5 too, but i still will rally for their release. [ADAM YONG IBNI ABDULLAH]

Dear Adam, you missed my point. I am trying to say that YB LKS is fighting for the HINDRAF 5 as it is blatantly an abuse of the ISA by you-know-who. While we should fight for all the ISA detainees, there is no need to bring religion into play. Don’t you think it is uncalled for especially to suggest that YB LKS is not doing this due to religion?

Plus, I don’t think everyone in the ISA detain centre is an abuse case (I may be wrong, God forbids), thus, saying that I do not know them and so couldn’t vouch for all of them. The real pressing matter is the reform of the judiciary system and the ISA. Only with these can we offer the ISA people a just trial and not having them detained forever till their body rot in Kamunting.

29. #29 by ADAM YONG IBNI ABDULLAH on Friday, 25 April 2008 - 11:20 am

LAST BUT NOT LEAST SIR JEFFREY.

please continue your good job of writing from a 360 degree perspective. I HOPE YB LIM, realise that SIR JEFFREY is one good , intellectual yet so humble.

btw. i attended court myself and seek ajourment pending appointment of a lawyer. the defence lawyer so happy. haha.

30. #30 by ADAM YONG IBNI ABDULLAH on Friday, 25 April 2008 - 11:25 am

last post.

namastes or warnegum ( forgive my spelling ) dear seage.

just help the rest of those in kamunting please. everyone of us are also human being. your blood is red, so is mine.
    thank you.

GOD BE THE JUDGE. I FEAR GOD ONLY.

31. #31 by kingkenny on Friday, 25 April 2008 - 11:47 am

ADAM,

kasih mu di terima. Have a nice journey!

32. #32 by NotProudToBeMalaysian on Friday, 25 April 2008 - 11:57 am

Pak Lah did mentioned that he fear no one but only god.
    What sort or god does he fear actually?
    Does Islam encourage muslim to lie and bully others?
    Maybe if you do evil at all times, god will forgive you if you ask for forgiveness each time you do wrong.
    What is it anyway?
    Or maybe, he think he’s god himself!
    I really do hope there’s one greater god who could punish these sort of people who use god’s name just to harm others for his personal gains.

33. #33 by k1980 on Friday, 25 April 2008 - 12:16 pm

Are poor Malaysians prepared for the coming big crunch?
    Food is become increasingly scarce and expensive, and it is already unaffordable for many people. The world’s 200 wealthiest people have as much money as about 40 percent of the global population, and yet 850 million people have to go to bed hungry every night.
    http://www.spiegel.de/international/world/0,1518,547198,00.html

http://www.spiegel.de/international/world/0,1518,grossbild-1149977-547198,00.html

34. #34 by Vince on Friday, 25 April 2008 - 12:20 pm

I hope we can look beyond the Hindraf5, the BIGGER picture is to abolish ISA

35. #35 by kingkenny on Friday, 25 April 2008 - 12:26 pm

NotProudToBeMalaysian,

G-d is One & G-d is Just.

For me, the road to salvation is a good character, charity to the needy, observance and Faith.

Faith is significantly the stepping stone in character building or rehabilitation and leading the correct way of life and treating other lives (be it humans or animals). You may leave out fanaticism in all forms.

Not a single one soul will be LEFT OUT for judgment.

So, have Faith in G-d.

36. #36 by undergrad2 on Friday, 25 April 2008 - 12:35 pm

Jong,

You’re right about the price of rice. But it doesn’t seem to have anything to do with shortage.

A bag of rice in the U.S. today has gone up by some 122% and rising!

An interesting take by poster TokyoBanker given in another blog -

“The hedge fund managers, especially, then ventured into the agriculatural commodity products like grains, rice, sugar etc, with the notion of just trying to make a few bucks.

If you put $100 million into the oil market, you could hardly move the oil prices by $1.00. However, if you put $50 million into the rice market, the rice price may double or triple within a month, which happened recently and causes the people’s riot in Haiti.”

37. #37 by NotProudToBeMalaysian on Friday, 25 April 2008 - 12:37 pm

To Pakatan Rakyat and especially to Anwar!
    Please execute your plan as soon as possible, if there’s any!
    Do not wait any longer for time is running out.
    ISA detainees need you to free them and the majorities of malaysians need you to kick Pak Lah’s gang out.
    We don’t wish to be accuse by other countries of being a murderer
    when we’ve no part in the killing of Altantuya.
    And we want our economy to prosper as well as development to continue on boosting without any interference from the Barisan government.
    We all knew very well that BN is totally selfish and they are not going to co-operate with the PR even if they say so.
    They are just only a bunch of liars and losers.
    We Malaysian could wait no more because day by day, more and more issues will crops out.
    The BN is really making a hell out of us people even though they’re denying it.
    For the sake of us all, go for it now!!!

38. #38 by ilovedap on Friday, 25 April 2008 - 12:38 pm

I dont know why all of a sudden Hindraf 5, ISA and etc gotta do with God and Religion. Bottom line is release them! End of story. May God save Malaysia and bless us all.

39. #39 by undergrad2 on Friday, 25 April 2008 - 12:51 pm

“The moment we have such a draconian law, who get to decide whether its use is against a terrorist, a sympathiser or political opponent? Who gets to define a person is a terrorist, a sympathiser, or a political opponent?” limkamput

The court stupid!!

Who said “Stupid is forever, ignorance can be fixed” if not the great Confucius himself?

40. #40 by NotProudToBeMalaysian on Friday, 25 April 2008 - 12:57 pm

ilovedap,

In what ways are you going to release the Hindraf 5 and other detainees? Put a barrel on that guy head and order him to do so?
    Or just by asking, please……!!!
    If they’re willing to release them, they would have done that already. DAP can’t do that and not even PR either!
    Pak Lah is very good in talking about religion and that’s why we’ve to use “god and religion” to talk back to him.
    “Islam had diri???”

41. #41 by undergrad2 on Friday, 25 April 2008 - 1:01 pm

Have a good trip, ADAM! Looking forward to reading what you write here. Say hello to Lawrence of Arabia for me and please don’t think too much of Ms. Moderator. You’ve seen for yourself how she single handedly demolished an annoying character determined to destabilize this blog!

42. #42 by HJ Angus on Friday, 25 April 2008 - 1:03 pm

I would guess that those high-flying traders will speculate on just anything and now rice is the target.

Consumers too get sucked in a many people start to hoard and that just pushes up the price further.

I wonder how many percent of the economy is “created” by such speculation. These people do not really produce a real product and many operate on people’s fears.

One of the woes of the modern economy.

43. #43 by HJ Angus on Friday, 25 April 2008 - 1:03 pm

sorry typo
    “sucked in as”

44. #44 by limkamput on Friday, 25 April 2008 - 1:25 pm

Draconian law has no judicial review, stupid!!! So how can the court decides? Who is stupid now?

If Draconian law has judicial review, then it is not draconian law, stupid!!

45. #45 by limkamput on Friday, 25 April 2008 - 1:29 pm

Adam, beware of unsolicited flattery. Wonder who is this annoying character who simply likes to hold sway in this blog?

46. #46 by limkamput on Friday, 25 April 2008 - 1:36 pm

“I wonder how many percent of the economy is “created” by such speculation. These people do not really produce a real product and many operate on people’s fears.One of the woes of the modern economy.” Hj Angus

Be careful Angus. I pointed this out earlier and was being labelled stupid. Talking about “know all” and provocation! I hope the Moderator is reading and following who is being provocative now and constantly calling others stupid.

47. #47 by i_love_malaysia on Friday, 25 April 2008 - 2:01 pm

“In Parliament, it had been customary in the past for Ministers, Deputy Ministers and Parliamentary Secretaries to blame civil servants for wrong or misleading answers – something completely unheard-of in first-world Parliaments and countries.” – YB Kit

Actually, the Ministers, Deputy Ministers etc. were telling the truth that they should not be responsible for the wrong or misleading answers, as the answers were prepared by civil servants who were incompetent in the first place and were there because of their skin colour & religion. The Ministers, Deputy Ministers etc. didnt like to take action against these incompetent civil servants because they were afraid of them, that they would lose their votes in election!!!

48. #48 by i_love_malaysia on Friday, 25 April 2008 - 2:08 pm

99% of these civil servants are very good in politiking, but very very poor in figures. Read my lips, 99% will give you a wrong answer if you asked them to provide statistics answer!!! Check it out!!!

49. #49 by ilovedap on Friday, 25 April 2008 - 2:20 pm

NotProudToBeMalaysian Says:

Today at 12: 57.07 (1 hour ago)
    ilovedap,

In what ways are you going to release the Hindraf 5 and other detainees?

By taking the keys, unlocking it and then tell them to sign a few documents and say “Hasta la vista, ISA”. :) Kidding.

That comment was merely for the Government. I hope that they can put politic aside and look at humanity point of view. On the other hand, I do hope that one day you will change your nick to “ProudtobeMalaysian”. Which means that the country is doing well.

50. #50 by Jong on Friday, 25 April 2008 - 2:25 pm

There is definitely not a shortage of rice in US and Canada. We will see the fun if the govt cease the import from rice-producing countries like Thailand, Cambodhia and Vietnam, let them continue hoarding till the price comes down.

Due to their hot and humid climatical condition, they may find it quite impossible to keep for too long or they’ll soon get eaten up by beetles.