Anti-Corruption reform – Abdullah pre-empting parliamary question directed to him next week

It has become the practice for Cabinet Ministers to pre-empt questions which MPs have given notice in the forthcoming parliamentary meeting by giving answers before the questions are actually asked on the dates they are listed.

The Prime Minister, Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi, has proved that he is no exception and is beginning to answer my first question for question time in the 12th Parliament beginning next Wednesday, which asked him “to outline the top ten priority reform measures which his government will implement in the next 12 months to demonstrate that he has heard the voices of the people in the March 8, 2008 ‘political tsunami’”.

This morning, Abdullah announced that the Anti-Corruption Agency (ACA) will be made a full-fledged commission by year-end and will be answerable to Parliament.

He said said this was one of the four key reform initiatives that would be carried out by the government in the move to address the public concerns on corruption in the country.

The commission’s workforce would be increased to 5,000 officers over a period of five years and the government would also introduce legislation to provide a comprehensive protection for whistle blowers and witnesess in corruption cases.

Furthermore, the government would also take immediate steps to improve the public procurement process through measures targeted at addressing specific problems in the system.

Last Thursday, Abdullah announced measures towards judicial reforms, viz:

• Ex-gratia payment for “the pain and loss” suffered by the late Tan Sri Eusoffe Abdoolcader and Tan Sri Wan Suleiman Pawanteh and their families, Tun Salleh Abas, Tan Sri Azmi Kamaruddin, Tan Sri Wan Hamzah Mohamed Salleh and Datuk George Seah in the 1988 Judicial Crisis.

• A Judicial Appointments Commission;

• Review of the judiciary’s terms of service and remuneration to ensure that the Bench can attract and retain the very best of the nation’s talent.

As the “proof of the pudding is in the eating”, more details are needed before an informed judgment can be made of the reform measures concerned.

Although belated, reform measures to restore public confidence in the efficacy, efficiency, independence, impartiality and credibility of national institutions whether judiciary or the anti-corruption agency are welcome as they have been long-awaited by the people.

Yesterday, I had told some reporters that I was astonished at the Prime Minister’s confirmation that he was studying a proposal by the ACA for it to become more independent.

This was clearly putting the cart before the horse as it is the Prime Minister and Cabinet who should take the policy decision that they have heard the voices of the people in the March 8 “political tsunami” and want an anti-corruption agency which is completely independent of the government, answerable only to Parliament , followed by directives to the various agencies such as the ACA and the Attorney-General’s Chambers to draft the necessary legislation based on best international practices like the Hong Kong Independent Commission Against Corruption (ICAC) to implement such a policy decision.

The government’s failure in the fight against corruption in the past four years, highlighted by the ACA’s inability to net a single one of the 18 “sharks” targetted at the beginning of the Abdullah premiership and the six-point plunge in the Transparency International Corruption Perception Index rankings from No. 37 in 2003 to No. 43 last year, is an undeniable and indisputable fact.

I am glad that 24 hours after my comment, the Prime Minister has committed himself to a policy position on an independent anti-corruption agency.

Malaysians will not want a new anti-corruption commission which purports to be independent in name only but not in fact in spearheading the fight against corruption to restore integrity in the nation’s public life – becoming a second Suhakam which is tasked to be an independent body to protect and promote human rights but is completely unable to do so without the necessary powers and wherewithal to carry out such a human rights mandate.

Furthermore, is Abdullah prepared to fully respond to the March 8 “political tsunami” and initiate far-reaching national reforms including the establishment of the Independent Police Complaints and Misconduct Commission (IPCMC) by tabling such a bill in the first meeting of Parliament and to free the Malaysian mass media from the shackles of the Printing Presses and Publications Act?

1. #1 by allasstra on Tuesday, 22 April 2008 - 7:25 am

undergrad2;

u said :

“In a jury trial it can be argued that the defendant stands a better chance of being found not guilty – than in a non-jury trial where…”

—[deleted]

and when public emotions were involved, o.j simson,..m.jackson.

and u said:

“In a developing country where the level of poverty is high, the rate of literacy is low, you have difficulty in identifying jurors. I do not think Malaysia today falls in that category.”

—really ?…are average malaysian hightly literated ? i.e..have ablity to comprehend sophisticated legal babel ?

are average malaysian highly-educated and have a clear understanding of international affairs/human rights awareness/enviromental issues ? legal rights ?

i myself did not graduate form 5,..thanks to naj1b.

can u really tell me how many malaysians have a clear understanding of the hi-profile case like al-tantuya case,and not just based on the current report by the state controled media/cafe disscussion/hear-say…

do we have less than 5% proverty ?

have we had the ablity to extract dna samples for analisys ourself ? in all states where there’s a court ?

immagine the case of l.joy be trialed by jury….
    the outcome may be even more dramatic then the one we saw on u-tube….

a judge stays after every trial,so if we had a 100% transparent policy,corrupt judges could be held responsible, not so when dealing with 12 random dolts.

thus, coming up with a good judicial policy beats having 12 rs-hauls on the bench. and that’s what we should really do.

dont be such an rs-haul.

2. #2 by allasstra on Tuesday, 22 April 2008 - 7:30 am

wow….!! what a surprise !!!

typing naj[one]b will get your post gets auto-moderated…

3. #3 by musyu99 on Tuesday, 22 April 2008 - 7:45 am

What commission for ACA??? hoooh.. it also will end up like IPCMC… Why it takes too long to establish the commission??? Another flip flop decision by the most flip flop PM… Pak Zzzzzz

4. #4 by lakilompat on Tuesday, 22 April 2008 - 8:21 am

“I ONLY DISCRIMINATE AGAINST PEOPLE WITH LOWER IQ LEVEL AND KNOWLEDGE.”

Do u know in Malaysia a group of farmers or estate workers were denied the IQ and Knowledge acquisition opportunity, not becos they want, is becos of nature of their business and they are still working to make ends meet by neglecting the IQ & Knowledge growing opportunity. It is no surprise there are 56K Spoilt votes every 4 yrs these ppl. will come out and make silly mistakes. The spoilt votes has increased tremendously.

5. #5 by ADAM YONG IBNI ABDULLAH on Tuesday, 22 April 2008 - 8:34 am

lakilompat.

its ok. knowledge can be in many forms. a farmer has good knowledge of the weather that many learned person may not know.
    the estate worker knowledge maybe confine to when to tap and when to collect the latex, and the knowledge of which part of the estate has snakes , but many smart high iq person may not know.
    i have more respect for the estate workers and farmers for they are not arrogant.

6. #6 by JACK THE RIPPER on Tuesday, 22 April 2008 - 8:38 am

Its impossible to make ACA an Independent body as Umno/BN Master are all corrupted to the core. Although they does but only seniwara.. like some long episode Movies.

We dont trust a single words by Umno & Others Members of BN government.

Only In Pakatan Rakyat we Trust.

7. #7 by ADAM YONG IBNI ABDULLAH on Tuesday, 22 April 2008 - 8:57 am

allasstra.
    btw, i was a rubber tapper when i was 14 years old. my KNOWLEDGE of the estate must be satisfactory to you than. peace brother/sister.

8. #8 by ADAM YONG IBNI ABDULLAH on Tuesday, 22 April 2008 - 9:02 am

ALLASSTRA.

lets make peace. we have a common enemy in fighting corruption .
    back to the main agenda . malaysiakini reported that many ngos are not impressed by abdullah badawi statement. if abdullah badawi is sincere, than ong te kiat MUST TELL ALL ABOUT PKFTZ FIASCO NOW. TODAY.

9. #9 by wtf2 on Tuesday, 22 April 2008 - 9:41 am

they will need to change the top brass at aca in order to put in new reforms. After all the oldies let the situation deteriorate in the past, means they do not dare to speak out – they connections they have with the politicians also means that they will be forever “indebted” to somebody somewhere unless they are moved out….

10. #10 by Bigjoe on Tuesday, 22 April 2008 - 10:13 am

I am beginning to believe that Badawi’s time is nearly up with this. This is political suicide for him. All these moves does not make the ultra-UMNO happy BUT they may not win votes for him

If in Sept/Oct, there is a by-election for Anwar AND Anwar wins convincingly, the ultras in UMNO will complain that his plan is NOT working. Its another round of attack Just before the GA in December.

His days are numbered. I almost feel it…

11. #11 by ADAM YONG IBNI ABDULLAH on Tuesday, 22 April 2008 - 10:29 am

THE BPR DOES NOT NEED AN INDEPENDENT AND FREE BPR.

it is having the courage to investigate and prosecute the well connected. a not smart guy like me will also question, where the deceased zakaria deros could have amass so much monies and breach so much laws and get away scot free. but alas God had the final say.

12. #12 by lakilompat on Tuesday, 22 April 2008 - 10:40 am

That’s why the farmer & estate workers will not mind to vote for BN, these are the group which are not rebellious, all you need to do is offer them some crumbs, they will vote for you. They don’t have much time for blogging, most of the time is cleaning & maintaining their gears, the “racun tank” and products.

13. #13 by ADAM YONG IBNI ABDULLAH on Tuesday, 22 April 2008 - 10:48 am

lakilompat.

i disagree with you on the estate workers voting for BN. maybe before 2008, definitely not in the 12 ge. hindraf birth was in an estate. i remembered what lim keng yek, said to humiliate indian estate workers. not repeating it here.

btw, nobody choose to be an estate worker. they are poor.they are marginalised. and they have been ripped off by big conglomerates. it is not that they have no time to blog, they have no food to eat. no schools to go. and YB LIM, ISA must be abolished. release the hindraf 5. PLEASE.

14. #14 by HJ Angus on Tuesday, 22 April 2008 - 10:50 am

C’mon guys
    There are so many issues to settle and we need the input of all.
    Whether or not it makes a major contribution is not that important.

So why waste so much energy belittling others? Just discuss the topic and no need to get personal with all the name-calling etc.

15. #15 by ADAM YONG IBNI ABDULLAH on Tuesday, 22 April 2008 - 11:08 am

hj angus.

arbitration doesnt work all times. that’s why we have the courts and lawyers. ( sigh !)

anyway, i respect you sir.

[All posts arising from allasstra's personal comments have been deleted. Such personal exchanges are not welcome on this blog. - Admin]

16. #16 by ADAM YONG IBNI ABDULLAH on Tuesday, 22 April 2008 - 11:17 am

THE STAR REPORTED (page 10)THAT YAB TUN IS PREPARED TO BE investigated by a full and formal public inquiry if DSAI becomes premier.

however, the former premier said he hoped that those who sit on the board of inquiry would be nuetral, impartial and PROBABLY FOREIGNERS. ( PUN INTENDED ).

17. #17 by ADAM YONG IBNI ABDULLAH on Tuesday, 22 April 2008 - 11:21 am

thks miss moderator. greatly appreciated.

18. #18 by HJ Angus on Tuesday, 22 April 2008 - 11:30 am

Bigjoe

“His days are numbered”

……Like everyone else. He is going to be gone probably within a year and maybe it’s the last chance to do a few good things before he leaves office.

Maybe at this juncture we should look at how the PM is selected as UMNO may not be the determinant party anymore.
    There is some logic that UMNO is leader in BN and therefore the PM comes from UMNO. Maybe BN parties should re-look at this logic.

19. #19 by 7even Sins on Tuesday, 22 April 2008 - 12:23 pm

It is a myth if ACA can really go 100% independent. As long as this “Abang-Adik” culture is not shaken off, u scratch my back, I scratch yours.

20. #20 by k1980 on Tuesday, 22 April 2008 - 1:14 pm

the former premier said he hoped that those who sit on the board of inquiry would be neutral, impartial and PROBABLY FOREIGNERS.

The judges who convicted Anwar of sodomy/corruption were NOT foreigners. The judges in the Altantuya case are also NOT foreigners. So why is the mamak demanding to be judged by foreigners?

21. #21 by ADAM YONG IBNI ABDULLAH on Tuesday, 22 April 2008 - 1:32 pm

dear k1980.

as stated, there is a double meaning to it.

1. he is being sacarstic that dsai will be teaming up with foreigners, and manage the country. i think this is the insinuation.

2.he cannot trust any malaysians. which of course is regretted.

thank you.

22. #22 by Godfather on Tuesday, 22 April 2008 - 4:32 pm

….because Sleepy Head has been on two honeymoons – the first when he took over from Mahathir, and the second when he remarried.

23. #23 by undergrad2 on Tuesday, 22 April 2008 - 7:22 pm

“—really ?…are average malaysian hightly literated ? i.e..have ablity to comprehend sophisticated legal babel ?” allasstra

You do not need to be legally qualified, understand legal jargon or be literate in the meaning and use of legal terminology to qualify and serve as jurors. In fact lawyers are not qualified to serve as jurors. You must be tried by a jury of your peers who are ordinary folks.

Jurisdictions which follow jury trials and non-jury trials (sometimes there is a choice, others mandatory), the only qualification is your age which is 18 and whether you are a citizen.

Members of law enforcement agencies are not qualified to serve as jurors to prevent bias or the appearance of bias.

The system of preemptory challenges is to ensure that you get jurors who are not biased against you. However, gender and race are not grounds and challenges cannot be mounted on grounds of race and gender. But of course there are ways since you do not have to assign reasons for some of the preemptory challenges.

24. #24 by devilmaster on Tuesday, 22 April 2008 - 8:18 pm

Parliament won’t be dissolved today

Parliament dissolved, elections on

So, how trustworthy this guy is? This guy has the habit of telling lies.

25. #25 by waterfrontcoolie on Tuesday, 22 April 2008 - 11:22 pm

Many of you appear either naive or born yesterday. You condemn AAB for both doing something or not doing anything! After 22 years under TDM, I can hardly blame you all. You put all the blames on AAB. I blamed him for not taking any action after’04; belatedly he has crawled forward, in the last few weeks. Since we had waited for so long, let’s wait at the most, another year or two.
    I believe from now on he has decided to slowly [ in his style ] move to open up all the cans of worm!! Just let TDM keeps talking and insulting him, he will move! There is always a limit to one’s dignity or patience, once he felt hurt, he WILL react !
    Just wait a little longer, he may even burst all the cans wide open!
    Since you all believethat BN is composed of crooks, then we can wait for the new ACA to act. If not, BN WILL definitely close shop, come 13thGE, maybe, if Anwar is right, within the next 6 mths!!

26. #26 by shagg.in on Tuesday, 22 April 2008 - 11:41 pm

I don’t think AAB will go all out to empower ACA to burst all the cans wide open. No matter how battered his patience and dignity, AAB and family too are ‘crooks’ of BN I believe. Every UMNO crook has a gun pointing at each other’s head. You pull the trigger I pull the trigger.

27. #27 by boobear on Wednesday, 23 April 2008 - 5:56 am

What shagg.in says is true, everyone in UMNO are loading their weapons and choosing sides…

If they let out the bullets into public domain, surely the ACA, newly-empowered-independent body MUST ACT !!

28. #28 by lakilompat on Wednesday, 23 April 2008 - 9:33 am

Opposition state leader, what u guys been doing, still celebrating? what u guy doing when Pak Lah announced the below?

1) Second bridge delay due to costs and design issues
    Who will be interested to come Penang to invest if the Federal Govt. failed to delivery 1st class infrastructure looking at current situation? Penang belong to opposition state.

2) KL-Singapore bullet train derailed by high cost
    The future investment has been stop, now, any foreigner will be interested to come Malaysia? KL belong to opposition state.

Are opposition just going to sit there and ask question, without any action?

29. #29 by cheng on soo on Wednesday, 23 April 2008 - 10:55 am

This ACA reform is cosmetic, nothing will change in ACA as long as Fed gomen is the same gomen.

30. #30 by ckl on Wednesday, 23 April 2008 - 11:20 am

It is not easy for ACA to be fully independent as long as the gift culture and family culture is still intact. In future, maybe ACA become another “family business”. we should set a target for the ACA to hit, e.g top ten clean country in next 5 years, top 5 clean country at 2020, otherwise, all the ACA officers is accountable for that. There are too many case they can work. e.g cost of government to build a road. why we are much more expensive than Singapore for 2 times for a similar road. is it our sand, stone, cement, oil or worker is more expensive than Singapore? Answer is NO, explanation i can deduce for this case is Malaysia have many main contractors and subcontractors with single small office only but do not have equipment and worker to do the work. Unfortunately, these kind of contractor is the one who win the government tender. Any corruption behind? Let’s leave it to ACA.
    Above is the small part of an iceberg.

31. #31 by 7even Sins on Wednesday, 23 April 2008 - 12:45 pm

The clown-look ACA head gives me a strange chill of his capabilities to handle the portfolio and even the way he talks…exactly like the ex-menteri bodoh of info. What a cowboy..!!!

32. #32 by lakilompat on Wednesday, 23 April 2008 - 5:40 pm

Charging govt. billionth for merely consultation fees, well is this corruption, pls asked Mr. Khairy?

33. #33 by helpless on Thursday, 24 April 2008 - 9:40 am

“Malaysians will not want a new anti-corruption commission which purports to be independent in name only but not in fact in spearheading the fight against corruption to restore integrity in the nation’s public life ”

“This was clearly putting the cart before the horse as it is the Prime Minister and Cabinet who should take the policy decision”

Very simple. The corruption is reach a serious deterioting stage that possibly all government top-gun might have to face the court if those ACA cases to be revisited.

The judicial system that created by TM in the past is obviously absurd and it is obviously encourage the corruption to breed.

First , prosecution of a corruption will be stop by the PM if it related to his interest.

Second, in the event prosecution to be proceed like ” Correct,correct story”, then the case will be delay or claim as no case.

At the end… the result is no case.

Like the one of Bank advertisement ” The merz is at my house. I see… not you see ”

This is ” NO CASE AT ALL? No even mention how to improve”.

The ACA and the PM can say whatever they like. Provided that action taken to proof themselve, it is same as ” Wayang Kulit”.