I was taken aback when Chong Zemin put up the post that a blog had disclosed that there are 29 MPs who did not submit a question for the coming parliamentary meeting starting at the end of the month, and that five of them are from DAP.
The five DAP MPs cited are:
• Charles Anthony Santiago – Klang
• Er Teck Hwa – Bakri
• Hiew King Cheu – Kota Kinabalu
• John Fernandez – Seremban
• Dr. P. Ramasamy – Batu Kawan
I have checked with the five DAP MPs and they have confirmed the mistake of missing the deadline for the submission of questions, i.e. April 8, 2008, for the month-long inaugural meeting of the 12th Parliament starting on April 28 – although they would still be able to take part in the supplementary question stage of the daily 90-minute question time.
The Party had reminded DAP MPs not to miss the deadline for questions and lose the opportunity to pose questions in the first meeting of Parliament (an important aspect of the work of Opposition parliamentarians) but mistakes are still being made.
Work pressures as new elected representatives, lack of experience with parliamentary standing orders and breakdown of communications have contributed to the five DAP MPs not fielding a single question for the first meeting of the 12th Parliament.
These are not acceptable excuses as voters in the March 8 “political tsunami” have high expectations of DAP MPs and they have the right to expect the new batch of Opposition MPs to live up to a higher benchmark of parliamentary performance and to subject them to scrutiny.
The Party leadership will ensure that these mistakes will not be repeated in the rest of the current parliamentary term
The five DAP MPs and the DAP apologise for this regrettable episode.

#1 by Signals on Sunday, 20 April 2008 - 12:10 am
Called up PG DAP HQ to follow up on certain things submitted near to 2 months ago. Was informed by a chinese lady staff taking the call that there is no status update, reason being they have formed the government, workload is high, they have no time, submission not yet processed.
Asked when there be status update, the staff informed that “not sure and as explained that they have formed the government and workload is high and no time to process the submission”.
It is hurtful when the Rakyat has been taken for a ride.
#2 by AhStone on Sunday, 20 April 2008 - 12:17 am
a journey of a thousand miles begins with a single step.
this is a good example. we need MPs like these who admit when they make a mistake and not the ‘bukan saya bukan saya’ attitude like BN. may this continue always and by the next election, BN! get ready to vacate!
#3 by ckloh on Sunday, 20 April 2008 - 12:18 am
The question here is not first timers, give chance.
As an opposition MPs as at in many parliaments in the world, their number 1 task should be to question any wrong doing of the ruling government.
For the first timers, they suppose to have more passion than the old timers, they suppose to prepare the questions weeks ago, because ‘clean broom sweeps better’.
However, this is not done. We are not blaming them to the extent we will vote them out next time. Nope. But something is not right here.
And I think the things that is not right is they get their priority wrong. They think that the number 1 task of being a MP is to service people, to clean the drains and etc. I have visited some new MPs blog, and have saw comments like they are quite busy to attend with people problem and no time for meeting with the government to discuss the issue together.
The priority is wrong. Let the local government to do the job, as an opposing MP, you must find flaws of government and questions them in parliament, and if the government can’t answer your question, tell the whole world know. Since the MPs now are increasing more than one third, some suggest they can use the parliament to propose some ideas too rather than just to question them. Use the parliament to the fullest to serve the rakyat.
And I think Uncle Kit doing the right thing by guiding the first timer on the importance of the tasks, which obviously the first timer MPs don’t see it is important. They are passionate to serve the rakyat, but not doing the job in parliament. Thus, they are more suited to be in the local government role, work in DBKL or MBPJ, rather than to be Member of Parliament. MP means member of parliament, they should do the jobs in parliament, this is why the rakyat vote them in.
#4 by skyquest2000 on Sunday, 20 April 2008 - 12:18 am
Come on Malaysian wake up. You guys take thing too easily. Thats the reason why BN deeds can be taken for granted so long.
There ‘s no excuses for committing the mistakes. Some kind punishment should be imposed.
Otherwise, when we say: “enter from the back door” also get sued.
#5 by Jeffrey on Sunday, 20 April 2008 - 12:21 am
MPs are lawmakers, we elect them to make good laws and repeal and amend bad ones. That’s primary function; asking questions is secondary compared to the first. This is basically a numbers game, so I don’t se why not. A private member bill if approved by a majority in both houses will become an Act of Parliament and law of the land. [The problem is see is likely in Dewan Negara]. Before 8th March private members’ bills were introduced by Opposition or backbench MPs normally to raise awareness of a particular issue – they didn’t stand a chance of becoming law because no majority vote in support. Situation is different after March 8th: Opposition parties now have already almost equal numbers at least in the Dewan Rakyat – the majority if you believe in DSAI. All we need is either abstinence or some support from BN MPs. Why that is not impossible is because BN is presently torn in factionalism : in cases of introducing Freedom of Information Act or Malaysia Press Council Bill, there may be some support from BN’s side. We also have no knowledge how many from BN’s side are contemplating realigning with and secretly sympathetic with Pakatan Rakyat’s side negotiating with DSAI behind the scenes to cross over and participate the next new government to be formed soon by the Opposition when a more comfortable majority are sealed by DSAI. They would follow the perceived winning side, ie where the direction in which strong winds of change blow! They don’t want to be irrelevant and keen to ally with the right side of the near future getting power. I believe DSAI is negotiating hard, that’s why he is low profile, not making statements. Cleverly he does not ask any of his proxies at this moment to give up any state seat held by PKR for to do so means (1) his own people lose one seat (2) in ensuing by election BN will use all fire power and all financial resources available to finish him at the seat he contests and (3) as defacto leader he commands moral authority to negotiate and having no official position enjoys flexibility in this task of negotiating with BN people (As I said before, without major defection from BN, Pakatan cannot form stable govt). DSAI has to make the move soon because time operates against Pakatan at least from two angles. First if and when the reactionary faction is able to remove the Pak Lah faction, they may be able to unite and think ways of how to emasculate Opposition including repression ie arrest Opposition leaders for minor infractions of police permits etc and secondly, they may try use Federal powers over funding to stave opposition controlled State governments so that they may be seen as not performing in rakyat’s eyes. Against such a backdrop and political milieu after 8th March where some from BN side are negotiating crossing over and others may want to be seen “reinventing and reforming”, some sections of support from BN for an Opposition’s private member bill cannot be written off as “mission impossible”….
#6 by skyquest2000 on Sunday, 20 April 2008 - 12:21 am
I thought “New brooms sweep clean”.
Of course, last election was different. People just vote for the parties. Some dogs and cats might got thru.
#7 by Jeffrey on Sunday, 20 April 2008 - 12:27 am
“….to starve…”
#8 by m.rakyat on Sunday, 20 April 2008 - 12:37 am
Tried to subscribe to The Rocket periodicals. Handed in the subscription form together with a cheque close to 2 months ago at the PG DAP HQ. Till to date, cheque not yet presented to my banker for clearance and no news on the status of the subscription. Called the HQ up, given the reason that they have formed the government, high workload, no time to process the subscription form and they will process it when they have time.
#9 by ckloh on Sunday, 20 April 2008 - 12:44 am
If the first timers have less passion to ask questions in parliament, do you think they have the same passion on propose bill and make laws? Go to the basic first, questions any wrongdoing of the government first in parliament. Then, if you have any better bill, propose it.
Hope I am wrong, but has the feeling of some MPs think that attending Parliament is waste of time. They are more interested on solving the people problems, where the files are pile up in their service centre desk.
This is what I said get the priority wrong. Their main jobs are to make the government & law system in Malaysia better so that the files in their service centre are not pile up. If they think being MP is just to solve all files open, then I think it is time someone told them to change mindset.
That is why I agree Uncle Kit should be harsh to them, penalised them for charity for first offence. If you are too easy with them, they don’t learn their lesson, and will continue have the mindset Q&A in parliament is waste of time. For normal people like us, we can say that. But what hope the country is, if the MPs think in this line too?
#10 by yhsiew on Sunday, 20 April 2008 - 12:49 am
Maybe the 5 DAP MPs could submit 2 questions at the second parliamentary meeting, not as a punishment but to make up the one that they missed during the first parliamentary meeting.
#11 by bentoh on Sunday, 20 April 2008 - 12:52 am
# waterfrontcoolie Says:
Yesterday at 19: 42.08
We can only hope that the sense of euphoria and honeymoon is over! Back to serious work.
By the way, I met YB Sr. Exco T. Kok for the first time, can I suggest that she should remember she is no more talking to the street crowd. She needs to remember that she carries the hope and inspiration of Selangor voters. So please SPRUCE it up and please change your sing song style of public speaking.
By the way, since the Selangor State Gomen has resolved the toll issue for the ppl living in Mahkota Lion, can it also look at the same issue along the Federal 1?. Please join up all the parallel roads alondside this toll road. I believe all the land on both sides of this ILLEGAL TOLL is State controlled. So just link up all these roads and see how the toll collector react!!
===================================================
Hey, maybe you shall head over to YB Teresa Kok’s Website, http://teresakok.com, check out her email or just leave a comment in her blog! :) This may help her better… than to rant in her party leader’s blog… ;)
#12 by bentoh on Sunday, 20 April 2008 - 1:02 am
Dear Uncle Lim,
I mentioned that in an earlier comment as well, and just to remind you about my earlier comment, No, an excuse about being a first-timer is way off. I reckoned there was a briefing prior to questions submission, and there were 13 DAP first-timers who successfully submitted the questions on time…
I believe the outrageous response by the people will remind the 5 questionless DAP MPs to put this question submission matter at the FIRST place prior to the future house meeting.
But I’m satisfied with the quick response from DAP, well, at least way faster than the others isn’t it?
Meanwhile, I hope the 5 MPs will make a public apologies in a press conference to prove their sincerity over the issue. ;)
Regards,
#13 by TripleM on Sunday, 20 April 2008 - 1:03 am
LKS, May I suggest you and Karpal get a rotan each!
#14 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Sunday, 20 April 2008 - 1:21 am
For readers of this blog, a worthwhile and interesting digression:
From none other than HRH Sultan of Perak, a former Lord President and legal luminary, a word on what constitutes royal prudence, wisdom and advice -
“He said that though the Ruler acts on the advice of the head of government, the Ruler should not give his consent if the advice so given does not reflect justice.
In accordance with the spirit of the constitutional monarchy, a Ruler has the role to convey advice and opinion, offer encouragement and give reminders or make criticisms, he said.
“A Ruler must rightly use prudence and wisdom in giving his consent, particularly in matters related to the interests of the state and people,” he said.”
For the full report, see BERNAMA:http://www.bernama.com.my/
#15 by cemerlang on Sunday, 20 April 2008 - 1:39 am
The rakyat is giving the DAP, the PAS, the Keadilan and other parties the golden opportunity to change the circumstances under Barisan Nasional. The Barisan Nasional is resorting to tricky tactics of trying to turn members of parties against each other. Therefore party members have to be on alert and to be reminded the actual reasons for them being elected. The rakyat has waited for the past 50 years. Please don’t keep them waiting again.
Myself, I am looking at Penang. I am making a comparison between Chief Minister Lim and the Chief Minister in my own state. I really hope that Chief Minister Lim would set an example for the people of my state to follow. Yes. Chief Minister Lim being an example to the people here, faraway from Penang, to follow. We here are fed up with our state’s Chief Minister. There are so many reports of him taking money using his position. Chief Minister Lim Guan Eng, we are looking to you for our inspiration here. I hope that my state’s people would have the same courage and the same desire as the people in Penang to change.
#16 by undergrad2 on Sunday, 20 April 2008 - 2:14 am
“He said that though the Ruler acts on the advice of the head of government, the Ruler should not give his consent if the advice so given does not reflect justice.
In accordance with the spirit of the constitutional monarchy, a Ruler has the role to convey advice and opinion, offer encouragement and give reminders or make criticisms, HRH the Sultan of Perak said.” HORNBILL
According to the Federal Constitution of 1957, the Agong “may act in his discretion” in only three sets of circumstances:
- appointment of the Prime Minister
- withholding of consent to the request for dissolution of Parliament
- requisition of a meeting with the Conference of Rulers.
Article 40(1) states clearly that the Agong “shall act in accordance with the advice of the Cabinet…”
Please note that he is referring to the “spirit of the Constitution” instead of just the letter. It is difficult to say where that spirit will take us to though we can all agree where that spirit should not take us to.
I’m sure you’ll agree when it comes to matters of the spirit we must tread gently and carefully.
#17 by undergrad2 on Sunday, 20 April 2008 - 2:16 am
…or else it may come back to haunt us!
#18 by akarmalaysian on Sunday, 20 April 2008 - 2:31 am
dun follow in the foot steps of our sleeping beauty.thr wont be any honeymoon years for u guys.and dun give excuses for the sake of making excuses.we people fought hard with u for the betterment of the rakyat.we gave u the tidal wave.dun make a mockery of urself.we hv high hopes on u guys.dun be like those good for nothing sss holes.oni knw how to sleep,korek and talk kok.
#19 by TTDI_KL on Sunday, 20 April 2008 - 2:52 am
I thought the constitution says the Agong must appoint someone who enjoys the confidence of the majority in the house of representative as the Prime Minister. That being the case, does he really has the discretion?
On withholding consent to the dissolution of Parliament, my question is: can Agong withhold consent when the term of the Parliament is up for re-election?
I am not sure about requisition conference of rulers.
#20 by undergrad2 on Sunday, 20 April 2008 - 3:24 am
The Agong can withhold his consent, for example, when there is a motion of no confidence against the PM which is then passed, who then calls for a dissolution of Parliament. By withholding his consent to such a request, the Agong in effect gives the party no alternative but to appoint someone who has the confidence of the majority of the party to take his place.
#21 by undergrad2 on Sunday, 20 April 2008 - 3:32 am
There are no other circumstances that I can see when the Agong could, in his capacity as Agong according to the Constitution, withhold his consent to a request for a dissolution of Parliament. He can of course go ahead and refuse but it would be ultra vires the constitution and therefore void.
#22 by fjjs on Sunday, 20 April 2008 - 4:46 am
Honestly , I was disgusted when I saw the list of 5 MPs from DAP which did not submit their questions for Parliment. It should not happen if Standard Procedures are in place. However, the timely apology and assurance that this will not happen again in the future reflects true leadership.
But, I cannot accept and shocked that experienced MPs and even Ministers from BN also did not submit their questions. What a disgrace.
Anyway, high five to PAS….not even an MP from PAS is listed.
Long Live DAP.
#23 by cucu adam on Sunday, 20 April 2008 - 5:24 am
Looking at the full list of the 29 MPs who did not submitted the questions before the dateline, it is interesting to note some of them are seasoned politicians and former ministers. It is obvious that these seasoned politicians and former ministers are not really interested to take part in the parliamentary debates and their interests are only in making money and looking after their personal interests. These people should never be given a chance to be elected again.
For those who were newly elected this time around they may be excusable and if they are to repeat the same mistake, they should be shown the exit door, and in the next election get others who are more interested to contest their MP seats.
#24 by ADAM YONG IBNI ABDULLAH on Sunday, 20 April 2008 - 6:04 am
NOW THAT IT HAPPENS, IT WILL HAPPEN – MURPHYS’ LAW.
YB Lim, i wonder why do you apologise. ? i think
1. charles anthony siantiago
2. er teck hwa
3. hiew king cheu
4. john fernadez
5. ramasamy
the above five gentlemen should apologise.
and YAB DR. RAMASAMY should be the first to apologise,being the titled yang amat berhormat, for being the deputy chief minister of penang and for being nextdoor to YAB lim guan eng.
YB lim, by initiating an apology after dear chong zemin’s enlightenment is just lliken to abdullah badawi paying compensations to the sacked judges on behalf of YABhg Tun, after aid ibrahim ‘s call for justice in the judiciary. why the five YBs cannot apologise in this blog is best known to dap inner circle.
as billgates comment, daps’ MPs and WK, dont even reply to his emails and suggestions. i bet you come the next election, Datuk Ngeh will email to you billgates. for sure, when he wants your vote.
#25 by raven77 on Sunday, 20 April 2008 - 6:12 am
You know why PAS MPs are not in the list…..because they are FOCUSED….if you are a PARLIMENTARIAN….then you must be focused to bring the people’s issues to parliment….otherwise its just dereliction of duty……let’s just all vote PAS…..they seem organised…..who knows we may even be an economic superpower….you know…less talk….more work….
#26 by ADAM YONG IBNI ABDULLAH on Sunday, 20 April 2008 - 6:18 am
as for Sir, jeffrey,
the pakatan raayat mps must first have common sense. forget about all these legal jargons of “motions and private bills”.forget about all these now. forget about telling us all these now. COMMON SENSE is very important now. and what is lacking now are the following :-
1. pakatan raayat : if it is sustainable, by the very actions of their mps ( from dap and pkr ) not fulfilling their BASIC ROLE.
2. DAP – by keeping busy in assisting Yabhg Tun in continued updating the raayat the misdeeds or no deeds of abdullah badawi, while within the states being ruled by pakatan raayat, many promises were not done. Look at the penang counsellors ( hope the spelling is right ), just who are they. ?
3. PKR- the de facto Pkr leader dsai, and the pm in waiting is busy travelling here and there, and mind you SIR YB LIM, it is not that pakatan is strong, it is because bn is weak. it is not because, i believe in pakatan, it is because i dont trust bn.
4. pas – did i read somewhere, that pas and pkr are meeting with umno guys next week. race is still blood deep. like the lims association, wongs association, this is hereditary. what are the agendas for such get togehter . COMMON SENSE AGAIN IS NEEDED.
#27 by ADAM YONG IBNI ABDULLAH on Sunday, 20 April 2008 - 6:25 am
RAVEN 77. this is what is important. FOCUS ON THE JOB, like pas is doing, focus on their job and careless about what abdullah badawi is doing or not doing.
raven – dap and pkr , most of their new mps are accidental mps, (lest i am accused of being pro bn again ). this tsunami of change will come to nothing if the dap is not focused. many a times, i have suggested that bloglimkitsing should FOCUS, on what they should do and implement, but alas, many a times, it gives FOCUS ON ABDULLAH BADAWI.
#28 by ADAM YONG IBNI ABDULLAH on Sunday, 20 April 2008 - 6:35 am
I have to break up my postings,because the beautiful moderator had reminded me , not to write too long.
YB LIM KIT SIANG, i admire you. i respect you. but as head of dap, you must be accountable for actions and inactions of all dap elected representatives. btw, i am too a stakeholder in this election, by contributing funds to your call for help. it is not the amount of monies, it is because, i trusted you. Maybe, you can gather all the DAP MPS , before the august house commence sitting, so that when the debates are on and televised “LIVE”, the DAP mps can know what is to be done.
i can only suggest that a gathering of all dap mps is important before parliament sits. have a common goal and determination . Of course if pkr and pas share the common goal , this is excellent, for which i do doubt, for pas will still be oil and dap is water and pkr is the king maker in transit. Dont underestimate bn, abdullah badawi have already had a meeting with all bn mps. the numbers of pakatan raayat mps are mere mathematical figures, IF DAP,PKR,PAS acts like bufoon in the parliament. YB lim, can called for a get together next week. bolih ke?
#29 by ADAM YONG IBNI ABDULLAH on Sunday, 20 April 2008 - 6:44 am
btw, i am not interested if all the bn mps dont forward questions. this is expected. i am more interested that all pakatan raayat mps forward questions.
#30 by ADAM YONG IBNI ABDULLAH on Sunday, 20 April 2008 - 6:46 am
someone posted that it appears that parties of pakatan raayat dont talk to each other. how can they talk, if they cannot see eye to eye;-(
#31 by ADAM YONG IBNI ABDULLAH on Sunday, 20 April 2008 - 6:50 am
i am only a commoner, so the price of rice will increase. maybe petrol price will be increased. my mee goreng is smaller potion now. i am worried. all pakatan raayat mps, deduct rm100 per month into tabung welfare for the poor please. not me.i am not poor yet, but will be poor soon.
YB lim, the apology is not from you. must be from the five mps.
#32 by David Chin on Sunday, 20 April 2008 - 7:37 am
The party briefing and training to new elected MPs is equally essential in making them understand and obliged to Rakyat expectation.
Thus, the system in the party in ensuring this from happening important. It would be inppropriate or insignificant with the apology of the party leader and not the 5 MPs. They should learn from this and this should serve as a good example to other newly elected DAP MPs. Well , again, time,attitude,understanding, commitment etc are the factors here.
#33 by Godfather on Sunday, 20 April 2008 - 7:53 am
I don’t see such a big deal here, where certain MPs have not filed their questions. I think a party should have a coordinated approach and not simply file questions individually. For example, if we think that there are 20 issues to be raised, and there are 28 MPs, then there should be some MPs who should keep quiet but be prepared for supplementary questions.
It is the quality and validity of the questions that matter – not the quantity.
#34 by undergrad2 on Sunday, 20 April 2008 - 7:54 am
“I am only a commoner, so the price of rice will increase.” ADAM
The price of rice in the U.S. has also gone up!
#35 by TTDI_KL on Sunday, 20 April 2008 - 8:16 am
I don’t think the party should be coordinating everything. The questions should rightly come from MPs, to highlight the peculiarity of each constituency as well as to provide diversity of views. Of course as DAP MPs, they should know the overall party policy. We must bear in mind that not all question filed will be answered orally. From past experience, at most about 8 to 10 questions are answered during each session orally although the questions tabled for the day could be as many as more than 40. So, it is important that all MPs from DAP ask questions because the most questions asked, the most livelihood the questions will be answered orally which will then provide opportunity for supplementary questions. If the questions are not answered orally, there is no possibility of supplementary questions.
I think it is good that Sdr Lim highlights this issue early so that DAP MPs are kept in their toes, although it is was Chang ZeMin who brought it up first. It is good Sdr Lim, as party elder, apologised on behalf although it will be better to hear what the MPs concerned have to say. Being busy and inexperience are simply not good enough reasons. It shows complete lack of enthusiasm and interest.
#36 by ADAM YONG IBNI ABDULLAH on Sunday, 20 April 2008 - 8:18 am
but undergrad,rice is staple food for malaysian. tq
#37 by Godfather on Sunday, 20 April 2008 - 8:30 am
“Being busy and inexperience are simply not good enough reasons. It shows complete lack of enthusiasm and interest.”
Wow! We have a very unforgiving electorate !
#38 by Jeffrey on Sunday, 20 April 2008 - 8:41 am
///If the first timers have less passion to ask questions in parliament, do you think they have the same passion on propose bill and make laws?/// -ckloh
Of course not, you TTDI_KL ADAM YONG IBNI ABDULLAH are all right, first thing first, they have to learn baby steps of asking question – esp when that is part of their job in the for entire term as opposition parliamentarian – before making or repealing laws.
That’s however not the drift of what I am trying to say. There may be reason for their lapse. I am saying that big and experienced opposition guns have not coached their baby MPs on procedures because there are other priorities, big guns are planning on a big initiative soon, the opposition does not intend to be the opposition for rest of term asking questions. Baby MPs are not making laws themselves but for now are useful to play their most immediate role of getting ready to make up numbers to vote for or against some bill that would be initiated by big guns at some point of time soon to defeat and replace the national government. Our self critique and making big deal of the new Opposition MPs lapse in not filing questions in time merely give Mainstream papers opportunity to highlight on first page to national audience Opposition MPs shortcomings (without highlighting BN’s side). To be fair to those Opposition MPs in default, so to speak, we have made a big issue of something that is really not at this moment because of an overriding Opposition agenda that will be pushed for soon.
#39 by Short-sleeve on Sunday, 20 April 2008 - 8:52 am
“Wow! We have a very unforgiving electorate !” – Godfather
Did you forgive Pak Lah & BN??
We expect our Wakil Rakyats to work and represent us, not forget about things. Yes, this may be the first time BUT if we are really serious in wanting to form the next government, nothing is too petty.
#40 by pulau_sibu on Sunday, 20 April 2008 - 9:00 am
I suggest to cut their salaries
Whatever mistakes made, they should be punished.
#41 by KanNinNeh on Sunday, 20 April 2008 - 9:17 am
Uncle Kit,
Does DAP have any Performance Measurement ?
#42 by skyquest2000 on Sunday, 20 April 2008 - 9:22 am
You guys who supported DAPs and PKRs will have more to see. This is only beginning. No only you disappointed, my whole gangs members who voted for change feel the same too.
Soon, youe will Datuk KOK and Datul Ronnie from Selangor as well. Where to find time to answer your questions. Forget it. Wait for the next election.
#43 by Godfather on Sunday, 20 April 2008 - 9:37 am
You guys don’t even know what was asked, whether they were relevant, etc. If an MP were to ask “what are the break times at Parliament?”, he would be on the list of those who asked questions. He would qualify for the simple criterion of asking at least one question.
Stop condemning people until you know exactly what has transpired. PAS MPs may have asked questions, but until we find out what those questions are, whether they were relevant, whether there were duplications, we should not praise them for their efficiency either.
#44 by Godfather on Sunday, 20 April 2008 - 9:39 am
We have all given Badawi 5 years to perform. I did not question whether he had asked a question in his first session of Parliament 5 years ago.
#45 by drngsc on Sunday, 20 April 2008 - 10:07 am
Hi KIT,
Let me add my little voice. The whole country is watching the effects of March 8th. Please do not let us down. Tell the boys, ” those who are good at making excuses are good at nothing else “. They must buck up. We expect you to lead, too. Please turn the party machinery from opposition mode to leading the country mode.
#46 by IamMalaysian on Sunday, 20 April 2008 - 10:11 am
Very good to see MPs are under more scrutiny! Hope to see DAP leadership monitor their MPs performances closely and please soldier on and work as a unit!
#47 by Bigjoe on Sunday, 20 April 2008 - 10:30 am
I have been involved in new ventures and organization for two decades and there is always immaturity in any such effort. The point is to deal with it maturely.
My advise to Sdr. Lim, Anwar and Husam is to make sure their reps get the message this is not High-school. If they behave like it is, then mommy/daddy will take away their toys….
#48 by BernieBaby on Sunday, 20 April 2008 - 10:41 am
Baptism of Fire for the DAP-5 . Not sure about their experience but I have to agree with Godfather here ‘on what is relevant should be asked’.
We also need to support them as much as they need to support us.
We have both ‘seen’ and heard a whole lot of empty vessels making a whole lot of noise pollution during these sessions.
My impression of the DAP-5 are that they are learned and will perform over time. Never judge a book by it’s cover, lets read a few chapters before deciding if it’s crap or not.
Perhaps we could also present our questions for parliamentary meeting to our representatives ?
#49 by ReformMalaysia on Sunday, 20 April 2008 - 10:49 am
8 of these MPs are Sarawak’s BN MPs. -
Sarawak BN won 30 of 31 parliament seat contested. Now of the 8 of the 30(27%)BN MPs did not do their jobs properly….shows many Sarawak voters voted wrong candidates…….probably too ignorant or naive!
And 8 of total 29 – its is 28% from Sarawak BN MPs…….
How about Kuala Kangsar MP? Seasoned MP, no more in travelling doing MITI function, no more in charge of AP….. but did not do her homework! It is high time to retire, Rafidah!
#50 by ADAM YONG IBNI ABDULLAH on Sunday, 20 April 2008 - 11:18 am
godfather.
A WRONG IS A WRONG.
diehard supporter of dap can also correct wrong.
first time MP: so what. if they made a msitake, we can certainly admonished them. especially so,when they talk about responsibility, accountability and the RAAYAT FIRST before elected.
abdullah badawi is a poor comparison . thats why we voted for pakatan raayat.
ANYONE check on the penang appointed councillors ? boys will be boys!!