5 DAP MPs did not submit a single question for Parliament – apologies

I was taken aback when Chong Zemin put up the post that a blog had disclosed that there are 29 MPs who did not submit a question for the coming parliamentary meeting starting at the end of the month, and that five of them are from DAP.
The five DAP MPs cited are:

• Charles Anthony Santiago – Klang

• Er Teck Hwa – Bakri

• Hiew King Cheu – Kota Kinabalu

• John Fernandez – Seremban

• Dr. P. Ramasamy – Batu Kawan

I have checked with the five DAP MPs and they have confirmed the mistake of missing the deadline for the submission of questions, i.e. April 8, 2008, for the month-long inaugural meeting of the 12th Parliament starting on April 28 – although they would still be able to take part in the supplementary question stage of the daily 90-minute question time.

The Party had reminded DAP MPs not to miss the deadline for questions and lose the opportunity to pose questions in the first meeting of Parliament (an important aspect of the work of Opposition parliamentarians) but mistakes are still being made.

Work pressures as new elected representatives, lack of experience with parliamentary standing orders and breakdown of communications have contributed to the five DAP MPs not fielding a single question for the first meeting of the 12th Parliament.

These are not acceptable excuses as voters in the March 8 “political tsunami” have high expectations of DAP MPs and they have the right to expect the new batch of Opposition MPs to live up to a higher benchmark of parliamentary performance and to subject them to scrutiny.

The Party leadership will ensure that these mistakes will not be repeated in the rest of the current parliamentary term

The five DAP MPs and the DAP apologise for this regrettable episode.

Print Friendly

1. #1 by malaysia born on Saturday, 19 April 2008 - 6:27 pm

AT least there IS an acknowledgement that a mistake was made and an assurance that it won’t be repeated again. That is something as compared to the elegant silence from BN.

NOW if this is not accountabilty, then I really don’t know what else is.

Something tell me that things are changing for the better in Malaysia. Damm…It is starting to feel good about being a Malaysian.

2. #2 by boh-liao on Saturday, 19 April 2008 - 6:38 pm

Unless some MPs want to be just longkang MPs, while collecting various titles!

3. #3 by naked taliban on Saturday, 19 April 2008 - 6:43 pm

MP baru, bagi sedikit masa.

4. #4 by syncbasher83 on Saturday, 19 April 2008 - 7:07 pm

full list over here….
    http://iamamalaysian.wordpress.com/2008/04/18/the-height-of-irresponsibility-29-mps-did-not-submit-parliamentary-questions/

wow, NO PAS?
    impressive, really impressive…PAS attitude lately really impressive…

5. #5 by syncbasher83 on Saturday, 19 April 2008 - 7:08 pm

hmmm hopefully jealousy wont b the only response toward my post above and hopefully others do learn from what PAS has done lately…

6. #6 by kickbutt on Saturday, 19 April 2008 - 7:23 pm

The honorable thing for these MPs to do now is to donate their monthly allowance for this month to the Old Folks Home.

7. #7 by undergrad2 on Saturday, 19 April 2008 - 7:26 pm

This is a smack in the bottoms of voters who put their trust in them. How would they feel to get their bottoms smacked??!

8. #8 by catharsis on Saturday, 19 April 2008 - 7:26 pm

Unlce Lim your 40 years of political experience should be translated into a Standard Operating Procedure (SOP) for the new members of your party follow and adhere to. It never too late if there is a will

9. #9 by waterfrontcoolie on Saturday, 19 April 2008 - 7:42 pm

We can only hope that the sense of euphoria and honeymoon is over! Back to serious work.
    By the way, I met YB Sr. Exco T. Kok for the first time, can I suggest that she should remember she is no more talking to the street crowd. She needs to remember that she carries the hope and inspiration of Selangor voters. So please SPRUCE it up and please change your sing song style of public speaking.
    By the way, since the Selangor State Gomen has resolved the toll issue for the ppl living in Mahkota Lion, can it also look at the same issue along the Federal 1?. Please join up all the parallel roads alondside this toll road. I believe all the land on both sides of this ILLEGAL TOLL is State controlled. So just link up all these roads and see how the toll collector react!!

10. #10 by tsuchong on Saturday, 19 April 2008 - 7:44 pm

It takes great courage, humility, and pride to admit mistakes like this and apologize from them.

Pak Lah and gang should learn from uncle kit, and apologize to Tun Salleh Abbas.

11. #11 by catharsis on Saturday, 19 April 2008 - 7:56 pm

The members of the opposition should get together to brainstorm and plan their questioning concertedly and convergingly to impact on a better outcome before each session- TEAM WORKING FOR A BETTER OUTCOME

12. #12 by LALILOo on Saturday, 19 April 2008 - 7:57 pm

All of them are new MP’s, I presumed.

It’s okay and we won’t crucify you all for the mistake. You’re new and the euphoria still have not died down yet. All of a sudden, you’re all now something else, compared to more that a month ago.

We understand. But just don’t make that a habit-lah!

13. #13 by Loyal Malaysian on Saturday, 19 April 2008 - 7:59 pm

Mistake committed, mistake pointed out, mistake acknowledged , apology made and promise of non recurrence.
    Thank you to Chong Zemin for helping to keep tabs and making it public knowledge.
    Let’s not be too harsh -they are indeed first time MP’s, hopefully they’ll perform their expected duties more diligently now.

14. #14 by catharsis on Saturday, 19 April 2008 - 7:59 pm

TAKE HEED…………..If these question and answer sessions are to be televised live- it would be a good platform to position yourselves as the effective PEOPLE CHOICES and PEOPLE MOUTH PIECES in parliament

15. #15 by catharsis on Saturday, 19 April 2008 - 8:01 pm

FIRST IMPRESSION IS ALWAYS A LASTING IMPRESSION……………

BEWARE THOUGH, IT ALSO APPLIES TO NEGATIVE IMPRESSION

16. #16 by billgates on Saturday, 19 April 2008 - 8:09 pm

Dear YB Kit,

May I also add. The DAP Exco of Perak did not even set up any blogs nor answer any emails posted to their respective name@perak.gov.my

I wonder if they ever read those emails that we sent??? As a Perakian who have voted the new government in, I am a bit disappointed. I don’t expect them to serve 24×7 but at least response.

Remember during the ceramah prior to the 12th GE, some of you raised the issue of Paklah setting up the warkah untuk pm’ website and you fellas expect response from him!

http://pakatanrakyat-perak.blogspot.com

17. #17 by ShiokGuy on Saturday, 19 April 2008 - 8:25 pm

Unlce Lim

I am very disappointed! So pissed off I even trying to comfort myself saying that.. may be they dont know what we want to ask… May be..

So I setup the following

“Questions for PR’s MP”
    http://shiokguy.blogspot.com/2008/04/questions-for-mp-who-dont-have-one.html

Ask your MP to check it regularly and i will post more as I go..

Shiok Guy
    http://shiokguy.blogspot.com/

18. #18 by novice101 on Saturday, 19 April 2008 - 8:28 pm

One voter’s reaction and opinion!

My reaction on reading this, is one of total disbelief! Countless questions flooded my mind. How can this happen? How can this be allowed to happened? Why on earth, do these people offered themselves for election, in the first instance? What motivated them, then? How can the motivation disappear so fast? Do they have any principles or are they just plain opportunists? Who do they think the voters are – just brainless idiots! Are these newly-minted MPs aware of the duties and responsibilities of a MP? Have the parties they represent play its proper roles?

Do our opinions still count with these parties and these MPs? I have decided to overlook this. I will attribute this negligence to the inexperience of the parties and the MPs. I will even offer an excuse, on their behalf – too much demands with too little time!

But just in case they mistake my magnanimosity for stupidity, I will issue them a warning – no more seat-warming from now on! We voted for you to represent us in parliament, so work you must!

For the leaders in DAP and PKR – your delinquent statistical percentages are 18% and 29% respectively. These do not speak well of your sense of responsibility! I cannot discern any difference between your MPs and those from the BN. I voted for you because I want to have a difference – I want you to provide the check and balance in parliament! Please show me you are up to the tasks

19. #19 by mymy on Saturday, 19 April 2008 - 8:33 pm

my..my…this totally unacceptable…are this guys bunch of std one kids..who need to be reminded…this clearly shows signs of ignorant or uneffecient communication from top level to bottom level….sometimes do make make me wander are they fit to be WAKIL RAKYAT…..Uncle Kit plse make sure this does not repeat im very SAD and angry..or come next election MP Klang you wont get me and my family’s vote….
    ps. if not mistaken klang mp do have a blog and so many articles written…dont tell me cant even raise one single question…….like they call me MY..MY… we in klang are drowning with so many complain and issue…like i said PLSE turun padang then you will know what we klang ppl mean.

20. #20 by Chong Zhemin on Saturday, 19 April 2008 - 8:43 pm

Uncle Kit,

I hope that the people will accept your sincere apology. Let’s hope that this issue will be rested when DAP MPs start to fire tough questions to the BN Minister in the coming parliamentary session. Thanks for this prompt response. At least there is some damage control now.

21. #21 by undergrad2 on Saturday, 19 April 2008 - 8:45 pm

If this is any indication of what is to come, then the opposition should be ashamed!

All this talk about ‘change’ for these MPs will have to start with changing themselves.

22. #22 by undergrad2 on Saturday, 19 April 2008 - 8:51 pm

The blog has this to say:

“We do not need seat warmers in Parliament. We do not need people who are there for the position and perks and insist on being addressed as YBs wherever they may appear. We do not need slimeballs/ovarians in the august house. We do not need opportunists, period. Get out if you have any dignity!”

23. #23 by shadow on Saturday, 19 April 2008 - 8:55 pm

Haiah! Uncle Kit you don’t need to appologise mah. We understand that your MPs are very busy and we know they won’t do that again. We are always for you guys.

24. #24 by undergrad2 on Saturday, 19 April 2008 - 8:57 pm

It is only fair that the full list be disclosed here.

1. Abd. Rahman bin Bakri – Sabak Bernam – BN
    2. Datuk Haji Wahab bin Haji Dolah – Igan – BN
    3. Dato’ Dr Abdullah bin Md Zin – Besut – BN
    4. Ahmad Lai bin Bujang – Sibuti – BN
    5. Datuk Anifah bin Aman @ Haniff Amman – Kimanis – BN
    6. Abit Joo Hulu – Rajang – BN
    7. Ding Kuong Hiing – Sarikei – BN
    8. Datuk Seri Dr Jamaluddin bin Mohd Jarjis – Rompin – BN
    9. Dato’ Dr James Dawos Mamit – Mambong – BN
    10. Dato’ Seri Mohd Radzi bin Sheikh Ahmad – Kangar – BN
    11. Dato’ Sri Muhammad Leo Michael Toyad Abdullah – Mukah – BN
    12. Dato’ Seri Rafidah binti Aziz – Kuala Kangsar – BN
    13. Datuk Dr Tekhee @ Tiki Anak Lafe Mas – Gading – BN
    14. William @ Nyallau Anak Badak Lubok – Antu – BN
    15. Datuk Haji Yusoff Bin Mahal – Labuan – BN
    16. Charles Anthony a/l R Santiago – Klang – DAP
    17. Er Teck Hwa – Bakri – DAP
    18. Hiew King Cheu – Kota Kinabalu – DAP
    19. John a/l Fernandez – Seremban – DAP
    20. Prof Dr P Ramasamy a/l Palanisamy – Batu Kawan – DAP
    21. Abdullah Sani bin Abdul Hamid – Kuala Langat – PKR
    22. Haji Ahmad Kassim – Kuala Kedah – PKR
    23. Chua Tian Chang – Batu – PKR
    24. Gobalakrishnan a/l Nagapan – Padang Serai – PKR
    25. Dato’ Kamarul Baharin Abbas – Telok Kemang – PKR
    26. Manikavasagam A/L Sundaram – Kapar – PKR
    27. Dato’ Rashid Bin Din – Merbok – PKR
    28. William Leong Jee Keen – Selayang – PKR
    29. Datuk Dr Zainal Abidin Bin Ahmad – Hulu Selangor – PKR

25. #25 by sheriff singh on Saturday, 19 April 2008 - 9:05 pm

They forget too easily……..that their resposibilities have only just begun.

With so many MPs and SAs now, the DAP should come up with a Secretariat to co-ordinate things. And whack your slacking MPs and SAs.

We did not elect sleeping MPs. Do your part.

We are watching you. We wont forgive you next time.

26. #26 by allasstra on Saturday, 19 April 2008 - 9:18 pm

1st strike,…one down,…2 to go….

27. #27 by undergrad2 on Saturday, 19 April 2008 - 9:29 pm

The 5 DAP MPs and the 9 PKR MPs must be made to do the “ketuk ketampi” or the Arnold Schwarzenegger squat for 50 times.

Make you choice and let’s move on.

28. #28 by sheriff singh on Saturday, 19 April 2008 - 9:34 pm

The “Mat Rempits” of Sabah? Why no action against these thugs?

“Assemblyman Jimmy Wong assaulted

Saturday, 19 April 2008
    By Christy Chok, BORENO POST

TAWAU: Sri Tanjung Assemblyman Jimmy Wong was assaulted by one of the committee members of a motorcycle convoy when he was looking into public complaints about traffic obstruction in front of Tawau Municipal Council (TMC) yesterday.

Jimmy, who is the sole opposition Assemblyman in Sabah, said he met the organizing chairman and committee about 10am after receiving complaints from the public on the obstruction which made it difficult for them to find parking space there during office hours.

The committee asked him to have a drink first while waiting for the convoy to clear the site within half an hour, but he refused as he wishes to solve the matter immediately.

“We were still discussing the matter inside the TMC building and there were about 30 people. Suddenly, they scolded me when I was still discussing with them in a low voice,” he said.

“I told them I was there just to discuss with them the road-blocking problem faced by the public. It was unfair for the public to wait for the completion of the convoy as they suffer from parking space problem on a working day.

“After that, we carried out our discussion outside TMC. The situation became very tense until one of the committee members assaulted and punched on my chest.

They also pulled the shirt of his assistant Francis Chong.

“I was shocked but I did not run away because I am responsible to solve the problem as soon as possible,” Jimmy said.

According to him, he felt very thankful as they did no assault me seriously.

Jimmy said he will not lodge a police report even though he went to have a medical examination, as he wants the matter to end quickly.

It was learned that the event started at 8am and obstruction happened at the area of MayBank to Public Bank of Fajar.

The road was reopened to the public some 10 minutes after the alleged assault.

Jimmy said exhibitions and other public events should not be held at the area during weekdays. “

29. #29 by humanly on Saturday, 19 April 2008 - 9:50 pm

YB Kit,

It’s not fair to hammer the MPs who did not submit questions on the first sitting. A better assessment of performance is over a period of time with quarterly review. I don’t expect supermen out of our MPs. The voters must also do their part to make them better MPs. But don’t make impossibe demands on them that the MPs must carry out their every wish. The MPs are not to please everybody but do what is right for the greater good.

30. #30 by Jeffrey on Saturday, 19 April 2008 - 10:09 pm

DAP MPs may be pardoned for not submitting questions because they are new to the game and parliamentary procedures. They are criticized for being elected, reposed voters’ trust, not being on top of things and not doing their jobs by not asking questions.

But are we ourselves asking right questions?

When opposition members are few, they ask questions of government to establish accountability.

But now opposition members are neck to neck with BN and if we believe DSAI Opposition has numbers (with undisclosed crossovers etc) to win by majority vote of no confidence to take over government.

If you can vote to take over government can’t the Opposition introduce new laws, repeal bad ones by private member bills???

Why waste time asking question when you can initiate change of law.

Think of the implications : changing the laws relating to corruption like Anti Corruption Act, the ones curtailing press freedom like Printing Press Publication Act, introducing Freedom of Information Act, amending the ISA to make ministerial discretion subject to judicial review or even repealing it etc.

When Zaid was MP he tried to introduce by private members bill namely the Malaysia Press Council Bill to establish the press self-regulatory body, today if such a bill were introduced, its chances of being passed are greater.

My point is Opposition MPs are today not what they were before 8th March, a minority who could not do anything except asking government questions. Today they are there to initiate new laws and repeal bad ones and have the numbers to support these initiatives.

So look at the larger picture, think big and don’t dwell on small things. Their role now is to initiate legislative change to solve the nation’s ill rather than just ask questions to make the BN look stupid. The power is already in your hands – via Private Members Bills. Get organized in this area….

31. #31 by alphoti on Saturday, 19 April 2008 - 10:14 pm

1st, I’m from Sarawak & Congratulations to Sarawakian for voting overwhelmingly for BN! Left 1 for DAP only.

2nd, Congratulations to Sarawakian again because out of the 29 MPs who do not submit questions, 8 is from Sarawak! ie. 27.59%. We have the largest number of BN MP from Sarawak, ie 30, but 26.67% do not even bother to submit any questions. Come on, WAKE UP, Sarawakian!

Hope to see some changes when State Election come in 2 years time. DAP, PAS & Keadilan, please do your homeworks fast in Sarawak. We need changes.

32. #32 by alberttye on Saturday, 19 April 2008 - 10:22 pm

We must thank Mr Chong Zemin for his survelaince on the parliamentary performance of MPs.
    Though we can excuse the 5 MPs for their novice debut, it should be the last time this kind of thing should be allowed to happen.
    High standard must be maintained for DAP MPs. The alternative is obvious !
    Does the DAP have its own sergeant-at-arms ?

33. #33 by toyolbuster on Saturday, 19 April 2008 - 10:33 pm

Kit,
    We greatly appreciate your swift apology and I trust your sincerity. Many of us here have given our fullest support to the BR/PR, plus, we had gone all out to persuade our friends and family members to make extra effort to vote for BR/PR candidates in the GE12. The least we would expect is perhaps a joint apology by the careless 5, and a statement to reassure us that it was a genuine “greenhorn” oversight, and it won’t happen again.

34. #34 by toyolbuster on Saturday, 19 April 2008 - 10:35 pm

Similarly, we would also expect the same apologies from PKR MPs. Bravo to PAS.

35. #35 by TTDI_KL on Saturday, 19 April 2008 - 10:38 pm

High hope lah, if asking questions also cannot, want to propose private member bills.

Come to think of it, asking question is about the easier thing to do lah. If no question, may be these MPs don’t know what the heck is going on the country lah.

36. #36 by TTDI_KL on Saturday, 19 April 2008 - 10:40 pm

Next time these MPs got nothing to ask, may be they should come here more often lah, plenty of ideas here, right?

37. #37 by showsomemercy on Saturday, 19 April 2008 - 10:41 pm

Won’t happen again. No worries on that… I have 100% trust on DAP representatives! :) PAS got 0!!! Hebat…!!! Impressive…

38. #38 by ppsbmy on Saturday, 19 April 2008 - 10:42 pm

Where’s the shadow cabinet?

Did you ask them to cut their own salary by RM10?

No more of this please!

39. #39 by TTDI_KL on Saturday, 19 April 2008 - 10:45 pm

Sdr Lim trying to cover for these MPs lah, saying may be they are busy or inexperience. Come on, Sdr Lim, Guan Eng and other national leaders not busy meh, why they still got time to submit questions. May i know what is this Ramasamy’s contribution to DAP for being given so much privileges and positions.

40. #40 by kickbutt on Saturday, 19 April 2008 - 10:56 pm

“If you can vote to take over government can’t the Opposition introduce new laws, repeal bad ones by private member bills???” Jeffrey

You cannot hope to do all that by private member bills! Most would never get passed anyway.

41. #41 by tswern on Saturday, 19 April 2008 - 10:57 pm

Uncle Kit,

We hope the reps should be more carefull next time. Mistakes made are forgiven this time, but please do not repeat them again.

Yes, please get the guilty to donate their allowance to charity.

42. #42 by alancheah on Saturday, 19 April 2008 - 11:08 pm

Not only to MPs, but to ADUNs, please make sure
    that you all always listen to RAKYAT’s voice.

Do the RIGHT thing RIGHT.

Many of us are eyeing on you people’s performance,
    and will make comparion with those previous ADUNs
    and MPs.

Whatever you all have promised to RAKYAT, please
    fulfill and make them HAPPEN!

We REALLY got VERY HIGH EXPECTATIONS
    on you people.

43. #43 by myop101 on Saturday, 19 April 2008 - 11:15 pm

Dear Uncle Kit,

Given the rather large number of newbie elected representatives, perhaps DAP can organise a mass reminder via e-mails or SMSes on important dates? This will certainly help if they are too busy.

In return, they should contribute a fixed allowance to DAP to sustain this service?

44. #44 by izrafeil on Saturday, 19 April 2008 - 11:20 pm

Uncle Lim,

In my organisation where I work, there are oversight committee, reputational risk committee, internal audit, compliance officers. COMPLIANCE OFFICER i would view as most important as they keep checking and rechecking our work so they are in compliance. Maybe you can adopt one of those.

In anycase 100 days is approaching. We would like you to table your 100 days report soon. Jangan malukan pengundi….
    thanks

45. #45 by cancan on Saturday, 19 April 2008 - 11:24 pm

Where do our politicians stand – a dimwit,intelligent or an evil?

Link: http://www.kingsmary.spot.com/

46. #46 by ahpiow on Saturday, 19 April 2008 - 11:26 pm

Given their inexperience and busy workload, first time is excusable.

Use an organiser to remind on urgent appointments. Get a Personal Asst or secretary to keep track. These are affordable necessities.

PR, keep the pressure on the opposition in the states, and on the ruling BN govt, particularly UMNO.

47. #47 by ckloh on Saturday, 19 April 2008 - 11:42 pm

Each candidates can only submit 15 questions, 10 of which are meant to be responded to orally during Parliamentary Q & A sessions, while the remainder 5 will be given written responses. In addition, each question limited to 40 words.

Some MPs already published their questions in their blog, for more info, you can visit Tony’s, Po Kuan’s and Nie Ching’s blog to view all the 15 questions asked by them. Good for them to practice transparency, hope more MPs from DAP follow the good practice.

Now there are 82 MPs from Pakatan, to ensure balance and check, and 82 X 15 = 1230 questions to be answered by BN. Even in the first session, with only 68 MPs from Pakatan, it stills 68 x 15 = 1020 questions to be asked to BN to be answered.

From the articles from Chong Zemin, I am surprised, not because the 14 MPs does not submit the questions. But DAP. PKR and PAS does not talk to each others so that all the 1000s questions asked are not repetitive questions and waste all the MPs time in parliament and leave other questions unasked. Do expect questions on hot issues like Sharline and etc. will be asked by more than 1 MPs, if not checked.

I would suggest and expect a person is hired/in charge, and all the 82 MPs will submit all the 15 questions to the person in charge to compile, 1 week before the parliament submission dateline. And if there are repetitive questions, both MPS are informed and it is their decision to change the question.

By doing this,
    1) All the 82 MPs will be checked by the person in charge to meet the dateline of quesiton submission.
    2) Quality of the questions can be controlled, no repetitive questions thus save each other time.
    3) Generally, the Pakatan leaders can derives statistics which ministry has the most questions, and ensure the ministry that does not have questions be asked, so that they don’t terima gaji buta.
    4) And also shadow cabinets, if derived, will ensure all the questions are properly answered of their cabinets in charge. If the ministry does not give a good answer, the shadow cabinets may go 1 step further to make press conference and etc. on the answer given by the ministry in charge.

By doing this, hopefully we have a first class parliament. 1000s of quality questions are asked, those that can’t take the pressure to answers those questions will be eliminated soon, and only the fittest will stay in the ministry and answer the question.

This Q&A session is important for everyone to prove themselves, either they are from the government or the opposition. If the ministry in charge dare to give lousy answer, ensure it is transparent to the rakyat. The rakyat will vote them out next election.

And also for opposition who asked stupid question, the rakyat will vote them out too.

48. #48 by ckloh on Saturday, 19 April 2008 - 11:53 pm

In short, I am suggesting a Pakatan’s parliamentary secretary is chosen, and his/her jobs are to compile the questions asked by all the 82 MPS and also made a summary of answer from all the 27 federal ministry.

If possible, make a blog for this purpose, and the rakyat will know which ministry give stupid answer. Those that can’t perform and answer for their ministry, will be transparent to the public, and it is public choice whether to choose them again on next election.

49. #49 by miwaki on Saturday, 19 April 2008 - 11:58 pm

Uncle Kit,
    Not to worry,these MPs just want to observe the level of intelligence of our ministers before they launch their attack the second round.With so many people asking questions ,ministers have to copy their answers from each other and work throughout the night.

50. #50 by badak on Sunday, 20 April 2008 - 12:01 am

What lah.. if you see the names of the 5 DAP MPs ..they are all first timers,I know its wrong but kasi chance …lahhh..Give some time i know this 5 MPs will do a good job.There will more sitting of Parliment.

1 2 3 4

Comments are closed.