Popular Tamil daily, Tamil Makkalosai, has been suspended for a week by none other than the Home Minister, Datuk Seri Syed Hamid Albar himself for giving too much coverage of Pakatan Rakyat news.
With immediate effect, Tamil Makkalosai will not appear in the streets until next week, awaiting the fate of its appeal to the Home Minister.
Is this the first sign of repression and crackdown on human rights and the little space opening up in the printed media after the March 8 “political tsunami”?
It is clear that the decision to stop the publication of Tamil Makkalosai, which is still awaiting for its KDN this year, has got the “green-light” from the Cabinet meeting this morning.
Why did the Ministers, particularly from Umno and other Barisan Nasional component parties, particularly from the MIC, who have promised to end their subsidiary and subservient role in Cabinet , agreed to such a repressive measure as to immediately close down Tamil Makkalosai?

#1 by allasstra on Thursday, 17 April 2008 - 2:47 am
why they banned the makkal osai ???
[a] to promote strisand effect…
[b] to pave way for future *error 404*
[c] just becos it still can be done
[d] to set an example for the others…
#2 by gofortruth on Thursday, 17 April 2008 - 3:19 am
These are “Royal” police or “BN” police? If these are in fact Royal police, then the name of our Agong is being badly projected here:-
http://www.christian-journey.com/tribute-for-tian-chuas-heroic-act-for-the-coalition-for-clean-and-fair-elections/
#3 by undergrad2 on Thursday, 17 April 2008 - 6:18 am
“The April 14 rally by PKR was given wide coverage with good size photographs of Anwar wearing a garland of flowers. The move by the Home Ministry to deny Makkal Ossai a licence will re-ignite the debate over the Printing Presses and Publications Act.”
This is why a simple majority would not do. You can’t repeal repressive legislation such as this. Would a strong opposition in Parliament make a difference? Not in our Parliament!
Have there been instances when government MPs voted in favor of a motion introduced by the Opposition?
#4 by Jeffrey on Thursday, 17 April 2008 - 6:33 am
Does suspension of Tamil Makkalosai represent first sign of repression and crackdown?
A different signal is given by government’s standard bearer, NST. In a rare front-page editorial, NST 16th April defended AAB against growing calls within UMNO calling for his resignation; said March 8th Tsunami was everyone else’s fault, not just PM, and NST openly admitted that :
“The truth is that the people have long been disgusted with the kind of boorish, loutish behaviour that Umno leaders had exemplified because of their grip on power since indepen Abdullah is not solely to be blamed and everything will not suddenly be all well again if he goes. Umno, from the roots to the high branches, all have to share the blame for their silence, their greed, arrogance and shenanigans that have turned off voters.”
NST has singled out two top Umno leaders for criticism – Umno Youth chief Hishammuddin Onn and former Selangor mentri besar Dr Mohd Khir Toyo.
“Brandishing the keris was hurtful to the non-Malays but the party leadership did nothing to take the Umno Youth chief to task for the menacing and insulting gesture.
“Which was why he (Hishammuddin) was emblodened to repeat it and provide extra impetus for the Chinese and Indians to abandon BN at the polls.”
Khir Toyo was lambasted for the “desecration of the (Hindu) temple” under his watch as mentri besar as well as awarding a broom to a top government servant, a gesture which has enraged the civil service.
Thank you NST – and Kalimullah.
#5 by undergrad2 on Thursday, 17 April 2008 - 6:48 am
Too little too late isn’t it??
#6 by Jeffrey on Thursday, 17 April 2008 - 7:07 am
(Continuation) What does this signify?
Two forces are raging within ruling circle.
1. Forces calling for AB’s political demise and
2. Forces resisting –
Forces 1 (call them the “M Forces”) never wanted change, opposing AAB from day one. Even today they blame AB for 8th March debacle. This is convenient. If AAB were the one responsible, then it is not the fault of the rest and the rest could carry on with what they were doing. These M Forces are the people who would influence suspension of Tamil Makkalosai, resist release of Hindraf’s leaders and even punish former sessions court judge Zunaidah Mohd Idris for earlier releasing them on sedition charges. They just want to blame anybody for helping Hindraf because Hindraf for stirring as catalyst Indian voters in particular and other Malaysians in general against the mighty BN.
I unreservedly support NST’s position and all forces in 2 – to admit and not engage in denial of their own faults blaming AB for everything. Because without admission, there can be no reform, just perpetuation of you know who’s legacy….
You will see clearly who stirs M Forces. The purpose is to protect a certain political legacy that AAB is blamed as an unwitting agent of its unraveling, as evinced on March 8th . If legacy were unraveled, so does immunity from accountability. NST seems to be opposed to M Forces. We should know why someone in NST has been described, with vintage tradmark sarcasm, as having power of “Hindu God and Muslim Priest”!!!!!
The great contest for the soul of Malaysia is : allow the continuance of that political legacy and all it stands for – or fight tooth and nail to dismantle it and oppose M Forces.
You can see even today how he reaches to cajole encourage and fight to perpetuate the political legacy by unseating incumbent to be replaced by men protective of it.
Many Malaysians don’t agree. They voted resoundingly on March 8th for an disparate Opposition led by his nemesis that he punished. What does that mean??
Yet he perseveres, he doesn’t get it. Malaysians old enough – think! What was life before his advent into the stage and what happened steadily after??? It has never been the same since then.
#7 by Joetan on Thursday, 17 April 2008 - 7:19 am
BN has not changed at all. They are still using their bully tactic to silence and blind the eyes of the malaysian. They have not learnt anything from the GE12. Dont they know that by controlling and banning the media they are only pushing the malaysians to the alternative media? Malaysians will be more eager to get their alternative news thru the blogs and websites and are even prepare to listen to the rumours even if it is untrue.
#8 by ktteokt on Thursday, 17 April 2008 - 7:29 am
With all these INTERNAL FIGHTS, is UMNO still fit to hang up the sign UNITED MALAYS NATIONAL ORGANIZATION (UMNO) on the roof top of PWTC?????? Just how UNITED are they??????
#9 by twistedmind on Thursday, 17 April 2008 - 7:33 am
The next will be The Sun, while Citizen Nades and Terence Fernandez will both be thrown in under ISA.
Would our media be fine then?
Of course not!
Malaysians awakening is in the midst and its going to get bolder.
BN might not make it to year end………
#10 by Jeffrey on Thursday, 17 April 2008 - 7:35 am
Too little too late isn’t it?? – Undergrad2
Maybe but still at least someone somewhere acknowledges the depredations of a certain political culture and legacy that someone else is trying very hard to perpetuate by deposing current incumbent.
What was life before the advent of that person into the political stage?
You have said it well in the other thread on Islamic state and I quote:
“Should Malays expect a return to the era of Tunku (who loved whisky, poker and horses, and women – not necessarily in that order), Razak and Hussein Onn, when religion was a personal matter, when you could then eat at Chinese restaurants all over PJ Newtown and had second helpings of char koay teow, drink Anchor, Carlsberg and Tiger beer by the jars at Pines and pubs scattered all over KL and PJ, smoked weed at discos at Time Tunnel along Jalan Ampang and The Cellar in PJ, dressed in revealing miniskirts and tank tops and do whatever you chose to do including Saturday nights “kereta rosak” along Jln. Damansara with your hot boyfriend or girlfriend when the police could be counted upon to provide security, when nobody gave so much as a second look at you, and when there was no moral police around to spoil your fun. Not to forget Rose Chan and her many young and sexy apprentices, when smoking acquired a new meaning and ping pong balls had nothing to do with the game of ping pong?” – Undergrad2
It was a time when Malays Indians and Chinese mixed as Malaysians. Where there was mutual camadarie (racial harmony) it is now mutual suspicion. Yes then no gleaming towers and infrastructure, but also no repression and no moral policing, raids, with religion enforced in every aspect of lives. Culture was relaxed, simple, with Malay girls in kampungs going out to take water with sarongs rolled up to just above the breast without consciousness of what others thought and said. Today some are so worried that they swim fully clothed in public and hotel swimming pools.
We can never return to Life as it was – no point in nostalgia – but we can fight against aspects of that which have changed everyone’s lives for the worse and certain sections are still manoeuvring to preserve. The battle is still raging as I said in preceding post.
#11 by Jeffrey on Thursday, 17 April 2008 - 7:47 am
It was also a time that we had no reservations about judges and courts.
#12 by wtf2 on Thursday, 17 April 2008 - 7:55 am
what will happen if the successor to B wants to emulate Mamak authoritarian rule
#13 by undergrad2 on Thursday, 17 April 2008 - 7:58 am
It was a time when judges had horses’ hair on their heads following English tradition – until the present Sultan of Perak came along and spared the judges the further agony of having to continue dorning horses’ hair on top of their balding heads, and had them replaced with songkoks.
#14 by Jeffrey on Thursday, 17 April 2008 - 8:00 am
Why wouldn’t he emulate? Would he be successor so quickly had it not been for help from a certain quarter? How to repay debt of such assistance??
#15 by undergrad2 on Thursday, 17 April 2008 - 8:04 am
Jeffery QC,
The ping pong episode was for Nita to reflect!
#16 by Jeffrey on Thursday, 17 April 2008 - 8:05 am
How to reflect when 2nd floor Wisma Central is no more the same????
#17 by undergrad2 on Thursday, 17 April 2008 - 8:08 am
Godfather must have been feeding you with information!
#18 by undergrad2 on Thursday, 17 April 2008 - 8:10 am
Readers must know we’re talking about ping-pong diplomacy of the 60s when Richard Nixon visited China.
#19 by allasstra on Thursday, 17 April 2008 - 8:11 am
bloging activities had received some soft warnings form the news last night…..
#20 by allasstra on Thursday, 17 April 2008 - 8:12 am
there’re watching !
#21 by allasstra on Thursday, 17 April 2008 - 8:13 am
say hi to “them”…
#22 by Jeffrey on Thursday, 17 April 2008 - 8:14 am
No. Don’t where he stands on this – pingpong and of course smoking cigarettes. He seems to be less fearful of PAS and its agenda on “Piety”, so what do you think?
#23 by Jeffrey on Thursday, 17 April 2008 - 8:15 am
…”Don’t know”…
#24 by undergrad2 on Thursday, 17 April 2008 - 8:23 am
Apparently, Godfather believes in the enemy he knows then the enemy he doesn’t, when sleeping with the Devil can have its rewards. I’m with him on that!
#25 by Jeffrey on Thursday, 17 April 2008 - 8:27 am
Godfather believes in the enemy he knows than the enemy he doesn’t?? I think you mean the opposite, better sleep with enemy he doesn’t know than that which he knows too well!
#26 by undergrad2 on Thursday, 17 April 2008 - 8:33 am
Apparently, mental gymnastics is not my forte.
#27 by Jeffrey on Thursday, 17 April 2008 - 8:33 am
Malaysiakini’s breaking News: “The Home Ministry today rejected the renewal of Tamil daily Makkal Osai’s publication permit, a move believed to be related to the widespread coverage given to the opposition. It is noted for the extensive coverage given to the opposition often featuring lengthy articles on their leaders such as PKR’s Anwar Ibrahim. The daily’s headline today was about police presence at Anwar’s house yesterday over the Black 14 probe. It also asked if Anwar’s wife and PKR president Dr Wan Azizah Wan Ismail would be arrested for failing to give a police statement. Insiders also say that the ministry was also upset over the daily’s publication of photographs of Hindraf leader, the ISA-detained P Uthayakumar, while receiving treatment at the Taiping hospital last week.The daily, launched in 2005, has also given prominence to the Makkal Sakthi (people’s power) movement which sprang to life following the Nov 25 mammoth rally organised by the Hindu Rights Action Force (Hindraf)”.
#28 by undergrad2 on Thursday, 17 April 2008 - 8:37 am
A summons of arrest can be issued for failing to report to the police station to make a statement! But what was the crime?
#29 by undergrad2 on Thursday, 17 April 2008 - 8:38 am
ooops should read arrest warrant
#30 by undergrad2 on Thursday, 17 April 2008 - 10:14 am
“After his statement was recorded, Khalid accompanied Dr Wan Azizah, Azmin and Yahya to the Selangor police headquarter at 3pm and all four left an hour later. The three were interviewed separately and each gave a statement that lasted from 30 to 45 minutes.”
All is well that ends well??
#31 by lchk on Thursday, 17 April 2008 - 10:26 am
Excellent news for Pakatan Rakyat.
BN has just driven another nail into its own coffin.
#32 by Jong on Thursday, 17 April 2008 - 11:04 am
undergrad2 Says:
Today at 08: 10.48 (2 hours ago)
Readers must know we’re talking about ping-pong diplomacy of the 60s when Richard Nixon visited China.
- Oh, is that so? Where does Rose Chan come in or was she in the entourage?
#33 by Jong on Thursday, 17 April 2008 - 11:14 am
Sore losers, the move against Makkal Osai is hardly surprising. Yes I agree Nades and Fenandez may be next.
Hamid Albar can close down all mainstream media for all we care. Despite the unfair reporting against the opposition(Pakatan Rakyat), and tens of millions of ringgit spent on advertisment in nst, star, utusan and nanyang etc, it made no difference, the rakyat still voted against them resulting in 5 States opting in favour of PR govt.
#34 by boh-liao on Thursday, 17 April 2008 - 12:16 pm
The BN still believe in the out-dated mode of communication and that they can brain wash people by controlling the mass media and by removing messengers that speak truth. Truly pathetic!
Every PR service centre must have a PC and printer. Educate people, especially those in the heartland and states under BN rule, to surf the Internet to read non-msm news and commentaries. Otherwise the PR service centre should print or photocopy non-msm news and commentaries and circulate them free to people.
Educate people and prepare them for the next political tsunami!
#35 by topcow on Thursday, 17 April 2008 - 1:02 pm
OMG! All of you still read the government tabloits?! Get in the groove and read the net. Isnt it why we are here to see another side of the big picture? Its not hard to put two and two together and see whats staring in your face. Internet is a godsend… cant wait what the garment (government) will come up with to bottle up this loophole of no holds barred opinions. Well thank the gods I am a tech guy, I do hope they know the internet are like roaches… it can never stay dead. Long live the internet!
#36 by TTDI_KL on Thursday, 17 April 2008 - 1:07 pm
How much of these Rose Chan, mini skirts and tank tops as well as Malay girls rolled up their sarongs just above the breasts things are due purely to our own doing, i.e. the M force or whatever? Did global resurgence of Islam especially after the Iranian revolution as well as PAS’s forever “piousness” play a part too?
#37 by Chong Zhemin on Thursday, 17 April 2008 - 1:21 pm
Read this piece from Chin Huat
http://chinhuatw.wordpress.com/2008/04/17/pr-state-governments-make-makka-ossai-permit-free-now/
What is Guan Eng waiting for?? Act now, act fast. Stop complaining!!!
#38 by David Chin on Thursday, 17 April 2008 - 1:24 pm
This may be -
BN Sandiwara – later on MIC or/and UMNO big guns will become hero in approving the publication permit
Knowing of the great impact of march 8th Tsunami, it is comitting suicide by creating this as an extra issue to Indian ethnic.
#39 by TTDI_KL on Thursday, 17 April 2008 - 1:29 pm
Why are we so sure that the replacement of AAB will be protective of M legacy? After all didn’t M appoint AAB thinking that everything is going to the alright? After 22 years in power, he thinks he can do no wrong. He blames AAB alright. The reality is if he had appointed N as his successor in 2004, the March 8 2008 results would still be not much of the difference. Do we really think N would have done things differently? It is the decadent of whole UMNO, not just one or two of its leaders. UMNO must reach the bottom before there is any hope of rejuvenation, irrespective of whether the majority now in UMNO belong to force 1 or force 2 as described by Jeffrey.
#40 by TTDI_KL on Thursday, 17 April 2008 - 1:33 pm
Jong, those who depend on Tamil Makkalosai may be have no access to internet and blog. So…..
#41 by Jong on Thursday, 17 April 2008 - 2:02 pm
Chong Zhemin may be right. It’s possible if the 5 State goverment has the will to go ahead. Under Printing Press and Publication Act, state governments are exempted from licensing under PPPA.
#42 by Jong on Thursday, 17 April 2008 - 2:07 pm
Yeah, the General Election-12 was all about rejecting BN/Umno for their arrogance, incompetence, corruption and judiciary rot. Even if my dog was put a candidate, she would have won a seat, hands down!
To blame AAB is convenient. Infact the whole bunch of them should go. I just can’t wait for Pakatan Rakyat to bulldoze them down all the way.
#43 by Godfather on Thursday, 17 April 2008 - 2:27 pm
For the record, I will neither sleep with the enemy I know nor with the enemy I don’t.
#44 by PSM on Thursday, 17 April 2008 - 3:44 pm
Was there any doubt that this would happen? Did anyone think that UMNO (again, the lapdogs MCA, MIC & Gerakan are irrelevant!) would not do this?
#45 by controlnation1 on Thursday, 17 April 2008 - 4:11 pm
Mamakz wanna demonstrate in Penang.
No matter its the mamakz right.
Mamakz sakti!!
Guang Eng says no corrupt NEP
PKR wanna have dinner/gathering at private club.
NO way.broke the unjust law.Must make statement.
Politz must investigate
Politz sakthi!!
Makkal Osai gives opposition coverage.
No way.seditious.harmful to the government.
Albar Sakti!!
#46 by One4All4One on Thursday, 17 April 2008 - 4:22 pm
All claims that Malaysia, our beloved country, is a democracy sound like rubbish.
Zero tolerance for dissenting views.
Zero tolerance for different opinions.
Zero tolerance for being yourself.
Zero tolerance for being different.
Zero tolerance for opposition.
Zero tolerance for ‘no-man’. (as opposed to yes-man)
Zero tolerance for standing up to your basic rights.
Zero tolerance for not conforming.
And yet the people up there always claim to be fair to all and upholding the Federal Constitution.
Well, let the people be the judge.
Oops…wondering if the ISA would be used against me for just voicing my views….better shhhh..
#47 by Toyol on Thursday, 17 April 2008 - 4:40 pm
I say again…PR MUST topple the faggot BN government if we are to even inch ahead. BN was and never will be for the people. Forget what you read in MSM. Actions speak louder than words. So far only PR states are working. BN government still fighting amongst themselves for self preservation. Nothing will move in M’sia till end of 2008. Bless us all!
#48 by langkah baru on Thursday, 17 April 2008 - 5:26 pm
These people really dont understand. The more they do the more hatre they get. During the result of the election and until now there are not much of coverage on the winning party and even so they don’t publicize the whole truth but only a little bit there and here. You think we are very stupid leaving in zaman purba. Even the housewife and grandmother know how to use internet lah. BODOH. So you people who likes to shut down there and here, better shut down the internetlah, BODOH.
#49 by TTDI_KL on Thursday, 17 April 2008 - 5:50 pm
I am sorry, i think i did not make mayself very clear earlier. I repost here:
How much of “things” we reminiscence, like Rose Chan, mini skirts and tank tops as well as Malay girls rolled up their sarongs just above the breasts are due purely to our own doing, i.e. the M force or whatever? Did global resurgence of Islam especially after the Iranian revolution as well as PAS’s forever “piousness” play a part too?
#50 by undergrad2 on Thursday, 17 April 2008 - 7:26 pm
In legal speak it is called memory refreshing.