Popular Tamil daily, Tamil Makkalosai, has been suspended for a week by none other than the Home Minister, Datuk Seri Syed Hamid Albar himself for giving too much coverage of Pakatan Rakyat news.
With immediate effect, Tamil Makkalosai will not appear in the streets until next week, awaiting the fate of its appeal to the Home Minister.
Is this the first sign of repression and crackdown on human rights and the little space opening up in the printed media after the March 8 “political tsunami”?
It is clear that the decision to stop the publication of Tamil Makkalosai, which is still awaiting for its KDN this year, has got the “green-light” from the Cabinet meeting this morning.
Why did the Ministers, particularly from Umno and other Barisan Nasional component parties, particularly from the MIC, who have promised to end their subsidiary and subservient role in Cabinet , agreed to such a repressive measure as to immediately close down Tamil Makkalosai?

#1 by merdeka on Wednesday, 16 April 2008 - 5:42 pm
YB Lim,
This is not the first time a daily being suspended & it won’t be the last either !!!! To stop this, Pakatan Rakyat must form new govt. EASY AS THAT !!!!
#2 by ckl on Wednesday, 16 April 2008 - 5:48 pm
The arrogance and blindness still carry on. Let it carry on. Only when this continue, Then, BN can be destryed thoroughly. Recently, finding that the NR is useless, almost all the supports are there for him to rescue BN but at this critical moment he pretend obedient, wait for the owner decision. If he continue behave like this, in near future, the member might ask him to get lost as well and let MY to come up with HH as assistant. I really hope this will happen as i can’t wait to see the owner carry his little jantan puppy out from the hall. So please be brave NR! if you do not want to accompany the owner with his pet out from the hall.
#3 by Penang_soul on Wednesday, 16 April 2008 - 5:50 pm
we didn’t forget either…..
http://blog.limkitsiang.com/2008/02/23/little-napoleon-at-sk-sungai-puyu-utterly-unrepentant/
#4 by NotProudToBeMalaysian on Wednesday, 16 April 2008 - 6:03 pm
A democratic country?
Bet they don’t even know what “democratic” means.
As long as it not the star, nst or any other government own media, it’s vulnerable to suspension.
What is press freedom?
Guess they only knows how to talk and yak alot!
Good or no good, every rules are set by them.
#5 by malaysiaalwaysboleh on Wednesday, 16 April 2008 - 6:11 pm
I actually just wrote a piece on whether or not to trust our local media.
It’s here:
http://myoe.wordpress.com/2008/04/16/media-trustrust/
The thing is even our alternative news sites are biased. So you know, it’s hard to say who we should listen to.
#6 by mata_kucing on Wednesday, 16 April 2008 - 6:53 pm
It looks like business as usual from the Umno camp. Inspite of rejection from the voters, they are not going to change are they? Either they are too thick to understand the new mood in the country or simply too arrogant I’m sure which. Instead of picking up and pieces and move on, they’re so engrossed in revenge. What a bunch of sore losers.
#7 by akarmalaysian on Wednesday, 16 April 2008 - 7:07 pm
i told u…if talk too much abt the truth…kena ban or isa.who cares abt wat they are gonna do.they hv always done things like they own this country for too long and they think nobody can stop them.how we hv suffered and lose biillions of dollars to these suckers…i cant wait people like them to be sent to hell.if we are talking abt democracy in this country….ha ha…u cant even see any democracy in umno itself.a bunch of suckers and poor losers.its so obvious we can see how many of the umno idiots they hv come up with trhu these recent years.all takde betol punya orang.
#8 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Wednesday, 16 April 2008 - 7:29 pm
Syed Hamid has stooped very low to conquer. Is he scraping the bottom of the barrel of his morals? Is Syed Hamid simply being repressive as a last resort before BN and UMNO bites the dust?
#9 by allen ng on Wednesday, 16 April 2008 - 7:30 pm
Sure enough this “kojak” is trying to flex his muscles to show Pak Lah that he means business to stifle those who violate BN’s administration.What’s a sole loser!
#10 by ReformMalaysia on Wednesday, 16 April 2008 - 7:40 pm
This only serve a reminder to Malaysian,,,
OUR JOB HAVE NOT COMPLETED YET
We must get rid of BARISAN NASIONAL from federal government as well nest election……
BARISAN NASIONAL is not fit anymore to lead this country..
No! to Barisan Nasional!
Yes!!! to Democracy
#11 by ReformMalaysia on Wednesday, 16 April 2008 - 7:41 pm
….typo
‘
‘next election’
#12 by ktteokt on Wednesday, 16 April 2008 - 7:41 pm
What freedom of the press are they professing when AAB himself admitted that he had controlled the press, tv and radio stations but forgot about the web right after BN lost the GE.
This amounts to a self confession by the PM himself, so can we ever have freedom of the press in Malaysia?
#13 by Loyal Malaysian on Wednesday, 16 April 2008 - 7:42 pm
Perhaps it is a warning of worse to come?
No, not against the MSM that are already so subservient to their political masters.
Maybe malaysiakini, malaysiatoday and non BN inclined blogs will be shut down.
I know I’m being an alarmist but I hope that will not come to pass.
#14 by LittleBird on Wednesday, 16 April 2008 - 7:44 pm
When they called a MB to police station to record statement, When they start knocking opposition leaders doors early in the morning, AND WHEN UMNO IS IN TROUBLE we all know what’s going to happen. They need to shut up the opposition and divert the attention. Remember operasi lalang and before that.
#15 by yhsiew on Wednesday, 16 April 2008 - 8:00 pm
I have totally stopped buying main stream English newspapers these days but enjoy reading Chinese newspapers instead!
I also surf foreign websites for Malaysian news to widen my knowledge of what is actually happening in Malaysia.
#16 by malaysiauser on Wednesday, 16 April 2008 - 8:10 pm
Respectful Lim & DAP,
I know that the Barisan Nasional will do something to block the Makkal Osai publication.
And later they will say “ini tak ada kaitan dengan politïc!”.
Barisan Nasional aims to suspend this newspaper since they lost many seats in the last election due to Indian voters say NO to BN!
I hope they will be more open minded on this issue.
==================================================
http://www.webanax.com
==================================================
#17 by Justicewanted on Wednesday, 16 April 2008 - 8:19 pm
Sore loser…..
#18 by second citizen on Wednesday, 16 April 2008 - 8:37 pm
this is time for BN to make revenge on all news paper/media news/PR state,the BN government is going to fall to helll of fire soon,l hope soon PR will take over malaySIAN government ,let this BN person who mis use power/corrupt/useless /feel proud /thinking they’re bosses ,remenber we malaysian were the boss of Government ,I think no need to wait until next election ,they will fall straight to hell soon.
#19 by Radiohead on Wednesday, 16 April 2008 - 8:52 pm
BN will be forming a government in HELL soon… coz when all of them die.. the will be the majority there!..
UMNO will be the head as usual and will take the place of the devil. Who will lead the devilumno in hell… there will be internal conflict there as everyone will be fight among each other as to who has done the most sin amongst them!
#20 by Radiohead on Wednesday, 16 April 2008 - 8:58 pm
UMNO is still in the Bangun pagi,gosok gigi,cuci muka,pakai baju era ( song that was taught in Std One)
The Cabinet jokers… please wake up. Malaysia had enuf of Primary School Brained Ministers. We need REAL grown ups here!
#21 by Radiohead on Wednesday, 16 April 2008 - 8:59 pm
oopss.. am i insulting our primary school students by comparing them with our ministers?..
#22 by alaneth on Wednesday, 16 April 2008 - 9:21 pm
Did you know another ‘unpublished’ reason why DAP won big in Sarawak State Elections???
The Sarawak Tribune was banned just before the elections by the Federal Govt…..
#23 by philip vyti on Wednesday, 16 April 2008 - 9:23 pm
JUst need to say that they have not learned their lessons after the drubbing they took at the recent GE.They are only digging their own grave and paving the way for them to be wiped out at the next GE. Guess they never learn!!!!!
#24 by alaneth on Wednesday, 16 April 2008 - 9:25 pm
Everyday in the BN media, they say they are very afraid about ‘alternative media’ (internet) and newspapers & TV can do nothing much.
Yet they go ahead and suspend Makkalosai… Why we have the best alternative medias around Malaysiakini & this blog etc…
Sooo many issues here with the some losers suffering fr inferiority complex… Just the time for Anwar to make a comeback. Bet this time if he’s contesting Permatang Pauh, we target for the UMNO candidate to lose his deposit money :)
#25 by kritikus on Wednesday, 16 April 2008 - 9:30 pm
ARROGANCE AGAIN AND THIS TIME AROUND ANOTHER BALDY……….cant these fellas ever learn and repent and what do they ever need to beat their brains out and make them realise when they jolly well know that their downfall was mainly ARROGANCE, ARROGANCE, ARROGANCE, ARROGANCE displayed and expressed openly by these so-called human beings in UMNO.
dont they still realise………SEDAR DIRI…. but rest assured this BALDY will be the next to go and this time with disgrace following behing.
#26 by kritikus on Wednesday, 16 April 2008 - 9:31 pm
correction…..following behind.
#27 by Godfather on Wednesday, 16 April 2008 - 9:37 pm
Those who think that UMNO can reform itself better think again. The same bunch of thieves, the same bunch of bungling clowns, are in charge. They still think that it is business as usual.
Can someone ask semi-value what he thinks of this particular episode ?
#28 by cgohym on Wednesday, 16 April 2008 - 9:56 pm
The results of the recent election to me is ideal for Malaysia as a whole. Forget about the economy, the economy can come back later but at least we have a country to come back to. The “people” up there, if they can be considered people at all is already dragging the coumtry to the abyss and yet they don’t seem to comprehend at all. Total lack of wisdom or none at all. With these so call leaders “running” this country, what chance do Malaysians have. They don’t listen, they don’t care, they are BIGGER than thou, they definitely enriched themselves at the country’s expense. So let GOD be their judge. They cannot get far, so just watch.
#29 by cancan on Wednesday, 16 April 2008 - 10:01 pm
Business versus Politics
Link: http://www.kingsmary.blogspot.com/
#30 by shortie kiasu on Wednesday, 16 April 2008 - 10:20 pm
They never learn even after the blow on their heads on 8th March 2008 polls. That is how arrogant UMNOPUTRA are.
Good for them for never learn. The next blow would be a final nail in their coffin, even their Daim Zainuddin predicted too.
They can close all the mainstream newspaper if thay want. The alternative media would be more active and more participative.
#31 by shortie kiasu on Wednesday, 16 April 2008 - 10:23 pm
The recalcitrant attitude is too much ingrained in the culture of UMNOPUTRA; and to this day the scourge hangs on.
As Paul Keating called his Malaysian counterpart then as recalcitrant. It manifested expressive and pervasively through the spectrum of the culture of the said party.
#32 by Killer on Wednesday, 16 April 2008 - 10:24 pm
Uncle Kit
Are you speculating or quoting the official reasons given by the Ministry ? This doesn’t make sense they have been publishing pro-HINDRAF and anti-MIC news for months now.
I do hope you don’t commit the same mistake as some mainstream papers in reporting speculation and accusations as news.
#33 by cemerlang on Wednesday, 16 April 2008 - 10:29 pm
Partial democracy. Anyway, I still read all the Barisan Nasional controlled newspapers but with questions in my head as I read every line. It amazes me how the writers write and yes, if someone does not know, then it will be like heaven. Don’t think that people do not evaluate. They evaluate between the idealism written in the newspapers and reality in their life and they know the difference. It is those who pitifully still think that the newspaper is all truth and nothing but the truth. Datuk Cheek said that there is merit in the newspaper and that there is no quota of news. Yes, there is merit. But it is how the editors write, edit and re-edit. I think conscientious people of the mass media should blog and blog about the real truth. They can give their views to balance out the news.
#34 by yhsiew on Wednesday, 16 April 2008 - 10:40 pm
LITTLE ADVICE FOR PL
———————-
If PL is smart enough, he should immediately dismantle all the harsh rules and laws passed by his predecessor Tun M. By so doing, it will pave the way for him, after leaving office, to influence or criticize future UMNO leaders without fear of being prosecuted.
PL should understand that while he holds premiership, these harsh rules and laws (e.g. compliance of a certain quota of support from UMNO division heads to qualify for contest in UMNO presidency, banning of “sensitive” publications, the ISA, etc ) work in his favour but AGAINST him when he LEAVES office.
I am sure his predecessor is now in big regret that he cannot express himself freely due to his self-created harsh rules and regulations when he was in office. Did not he said Malaysia is a “police state”, the press did not have freedom and they did not always publish his message (presumably for fear of being punished). I am sure Tun M did not foresee, while in office, the harsh rules and regulations he created, actually worked against him after he left office!
If UMNO people could treat such a highly esteemed and popular person like Tun M with lowly remarks and contempt after he ceased to hold premiership, how much worse they would treat PL – a mediocre premier.
PL’s days are numbered, he must act fast to get rid of the “restrictions” his predecessor created, so as to open a pathway for him (PL) to stage a comeback in UMNO.
#35 by Godson on Wednesday, 16 April 2008 - 11:08 pm
Its OK…Cool down…..this guy is helping PR to wipe out BN. He knows he dont have much hope in BN, so he is trying to be nice so when BN shut down……he will come around PR and say…..seeeee, i have help you guys to shut down BN. Pleassseeee…..i beg you may i join PR now????? Those UMno at the top force me to do it. Im just following orders…..pleaseeee…forgive me. A$$!!!!!!
#36 by chiakchua on Wednesday, 16 April 2008 - 11:16 pm
This is just another showing of the UMNOputra’s arrogance and bully. Its disgraceful! Hoping that they would have another day, besides the 838 Tsunami! They have nuts in their head.
#37 by eyuppie on Wednesday, 16 April 2008 - 11:21 pm
To all BN members, MPs & ADUN that believe and want fair and justice, let’s leave BN and join PAKATAN RAKYAT. PAKATAN RAKYAT must rule the country for things to change!
#38 by billgates on Wednesday, 16 April 2008 - 11:23 pm
This is the lowest mentality displayed by the sore loser Syed Hamid. Is this what he is capable of? Don’t challenge makhal sahkti.
Time to change. BN —> PR
http://pakatanrakyat-perak.blogspot.com
#39 by tunglang on Wednesday, 16 April 2008 - 11:30 pm
Speak no PR, Hear no PR, See no PR, Dream no PR, Gossip no PR, SMS no PR, E-mail no PR, Swear no PR, Sing no PR, Touch no PR, Smell no PR, Taste no PR, Pray no PR, blah, blah, blah, blah, blah!
Rakyat BE WARNED!
DEEEESpite THE FACT BN lose the worst Election in 5 states in Malaysian history!
BN will never ever learn from their Mahathirist mistakes.
BN will never kow tow to the Rakyat.
BN will by keris or by CROOK get even with opposition.
BN will punish states they sorely lose.
BN will polis-state the rakyat that dream of a better Malaysia.
We are still living in the era of the Mahathirist. Only it’s getting worse by the days. Unless rakyat ‘force’ a change, there will be no better future for every rakyat.
BN wants rakyat to behave like the 3 SIL moyet – Speak no PR, Hear no PR, See no PR!
#40 by pgsilai on Wednesday, 16 April 2008 - 11:36 pm
The more they banned, the more people wants to find out? I think they are just silly, hello it’s already 2008 and if can’t get hard copy we can always go to the internet.
We will continue to speak MORE PR, Hear MORE PR, See MORE PR! Hurry up, let’s take over.
#41 by LittleBird on Wednesday, 16 April 2008 - 11:39 pm
Makkal osai reporters pls join Mkini and start a computer loan scheme.
#42 by kingandcountry on Wednesday, 16 April 2008 - 11:50 pm
They just never learn don’t they? Hasn’t March 8th given a message that the government should start to move on and discard is paternalistic styles of ruling?
#43 by smeagroo on Wednesday, 16 April 2008 - 11:56 pm
just form the new govt and then throw star, nst and the rest of the liars into the cold storage.
#44 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Thursday, 17 April 2008 - 12:15 am
Freedom of Expression does not equal the freedom to suppress information!
#45 by Joshua Tan Kok Hauw on Thursday, 17 April 2008 - 12:31 am
Why doesn’t Syed Hamid ban UTUSAN which rarely makes fair report?
What a stupid world and a stupid BN! A newspaper banned for reporting too many news of opposition parties?
Syed Hamid is quite hawkish and taking a toughline to the media.
He will eat his humble pie in the future. I wll never vote for BN as it has never learnt its lesson.
DOWN WITH BN! SHAME ON YOU BN!
#46 by novice101 on Thursday, 17 April 2008 - 1:21 am
PM, you have got to change!
This is not a one man’s decision, it must be the consensus reached by the cabinet. But as the PM, AAB should cast his deciding vote here. Under extraordinary circumstances and in special cases, the top man should seize the occasions to set the direction and the tone the cabinet is to take. He is the leader, he gets the accolades when things turn out to be right, and he, too get to shoulder a larger portion of the blame when things turn out bad. AAB should know by now this is his greatest weakness. He should know by now the rakyat will not allow anyone to absolve oneself of blame by pleading consensual decisions.
MM was very good at this and he was seen as effective and decisive. PM, you have got to change!
#47 by mysia1957 on Thursday, 17 April 2008 - 1:56 am
this is a very sad news to hear.
another dark day for malaysian press.
selangor goverment must come out with their own newspaper.
#48 by alancheah on Thursday, 17 April 2008 - 2:10 am
merdeka Says:
Yesterday at 17: 42.48
YB Lim,
This is not the first time a daily being suspended & it won’t be the last either !!!! To stop this, Pakatan Rakyat must form new govt. EASY AS THAT !!!!
========================================
Yes, that is RIGHT! I really cannot wait to see
that day coming. BN people still say thing like,
“It will never happen”, “That is only their dream”.
Before election, nobody would have thought
that PKR-PAS-DAP would such a BIG one.
And now, BN people still don’t believe that
something which is impossible in their brain
WILL really happen!
Please, Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim & the rest
of the leaders of Pakatan Rakyat, make it HAPPEN.
I strongly believe that Majority of Malaysians would
really want to see Pakatan Rakyat to become
the New Government in Malaysia AS SOON
AS POSSIBLE!
I really cannot stand how BN people still
carry out double-standard & unfair policies!
Really FED-UP with BN!!!!!
#49 by malar on Thursday, 17 April 2008 - 2:28 am
Makkal Osai belongs to Datuk Subra. What has he got to say now? He was busy campaigning for BN and suddenly join hands with Samy velu in MIC. No back bone at all. No shame to go back to samy velu when he was kicked out of MIC. Let subra learn a good lesson about BN/UMNO. Pakatan Rakyat should ask subra to join them and he should learn to be wise. Unfortunately, subra can’t do that because he too like the other BN leaders has caused a mess in Maika holdings and the two penguins need to clean up the mess so subra just can’t join PK at the moment.
#50 by malar on Thursday, 17 April 2008 - 2:33 am
Do you know why BN banned Makkal Osai? UMNO has started reading Makkal Osai. UMNO does not read english or malay dailies anymore. After March 8, UMNO only reads Makkal Osai so that is the reason why it is banned. Just got news from Putra jaya 4th floor.