Leaders of DAP, PKR and PAS met in Petaling Jaya today and took the logical next step of the March 8 political tsunami – proposing the establishment of a new front of the three political parties to be tentatively known as PAKATAN RAKYAT.
A joint statement issued after the meeting reads:
The leaders of KeADILan, DAP and PAS met today in furtherance of the meeting held on the 18th of March 2008.
Today’s meeting was attended by, among others, Dato’ Seri Anwar Ibrahim, YB Lim Kit Siang, YB Dato’ Seri Tuan Guru Haji Abdul Hadi Awang and YB Datin Seri Wan Azizah Wan Ismail.
In today’s meeting, we have proposed to consolidate the cooperation between the three parties under the name “PAKATAN RAKYAT”. This name has been proposed pending confirmation by the respective parties.
Pakatan Rakyat pledges to uphold the rights and interests of all Malaysians, regardless of religion or race, as enshrined in the Constitution.
With the results of the recent elections, the state governments of Kelantan, Kedah, Pulau Pinang, Perak and Selangor will be known as Pakatan Rakyat state governments. The policies of these governments will be conducted in accordance with the policies of Pakatan Rakyat.
To further mutual understanding regarding such policies, a convention of all Pakatan Rakyat elected representatives of Parliament and State Assemblies will be held on the 27th of April 2008.
We have developed and strengthened the structure of Pakatan Rakyat by creating under the Leadership Council, consisting of the leaders of the three parties, a Joint Secretariat consisting of three leaders from each of the three parties. This joint Secretariat will be tasked with building the foundation and framework of the Pakatan Rakyat for ratification by the Leadership Council.

#1 by NextNoName on Tuesday, 1 April 2008 - 9:35 pm
PR is a risk for the parties involved but it is good for the country. The pace for change has increased. What the country will be we have more influence to shape it than any other time. Action will and intention will shape our common future.
#2 by Lee Wang Yen on Tuesday, 1 April 2008 - 9:52 pm
Some commentators repeatedly equate rejection of PAS’s agenda of Islamic state in a multi-racial country with anti-Islam. The malicious intent to discredit one who criticises PAS as a blanket Islam basher is obvious.
However, it should be rather obvious that
1. Rejection of PAS’s medieval brand of fundamentalistic Islam DOES NOT IMPLY a rejection of Islam.
2. Rejection of PAS’s agenda of Islamic state in a multi-racial country DOES NOT IMPLY a rejection of Islam or even Islamic state itself.
#3 by trombonist on Tuesday, 1 April 2008 - 9:56 pm
cheer to pakatan rakyat
it sound good.
‘pakatan rakyat’ can be shortform as ‘PAKAR’
yess!! to show all of them are very expert to bring a new harmony malaysia with thier smart thinking and clean personality.
#4 by A true Malaysian on Tuesday, 1 April 2008 - 10:25 pm
CONGRATULATIONS !!!
Next, forming Federal Government by Pakatan Rakyat,…sooner or later.
I hope is sooner.
#5 by catharsis on Tuesday, 1 April 2008 - 10:36 pm
BRAVO! THAT IS THE WAY TO GO……………
#6 by ReformMalaysia on Tuesday, 1 April 2008 - 10:40 pm
whether it is PARTI PAKATAN RAKYAT OR PARTI MUAFAKAT RAKYAT,
it is indeed a good development.
Glad to know that we are on the right track towards 2 alternative party/groups of parties which are capable to govern the country. I hope this will weed out cronysm, nepotisme, power-abusing and mediocrities that plagued our country administrative system.
This is a good development towards achieving our vision 2020 .
Welcome to an era of ‘good governance, transparency, fair for all, meritocracy, competency, quality’ Malaysia!’
#7 by raven77 on Tuesday, 1 April 2008 - 10:47 pm
Time to take this country back……to Pakatan Rakyat ….congratulations….and remember ….no more MYKADS and PR for Indonesians……..The BN used the Indons and Filipinos to kick out Chinese, Indians, Kadazans, etc out of this country……take back that country that all of us won in 1957 from these BN morons……
#8 by devilmaster on Tuesday, 1 April 2008 - 10:49 pm
Formation of Pakatan Rakyat
#9 by slashed on Tuesday, 1 April 2008 - 10:51 pm
What news to read on April Fools’! I must admit that I am filled with scepticism but I do hope that DAP, PKR and PAS can really work thru their differences to make the Pakatan Rakyat a success.
Compromise and community! The two Cs that Pakatan Rakyat must bear in mind – if DAP, PKR and PAS truly wish to be for the Rakyat, then they must be ready to let go of their egos. I hope the MB-type problems/disputes were a one-off.
Hopefully, 5 years down the road Pakatan Rakyat would become a strong and stable opposition or even government-candidate; Don’t let it become a Party of Fools.
#10 by alvinkhng on Tuesday, 1 April 2008 - 10:51 pm
The Appetiser has been served on Mar 8th
The Main Course has been chosen today Apr 1st
I shall now await for this Main Dish to be serve in due course
#11 by smeagroo on Tuesday, 1 April 2008 - 10:53 pm
the main concern of every rakyat now is the constant plundering by the BN goons. First priority is to kick them out b4 the whole nation crumbles in massive debts and ZERO in the kitty. By that time, whether PAS wanna make Msia Islamic also nothing to fear liao. There wont be any country left.
Just put PR in govt and put all those corrupted idiots to jail. Anything less than this is UNACCEPTABLE. We want heads to roll…the more the merrier!
#12 by alancheah on Tuesday, 1 April 2008 - 10:53 pm
Uncle Lim, kindly remind your DAP members who
have newly won as an ADUN, to really take actions
to nicely serve the community. Some of them are very
young and they really got many things to learn,
including having the right attitudes & manners.
Hope that these new candidates will not
upset rakyat in their constituency!
#13 by robbinlee777 on Tuesday, 1 April 2008 - 10:55 pm
Pakatan Rakyat: For PKR you have all the letters there. For PAS you don’t have the “S”. “S” deficiency. For DAP it is the “D” defiency. It is the “SD” party deficiency.
It is for sure PKR is the ruling collision.
See what is correct in another 10 yrs time.
Hope for the best.
#14 by tsuchong on Tuesday, 1 April 2008 - 11:08 pm
Hmmm does Perikatan Rakyat sound better?
Not that the name matters anyway. Congrats!!
#15 by PSM on Tuesday, 1 April 2008 - 11:15 pm
This is the logical step forward.
It’s about time Malaysia had a 2-Party System. This is what “Real Democracy” is.
Now the Pakatan Rakyat must show the Rakyat (the real bosses) if they really deserve to form the Government one day.
All the best & God Bless!
#16 by alaneth on Tuesday, 1 April 2008 - 11:22 pm
I think many Chinese/Indians will not buy this idea of Pakatan Rakyat if DAP will eventually be a ‘yes-man’ to PKR or even PAS… akin to MCA’s position relative to UMNO in BN.
When you are independent, you are strong and can say/do anything openly & independently regardless of a higher level’s policy.
Clearly, PKR is in the lead & joining Pakatan Rakyat will eventually erode some rights of DAP in its ‘solo voicing’. What if PAS go ahead to subtly induce Islamic policies in Kedah like banning gambling, slowly restricting beer, enforcing more close-up clothes for non-Muslim women etc and ‘pakat’ with PKR to agree…… What will DAP do in this “Pakatan Rakyat” then??? What is DAP’s position? Will DAP go ahead & oppose PAS/PKR in ‘close-door meetings’ like MCA? or openly make a opposing statement in the media, which will eventually shame the “Pakatan Rakyat”? Will Anwar Ibrahim allow that???
With this, I think DAP will again lose out in the next GE like the days Barisan Alternatif is formed with PAS in the alliance.
One way to succeed is PAS & overzealous Hadi shuts-up & close their eyes on Toto,4D,Karaoke,Pubs etc… Talk is not enough – they have to show it. Duration = 4 yrs.
#17 by Jeffrey on Tuesday, 1 April 2008 - 11:25 pm
When PAS president Abdul Hadi Awang announced a new opposition coalition encompassing his Islamic party, PKR and DAP at a massive gathering of 25,000 supporters in Shah Alam’s Stadium Melawati (last night), he said that that the ‘Barisan Rakyat’ coalition would open its arms to “colleagues” in the ruling Barisan Nasional coalition, in particular elected representatives from Umno, MCA, MIC and Gerakan. He said that they can join the new coalition either as “individuals” or “en bloc” – source Malaysiakini’s report, 1st April.
In short, Hadi is welcoming defections.
But aren’t defections (now canvassed) tantamount to an opportunistic political betrayal of the people’s confidence, and inconsistent with YB’s stand at one time to introduce a private member’s bill with title “Members of Parliament [Prevention of Defection] Act 1978” to ensure political integrity of Members of Parliament) ?
See blog thread at http://blog.limkitsiang.com/2008/03/24/a-law-to-prevent-defections/
#18 by alaneth on Tuesday, 1 April 2008 - 11:26 pm
I just came back fr Macau. In a small small most populated country in the world with virtually no room for natural resources, industries(factory) or even international trade & <30 sq km of land, they turn to Casinos…
I don’t know whether gambling places (casino license) are issued under State or Federal in Malaysia.
S’pore is opening 2 casinos.
Penang can be very successful & even more successful than Phuket if we build just 1 casino in Penang!!!
DAP – just change it!!!
#19 by Samuel Goh Kim Eng on Tuesday, 1 April 2008 - 11:30 pm
It’s not just what you’re called
But what you all can do together
It’s time after the durians falled
Problems are solved and burdens become light as feather
(C) Samuel Goh Kim Eng – 010408
http://MotivationInMotion.blogspot.com
http://msi.Rocky101.com
Tue. 1st April 2008.
#20 by alaneth on Tuesday, 1 April 2008 - 11:32 pm
Jeff,
I think we all do not like defections…
I also think DAP supporters will not like DAP to join a coalition where DAP may lose its rights to freely voice opinions & protests with the presence of other heavyweights like PKR & PAS around.
I feel the DAP supporters will always prefer DAP to go solo. DAP has failed to gain votes when it joined the Barisan Alternatif in 1998.
If DAP goes ahead, I can bet DAP will lose many votes in the next GE – for 2 simple reasons :
1. PAS is there (they are hiding their hardline Islamic card to play it when the time is ripe – wolf in sheep’s clothing).
2. DAP will become like MCA in BN (A ‘yes-man’ to UMNO)
Trust me…
#21 by syncbasher83 on Tuesday, 1 April 2008 - 11:37 pm
Mr Lee Wang Yen, im so sorry to say that ur understanding on Islam is deficient and totally misleading. Im not blaming u but im here to help u to understand more rite :-)
1. Rejection of PAS’s medieval brand of fundamentalistic Islam DOES NOT IMPLY a rejection of Islam.
PAS’s so called ‘medieval brand of fundamentalistic Islam’ is not actually another version of Islam but its the true form of Islam meaning which includes all cycle of life, economy, laws, lifestyle etc. As ppl do hear about ‘liberal Islam’, ‘hadhari Islam’ etc these are another incomplete versions of Islam which is not the true Islam. It only focuses on certain part of Islam and does not accept Islam as a whole. So by definition, its not Islam. As such, i would like to state that ur statement above is totally the other way around…
2. Rejection of PAS’s agenda of Islamic state in a multi-racial country DOES NOT IMPLY a rejection of Islam or even Islamic state itself.
Rejection of PAS’s Islamic state DOES imply a rejection of Islam. Islam constitutes a nation which comprises majority of muslim must practises Islamic state principle as any rejection of any part of Islam is deemed as NOT Islam.
However, i would like to say this…
let us just forget whether its a secular or islamic state…
muslims cannot accept a secular state…
nonmuslim oso hesitate to accept an islamic state…
why bother trying to impose something that the other half dislike?
what matters most is the one that ALL fighted for all this while…
PAKATAN RAKYAT for rakyat, justice, no cronism, no nepotism…
hear me?
#22 by ppsbmy on Tuesday, 1 April 2008 - 11:38 pm
People, I’m a supporter of the PKR-DAP-PAS pact during the recent election, voting in Batu Gajah seat. And I hope for them do good things during this term.
However, we must be realistic. Pls do not forget the lessons of history.
In 2004, BN won big. The people expect a better government. They didn’t get it.
In Philippine, the people there voted Joseph Estrada with his slogan “Erap para sa Mahirap” (Erap for the poor) in 1998 as their president. He ended up swindling the people’s money.
Many other cases of new government, new hope all over the world. Not many succeed.
I’ve read it somewhere that the most important component of any successful government lies in having a vibrant economy.
Issues such as whether PAS still wanting to establish an Islamic state is not much of a big deal. With such a high percentage of non-Muslims & moderate Muslims in Malaysia, it’s hard to force it through. & PAS is not extreme like JI or Arqam.
It’s hard work ahead, Pakatan Rakyat.
#23 by budak on Tuesday, 1 April 2008 - 11:40 pm
Hidup DAP…!
Suara Rakyat Suara Keramat…!
#24 by lkt-56 on Tuesday, 1 April 2008 - 11:57 pm
The following is taken from Channel News Asia:
“This coalition will work and we will disappoint the ruling Barisan Nasional coalition. There are no junior and senior partners among us,” Anwar said. – AFP/ir
Incidentally, Barisan Nasional also had their own meeting in a hotel in PJ at about the same time when the coalition were discussing the next step forward. They discussing how to get rid of their leader while BR is talking about forming “Pakatan Rakyat”.
Continue to move in the right direction and your opponents will self destruct… ;) There are bound to be some turbulence (like the DAP assembly man who resigned and then changed his mind, & fearful individuals who continue to talk about PAS and Islamic State) along the way… but the general direction should be FORWARD TO A NEW MALAYSIA!
SHOW US THE LEAD AND WE ARE READY TO BE ONE PEOPLE… ONE NATION! :D
#25 by pjboy on Tuesday, 1 April 2008 - 11:57 pm
This has got to go into our history books for the future generations to appreciate. Most of our parents went through many historical significance of their lifes (WWI, WWII, Emergency, Merdeka, May13, Flood, etc) – but this is truly momentous for Malaysia in the 21st century & for current politically minded generation. Even my father who is now in his 70s has never felt so moved/proud with the results of the recent GE & witnessing the change in our political climate. This change can never be too late. Better late than never!
The nucleus of the future Malaysia that should have been was borned under PR. I was waiting for this day, a cohesive structure among the former-opposition parties. Otherwise, BN will attack the weakest part of the chain. Another “check” move for BN to worry about. BN should start planning to be the opposition party after the next GE…or they can continue to squabble whose fault it is for the huge loss & so on until kingdom come.
The newly formed PR should be easily opened to all Malaysian citizens to join…PR will be truly a Malaysian people’s party. Those with Red IC should be encouraged to join as well?? Coming into the next GE, PR should encourage every eligible voters to register now. Don’t depend on post office…always run out of forms or system down. In these day & age, still can’t register on-line properly. Our EC is still living in the past or sleeping/hybernating until next GE.
PR service centers must assist all eligible voters to register. Imagine if every household that voted PR in this GE has ONE additional eligible voter…how many more new voters for PR that can be for next GE. Provided PR don’t be another BN-lah please…
For those who seem to have this extraordinary perception about PAS…just make a trip to Kelantan one day. If you have been, maybe not long enough. Go again. Why do we discriminate a religious party that actually uphold all that is good within Islam. Any different if it was a Hindu, Buddhist or Christian party? It’s like the songkok story that RPK wrote about.
Growing up under the BN propaganda also gave me a certain perception about Kelantan & PAS. My perception has since changed after meeting people from Kelantan & was surprised that they were Chinese living in Kelantan…after all. If they were, & if what BN propaganded was true, why then is the Chinese/Indian people living in Kelantan? able to go on with the lives – without prejudice / discrimination / freedom of religion / etc…otherwise, they could have moved to other states easily. I wouldn’t mind retiring to Kelantan – which by that time, PAS would have enough $$$ from the natural gas & oil royalties, & after paying off the last of the RM 11million owing to FedGov (& the debt was due to BN handling the state before that)…to have proper water system, etc etc that is long overdue to the people of Kelantan. Next – terengganu!
#26 by Godfather on Tuesday, 1 April 2008 - 11:57 pm
Mr Lee Wang Yen should repeat all his previous postings on “dhimmis” as defined in the wikipaedia. He reckons that we are all dhimmis under the brand of Islam as promoted by PAS.
Like I said in a previous post, this person is part of the 10 pct “extremist” in any party, so we should forgive his opposition to Pakatan Rakyat since the other 90 pct are all in favour.
#27 by Rocky on Wednesday, 2 April 2008 - 12:02 am
congratulations!!! That is the way to go and I hope the 3 parties can work well, there will be bumps but that is part and parcel of a relationship.
#28 by ihavesomethingtosay on Wednesday, 2 April 2008 - 12:02 am
Pakatan Rakyat is just a name, what is important is that those who are elected must remember to serve to defend and protect us.
Of the people, By the people For the people.
come next election, let’s Tsunami, Great Johor Flood, Typhoon and Earthquake the remainder BN.
#29 by Better Future on Wednesday, 2 April 2008 - 12:13 am
Congratulation on setting up the Pakatan Rakyat. This is the right move I fully supported it although a lot of non-muslim had still doubtful on Pas intention on setting up Hudud Law anyywhere let give them a chance. I always here from my Chinese friend from Kelantan that Pas is much more better than UMNO racist. Btw I’m a bit sad to here the news on police investigation of Lim Guan Eng on the NEP issue. I pray to god for his safety why don’t the BN losser gave Pakatan Rakyat a chance.
#30 by vehir on Wednesday, 2 April 2008 - 12:16 am
PAKATAN RAKYAT
in short means- PKR
what are your comments DAP and PAS
#31 by dawsheng on Wednesday, 2 April 2008 - 12:20 am
Watch this…
http://youtube.com/watch?v=SFQAJt_RwSE
#32 by Tim Sng on Wednesday, 2 April 2008 - 12:20 am
Great start….PKR…..RPK…..PR….
Pakatan Rakyat….
1.Good start…..The TRIO [not triad]…need to come together….and they did.
2. They need to agree…..and they did.
3. They have formed a group….which is good, a coalition…a partnership…..Pakatan Rakyat.
As for all the questions, it can be worked out….
For example, have you not considered that three diverse personalities…the Malays, Chinese and Indians have cohabited and intermarried since before and after Merdeka….100 years of marital relationships…..
Malay men marrying Chinese women
Malay women marrying Chinese men
Malay men marrying Indian women
Malay women marrying Indian men
Chinese man marrying Indian women
Chinese women marrying Indian men….
mix it up with Ibans, Punjabis, Kelabits…I have seen all combinations…
All obstacles, questions can be solved, resolved etc….it is absurd that anyone should be suspicious, worried, afraid….after 50 years being married to one another.
#33 by ablastine on Wednesday, 2 April 2008 - 12:37 am
Dear Uncle Lim,
I wish Pakatan Rakyat the best and I know that it will be ruling the country very soon as the BN is disintegrating with its unsustainable racist policies. I would like to add that whilst DAP, PKR, and PAS alliance is the way to go the true test in the end is RESULTS. If you compare Singapore cabinet and Malaysia’s you will see the great discrepancies. Almost everyone of their ministers are either top Lawyers, top Surgeons, top Engineers, President scholars, Successful corporate figures – most certainly the cream of the cream in the country. If you count the number of Indians they have in the cabinet you will realise that RACE count for ZILCH there. I cannot believe that we as a nation with more than 26 MILLIONS strong do not have such capable people in our midst. Pakatan Rakyat just need to look and I am sure we can come up with even more qualified people with more impressive credentials. The problem is they are distributed all over the world now as the NEP has driven a lot of the best brains out of the country. Use this to PR advantage and invite all this high performance individual to return and selflessly serve the country. I suggest the politician play the politics for them but the MOST CAPABLE person and not the best politician be put in important leading administrative positions in the Ministry. I would rather having professional Ministers who can stand its own against anyone in the world rather than a great politician who cannot add or speak properly. If you get the best people to lead, everything will fall into place and things have a tendency turning favourable. It is time for Malaysia to shine again. If we use this same policy which Singapore is using, we will catch up and surpass them in 5-10 years. Remember we have more than 26 millions to draw our talents from while they only have less than 4 million.
Regards.
#34 by limkamput on Wednesday, 2 April 2008 - 12:43 am
This guy seems to know all, 10% of this and 90% of that. Wonder where did he get his statistics?
#35 by harrisonbinhansome on Wednesday, 2 April 2008 - 12:45 am
I must take my hat off to Anwar Ibrahim. Without him any collaboration between PAS and DAP was on the lam. If he can be an intermediary spearheading the tripartite parties to a successful coalition of “Pakatan Rakyat” in further enhancing the cause for integrity, accountability, transparency for an effective alliance for the betterment of Malaysians of diversity of races, equally, I can’t see why right-minded Malaysians could not see of him as a pre-eminent leader…
#36 by pjboy on Wednesday, 2 April 2008 - 12:47 am
No offence here to anyone – but put it this way, we have to choose the lesser evil here. PR or BN. We all have a choice. Have we all forgotten about PSM? or has PSM merged into DAP-PKR? Every seat counts (precious) at the moment.
#37 by limkamput on Wednesday, 2 April 2008 - 12:53 am
….”your statement about PAS and UMNO tying up to share power assumes fundamentally that UMNO will abandon its right to steal. Tough for thieves to give up their right to steal.”
How can one make such an assumption that UMNO will forever steal and by implication PAS will never steal, sigh….
Try to nurture PAS to the strength of UMNO (pre March 8) and we shall see what will happen. The safest way to go is to keep both UMNO and PAS at even keel.
#38 by passerby on Wednesday, 2 April 2008 - 12:59 am
To avoid in fighting among the component parties for leadership and other party positions for the new coalition party during the formation stage, make it a condition that no one can vote their own party members for the posts. This is to ensure that everyone will be forced to look at things not based on their narrow party line and become a true Malaysian Malaysia. Just my thought.
#39 by dapforever on Wednesday, 2 April 2008 - 1:15 am
Congrats..it’s a new beginning for Pakatan Rakyat..
#40 by lkt-56 on Wednesday, 2 April 2008 - 1:26 am
limkamput Says:
…The safest way to go is to keep both UMNO and PAS at even keel…
It is all about “Trust”: If you trust no one, no one will trust you. ;)
passerby Says:
To avoid in fighting among the component parties for leadership and other party positions for the new coalition party during the formation stage, make it a condition that no one can vote their own party members for the posts.
This will not guarantee no disagreement within the coalition. ;)
The key is SINCERITY in dealing with one another. Always approach problems with an open mind. More WISDOM less EMOTIONS.
If the joint secretariat can show the way by behaving as one: Pakatan Rakyat and NOT as individuals representing different interest groups, there is no reason why the members of their respective parties will not follow. There is also no reason why the people will be forced to take sides. This is leadership by example. ;)
ARE WE READY TO TAKE OVER AS THE NEXT GOVERNMENT?
#41 by lkt-56 on Wednesday, 2 April 2008 - 1:31 am
Some might say…. Too idealistic!
Maybe…. But do you know of any other way?
Some might say… Too simple
Maybe… But the simplest way is the most profound. ;)
LIFE CAN BE SIMPLE. ONLY WE MAKE IT COMPLICATED FOR OURSELVES. ;)
#42 by lakilompat on Wednesday, 2 April 2008 - 1:35 am
That poor UMNO leader from Sekichan was been barred for making speech, Tun Dr. Mahathir said ppl shud b brave to stand up against the leader, but on the other hand, those who stand up against him was kicked out from asking a question. Tun Dr. Mahathir is a hypocrites.
#43 by mystique on Wednesday, 2 April 2008 - 3:09 am
hi kit siang,
this was on anwar’s blog
Muafakat tersebut berlandaskan agenda perubahan – negara hukum, keadilan – serta berteraskan prinsip Perlembagaan. Ini bermakna hak dan kebebasan rakyat terjamin dan kedudukan Islam sebagai agama Persekutuan, Bahasa Kebangsaan dan hak keistimewaan Melayu dan Bumiputera tetap dipertahankan.
http://anwaribrahimblog.com/2008/04/02/muafakat-berasaskan-kematangan-hak-rakyat-terjamin/
i think it really contradicts your joint statement above!!!!!!!!!!!
omg what’s going on….
#44 by phgan on Wednesday, 2 April 2008 - 3:15 am
uncle lim,
we give u the power. but u have missused it.. who ask u to join with PAS.
#45 by cucu adam on Wednesday, 2 April 2008 - 4:39 am
Well done to all the leaders of PKR-DAP-PAS for the formation of Pakatan Rakyat.
Of course to some people especially those from the BN/UMNO they will belittled the efforts that Pakatan Rakyat had made.
I am sure there are many within the Pakatan Rakyat that were not only surprised by the formation of Pakatan Rakyat but may actually oppose the formation and commented that PKR-DAP-PAS had abandoned their principles and policies.
In less than one month after the recent general election, the three parties are moving towards the formation of the Pakatan Rakyat, and I am sure there are many out there looking forward to see the Pakatan Rakyat will grow stronger day by day. Differences are sure to exist, but I believe the benefits out weight the negative aspects. This could yet be translated into another tsunami that are feared by BN/UMNO on particular.
#46 by undergrad2 on Wednesday, 2 April 2008 - 4:55 am
“….just because one Dutch lawmaker Geert Wilder shows his intolerance towards Islam?” mauriyaII
I agree. But understand where that emotion is coming from – and it is not just mere intolerance.
“The maverick politician’s remarks about Islam have become increasingly radical. In February last year he said that if Muslims wanted to stay in the Netherlands, they should tear out half of the Koran and throw it away. In parliament he then called for the Koran and Hitler’s Mein Kampf to be banned, a proposal that was rejected.” Jason Burke, The Observer 1/20/08
#47 by ore_kelate on Wednesday, 2 April 2008 - 6:25 am
Salam Sejahtera,
Saya sebenarnya sudah lama mengikuti blog ni dan selalu membaca komem. Dulu ramai org memandang serong dengan PAS kerana PAS memperjuangkan Islam. Tetapi, so far dah berkurangan, mungkin disebabkan mereka memandang kebolehan Tok Guru Nik Aziz memerintah Kelantan yang mana kerajaan PAS boleh bertahan hingga hari ini. So far, tak de pun Cina Kelantan dipinggirkan, malah ekonomi masyarakat Cini di Kelantan bertambah maju, kalau tak caya try pergi KB Mall, makin ramai masyarakat Cina berniaga. Siapa cakap Islam ni meminggirkan org Cina, India.
Dalam kes ni, saya sedar kenapa org memandang serong ttg Islam, puncanya adalah dari org Islam sendiri yang tak mengamalkannya dan memutar belitkan Islam sendiri. Itulah timbul Islam itu radikal, ganas dan macam-macam lagi persepsi yang buruk terhadap Islam. Saya seorang melayu Kelantan, saya tak rasa bangga pun saya dilahirkan seorang melayu. Apa ketuanan Melayu, semua itu bohong. Banyak nak tulis kalau nak explain kat sini.
Di sini saya ingin cadangkan, apa kata kita buat satu perjumpaan kepada pembaca blog LKS, bolehlah kita bertukar-tukar pandangan. Bolehlah kita mereaslisasikan Malaysian-malaysian (manusia-manusia).
#48 by Godfather on Wednesday, 2 April 2008 - 6:47 am
Headmaster:
I had an “A” in statistics in university. Do you ? Maybe you are in the same camp as Badawi when it comes to statistics.
#49 by kickbutt on Wednesday, 2 April 2008 - 7:03 am
#50 by kickbutt on Wednesday, 2 April 2008 - 7:11 am