Leaders of DAP, PKR and PAS met in Petaling Jaya today and took the logical next step of the March 8 political tsunami – proposing the establishment of a new front of the three political parties to be tentatively known as PAKATAN RAKYAT.
A joint statement issued after the meeting reads:
The leaders of KeADILan, DAP and PAS met today in furtherance of the meeting held on the 18th of March 2008.
Today’s meeting was attended by, among others, Dato’ Seri Anwar Ibrahim, YB Lim Kit Siang, YB Dato’ Seri Tuan Guru Haji Abdul Hadi Awang and YB Datin Seri Wan Azizah Wan Ismail.
In today’s meeting, we have proposed to consolidate the cooperation between the three parties under the name “PAKATAN RAKYAT”. This name has been proposed pending confirmation by the respective parties.
Pakatan Rakyat pledges to uphold the rights and interests of all Malaysians, regardless of religion or race, as enshrined in the Constitution.
With the results of the recent elections, the state governments of Kelantan, Kedah, Pulau Pinang, Perak and Selangor will be known as Pakatan Rakyat state governments. The policies of these governments will be conducted in accordance with the policies of Pakatan Rakyat.
To further mutual understanding regarding such policies, a convention of all Pakatan Rakyat elected representatives of Parliament and State Assemblies will be held on the 27th of April 2008.
We have developed and strengthened the structure of Pakatan Rakyat by creating under the Leadership Council, consisting of the leaders of the three parties, a Joint Secretariat consisting of three leaders from each of the three parties. This joint Secretariat will be tasked with building the foundation and framework of the Pakatan Rakyat for ratification by the Leadership Council.

#1 by ric23_my on Tuesday, 1 April 2008 - 5:32 pm
chanjoe,
No matter how nice the name of party coalition is … or how nice the logo of the colliation is …
it is useless as long as they did not stick back to their ideology during the election campaign …
at the end, it will just be another brand of BeeAnn …
that’s why must make noise … instead of you all just living in fantasy … similar to UMMNO Putra …
#2 by grace on Tuesday, 1 April 2008 - 5:32 pm
I really do not care who is the PM , be he Anwar or Lim Kit Siang or Karpal Singh or Hadi . As long as they can deliver and free from corruption, we should give them the support.
BN has proven to be very terrible. Let us hope BR can do better!!!
#3 by Lee Wang Yen on Tuesday, 1 April 2008 - 5:32 pm
http://www.harakahdaily.net/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=13643&Itemid=28
Demi ketuanan Melayu, sanggupkah Adun Umno Perak sertai PAS?
Mat Zain Mat Isa
Tue | Apr 01, 08 | 12:01:58 pm MYT
….
Soalnya, apakah mereka sanggup berbuat begitu demi ketuanan Melayu? Rasanya?payah la sikit kot.?Maka mahu tidak mahu buat masa ini semua pihak, terutama golongan yang terlalu mendewakan soal ketuanan Melayu di Perak perlu menerima hakikat yang ada. ?
Penyelesaian lebih baik mungkin akan datang dalam masa empat atau lima tahun akan datang. Cukuplah beri undi kepada calon-calon Umno. Jika benar-benar mahu jumlah Adun Melayu di pihak pemerintah di Perak bertambah, pastikan semua calon PAS menang. ?
Umno pula jangan menjadi batu penghalang kepada agenda PAS meramaikan Adun Melayu, jika ia benar-benar mahu ketuanan Melayu di Perak dipulihkan. – lanh
#4 by billgates on Tuesday, 1 April 2008 - 5:33 pm
Pakatan Rakyat = Makhal Sakhti = Power of One
BN is even more shaky now.
Syabas to one for all and all for one. The way towards the formation of a Bangsa Malaysia Truly Asia.
#5 by billgates on Tuesday, 1 April 2008 - 5:35 pm
Make sure also that this new PR has got proper PR to answer all emails sent to them. Worse still, some Aduns don’t even have email. Jangan bikin tak serupa cakap.
#6 by Saint on Tuesday, 1 April 2008 - 5:41 pm
These three have become the founding members of this “new political party”. They are in “near equal strength”. Let there be respect and the status quo maintained. New political groups may want to join the group later. The road ahead is not going to be smooth, but with a clear vision and determination the goal can be achieved. Congratulations to PAS, DAP and PKR.
#7 by chanjoe on Tuesday, 1 April 2008 - 5:42 pm
ric23_my….if you so tak suka what this great thing about the Pakatan Rakyat, then you are entitled to your own views and in fact you can withdraw your support for the 3 parties.
No one is tying your hands or forcing you to support PR. Its our suka to support PR and if we don’t allow them the chance to perform, then why don’t you go back to support BeeAnn?
We SHOULD support them so mthat they have the mandate to perform. They need time too ok? Let time prove to us and if they are no good as what you said they are. then just vote them out lah…simple as that…..nothing to get so worked up about.
Time will prove everything but it will definitely not 100%. Sometimes when there are only 2 evils to chose, which will you chose? We sure chose the less of the 2 evils right.
So if you don’t want to support, then go to the Toyol blog lah….let us loyal supporter continue here ok? After all Toyol blog needs people like you to help support his cause to fight for the UMNO youth head. Sorry no harm meant. just being realistic.
#8 by lakilompat on Tuesday, 1 April 2008 - 5:43 pm
They are not there to read email, they are there to serve the ppl, and i don’t mind if they don’t reply me, as long as they shows result by pin pointing the fraud done in the previous administration.
#9 by lorkh on Tuesday, 1 April 2008 - 5:50 pm
Long live Kit Siang!
Long live DAP!
Long live Pakatan Rakyat!
#10 by ric23_my on Tuesday, 1 April 2008 - 5:51 pm
chanjoe,
Use your eyes to see, and use your ears to listen … instead of acting like UMMNO Putra …
ppl support, but dont blindly support. Give some positive comments if we see wrong … If Terasa Kok ask u whether she look like britney spear, i guess u will say YES?
Coalition should get back to their ideology before have the plan to form a federal government …
(1) Shout so loud about malaysian malaysia
- After election, argue for allocation of seats by race quota. Race for deputy mentri besar post also
- Some even worse, widthdraw due to owen race not represent the quota that they expected
(2) Shout so loud about anti-corruption
- But the selangor exco do not want to declare their own asset, due to “family problem”
if like that also cannot comment … then there is no difference if compare to BeeAnn …
#11 by chanjoe on Tuesday, 1 April 2008 - 6:00 pm
Alamak…I realized I am trying to pacify a fanatic….well…its no point trying to clear your head.
If the 3 parties stick to their own ideology, then sorry lah….no PR will materialise. We might as well go back to fighting each other and allow your BeeAnn to cont rule lah.
I rest my case on you…so hopeless and just hope you will get a clear head one day….pity pity pity.
#12 by EddieTheHead on Tuesday, 1 April 2008 - 6:04 pm
chanjoe said: “…if you so tak suka…” Hmmm, where have I heard that before?
My father always said, with the Malays at least “boleh bawak bincang”, but with the Chinese, “hampas pun tak dapat”.
The acid test will be how the “pakatan” treats requests and demands from various groups like Dong Jiao Zhong (which I am sure they will couch it as equal opportunity for all) or GPMS (which would want to invoke Article 153).
Either way I am reverting back to the struggles of HINDRAF. Its clear, concise and no nonsense.
#13 by ric23_my on Tuesday, 1 April 2008 - 6:04 pm
chanjoe,
i guess most of the ppl will agree for these 2 COMMON ideology, right?
(1) Malaysian Malaysia
(2) Anti-Corruption
If these 2 ideologies also cannot stand firm to implement/practice it … then how want to convince ppl to trust on the new form of coalition?
Arguments on allocation of seat by race quota and relunctant to declare selangor exco assets …. is it my own view? Or is it a truth that happened out there?
#14 by ric23_my on Tuesday, 1 April 2008 - 6:07 pm
chanjoe,
for ur statement “…if you so tak suka…” …. doenst sound similar to voice from UMMNO as well like this?
“You kalao tak suka, then you balik cina …”
This shows that u only want to hear good thing, DAP will going to die soon if got more and more DAP Putra like you …
#15 by pathfinder on Tuesday, 1 April 2008 - 6:08 pm
I am delighted that finally we have a Pakatan Pakyat(PR). I strongly believe that soon, I mean real soon PR will be forming the next Federal Govt. Why? Because PR is harnessing this wind of change into a momentum that BN will find it hard to stop. Already, the BN’s Titanic thought to be unsunkerble is showing signs of distress with cracks forming within its ranks. Members are still licking their wound. Many are losts. Mutineers are calling for ABadawi to step down. Soon, factional leaders, disillusion, in this sinking Titanic do not get what they want will have to lead their members to find safe havens. Where else can they find such safe havens except PR. Why again? because no man’s an island.
#16 by 82001 on Tuesday, 1 April 2008 - 6:15 pm
PAKAT does not sound good in Hockkien ,it indicates cronyism ,nepotism ,jangan pakat -pakat ah :))
#17 by Lee Wang Yen on Tuesday, 1 April 2008 - 6:24 pm
Has PAS abandoned its ideology of setting up an Islamic State in Malaysia?
According to the Chinese version of Malaysiakini, which provides free full-text news reports,
http://www.malaysiakini.com/news/80685
??????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????
????????????????????????????????????????????????
What Hadi Awang says is rather revealing. Firstly, he says that the PRIORITY is to push for principles agreed by all three parties. (i.e. While PAS’ own agenda is not the priority now, it has not been abandoned). Secondly, he declines to comment on whether PAS has abandoned its agenda of Islamic state when asked. However, his roundabout answer is pretty revealing: ‘What matters is not the label. What matters is what we aim at and what we do.’
I take it this way: ‘What matters is not whether the label “Islamic State” is still explicit in our public discourse. What matters is that …is still what we aim at and what we…’
#18 by Tim Sng on Tuesday, 1 April 2008 - 6:34 pm
Congratulations!
However, have we forgotten our East Malaysian brothers and sisters?
Maybe, it is a good start, but always remember our fellow brothers across the South China Sea.
Malaysians should welcome a two party system! [At least, we are miles ahead of Singapore in this area.] It gives the electorate an alternative and it keeps the ruling party on its toes, while holding office.
When the Conservatives fail to perform, the Labour sweeps in. When the Republicans invade another nation on questionable grounds, the Democrats capitalise on it and take over.
Can these three parties come to a common understanding? I say, “Yes!”
It is still Malay dominant, with a strong Islam emphasis and representation, with a Chinese dominant DAP, looking after the rest.
PKR should grow to be a Malay dominant multiracial party, while DAP grow to be a Chinese predominant multiracial party. PAS remains PAS, while we look forward to the Sabahans and Sarawakians to make the move for an alternate representation, something they are experts at.
Will BN be restored? It is possible that a great comeback is being planned.
Stay around till 2012, for the next bout…..BN vs PR. Either camp can sweep past the other, depending on what happens from now till then.
Change has arrived….. in the political atmosphere
…in the maturity of the electorate….in the choices available….hopefully …for the better.
#19 by colourblind on Tuesday, 1 April 2008 - 6:36 pm
Uncle Lim, Congratulation to Pakatan Rakyat!!! A new history chapter is made today in Malaysia. Looking forward for a better ,prosperous and peaceful Malaysia for all Malaysians!!!.
#20 by waterfrontcoolie on Tuesday, 1 April 2008 - 6:37 pm
CONGRATULATIONS TO PAKATAN RAKYAT !!!
jame-sai, you seem to be pouring cold water whenever some thing good appears. Why are you so short sighted? You appear to be suspicious of others’ motives and actions. How often do you look into the mirror and ask yourself, how sincere are you to the other people?
HJ Angus’s suggestion is very practical and will certainly save the 5 states plenty by doing so. Yes, apply some modern management technique to differentiate P.R. from those shysters of BN!!
Based on BN’s past practices, saving could easily be over 200% for each project or purchase.
3 CHEERS for the new PAKATAN RAKYAT!!!!
#21 by JDoe on Tuesday, 1 April 2008 - 6:44 pm
In order for PR to work, avoid the issue of race and religion at all cost.
#22 by Bobster on Tuesday, 1 April 2008 - 6:51 pm
Well done DAP/PKR/PAS!!! We have never been so proud standing tall once again calling ourselves Rakyat Malaysia for the remarkable achievements since 8 March 2008. Never again we shall be living under oppression by so called ruling party aka corruption and power abuse tainted Barisan Nasional. We, rakyat Malaysia have succeeded in showing the doggies what’s the meaning of people’s power.
Carry on the good works guys! Never let small hick up like bickering of personal or race based agendas to break the coalition. Everyone in Pakatan Rakyat should be dispensable ie if YB Lim or DSAI or Hadi Awang or so and so MP retired or resigned next day, the coalition will still stand strong to carry out serving the rakyat and country. Wish to see Pakatan Rakyat doing great job in cleaning up the mess left over by BN starting from the town councils. That affects every rakyat and people will slowly have more confidence with PR. Slowly build your unity and strength then fight a good fight for the rakyat in the Parliament. We Rakyat Malaysia will ensure coming 13th General Election Pakatan Rakyat will take over the country and send those UMNO/MCA/MIC doggies/robbers/liars into criminal house. Yes, We Rakyat Malaysia will let Pakatan Rakyat to rule the nation one day; in 5 years time to be precise.
#23 by alistaire on Tuesday, 1 April 2008 - 6:53 pm
The name is BARISAN RAKYAT!
And I appeal to all here, stop pressuring PAS to abandon their central Islam based idelology. It is inclusive enough for all. Forcing the word “secular” down their throats will alienate substantial support needed to make the new coalition viable. You have been warned!
#24 by kslaw70 on Tuesday, 1 April 2008 - 6:55 pm
Pakatan Rakyat or People’s Alliance is same cancept as Barisan Nasional. Very fast PKR-DAP-PAS adopt BN concept.
I heard one DAP Exco in Klang also learn something from old BN Exco where his thanks giving dinner is sponsor by some wealthy businessman and whole night all the people eat and drink for free (150 tables in chinese restaurant). barely 2 weeks only, he start to practice what DAP always condemn when they r in opposition side.
Every body know what this businessman will get from this DAO EXCO in return. DAP should watch out for this Exco and dont repeat the mistakes make by BN Exco.
We hope DAP can clarify on this matter.
#25 by Windchime on Tuesday, 1 April 2008 - 6:59 pm
YB Lim,
Congratulations to all Malaysians!
Congratulations to you and your team for making this very bold step. It is a move in the right direction. You will fall and you will make mistakes along the way as this is unprecedented and never been attempted before. But with strong principled guidance established throughout the years, I think Malaysians will have faith in you, the team and PAKATAN RAKYAT.
In 5 years time, we want to see PAKATAN RAKYAT take back Malaysia for all Malaysians. May I suggest that all the people in this PAKATAN should sign a solemn pledge to put “Malaysians” first above all racesto ensure that such embarassing situations like the one in Perak does not recur – one minute resign, next minute retract – all in the name of ethnicity. I thi nk we had enough of that.
Again, congratulations and good luck for the long journey ahead to PKR, PAS and DAP – the new PAKATAN RAKYAT.
#26 by alistaire on Tuesday, 1 April 2008 - 7:05 pm
Oh, yeah! Get a new logo for this new alliance too!
#27 by mauriyaII on Tuesday, 1 April 2008 - 7:14 pm
Fantastic! Finally the three main parties of the Opposition in Malaysia have come up with a fresh name to portray their combined strength. ‘People’s Partnership” it is. The dreaded ‘barisan’ has been dropped for good. Let it die with the Barisan Nasional.
Hope the coalition is a real partnership and not a lop-sided one. Hopefully whichever party has the highest number in parliament does not start using the “whip” to brand its hagemony over the others.
Let the ‘whip’ which was frequently wielded by Nazri be thrown away by the wayside. In an equal partnership there is no need to publicly chastise any member for whatever perceived misdemeanour.
For the partnership to work amicably and cohesively, it should not make any slip for the UMNOputras to capitalize on it and try their ‘divide and rule’ tactics.
Elected representatives should bear in mind that they represent all the voters irrespective of race or religion. They should not try to arm-twist the party leadership to gain higher positions in the party or state legislatures. Such naivete may be misconstrued for political immaturity or worse as being a racist.
Anyway it personifies a political frog.
Hope the seniors guide the young MPs and ADUNs to be more responsible and work for the rakyat.
#28 by syncbasher83 on Tuesday, 1 April 2008 - 7:15 pm
let us just forget whether its secular or islamic state…
muslims cannot accept a secular state…
nonmuslim oso hesitate to accept an islamic state…
why bother trying to impose something that the other half dislike?
what matters most is the one that ALL fighted for all this while…
PAKATAN RAKYAT for rakyat, justice, no cronism, no nepotism…
hear me?
#29 by cancan on Tuesday, 1 April 2008 - 7:16 pm
Let Us Live Happily Together In Malaysia
Link: http://www.kingsmary.blogspot.com/
#30 by Loyal Malaysian on Tuesday, 1 April 2008 - 7:23 pm
The reality of the political scenario is that neither of the three parties, by itself can take on the BN. So, to formalised their ties in the Pakatan Rakyat is a logical step.
I sincerely hope they will be able to work together to herald the beginnings of a more civil and democractic society which so many of us have hoped will eveolve after BN loses that 2/3 majority.
#31 by kickbutt on Tuesday, 1 April 2008 - 7:28 pm
Don’t know if you guys know that “to pakat” means “to conspire” – the question here I suppose is, are we talking about the conspiracy of the many against the few or of the few against the many?
#32 by Bobster on Tuesday, 1 April 2008 - 7:32 pm
For those who are still worry about PAS of the hidden agenda if any, please talk to any Kelatanese Chinese or Indians to find out more about PAS past performance. You be surprised how PAS out-performed BN putting BN to utter shame. You be surprised to hear more disgusting incidents in Sekolah Kebangsaan Kepong than Sekolah Kebangsaan Kelantan. How ridiculous some school teachers/principles in Sekolah Kebangsaan Kepong, segregating races and forcing religion to the throat till you can’t believe your ears!
Have you heard of piggies running in some kampungs in Kelantan in the 80′ resided by both Malays and Chinese (though not recommended in today’s culture)? Have you heard Malays drivers helping to catch and send the piggies to slaughter house in Kelantan? Have you heard all races living/eating/dining under one roof in Kelantan? Please talk to some Kelantanese to find out more. You have been brainwashed by BN for too long.
But of course we rakyat will continue to observe and ensure all three parties PKR/DAP/PAS practice moderation, fairness and justice irrespective of race, give constructive criticism when necessary so that the leaders of Pakatan Rakyat will make right judgement and decision for the good of all in the country. DAP has signed the agreement to form the coalition with a condition attached. That should solve one major worry at least.
#33 by Godfather on Tuesday, 1 April 2008 - 7:38 pm
Lee Wang Yen of the UK:
Since almost everyone writing in this thread has expressed support for Pakatan Rakyat, what would you do now ? Regurgitate all the anti-PAS (and anti-Islam) articles from the internet and wikipaedia ?
#34 by alistaire on Tuesday, 1 April 2008 - 7:40 pm
I hear you, syncbasher, and totally agree!
#35 by Jeffrey on Tuesday, 1 April 2008 - 7:57 pm
In relation to “Pakatan Rakyat”, Malaysiakini reported on April 1st : “Despite repeated questioning, neither Hadi, Lim nor Anwar could confirm if PAS would abandon its ambition to form an Islamic state. Anwar stressed that the Islamic state issue has not been raised by PAS for several years now…“Why harp on the issue and provoke them to respond?” he asked. Lim (Kit Siang) said the emphasis is to focus on “common principles among the three parties”.
Ok so we don’t for the moment talk about PAS in relation to the Islamic state but what about the “uncommon principles” bearing on important public issues?
For example, PAS had urged Muslims worldwide to boycott Dutch products to protest against the 17-minute film ‘Fitna’ by far-right Dutch lawmaker Geert Wilders. Does Pakatan Rakyat have a common position to call for nationwide and world wide boycott of Dutch Products because of the film of one Dutch lawmaker Geert Wilders – or is Pakatan Rakyat going to keep silent??
Another example is the call for the release of Hindraf’s leaders from ISA detention after 8th March 2008. Do PKR and DAP support the call, and if so, does PAS also support such (bearing in mind PAS has slammed Hindraf for extremism in the past)?? Does Pakatan Rakyat have a common position on the release of Hindraf’s leaders or is it going to keep silent???
#36 by Godfather on Tuesday, 1 April 2008 - 8:03 pm
Jeffrey:
Has PAS called for a boycott of Dutch products, or was it Mahathir’s call in the international press ? Should MAS stop flying to Amsterdam ? Should we evict all the Dutch banks like ING and ABN-Amro ? Should we stop our children taking Dutch Lady milk, never mind that this is actually packaged in Malaysia ?
#37 by Godfather on Tuesday, 1 April 2008 - 8:08 pm
My point is that is that if it is of national interest, why press the issue on Pakatan Rakyat alone ? Why not press the federal government ?
The Hindraf issue is more pertinent, and to the extent that one of the 5 detained is a Pakatan Rakyat MP, then we should expect the call for their release to be accepted by the leadership of Pakatan Rakyat.
#38 by devilmaster on Tuesday, 1 April 2008 - 8:09 pm
We should not be worried about PAS’ talk of islamic state even in the future. PAS alone could not garner 2/3 majority in Parliament to change the Constitution. In the recently concluded GE 2008, PAS only contested 60 seats. How are they going to change the Constitution where you will need at least 148 seats to do that. Stop becoming the victims of BN’s propaganda machinery.
#39 by Jeffrey on Tuesday, 1 April 2008 - 8:13 pm
Based on news reports, PAS had called for a boycott of Dutch products.
#40 by Jeffrey on Tuesday, 1 April 2008 - 8:16 pm
“…PAS alone could not garner 2/3 majority in Parliament to change the Constitution..” – Devilmaster. True at this time. Also the statement assumes fundamentally that PAS and UMNO will never tie up to share power.
#41 by Godfather on Tuesday, 1 April 2008 - 8:40 pm
Jeffrey, your statement about PAS and UMNO tying up to share power assumes fundamentally that UMNO will abandon its right to steal. Tough for thieves to give up their right to steal.
#42 by mauriyaII on Tuesday, 1 April 2008 - 8:41 pm
Do you punish the whole nation just because one person just happens to make a personal statement? Are we to boycott all Dutch products even the ones produced in the country just because one Dutch lawmaker Geert Wilder shows his intolerance towards Islam?
It is well and good to call for a total boycott. It is vindictiveness in the extreme.
On a parallel note would the international community be justified to boycott all Malaysian products because they are of the view that Malaysia, especially the BN government is negligent of human rights as it still oppresses its citizens using the ISA for its own political reasons?
Here again there is only one culprit – the Home Affairs Minister. He is the sole authority for the detention of any citizen under the ISA. He is not answerable to the courts as he need not press charges in any court of law of the country. In other words he puts on the mantle of jury, judge and executioner.
So, where is the justice in our democratic system? Before we project a holier than thou attitude, do some soul-searching.
It is just like the KJ fellow who whipped up the emotions of the UMNO youth to stage a demonstration against the Mynmar junta for using brutal force on the monks who had protested against the high cost of essential goods.
But when the Hindraf held a peaceful demonstration for being marginalised, their leaders are incarcerated at the Kamunting detention centre.
Why the double standard? Where is justice?
#43 by ilikeit on Tuesday, 1 April 2008 - 8:43 pm
How is it that everyone has missed the obvious. Since the MCA, the MIC and the Gerakan had lost the support of the Chinese and the Indians, since they represent only that part of the population anyway, they should all abdicate enmasse and join the DAP or the Pakatan Rakyat. They should realised and made to understand that Makkal Sakthi is what it is really all about. Simple as that. So why are they so obstinate and all this talk about rejuvenation, reenginneering, restructuring and you can ‘re’ until the cow come home and it would be all a futile exercise. Can you get a Leopard to change its spot or a Zebra it stripes?
Ong Ka Ting, Sami Vellu and those in the Gerakan camp like Koh Hsu Koon and the Keng Siak guy should be humble enough and admit defeat. Although they did admit defeat after the GE12 I mean that is not what I mean if you get the gist of my meaning. I mean admit that all is lost, kaput!
Who say that they still have a chance in future. No way. In the future the Malaysian Rakyat and of course that means the Malays, the Chinese and the Indian will be even more educated, more modernistic in their thinking , more anti-establishment. Not easily cowed, coerced, threatened, bullied or flim-flammed.
Moreover the Pakatan will not make many mistakes because it is obvious they will be on their toes as everyone is under the microscope so to speak. They can only do the right thing and no wrongs as it would be too costly to fail, not to say embarrassing. Now would’nt it be embarrassing to lose back the five states in the next election? So they have to ‘pump iron’ hard, right?
#44 by novice101 on Tuesday, 1 April 2008 - 8:50 pm
With the new development and under the new political scenario, its is right for the BR loose coalition to come together under one banner now. It’s the natural progress under such circumstances.
One can envisage it is going to be a friction-laden relationship, full of ideological arguments, fights for positions, posturing for publicity, display of anger and indignation (real and feigned), loud proclamations of misconstrued actions and misinterpreted statements, and last but not least, outrageous ‘antics’ to attract attention.
These are normal behaviours expected of politicians, but, on the other hand, there are serious work to be done. Wise women and men are required to tackle the many issues, they need to apply rational and reasonable thinking to iron out these issues. To come out with acceptable and workable framework and policies, extreme care and sensitivity need to be exercised. Egos and tempers have to be held under rein. Participants have to conduct themselves with civility and good manners. The tendency to resort to ‘one-upmanship’ should be discouraged. Respect for the others’ point of view must guide all discussions of policies. Members must not threaten or intimidate others. All participants should not lose sight of the overall purpose why they are coming together. This vision of building an united country should be clearly seen and totally accepted!
It’s not going to be an easy task, for even now, there are, already, supporters of the parties involved, clamouring for their leaders to fight for the more prominent leadership positions. Many will insist the leaders to stand firm on their ideological positions. The leaders will be walking on a very tight rope. The leaders should stay committed to the sole purpose of building a united Malaysia!
National interests must be the priority, they must not be allowed to be override by narrow ideological demands. PR leaders must be able to make this distinction and not cave in to unreasonable demands, only then, does the nation has hope of steering away itself from race-based politics!
A brave act on March 8, has given us a serendipitous reward, capitalize on it and turn it into the second Merdeka !
#45 by Godfather on Tuesday, 1 April 2008 - 9:05 pm
Even thougher for thieves to worry about the risks of having their hands chopped off for theft.
#46 by Godfather on Tuesday, 1 April 2008 - 9:09 pm
I mean “tougher”…
Seriously, there will be that 10 pct of UMNO who will lean towards cooperation with PAS to gain power, just like there is that 10 pct of DAP who will adopt the “never-in-my-life” approach towards cooperation with PAS. As long as these factions are in the minority, we should be OK.
#47 by Loh on Tuesday, 1 April 2008 - 9:10 pm
Pakatan Rakyat cannot be formed without PAS. Without Pakatan Rakyat, UMNO will continue to rule, and come next election will again retain 2/3 majority. After that they will have NNEP, and continue to rule for another 50 years. During that time, another two million non-Malays will leave this land. That is the price to pay by insisting now that PAS should openly denounce Islamic state, even if they might be reconsidering the issue.
I support Pakatan Rakyat, in whatever final name it takes.
#48 by azam on Tuesday, 1 April 2008 - 9:22 pm
Congratulation to Kit and Pakatan Rakyat. I think this is the real model for unity especially in multiracial country like Malaysia. UMNO/Malay supremacy is no more relevent. To those who are still prejudice with PAS, please read the interview with Perak MB in Sinchew http://www.mysinchew.com/taxonomy/term/35
#49 by joehancl on Tuesday, 1 April 2008 - 9:25 pm
If Pakatan Rakyat is viable, governing in transparency, integrity and fair play, Malaysia will be a beacon for all countries in the region. God shine His Light on you Malaysia. Greatness is trust only for one moment in time and its leaders must use this trust for the greater good of all malaysians and not for self. And he, that self will be a light to others. So show thyself Good leaders unto all malaysians and we will include you in our prayers. God bless you, God bless Malaysia.
#50 by Jeffrey on Tuesday, 1 April 2008 - 9:31 pm
///Jeffrey, your statement about PAS and UMNO tying up to share power assumes fundamentally that UMNO will abandon its right to steal. Tough for thieves to give up their right to steal///- Godfather.
No. It may assume that PAS may want to share power to learn to steal. :)