Pakatan Rakyat – logical next step of March 8 political tsunami

Leaders of DAP, PKR and PAS met in Petaling Jaya today and took the logical next step of the March 8 political tsunami – proposing the establishment of a new front of the three political parties to be tentatively known as PAKATAN RAKYAT.

A joint statement issued after the meeting reads:

The leaders of KeADILan, DAP and PAS met today in furtherance of the meeting held on the 18th of March 2008.

Today’s meeting was attended by, among others, Dato’ Seri Anwar Ibrahim, YB Lim Kit Siang, YB Dato’ Seri Tuan Guru Haji Abdul Hadi Awang and YB Datin Seri Wan Azizah Wan Ismail.

In today’s meeting, we have proposed to consolidate the cooperation between the three parties under the name “PAKATAN RAKYAT”. This name has been proposed pending confirmation by the respective parties.

Pakatan Rakyat pledges to uphold the rights and interests of all Malaysians, regardless of religion or race, as enshrined in the Constitution.

With the results of the recent elections, the state governments of Kelantan, Kedah, Pulau Pinang, Perak and Selangor will be known as Pakatan Rakyat state governments. The policies of these governments will be conducted in accordance with the policies of Pakatan Rakyat.

To further mutual understanding regarding such policies, a convention of all Pakatan Rakyat elected representatives of Parliament and State Assemblies will be held on the 27th of April 2008.

We have developed and strengthened the structure of Pakatan Rakyat by creating under the Leadership Council, consisting of the leaders of the three parties, a Joint Secretariat consisting of three leaders from each of the three parties. This joint Secretariat will be tasked with building the foundation and framework of the Pakatan Rakyat for ratification by the Leadership Council.

1. #1 by deekay on Tuesday, 1 April 2008 - 2:42 pm

Uncle Kit,

Cheers to DAP! Cheers to PKR! Cheers to PAS! Cheers to Pakatan Rakyat that we have been waiting all along.

2. #2 by ric23_my on Tuesday, 1 April 2008 - 2:47 pm

uncle Lim,

the selangor exco issue, still no updates?

haiz … why before election, all the politicians have sweet smiles, sweet until can get diabetes … but after election, want to complain also not entertain …

3. #3 by I Malaysian on Tuesday, 1 April 2008 - 2:49 pm

This is excellent. With Pakatan Rakyat, all opposition parties can now speak in one language avoiding misunderstanding among one another. This also can be regarded as strategic alternative party to BN.
    I am confident with this new understanding Pakatan Rakyat is not far away from ruling federal government.
    Congrats to all our leaders.

4. #4 by leealex24 on Tuesday, 1 April 2008 - 2:50 pm

PKR and DAP is part of the pact, please ensure that the country remained secular, fair, progressive and take into account the multicultural nature of the country or else…

5. #5 by walkman on Tuesday, 1 April 2008 - 2:55 pm

Greetings,
    A small step by malaysians, a giant leap for malaysians politics…

6. #6 by Navinachendra on Tuesday, 1 April 2008 - 3:06 pm

The recent commotion in Ipoh should be an eye-opener on how the Pakatan Rakyat should move. Its true and accepted that we should steer clear of racial politics; with candidated for party or government chosen on merit and not on fixed quotas.

Things did not turn out too well for the moment, as the DAP candidate involved was shortsighted and failed to recognize the consequences of his act to the party, the Proposed Pakatan and the state government. The sloganeering for a Malaysian Malaysia has fallen on deaf ears; the need for time to heal the 50 years of racial divide.

The formation of Pakatan Rakyat will be well recieved, a word of caution though; let not the Pakatan be dominated by one party, however big it would grow to be. There should be an understanding of equal partnership with equal opportunities for all irrespective of race,religion,caste, creed or gender.

I personally would have preferred “Barisan Rakyat” the cause for which we so earnestly advocated during the last elections.

7. #7 by Jamesy on Tuesday, 1 April 2008 - 3:06 pm

Uncle Lim,

This has the potential to be exploited by BN.

DAP+PKR+PAS = PAKATAN RAKYAT = ISLAMIC STATE?

8. #8 by myop101 on Tuesday, 1 April 2008 - 3:08 pm

Dear Uncle Kit,

Congrats to all 3 parties within Pakatan Rakyat or the People’s Alliance for reaching this agreement (pending approval by respective parties). The next thing PR should do is form a cabinet in waiting to mirror the performance of all the cabinet ministers in BN…:)

9. #9 by Menang atau mati on Tuesday, 1 April 2008 - 3:08 pm

Cheers YB Lim!

That’s the way to go.

If there are any diagreements among partners,please keep it private.

And solve it in within the 4 walls of the Pakatan.
    Please stay united.

Today 5,tomorrow Malaysia.

In-between, you can have Sarawak for supper!

2 years down the road is just like the blink of an eye.

10. #10 by penang308 on Tuesday, 1 April 2008 - 3:10 pm

LETS DO IT!

11. #11 by chanjoe on Tuesday, 1 April 2008 - 3:20 pm

Thats a wise move. Whatever name it is…it brings us towards a new era in Malaysian politics.

Chinese no longer fear the PAS so much as they are now moving along moderation lines. Malays are openly supporting and voting for DAP. Indians are united now vis-a-vis Hindraf and are solidly behing PR now.

Even the stupid Buntong ADUn case will not derail this pakatan.

However, I propose that all elected reps be it ADUNs or MPs must undergo a Public Relations training with the main emphasis on emotion control and service with a smile.

The recent emotional outburst by some elected reps including you, LKS are examples of uncontrolled emotions. Train yourself to better handle all kinds of situation.

We must move along in a more professional way and ensure all reps are well trained in all aspects of life and this will definitely help to ensure quality reps who are trully willing to serve the rakyat.

We should never be too old to learn. LKS yourself should also set the example by attending such courses.

Belive me….it will help all 3 parties in PR tremendously.

Go for it.

12. #12 by madmix on Tuesday, 1 April 2008 - 3:23 pm

Good name. Better than Barisan Alternatif as that smacks of part of the tainted name of the other Barisan. PR sounds good too. A breakaway from the racial politics of “barisans”.

13. #13 by cfcluvdap on Tuesday, 1 April 2008 - 3:37 pm

Hello,
    A united PR is critical for its’ success….no racial based politic aah
    The Perak fiasco nearly torn the front apart with selfish request.
    Requests should be made under it’s own party preview and results in unanimuous decision. Do not let individual demand break the unity and let’s ensure cooperation and selflessness move the united front.

14. #14 by HJ Angus on Tuesday, 1 April 2008 - 3:39 pm

Congrats to the 3 parties for formalising the electoral pact. Together it will be possible to compete seriously to form the next federal administration.

One suggestion I would offer to the states of Penang, Perak and Selangor is to set up a central purchasing office as if this run properly, costs of supplies can be reduced by 10 to 15%.

15. #15 by saubing on Tuesday, 1 April 2008 - 3:39 pm

ric_23,

I think we are too naive. Now that they have won. Those questions that they don’t know how to answer they will not entertain us. I just hope Pakatan Rakyat will not end up like BN. Being too arrogant will pay it’s price!

16. #16 by bettervision on Tuesday, 1 April 2008 - 3:42 pm

Great visionary strategies….PAKATAN RAKYAT will definitely led the way…

“The policies of these governments will be conducted in accordance with the policies of Pakatan Rakyat”.

Set a bye-law for any MP or Assemblyman who goes against it to be remove for not championing this policy’s. Then ask them to visit
    eyeyogacentre.com to get their vision improve.

Well done and keep the good work..PAKATAN RAKYAT..untuk warga Malaysia

17. #17 by lakilompat on Tuesday, 1 April 2008 - 3:44 pm

saubing, wat to do, business as usual, except it will takes longer and harder now to heal. The next election is 5 yrs from now, we will need to educate those young voters who will be voting that who they should vote for right from the beginning.

18. #18 by max2811 on Tuesday, 1 April 2008 - 3:51 pm

This is something that I have been waiting for. A 2-party system bidding and contesting to run the country. At the moment, the quality of candidates/people from certain parties seem a bit lacking.

Ever bickering over personal issues and threatening to resign. These people should not be put as candidates in the next GE. Another 5 years is enough to vet any prospects.

UMNO is very subdued, very quiet. Dunno whether any keris will be kissed this time around. If he keeps kissing the keris, I keep voting for PR. MCA should give up BN. PR seems a logical choice and more viable.

19. #19 by yog7948 on Tuesday, 1 April 2008 - 3:55 pm

Way to go guys.. At least the Rakyat will have more confidence in the “” Government in waiting”

20. #20 by HJ Angus on Tuesday, 1 April 2008 - 3:59 pm

I think you must treat a political party like a company.
    If one owns a few shares one cannot expect the CEO to give a weekly or monthly report on how the operations are being run.

You need to attend the AGM and ask questions there. For a political party, one needs to see how they perform and how they answer queries closer to the next elections.
    Better still, go and join the party and contribute your ideas there.

21. #21 by ric23_my on Tuesday, 1 April 2008 - 3:59 pm

Now i started to worry … Pakatan Rakyat sound very convincing … but how about the formation of the leaders?

i think this one should discuss now at the very beginning, else will create chaos later … similar to selangor exco formation …

Will Anwar Ibrahim, Lim Kit Siang, Lim Guan Eng, Hadid Awang, Chong Eng ARE SIDELINED in the formation? Since achievements, capability and experience are no longer a consideration (from wat happen in selangor exco)?

22. #22 by dawsheng on Tuesday, 1 April 2008 - 3:59 pm

Logically, Pakatan Rakyat should also uphold the constitution that Malaysia is a secular state with Islam as her official religion.

23. #23 by Libra2 on Tuesday, 1 April 2008 - 4:08 pm

Now begins the glorious days for Malaysia.
    I like that name.
    Now lets work on a logo.
    I would prefer one with an open palm, with two more superimposed on the first one and all in the same direction. No criss crossing.

24. #24 by gofortruth on Tuesday, 1 April 2008 - 4:11 pm

Congratulation Pakatan Rakyat!
    Congratulation to all Malaysians!

Lets pray for wisdom & understanding in the formation of the shadow cabinet or the next Federal cabinet, which ever come first.

25. #25 by jetaime.f on Tuesday, 1 April 2008 - 4:12 pm

lots of T.A.R.O. at work. :)

26. #26 by a-malaysian on Tuesday, 1 April 2008 - 4:13 pm

We are on the right track. No worry for those who are worried about PAS islamic state. Everyone who really want a true Malaysia for ALL MALAYSIAN ON EQUAL STANDING will know what they can and cannot do.

Now Pakatan Rakyat (PR) will have to come out with a common platform to work on. All elected rep will have to take the same common stand, that is no race base politics but to serve all Malaysians.

GE 13 – No matter what, we must ensure that umno bn do not regain the power like they had for the past fifty years.

27. #27 by sheriff singh on Tuesday, 1 April 2008 - 4:14 pm

Pakatan Rakyat (PAKAT)? Sounds like merely a “pact” to me. Or maybe you are all out to “pocket” the rakyat? It just does not have the right “ring” to it.

Why don’t you call yourselves PERIKATAN RAKYAT (PERAK) – the Peoples’ Alliance? Sounds nicer with brilliant “silver” lining.

Even though you may have all formed this “Pakatan”, the bottom line remains the credibility of the leadership. Many of your leaders are suspect with dubious qualifications and experience.

[deleted Speculation incorrect - Admin]

Alot of the Pakatan MPs and SAs are unknown personalities. We do not know much about their background, experience and qualifications. One big problem in setting up the various state governments had been the lack of qualified people and their dubious qualifications.

I for one would really like to know more about many of them so that I can be confident of them. Would the Pakatan members care to share with us the profiles of all their elected MPs and SAs? These can be easily uploaded on the internet for all of us to see. Any doubts that we many have will then be either confirmed or erased. Its about Transparency, Integrity and Accountability together with Responsibility.

How about the DAP starting the ball rolling?

28. #28 by grace on Tuesday, 1 April 2008 - 4:15 pm

I hope that the new coalition keep to their principles at time of forming.
    Remember it is the rakyat that put all these parties to power.
    Make sure that the common agenda is kept and not each individual’s. Like PAS, I hope they do not propound formationof Islamic state half way thru’.
    We the rakyat are wary of such tricks!!!!
    If we are fooled . that is the end. It would be back to BN.

29. #29 by lakilompat on Tuesday, 1 April 2008 - 4:15 pm

I’m looking forward to have one website to unify the 3 parties, Pakatan Rakyat. We should also have a mass celebration, to recruit all new members to serve the rakyat.

30. #30 by saubing on Tuesday, 1 April 2008 - 4:18 pm

ric_23,

I think we will never get answer from the Selangor EXCO issue cause no transparency there. I used to be very enthuisiastic about what opposition party can do to our country. but after GE 12, i feel that some of the opposition MP or SA also look at their own benefits first before they even start to serve the Rakyat. So i reallly don expect much from BN or PR

31. #31 by lextcs on Tuesday, 1 April 2008 - 4:19 pm

when can we have a non malay prime minister? When will the coloured barriers be broken down? Why are we waiting for DSAI? Now is the time to rise up YB Lim! Be a Malaysian for all Malaysians! Its time to say goodbye to feudalism and embrace TRUE democracy!

32. #32 by KKK on Tuesday, 1 April 2008 - 4:19 pm

Before the election, I tell all non-Muslim that there is nothing to fear about PAS for a very simple reason: Even without saying so, BN were already making this into an Islamic country by their court action. And action (of BN) speaks louder than words (of PAS).

33. #33 by lextcs on Tuesday, 1 April 2008 - 4:25 pm

Why are we (DAP) playing 2nd fiddle all the time? I think we must be bold enough to declare that we are here to lead and to heal the great divided between the races. We are here to lend a helping hand. We are here to enrich, empower and to share responsiblity in bring economic, social and spiritual prosperity to all.

34. #34 by mohammadharrisjalil on Tuesday, 1 April 2008 - 4:35 pm

Gosh I am so Happy lah!!! congratulation Uncle Lim!!! Hope Pakatan Rakyat will be a great start for us MALAYSIAN!

p/s: Dont worry lah.. PAS is not Taliban… i’m sure they also know the enviroment of malaysia that consist of multiracial people… and they also know what is ‘wasatiah (kesederhanaan)’ means… if PAS are so fundimental…. sudah lama Kelantanese Chinese had gone to other state… UMNO keep telling non Malays that PAS are anti non muslim… and at the end… UMNO are anti non muslim… and some people still belive it!

….TAK KENAL MAKA TAK CINTA….

35. #35 by kingkenny on Tuesday, 1 April 2008 - 4:36 pm

Sorry, this might not sing along well in this topic, but YB, is there anything the new Pakatan Rakyat can do, like give the people an alternative news avenue apart from ST*R and the likes….because I find it they are still messing around with their biased reporting, they are lying like there is no tomorrow, I have boycotted them but I feel many people are still being taken for a ride…save them to save Malaysia!

Anyway, cheers to PAKATAN RAKYAT!!!

Ada Pakatan Rakyat!
    Ada Suara Rakyat!

36. #36 by ponfoo on Tuesday, 1 April 2008 - 4:43 pm

pr long a waited for all malaysian, a new hope for malaysian we no longer vote for only bn, hopefully pr will win the next GE and catch all [ correct ap klang palace keris many many more!!!!!!!!!!!

37. #37 by Ahila on Tuesday, 1 April 2008 - 4:45 pm

Congratulations to PAKATAN RAKYAT !
    While the name itself says Rakyat..lets hope Rakyats are remembered always by the Pakatan!….no rakyat no pakatan!!!
    Had enough of BN…its time for PR to lead ! I am 100% with you all.
    Just a tiny reminder from my Guru ‘ karma is not fate..for man acts with free will, creating his own destiny.The Vedas (Hindu Holy Scripture) tells us : if we sow goodness, we will reap goodness ; if we sow evil, we will reap evil’.
    Lets join hands in good spirits for a better Malaysia – corruption free;human rights upheld. ……………makkal sakthi forever !

38. #38 by lextcs on Tuesday, 1 April 2008 - 4:45 pm

what are the consequences if there are mass crossovers from the east side? Can the parliment be dissolved again to pave way for a fresher mandate? I suppose we the rakyat are the real losers while you politicians squabble over power grabbing. Can we for once get down to seriously looking into the plight of the rakyats in your own constituencies?

39. #39 by KKK on Tuesday, 1 April 2008 - 4:48 pm

Why are people saying….there must be certain number of Indian, certain number of Chinese and certain number of Malay in the EXCO? This is back to old racial line of politic that’s the NO.1 fault of BN. So do we still want more of the same?

If the Chinese & Indian wanted to be treated as equal to the Malay etc, then stop thinking like a Chinese or Indian. Everyone should now start thinking…”I am a Malaysian”.

BTW, I will never ever vote for that A Sivasubramaniam in Perak who sleep, eat, think, action along the same old racial line. Ever!

40. #40 by kingkenny on Tuesday, 1 April 2008 - 4:49 pm

Hi lextcs,

first or second doesn’t matter, becoz we can learn from everybody and everybody can learn from us. We enrich ourselves just like a modern society should be, we serve in order to lead…politics is politics, some things can’t be change because we are not there yet…just not yet, just as we are sceptical about PAS’s ideology so are PAS sceptical about other parties’ ideology.

Malaysia just need some more time

41. #41 by baiyuensheng on Tuesday, 1 April 2008 - 4:53 pm

All good and nice. Can it last? I am a Sarawakian and one vote for pakatan rakyat, the next round. If only if, all those ‘non-malay ceilings’ can be taken away from the constitutions at both the federal and state levels. See u round the next time.

42. #42 by kingkenny on Tuesday, 1 April 2008 - 4:56 pm

Yeah KKK

I totally agree with you…I find it very annoying that they go public with their comments of quitting and all…it just give the enemy something to rhyme on. Case of the Batu Gajah MP also should not have happened, every elected reps should serve according to parties policies and not make a particular constituency their own little country!

43. #43 by amar747 on Tuesday, 1 April 2008 - 4:57 pm

Hi dudes

Congratulations dudes for the formation of PAKATAN RAKYAT !

First of all, would like to comment on few issues surrounding the 5 states that we have. I hope no power hunting by our fellow assemblymen and I hope Pakatan Rakyat can be the stepping stone to answer the the difficult situations that arises among the parties.

Again, HIDUP PAKATAN RAKYAT!!!! and wish our dream comes true for a fairer regime in Malaysia.

44. #44 by saubing on Tuesday, 1 April 2008 - 4:59 pm

I just wonder when can we learn. Just look at our neighbur Singapore. Their Government and their MSM will not promote non-chinese or chinese theory. Even their elected President is an Indian. But they are known as Singaporean. they are “one people, one nation, one Singapore”. Hope we can become a malaysian malaysia soon…..

45. #45 by yhsiew on Tuesday, 1 April 2008 - 5:01 pm

Dear Pakatan Rakyat,

While it is good to have DAP, PKR and PAS unified under one name, please don’t forget to promote the name “Pakatan Rakyat” among the people and youngsters, who are indifferent to politics. If they don’t know what “Pakatan Rakyat” is and what they stand for, how you expect them to vote for you!

Distributing caps, pencils and student pocket-files printed with the “Pakatan Rakyat” label to school children, and organizing painting competitions and quizzes in a supermarket under the name “Pakatan Rakyat” are workable ways to tell people such a party exists.

46. #46 by lakilompat on Tuesday, 1 April 2008 - 5:05 pm

The rakyat has been deprived 50 yrs, the Malay looks like getting the benefit but it is not e.g. the 5% Bumiputra discount this Bumiputra is meant Malaysian (ultimately the major benefit are UMNO putra) the rich is getting richer and the poor will continue to be burden by ricing fuel prices, ricing food prices, and soon all the poor will have to take bus because unable to own a decent transport. When that happen don’t worry Khairy already make Rapid Buses for those who can’t afford to own a car, then Pak Lah son is ready for Scomi monorail expanding to each and every Malaysian. They will continue to exploit all Malaysian, Pak Lah will said “Ubah Gaya!” till you start paying all ur money to use their transportation. They are using Rakyat money to build then robe from them. Rapid Penang and Rapid KL all money from Rakyat, but is controlled and manipulated by Khairy. The cronies controlled the television, radio and press, whereas the opposition “Pakatan Rakyat” has just pave the foundation in these 5 states. It takes the Federal Govt. more than a week to settle the MB issues, but it only take 3 days for DAP to resolve the matter, which party is better?

47. #47 by ric23_my on Tuesday, 1 April 2008 - 5:15 pm

saubing,

Singapore cannot be used as example lah .. as already explained be4 …

http://my2cents2u.blogspot.com/

48. #48 by Jong on Tuesday, 1 April 2008 - 5:19 pm

Congratulations to all – DAP, PKR and PAS!

Finally, a step in the right direction. Yeah, a great leap for Malaysian politics.

Hope this union strengthens the bond and brings out the best in everyone, creating better, firmer understanding, trust and sincerity between parties concerned.

Hidup Malaysia!

49. #49 by Dilbert on Tuesday, 1 April 2008 - 5:19 pm

March 8th was the “tipping point” that brought about sweeping changes in the political landscape of Malaysia. April 1st, with the formation of Pakatan Rakyat has become the “point of inflection”, from which going forward we can expect the direction of malaysian politics to take a course that is based on a two party system, with equality of all peoples irrespective of race, religion or political ideology being the basis for its democratic principle.

A suggestion is that the Pakatan Rakyat need to quickly establish mechanisms to gather continuous inputs/feedback from the people on their progress so that the voice of the people continue to be heard and seen to be heard by the people’s government.

50. #50 by chanjoe on Tuesday, 1 April 2008 - 5:22 pm

when can saubing & ric23_my stop harping on the old Selangor issue of EXCOs? If you are so adamant to the changes, then just ignore this blog site lah. Simple isnt it? Even Teng (whom I supported to be an EXCO) has voiced out his views to serve the rakyat esp Sg Pinang people. What to talk somemore???

We are now looking forward and its a very important thing that DAP, PKR & PAS are finally together to form a coalition. Isnt that exciting? We must look forward and be positive but must also not hold our hopes too high becuz its all a motly crew and this requires time to cement the coalition into a strong ONE force.

Of course there will be backstabbers (hope the 2 of you don’t be one) and lots of detractors like the dumb dumb Sivasubramaniam and others who may derail the coalition with their selfish demands and their own gains for power.

Nevertheless, we should give our support to PR just as we have given to “BR” during the GE. This is indeed a serious move which warrants our support and make sure that BN shall be dead not only in the 5 states but in the whole of Malaysia.

Malaysia Bolih
    Pakatan Rakyat Bolih

1 2 3 ... 8